Date: 27/7/2016 10:31
0

Daisy 880S Multi-Pump & 4x15 Scope reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Carl from USA on 2009-10-28 14:35:56

Things I liked: The rifle has good power and the sights are right on.

Things I would have changed: Adjusting the scope was impossible. I left it off.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Jonathan from USA on 2013-06-10 18:55:10

Things I liked: Value for the money. Pretty accurate at 10 yards, not bad at 20.

Things I would have changed: The scope. The 4 x 15 scope it comes with is the worst. scope. ever. I swapped it out for a Bushnell 4 x 32 Rimfire and am pretty happy.

What others should know: At 10 yards, Crosman Destroyer EX gives very good groups. At longer ranges they really give a shotgun pattern, though. Crosman Premier Hollow Point is much better. Max effective range seems to be 25 yards, and even at that distance I probably miss more squirrels than I hit. 20 yards might be a better number for effective range (allowing for the fact I'm a n00b and not a good shot yet). At the 50-yard distances that I'm currently dealing with for ground squirrels, I'd be better off throwing rocks at them. A really good shot might be able to hit one at that range, of course, but still, this just isn't the right weapon for that distance. If I'd known as much a couple months ago as I know now, I would have bought a gas piston rifle in the first place, but I do plan on getting one. I'll teach my kids to shoot the 880. Like I said, it's great at 10 yards, and they can start there.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ed from USA on 2016-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The power and accuracy of this gun is more than satisfactory considering the price. It is easy to pump, lightweight, and fun to shoot. The included scope is easy to mount and functions well. Seems sturdy and well built. The accuracy is very good from 15 to about 35 or 40 feet. This would be a great transition gun for a young shooter to go from a red ryder type to a more adult gun, although this gun is also built to please the adult target or small pest shooter.

    Things I would have changed: A metal receiver would be nice, but the all plastic construction makes for a lightweight gun that is easy to aim and fun to shoot. It is slightly difficult to load pellets, but a pellet pen solves this issue. I think it is a bit odd that the gun must be cocked to pump, maybe that is a safety feature, but i would not store it cocked, even tho that means leaving the air chamber empty when storing.

    What others should know: The fact that the barrel is rifled means you should consider keeping this gun a dedicated pellet shooter so as not to ruin that rifling. Keep it oiled, and it will perform well. Keep in mind that the scope is not super high quality, but it is nice for what it is. Be safe and have FUN!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ed from USA on 2016-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this on a whim when a local brick and mortar was clearancing them post holiday for $20. The rifle works well with both pellets and bb's. Good velocity and accuracy up to 30 yards. I like that it does not have the spring piston recoil that makes those air rifles hard to shoot. Quiet enough that i can shoot at spinner targets in the backyard from the upstairs window without bothering the old lady.

    Things I would have changed: The included scope was unusable. A tasco airgun scope ($7) from the same retailer was much better. You have to develop technique to load pellets, especially with scope on. Pointed or roundnose work best, the weight on the front will help them fall into place. Be careful to position the bolt do the pellets dont fall into the bb hole. Rifle does not weigh much, so hard to hold steady.

    What others should know: I liked it do much that I went back and got another gor $20 and left it in the box in case this one wears out.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Keith from USA on 2016-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great price, very accurate (for the price), GREAT first gun for young kids. My daughter is hitting coke cans at 80' with this rifle day one.

    Things I would have changed: Loading pellets is a little challenge. If you have an optic, tryjng to drop them so they land head first in the chamber is difficult. My daughter keeps getting them down the BB loader. I think this area needs a change, perhaps like Crosmans Pumpmaster 760 has a magazine? Very pleased with the gun, but might return for the Crosman 760 due to the magazine.

    What others should know: For accuracy, stick to the pellets.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ron from USA on 2015-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very inexpensive pellet rifle that shoots well. I use it for pest control and it works very well for that. I don't use a scope on it but rather use the regular sights which are satisfactory for 10-15 yard shots with .177 lead pellets. This air rifle is also great for the younger airgunners to learn on.

    Things I would have changed: For the price there is not much you can change and still have a $50.00 pump up air rifle.

    What others should know: If a person is looking for a good pest control air rifle that will definitely not break the bank, then this will do the job. It is a .177 cal. and made mostly of plastic but it still has the ability to take care of small pests and that is what I use it for.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nick from USA on 2015-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First off were gonna trash the scope.All in all a pretty good little rifle.I've killed so many rabbits,squirrels and birds.Its no Air Arms but it'll get the job done.i got inch groups at around 30-35 yards with CPHP and basically every other pellet I tested.But sadly I shot the gun up. I've had it for about 4 years and shot it almost everyday, but it was good while it lasted.And also the regular sights work just fine although I paired mine with a Simons 4-32.All in all pretty good little rifle,Highly recommend

    Things I would have changed: Real Wood or synthetic stock

    What others should know: This rifle seems cheaply made(the stock) but it shoots really well and will knock down squirrels out to as far as it'll shoot which mine shot good out to around 35 yrds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ken from USA on 2015-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 30 yrd yes 30 yrd maybe futher? accurate sub $60 rifle. trash the scope in my case i used it for target practice at my 30 yrd outdoor range to shoot at the eye piece after dialing in with the jsb 10.34 (chrony at 640-680 not the advertsied 800fps lol ) the most accurate pellet. tried others but in this rifle 10 pumps 50mm ao scope yes scope cost more than rifle lol rifle bench rested i shot the eye piece on the cheap (sniper shot lol) scope little green army men mothballs bottle caps. have one in the 70's still have it today. the new 880 all plastic will out shoot the older metal 880's FACT why? new 880 have rifled barrel metal ones have smoothbore barrel. so when i read comments like the older one is more accurate than the new plastic i say BS because i have one. i did an upgrade to the older 880 by doing a little grinding on the metal reciever with a dremmel tool drop in the newer 1 pc valve and shot tube and bolt got rid of the old 2 pc valve & shot tube. now the old is as accurate

    Things I would have changed: put a better scope on this rifle and it will shoot out to 30 yrds 10 pumps with the right pellet. thats the key the right pellet and 10 pumps

    What others should know: buy it i shoot both my old and new 880 out to 30 yards the old with todays parts. daisy will tell you it wont work i ordered the bolt and the one pc valve from them anyways made it work and called them back and told them i got it to work on the older 880's. if you have a older 880 dont bother to put the old parts back in. daisy will refer you to a dealer that specializes in older 880's. i wonder why is a kid why sometime the rifle back then would be accurate other times not . tried both bb's and pellets heck what did i know that bb's arent accurate and i didnt know that the rifle came with a smoothbore. hope this review is helpful about the daisy 880

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By justin from USA on 2014-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It's a good lasted me like a year or two I loved it but I only use the iron sights

    Things I would have changed: The plastics and make it mettle or wood

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cory from USA on 2013-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the lightness and the power of the gun

    Things I would have changed: The stock should be more stable and come with a better scope

    What others should know: Great gun for the price

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2013-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: ACCURATE. Lightweight. Easy to pump. Easy to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Put a bigger scope on it.

    What others should know: I picked up one of these after watching my son wear himself out cocking and shooting my Fury. He's a small scrawny kid. But he went at it with gusto. I surprised him with the 880. Sighted in easy. Trigger was really heavy at first (like 10-12 pounds) but crisp. Easy to fix, I took it apart after the first day shooting and worked on it, 4-5 pound crisp trigger now. This thing will shoot! With cheap Gamo Tomahawks I can shoot groups at 50 feet that are covered with a dime. Me and my boy plink at tablespoons hung on a wire at 20-30 yards, any misses are the shooter's fault not the rifle's. Son is very happy. I'm impressed. Scope is tiny but for the money it's hard to complain, it does the job, and has kept it's zero through over 1000 shots now. If you get one that shoots like this one it's definately worth putting a better scope on. We plan on doing that soon. If you are at all handy at tinkering on guns these are SO easy to work on. Even if you happen to get an example that doesn't want to shoot out of the box you can give it a trigger job, tighten up the barrel, and recrown it if necessary. I gotta get one for myself now!

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2013-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Value for the money. Pretty accurate at 10 yards, not bad at 20.

    Things I would have changed: The scope. The 4 x 15 scope it comes with is the worst. scope. ever. I swapped it out for a Bushnell 4 x 32 Rimfire and am pretty happy.

