Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (32 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By karlo from USA on 2011-06-03 18:03:59

    Things I liked:shoots very nice and on target
    Things I would have changed:nothing maby more power
    What others should know:very very nice for the money
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-03-17 16:45:50

    Things I liked:I have one in .177 cal. This is a very nice rifle, especially for the money. The weight and feel is very nice and if you modify the trigger, online "youtube" videos for that, or upgrade it, the trigger pull is comfortable enough. Also, the accuracy is exceptionally well in mine. Crosman Premier Hollow Points have been working well for me. I have been able to get 1 in. groups with mine at 35 yds. This was done with the included scope. I am certain with a much better scope, I could get 1/2 in. groups at 35 yds. I shoot 35 yds because that is the range that most of the blackbirds I target are at, in my yard. Also, I had no barrel droop in mine, at least not enough to where I could tell, such as in a different gun I own. Groupings at 20 yds are 1/2 in.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger out of the box is pretty much completely unpredictable, crosman really needs to do something about that, "second stage" way too long. Also, the pull weight is a little to much, but not horrible. The scope is not the best, but for the price, you really cant complain, its enough to get you shooting at some decent ranges. A weaver rail would be nice!
    What others should know:I gave the overall rating four stars because the trigger was undesirable, out of the box. The scope isn't the best, but for the price, your getting what you pay for. So, for value, I gave it a 5, because the gun is worth it. My gun took about 300 pellets before I started to get my accuracy, so be patient. For this reason, after breaking it in and achieving this accuracy, I gave it a 5 for accuracy. Screw down the scope mount screws very well, but don't strip them!!! Also, if you shooting in 15 degree weather, with some wind, your naturally going to have some accuracy issues. I say this because of comments I have read else where!
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have one in .177 cal. This is a very nice rifle, especially for the money. The weight and feel is very nice and if you modify the trigger, online "youtube" videos for that, or upgrade it, the trigger pull is comfortable enough. Also, the accuracy is exceptionally well in mine. Crosman Premier Hollow Points have been working well for me. I have been able to get 1 in. groups with mine at 35 yds. This was done with the included scope. I am certain with a much better scope, I could get 1/2 in. groups at 35 yds. I shoot 35 yds because that is the range that most of the blackbirds I target are at, in my yard. Also, I had no barrel droop in mine, at least not enough to where I could tell, such as in a different gun I own. Groupings at 20 yds are 1/2 in.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger out of the box is pretty much completely unpredictable, crosman really needs to do something about that, "second stage" way too long. Also, the pull weight is a little to much, but not horrible. The scope is not the best, but for the price, you really cant complain, its enough to get you shooting at some decent ranges. A weaver rail would be nice!
      What others should know:I gave the overall rating four stars because the trigger was undesirable, out of the box. The scope isn't the best, but for the price, your getting what you pay for. So, for value, I gave it a 5, because the gun is worth it. My gun took about 300 pellets before I started to get my accuracy, so be patient. For this reason, after breaking it in and achieving this accuracy, I gave it a 5 for accuracy. Screw down the scope mount screws very well, but don't strip them!!! Also, if you shooting in 15 degree weather, with some wind, your naturally going to have some accuracy issues. I say this because of comments I have read else where!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jason from USA on 2014-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light, easy to break and cock, and very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:better scope, this one is not bad, just not enough for this air rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gustavo from USA on 2013-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the price it is an excellent purchase. Good balance Light and fairly accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Do not think he would change nothing.
      What others should know:So far I have not used with the telescope and the experience has been very good. Remember that it is not a competition rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By gary from USA on 2013-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:first break barrel ive owned nice power
      Things I would have changed:maybe offer it a little cheaper by leaving out the scope
      What others should know:from 10 yards out you don't need the scope..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ralph from USA on 2013-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:A very hard hitting rifle using a heavier pellet. Accuracy is only average for me. Could be just me though. Trigger adjustment is much appreciated. A Rabbit is no match for this one. Plenty of power.
      Things I would have changed:Not much I can think of. I don't understand why some people were not happy with the included scope. I like it.
      What others should know:Keep it lubed and it will last a long time. This is not a toy! Mine penetrates a 2X4 approx. 1.75 inches up close at point blank range.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By David from USA on 2013-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight of the rifle for stability. The workmanship done in making the rifle is pretty good. Cocking the rifle is not difficult.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is a little too loud when fired.
      What others should know:A well made, and good looking rifle for the price.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By earl from USA on 2013-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The rifle looks very nice. Nothing fancy and that's what I wanted. It shoots very hard, around 800+ feet per second with 7.9 gr lead pellet. I have over 300 pellets thru it and the accuracy is one slopy hole at 10 yards. (range in basement) I will test it at 30 yards when the weather breaks.
      Things I would have changed:The open sights are nothing to write home about. I really think they were trying to get rid of the scope by adding it as a package deal. The trigger pull is extreemly long. but you can get use to it.
      What others should know:The cocking effort is a little more than I expected. Guess that helps it hit harder. If you are going mount a scope on it, you will want to purchase a better one. I did. I like it for its hard hitting (800fps) power and the accuracy. For $100.00 you can't go wrong. I can hunt with it and not worry about getting it scratched up. By the way, be sure you clean the bore before you shoot it. You would not believe the crap that came out of there.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By steve from USA on 2013-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is finished nicely. The price is hard to beat. Power is incredible (I did buy the .22 caliber). The scope works well after a little trial and error (I had to shim the rear ring I would guess a bit of barrel droop).
      Things I would have changed:The front sight gets in the way of the view through the scope at times. The rifle is a bit heavy; I would opt for a skeleton synthetic stock and save some weight. Cocking effort is not for light weight folks.
      What others should know:Very good purchase overall (dollars, power, accuracy). I will probably give the "Gas Piston" rifles a try. That said I think I will be keeping this Springer...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By william from USA on 2013-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fine looking gun, stock is well finished looks like a real rifle. Break barrel is smooth cocking and closes with a sharp click.
      Things I would have changed:It's a little front heavy would be better if front weight was shifted toward the back.
      What others should know:I change the scope to a UTG 4x16x40 just my preference.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ringo from USA on 2013-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the design of the stock and the weight, Fairly light for a springer. Good tight fit between the stock and the compression chamber, This rifle was well thought out and well made and what I expect from crosman. I haven't had a chance to take it to the range yet so I'll do an update for accuracy when I can get it there.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I bought mine in .22 cal. and I have heard from other people that the 177 is just as good, This was a smart buy for me and I highly recommend this rifle to anyone that wants a well built springer at a reasonable price. I have seen this rifle as high as $140 so go with pyramyd air as you will get a better deal and better service. Pyramyd air is #1. got mine sooner than expected.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ringo from USA on 2013-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I always wanted a .22 cal. pellet rifle so I bought the optimus, Excellent choice. I love the color of the stock, the power and the accuracy along with the weight, pretty light especially compared to the ruger blackhawk and the vantage. I highly recommend this to everyone. out of all my airguns the optimus is my favorite,I would not hesitate to hunt small game with this rifle at all.
      Things I would have changed:A little better QC on the scope, you can see a saphire circle around the edge of the front lens when you look through it, not a deal breaker but I expect better than that from crosman. Not a big deal either because I had my 3-9x32mm from my vantage that I put on it and that is a good scope.
      What others should know:I wish crosman would offer this with a nitro piston, I'm thinking about waiting till the warranty runs out and swapping the nitro piston from my vantage to the optimus. It is a smart buy, I'm sure a lot of people will be happy with the optimus whether you get it in 177 or 22 cal, don't rule this one out it may be a little rough at first but it will break in and you will be suprised at what you have.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Hamilton from USA on 2012-11-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The break barrel is easy to use. The gun looks very nice and shoots very well. Its shoots very fast with the a good shell (pellet). Its easy to hod and fire. Not to mention the fun you will have
      Things I would have changed:Maybe the scope with a better one.
      What others should know:The gun might be a little heavy for young shooters. The scope was a little hard to zero in but it can be done. Especially at shorter range. But it did come with a scope. For the price it its hard to beat.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brendan from USA on 2012-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This thing is quite the tack driver. From benchrest I'm able to put 8 shots into one .22cal hole at around 10m. The build quality isn't bad for the price. As far as energy output goes, this thing shatters zinc pennies from 15yds away with enough force to scatter the shards around my yard.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger needed tweaking right off the bat, The stock's finish is pretty fragile,and every screw needed more loctite (including the break bolt). My barrel turned out to be a drooper, so the stock scope rings are useless.
      What others should know:If you're willing to put effort into getting to know this gun, it's shortcomings are easily worked around. That being said, don't count on the bundled scope fitting your gun 100%; My brother had no trouble with barrel droop on his .177 Optimus, but I can't even shim the mount on mine. If you don't mind open sights though, it's a *very* precise shooter. I've put at least 1400 pellets through it, and I've thoroughly enjoyed every shot so far.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2012-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great gun period. It's made of lighter, less expensive wood than my other guns. But the stock is nicely finished. The sights are fiber optic which function great, but feel cheap when you're adjusting them because they're plastic. The finishing/blueing of the barrel and metal parts is average and somewhat spotty on the Optimus, but that only affects how it looks, not it's performance. In my opinion, the trigger is heavy, but not obnoxiously so. It breaks clean, but with more effort to get it there. I had some difficulty getting pellets to seat all of the way down. I tried several brands, and most would leave a little bit of the skirt sticking out. This would results in some slight deformation of the skirt when the barrel was closed. I strongly believe this was the cause a few “fliers”. Not surprising, but Crosman Premiers seat the best. Not counting the fliers, accuracy was very good. It has so much power that I was shattering the pellets on my steel backstop at 50ft rather than just turning them into a pancake like my other guns shooting around 700 FPS.
