Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman MTR77 NP Scoped Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Mike in Va. from USA on 2013-07-01 09:43:16

    Things I liked:Waited a long time for this one to come up for sale. Like the look and the heft. Shoots straight right out of the box with a different scope I added and H&N 10.65g pellets. Like the sling attachments also. Hope there is a trigger upgrade for it in the future. I really like this gun accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:Scope, and trigger if I could. Also I would prefer either model in a .22 cal
    What others should know:If you get one try for the non scoped version so that you'll have the front sight {low profile...high profile will not work...it throws off the pellets} and carry handle so you don't have to buy separate. If scoped you'll need a better scope then the one it comes with.
    0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-07-02 08:43:02

    Things I liked:rifle is OK, scope is very poor
    Things I would have changed:better scope and a good set of open sights
    What others should know:don't bother with scope, it will not hold its adjustments
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By JamesD from USA on 2014-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the modern look of the air-gun, the gas piston (new to gas-pistons)and the fit is relatively comfortable.
      Things I would have changed:Country of origin ... China. I was very disappointed to see that. Had I known this was a Chinese made air-gun, I would have passed. The gun is 80% plastic, with only the absolute essentials being other material. The material that appeared to be metal was awfully dry and seemed unprotected. I've noticed this with some air-guns made in Turkey as well. The quality control of Chinese manufactured goods makes this rifle a little suspicious in my book. I will use at my own risk.
      What others should know:Pyramid Air should list it's products Country of Origin. If you were looking at this air-gun in a "brick and mortar" store it's Country of origin would be an easy find instead of a surprise.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By presley from Grenada on 2014-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:everything else except the scope its worthless
      Things I would have changed:the scope ,and calibre would like it in .22 cal
      What others should know: best air rifle i ever own i've own 2 rifles before my mtr77 is best, anyone buying this wont be dissapointed
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jordan from USA on 2013-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is for adults. DO NOT get this gun for a youngster or a beginner. The cocking effort is atleast 40-45 lbs. This is a powerful gun, and i love it. It kicks like a real firearm. It needs about 200 rounds thru it to calm it down then its good to go. My gun likes a firm grip and its doing 3/4" groups out to 35yrds.
      What others should know:Be patient with this gun and it will reward you in the end. My gun likes cheap chp, predator polymags barely beat them in accuracy test.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Marduk Occulta from USA on 2013-11-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:One of the est shooting reak barrels I have for sure. DON'T BUY THIS, SCOPED, MODEL!! Get the one with the handle and iron sights. The scope is worthless past 20-25 feet!
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is quiet, smooth and dead accurate! The scope isn't worth what it cost to ship from China. Hence 4the stars for value.
      What others should know:Scope aside, I love this rifle. I canned the junk scope and got an M16 handle andand rail mount. I put a folding Mag Pull front sight and topped it off with a 2.5x10x40 Firefield scope. I get 1" patterns at 40 yards, from a rest with Crosmana 10.5 premium dome pellets. The great value for the buck!!. I only wish it came in a larger caliber!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2013-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:While far from an expert, I know a thing or two about airguns. That being said, I was very pleased with this one. Solid build, decent barrel length, good accuracy, the nitro piston, and a feel very comparable to the real thing combine to make this an outstanding gun.
      Things I would have changed:Personally, I would lighten it up a bit, because I don't use it to practice for the real thing. Others may disagree.
      What others should know:While its not a $3,000 Olympic rifle, it's perfect for eliminating pests such as rodents, bunnies, and stray tin cans and clay birds. I'm not the best shot, nor do I claim to be. However, even I can hit an inch wide target at 20 yards.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realistic looks and feel. No barrel droop. Hard hitting for such a short bbl. Accuracy better than I expected. This is my second gun. The first one had a sized piston and had to be returned to Crosman. They sent me a new one within 2 weeks, I thought that was very good customer relations. The girl I spoke to was polite and helpful. Anything you buy nowdays can breakdown, how you are treated by the manufacture is the most important thing , in my opinion. That is why I call this experience a "thing I like".
      Things I would have changed:Scope mounts are a joke but it is not easy to find real good mounts for this gun yet. I would say that is a temp. situation as this is going to be popular, of that I have no doubt. I did get a solid mounting system and it makes this thing much better.
