Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle reviews - page 7



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2013-07-19 14:25:24

    Things I liked:Nice fit and appearance on mine (I understand that this can be hit or miss). Excellent accuracy at short ranges, deteriorates considerably at distances beyond 20 yards. For the money, this is an excellent value.
    Things I would have changed:Instead of a junky scope, it should include iron sights. Especially at the distances this rifle is used. It would cost them nothing to supply a decent trigger, but they don't, despite everyone reporting the same problem with it, for years! Great price on this rifle, but plan on spending additional money on a scope, trigger, and possibly some crown work. It will still be a great value, but at some point, you're going to spend another $200 or settle for mediocrity. Spend the additional money, and you'll have a very impressive gun for under $400.
    What others should know:The junky scope is really a problem. From reading the reviews of this gun, it is obvious that quality control is hit or miss on everything, and that includes the scope. If you are lucky, you'll get one that doesn't zero or adjust from the outset. Otherwise, you are likely to think "Hey, this scope isn't THAT bad!" and then after 50-100 shots, think that something is wrong with you, because you're all over the target. It's not you. Replace the scope first thing, and get one designed for airguns. The problem with the trigger was created by lawyers, as it is intended to enhance safety. In the real world, it just encourages you to void your warranty by getting a GRT or using the free trigger mods posted on YouTube. This can create a very sensitive trigger though, so be careful. And be sure you don't take out the wrong pin when modding your trigger or you'll be bashing your head against the wall. I get dime size groups at 15 yards, but they really start to open up at 20 yards and beyond. (I have the .22) Pellet choice makes a huge difference, and apparently this can vary like everything else with this gun. Mine likes JSB Jumbo Exact Domed, Crosman Premier Domed, and Predator Polymags. Doesn't care for any other Crosman. Check any pellet you try to see how it seats and how consistent the skirts are, as this seems to be what makes the difference. I'm going to look into having a swage made to see if that helps with accuracy.
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Jim R from USA on 2012-11-26 11:01:37

    Things I liked:Fairly quiet and accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control...the gun looked like it had been dropped in the mud out of the box.
    What others should know:Initially I really liked this airgun. After the first few shots, it was quiet and pretty accurate. It was also fairly easy to break and cock. Unfortunately, exactly 1 month after I received it, breaking the barrel became extremely difficult. It happened suddenly and it has not loosened up at all. It can still be broken but the force needed to break it has left a bruise on my palm. Everything else seems fine but the barrel issue has made this gun very unpleasant to use any longer. I did contact Pyramid Air and they believe something is wrong, but since it is past the 30 day return, it looks like I'll be dealing with Crosman warranty instead of Pyramid...which sucks! I was hoping Pyramid would take care of this. I would NOT recommend this item because it has malfunctioned in a month and was dirty out of the box.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 678 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Larry from USA on 2011-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Outstanding airgun for the money. Smooth cocking and shooting. Combines accuracy and power. Pairs of shots would touch at 10m and penetrate 5/8" plywood. Great fun to shoot-far more pleasant than springers
      Things I would have changed:Trigger. Pull is long. May try aftermarket trigger
      What others should know:This gun may spoil you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:gun shoots well at 30 yards, i havent tried to shoot much further, but is affected by wind if outdoors. Scope is great for being free. 22 caliber Kills sqirrels easily without bothering the neighbors and the gun is really quiet.
      Things I would have changed:i dont like the trigger all that much but its not so bad that ill change it out
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Shawn from USA on 2011-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I purchased the Crosman Nitro Venom from Pyramyd Air when it was on sale, and the price was great. Probably one of the cheapest Nitro Piston airguns. I purchased the wood stock model, and the wood is very nice. Very hard, durable, and has a very authentic look to it.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the description on the Nitro Venom Dusk to reflect that it is lighter than the Wood Stock model. It's a bit heavy for my build, so I would have liked it to be a lb or 2 lighter. There's also no way to put shoulder straps on. Lighter, or shoulder strap option would be great on this airgun. The trigger is pretty stiff on the Venom, an accurate pull rating would help.
      What others should know:I received my Venom with a defective scope. The scope is a Center Point 3-9x32, and it was not focused past 7x and from 3x-4.5x I called Pyramyd and they are having me send the unit back and will be covering the shipping since it's a defect. It seems like this is a common problem with these combo scopes, as quality control seems to be lacking there. When calling Center Point for help on the technical specs on their scope, They had no idea what the parallax setting was. The model of the scope is a 3932.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ensult from USA on 2011-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have had this rifle for only a few days , still in the break in period. Here is the funny thing tho , it is very accurate already. I had it zeroed within 10 shots using CPHP and I can almost stack the pellets on top of each other @ 10 yards (bench rest). The weight is pretty good balanced , the nitro piston offers nice strong cocking motion.
      Things I would have changed:IMHO , the scope that is included isn't that bad, but does need replacing. The scope is a mill dot 3-9x32 and I believe the parralax is about 35 yards. At 9x the site picture thru the scope at 50 yards is blurry but at 25/30 yards is clear. Yes , the trigger is like pulling a truck thru snow , long and creepy "second stage" and very heavy. The trigger will be getting replaced with a CDT GTR-III.
      What others should know:This rifle is worth the $$$ IMO. Just may want to figure in a few dollars more to make it a pretty awesome weapon. 149$ for the Rifle - 32 for a new CDT GTR-III trigger - and (???) for a good 4-12 scope with a parralax around 50 yards. Then this would be the tack driver you have been looking for !
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By karl from USA on 2011-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like the feel of this gun. It is a heavywieght but you can bring it up nicely. the grip is huge but when you get the hang of keeping your thumb out of the way it is nice. It is quiet, not as quiet as expected but nice. accurate with copper pellets, lead were hit and miss
      Things I would have changed:make the grip smaller so that your hand can fit around the grip and stabilize your shot.
      What others should know:thei gun has been super so far. I was a bit put off but the ten dollar test coming up an average of 800 FPS instaed of the advertised 1200 fps. that is a big drop. it took me about 20 shots to realize this gun was ot going to wor with me using lead pellets. I have shot several copper pellets and it is dead on. varmits, goodbye.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By reeves7763 from USA on 2011-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:EXCELENT BUY++LOVE THE NITRO PISTON--MUCH LESS VIBRATION THAN MY RWS---VERY ACCURATE--I AM USING CROSSMAN PREM. HOLLOW POINTS--I THOUGHT IT HAD AUTO SAFETY BUT IT DOESNT=THE SALESMAN [ GREG] WAS VERY HELPFUL--WOULD BUY FROM THEM AGAIN
      Things I would have changed:THE TRIGGER ISNT THE BEST BUT YOU GET USED TO IT AND ITS NOT BAD---THE SCOPE FOR MY VISION CANT BE ADJUSTED TO BE CRYSTAL CLEAR--THESE GUNS SHOULD COME WITH SILICONE OIL BECAUSE IT COST MORE TO SHIP THAN IT COSTS--ORDER IT WITH THE GUN
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By nicaburns from USA on 2011-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock and fairly quiet. Overall pleased with the performance and accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is absolute garbage. I have owned alot of scopes and this one is by far the worst I have ever seen. It will not hold zero and actually so fuzzy that it is difficult to determine what you are looking at.
      What others should know:Plan to budget to replace the scope... I am shopping for a replacement now.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chad from USA on 2011-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Queit, Accurate and reliable. Great air rifle for hunting squirlles & rabitts so far. Max distance I have shot a squirrel with 16 grain hollow points is 60 yards and rabbits have been aroung 30 yards with 26 grain "Big Boy" pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a sling attached out of the box like the benjamin trail np xl.
      What others should know:Shoots 26 grain pellets with ease with plenty of speed and power at known ranges of 30 yards for swamp rabbits. Drops them on the spot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dave from USA on 2011-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have the .22 it is the quietest airgun I have. 1/3 of the noise of my big cat 177. Smooth cocking no spring noise. The trigger is almost decent the first stage being take up and the so called second stage just a smooth pull for a while till it fires, a little moly paste got it smooth. Got about 400 premier hp pellets shot and 1/2 inch 5 shot groups at 25 yds from bench are normal had a couple of one holers 3/8 inch out standing accuracy. The 3x9 centerpoint scope is still holding its zero amazing! The 2 other centerpoint scopes I have used would'nt stay zeroed after 200 rounds. Mabey I won't have to replace this scope.
      Things I would have changed:The stock finish not the best. The trigger needs some real adjustability. And I guess the only way crossman can sell thier scopes is putting them with rifles. I would sure like to choose what I wanted when I buy a rifle.
      What others should know:All the above said for the price I paid and the way this rifle shoots its got to be the best deal I,ve had lately.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Allen from USA on 2011-12-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I purchased this gun in .22 cal. for $130.00 on sale. This is the 1st .22 cal. and the 1st nitro piston gun I have owned. Compared to my Gamo sringer this thing is silky smooth, quiet(sounds more like a regulator rifle, without the rattle of the spring) and easy to cock. It cuts out the bullseye at 10 yards, haven't had a chance to shoot at longer distances yet. The scope is clear and bright. The .22 cal. has plenty of power, I am going to have to make a better back stop now. I would highly recommend this gun to anyone, especially if you are wanting to try a nitro piston gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2011-12-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Decided to get back into airgun shooting on a whim. Not getting to the range as much as I used to, but airguns I can convenitently shoot in my back yard. This gun is a great deal for the money. Just started experimenting with different pellets to see what it likes, but nice accuracy so far. My first "springer" and actually the first I ever fired. I have an old classic Sheridan 20 cal. pump. The piston in the Crosman gives a lot more recoil by comparison, but that just goes with this type of airgun design. Nice velocity/power/penetration. A lot of fun to shoot. Next thing for me will be a PCP design airgun - maybe try 25 caliber.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. I like it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Edward from USA on 2011-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Although it caused me concern, initially, the Dusk stock is a winner. The rifle is very accurate and powerful. I got the 22cal version and mine likes the JSB 18 grain pellets. The welded-on Weaver base is a real plus . . . nothing to shake loose.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger, of course, but this rifle is so very affordable that I can add an improved trigger and still be way ahead of the game.
      What others should know:It settles down to improved accuracy and consistency after the first ~100 rounds.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By marc from USA on 2011-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:almost everything...
      Things I would have changed:the trigger for sure, it works but there is alot of pull, im gonna put a new trigger on it.
      What others should know:this is my first nitro piston airgun, and i love it! i had an old crosman spring gun but this one is alot nicer! i like the looks and the feel of the gun. very well made, my gun is working perfect. i could only make it better by changing the trigger and buying a different scope. other than that i am very pleased with the rifle. and pyramydair got it out to me really quickly! very satisfied with their attention. i would recommend pyramydair to all who are looking to buy an airgun! thanks alot guys!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2011-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked: I liked the rifle but sent it back because i ordered two at the same time and like the Stoeger x20 better and it came with more powerful scope! This was very solid & nice, but I like the old style springer's better then the nitro piston. other wise the rife is good except of course you will need to upgrade the trigger, if you want a awesome trigger charlie da tuna on the web has them. If i was going to keep nitro piston then this model is what i would keep for my taste/ i used to have the Benjamin trail but i did not like that either. this felt a bit heavy but actually was only one ounce heavier then the stoeger x20 i am sure once the barrel has been properly cleaned from the factory gunk and shot about 500 times she will shoot just as good as all the others/ except of course those German made rifles hell those our in there own class
      Things I would have changed: the trigger, and the it should come with a more powerful scope at least with a 3x9x40 aol
      What others should know:all new air rifles come from the factory with alot of gunk in the barrels that's just the way it is so always properly clean then lube then wipe away excess in your barrel then properly lube other hinge points and give the rifle its proper break in period of at least 300 to 1000 shots to to settle down
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chad from USA on 2011-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is absolutlely spot at 60 yds. with a 16 grain pellet. I was shooting cigarette buts easily at 50 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. This air rifle is perfect.
      What others should know:I purchased this 22 caliber air rifle for squirrel hunting and so far I have put 7 squirrels in the freezer. Took them from 70 yards. I also shot a large cotton tail rabbit and stopped him in his tracks at 30 yards. Great rifle for hunting. I have been using a pellet gun for hunting for 20 years and I saw the nitro piston system and had to try it. I will never go back to spring. Quite, Deadly accurate and massive knock down power. Thanks Pyramid Air for proving me with such a superb 22 cal. air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2011-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The fit and finish were excellent. I expected some troubles after reading reviews. I got none! I needed no break in period at all. I was pleasantly surprised with how quiet it shoots especially when I examined the substantial penetration. Cocking is smooth and lighter than expected. I found nothing wrong with the trigger most complain about. It has a long pull but smooth in my case. At 25 feet several times I wondered where I had hit. In the same hole? Had to be! I just treat the trigger as I would a good quality double action pistol. ( Get a good CONSISTENT hold. Keep the sight picture on target as much as possible while pulling the trigger smoothly to the rear until it fires as a surprise) Whalla, the bull so long as I keep my HOLD firm and consistent. This rifle is very hold sensitive.
      Things I would have changed:????
      What others should know:Even though I did get excellent accuracy out of the box. 3 times out of 500 rounds the sound was different. I do not know why but 3 holes 8-10 inches low in my backstop are proof something happened. I had a problem with shipping. The stock got a deep ding and a scope cover was broken. A couple Emails to Pyramyd and everything was replaced. I just asked for some stock touch up but got an entirely new stock instead.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Foster from USA on 2011-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Smooth cocking , accurate , love the stock built on weaver mount rather than dovetail all guns should come like this , very consistant shooter both in accuracy and velocity , price is very reasonable.
      Things I would have changed:trigger is a little gritty on the first few shots and has a long pull .....put an aftermarket trigger in this gun and it's a gem !
      What others should know:Velocity on the box for my .22 cal model says 950 fps for pba ammo (which I personaly don't care for ) and 800 fps for 14.3 grain lead pellets . I used 14.0 grain RWS Meisterkugeln pellets for 10 shots through the chrony from about 6 feet and got between 735 and 740 fps . I'm not complaining about the fps cause I figured about 750 fps when i bought the gun before seeing the manufacturers claim on the box ( the claim on the box for fps on lead pellets is much smaller than the claim for pba ammo ......of course ) . When are manufacturers going to get realistic about the velocities ? It seems as though they all over state the velocities like no one is ever going to check up on them ....is there no accountabilty for what seem to be straight forward lies ? ....are these companies not worried their reputations might be hurt ?
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Bart from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Correction to my previous review: "After 3 WEEKS (not 3 months) and about 1000 pellets..."
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Bart from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Value, accuracy, feel, low pumping effort ,(overall ease of operation), quietness, and as always, Pyramyd's superior service. This .22 packs quite a punch and easily carries its pellet consistantly to a 1 " target at 90 feet ( my backyard's maximum distance) while using a shooting table and sandbag hand support, and a different scope.(see below). The single pump charging of the Nitrogen chamber is very easy and smooth. Trigger pull has just about the right effort for me and within a few shots I had its stages locked in. There is just a hint of a kick and is far quieter than I anticipated. The pellet hitting the target trap makes the most noise. There have been no problems so far (3 months and about 1000 pellets).
      Things I would have changed:It's a little on the heavy side which is great for stability when using a shooting table but challenging at other times.
      What others should know:The scope is perfect for 15 yards. Severe parallax occurs beginning at 20 yards and gets progressively worse. (This can actually be a fun challenge-but aggravating.) Site in this scope at 15 yards. I was aware of this when I chose to buy the Venom. I replaced the Venom's scope with an AO scope(Leapers 3-9x32AO) and put the Venom's scope on my versatile Crosman 2100 (perfect for it!) The Venom really should have an AO scope due to its long range ability. If you don't need the scope that comes with the Venom like I did, then take a look at the Benjamin Nitro Trail NP which comes with an AO scope and other extras.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By connor from Canada on 2011-10-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great gun for me I'm 13 and have no problem cocking it. I hunt squirrel with this gun and it goes right through them with field hunting pellets. scope is great,I shot a bird from a tree at 100 yards clean kill.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:This gun is the BOMB.
    • « Previous 12 ... 678 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top