Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2013-07-19 14:25:24

    Things I liked:Nice fit and appearance on mine (I understand that this can be hit or miss). Excellent accuracy at short ranges, deteriorates considerably at distances beyond 20 yards. For the money, this is an excellent value.
    Things I would have changed:Instead of a junky scope, it should include iron sights. Especially at the distances this rifle is used. It would cost them nothing to supply a decent trigger, but they don't, despite everyone reporting the same problem with it, for years! Great price on this rifle, but plan on spending additional money on a scope, trigger, and possibly some crown work. It will still be a great value, but at some point, you're going to spend another $200 or settle for mediocrity. Spend the additional money, and you'll have a very impressive gun for under $400.
    What others should know:The junky scope is really a problem. From reading the reviews of this gun, it is obvious that quality control is hit or miss on everything, and that includes the scope. If you are lucky, you'll get one that doesn't zero or adjust from the outset. Otherwise, you are likely to think "Hey, this scope isn't THAT bad!" and then after 50-100 shots, think that something is wrong with you, because you're all over the target. It's not you. Replace the scope first thing, and get one designed for airguns. The problem with the trigger was created by lawyers, as it is intended to enhance safety. In the real world, it just encourages you to void your warranty by getting a GRT or using the free trigger mods posted on YouTube. This can create a very sensitive trigger though, so be careful. And be sure you don't take out the wrong pin when modding your trigger or you'll be bashing your head against the wall. I get dime size groups at 15 yards, but they really start to open up at 20 yards and beyond. (I have the .22) Pellet choice makes a huge difference, and apparently this can vary like everything else with this gun. Mine likes JSB Jumbo Exact Domed, Crosman Premier Domed, and Predator Polymags. Doesn't care for any other Crosman. Check any pellet you try to see how it seats and how consistent the skirts are, as this seems to be what makes the difference. I'm going to look into having a swage made to see if that helps with accuracy.
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Jim R from USA on 2012-11-26 11:01:37

    Things I liked:Fairly quiet and accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control...the gun looked like it had been dropped in the mud out of the box.
    What others should know:Initially I really liked this airgun. After the first few shots, it was quiet and pretty accurate. It was also fairly easy to break and cock. Unfortunately, exactly 1 month after I received it, breaking the barrel became extremely difficult. It happened suddenly and it has not loosened up at all. It can still be broken but the force needed to break it has left a bruise on my palm. Everything else seems fine but the barrel issue has made this gun very unpleasant to use any longer. I did contact Pyramid Air and they believe something is wrong, but since it is past the 30 day return, it looks like I'll be dealing with Crosman warranty instead of Pyramid...which sucks! I was hoping Pyramid would take care of this. I would NOT recommend this item because it has malfunctioned in a month and was dirty out of the box.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 78 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By scott from USA on 2014-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:at 10 yards, with H&N field target trophy power (outstanding, btw) pellets and tweaking the scope i can get quarter sized groups without much effort, and better if i concentrate. i havent tested power and accuracy beyond 10 yards. but this to me seems very good for a sub 200 dollar rifle. i am used to the trigger creep and its like adjusting to a different tennis racket or something. the stock is smooth and wide and the gun has a nice heft.
      Things I would have changed:as others have stated, a better scope will yield better results. but i do get quarter sized groups with it at 10 yards
      What others should know:good entry level pellet rifle for the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have had my Nitro Venom .177 for more than a year now & it has been a huge pleasant surprise. I know what Crosman guns are, but I wanted to try a gas piston. [10-45yds. JSB monsters(13.4g) 700fps] [45-75yds H&N Baracuda (10.65g) 830fps] My backyard target is at 25yds & it shoots dimes all day long! Many crows at 65-75yds.(2.5 mil dots)
      Things I would have changed:If things are changed-the price goes up. I did put in the GRT trigger & refinished the stock-dark walnut-gorgeous! Still use the CP scope.
      What others should know:This gun should last for many years. May have to replace the seals & a new piston for $30. The rifle with scope is 8.5lbs. Not hard to cock, quiet, small amount of vibration & kick. Enjoyable & I shoot with confidence. I also have a D34, R9, & LGV.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Justin from USA on 2014-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Clean Stock, the accuracy on the gun is outstanding! Also very quite because of the Nirto piston
      Things I would have changed:Overall a great gun, but the center point scope it comes with is under scaled. Its a good scope and can be used for anything but if you want to do some hunting you might want to consider in a more powerful one.
      What others should know:Make your airguns to this stndard
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kentucky Airgunner from USA on 2014-07-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Deadly accurate out to 50yds. Beautiful craftsmanship. Easy to cock and has very good balance.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I must have gotten really lucky or Crosman made a boo-boo because the trigger on my Nitro Venom is really nice. Adjusted good and has a smooth pull and predictable break. It fires CP Ultramag 14.3g Domes at 730fps and I consistently get .305in groups at 35yds. At 50yds I am getting .502in groups with the same ammo. Can hardly wait for rabbit season. I did upgrade the scope to a Leapers UTG 3-9x40 AO True Hunter rifle scope and am glad I made that choice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By steven from USA on 2014-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:deadly accurate and fantastic knock down power
      Things I would have changed:I changed the trigger to a GRT-111 and also refinished the stock, added a barrel band sling mount and a center-point 3x50 scope.
