Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Optimus Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (9 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Ron Wheeler from USA on 2012-01-17 08:48:17

    Things I liked:I bought this gun for my 10 yr old son so he would have a good gun to grow into. It is very tite & has the look & feel & hits almost like a .22 rifle. Very accurate w/out a scope I hit a tennis ball from over 60 ft away.
    Things I would have changed:metal for plastic sights thats it...
    What others should know:Great gun for the money--same features & same power as the top of the line airguns costing over $300.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Ed from USA on 2014-02-22 02:56:03

    Things I liked:The looks, even the name is neat. Where do the makers come up with names? The bluing is dark and even. Color and polish of wood is nice. Looks sharp but most contact edges are beveled. It pulls to the shoulder well and feels responsive to movement, good for a moving field target. The stock has narrow dimensions, especially in the forearm, nice for smaller hands and also feels good for shooters who like to make finger adjustments, it also makes the rifle feel lively. I like how the front of the forearm stock tapers off. I thought the sharp toe of the stock would get caught on clothing at the shoulder on the pull, but it doesn't. The gun feels good. Cocking resistance for a high power air rifle is not bad and feels nice as spring is depressed. The barrel closes with a smooth click, every small detail ads to aesthetic pleasure. Firing has a crisp sound, medium loud, the spring cycles clean excessive rattling or other creative noises. For a powerful air gun firing cycle is smooth. The square rear sight steadily lines up with the front sight. The trigger is a simple design with predictable let off, though it should be made smoother. Simple, well thought out design, enjoyable to shoot, the gun I pull out most often. The quirks have been worked out. I like how Crosman has easily interchanged aftermarket and replacement parts and the price is right. Easy to work on. Reliable. One of my favorite plinking rifles with lively handling and easy to acquire accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:Make comb of stock a little shorter. Less plastic. Simple iron sights, no fiber optics, though they do help for quick sight acquirement is poor lighting. Smoother trigger. Shorten distance from pistol portion of grip to trigger, but keep the same design.
    What others should know:Ah put some fine adjustable iron target sights on and keep the same price..
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ed from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks, even the name is neat. Where do the makers come up with names? The bluing is dark and even. Color and polish of wood is nice. Looks sharp but most contact edges are beveled. It pulls to the shoulder well and feels responsive to movement, good for a moving field target. The stock has narrow dimensions, especially in the forearm, nice for smaller hands and also feels good for shooters who like to make finger adjustments, it also makes the rifle feel lively. I like how the front of the forearm stock tapers off. I thought the sharp toe of the stock would get caught on clothing at the shoulder on the pull, but it doesn't. The gun feels good. Cocking resistance for a high power air rifle is not bad and feels nice as spring is depressed. The barrel closes with a smooth click, every small detail ads to aesthetic pleasure. Firing has a crisp sound, medium loud, the spring cycles clean excessive rattling or other creative noises. For a powerful air gun firing cycle is smooth. The square rear sight steadily lines up with the front sight. The trigger is a simple design with predictable let off, though it should be made smoother. Simple, well thought out design, enjoyable to shoot, the gun I pull out most often. The quirks have been worked out. I like how Crosman has easily interchanged aftermarket and replacement parts and the price is right. Easy to work on. Reliable. One of my favorite plinking rifles with lively handling and easy to acquire accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Make comb of stock a little shorter. Less plastic. Simple iron sights, no fiber optics, though they do help for quick sight acquirement is poor lighting. Smoother trigger. Shorten distance from pistol portion of grip to trigger, but keep the same design.
      What others should know:Ah put some fine adjustable iron target sights on and keep the same price..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Danny from USA on 2013-07-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is well made and you can feel the weight behind it in quality. I love the hardwood stock, the sights, and the adjustable trigger. I am a Vietnam vet and an old WWI and WWII battle rifle collector and I know quality when I see it. This rifle hits hard and is very accurate. You may have to adjust your sights but after you do this baby will hit bulls eyes all day long. If a youngster is shooting it you may have to have your dad around to cock it. It's not for weak muscles. I love the safety by the trigger. This baby shouldn't have any problem at all bringing down small game.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING!!
      What others should know:BE SAFE AND KEEP YOUR WEAPON ON SAFETY IF IT'S LOADED UNTIL YOU GET READY TO SHOOT. KEEP THE BARREL POINTED UP OR POINTED DOWN TO THE GROUND WHILE WALKING WITH A FRIEND POINTING AWAY FROM HIM. MAKE SURE OF YOUR TARGET BEFORE PULLING THE TRIGGER. NEVER SHOOT AT DOMESTIC ANIMALS LIKE HORSES, CATS, DOGS, ETC.. TO UNLOAD AN AIRGUN SHOOT THE PELLET INTO THE GROUND.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Diego from USA on 2012-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the power it has because it can penetrate a lot of my plinking targets. Also, the gun is easy to cock, i like the safety it has near the trigger, and the feel of the material.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I would recommend this to a friend. If you want to buy this gun for a kid then this should work because i'm 13 and I have no trouble cocking it and whatnot.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By lal from India on 2012-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like this crossman air rifle because it is having high velocity but operation of this rifle is very simple.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2012-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It looks just like a real gun, and the price is not bad. It has good power, and I highly recomend it.
      What others should know:Keep it in a good case so it doesn't get scratched up. Don't forget to buy it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ron Wheeler from USA on 2012-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this gun for my 10 yr old son so he would have a good gun to grow into. It is very tite & has the look & feel & hits almost like a .22 rifle. Very accurate w/out a scope I hit a tennis ball from over 60 ft away.
      Things I would have changed:metal for plastic sights thats it...
      What others should know:Great gun for the money--same features & same power as the top of the line airguns costing over $300.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By BCseacow83 from USA on 2011-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The rifle looks great. I did a visual inspection upon arrival and this thing looks great! I love the wood and the feel of it. Pulls well into the shoulder.
      Things I would have changed:A cover over the front fiber optic would be nice. Pre-mounting the scope or at least offering it would be nice. Make a .22 and a gas piston version. Rate the FPS based on a standard pellet weight.
      What others should know:I have not shot it yet as I cannot do so in my apartment. I will update after this weekend and a few hundred rounds.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By david from USA on 2011-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i really love the price for the amount of power i get out of it is great
      Things I would have changed:i dont like the sights but thats just me
      What others should know:every pellet i shoot fits and fire great through this rifle
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeannie from USA on 2011-06-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The power for the price, and just overall, it is a good gun for $90.
      Things I would have changed:Have this come in a phantom stock.....
      What others should know:Instead of the 18 fpe, It gets like 15-16 fpe.
    Back to Top