Crosman Nitro Venom Air Rifle reviews - page 7



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Kevin from USA on 2013-07-19 14:25:24

Things I liked:Nice fit and appearance on mine (I understand that this can be hit or miss). Excellent accuracy at short ranges, deteriorates considerably at distances beyond 20 yards. For the money, this is an excellent value.
Things I would have changed:Instead of a junky scope, it should include iron sights. Especially at the distances this rifle is used. It would cost them nothing to supply a decent trigger, but they don't, despite everyone reporting the same problem with it, for years! Great price on this rifle, but plan on spending additional money on a scope, trigger, and possibly some crown work. It will still be a great value, but at some point, you're going to spend another $200 or settle for mediocrity. Spend the additional money, and you'll have a very impressive gun for under $400.
What others should know:The junky scope is really a problem. From reading the reviews of this gun, it is obvious that quality control is hit or miss on everything, and that includes the scope. If you are lucky, you'll get one that doesn't zero or adjust from the outset. Otherwise, you are likely to think "Hey, this scope isn't THAT bad!" and then after 50-100 shots, think that something is wrong with you, because you're all over the target. It's not you. Replace the scope first thing, and get one designed for airguns. The problem with the trigger was created by lawyers, as it is intended to enhance safety. In the real world, it just encourages you to void your warranty by getting a GRT or using the free trigger mods posted on YouTube. This can create a very sensitive trigger though, so be careful. And be sure you don't take out the wrong pin when modding your trigger or you'll be bashing your head against the wall. I get dime size groups at 15 yards, but they really start to open up at 20 yards and beyond. (I have the .22) Pellet choice makes a huge difference, and apparently this can vary like everything else with this gun. Mine likes JSB Jumbo Exact Domed, Crosman Premier Domed, and Predator Polymags. Doesn't care for any other Crosman. Check any pellet you try to see how it seats and how consistent the skirts are, as this seems to be what makes the difference. I'm going to look into having a swage made to see if that helps with accuracy.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By christopher from USA on 2015-05-07 17:38:46

Things I liked:Easy to operate. Liked the rail for mounting the scope.
What others should know:Out of the box and installed the scope but could not get any kind of accuracy with it. Starting to sight it in at 10 yards and my groups were 6"-8". Checked everything and found that the two screws at the front of the stock were loose. I tightened them up but still was only getting 6" groups. I thought it may have been the scope, so I changed it with one from another rifle I have. Groups were still in the 6" range at 10 yards. No way you could use this to hunt garden pests with this kind of accuracy. I had to return it.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 12 ... 678 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Darren from USA on 2011-12-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Nice gun for the money. The wood on the gun is very nice for a gun of this price. The gun is very quiet and it breaks very smooth. The gun has very good power for hunting.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is very rough and if you try to squeeze off slow you will loose pressure and the pellet will lose velocity.
    What others should know:I would put a after market trigger in the gun! This gun will produce 1/2" groups at 30 yards but I have not been able to get better. I have only put 100 rounds through it with most air rifle it should improve after break-in
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Randy from USA on 2011-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Always wanted to try a nitro piston, just didn't want to pay top dollar. This sale was just what I was looking for. Bought mine in .22 caliber. Once the scope was mounted and zeroed, I was impressed. At ten to seventy yards, this gun is extremely accurate with Coleman pointed hunting pellets. Recoil is a lot less than my G1 Extreme. Just what I was hoping for.
    Things I would have changed:Stock finish and checkering could be better.
    What others should know:Wish now I could have bought a .22 and a .177.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Daniel from USA on 2011-12-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:solid wooden stock and metal internals. possibly one of the cheapest nitro pistons available. great bang for your buck. overall quality is impressive as well. good weight, balance, and very ergonomic.
    Things I would have changed:trigger must go. if you're good with the factory trigger, an upgrade will always improve further. i would also prefer they sell it without a scope for a bit cheaper, leaving you an open choice as opposed to replacing something.