    What others should know: At 10 yards, Crosman Destroyer EX gives very good groups. At longer ranges they really give a shotgun pattern, though. Crosman Premier Hollow Point is much better. Max effective range seems to be 25 yards, and even at that distance I probably miss more squirrels than I hit. 20 yards might be a better number for effective range (allowing for the fact I'm a n00b and not a good shot yet). At the 50-yard distances that I'm currently dealing with for ground squirrels, I'd be better off throwing rocks at them. A really good shot might be able to hit one at that range, of course, but still, this just isn't the right weapon for that distance. If I'd known as much a couple months ago as I know now, I would have bought a gas piston rifle in the first place, but I do plan on getting one. I'll teach my kids to shoot the 880. Like I said, it's great at 10 yards, and they can start there.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chang from USA on 2012-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Stock,the scope,the sights,the pump,the trigger...pretty much everything.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Cheap, accurate rifle for someone that does not have the money to go buy the expenxive air rifles

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Luis from USA on 2012-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Low Cost, great value, dual ammo

    Things I would have changed: Scope, but its a budget rifle so what do you expect.

    What others should know: I've shot quite a few brands of pellets out of mine and the crosman premier hollowpoints seem to be the best bang for the buck. Accurate for the most part with pellets at 10yds. Used the Daisy wadcutters and though cheap was about a quarter at 10yds and a dime with CPHP's. BB's are just for goofing off. Upgraded to a 4x32 scope. Super lightweight and good value. Pick the right ammo and you'll love it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nick from USA on 2012-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great accuracy! The bolt action type design almost measures up to the sleek grip and range. Perfect for someone who is just starting out with air guns.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all.

    What others should know: You have to adjust the scope to your liking and remember to oil It if you haven't used it for a while.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ben from USA on 2012-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: SUPER ACCURATE!!and powerfull i love the range on it I can hit targets from 234 feet away consistently with a 1in group with bbs and 1/2in with pellets it's awsome

    Things I would have changed: The stock is too light for my taste but I think it can be a little heavier and or thicker

    What others should know: For it's quality it's perfect for long and short range but don't forgot to oil it and clean the barrel

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By MagicDan from USA on 2012-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love this rifle. Great value for the price. Easy to pump. It only took me a few minor tweaks of the sites to get it shooting accurately.

    Things I would have changed: Pellets are a bit tough to load properly but gets easier with practice.

    What others should know: This rifle has taken some knocks from other reviewers, but for the cost you can't ask for anything more. Perfect rifle for a beginner.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2012-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the Dasiy 880 bb/pellet & 4x15 scope because it is lightweight with no recoil and it is very accurate with its 725 fps good bb gun great value.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matt from USA on 2011-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate using retinal, Was able to completely puncture metal folding chair at a great distance. Hefty and durable as well.

    Things I would have changed: Definitely a better scope. I spent an hour trying to calibrate it but to no avail, Its cheap and mainly used as a gimmick to buy the gun.

    What others should know: Scope sucks, I would really suggest you save a little $$ and buy the one without the scope, its not worth it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2011-07-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The things I liked was how it has a O ring seal on the bolt, which stops air from escaping from the rear and makes better velocity. The barrel is steel, which it clean and nice.

    Things I would have changed: Make the barrel a little tighter, it only scars half of the pellet which doesn't help much in accuracy, it makes the pellet wobble in air. Though reaching out to 60 yards and more it is great, short range isn't the best thing in the world.

    What others should know: for one, get a better scope for it, the scope it comes with will be not that great quality. the optics are clear, but not what you inspect. It is VARY picky upon the pellets, I tried to run Match grade Final H&N pellets in it...still didn't want to group

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By justmac1 from USA on 2011-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: ease oof attaching scope as well as alignment of the scope it was so simple and in just a few minutes i was picking off targets set up about 150' away

    Things I would have changed: finding an easier way to load pellets after the scope is mounted i have big fingers and it is difficult to load with the scope attached

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dacsus65 from USA on 2010-06-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Inexpensive and versatile, allowing indoor and outdoor action. Single shot pellet or magazine fed bbs also provide some variation. The scope is a nice to have option as well. Light weight makes carrying for longer periods easier.

    Things I would have changed: The older versions were heavier, the virtually all-polymer construction just doesn't feel as solid.

    What others should know: For the money this air gun is a good buy. My teenaged girls enjoy it as much as I do. The 880 is light, easily shouldered and accurate.

  • 12 Next
Navigation