Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:4

    By Kevin from USA on 2013-07-19 14:25:24

    Things I liked:Nice fit and appearance on mine (I understand that this can be hit or miss). Excellent accuracy at short ranges, deteriorates considerably at distances beyond 20 yards. For the money, this is an excellent value.
    Things I would have changed:Instead of a junky scope, it should include iron sights. Especially at the distances this rifle is used. It would cost them nothing to supply a decent trigger, but they don't, despite everyone reporting the same problem with it, for years! Great price on this rifle, but plan on spending additional money on a scope, trigger, and possibly some crown work. It will still be a great value, but at some point, you're going to spend another $200 or settle for mediocrity. Spend the additional money, and you'll have a very impressive gun for under $400.
    What others should know:The junky scope is really a problem. From reading the reviews of this gun, it is obvious that quality control is hit or miss on everything, and that includes the scope. If you are lucky, you'll get one that doesn't zero or adjust from the outset. Otherwise, you are likely to think "Hey, this scope isn't THAT bad!" and then after 50-100 shots, think that something is wrong with you, because you're all over the target. It's not you. Replace the scope first thing, and get one designed for airguns. The problem with the trigger was created by lawyers, as it is intended to enhance safety. In the real world, it just encourages you to void your warranty by getting a GRT or using the free trigger mods posted on YouTube. This can create a very sensitive trigger though, so be careful. And be sure you don't take out the wrong pin when modding your trigger or you'll be bashing your head against the wall. I get dime size groups at 15 yards, but they really start to open up at 20 yards and beyond. (I have the .22) Pellet choice makes a huge difference, and apparently this can vary like everything else with this gun. Mine likes JSB Jumbo Exact Domed, Crosman Premier Domed, and Predator Polymags. Doesn't care for any other Crosman. Check any pellet you try to see how it seats and how consistent the skirts are, as this seems to be what makes the difference. I'm going to look into having a swage made to see if that helps with accuracy.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:2

    Accuracy:4

    By Jim R from USA on 2012-11-26 11:01:37

    Things I liked:Fairly quiet and accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control...the gun looked like it had been dropped in the mud out of the box.
    What others should know:Initially I really liked this airgun. After the first few shots, it was quiet and pretty accurate. It was also fairly easy to break and cock. Unfortunately, exactly 1 month after I received it, breaking the barrel became extremely difficult. It happened suddenly and it has not loosened up at all. It can still be broken but the force needed to break it has left a bruise on my palm. Everything else seems fine but the barrel issue has made this gun very unpleasant to use any longer. I did contact Pyramid Air and they believe something is wrong, but since it is past the 30 day return, it looks like I'll be dealing with Crosman warranty instead of Pyramid...which sucks! I was hoping Pyramid would take care of this. I would NOT recommend this item because it has malfunctioned in a month and was dirty out of the box.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 67 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Burton from USA on 2014-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Have only shot this air rifle twice but so far I really like it. I spent both times shooting at paper targets zeroing in the scope and checking accuracy. I am using the Beeman .22 Cal, 15.1 Grains, Pointed pellets which give me very good consistency. I have the paper targets mounted on a shoe box (6" depth) filled with lawn care weed & feed. I've noticed the pellets penetrating completely thru the box several times. The rifle has a good weight and feel to it. The quality seems very nice. I think the rifle looks very sharp as well.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger may be a shortcoming. The pull, out of the box, is very long....too long for my taste. IN addition, it seems a bit sticky at times. It was easy enough to shorten the trigger pull though. I've never tried replacing triggers but I've read others who have done so in order to get a better, smoother trigger. The effort required to cock the barrel is ALOT more than my older Gamo Shadow 1000 air rifle.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By William from USA on 2014-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:i own this in .177 and .22 as well. These are great air rifles for the money, the nitro piston is absolutely an improvement on the spring and these have nice power and accuracy. the scope has been more than adequate for me on both, contrary to several negative reviews on the scope. the .22 is more consistently accurate than the .177 im assuming due to the additional weight of the pellet
      Things I would have changed:the trigger. im not a stigler about triggers, but i have to agree with some of the negative comments as the trigger is only adequate, and has a fairly different feel between the 2 i own, once you learn exactly where the trigger breaks it's not a problem, but i have to believe Crosman could improve it without costing more.
      What others should know:the .22 is the way to go here, more consistent accuracy and noticeably more muzzle/impact energy, this thing hits pretty hard. i've had no problem taking squirrels at 25' to 75 yrds. my fav pellets are the Crosman 14.3 gr domed. Lastly, i prefer the synthetic stock slightly over the wood stock, as it's more resistant to scuffs and seems to be a bit trimmer than the wood stock
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Mary from USA on 2014-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:pretty accurate,good value,powerful. what else to say, it is an amazing gun!
      Things I would have changed:i would like a better scope, the one it comes with has a super thick crosshair and does not like to stay sighted in.
      What others should know:nothin exept to buy a better scope!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Dustin from USA on 2014-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I switched to shooting this after giving up on a .177 Gamo Whisper Fusion Pro. This is MUCH quieter, easier to cock, and way more accurate. This may be due to the much lower FPS the pellet is traveling, but It is truly a pleasure to shoot and There is minimal recoil.
      Things I would have changed:Pack a lunch when going for the trigger because it is long. I tried the adjustments, and it got VERY heavy and felt like it was grinding as I pulled it back. I would love a much lighter and shorter trigger on here. The scope is ok to get you shooting, but really only ok if you don't mind your target or retical being blurry and out of focus. That being said, shooting in my basement at 20 feet I hit bullseye after bullseye. This is a short distance but it is winter and it's the only place I currently have to shoot.
      What others should know:Breaking the barrel is a bit of a challenge, as it's very stiff. I don't care for the wood as it feels and looks like plastic, and would rather have a synthetic version. Here are my Chronied pellet speeds: Crosman Premier Hollow point: 677/719/672/689/725/733/743/696/715/700 Benjamin Superpoint: 688/734/697/690/673/738/678/690/700/667 Benjamin Domed Magnum: 738/689/692/696/692/696/688/696/693/700 Benjamin Hollow Point: 703/699/720/713/706/697/707/709/712/710 Benjamin Pointed Expanding: 699/690/701/698/699/704/716/694/700/713 All of these pellets shot well, but I was a bit disapointed at the velocity spread. I'd Like to see a bit more consistancy, but maybe I will find that in more expensive pellets. Accuracy is good though.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2014-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Couldn't pass this up when it went on sale! Already own a nitro venom dusk and am very satisfied with it. Accurate after cleaning and break-in!
      Things I would have changed:I can't complain about the trigger...I'm adjusting to it. I may try a CharlieDaTuna trigger on one of my NPs for comparison.
      What others should know:Loves the Crosman Premier hollow points! Still trying others.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By D.H. from USA on 2014-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Crosman quality, the Crosman Nitro gas tube technology and the ambidexterous cheekpieces (very nice for us lefties) make this a darn-near perfect airifle.
      Things I would have changed:Wouldn't change a thing.
      What others should know:This rifle is good for both beginner and experienced shooter. Mild mannered enough for beginners, and plenty of power for experienced shooters, for target or small game.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2014-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      32 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love gas ram because of its smoother shot cycle and the "twang" of a spring gun being gone. The hardwood stock has a really nice finish and fits me nicely. The checkering makes it look alot more expensive that it really is.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change would be to install a better aftermarket trigger and a nicer scope. The scope on mine holds zero but it is not very clear when shooting at longer distances. Also when adjusting the focus at the rear of the scope. You can either see the crosshairs really good or your target but oddly enough not both at the same time. When the crosshairs are in focus, the target is out of focus. And when you can see the target good, the crosshairs are fuzzy and out of focus. So other than the scope and trigger, this a really nice airgun.
      What others should know:Plan on trying lots of different pellets. I tried 5 different kinds before finding one the gun really liked and grouped well with. Mine really likes the crosman premiere hollow points in 14.3 grain. Tin cans at 50 yards are a piece of cake.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By anthony from USA on 2014-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun is well made, great stock. it took 35 shoots and bulls eye. I cleaned it after 35 shoots with bore cleaner I clean my black power gun with. this a great air gun.
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:22 is the way to go if you are hunting.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smooth cocking with manageable force required Muzzle brake assists cocking Included scope is adequate for a beginner Safety is easy to manage and select adequate power with regular weight pellets to kill nuisance critters. Sonic crack is rather neat
