Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman Nitro Venom Dusk Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Walter E. from USA on 2013-02-16 11:54:24

    Things I liked:I've only had my .22-caliber Dusk for a week-and-a-half, but so far I love everything but the trigger. and even that isn't all that bad. So many reviewers talk about "right out of the box" inaccuracy; "break-in time"; being so long; "dieseling and loud report prior to, and during break-in. CLEAN THE BORE before shooting the gun! and you'll find that all of the above will be reduced to almost zero. After a thorough bore cleaning, it took me three shots with H&N Field Target Trophy's, 14.66 gr. domes, to zero the scope, and three more shots to obliterate a dime-size bulls-eye at 60-feet. I've been shooting 1" hickory nuts off the tree I hung the target on, from my back door all week, and missing darned few. Love the Picatiny Rail scope mount, and the way the cross-bolts lock into the rail slots. I defy the scope to move.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger definitely leaves some to be desired if you wanna drive tacks, but making modifications—without spending nearly 40-bucks for a golden trigger is a no-brainer, if you have modest mechanical skills, no matter what the "experts" and snobs say. The scope is perfectly fine for the average plinker and fun-shooter, but I am going to upgrade to one with AO adjustment so I will have range-finding capability for hunting.
    What others should know:I read, but seldom pay any attention to overly negative reviews on anything, considering most to be verification of the saying: "It's usually best to remain silent, and have people think you are stupid, rather than speak up and remove all doubt." I've never written a review before, but after having read hundreds concerning this rifle, after reading the couple of overly derogatory comments on this site, then receiving mine, I just couldn't withhold. The bore must be cleaned "right out of the box". There was (preservative, I guess) the worst crap I've ever seen in a rifle bore, including the cosmolene my M-1 Garand had been packed in since 1945, when I cleaned it in 1958. It took me a couple of hours and many, many patches before one came out clean. Don't listen to one or two nay-sayers when hundreds of others are singing praises. C'mon. Anyone who claims to have paid over $200. for a gun that sells for $150., and less — wel-l-l-l, doesn't that tell you something/ This is a great gun for the average shooter, and a great platform piece for anyone wanting to tweak himself a tack-driver at a very modest price. I recommend it to anyone, except to those who suffer from "Mine Is Bigger Than Yours Syndrome" and simply must have Calvin Kline instead of Fruit of the Loom. They wouldn't be happy if the Dusk put every shot in the same hole, and only cost twenty-bucks.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By WARREN from USA on 2014-07-06 23:56:41

    Things I liked:Thank you Pyramyd Air and Crosman for all your help trying to resolve my issues with the nitro venom dusk .22 cal. air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:My arrogant thought that if others can learn to shoot and fix the problems with a nitro piston air rifle so can I. And my never give up attitude.
    What others should know: I have had this nitro venom dusk .22 cal. air rifle for more than a year. I am on my 5th scope. [1] center point 3-9x32 [2] UTG 4x32 AO and I am on my second Hawke 2-7x32 AO IR (This rifle is a scope killer) It's favorite pellet is the JSB 15.89 grain and the H&N 14.66 grain 5.53mm head size. Most of the time this rifle will shoot a 1 inch group of 5 or 10 shots at 23 yards. The problem is the group changes from day to day or from morning to afternoon. One day the group will be dead on and the next day the group will be 2 or 3 inches high or low or somewhere in between. This makes this rifle worthless for hunting or even shooting cans. Not everyone can shoot and fix the problems with break barrel air rifles. I should have gave up after 3 months and saved myself a lot of money, time and aggravation. I don't think I will get another air rifle any time in the near future because of the problems with this one.
    Sort by:
    • 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2014-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I wanted to own a gas piston gun and this fit the bill as far as price and function.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The gun I received seemed to be over-oiled and smoked even after 300 shots affecting consistent accuracy. I was determined to keep the gun and not send it back to PA for this problem. After reading many other owners posts on a reputable airgun site, I decided to take matters into my own hands, which voids warranty and dis-assemble the gun to clean out the excessive oil. The gun stopped smoking and shot more accurately within 20 shots after burning off the light-er lube I used in re-assembly. This gun appears to be one of those models the owner needs to "tinker" with to be a decent shooter. If you're not handy at the mechanics of the workings of an air rifle, probably should leave this gun to others who are not afraid to void warranty and tinker. As with most lower priced guns, the trigger and scope are useable.....(what you paid for). Upgrades make a definite improvement and you will have a better shooting, (still) low-er priced gun.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Steve from USA on 2014-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight and looks, seems solidly built, but included scope is not very good, Crosman replaced it with no hassle.
