Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Vantage Breakbarrel Air Rifle reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By jim from USA on 2010-02-08 21:26:37

    Things I liked:This gun is awesome! It shoots great groups. Especially with Crosman Destroyers and Crosman Pointed pellets. Cocking the break barrel action takes some effort at first but gets easier after for a while of shooting. The scope is great for what I use it for.
    Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change a thing. The trigger has a fairly long pull but nothing I can't get used to.
    What others should know:This is a great gun for the money. You would expect a gun this well made to be 300 or 500 dollars. Good gun for hunting.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:3

    By Robert from USA on 2013-03-22 07:53:37

    Things I liked:Got this rifle for the price not expecting much but it turned out to be a nice springer I used for plinking on my targets and I just used the iron sights but it does come with a scope but it's a very weak scope but for shooting out to 35 yards it would work fine.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing for the price
    What others should know:Good value as I got it on sale for 99.00 dollars and it's got a nice wood stock, it's a great rifle for plinking or small vermin shooting but I gave it to my Grandson as I felt it was a great starter rifle for him to learn on and he will use it with just the metal sights as I want him to learn with out a scope first. Great rifle for the price and if I see it on sale again I'll buy myself another one. Buy it you can't beat the price.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Shishone from USA on 2011-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Without dought this piece is excellent for the backyard plinker and with practice and due dilligence this rifle will perform. The wood stock makes for rifle realism while giving balance to the rifle.
      Things I would have changed:I am not a fan of plastic or glued on sites, be they illuminated or not. The trigger is most shameful and only detracts from the rifle.
      What others should know:The trigger on the Vantage may make you want to slam it against a tree, but hang in there...perfect the artillery hold, try crosman premier lights (domed/and/or) hollow point pellets, and replace the trigger with a GRT III drop in from charliedatuna.com.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By DENNIS from USA on 2011-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:real powerful & ACCURATE
      Things I would have changed:WAY TOO NOISEY, VERY HEAVY
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By warren from USA on 2011-09-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:quality, power, looks,price
      Things I would have changed:scope,hard to zero in
      What others should know:have a strong arm
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By leo from USA on 2011-08-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Came well packaged - accurate with out of the box
      Things I would have changed:Recommend ordering silicon cloth for wipe down after use as blueing is not the best.
      What others should know:Overall is a good gun for the price.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By d.j. kirkpatrick from USA on 2011-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:i recently replaced my gammo big cat with the remington vantage 1200. the remington was sighted in in 10 minutes and is repetitively on the mark. i set up 3 self marking targets and took 3 shots knocking all 3 bulls eyes out in a row.very accurate with high velocity ammo and well built
      Things I would have changed:i would go with a better trigger,one that is more like a hunting rifle,do away with the 2 stage and try for a hairpin trigger.
      What others should know:most airguns allshare the same componets which all come from crossman.the crossman quest and remington vantage are the exact same gun if you put them on the comparison screen !!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate inside a dime at 15 yards maybe more and powerful at least to 75 yards maybe more. For the price it is well worth it. No more squirrels or rabbits in the garden. As humane as can be with the right placed round.
      Things I would have changed:trigger squeeze needs improvement but it should not matter if your good.
      What others should know:If you need to get rid of squirrels or rabbits it will do the trick. I find the crosman pointed premium grade pellets work the best overall. I saw a rabbit at 75 yards and wanted to see how good the rifle would perform. Well, I was zeroed in at 15 yards. So, I aimed a hare above his heart squeezed off a round. I saw him run for a split second turned my head and then looked back and he was finished. He had an entry wound in the heart. Never knew what hit him. Powerful at 75. Not to mention accurate.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Allen from USA on 2011-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:ACCURATE!!! well built, great finish, very comfortable to shoot. The Center Point scope only took a half hour to zero in, and once I did I was hitting bottle caps, and once i shot 100 or so rounds I was hitting Lemon bottle caps smaller than a dime at 100 yards (with a monkey bag). This is a quality gun, with a great entry level scope (if you take the time to zero it in correctly), and an adgustable 2 nd stage trigger! I LOVE MY VANTAGE 1200!!!
      Things I would have changed:NOT ONE THING!
      What others should know:take the time to properly zero the scope from 75 ft. when done correctly this gun will hit whatever a skilled marksman aims it at! with a bit of a read on long range shooting, and learning how to favor for drop and windage, 100+ yard plinking shots are very real!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I've had this Rifle for 3 years now and have shot hundred and hundreds of pellets and it never fails it's accurate as it goes. I have killed several Rats with one shot kills to the head and I'm talking about black and brown Rats.