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Mine dieseled a bit when I forst started shooting it andn it took about 100 pellets to settle down and start shooting acceptable groups at 25 and 50 yards. I am still experimenting with different weight and nose pellets to determine which is the best to shoot from this rifle. So far it looks like the Gamo Rockets are the best, but that could change when the next batch of pellets arrive from Pyramid...
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By noah from USA on 2014-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate at 30 yards with 10.34 grain pellet. Feels well built. Solid. Nice wood finish. Scope was a great sight picture. The noise level was very low compared to other air rifles
      Things I would have changed:Not much really, a little more power would help for hunting velocity wise, and this would be the best rifle ever with open sights.
      What others should know:Very quiet
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By ted from USA on 2013-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Pretty much like the .22 venom a lot!had my eye on this model for some time...those prexmas deals were just too tempting to pass up !Shot every ammo I tried surprisingly well plus doesn't seem to be that hold sensitive & was laying the rounds right in there from the get go !Was a bear to cock at first but soon settles down & smooth's out quickly.Has a good feel...heavy like a deer rifle,but I like that feeling,doesn't feel like a toy at all!All in all,I like the venom,a good value for the money & with a little tuning can be a real gem !
      Things I would have changed:Stock finish was poor,probably will refinish in time!Would rather buy any air rifle without scope!Sound level,as far as sound can't honestly say it's any quieter than any of my other break barrels but in time will get better...has just over 500 rounds fired so far!
      What others should know:Not my first break barrel..took completely apart & cleaned,lubed,did trigger fix,replaced breech seal(was damaged)& applied blue threadlock where needed!Most all screws are always loose. I don't care about warranty at all that's why I set up the air rifle the way I want right out of the box...I have the skills to rebuild these things but I don't recommend to any one to do these things unless they do have these skills & don't care about the warranty !Would suggest to any new or first time airgunner...try crosman pellets first,in many cases are as good as any !
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Donald from USA on 2013-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good looks, very powerful and surprisingly very accurate! This rifle has a very tight chamber and I think that's one reasons for the great groups. This gets 775 fps with Crosman HP Hunting and 790 fps with Crosman Destroyers. The temp was 56°F and averaged 1/2" groups @ 10 yards. That's with the scope that was included with it. Very impressive!
      Things I would have changed:Its all Good!
      What others should know:I have the Crosman .177 Nitro Venom and its very good also, but more finicky about ammo selection. It likes Gamo "Tomahawk" the most. I do like the 22 cal better tho.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Roy from USA on 2013-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Love the feel of power this guns has and the beautiful wood stock and just a great rile
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:just got get one for yourself and know just how nice it is:))
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By justin from USA on 2013-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a well built air rifle. A real great value!
      What others should know:The adds saying that the nitro pistons are 70% quieter are a bit of an exaggeration. I would say it's more like 40-50 %.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2013-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate right out of the box. Nitro piston really is smoother than a spring. My new favorite gun. PA offered a great deal, even covered the shipping.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Great gun.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have been shooting air rifles for 35 years. I have rws and beeman German guns. I was looking for another 22 caliber air rifle to hunt with now that 22 lr has gone the way of the trex! This is it. Cheap but not cheap. The rifle is well built for the price,but does not compare to the Beeman R-1 20 cal but for the intended purpose it is great. Accurate at 25 yards,smooth action, I did poly the piston. Used beeman poly from Pyramid! Spent time to run 100+ pellets to break it in before mounting the scope. The cool thing is it destroyed My pellet trap! Getting another.
      Things I would have changed:Ok, after reading all the reviews on this rifle I was concerned about the trigger and scope supplied . Trigger is ok I can live with it for hunting. Breaks at 5.5 on my trigger scale. Scope, got rid of it! Center point does make good scopes! I installed a 4x16 center point adventure on it. I have 3 installed on my air rifles and love them, no issues. I have one on a RWS 350 and had 0 issues! So if you buy the rifle expect to change the scope. The rings supplied worked fine. Iron sight would be nice.
      What others should know:Nitro piston is great! As with most air rifles there is no practical way to install a sling. This is a great affordable air rifle. Cocking is for adults, not a first rifle for the kids. Accuracy at 25 yes is great, it took som time to find the right pellet but any JSB will put 5 shots into a .25 group at 25 if I do my job. With 22lr almost extinct this is the way to go,no pellet shortage!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2013-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The whole package is very good. The rifle is quiet and feels very solid. The scope that came with the package seems like it will do the job. I like the weaver rail that is attached to the rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Make the checkering on the stock deeper, and make a little more space between the safety and the trigger when the safety is on.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By candi from USA on 2013-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the accuracy, Power, and a sturdy feel of my nitro venom chambered in .22 cal.I'm getting 1/2 inch groups at 12 yards shooting from the bench while using the artillery hold. I replaced the stock 3-9x32mm scope with a center point 4-16x40mm IR ( illuminated reticle) AO ( adjustable objective) scope from Center Point. I'm :)
      Things I would have changed:I would change that awful trigger pull, its way to long and kind of stiff. It should come with a metal trigger an trigger gaurd instead of this cheap plastic. I'm not sure if this has ever been to implement on air rifle but a locking break barrel latch to prevent possible barrel droop.
      What others should know:Pyramyd Air has a excellent customer service team, right out of the box the scope to my rifle appeared to be cracked. I called them an told them the problem, they took my # called crosman on my behalf an called me back in literally two minutes gave me crosmans # an representatives name. crosman wanted me to pay shipping to them for them to service the scope, i hung up called pyramid back got a diffrent person told them what was going on they checked warehouse for spare scope when they didn't have one they emailed me a return label... the to customer service people were so helpful assisting me, I save us both the trouble and went to Wally World an upgraded my scope for $75. I have not recieved a penny nor pellet for this review. pyramid air is a reputable air gun dealer. I will refer anyone I know to shop with them!!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2013-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great shooter! 1 hole groups @ 17yards So far I have taken 19 squirrels and 5 rabbits all clean kills! Filling the freezer up fast
      Things I would have changed:Maybe make it a little lighter and add open sights
      What others should know:Great buy for the money! Get it!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2013-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its accurate; easy to cock; quiet; my first air rifle and I'm impressed.
      Things I would have changed:Unbundle the Crosman scope; I upgraded to a bugbuster 3-9x32 AO scope soon after purchasing the venom, and the AO makes a huge difference.
    • 123 ... 67 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold