Date: 28/7/2016 11:13
0

Crosman MTR77 NP Scoped Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mike in Va. from USA on 2013-07-01 09:43:16

Things I liked: Waited a long time for this one to come up for sale. Like the look and the heft. Shoots straight right out of the box with a different scope I added and H&N 10.65g pellets. Like the sling attachments also. Hope there is a trigger upgrade for it in the future. I really like this gun accuracy.

Things I would have changed: Scope, and trigger if I could. Also I would prefer either model in a .22 cal

What others should know: If you get one try for the non scoped version so that you'll have the front sight {low profile...high profile will not work...it throws off the pellets} and carry handle so you don't have to buy separate. If scoped you'll need a better scope then the one it comes with.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Robert from USA on 2013-07-02 08:43:02

Things I liked: rifle is OK, scope is very poor

Things I would have changed: better scope and a good set of open sights

What others should know: don't bother with scope, it will not hold its adjustments

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Caleb from USA on 2016-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The weight is almost exact to the real thing, it has the most power out of the three airguns I own, and is absolutely fun jack. I've had this rifle for about a year now and is my go to gun when I have to shoot the crows out of the corn :)

    Things I would have changed: I would have two of these if they made a .22, please make one crosman!

    What others should know: It isn't a toy, good for small game and looks like the real thing, so be careful.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Victor from USA on 2016-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks great well built it's a good straight shooter it's got accuracy and power shoots several different pellets accurate can't beat the price

    Things I would have changed: The second stage of the trigger is a little tight I think you will need to adjust it right Out the box but when you get use to it it's fine

    What others should know: I put a different scope with heavy duty ring mounts the ones that come with it are a little light for this gun it's got a little kick

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a sweet shooting good looking air rifle...not a toy it is a hard hitting accurate rifle, first nitro piston rifle I have purchased and I am rather impressed, not very loud and a pleasure to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: This gun does have a few minor things I would like to see changed.... the balance is not the best, it is nose heavy and to off set this issue I have filled the butt stock with foam.. it does 2 things adds a little weight and pulls a little more of the recoil out of this rifle.

    What others should know: This gun works very well with the recommended jb exact diabolo pellets, I also have been using benjamin pellets and at 125 feet shooting less than 2 inch groups, I am sure it is me holding back the tighter groups.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very nice replica of the M16. I am very familiar with the M16 as I spent 8 years in the Army and had to carry my weapon all over the place. It looks the same even up close. In particular the handguards seem to be made of the exact solid plastic as the real thing. The weight is about the same, and when I shoot it, the kick is about the same as a real M16. It is also very fun to shoot with the scope as well as the open sights, which I had to buy separately. I bought a UTG low profile front sight along with an AR15 Carry handle sight, and that combination works well on this rifle. I am so happy with the power of this rifle and the fact that I can actually shoot it in my basement, which I cannot do with a real rifle. So when people ask me what my M16 was like, I can show them my MTR77 and they get the idea.

    Things I would have changed: First thing that I would change are the scope rings. There have been many complaints about the accuracy of the scope and some are not able to zero, but I think this is due to the low quality scope rings that come with the scope. I bought some UTG High Profile Heavy Duty scope rings and my scope seems much better. The next thing I would change is the trigger, which had many complaints. The trigger pull is way too long and requires too much force and this really takes away from the accuracy of the rifle. There are some trigger mods that you can do that will greatly improve the trigger pull. I don't know if anything can be done about this but the cocking force for the break barrel is 45Lbs of force, which is a lot but its still way better than a 10-pump.

    What others should know: This can be a very accurate rifle with the trigger modifications and new scope rings. It is the most powerful air rifle I have ever used.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregory from Canada on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love everything about this amazing air rifle! Crosman made a winner with this AR15/M16 lookalike. Instead of adding a scope or sight I decided to order real front and rear AR15/m16 iron sights, and i also bought a full metal ar15 carry handle/dual aperture peep sight...it is nice to switch the carry handle for the ar15 rear sight for a change...for the front sight I bought a pack of seven different KNS Precision sight posts and the ar15 sight tool, which isn't the same as the stock Crosman sight tool. As far as shooting is concerned, this air rifle is a straight shooter and once I got used to the trigger I found nothing troublesome about it and my accuracy is improving every time I shoot this air rifle. It is my first gas ram break barrel rifle but I've had the Benjamin trail np air pistol for a year or so.

    Things I would have changed: I would rather this air rifle came with a .22 caliber version! I would have liked to have a removable stock with the option of putting an M4 adjustable stock on it, like the Crosman m4-177

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john a. from USA on 2016-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: well made,solid gun .very accurate once sighted in.good looking replica shoots as hard as my hatsan mod 95

    Things I would have changed: gun is worthy of a better scope

    What others should know: I put a bugbuster scope with high rings on it.the higher rings provided more elevation adjustment. the rings provided with the bugbuster are not high enough for this rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By On Target Air Guns from USA on 2015-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a GREAT gun for the $. The guns looks are awesome and it is super accurate. From a short distance people have thought this gun was real AR-15. I have owned this gun for well over a year and I have had 0 problems.

    Things I would have changed: The Trigger.

    What others should know: I did not mount the scope. I had a new Leapers waiting for it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ron from USA on 2015-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I spent several months looking at different air rifles before buying this one. I like the looks and power of this rifle. I added a red dot scope because the one that comes with it doesn't do the job. One thing I did was use the Crosman trigger fix to give it a smoother trigger pull. You can find how to do this by using Google. The last thing I did was to replace the butt pad with a new M16/AR15 one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Stout...This thing feels solid. Looks and feels great. I've mounted a UTG 3-9x32 Compact CQB Bug Buster scope on it...Perfect for this rifle. I never even mounted the scope that came with it. I also purchased a carry handle and UTG low profile front sight for it which gives it a more traditional look. This thing is quite powerful. I took a squirrel out from about 50 yards offhand with the scope. One shot to the head, clean kill using a H&N crow magnum hollow point. I bought it on a whim and it has far exceeded my expectations!

    Things I would have changed: a rubber butt pad would be nice. I added a limbsaver pad I had and it keeps it from sliding on hard surfaces if you stand it up by the buttstock.

    What others should know: initially cocking it can be tough...but you'll get used to it and it becomes easier.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kaleb from USA on 2015-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very high quality rifle and has great accuracy and velocity. It is very rugged and is heavy in the hand. Very good rifle for pest control, and plinking.

    Things I would have changed: I would've liked the rifle to come with a bigger better scope.

    What others should know: This is a must buy for anyone that loves realistic accurate replicas.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Virgil from USA on 2015-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks like and feels like real M16, is very accurate and improving with age. very powerful it will drive a pellet thru 3/8" thick pine board shooting at 25 meters...lot of bang for a buck!!!

    Things I would have changed: I can't say change anything except, put a slip on rubber butt pad on the gun.

    What others should know: This is a break barrel gun and the initial break might prove difficult following the printed instructions...A call to Pyramyd Air resolved my issue there and I opened her right up as we talked.Pyramyd Air is the AAAl supplier in service and options.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Virgil from USA on 2015-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The realistic appearance,weight,size, and detail..Had a problem "out of the box" following instructions to break barrel,called the Pyramid Air and they told me in detail how to hold and break the barrel, following instructions it worked like a charm. 100 + shots and experimenting with various mfgr pellets, and it works better all the time...it's a Crossman....You can buy Airguns anywhere, you can't get unmeasureable service anywhere but Pyramid Air.

    Things I would have changed: Wish it was made in USA...and the instructions on how to break the barrel could use a review and rewrite.

    What others should know: If you are looking for a replica that really shoots accurately and hard this is your gun. I am 87 years old and can not go to the rifle range as often as I use to so I can maintain proficiency right in the house or back yard whenever I feel like it. A few shots fired at 3:00 A.M. is quite relaxing to me and I can go back to bed.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By brian from United Kingdom on 2015-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks great good quality abs plastic, heavy weight. Shoots very well loud with a firearm type "crack".some say there hard to cock can't say I had any problem but you need to be positive half hearted efforts won't work. Well made accurate (ONCE YOU ADJUST TO A TIGHTER GRIP)

    Things I would have changed: nothing apart from don't bother with the scope buy the cheaper version put the cash saved towards a better scope

    What others should know: Get one before the ban them, and for gods sake be careful where you use it! It looks and sounds like a real firearm

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: appearance and power

    Things I would have changed: replace scope with A/O featuure

    What others should know: Pyramid air is the only place to buy airguns!

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By JamesD from USA on 2014-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the modern look of the air-gun, the gas piston (new to gas-pistons)and the fit is relatively comfortable.

    Things I would have changed: Country of origin ... China. I was very disappointed to see that. Had I known this was a Chinese made air-gun, I would have passed. The gun is 80% plastic, with only the absolute essentials being other material. The material that appeared to be metal was awfully dry and seemed unprotected. I've noticed this with some air-guns made in Turkey as well. The quality control of Chinese manufactured goods makes this rifle a little suspicious in my book. I will use at my own risk.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air should list it's products Country of Origin. If you were looking at this air-gun in a "brick and mortar" store it's Country of origin would be an easy find instead of a surprise.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By presley from Grenada on 2014-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: everything else except the scope its worthless

    Things I would have changed: the scope ,and calibre would like it in .22 cal

    What others should know: best air rifle i ever own i've own 2 rifles before my mtr77 is best, anyone buying this wont be dissapointed

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jordan from USA on 2013-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is for adults. DO NOT get this gun for a youngster or a beginner. The cocking effort is atleast 40-45 lbs. This is a powerful gun, and i love it. It kicks like a real firearm. It needs about 200 rounds thru it to calm it down then its good to go. My gun likes a firm grip and its doing 3/4" groups out to 35yrds.

    What others should know: Be patient with this gun and it will reward you in the end. My gun likes cheap chp, predator polymags barely beat them in accuracy test.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marduk Occulta from USA on 2013-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: One of the est shooting reak barrels I have for sure. DON'T BUY THIS, SCOPED, MODEL!! Get the one with the handle and iron sights. The scope is worthless past 20-25 feet!

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is quiet, smooth and dead accurate! The scope isn't worth what it cost to ship from China. Hence 4the stars for value.

    What others should know: Scope aside, I love this rifle. I canned the junk scope and got an M16 handle andand rail mount. I put a folding Mag Pull front sight and topped it off with a 2.5x10x40 Firefield scope. I get 1" patterns at 40 yards, from a rest with Crosmana 10.5 premium dome pellets. The great value for the buck!!. I only wish it came in a larger caliber!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2013-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: While far from an expert, I know a thing or two about airguns. That being said, I was very pleased with this one. Solid build, decent barrel length, good accuracy, the nitro piston, and a feel very comparable to the real thing combine to make this an outstanding gun.

    Things I would have changed: Personally, I would lighten it up a bit, because I don't use it to practice for the real thing. Others may disagree.

    What others should know: While its not a $3,000 Olympic rifle, it's perfect for eliminating pests such as rodents, bunnies, and stray tin cans and clay birds. I'm not the best shot, nor do I claim to be. However, even I can hit an inch wide target at 20 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Realistic looks and feel. No barrel droop. Hard hitting for such a short bbl. Accuracy better than I expected. This is my second gun. The first one had a sized piston and had to be returned to Crosman. They sent me a new one within 2 weeks, I thought that was very good customer relations. The girl I spoke to was polite and helpful. Anything you buy nowdays can breakdown, how you are treated by the manufacture is the most important thing , in my opinion. That is why I call this experience a "thing I like".

    Things I would have changed: Scope mounts are a joke but it is not easy to find real good mounts for this gun yet. I would say that is a temp. situation as this is going to be popular, of that I have no doubt. I did get a solid mounting system and it makes this thing much better.

    What others should know: It will never be a tack driver but it doesn't need to be, no one will try to use it for target comp. I tried the H&N green (alloy) pellets. What a hoot. they crack like a 22 rimfire, no kidding, and they are way more accurate than any other type of alloy. I hit a 2 liter soda bottle every time from 60 yds. ( yes,60), it pounded that thing like a 22,and came out the other side. Needless to say, I was surprised and pleased.

  • 12 Next
Navigation