Crosman NightStalker kit reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By louis from USA on 2010-01-31 16:05:46

Things I liked: Accessories and the feel of weapon

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Brilliant gun best on range

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By tboneplayr03 from USA on 2009-08-13 20:38:33

Things I liked: the accessories

Things I would have changed: that it didn't break

What others should know: it broke while I was shooting it and it fired off 9 shots in about half a second.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2012-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent value for the money! Found a brand new one in original box for $100. Put a Red Dot Scope on it right away; no problem and makes shooting it very easy. Shoot the 12 round mag as quickly as pulling the trigger; I use CPHPs and no problems with indexing or malfunctions. The Nightstalker is just lots and lots of fun to shoot; if you can find one - get it!

    Things I would have changed: Only one issue (see below); after I solved that problem - no worries.

    What others should know: I had an issue with my Co2 venting out; so I added an O ring to the base of the threads on my refillable 88gm cartridge - and now no venting!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scott from USA on 2010-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the 12 shot repeat feature. I like the ease of use. Good gun for the money.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic stock is a little on the cheap side. The safety and the loading slide is a little hard to use since out of the same plastic.

    What others should know: If you are looking for a cool looking target gun that is easy and fun to use, then this is your gun. If you want attention to detail and high end craftsmenship over function then keep shopping.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By gvikar from USA on 2010-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fun to shoot, and surprisingly accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Would have preferred a more conventional clip loading system as opposed to the revolver style clip.

    What others should know: The problem I have with the revolver style clip is that recoil from the bolt cycling can cause the other pellets in the clip to shift and protrude, jamming the gun. I have quite a few clips for the gun, and some work better than others.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By louis from USA on 2010-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accessories and the feel of weapon

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Brilliant gun best on range

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SCOTT from USA on 2009-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: ACCURACY ! Fast shooting, hits pretty hard, easy handling and balance. Very fun !

    Things I would have changed: A better receiver system/seal for loading the co2 cartridge. Sometimes it blows valuable gas when inserting the cartridge. Improved chamber cover for easier loading/unloading and fewer complaints about it. Recommend THE PROPER PELLETS to use. Please supply instructions in english too, that's the only language I know. Please, Crosman executives, stop golfing for a day and pay attention to what pays you.

    What others should know: Mine has UMAREX on the bottom of the barrel. I didn't know Crosman delt with them too. Not a bad thing, they have China on their springers and a few others I own. By experience and unnecessary perseverance I have found this gun to be rather excellent, which is odd. I sent the first one back to Pyramid because it constantly jammed and then wouldn't work at all. The second one started doing the same, bolt locking forward, 3 expensive cartridges to waste and leaking, jamming. I was going to throw it away, literally. Kept working it with a new cartridge (yes, I know all about pellgun oil, I have several different types of air guns and read a lot about it). Then like a miracle from Crosman, or somewhere, it started to work. As other reviewers have said, the right pellet is not only important in this gun, but critical. Crosman pellets are the only way to go. I have now only three proven and consistant pellets for this gun (I tried several name brands that work well in other gas, pump and springers) without one jam since using them, all Crosman Premier as follows; Hollow Points, Domed/round nose (from the expensive brown box 7.9) and the Match or Super Match wad cutters (which do work as well as the rest I mentioned), all 7.9 grains. Each of those batches had not one jam in 230 shots plus per 88 gram cartridge. I probably wouldn't bother if I had known before, but now it's okay. Make your own mind up and don't go with all media.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By nev from USA on 2009-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is very accurate. Blowback is great and I like the scope and light. The squeeze on the light works well and the whole gun just looks awsome. The 12 shot clip is really nice, but get a speed loader and ammo. The bi-pod is also very handy. Gun is very light and easy to handle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. For this money, a great buy.

    What others should know: If you like blowing away cans, this is a nice piece. Get one.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By tboneplayr03 from USA on 2009-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the accessories

    Things I would have changed: that it didn't break

    What others should know: it broke while I was shooting it and it fired off 9 shots in about half a second.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carson from USA on 2009-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is the most FUN GUN I have ever had! Accuracy is perfect at close to medium range. Shot after shot I continue to nail the same hole as the first shot. The accessories make this purchase worth every penny. Tears through tin cans. Makes for good times.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING.

    What others should know: If you're looking for a FUN GUN this is the product. Buy the some extra clips and Co2. I have gone through hundreds of pellets. Read the manual. Proper maintenance will make any air gun last a long time. Pellgunoil is this gun's best friend.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By fnowosielski from USA on 2009-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Crosman Nightstalker is a great gun for plinking. Its extremely accurate and fun to shoot. I’ve read other reviews that have complained about jams and leaks. So far, I’ve put over 1000 pellets through the gun, and it is still fully operational. This is true for two reasons: 1) As stated in the instructions, I put a drop of Pellgun Oil on the tip of every third can of Co2…this will stop the seals from drying out. 2) The breach needs to be slid ALL THE WAY open when loading/unloading the gun. The rotary clip easily slides in and out if you are cognizant of this. You should expect the occasional “misfire”, where maybe 1 or 2 pellets don’t exit the rotary clip. That being said, you still have the opportunity to send 10-11 pellets on target. Lastly, the red dot scope was a disappointment out of the box, but only at first. I had reservations about not have any magnification on the scope, and thought zeroing it in would be difficult. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Once zeroed, I say acquire and fire…you simply can’t miss."

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2009-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate, the laser sight scope, and the feel of the gun. It seems to have good shooting power.

    Things I would have changed: The magazine is hard to load. I do not care for the plastic magazine and the loading area. Crosman generally makes good products but this area needs improvement.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rob from USA on 2009-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: 12 Shot Magazine!!! This thing really rocks - It makes a nice loud 'bang' when you shoot it, and it really is the coolest looking rifle you can get in this price range. I recommend a speedloader, otherwise you'll spend a long time refilling those magazines.

    Things I would have changed: I'd smooth out the plastic edges a bit - I took some 400 grit sandpaper to mine, and now it's fine. It was poking me a bit inside the stock, where my thumb rests. Otherwise, it's just one wicked gun!

    What others should know: Buy lots of pellets, you're gonna need them!!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2009-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a GREAT value in the Kit version and fun to own. I will reach past 3 "higher end" rifles and a pistol or 2 and grab the NS 90% of the time now. I have taken more shots with it than all my other guns combined in a couple of years. I am literally "blowing" through pellets by the tin. It actually has me worried about being able to afford .177 ammo. LOL!

    Things I would have changed: The NS only works well with tight fitting pellets in the magazine. I have established this with certainty across 2 Nightstalkers. READ ON AND SAVE YOURSELF SOME GRIEF. (That wasn't yelling. There really needs to be an italics funtion here.)

    What others should know: Loose fitting pellets get pushed out of the magazine by blowback in the breech and will cause jams and misfires. This doesn't happen in the 1077 rifle wich uses the same magazine - only in the NS for reasons that should be obvious. The key to total enjoyment of this great rifle is to know which pellets work and already have lots of them when your gun arrives. There are probably others, but Crosman Premier Hollowpoints (CPH)are the best I have found so far and they are very accurate in my NS. Even with these, you must be prepared to cull the smallest 5% in a tin and keep them seperated to use in other guns. If a pellet starts into the NS magazine and feels loose, cull it. You will get the feel of this in no time. Don't use a speedloader or you won't be able to tell if a pellet is too loose. No pointed or wadcutter I have tried to date worked nearly as well as the CPH. Therefore, until others are proven, I suggest you have a bunch of these fine pellets on hand when the new NS arrives so you can jump right in to having fun instead of clearing jams. There will be plenty of time to experiment with others that may work after the new wears off. If you hit on other good ones let people know. I predict a blog somewhere just for NS owners to catalog ammo that function well I have now had over 1000 jam/misfire free shots with my NS using CPH and the culling method of loading clips. Crosman should send a tin of CPH with every NS. Hope this helps someone. Cheers

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ROBERT from USA on 2009-06-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The nightstalker in kit form is awesome, very easy to assemble. Lightweight and easy to handle it shoots very accurate and spits out the lead as fast as you can pull the trigger--flawlessly. It is my first experience with co2 and I have been reluctant to try it,but now I'm hooked.(rifle wise)

    Things I would have changed: Installing and removing the pellet cylinder (wheel) takes some getting used to. I think that transition could be improved.

    What others should know: If you always wanted a rifle like this, Don"t Hesitate! It's awesome!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By larry from USA on 2009-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: light weight, very accurate, no recoil,

    Things I would have changed: better instruction on setting up the scope

    What others should know: bought the nightstalker kit, took about 40 minutes to put together, it was easy, another 15 minutes to set the scope, so i could shoot 12 pellets within the size of a quarter, i cam close, then spend the next two hours shooting rats in the barn, it was fast, easy, the gun is light weight, and did a great job, easy to carry and fun to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By reed from USA on 2009-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great gun....the tactical kit is definantely worth the extra money, has quite a bit of power for a CO2 air rifle. The red dot is extremely accurate at about 15-20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing except, you go through pellets pretty fast so buy lots of cheap ammo

    What others should know: The most accurate pellets with this gun are probably the crosman premiers

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeremy from USA on 2009-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The "TK" edition gets you off to a good start making this rifle look mean with some decent accessories. This rifle is deadly accurate and I was pleased by the power this 580fps CO2 has. Tight .8 inch groups @ 25 yards. No can stands a chance, even thick ones! I only get about 225 shots out of those 88g CO2 tanks in 60-65 degree weather, far from the advertised 350 shots though. I bought several types of pellets and found that the standard, cheap wad-cutter, dome, and flat-tip hollow point types from RWS or Crosman work best. Most pointed or "hunting" types are either too long or do not allow the magazine to advance properly. One thing you MUST get is the speed-loader, you will thank me later. I found the flashlight useful and was able to see well on our improvised shooting range as shooting carried on into the evening, even at 30-40 ft distances.

    Things I would have changed: 1.The included scope rings are the standard type and sit low on the rail and render the Mohawk sights totally unusable so I replaced mine with "see through" scope rings (Leupold model # 55880) to raise the scope up 1" to a more comfortable eye level and allow the use of the Mohawk sights. 2.In my opinion, the Mohawk sight system needs to be redesigned. The peep holes are difficult to see through and acquire targets quickly. You need to carry a screwdriver to make adjustments, some kind knob/lever would be cool. Wish list: 1.Open or Fiber-optic dot sights would have been icing on the cake. 2. Higher capacity magazines or maybe an optional BB hopper. 3. More Power and variable power knob.

    What others should know: Not sure if I was just too rough but after 4 CO2 cartridges the CO2 transfer assembly misaligned and caused the rifle to lose total power. If it wasn't for the exploded diagram of the rifle on Crosman's website I would have had to send it back for repair or ask Pyramid Air to replace it. Fortunately, I like to take things apart and found that the CO2 assembly kind of screws together and once the CO2 outlet holes are aligned, it is held in place by two tension screws. If you over tighten a CO2 canister you can cause it to slip and rotate just a enough in the sleeve to block the CO2 completely. This causes no real damage and is super easy to cause the problem and fix but a hassle none the less so watch out. I realigned the holes and tightened the crap out of the tension screws and seems to be holding well now. They should have designed it with a couple dimples under the tension screws to stop the rotation.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Aryan from USA on 2009-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Its small and compact accuracy was good out the box. All around fun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Little bit more power behind it, and the price is a little high and 1 more rail too the kit

    What others should know: Alot of yall are cryin about no sling. Just a little bit of thinkin and 2 mounts and a sling and there ya go

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dave from USA on 2009-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The look and feel. When following the instructions for set up, this gun is amazingly accurate with the red dot scope installed and Crosman .177 cal. hollow point pellets. Also shoots my other pellets very well. I don't see how other people could complain about the little things, the butt stock cap a little loose, the open sights, SO WHAT this thing is awesome !

    Things I would have changed: NOT A THING !

    What others should know: Take a little fine emery cloth sandpaper on the threads of the 88g. Air Source tank to knock down the threads a little ,clean very good, then put a drop of Crosman Pellgun Oil on the tip and threads, and I've had a bottle in there over a month and still strong.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Woodrow from USA on 2008-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Much harder hitting than I expected. I was pleasantly surprised at the velocity and accuracy of the shots. Even the corners of some pretty solid soup cans were penetrated quite handily.Nice gun all around. I'm glad I bought one.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic body is a bit on the flimsy side, and the butt stock cap (the part that conceals the CO 2 cartridge) rattles a little.

    What others should know: Loading the pellets is cumbersome, but is'nt that the truth for all pellet guns? The Nightstalker is a nice, hard hitting and reasonably accurate gun. I really like it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By sector7g from USA on 2008-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a fun toy. Accuracy is great. I use Beeman Super Dome and @ 20 yards the groups average under 1 inch. The CO2 last about 250 shots and I didn't have a single jam. If you are going to buy this toy, get the rifle only and purchase the extras from Crossman web site. I have no use for the tripod and the flash light is not nessary for my usage.

    Things I would have changed: The pellet wheel cover is flimsly and should be made stronger. The electronic site goes out during the shooting session. I read about this problem and don't remember the fix. It comes with 2 batteries and I have not tried the extra one. Maybe it's just weak batteries?

    What others should know: Start your shooting session early. It takes time to shoot out the CO2 tank.

  • 12 Next
Navigation