      Things I would have changed:My choice of gun, accuracy is terrible, my Hatsun Stryker, and Crosman Fury2 are much better, scope was awful too, crosman replaced it, but I put on a BSA Contender which cost more than the gun, but accuracy did not improve, shoots fine for 3-5 shots then the next few hit very low, very inconsistent!!
      What others should know:I wish I would have paid them to test this gun first, I wasted way more in pellets and time trying to get it figured out, I am contacting crosman to purchase a new seal as research has led me to the problem, would have retuned it but wife burned the outer shipping box.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Billy J. Gamble from USA on 2014-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like this rifle. I have not sighted it in yet but I got the scope mounted and I did shoot it and it was fairly quiet and not much recoil. It looks good and feels good when shouldered.
      Things I would have changed:The scope seems pretty good but I would like a 3X9X40
      What others should know:A nice rifle for the price and I love the nitro piston over the springer because I use it to squirrel hunt with.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By WARREN from USA on 2014-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Thank you Pyramyd Air and Crosman for all your help trying to resolve my issues with the nitro venom dusk .22 cal. air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:My arrogant thought that if others can learn to shoot and fix the problems with a nitro piston air rifle so can I. And my never give up attitude.
      What others should know: I have had this nitro venom dusk .22 cal. air rifle for more than a year. I am on my 5th scope. [1] center point 3-9x32 [2] UTG 4x32 AO and I am on my second Hawke 2-7x32 AO IR (This rifle is a scope killer) It's favorite pellet is the JSB 15.89 grain and the H&N 14.66 grain 5.53mm head size. Most of the time this rifle will shoot a 1 inch group of 5 or 10 shots at 23 yards. The problem is the group changes from day to day or from morning to afternoon. One day the group will be dead on and the next day the group will be 2 or 3 inches high or low or somewhere in between. This makes this rifle worthless for hunting or even shooting cans. Not everyone can shoot and fix the problems with break barrel air rifles. I should have gave up after 3 months and saved myself a lot of money, time and aggravation. I don't think I will get another air rifle any time in the near future because of the problems with this one.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By mark from USA on 2014-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very good rifle for the money. Solid! The scope is fine, so too, the trigger. This delivers some good power for longer shots. Easily pops lilly pods at 30-50 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Nothin', why bother. If pressed, an adj. trigger like on my Diana.
      What others should know:I feel it's a nice rifle to have around when bored with my target rifles. It's a pleasure to shoot when getting back to the basics.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Ronnie from USA on 2014-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful and smooth with reasonable accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger has a very long and hard pull and isn't consistent.
      What others should know:The only reason I gave it a 1 star overall rating is because there isn't a 0 rating. After several months in storage I tried to use the rifle last week and it has no power at all. It will not penetrate a corrugated bow at 20 feet. When I accessed a parts manual on the Crosman site it shows a revision for the gas spring, piston seal assembly, and the breach seal. When I asked if the original parts were defective I was told they have not been revised and the original parts were not defective and it is not covered by warranty.. The rifle is 14 months old with approximately 200 rounds fired and has been well taken care of. After Crosman denied any responsibility I contacted Pyramid Air about purchasing parts. Although they claim to be a Crosman authorized service center they told me they had no parts and to call Crosman. With a little bit of assistance they could have made a customer for life, but needless to say I will not be doing business with either company again and the rifle is going into the dumpster where it belongs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from Canada on 2014-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is one mean machine, This gun is a joy to shoot, I find it to be extremely powerful, even though it has the same power-plant as the Benji Trail, I find it to be more accurate, less heavy, have increased muzzle velocity over the 'Trail, as well as having a great look
      Things I would have changed:Not much at all, "If something aint broke, Don't fix it"
      What others should know:I've found that this gun has a pellet preference, when my gun was going through it's "break-in" period, I tried around 20 different pellet's from different makers, different weight's, pellet shape, and cost, everything from High-end H&N's, JSB's, RWS, Kovohute, Daisy's, Crosman, Skenco's, Gamo's, etc,. and what I found is in lead, at distances under 50 yd's Gamo Hunter's Came out on top(which really surprised me), with Kovohute "Standard's" in a close second, and at distances up to 100 yd's, Scenco Metal Tipped "Ultra Mag's" came out on top, with FX "SmoothTwist" pellet's coming in Second. I've only shot paper with it so far, but I have no doubt that this shooter will give great performence in the field. I found this gun to give you a hollow "thud" sound whenever you took a shot, So I took off the butt-pad, and filled the hollow cavity with "Memory" foam, and it took that sound away, leaving it with hardly any sound coming from the butt area at all. This is an Excellent Air Rifle, and I highly recommend it. Cheer's, Andy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rodent Ridder from USA on 2014-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a nicely made piece of equipment. I bought this as a re-manufactured, so I was getting a lower price than normal. Putting the scope on and the easy finger adjustments it gave me were better than expected(no screwdriver). Having the rubber on the end of the barrel, very nice to facilitate cocking, although I needed to give it a tap sometimes to break it. I like the smooth trigger pull, it feels fine to me, even though I can adjust it to my own liking. This is definitely quieter than my other spring piston. The zoom scope covers all the range I would expect to aim at. For what I've had so far it is excellent to shoot with. I couldn't tell that it had been a used gun when I received it, just the same I paid the extra ten $ to make sure they sent me what I was ordering.
      Things I would have changed:personally I am over 6' tall and few things fit me well, so I am satisfied with this design.
      What others should know:Some pellets were a little tough to place in the breech. I like that it was not loose, but it took some patience knowing some pellets needed to be worked in. maybe a pellet loader would help. I plan to get one the next time I order.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really liked the Pyramid Air 10 for 10 deal. I got a winner with the Crossman Nitro Venom in .22 cal I have been shooting .25 inch groups at 25 feet after a short break in period. Cocking effort is easy and noise level is very low. Pyramid Air reviews were very helpful. They alerted me to some problems with this rifle and how to fix said problems.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is not the best but was tolerable after I got used to it. I did however replace it with a Charliedatuna trigger. This was a great addition. Cemnterpoint scope was blurry but upon following the review advice of tightening the nut under the front bell one and a half turns, things cleared up quite nicely. There were some rough edges on the composite stock but they were removed with some light stroke of a file.
      What others should know:If your thinking of getting a quality air rifle at an affordable price, the Crossman Nitro Venom is the one for you. Make sure you read the reviews in Pyramid Air, They were very helpful in getting my air rifle up and running without any problems that could not be corrected.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By arzrover from USA on 2014-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight and nice fitting stock. Cocks smoothly and scope mounting is much better than the .22 rail that is more common. Relatively quiet. Hits hard.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger....not the worst but pretty bad. Scope is pretty bleary but useable. I can't get the reticle and view in focus simultaneously but it's close.
      What others should know:Firing cycle is intense and I will have to shoot it a bunch more to see if the scope holds up. Seems relatively accurate...getting around 1/2" ctc groups at 20 yds but getting better as I shoot it more. The stock really is pretty nice feeling but transmits enough sound/shock to my face that my ears ring some after 10 min or so of shooting.(old guy syndrome, maybe) Seems WELL worth the money and I would definitely buy again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2013-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nitro Piston powered is great. The stock is solid and very durable. Has a scope that is fine for the 10m to 50m range I shoot.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger (I did)
      What others should know:Have shot approx. 2000-2500 rounds through this gun. Has only gotten better. No issues with power loss. This gun just feels good to hold and shoot. Does not feel like a cheap air gun. Feels more like a high power center fire rifle. With RWS Fieldline Superdome pellets will group 3/8" at 10m consistently. I changed the trigger and put in a $30.00 Charlie-da-tuna trigger. This made this my favorite trigger of all my guns I own. I will replace this gun with another one just like it if it ever quits. Air guns are a great way to teach kids (and adults) that shooting a gun is nothing to be feared of when the safety rules are followed. This is a hobby people of all ages can enjoy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vicente from USA on 2013-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well I love this rifle for the price and power I have shot 300 rounds through it and I must say accuracy is great at 25 yard on target with this scope. This scope is much better than the center point 4x32 that comes with the TR77 and so far has stayed true this rifle shoots through a beer can filled with water inside a coffe can and goes through all clear. This rifle will take out small game without hesitation when weather permits I will make a you tube video on ballistic gellatin with different round it seems to like the destroyer more for damage and penetration this is shooting a 2 by four with destroyer, crossman wadcutters and baracuda hunter extreme, the rifle is hard to cock at first but has now broken in fine.
      Things I would have changed:nothing this rifle is awsome
      What others should know:get the 10 for 10 from pyramind air this helps you ensure that you dont get a dud.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2013-11-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its what I expected for the money. The scope is pretty nice for the money. Its not a Hawke Sidewinder or anything, but its better than a $30 Winchester or whatever brand from Wal-mart. That's better than some other prepacked scopes.
      Things I would have changed:The safety is too close to the trigger. I have a Gamo Big Cat 1250 and the safety is far enough from the trigger to fit my finger between to disengage. I also don't like the fact that you have to "knock" the barrel to start it. My Gamo just has to be "pulled" on to start breaking it. It gets better with time, but I still don't care for it. Some may consider it a desirable safety feature if they have little kids.
      What others should know:I've put over 500 pellets through this air rifle and the accuracy is still so so. Its not terrible and it appears to be improving. The stock Weaver rails or a definite plus and the stock is fairly comfortable in my opinion. Its about as loud as my Gamo, but it doesn't have that long ring that my springer does.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2013-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the nitro piston as well as the light weight and ease of cocking.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.....