      Things I would have changed:Make it so more pellet brands seat all the way down in the barrel easier so the skirts aren’t deformed slightly when the barrel is closed. Make the sights out of metal, though that may be hard to do at this price point. Make the safety automatically engage when cocked. Pyramid's web site claims that the Optimus has an automatic safety. I take that to mean that it engages every time the gun is cocked. That was not the case with mine. I called Crosman customer service and was told the Optimus has a manual safety. So, instead of me needing to return this gun as defective, Pyramyd just needs to correct their product description/specifications.
      What others should know:Super value for the money. The scope is only average, but for $15 more than the gun by itself, the combo is well worth it. You're going to spend 3 times this price on a different gun before you start to notice a big difference in performance.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2012-06-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:My .22 cal optimus seems like it's pretty good quality. Mounted the scope and had it sighted in about 20 shots. Has good power too.
      Things I would have changed:It's a shame the rifle and scope are Chinese made. I bought it thinking it was US made. I would've went with a different brand had I known.
      What others should know:This is still a nice air rifle for the price and good for rodent plinking ;) And pyramid air had this at my door in 2 days via their regular shipping. Very fast!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2012-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:heavy and realistic looking accuracy was good after about 50 shots
      Things I would have changed:nothing it is a great gun out of the box
      What others should know:dont hunt amedeitly but after about 50 to 100 shots go for it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eduardo from USA on 2012-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I liked it so much, I bought 2! Both in .22. Great farm rifle.
      Things I would have changed:??? Your kidding?
      What others should know:Domes, crosman domes.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter Evans from USA on 2012-02-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Breakbarrel, 1200 fps with lead free pellets. This pellet rifle is the exact same as the Remington Vantage. But cheaper! I got mine on a black friday deal for 80 bucks, My first breakbarrel and definitely glad I bought it.
      Things I would have changed:The scope while nice. Does not zoom. it's preset isn't bad if you're wanting to target something closer, but I prefer to use the sights with it instead.
      What others should know:Mine was loud when I first got it, my first shot sounded like a rifle crack and it spouted a white cloud out of the end. It's break-in period this little bugger is LOUD. however once it settles down it's not bad, on average it's about par with my C11 in range of noise.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2011-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked: "Everything.. I am addicted to air rifles, very picky what i like and buy. 109.00 with mount and scope what a deal!! I love the rifle its very accurate , mine is a .22, front and rear sights always a plus! very good power, the trigger was actually pretty good considering i always replace mine from charlie dad tuna. I am going to keep this trigger !! the rifle is built very well, under 7 lb yet feels very solid the scope is very good too I already sanded my stock down and refinished mine now i like it even better. I took it all apart to tune, I always do! was surprised to see it was lube properly highly recommend the rifle! f y i my other rifles are rws 350 .22 magnum, rws Dianna 34 - .22, stoegerX20 - .22, now this little beauty Crossman optimist
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.. I am so glad i bought it, I am glad I had the 109.00 left to spend happy to score another cool air rifle yes!
      What others should know: Always clean out the barrels first on any new air rifle because the barrels are always full of junk .. then after shooting it around 50 times I will clean it again, then properly lube the barrel again and running the bore snake to remove any excess lube. Usually there so much junk in the barrel i cant use the bore snake at first , I wind up using the rod and patches , then the bore snake Read reviews, read about air rifles in general there's a lot to learn and there's a lot of great info and videos out there learn all about your scope too! Some people don't even realize they can adjust the rec tile to sharpen the cross hairs. learn, learn as much as you can, its a great hobby
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By BCseacow83 from USA on 2011-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The weight makes it feel great to hold. Well made with little minor imperfections only on the inside of the woodwork. Nice balance and comes with open sights that are a must for me. I for one will not purchase a gun without open sights. One drop and a scope can be shot. If you have no open sights your gun is now shot as well so sights are a must.
      Things I would have changed:There is no checkering which would be a nice touch. Gun is loud out of the box but that should calm down a bit after break in. I did not clean the barrel so dieseling was in full effect. Make it easier to cock as my wife has trouble with it but I am hoping that it breaks in and eases up.
      What others should know:Great rifle and a wonderful piece for the price. It is quite loud and not ideal for apartment shooting but that might not be avoidable with the power level. Penetrated about 450 pages of the phone book with a 10g dome pellet. Bought this for the misses and as soon as she held it she loved it but the magic was when she pulled the trigger for the first time. Boy did her eyes light up! Great rifle.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top