      Things I would have changed:The open sights are good but I wish the body of the rear sight was metal. haven't used the scope it comes with yet.
      What others should know:If you're looking for a 1200 fps Air Rifle dont let the price fool you because you're getting a real good rifle without it costing a leg or arm. nothing fancy, just a solid accurate Air Rifle. my wife says it sounds like a firecracker and some neighbors got spooked but they dont know it was me :).
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2011-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Wood finish was good, Comfortable hold, smooth cocking break, good accuracy, GREAT POWER!
      Things I would have changed:A none scope version. Scope is very basic as expected. I ejoy shooting more with the open sights.
      What others should know:Tighten screws when you first get this gun out of the box. Mine were a good 1/2 loose on each side. This is pretty common on most breakbarrel guns.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By William from USA on 2011-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:After a good 500 Pellets I was hitting VERY hard to hit targets. The wood is very nice and the build is Strong.
      Things I would have changed:Lighter Trigger
      What others should know:Use a good high Grain Pellet. 8 - 9 Grain would be a good choice. This is a Good Rifle.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Jean-luc from USA on 2011-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good range and tight groups
      Things I would have changed:After you are good at shooting it, upgrade to a better scope like a Bushnell
      What others should know:don't waste your time on the center point scope
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2011-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Not much but maybe a better scope.
      What others should know:Takes a little patients to get it sighted but very accurate once done. I recommend Crosman Hunting Pellets or Crosman Premier Hollow Points.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By pete from USA on 2011-01-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      32 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the stock and the shot groupings are amazing. i think it is very easy to break open and easy to load fast. good iron sights
      Things I would have changed:There is a great amount of recoil so if you are used to shooting a pneumatic airgun it will take some time to adjust. also, if you intend upon using this scope, you either need to buy a scope stop of get different rings. the rings simply cannot handle the recoil of this gun.
      What others should know:i would recomend going with a accurate pellet moreso than hp's or any other type of mushrooming pellet.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Rich from USA on 2010-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Just like every other review states, the first thing I noticed when I opened up this beauty was the heft of it. Like someone else said, it "feels like a deer rifle". I was ignorant to the break-in period when I got it, so I put the scope on it right away. It actually hasn't drifted much after 500 rounds, the only adverse effect is that the scope is coming out of the ring (easily fixed by a re-adjust and re-sight). I don't find the trigger uncomfortable, and the cocking effort is something present in all spring airguns.
      Things I would have changed:I am probably going to upgrade to a 3-9x32 scope sometime soon, not because the factory one is horrid, but because I like shooting with them better. If you plan on toting this out to the range, or more than 200 yds, think about investing in a sling. It will make your carrying experience much more enjoyable!
      What others should know:I would not necessarily recommend this for a first spring airgun. It's a very nice springer (especially for the price), and because it is so nice, it may be better to practice on a more forgiving model. Also, if you do chose this fine product, be sure to read up on the "artillary hold". It really does make all the difference.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      53 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've been shooting for years but this is my first springer. This Is one great rifle especially taking into account the price. I was impressed by the quality. Nice wood stock, rubber but pad, and the fiber-optic sites are fantastic. I wish the housings were metal however the adjustments are positive and click nicely into place and function as intended. Cocking effort is not bad and gets easier with use. The 1200 is very accurate if held correctly. It comes with a scope but I prefer to shoot this rifle using iron sights. This rifle hits hard and has more than enough power for shooting 50 yards out. I've enjoyed shooting it so much, I am considering building an all season pellet range in the back yard. I've also just ordered the GRTIII trigger upgrade from Charlie. I feel the pull on the stock trigger is too long. Not horrible but if it can be changed why not. I'm hooked on springers! so much so, I just ordered the Diana RWS 5G Magnum P5 pistol they have here. Hope to have a similar experience.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see metal rear sight housing and some type of metal "Globe" around the front fiber-optic sight would prevent potential damage to the delicate green sight rod. lastly a better stock trigger but again for the price these are very minor items and no deal breaker. I highly reccomend this rifle.