    What others should know:this gun is great due to its price and potential, as opposed to its out of the box performance. i would recommend a grt3 trigger, an upgraded scope(recoil resistant), and a re-crowning of the barrel. also make sure to tighten all screws(blue loc-tite recommended) and re-lube necessary parts. do this properly and you're golden. im getting dime sized groups at 17yrds and quarter sized at 35yds. also hitting coke cans all day at 75yrds - im not the best shot either. also for the scope it comes with, you can adjust the focus after all. unscrew the cap at the end(opposite side of eye piece) and you can turn the focus. once set as desired, you can put the cap back on.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Tim from USA on 2011-12-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Fit n finish was nice for a lower end airgun. Very easy to shoot. Not very hold sensative, like spring piston guns. Gun is quiet, and has almost no recoil. After about 8 or 10 shots, was able to shoot 1.5" group at 30yds. I went with the .22 caliber. Gun has great power. At ten yds it shoots about half way threw a 2x4. For the money, this gun is a great buy.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is horrable! Not what I would call a 2 stage trigger. More like a 1 stage with lots of take up, and creep. If you choose this rifle, do yourself a favor and order a GRT III right away.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Eddie from USA on 2011-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I liked everything about this serious airgun. I purchased it in .22 cal., and not the dusk package, on 11/28/2011, haven't had the opportunity to take it to the field yet, but got the rifle professionly bored, mounted and sighted. The airgunsmith stated this is not just an airgun, but a serious airgun, he is correct. So don't point this @ anything that you don't wish to eliminate or eat. The fist time targeting was on the money. Groupings are great @ a practice firing distance of 25ft. It loves all crosman .22cal.ammo, gamo hunter 15.30gr. and gamo rocket ballistic tips 14.3gr., also beeman's kodiak extra heavy 21.14grs. rounds and beeman's crow magnum 18.21 grs. hollow points pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing!!!!!
    What others should know:Crosman really did a good job with tihs one!!! The power is great along with the accuracy.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By steven from USA on 2011-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:it is a well built rifle, quality wood , grouping crossman primere hollow points was diffecult to get within a 4 inch circle at 25 yrds , it was a little tighter group with the crossman premiere dome pellets at 25 yrds, 2 inch groups at best, overall a nice looking rifle fun for plinking , but if i was hunting accuracy for me outside 25yds is not saffcient enough , out of 10 shots on a metal siloutte of a cottentail at 65yrds in a bench rest i was only capable of hitting target 5 times with crossman dome premieres, freehand 2 times, so for baclyark plinking at 25yrds its a graet value but for hunting id look elsewhere..
    Things I would have changed:a little heave for a young shooter an hard to cock , my 13 yr old son barely was capable of cocking it
    What others should know:it is a lot quieter then my big cat 1200 but a lot less accurate
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Larry from USA on 2011-12-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Outstanding airgun for the money. Smooth cocking and shooting. Combines accuracy and power. Pairs of shots would touch at 10m and penetrate 5/8" plywood. Great fun to shoot-far more pleasant than springers
    Things I would have changed:Trigger. Pull is long. May try aftermarket trigger
    What others should know:This gun may spoil you.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2011-12-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:gun shoots well at 30 yards, i havent tried to shoot much further, but is affected by wind if outdoors. Scope is great for being free. 22 caliber Kills sqirrels easily without bothering the neighbors and the gun is really quiet.
    Things I would have changed:i dont like the trigger all that much but its not so bad that ill change it out
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Shawn from USA on 2011-12-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I purchased the Crosman Nitro Venom from Pyramyd Air when it was on sale, and the price was great. Probably one of the cheapest Nitro Piston airguns. I purchased the wood stock model, and the wood is very nice. Very hard, durable, and has a very authentic look to it.
    Things I would have changed:I would change the description on the Nitro Venom Dusk to reflect that it is lighter than the Wood Stock model. It's a bit heavy for my build, so I would have liked it to be a lb or 2 lighter. There's also no way to put shoulder straps on. Lighter, or shoulder strap option would be great on this airgun. The trigger is pretty stiff on the Venom, an accurate pull rating would help.
    What others should know:I received my Venom with a defective scope. The scope is a Center Point 3-9x32, and it was not focused past 7x and from 3x-4.5x I called Pyramyd and they are having me send the unit back and will be covering the shipping since it's a defect. It seems like this is a common problem with these combo scopes, as quality control seems to be lacking there. When calling Center Point for help on the technical specs on their scope, They had no idea what the parallax setting was. The model of the scope is a 3932.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ensult from USA on 2011-12-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have had this rifle for only a few days , still in the break in period. Here is the funny thing tho , it is very accurate already. I had it zeroed within 10 shots using CPHP and I can almost stack the pellets on top of each other @ 10 yards (bench rest). The weight is pretty good balanced , the nitro piston offers nice strong cocking motion.
    Things I would have changed:IMHO , the scope that is included isn't that bad, but does need replacing. The scope is a mill dot 3-9x32 and I believe the parralax is about 35 yards. At 9x the site picture thru the scope at 50 yards is blurry but at 25/30 yards is clear. Yes , the trigger is like pulling a truck thru snow , long and creepy "second stage" and very heavy. The trigger will be getting replaced with a CDT GTR-III.
    What others should know:This rifle is worth the $$$ IMO. Just may want to figure in a few dollars more to make it a pretty awesome weapon. 149$ for the Rifle - 32 for a new CDT GTR-III trigger - and (???) for a good 4-12 scope with a parralax around 50 yards. Then this would be the tack driver you have been looking for !
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By karl from USA on 2011-12-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really like the feel of this gun. It is a heavywieght but you can bring it up nicely. the grip is huge but when you get the hang of keeping your thumb out of the way it is nice. It is quiet, not as quiet as expected but nice. accurate with copper pellets, lead were hit and miss
    Things I would have changed:make the grip smaller so that your hand can fit around the grip and stabilize your shot.
    What others should know:thei gun has been super so far. I was a bit put off but the ten dollar test coming up an average of 800 FPS instaed of the advertised 1200 fps. that is a big drop. it took me about 20 shots to realize this gun was ot going to wor with me using lead pellets. I have shot several copper pellets and it is dead on. varmits, goodbye.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By reeves7763 from USA on 2011-12-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:EXCELENT BUY++LOVE THE NITRO PISTON--MUCH LESS VIBRATION THAN MY RWS---VERY ACCURATE--I AM USING CROSSMAN PREM. HOLLOW POINTS--I THOUGHT IT HAD AUTO SAFETY BUT IT DOESNT=THE SALESMAN [ GREG] WAS VERY HELPFUL--WOULD BUY FROM THEM AGAIN
    Things I would have changed:THE TRIGGER ISNT THE BEST BUT YOU GET USED TO IT AND ITS NOT BAD---THE SCOPE FOR MY VISION CANT BE ADJUSTED TO BE CRYSTAL CLEAR--THESE GUNS SHOULD COME WITH SILICONE OIL BECAUSE IT COST MORE TO SHIP THAN IT COSTS--ORDER IT WITH THE GUN
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By nicaburns from USA on 2011-12-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Easy to cock and fairly quiet. Overall pleased with the performance and accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:The scope is absolute garbage. I have owned alot of scopes and this one is by far the worst I have ever seen. It will not hold zero and actually so fuzzy that it is difficult to determine what you are looking at.
    What others should know:Plan to budget to replace the scope... I am shopping for a replacement now.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Chad from USA on 2011-12-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Queit, Accurate and reliable. Great air rifle for hunting squirlles & rabitts so far. Max distance I have shot a squirrel with 16 grain hollow points is 60 yards and rabbits have been aroung 30 yards with 26 grain "Big Boy" pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe a sling attached out of the box like the benjamin trail np xl.
