Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Daisy 5880 Shadow Kit reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By J&LE from USA on 2007-10-24 19:10:22

    Things I liked:Light wieght, easy to pump, Love the safty features (will not fire if bolt is not completely closed)
    Things I would have changed:I would make the bolt metal instead of plastic, I would also change the scope (this is my biggest problem with the gun), and I would change where the pellet is inserted (instead of under the scope, I would like to see it where the bolt pulls back).
    What others should know:With the scope the gun is about a six for accuracy, without the scope I would rate it at a nine. Great gun for a beginner like me!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Customer from USA on 2011-05-14 09:49:23

    Things I liked:This gun has enough power for the cost but I will likely be moving to a better quality rifle in the future.
    Things I would have changed:The scope is fairly useless. I can't get it sighted in because the adjusment only goes one direction.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Evan from USA on 2014-01-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Capable of quarter-size groups (probably smaller if you do a trigger job and are a better shot) with Crosman Hollow point pellets at 30 yards. Awesome pump handle! Very easy for people 12+ to pump
      Things I would have changed:Package it with a better scope. The rear sight isn't the best but it works for the gun. Front sight is cheap plastic and could do for an upgrade.
      What others should know:The scope is okay for beginners, but past 20 or so yards you'll want one with a better visual. The gun is hard, if not impossible, to pump if the shooter doesn't have a long enough arm span (under 12 years old). Stock is synthetic/plastic.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful. Iron sights work well. Seems well built.
      Things I would have changed:Hard to load bbs and pellets (particularly when scope is in place). Pump handle has a long/slow throw. Scope is difficult to use accurately.
      What others should know:For the money this is the most powerful bb gun I have used.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Tinman from USA on 2011-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The feel of the gun. The variable power. Pretty good gun, nice power. Accuracy is dead on till about 20 yards then it's all over the place, even if your only one yard farther. Good pellet shooter.
      Things I would have changed:Scope rail is cheap, make it metal. Scope is hard to get zeroed.
      What others should know:To tighten the scope so it acctually stays still you start to brake the plastic rail so get it in a place your happy with cause it isn't going on the same way twice.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun has enough power for the cost but I will likely be moving to a better quality rifle in the future.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is fairly useless. I can't get it sighted in because the adjusment only goes one direction.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight of gun is great. Seems to shoot very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:To get more power out of less pumps but I sure this is true with most guns..
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that the gun is mobile lightweight and really fast.
      Things I would have changed:the iron sights were very inaccurate when i first got it. A bb got stuck under the safety. The scope doesn't stay sighted very long, for me at least. Its a bummer knowing i have to keep a screwdriver on me if i wanna shoot it.
      What others should know:the gun is really great for recreational shooting but for more serious shooting i may recommend a different gun.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By brad s. from USA on 2010-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:cheap, light and accurate, whats not to like?
      Things I would have changed:not much, maybe put the fiber optic sight on the front but the white dot works well enough.
      What others should know:if you dont oil the seals then after 5000 or so round it will not want to hold air but if you pump fast enough 5 times it will start to retain air again. it seems to get more acurate the more pellets you put through it. i have at least 2000 pellets through mine and just as many, if not more, BBs and it will hit what ever i aim at. the included scope isnt too bad as long as you can sight it in but it doesnt hold a sight too well with varying temps and humidity.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pagan from USA on 2010-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING!!!!
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING.
      What others should know:Powerfull Shot, Sounds like real, Can shot to a large distance target, its really AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!..
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By BayEagle from USA on 2009-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power and accuracy are nice. It is a nice air rifle to familiarize kids with weapons.
      Things I would have changed:just 'feels' like too much dang plastic
      What others should know:From another review: "If you get a pellet cross-jammed in that hole by careless loading, you've got a problem that only the factory will be able to fix." NOT TRUE you can unstuck a pellet with two tools. All you need is a Phillips to take the screws out. Pull the receiver off each side. Stick a tiny drill bit into the pellet using a drill or bit holder and slower drill into the pellet, then pull it out. It's easy. Then re-assemble the gun. Takes about 10 minutes total.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By 1shot1kill from USA on 2009-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this little rifle a a Christmas present for my 8 year-old Grandson. Reminded me by looks of one I had as a kid. What I found was that looks can be deceiving ... this is so far advanced from what I was popping targets with in the 1950's as to be ridiclous! The kit comes packaged in hard plastic. Before wrapping, I removed everything and decided I'd sight the rifle with the open sights before giving it away. I didn't bother with the scope - too much for an 8 year-old to deal with and besides, they need to learn to shoot with open sights before moving up the skill ladder. Feel of the rifle reminds me of a lighter version of a little .22 rimfire semi-auto I have, an old Remington Nylon 66. The Remington is heavier, of course, but the synthetic stock and foregrip is similar in feel. If all you've ever been accustomed to before is wood, it may seem a little odd at first. Give yourself time to adjust - It works just fine. When I had to transition from a Garand to an M-16 in the Army, I had to go thru that same transition of feel and attitude. After the 75 or so shots to zero the sights, I had a hard time giving this thing up! Easy to pump, I use 5 strokes to keep consistent power, and power it has aplenty! I was able to hit anything I chose at 75' as long as the thing in question was at least 2" square. All in all, for $60 bucks, I can't imagine having a better time. Sure, you can nit pick about plastic this or that, somewhat less that perfect tolerances, but com'on here ... it $60 bucks for goodness sake. Daisy give you a lot for that little money. As a training rifle to introduce a youngster to the sport of shooting, I'd be hard pressed to find a better gun. Don't have to worry about Co2, can shoot BB's or pellets (I didn't try the BB's, but will). and seems to me to be quite accurate for the money.
      Things I would have changed:The scope they provide in the kit is, of course, a toy. Again, don't ask for more than the cost of this kit can bear - be reasonable in expectations. If I were the designer, I'd rather sell the rifle for the same price as a stand-alone, using the money saved from the accessories to provide a better sight. Sights and barrels are, after all, what it's all about. maybe triggers too, but not as much so. Give all these little better quality and let the buyer get their own targets, ammo, and scope if desired.
      What others should know:Must be very, very careful loading the pellets. The feed hole for BB's is right there in the reciever when the bolt is open, and if you get a pellet cross-jammed in that hole by careless loading, you've got a problem that only the factory will be able to fix. So, if shooting pellets, load with caution. Just go ahead and buy this thing. You're gonna have a lot of fun with it, even if you won't get to an Olympic level of accuracy!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dark from USA on 2009-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look, the awesome power, the cheap price, and the over all experience. The pumping is VERY easy. VERY accurate (from 16yds\48ft with bare sights, I can put a hole in a bullseye no bigger than a dot from a sharpy.)
      Things I would have changed:Unfortunately, this gun has a lot of plastic. But don't let that scare you away from it, it is a truly amazing gun. It has many screws to make up for the non-metal parts. One strange thing I noticed when I pulled the bolt back, is that behind the plastic receiver, there is a metal lining. Why not put this on the outside? The stock is hollow, and my gun DIDN't come along with the advertised fiber optic sight. But the front sight did have a white dot on it. The dovetails are VERY delicate. Tightening the included scope to tight dented my dovetails.
      What others should know:This is the fastest model gun for the money on this entire website. And its defiantly worth the money. I was extremely pleased with this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Brad from USA on 2008-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great overall gun for its price, pretty loud for an air rifle i think, ive had it for quite a while and i've been pretty rugged with it, but its held up fine. shoots really hard.
      Things I would have changed:the stock snapped off once, but it was just a snap on stock (cheap, not anchored but with just a little plastic lip that held it on and a little bit of glue). It's a pain to pump up ten times but that's what you get unless you get a co2 gun. scope is really inaccurate at long range, hard to zero but it's possible.
      What others should know:scope is fairly inaccurate so use the iron sights. the stock is flimsy so don't screw around with it too much. with the pointed pellets this gun is killer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By James from USA on 2008-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've had this gun a year now and it has proven to be a good introduction to the sport. It's easy to pump, rugged and comes with everything you need to get started. It has a nice intimidating look, and is a good, cheap way to test if the hobby is right for you.
      Things I would have changed:The scope. As another reviewer noted the rifle is more accurate without it (although I can't figure out why - it seems illogical). I finally replaced it with a UTG 4x32 that cost nearly as much as this gun! Too much plastic but I guess that keeps the price down.
      What others should know:This gun has proven to be a "gateway" purchase for our family. A year after we bought it we now belong to a targetshooting range and have a second gun, a CO2 pistol. I've found that the BB guns have been very good at improving our marksmanship at the range and helping our family build up an appreciation and respect for guns in general.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tricia from USA on 2007-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is a very sturdy gun and it is also very accurate. it is so much fun to shoot all day.
      Things I would have changed:i would like a better scope. my stock is so i think they should make sure everything is tight
      What others should know:it is just so much fun to shoot and them pumping is also very easy to do
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By J&LE from USA on 2007-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light wieght, easy to pump, Love the safty features (will not fire if bolt is not completely closed)
      Things I would have changed:I would make the bolt metal instead of plastic, I would also change the scope (this is my biggest problem with the gun), and I would change where the pellet is inserted (instead of under the scope, I would like to see it where the bolt pulls back).
      What others should know:With the scope the gun is about a six for accuracy, without the scope I would rate it at a nine. Great gun for a beginner like me!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By rael from USA on 2007-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:powerful and lightweight
      Things I would have changed:scope
      What others should know:get a better scope
    Back to Top