      What others should know:It will never be a tack driver but it doesn't need to be, no one will try to use it for target comp. I tried the H&N green (alloy) pellets. What a hoot. they crack like a 22 rimfire, no kidding, and they are way more accurate than any other type of alloy. I hit a 2 liter soda bottle every time from 60 yds. ( yes,60), it pounded that thing like a 22,and came out the other side. Needless to say, I was surprised and pleased.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2013-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Oh, man, this thing is fun! I took it into a gun store to buy a case for it and, immediately, on the employees took it from me and pulled out the "magazine". While looking at the piece of plastic, he was really bumfuzzled. One of the other employees said, "It's an airgun, dummy!"
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2013-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This thing is not only accurate, but forceful and looks seriously deadly!
      Things I would have changed:Nuttin'
      What others should know:Terrific value and a heck of a lot of fun! I took it into a shooting range to get a case for it. One of the staff quickly took it from me and removed the magazine, which is just a hollow piece of plastic. He looked at it and was just really confused. One of the other employees told him it is "just an airgun. It was really funny.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2013-09-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:he Crosman MTR77 NP Is relatively heavy but feels rugged, It feels like and of course looks like the M16. Like the M16 you have to press your cheek on the stock to sight properly; providing the shooter another reference to be consistently accurate. I find the recoil also makes it feel like a real gun (feels real to the cheek). I expected the nitrogen piston to recoil less then the spring piston but it seems as much to me. I find the gun very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger takes so much pressure to pull my hand gets fatigued. I don't like the trigger on the MTR77
      What others should know:The Crosman MTR77 NP Is relatively heavy but feels rugged, It feels like and of course looks like the M16. Like the M16 you have to press your cheek on the stock to sight properly; providing the shooter another reference to be consistently accurate. I find the recoil also makes it feel like a real gun (feels real to the cheek). I expected the nitrogen piston to recoil less then the spring piston but it seems as much to me. I find the gun very accurate and I could be even more accurate If the trigger was decent. The trigger takes so much pressure to pull my hand gets fatigued. I don't like the trigger on the MTR77 or the Benjamin Trail pistol. I love the trigger on my Benjamin Marauder. All pellet guns should have such a trigger. Cocking the break barrel takes a little bit of elbow grease(45 lb.). I put the but of the stock in the cress of my hip and notice the bruises in the shower. I like the sturdiness and the strength of the MTR77. It seems very powerful. I have hit a four inch target at 60 yards by aiming right at the target. The target is on the water and the water conditions could have a lot to do with the shot. Another reason I bought and like the MTR77 is Weaver style rails. I got the accompanying scope close to zeroed and replaced it with the CenterPoint red/green reflex sight to finish breaking the rifle in. When I go back to the rest and target at 10 meters I will check the zero on the CenterPoint and change back to the 4X scope and finish zeroing it, expecting to be able to change the scope and reflex sight out and be close to zero immediately.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-09-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A fine plastic reproduction of the 'real thing', especially great with the nitro piston. Adequate accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Kind of sad that a collector like me (whose state does not tolerate the 'real thing') has to satisfy himself with either non-firing metal reproductions or firing airguns made essentially of plastic... When, then shall we see this model as a METAL firing airgun ?
      What others should know:Still an excellent value
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the rifle but couldn't get the scope sighted in at my 33' range. I contacted Crossman and they said to send the scope back to MFG. That will cost me money and it's a new scope. I don't think I need to do that just yet.I tried two other air rifle scopes and still the pellet was hitting 8" low with the turret all the way up. I said I will try shimming the rear of the scope 1,000th inch at a time and see if that helps. It is possible that this scope is intended for longer ranges, 25 yards or so. I have 10 other air rifles with scopes and have had no problem with the 33' range.
      Things I would have changed:It does for sure need a rubber butt pad. Crossman said they will keep my name and if one becomes available, they will let me know.
      What others should know:If you have an AR-15, this is a great addition to your collection.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2013-07-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It look like the real deal I like every thing about it
      Things I would have changed:nothing. but would like to see them come out with one in a 22cal
      What others should know:it take a wild to brake it in I shoot about 150 rounds in it;but the groud in come in closer I was used7.9gr an 9gr pellects just to brake it in now I going order some 10gr that's what I used to hunt with so all in all it a good accuary air rifl an it way worth the money an it will do good on small game I made five shot out to 45yards an I get dimes size groups.it going b a winner with the 10gr pellects from croman
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rob from USA on 2013-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Not your daddy's Crosman! My personal advice would be adults only. Wicked power. Very accurate and getting better with break in. Definite S.B.C. Gun in the wrong hands but way cool for A.R. lovers.
      Things I would have changed:Center Point scope focal range should be improved. Focus is at max run-out.
      What others should know:Thank you Crosman! My new Fav!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dave from USA on 2013-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun looks and shoots great! I tossed the scope immediately and replaced it. It wasn't the greatest scope and I didn't expect it to be.