    What others should know:Shoots 26 grain pellets with ease with plenty of speed and power at known ranges of 30 yards for swamp rabbits. Drops them on the spot.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dave from USA on 2011-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have the .22 it is the quietest airgun I have. 1/3 of the noise of my big cat 177. Smooth cocking no spring noise. The trigger is almost decent the first stage being take up and the so called second stage just a smooth pull for a while till it fires, a little moly paste got it smooth. Got about 400 premier hp pellets shot and 1/2 inch 5 shot groups at 25 yds from bench are normal had a couple of one holers 3/8 inch out standing accuracy. The 3x9 centerpoint scope is still holding its zero amazing! The 2 other centerpoint scopes I have used would'nt stay zeroed after 200 rounds. Mabey I won't have to replace this scope.
    Things I would have changed:The stock finish not the best. The trigger needs some real adjustability. And I guess the only way crossman can sell thier scopes is putting them with rifles. I would sure like to choose what I wanted when I buy a rifle.
    What others should know:All the above said for the price I paid and the way this rifle shoots its got to be the best deal I,ve had lately.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Allen from USA on 2011-12-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Everything.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:I purchased this gun in .22 cal. for $130.00 on sale. This is the 1st .22 cal. and the 1st nitro piston gun I have owned. Compared to my Gamo sringer this thing is silky smooth, quiet(sounds more like a regulator rifle, without the rattle of the spring) and easy to cock. It cuts out the bullseye at 10 yards, haven't had a chance to shoot at longer distances yet. The scope is clear and bright. The .22 cal. has plenty of power, I am going to have to make a better back stop now. I would highly recommend this gun to anyone, especially if you are wanting to try a nitro piston gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By David from USA on 2011-12-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Decided to get back into airgun shooting on a whim. Not getting to the range as much as I used to, but airguns I can convenitently shoot in my back yard. This gun is a great deal for the money. Just started experimenting with different pellets to see what it likes, but nice accuracy so far. My first "springer" and actually the first I ever fired. I have an old classic Sheridan 20 cal. pump. The piston in the Crosman gives a lot more recoil by comparison, but that just goes with this type of airgun design. Nice velocity/power/penetration. A lot of fun to shoot. Next thing for me will be a PCP design airgun - maybe try 25 caliber.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. I like it.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Edward from USA on 2011-11-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Although it caused me concern, initially, the Dusk stock is a winner. The rifle is very accurate and powerful. I got the 22cal version and mine likes the JSB 18 grain pellets. The welded-on Weaver base is a real plus . . . nothing to shake loose.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger, of course, but this rifle is so very affordable that I can add an improved trigger and still be way ahead of the game.
    What others should know:It settles down to improved accuracy and consistency after the first ~100 rounds.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By marc from USA on 2011-11-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:almost everything...
    Things I would have changed:the trigger for sure, it works but there is alot of pull, im gonna put a new trigger on it.
    What others should know:this is my first nitro piston airgun, and i love it! i had an old crosman spring gun but this one is alot nicer! i like the looks and the feel of the gun. very well made, my gun is working perfect. i could only make it better by changing the trigger and buying a different scope. other than that i am very pleased with the rifle. and pyramydair got it out to me really quickly! very satisfied with their attention. i would recommend pyramydair to all who are looking to buy an airgun! thanks alot guys!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2011-11-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked: I liked the rifle but sent it back because i ordered two at the same time and like the Stoeger x20 better and it came with more powerful scope! This was very solid & nice, but I like the old style springer's better then the nitro piston. other wise the rife is good except of course you will need to upgrade the trigger, if you want a awesome trigger charlie da tuna on the web has them. If i was going to keep nitro piston then this model is what i would keep for my taste/ i used to have the Benjamin trail but i did not like that either. this felt a bit heavy but actually was only one ounce heavier then the stoeger x20 i am sure once the barrel has been properly cleaned from the factory gunk and shot about 500 times she will shoot just as good as all the others/ except of course those German made rifles hell those our in there own class
    Things I would have changed: the trigger, and the it should come with a more powerful scope at least with a 3x9x40 aol
    What others should know:all new air rifles come from the factory with alot of gunk in the barrels that's just the way it is so always properly clean then lube then wipe away excess in your barrel then properly lube other hinge points and give the rifle its proper break in period of at least 300 to 1000 shots to to settle down
  • « Previous 12 ... 678 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top