      What others should know:I use my airguns exclusively for hunting and with a few(lol) changes this is an awesome pellet gun. looks great and is the most accurate pellet gun I have ever owned. I also have a Benjamin Trail NP I used to like but now doesn't remotely compare with the Crosman. to put things into perspective I like this airgun better than my Weihrauch HW-90 and grab the Nitro Venom for pest control first every time. I know it won't last as long as the Weihrauch but it is great fun right now!!!!! buy this classic looking air rifle and you won't be sorry!
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2014-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The built in rail is great. Other than that, not much.
      Things I would have changed:Awful trigger. Awful finish. Awful quality control. Crosman needs to give those poor Chinese a break and put some Americans to work.
      What others should know:I've had the gun about a year now but have waited to review it so I could be as fair as possible. At first I attributed the horrible accuracy to the lousy trigger, so in went a tuna trigger. Still threw pellets all over the place. All screws are loctited and do not back out, the barrel is sparkly clean, and the Center Point that came with it is holding zero-still, the best group I can manage is 2" at 35 FEET. (H&N FTT) Power is nowhere near the advertised spec-Hobbys @ 11.9gr average 716fps. Based on other reviews I'd guess mine is a lemon, built by the same 3-fingered drunk who carved the stock. A junior high school kid could do better in shop class. And while the milk-chocolate color is pretty, the runs, drips, and uneven application suggest monkeys throwing...well, you know what. They could have at least scraped the excess glue off at the butt plate!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Ironnerd from USA on 2014-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Look, feel, fit and finish. Easy to use, pretty darn accurate, reasonably powerful. Just a nice little pellet-thrower. I have used it to "neutralize" several squirrels, opossum, and raccoon.
      Things I would have changed:Sights. I like iron sights but there really is no practical way to add them to this gun.
      What others should know:I had a few accuracy issues until I cleaned the barrel - apparently the factory in China does not clean the barrel before shipping, and it was basically filthy. Once cleaned, the gun shot quite well.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Weight. Knock down power of the .22 and rifle. Price for the combo. Ease of doing business with PA.
      Things I would have changed:Very difficult to get sighted in. 5 separate sessions and about 100 rounds and it is settling down. Still have a 40% miss rate.
      What others should know:I have 2 other cheap air rifles ($40) that are not break barrel and are far more accurate and consistent. Don't know if it is the break barrel or the scope. I would recommend taking it to the range in short order after receiving the gun and formulating your opinion before the 30 return policy expires.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2014-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Excellent rifle. Accurate and well built. Easy to operate. I was able to zero it in within minutes.
      Things I would have changed:A bit heavy especially if you have to carry it for a while when hunting.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Adrian from USA on 2014-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid gun, the scope is pretty nice for the money, good value. Cheek rest is nice and comfortable.
      Things I would have changed:Pretty heavy, also, use threadlocker to tighen up all the screws.
      What others should know:I got this gun as one of my first .22 air rifles. Very solid. Also quite heavy. Consistant shots. The scope isn't bad for the money. Needed thread locker to tighten everything up. Hits pretty hard. Nice solid starter.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Burton from USA on 2014-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Have only shot this air rifle twice but so far I really like it. I spent both times shooting at paper targets zeroing in the scope and checking accuracy. I am using the Beeman .22 Cal, 15.1 Grains, Pointed pellets which give me very good consistency. I have the paper targets mounted on a shoe box (6" depth) filled with lawn care weed & feed. I've noticed the pellets penetrating completely thru the box several times. The rifle has a good weight and feel to it. The quality seems very nice. I think the rifle looks very sharp as well.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger may be a shortcoming. The pull, out of the box, is very long....too long for my taste. IN addition, it seems a bit sticky at times. It was easy enough to shorten the trigger pull though. I've never tried replacing triggers but I've read others who have done so in order to get a better, smoother trigger. The effort required to cock the barrel is ALOT more than my older Gamo Shadow 1000 air rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By William from USA on 2014-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i own this in .177 and .22 as well. These are great air rifles for the money, the nitro piston is absolutely an improvement on the spring and these have nice power and accuracy. the scope has been more than adequate for me on both, contrary to several negative reviews on the scope. the .22 is more consistently accurate than the .177 im assuming due to the additional weight of the pellet
      Things I would have changed:the trigger. im not a stigler about triggers, but i have to agree with some of the negative comments as the trigger is only adequate, and has a fairly different feel between the 2 i own, once you learn exactly where the trigger breaks it's not a problem, but i have to believe Crosman could improve it without costing more.