      Things I would have changed:I'd probably get a better quality scope
      What others should know:This gun shoots rather erratically when you first start using it. The instructions say 250 shots before it breaks in. I have found it took about 350 before my groups started getting consistent. Also the first gun delivered had a problem with wild power fluctuations. From very high to the point I could almost see the pellet leaving the barrel. I called Pyramyd and they immediately sent me a return shipping label and replaced the gun no questions asked. The second rifle I received is great. Pyramyd's exchange/refund policy is EXCELLENT! They don't mess around which is why I just bought another gun from them this week.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:rifle is OK, scope is very poor
      Things I would have changed:better scope and a good set of open sights
      What others should know:don't bother with scope, it will not hold its adjustments
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Jim from USA on 2013-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Style, coolness factor, very realistic. Easy to maintain.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Really hard to cock, it's a work-out. Shooting a "springer-type" gun is very different from an actual gun. You must learn the "artillery hold" if you ever expect to hit anything. The scope that comes with this is junk, get the carry- handle version and save $10. PBA pellets are as loud as a .22.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike in Va. from USA on 2013-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Waited a long time for this one to come up for sale. Like the look and the heft. Shoots straight right out of the box with a different scope I added and H&N 10.65g pellets. Like the sling attachments also. Hope there is a trigger upgrade for it in the future. I really like this gun accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Scope, and trigger if I could. Also I would prefer either model in a .22 cal
      What others should know:If you get one try for the non scoped version so that you'll have the front sight {low profile...high profile will not work...it throws off the pellets} and carry handle so you don't have to buy separate. If scoped you'll need a better scope then the one it comes with.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Morris from USA on 2013-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just want to add a Big AMEN to what has already been discussed. This has been a great shooter right out of the box. I am thankful I waited as I also pre-ordered. Love the weight, the feel and the quickness of zeroing. I will upgrade the scope, but as was already covered the center point scope was exactly what you would expect. Love the sling mounts, as most air guns lack that option
      Things I would have changed:For the price .............. nothing. .22 and .25 would make this a great hunting rifle. It will be a great temptation to purchase those calibers if they offer them in the future.
      What others should know:The trigger is a typical Crossman trigger. Not sure if upgrades are possible, but it will take a little more work to change out than most. Great air gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Damian from USA on 2013-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This feels like the M-16 A2 rifle! Well made with heavy grade plastic thru ought. Nitro piston delivers good power. Magazine release button drops the magazine. The mil dot scope was a nice surprise.
      Things I would have changed:Better scope than the standard 4 x 32 even though I do like the mil dot. Better directions for user maintenance.
      What others should know:THIS LOOKS IDENTICAL TO THE REAL THING. THAT SAID, IF YOU LIVE ANYWHERE NEAR PEOPLE, PLEASE USE COMMON SENSE. A POLICE OFFICER SEEING SOMEONE WITH THIS IN A POPULATED AREA IS GOING TO LITERALLY HAVE A SPLIT SECOND TO MAKE A DECISION ON YOUR LIFE!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Zeuskiller from USA on 2013-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I preorderd this 3 months ago and the date got pushed back a few times,I almost cancelled,Glad I didnt! Had pretty high hopes for this and to be honest,It has surpassed my expectations!The ABS plastic is high quality,And has a very nice flat matte black finish.The weight and balance is nice.It is longer than my real Smith & Wesson AR15,But weighs about the same(I have lots of assecories on my AR,So this is probably even heavier).The scope is a Center Point,Similar to a 50-60.00 Center point you would buy @ walmart.It's really not bad for an air rifle and has a nice clear field of view.Loudness is about a 3 out of 5 with lead pellets,Of course with Alloy its almost as loud as a .22 rimfire because its around 1200 fps(Supersonic)So dont use alloy in your backyard(they suck for varmit hunting and accuracy anyways) I have only fired this with Predator Polymag, 8.0 Grain Pellets(besides trying an alloy to check loudness)And I must say,Once I zeroed the scope in I was impressed with the accuracy,And from my experience,The Polymags are not always the most accurate.At 35 yds I consistantly got about 2.25 inch groups per 10 rounds fired.I'd say thats pretty good for the polys.I'm expecting even better groups with H&N or JSB Match.
      Things I would have changed:Cannot think of much at the moment. very cool break barrel and the Nitro piston seals the deal.Worth the price in my opinion.
      What others should know:If you are thinking of buying a unique Break barrel and are on a budget,Get this! you won't be dissapointed!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top