Crosman MTR77 NP Scoped Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mike in Va. from USA on 2013-07-01 09:43:16

Things I liked:Waited a long time for this one to come up for sale. Like the look and the heft. Shoots straight right out of the box with a different scope I added and H&N 10.65g pellets. Like the sling attachments also. Hope there is a trigger upgrade for it in the future. I really like this gun accuracy.
Things I would have changed:Scope, and trigger if I could. Also I would prefer either model in a .22 cal
What others should know:If you get one try for the non scoped version so that you'll have the front sight {low profile...high profile will not work...it throws off the pellets} and carry handle so you don't have to buy separate. If scoped you'll need a better scope then the one it comes with.
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Robert from USA on 2013-07-02 08:43:02

Things I liked:rifle is OK, scope is very poor
Things I would have changed:better scope and a good set of open sights
What others should know:don't bother with scope, it will not hold its adjustments
Sort by:
  • 12 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Virgil from USA on 2015-05-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks like and feels like real M16, is very accurate and improving with age. very powerful it will drive a pellet thru 3/8" thick pine board shooting at 25 meters...lot of bang for a buck!!!
    Things I would have changed:I can't say change anything except, put a slip on rubber butt pad on the gun.
    What others should know:This is a break barrel gun and the initial break might prove difficult following the printed instructions...A call to Pyramyd Air resolved my issue there and I opened her right up as we talked.Pyramyd Air is the AAAl supplier in service and options.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Virgil from USA on 2015-05-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The realistic appearance,weight,size, and detail..Had a problem "out of the box" following instructions to break barrel,called the Pyramid Air and they told me in detail how to hold and break the barrel, following instructions it worked like a charm. 100 + shots and experimenting with various mfgr pellets, and it works better all the time...it's a Crossman....You can buy Airguns anywhere, you can't get unmeasureable service anywhere but Pyramid Air.
    Things I would have changed:Wish it was made in USA...and the instructions on how to break the barrel could use a review and rewrite.
    What others should know:If you are looking for a replica that really shoots accurately and hard this is your gun. I am 87 years old and can not go to the rifle range as often as I use to so I can maintain proficiency right in the house or back yard whenever I feel like it. A few shots fired at 3:00 A.M. is quite relaxing to me and I can go back to bed.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By brian from United Kingdom on 2015-04-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks great good quality abs plastic, heavy weight. Shoots very well loud with a firearm type "crack".some say there hard to cock can't say I had any problem but you need to be positive half hearted efforts won't work. Well made accurate (ONCE YOU ADJUST TO A TIGHTER GRIP)
    Things I would have changed:nothing apart from don't bother with the scope buy the cheaper version put the cash saved towards a better scope
    What others should know:Get one before the ban them, and for gods sake be careful where you use it! It looks and sounds like a real firearm
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Richard from USA on 2014-12-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:appearance and power
    Things I would have changed:replace scope with A/O featuure
    What others should know:Pyramid air is the only place to buy airguns!
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By JamesD from USA on 2014-12-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the modern look of the air-gun, the gas piston (new to gas-pistons)and the fit is relatively comfortable.
    Things I would have changed:Country of origin ... China. I was very disappointed to see that. Had I known this was a Chinese made air-gun, I would have passed. The gun is 80% plastic, with only the absolute essentials being other material. The material that appeared to be metal was awfully dry and seemed unprotected. I've noticed this with some air-guns made in Turkey as well. The quality control of Chinese manufactured goods makes this rifle a little suspicious in my book. I will use at my own risk.
    What others should know:Pyramid Air should list it's products Country of Origin. If you were looking at this air-gun in a "brick and mortar" store it's Country of origin would be an easy find instead of a surprise.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By presley from Grenada on 2014-07-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:everything else except the scope its worthless
    Things I would have changed:the scope ,and calibre would like it in .22 cal
    What others should know: best air rifle i ever own i've own 2 rifles before my mtr77 is best, anyone buying this wont be dissapointed
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jordan from USA on 2013-12-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This gun is for adults. DO NOT get this gun for a youngster or a beginner. The cocking effort is atleast 40-45 lbs. This is a powerful gun, and i love it. It kicks like a real firearm. It needs about 200 rounds thru it to calm it down then its good to go. My gun likes a firm grip and its doing 3/4" groups out to 35yrds.
    What others should know:Be patient with this gun and it will reward you in the end. My gun likes cheap chp, predator polymags barely beat them in accuracy test.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Marduk Occulta from USA on 2013-11-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.3333299160003663 ratings
     
    Things I liked:One of the est shooting reak barrels I have for sure. DON'T BUY THIS, SCOPED, MODEL!! Get the one with the handle and iron sights. The scope is worthless past 20-25 feet!
    Things I would have changed:The rifle is quiet, smooth and dead accurate! The scope isn't worth what it cost to ship from China. Hence 4the stars for value.
    What others should know:Scope aside, I love this rifle. I canned the junk scope and got an M16 handle andand rail mount. I put a folding Mag Pull front sight and topped it off with a 2.5x10x40 Firefield scope. I get 1" patterns at 40 yards, from a rest with Crosmana 10.5 premium dome pellets. The great value for the buck!!. I only wish it came in a larger caliber!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Andrew from USA on 2013-10-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:While far from an expert, I know a thing or two about airguns. That being said, I was very pleased with this one. Solid build, decent barrel length, good accuracy, the nitro piston, and a feel very comparable to the real thing combine to make this an outstanding gun.
    Things I would have changed:Personally, I would lighten it up a bit, because I don't use it to practice for the real thing. Others may disagree.
    What others should know:While its not a $3,000 Olympic rifle, it's perfect for eliminating pests such as rodents, bunnies, and stray tin cans and clay birds. I'm not the best shot, nor do I claim to be. However, even I can hit an inch wide target at 20 yards.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Realistic looks and feel. No barrel droop. Hard hitting for such a short bbl. Accuracy better than I expected. This is my second gun. The first one had a sized piston and had to be returned to Crosman. They sent me a new one within 2 weeks, I thought that was very good customer relations. The girl I spoke to was polite and helpful. Anything you buy nowdays can breakdown, how you are treated by the manufacture is the most important thing , in my opinion. That is why I call this experience a "thing I like".
    Things I would have changed:Scope mounts are a joke but it is not easy to find real good mounts for this gun yet. I would say that is a temp. situation as this is going to be popular, of that I have no doubt. I did get a solid mounting system and it makes this thing much better.
    What others should know:It will never be a tack driver but it doesn't need to be, no one will try to use it for target comp. I tried the H&N green (alloy) pellets. What a hoot. they crack like a 22 rimfire, no kidding, and they are way more accurate than any other type of alloy. I hit a 2 liter soda bottle every time from 60 yds. ( yes,60), it pounded that thing like a 22,and came out the other side. Needless to say, I was surprised and pleased.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2013-10-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Oh, man, this thing is fun! I took it into a gun store to buy a case for it and, immediately, on the employees took it from me and pulled out the "magazine". While looking at the piece of plastic, he was really bumfuzzled. One of the other employees said, "It's an airgun, dummy!"
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2013-09-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This thing is not only accurate, but forceful and looks seriously deadly!
    Things I would have changed:Nuttin'
    What others should know:Terrific value and a heck of a lot of fun! I took it into a shooting range to get a case for it. One of the staff quickly took it from me and removed the magazine, which is just a hollow piece of plastic. He looked at it and was just really confused. One of the other employees told him it is "just an airgun. It was really funny.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By John from USA on 2013-09-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:he Crosman MTR77 NP Is relatively heavy but feels rugged, It feels like and of course looks like the M16. Like the M16 you have to press your cheek on the stock to sight properly; providing the shooter another reference to be consistently accurate. I find the recoil also makes it feel like a real gun (feels real to the cheek). I expected the nitrogen piston to recoil less then the spring piston but it seems as much to me. I find the gun very accurate.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger takes so much pressure to pull my hand gets fatigued. I don't like the trigger on the MTR77
    What others should know:The Crosman MTR77 NP Is relatively heavy but feels rugged, It feels like and of course looks like the M16. Like the M16 you have to press your cheek on the stock to sight properly; providing the shooter another reference to be consistently accurate. I find the recoil also makes it feel like a real gun (feels real to the cheek). I expected the nitrogen piston to recoil less then the spring piston but it seems as much to me. I find the gun very accurate and I could be even more accurate If the trigger was decent. The trigger takes so much pressure to pull my hand gets fatigued. I don't like the trigger on the MTR77 or the Benjamin Trail pistol. I love the trigger on my Benjamin Marauder. All pellet guns should have such a trigger. Cocking the break barrel takes a little bit of elbow grease(45 lb.). I put the but of the stock in the cress of my hip and notice the bruises in the shower. I like the sturdiness and the strength of the MTR77. It seems very powerful. I have hit a four inch target at 60 yards by aiming right at the target. The target is on the water and the water conditions could have a lot to do with the shot. Another reason I bought and like the MTR77 is Weaver style rails. I got the accompanying scope close to zeroed and replaced it with the CenterPoint red/green reflex sight to finish breaking the rifle in. When I go back to the rest and target at 10 meters I will check the zero on the CenterPoint and change back to the 4X scope and finish zeroing it, expecting to be able to change the scope and reflex sight out and be close to zero immediately.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Robert from USA on 2013-09-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A fine plastic reproduction of the 'real thing', especially great with the nitro piston. Adequate accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:Kind of sad that a collector like me (whose state does not tolerate the 'real thing') has to satisfy himself with either non-firing metal reproductions or firing airguns made essentially of plastic... When, then shall we see this model as a METAL firing airgun ?
    What others should know:Still an excellent value
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Paul from USA on 2013-08-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the rifle but couldn't get the scope sighted in at my 33' range. I contacted Crossman and they said to send the scope back to MFG. That will cost me money and it's a new scope. I don't think I need to do that just yet.I tried two other air rifle scopes and still the pellet was hitting 8" low with the turret all the way up. I said I will try shimming the rear of the scope 1,000th inch at a time and see if that helps. It is possible that this scope is intended for longer ranges, 25 yards or so. I have 10 other air rifles with scopes and have had no problem with the 33' range.
    Things I would have changed:It does for sure need a rubber butt pad. Crossman said they will keep my name and if one becomes available, they will let me know.
    What others should know:If you have an AR-15, this is a great addition to your collection.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By DARRELL from USA on 2013-07-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It look like the real deal I like every thing about it
    Things I would have changed:nothing. but would like to see them come out with one in a 22cal
    What others should know:it take a wild to brake it in I shoot about 150 rounds in it;but the groud in come in closer I was used7.9gr an 9gr pellects just to brake it in now I going order some 10gr that's what I used to hunt with so all in all it a good accuary air rifl an it way worth the money an it will do good on small game I made five shot out to 45yards an I get dimes size groups.it going b a winner with the 10gr pellects from croman
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Rob from USA on 2013-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Not your daddy's Crosman! My personal advice would be adults only. Wicked power. Very accurate and getting better with break in. Definite S.B.C. Gun in the wrong hands but way cool for A.R. lovers.
    Things I would have changed:Center Point scope focal range should be improved. Focus is at max run-out.
    What others should know:Thank you Crosman! My new Fav!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Dave from USA on 2013-07-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This gun looks and shoots great! I tossed the scope immediately and replaced it. It wasn't the greatest scope and I didn't expect it to be.
    Things I would have changed:I'd probably get a better quality scope
    What others should know:This gun shoots rather erratically when you first start using it. The instructions say 250 shots before it breaks in. I have found it took about 350 before my groups started getting consistent. Also the first gun delivered had a problem with wild power fluctuations. From very high to the point I could almost see the pellet leaving the barrel. I called Pyramyd and they immediately sent me a return shipping label and replaced the gun no questions asked. The second rifle I received is great. Pyramyd's exchange/refund policy is EXCELLENT! They don't mess around which is why I just bought another gun from them this week.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Robert from USA on 2013-07-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:rifle is OK, scope is very poor
    Things I would have changed:better scope and a good set of open sights
    What others should know:don't bother with scope, it will not hold its adjustments
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Jim from USA on 2013-07-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Style, coolness factor, very realistic. Easy to maintain.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Really hard to cock, it's a work-out. Shooting a "springer-type" gun is very different from an actual gun. You must learn the "artillery hold" if you ever expect to hit anything. The scope that comes with this is junk, get the carry- handle version and save $10. PBA pellets are as loud as a .22.
  • 12 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top