Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Daisy Avanti 853CM reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (9 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2010-03-30 18:33:46

    Things I liked:The stock fits me well with the addition of the provided spacers. The rifle has nice balance with what I consider just enough muzzle heaviness. Cocking the rifle is smooth and required less effort than I expected. While the trigger has a fair amount of take up the release is crisp and very consistant, again much better than I expected. I also liked the inclusion of the 5rd clips as that fits into the training I expect to use the rifle for. I very much like the adjustable front sling attachment. It seems like a small matter but for me it's what made the deal. Proper use of a sling makes a HUGE difference in a shooter's score and attention to this detail is greatly appreciated! As reported elsewhere the rifle is accurate way beyond it's price point. All in all a very pleasing and shootable rifle. Well done!!
    Things I would have changed:I like heavy rifles so I wouldn't mind another pound of weight, an easy fix. As much as I like the fact that 5rd clips are included, they require a bit of practice to index them properly. However it could be that I'm an old guy and can't see the index marks ;-). A touch of paint will fix that.
    What others should know:I purchased this rifle as a means to increase my training time. I compete in the CMP Rimfire Sporter matches and I find this rifle to be very much like the rimfire rifles I shoot at those matches. The rules don't permit "trick" target rifles with light, perfect triggers. As I mentioned above the trigger has a bit of take up but is actually a far better trigger than many rimfire rifles. I can't imagine a more perfect choice for a trainer for the CMP Rimfire matches.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By John from USA on 2011-02-08 10:10:45

    Things I liked:For the price this was a good purchase. It allows me to practice in doors through the winter.
    Things I would have changed:The triger is very rough and has excessive take up. This affects accuracy or forces you to concentrate on your hold through the long take up.
    What others should know:If you want a clean trigger break spend more money.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randell from USA on 2014-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate gun. Very easy to shoot accurately since it's not a springer. The trigger will seem nice if you're used to firearms or lower end springers. It's not awesome though. I do like the magazines it comes with. Kinda wish this model did the autoindexing too.
      Things I would have changed:The front site broke while trying to mount it. It's cast plastic, so the tolerances weren't good enough to mount without requiring excessive torque and breaking it. I figure it will be hit or miss about whether you can use the original front site. Pyramid compensated me for a better sight. But the front site is nice if you can put it on without breaking it.
      What others should know:I got the airforce sight to replace the front site. I like the glass sight, and the larger size of it, but it sits too high. I can't adjust the rear sight high enough to compensate. Would need a riser on the rear sight, but then I'd need to build a higher cheek piece. I'm thinking I will buy the other glass sight on Pyramid's site. It looks like it'd be a more direct replacement. Also, the Airforce sight takes some modifying to fit the 3/8's rail.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Spider from USA on 2011-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the accuracy, the Walther barrel, and the looks and feel of this target rifle. Great weight ballance for target shooting. And the sights are a good match for this rifle. Also, it's very accurate and easy to cock load and shoot off hand, and in the sitting position.
      Things I would have changed:They should have made the large rear sight clamp screw to fit on the left side, so it does not interfear with the thumb cocking of the breach. I have big hands.
      What others should know:It comes with five 5 shot repeter clips and an extra single shot adapter. This is a real accurate rifle. Although made for youth, it is a fun for adults too. Great accuracy, and the trigger is easy to adapt to. Also, Pyramydair delivers fast; got it in 3 days with free shipping. I find this 853CM to work best with RWS Meisterkugeln 8.2gr rifle wadcutters. I tried the crosman competition and the beeman coated pelets and they work good. But for better accuracy offhand, I like the RWS 8.2 gr.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Spider from USA on 2011-10-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great accuracy with the Walther barrel. I also like the ease of cocking and loading the rifle. It has great sights and the monticarlo stock feels comfortable and is great for desert climates. The extra weight on the barrel also helps add more stability and weight to this light weapon. Some say they don't like the trigger, but I find it to be very good, and feels just about right for a sporter target rifle; like 2 to 3 lb pull.
      Things I would have changed:Add more girth and weight to the stock forarm and but. This is a youth weapon and the stock has a thin cheek rest.
      What others should know:As an adult, I find this great fit for target shooting, as it is a competition sport target rifle. Know that it is not a hunting or field airgun. There are better field airguns with more power. Nevertheless, this 853CM shoots well with any wadcutter. The micro click sights are solid the rear sight is made out of metal and the front sight globe is poly material with 4 other inserts. Mine came with 3 different inserts and 2 are the same type. The shight can fine tune well and hold their zero even after removing the rear sight and re-mounting it. The Avanti 853CM is so fun to shoot, you must keep track of the time. I ended up shooting 140 rounds the first day I spent with this 853CM. This rifle is accurate, I was hitting 5 shot groups smaller than 3/8" bench rested at 10m. The rifle comes with the manual for the 853C, which is different such that the 853CM does not have a auto feeder for the 5 shot repeting function, and the sights are also different. And the 853CM is about 20 fps slower. But with the Walther barrel and accuracy of the 853CM, who cares about 20 more fps.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2011-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the price this was a good purchase. It allows me to practice in doors through the winter.
      Things I would have changed:The triger is very rough and has excessive take up. This affects accuracy or forces you to concentrate on your hold through the long take up.
      What others should know:If you want a clean trigger break spend more money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kimball from USA on 2010-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice stock, quite good sights, Excellent accuracy (less than 1/2 in group at 10m straight out of the box and I am only a decent shot). Much more solid than I was expecting. Cocking lever is metal and the trigger is pretty good with a nice clean break. Was pleasantly surprised to find several clips included with the gun.
      Things I would have changed:make it auto index the clips
      What others should know:I plan to do the pilk guns trigger mod to be able to adjust the trigger pull
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2010-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight and balance of this rifle, being a touch muzzle heavy. The stock is a good fit for me (I'm 5'8") after adding the included spacers and I especially like the shape of the grip. I'm very pleased with the adjustable sling attachment. Nice to see it included as the proper use of the sling can greatly improve a shooters score. Target sights are like jewels to me. I've spent crazy amounts of money for target sights. The sights that come with this rifle are modest but do the job very well. It's tempting to replace them with expensive German equipment but my 10m scores shows that it would be a vain indulgence. I find the trigger to be quite good. It has a fair amount of take up but is smooth and even with a crisp release. Best of all it is very consistant in it's nature. It's better than many .22 rimfires I've used. Finally, this is a very accurate rifle. It's every bit as accurate as present in any of the reviews. A splendid rifle at a great price.
      Things I would have changed:I'd like a two-stage trigger. I'd like to see more visable indexing marks on the 5 shot magazines.
      What others should know:I'm really very pleased with this rifle. I'd been tap-dancing around an air gun for training for several years. I compete in small bore events and with the range an hour away I just wasn't getting enough shooting in. The recent discount on this rifle proved irresistable. I'm so glad I purchased this rifle. Not only am I training more but I'm finding I really enjoy the entire air rifle idea. Rather than moping about the house through the long Cleveland winters, I expect I'll go out and find some 10m matches!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2010-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock fits me well with the addition of the provided spacers. The rifle has nice balance with what I consider just enough muzzle heaviness. Cocking the rifle is smooth and required less effort than I expected. While the trigger has a fair amount of take up the release is crisp and very consistant, again much better than I expected. I also liked the inclusion of the 5rd clips as that fits into the training I expect to use the rifle for. I very much like the adjustable front sling attachment. It seems like a small matter but for me it's what made the deal. Proper use of a sling makes a HUGE difference in a shooter's score and attention to this detail is greatly appreciated! As reported elsewhere the rifle is accurate way beyond it's price point. All in all a very pleasing and shootable rifle. Well done!!
      Things I would have changed:I like heavy rifles so I wouldn't mind another pound of weight, an easy fix. As much as I like the fact that 5rd clips are included, they require a bit of practice to index them properly. However it could be that I'm an old guy and can't see the index marks ;-). A touch of paint will fix that.
      What others should know:I purchased this rifle as a means to increase my training time. I compete in the CMP Rimfire Sporter matches and I find this rifle to be very much like the rimfire rifles I shoot at those matches. The rules don't permit "trick" target rifles with light, perfect triggers. As I mentioned above the trigger has a bit of take up but is actually a far better trigger than many rimfire rifles. I can't imagine a more perfect choice for a trainer for the CMP Rimfire matches.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I loved the way this rifle handled. The great thing about this for me was the adjustable sling attachment. For my Prone position, both of my hands are right next to my face so its great since it goes practicully straight towards the pump.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the weight scale to it a little, it does seem as if there is a little more weight in the front than there is in the back, and in kneeling it sometimes slides out of my shoulder pocket because of this.
      What others should know:If you do have problems with the weights of some guns and dont like how some are scaled out, I suggest not getting this since it is a little offbalanced compared to the 853C and 753C.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2007-11-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lothar Walther barrel is crazy accurate. Balances well, and I like the extra barrel weight (it's movable fore and aft about 1.5 inches). Very accurate for a rifle in this price range (or for a $600 and less category) for 10m target rifles. The synthetic stock has a nice grip to it.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic trigger seems cheap. Plastic bolt handle also. But, that would certainly drive up the price, and I feel you get a great value for the entry price on this one. Pistol grip is much narrower than I expected (compared to the Crosman Challenger 2000) -- my shooting hand feels a hair cramped wrapping around this narrow of a grip. Not enough of an issue to disenjoy shooting it, though.
      What others should know:The large NRA seal/symbol was not on my rifle as is shown on the picture (which I'm kind of glad -- love the NRA but it makes for a much cleaner look on the rifle without it). Now easily tied as my favorite rifle with my Crosman Challenger 2000. Really enjoying this rifle!
    Back to Top