      What others should know:Don't listen to all of the negative reviews. Some people will never be happy. This is a great gun for the money. You won't be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun shoots tacs with specific pellets. its not incredibly picky once its Well broken in. right when I first got it it wouldn't shoot and hit nothing. then again, I did not know about cleaning pellets and/or cleaning the barrel out of the box either. I do now.
      Things I would have changed:the trigger. just the other day found out about the grt three. is on its way now too bad though cause the gun broke on me.(I have fired well over 2300 pellets through it and not beat it up, minus the cleaning) it is well after my warranty period though, took it apart figured out what was wrong, 1. the linkage was bent slightly, fixed that, 2. where the linkage goes into the action/and connects to the piston, it is now slipping over top of the back end of the piston where it is supposed to hold when cocked. It just did that yesterday; could have been started from the bent linkage, I am unsure.
      What others should know:very good gun for its price. I didn't buy mine from here, but same gun, thought might as well review it. it is accurate, and powerful with the right pellets, mine liked the H&N barracuda's and the JSB monsters. the monster's cracked a one-by on the back but wouldn't penetrate, the would easily go through a 1/2in piece of plywood and continue going. this was tested between 10 and 30 yards. overall good gun, mabey not to last a long time, but good for mild use for sure.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2013-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First of all let me start with my purchase. I was expeting delivery in three days when that did not happen I called customer service on my phone and was told that the company was in the process of relocating stock which was understandable but thought that I should have been made aware of the delay. I was not happy with the rep for being so short with me so I emailed the company to let them know how unsatisfied I was with the exchange I had on the phone. I pushed the send button, and before I could get to the living room my phone was ringging and it was the man in charge of customer service. I am really sorry I did not write his name down, but let me say that I do alot of onlline buying and this was my best contact I have ever had with customer service, it is truly a company that I will reccomend to all my shooter friends. Now about the gun, very pleased with the looks,feel,and after about 50 rounds shot, accuracy at 30 yards with scope zeroed in I am placing 10 shots in a 3inch bullsey. No blurred scope like others are saying, maybe I am just lucky. Very pleased with this Nitro and would tell anyone thinking about a great value to go ahead and purchase this one. No gun is perfect, but i find this gun to be a great buy.
      Things I would have changed:I will definetly be changing the trigger, but I will say if you take your time and get the feel of a long pull, you will be able to shoot this gun with accuracy with the stock trigger.
      What others should know:With the Nitr Venom I have found that after the breakin of 100 rounds ( and you should do the breakin before you write a review) this gun is dead on, that also means finding the right pellets to use. I shot 8 different brands and wieghts before finding the pellets that work best for me. I found that the JSB Match DIABOLO EXACT .177 cal. 0,547g/8,44gr is the pellet that shoots the most accurate in my gun and I have also found that I seat the pellet before closing the barrel for shooting. Hold your cheek against the cheek plate of the stock and you will get a very nice view threw your scope at any of the settings. This is just what I have found works best for me, everyone will be alittle different I am sure. Take your time, break your gun in, and after about 150 rounds then make your review.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rob from USA on 2013-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock and the smoothness of cocking
      Things I would have changed:Trigger needs help but GRT-3 helped that. Ship it without a scope and let the customer buy their own because the one on this rifle is only good for a paper weight. It cannot had the recoil
      What others should know:Mine LOVES Crosman Premier Heavies
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kendo from USA on 2013-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this rifle to target practice and pick off a few squirrels. I have not been disappointed
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:no
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MGShuter from USA on 2013-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is extremely accurate. At first I was very unhappy then I saw the statement that rifle needs artillery hold. Then it was magic. I took 4 squirrels yesterday each at about 40 yards. One shot, one kill. Each time I held point of impact at a point just below the jaw, middle of the neck. Each time the squirrel fell and was dead on impact. Each had an entrypoint just below the ear. Never new what hit them.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger will test the patience of anyone. It is long first stage, long second stage and takes all the marksmanship skills I have to make the rifle hit consistently .40 inches.
      What others should know:Call or email Charlie Da Tuna and get a trigger. The stock trigger is a B***H and needs work. To say the trigger has excessive travel is like saying New York to Sidney Australia is a long trip.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Anthony from USA on 2013-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice feel. Shoots like Butter, smooth. Quiet!!!! I have owned other break barrels before and this one leaves them in the dust!!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I have read other reveiws about "how hard" it is to break over. All I have to say is man up. I do admit the first time I used it, it was harder then my G1 Xtreme but I see what they did to improve it from the G1 and im very impressed. If your thinking about buying this, do it you will be very happy.
    • 12345 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top