      What others should know:the .22 is the way to go here, more consistent accuracy and noticeably more muzzle/impact energy, this thing hits pretty hard. i've had no problem taking squirrels at 25' to 75 yrds. my fav pellets are the Crosman 14.3 gr domed. Lastly, i prefer the synthetic stock slightly over the wood stock, as it's more resistant to scuffs and seems to be a bit trimmer than the wood stock
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mary from USA on 2014-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:pretty accurate,good value,powerful. what else to say, it is an amazing gun!
      Things I would have changed:i would like a better scope, the one it comes with has a super thick crosshair and does not like to stay sighted in.
      What others should know:nothin exept to buy a better scope!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dustin from USA on 2014-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I switched to shooting this after giving up on a .177 Gamo Whisper Fusion Pro. This is MUCH quieter, easier to cock, and way more accurate. This may be due to the much lower FPS the pellet is traveling, but It is truly a pleasure to shoot and There is minimal recoil.
      Things I would have changed:Pack a lunch when going for the trigger because it is long. I tried the adjustments, and it got VERY heavy and felt like it was grinding as I pulled it back. I would love a much lighter and shorter trigger on here. The scope is ok to get you shooting, but really only ok if you don't mind your target or retical being blurry and out of focus. That being said, shooting in my basement at 20 feet I hit bullseye after bullseye. This is a short distance but it is winter and it's the only place I currently have to shoot.
      What others should know:Breaking the barrel is a bit of a challenge, as it's very stiff. I don't care for the wood as it feels and looks like plastic, and would rather have a synthetic version. Here are my Chronied pellet speeds: Crosman Premier Hollow point: 677/719/672/689/725/733/743/696/715/700 Benjamin Superpoint: 688/734/697/690/673/738/678/690/700/667 Benjamin Domed Magnum: 738/689/692/696/692/696/688/696/693/700 Benjamin Hollow Point: 703/699/720/713/706/697/707/709/712/710 Benjamin Pointed Expanding: 699/690/701/698/699/704/716/694/700/713 All of these pellets shot well, but I was a bit disapointed at the velocity spread. I'd Like to see a bit more consistancy, but maybe I will find that in more expensive pellets. Accuracy is good though.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2014-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Couldn't pass this up when it went on sale! Already own a nitro venom dusk and am very satisfied with it. Accurate after cleaning and break-in!
      Things I would have changed:I can't complain about the trigger...I'm adjusting to it. I may try a CharlieDaTuna trigger on one of my NPs for comparison.
      What others should know:Loves the Crosman Premier hollow points! Still trying others.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By D.H. from USA on 2014-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Crosman quality, the Crosman Nitro gas tube technology and the ambidexterous cheekpieces (very nice for us lefties) make this a darn-near perfect airifle.
      Things I would have changed:Wouldn't change a thing.
      What others should know:This rifle is good for both beginner and experienced shooter. Mild mannered enough for beginners, and plenty of power for experienced shooters, for target or small game.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2014-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love gas ram because of its smoother shot cycle and the "twang" of a spring gun being gone. The hardwood stock has a really nice finish and fits me nicely. The checkering makes it look alot more expensive that it really is.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change would be to install a better aftermarket trigger and a nicer scope. The scope on mine holds zero but it is not very clear when shooting at longer distances. Also when adjusting the focus at the rear of the scope. You can either see the crosshairs really good or your target but oddly enough not both at the same time. When the crosshairs are in focus, the target is out of focus. And when you can see the target good, the crosshairs are fuzzy and out of focus. So other than the scope and trigger, this a really nice airgun.
      What others should know:Plan on trying lots of different pellets. I tried 5 different kinds before finding one the gun really liked and grouped well with. Mine really likes the crosman premiere hollow points in 14.3 grain. Tin cans at 50 yards are a piece of cake.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By anthony from USA on 2014-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun is well made, great stock. it took 35 shoots and bulls eye. I cleaned it after 35 shoots with bore cleaner I clean my black power gun with. this a great air gun.
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:22 is the way to go if you are hunting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smooth cocking with manageable force required Muzzle brake assists cocking Included scope is adequate for a beginner Safety is easy to manage and select adequate power with regular weight pellets to kill nuisance critters. Sonic crack is rather neat
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Mine dieseled a bit when I forst started shooting it andn it took about 100 pellets to settle down and start shooting acceptable groups at 25 and 50 yards. I am still experimenting with different weight and nose pellets to determine which is the best to shoot from this rifle. So far it looks like the Gamo Rockets are the best, but that could change when the next batch of pellets arrive from Pyramid...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By noah from USA on 2014-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate at 30 yards with 10.34 grain pellet. Feels well built. Solid. Nice wood finish. Scope was a great sight picture. The noise level was very low compared to other air rifles
      Things I would have changed:Not much really, a little more power would help for hunting velocity wise, and this would be the best rifle ever with open sights.
      What others should know:Very quiet
    • 123 ... 78 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top