      What others should know:This is a full size rifle that is very powerful it is not a toy and needs to be used with the proper respect and only by younger folks under close adult supervision.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-03-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this gun in .177 on sale for $99.00 to take care of some pests around the house but at $99.00 I was VERY apprehensive about the accuracy and quality after all under a hundred dollar gun, how good could it be? I unboxed the rifle and man did it ever look good. Stock is nice looking and barrel and body have nice color. Fiber optic sights are fantastic - The rear has two knobs for making elevation and windage adjustments and when making the adjustments the positive click feed back is nice. This rifle was very to sight in and with the proper hold this is a little tack diver with Crossman premiums. The 1200 has impressive power adequate for small pests. I would not hesitate to purchase this rifle especially if you are on a tight budget. With all this said, I must admit this is my first springer and only my second air rifle, but I shoot a lot of .22LR and 9mm and trained by my Uncle Sam to shoot .223, 7.62 and I really must say I like this weapon the best. It has a fairly quite report so I can shoot it in my back yard within the city limits with no problems with the neighbors. I have a friend who is a NYS Trooper and I got confirmation before shooting. So check with your local law enforcement before purchasing..... and always have proper back stop in place.
      Things I would have changed:I do have a couple complaints with the rifle after putting about 300 or 400 pellets down range. As I find fault with this rifle we need to remember the price tag. 1. The rear sight ramp assembly is made of plastic and feels very cheap BUT I must say it gets the job done. Curious though about how long this assembly will last with field use. I’m already looking for a replacement. 2. The front sight assembly is also plastic and there is no protection around the front fiber optic cylinder and it looks like it could be easily broken in half if hit just right. Some makers have placed a slotted cage around the front sight post, the slots are sufficient to let in ambient light while preventing direct contact on the green sight bar if dropped or swung against something. 3. The trigger is pretty bad. I do know there are some first stage adjustments that can be done I haven’t attempted this yet. I’ve dropped Charlie Da Tuna an email to see if the GRT III is compatible with the Vantage 1200 considering a 5minute install Ill likely go this route. I may also fabricate a front sigh cover.
      What others should know:Nice looking low cost serious airgun this is not a toy. While I am a proponent of getting children exposed to shooting a a very early age, this is an adults gun and children under 16 need close supervision.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By jim from USA on 2010-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      43 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is awesome! It shoots great groups. Especially with Crosman Destroyers and Crosman Pointed pellets. Cocking the break barrel action takes some effort at first but gets easier after for a while of shooting. The scope is great for what I use it for.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change a thing. The trigger has a fairly long pull but nothing I can't get used to.
      What others should know:This is a great gun for the money. You would expect a gun this well made to be 300 or 500 dollars. Good gun for hunting.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By nautiwood from USA on 2010-02-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Weight is good and trigger pull seems to be good for a rifle in this price range. Scope was easy to attach and sight in. No real need to bore sight as first pellet was on the board right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:I don't like to have to slap the barrel to begin the cocking process. It would be good if there was a positive stop/break button to release the barrel. That would also confirm the barrel was in the correct position before firing.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Tom from USA on 2010-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:The GRT III from http://www.charliedatuna.com/ fits this rifle!!! If you have/or are thinking about obtaining a Vantage, INSTALL THIS TRIGGER Mod!!! The difference is phenomenally better with the GRT III. The wood stock is nice. Rifle is full size and goes into the shoulder well. The Scope is OK. Plan to upgrade to a 3x9x40. Rifle is very powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy is not so good. 1 inch diameter groups at 10 meters (with the original trigger)....I'll let you know if groups improve with the GRT III. I get 1/2 inch or less groups with the Gamo Whisper and Crossman Nitro using the same bench set up. Scope is not adjustable for distance. Can't get a clear sight picture at 10 yards. Elevation and Windage adjustments must be made with a screwdriver or coin.
      What others should know:This rifle is very "hold" finicky. Read Tom Gaylord's article on the "Artillery Hold". I've tried 12 different types pellets. The ones that produce the best groups (1 inch diameter is the best I can get) are: Crosman Premier Lights and JSB Diablo Exact Light. I need to re-test all 12 pellet types with the recently installed GRT III trigger. The rifle is not easy to cock (my wife cannot cock it), but the cocking mechanism is smooth once I lubed with Moly (per the guidance at the http://www.charliedatuna.com/ web site). This rifle is not at it's ultimate "out of the box", but is a good project for tuning.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By kevin from USA on 2009-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:accuracy and power,this is one of the best guns that i have ever shot,this will hold its own to a 500-600 hundred dollar gun.the accuracy is more than just great, with 8.3 grain pellets 860 ft per second,eith light weight pellets 1150 ft per second,and still okay accuracy,easy cocking.nice woodstock.cheap.with great power and accuracy to match what more would you want from a gun,
      Things I would have changed:i would buy a better scope,with a 4x16x40 centerpoint,
      What others should know:if you want a great gun buy this one,i paid 79.00 on sale i am not dissapointed for the4 money and value.this gun is grrrrrrrreat,
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold