Date: 25/8/2016 20:26
0

Daisy Match Grade Avanti 853 reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By ahkell from USA on 2012-05-18 23:53:36

Things I liked: Extreme accuracy. Stock inserts lets me aim and fire without any problem, and I am not a small guy. Easy cocking, good trigger, great choice of front sight inserts. Quiet as can be. I made a 10 meter range in my basement. It is that quiet.

Things I would have changed: Nuttin

What others should know: I've fired over 4500 pellets with this rifle, and I still reach for it every day. It is really is a wonderful rifle. I can't recommend it enough.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By JOSEPH from USA on 2013-05-18 18:59:27

Things I liked: GOOD FEEL, NO RECOIL

Things I would have changed: THIS GUN NEEDS MORE POWER. AT 30 FT. IT BEARLY PENETRATES CARD STOCK PAPER. NOT AS ACCURATE AS THE MANUF. WOULD LIKE YOU TO BELIEVE. I HAVE OLD EYES. EQUIP WITH A CP SCOPE. MAYBE THAT'S MY PROBLEM

What others should know: OLD EYES CANNOT SEE THRU THE PEEP SIGHTS, HAD HOPED TO HAVE A GUN THAT WAS RIGHT ON ACCURATE.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2016-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: After cleaning the barrel, oiling the flat pad, and sighing in with a inexpensive 4x BSA scope, I shot about 150 shots. I then chronied the gun with RWS R10's Match @ 7.0 gr. Average was 477 f/s, with a SD of 3.2 for 32 shots. I have no problem with these numbers on this match rifle. I had no problems with the trigger on this gun; it's not a match grade trigger you would get on a $3000 match rifle, but it's quite good. I own no PCP's but this rifle is the most accurate of my 20+ springers and CO2 guns in my collection, even more than my ProSport or my Hammerli 850 or my HW30 or my Walther Lever Action which are also very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: I would have like some kind of checkering on the grip behind the trigger. Also it feels a bit thick to my size large hands.

    What others should know: This is a very, very accurate gun at 10 meters as most other reviewers have said. It's very capable of putting five shots in the same, slightly larger hole. This is not a powerful rifle meant for pest dispatch or shooting heavy, metal reactive targets. Always clean the barrel of a new gun first thing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2016-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very Accurate!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2016-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I wanted an accurate rifle with a nice trigger and peep sight for use on an in door 10 meter and that is what I got. It is way more accurate than my eyes are and easy to cock.

    Things I would have changed: I am a big guy, so I fumble a bit loading ammunition. I also want to extend the stock further than I can with the extensions that came with the rifle.

    What others should know: This is a very nice entry level "serious" air rifle for 10 meter ranges.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2015-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: If you're looking for a quiet, very accurate, very light weight, non PCP, single stroke air rifle in .177 this is it. At 10yds. I can shoot less than 1/8-1/4in. with RWS R-10 Match Pistol wadcutters with a scope but I'm sure others can stack the pellets at this range. Getting slightly over 1/2in. groups at 20yds with same pellets. Build quality is very good and stock finish, though plain is very nice. This gun is designed for young, small frame individuals but I would buy it again.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger when new is a little gritty and stiff. It smooths out some after a hundred pellets or so. Take up isn't too bad but would be nicer if it was adjustable and/or had little lighter break. An extra 100fps would be nice but this gun is designed for young shooters for paper at 10yds. Plastic spacers for stock extension are a little cheesy but they work. Will make my own out of wood. For the price I would have expected better peep sights but its a shooter.

    What others should know: Although this is a target gun it is the perfect choice for thinning out the English Sparrows that bully their way at my bird feeders. It is plenty accurate and powerful enough out to 15yds for sparrows. Head shots on sparrows out to 15yds. are the norm if you catch them being still with no wind. I use a Winchester 3x9 fixed scope which is more than enough. I've messed around at 40yds and I get 2in. groups when it's calm but it takes the pellet forever to get there. The scope makes loading the pellets a little difficult with my fat fingers but it's doable by rolling them into position. The model 853C has a magazine which would be more handy with a scope but specs say you loose a few fps with that model.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2014-08-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is accurate, easy to shoot, and quiet enough that it won't disturb the neighbors. So far is has shot all the pellets I've tried with good accuracy, some just slightly better than others.

    Things I would have changed: Double cocking the gun could result in damage. It would be nice if that wasn't a concern. If you aren't sure you cocked it it's safer to put a pellet in and pull the trigger than to double pump.

    What others should know: For target shooting indoors or out this makes a fantastic first air rifle to own. The stock is easy to adjust, and you'll never have to wonder if the gun is accurate. I started with some cheaper "starter" guns and wish I'd saved my money and bought this one the first time. I put a UTG scope on top and the shooting experience is top notch.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Aaron from USA on 2014-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought two of these for my 9 and 11 year old daughters to shoot 10 meter. They are consistently in the top of their class. The guns are very accurate. They are a little hard for them to cock but they are getting used to it. The sights are good for 10 meter, and the sling is adequate. Overall they are good guns. Though smallbore rifles would be cheaper to purchase, try finding ammo for those right now.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jeff from USA on 2014-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Just about everything! It's a perfect rifle to shoot at 10m indoors.

    Things I would have changed: I'm might have to tweak the trigger after it's all broken in. So far it's still stiff and creepy, but off a rest @ 10m it will shoot 1/4" groups.

    What others should know: The rifle is not hold sensitive like a lot of springers. There's no co2 cartridges to deal with. Obviously there's none of the filling hassles of a pcp. You don't need an airgun rated scope if you decide to put glass on it. I'm currently running a Simmons 22 Mag 3x9x32AO from an old rimfire I had sitting around, and it's perfect! I was looking at several other models and the CS rep @ PA said for what I do, the Avanti 853 would be perfect. He was right. I'm really happy with my purchase from PA.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2013-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate,light weight,adjustable stock, Lothar Walther barrel,easy to rebuild,parts are cheap from Daisy,changeable front sight inserts,modifiable trigger and zero recoil.

    Things I would have changed: A smaller diameter hole for the rear diopter sight. That's it.

    What others should know: If you really want to teach your kids the fine art of target shooting,this is it. Kids get frustrated very easily with a springer rifle. They won't with this.After the first ten shots,you'll see a big smile.I'm shooting 47 years and this thing is highly,highly accurate.This is my go to gun.I own more expensive match rifles but I grab this to keep the wear off the others.I bought mine used.It didn't need a rebuild but did it anyway.Called Daisy,bought the rebuild kit and the trigger group from the 753.You won't have to go crazy trying to modify the original trigger if you buy the 753 group.Everything was cheap.The rifle shoots 510-515 FPS with 7.0 grain pellets.If you give it 2 or 3 half pumps before closing the pump arm you'll get an extra 40-50 FPS.Good rifle.I like it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By george from USA on 2013-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accuracy, value for the money and reliability

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: no

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By JOSEPH from USA on 2013-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: GOOD FEEL, NO RECOIL

    Things I would have changed: THIS GUN NEEDS MORE POWER. AT 30 FT. IT BEARLY PENETRATES CARD STOCK PAPER. NOT AS ACCURATE AS THE MANUF. WOULD LIKE YOU TO BELIEVE. I HAVE OLD EYES. EQUIP WITH A CP SCOPE. MAYBE THAT'S MY PROBLEM

    What others should know: OLD EYES CANNOT SEE THRU THE PEEP SIGHTS, HAD HOPED TO HAVE A GUN THAT WAS RIGHT ON ACCURATE.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hellhound from USA on 2013-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extremely accurate! Single stroke pneumatic with no recoil. Long pump lever with a handle for a good grip just like the Daisy 880 I had in 1972. easy to load. Almost all metal and wood with few plastic parts. Doesn't look or feel like a toy. Great for an indoor shooting range.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: This is my favorite rifle for target shooting in the basement. It's accuracy never fails to impress. I did replace the original front sight with the fiber optic sight and barrel weight from the Daisy Powerline 953 for better visibility indoors. This is an excellent target gun, it was never designed for hunting or pest control, it isn't powerful enough for that unless the pest is a large spider crawling across the basement floor. The accuracy of this rifle does make it a good bug buster!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By david from USA on 2012-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price. The gun is very straight forward in its functioning. It is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: It really needs a better trigger. I have been able to live with the trigger but at times must be very patient because it does not produce consistent results. A crisp, light trigger would make this a world class target gun.

    What others should know: An adult shooter should consider the 753.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2012-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Incredible accuracy, light weight, quiet, and easy to shoot and cock allowing you to shoot for as long as you want without fatigue.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing that I can think of.

    What others should know: This rifle is incredbly accurate at its designed range. I literally shot 4 pellets through the same hole at 10 meters. At first I thought I was hallucinating, so I deliberately shot the fifth shot a bit higher, to prove to myself that I was shooting through the same hole. Unbelievable. Even at 10 meters, an expensive break barrel can't come close to this. My Marauder can't do this either. I love this gun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kris from USA on 2012-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Light, easy to charge, freakishly accurate with stock sights, consistent and reliable shot cycle. Seals are available at the hardware store. All other parts are very reasonably priced from Daisy.

    Things I would have changed: Make the PilkGun trigger mod a factory option.

    What others should know: My club bought a dozen of these for a veterans shooting league. I got two for my kids...but I use them more often. I did the PilkGun trigger mod on all the units. Vets and kids can cock them. The LOP is a little long for kid-sized off-hand shooting. For paper punching or light knock down targets this is the most fun you can have at the least cost. Rifles can be scoped, but the factory open sights are superb even for my eyes out to 35 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Susan from USA on 2012-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: light weight, accurate, no kick, wood stock

    Things I would have changed: The lever could be easier to cock

    What others should know: Thus far, the adults in the family have been the only ones to shoot the gun. Our grand-son will practice will shoot it and use it in 4-H competitions. The adults like the feel and accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2012-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the most accurate air rifle I've shot to date. It is easy to dial-in and use, and the target sights are a real treat for someone like me who is new to bullseye-specific shooting. It's quiet, and the velocity is just right to cut nice holes in target paper, but stops cold on my ballistic nylon backstop in my 10M attic range.

    Things I would have changed: Finishing details could use improvement; I'm going to have to file off some sharp edges here and there. That should have been done at the factory. A crisp target-worthy trigger would be nice, but I realize that would place this gun well above its current price point.

    What others should know: So far I've only shot the RWS Basic Diabolo at NRA TQ-3 targets at 25 feet, and consistently punch out the 10-ring with cloverleaf-shaped holes from three-shot groups from a sandbag rest. I used 2 of the stock spacers to lengthen the pull to 13.5 inches, which works well for me, a 6'3" man with long arms. The non-spaced 12" LOP would work well for young and small framed shooters as well. So far, I am very happy with this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2012-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.04 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extreme accuracy. Stock inserts lets me aim and fire without any problem, and I am not a small guy. Easy cocking, good trigger, great choice of front sight inserts. Quiet as can be. I made a 10 meter range in my basement. It is that quiet.

    Things I would have changed: Nuttin

    What others should know: I've fired over 4500 pellets with this rifle, and I still reach for it every day. It is really is a wonderful rifle. I can't recommend it enough.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2012-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, adjustable stock, good sights, sling for military shooting.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I like it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2012-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A superbly accurate target rifle. If you miss, it's either adjust the sight or adjust your shooting technique.

    Things I would have changed: A hood on the rear sight.

    What others should know: I bore sighted with my handy fiber optic bore sighter and then dialed in at 10 m secured in a gun vise. Hand picked 10 good H&N wadcutters. The rifle cut center on every shot. That's pretty darn good...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2012-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I can shoot this gun all day long. It is light,powerful and extremely accurate. I shoot the 853 as much as a Winchester 94.

    Things I would have changed: Loading could be a little easier, but then I have big fingers.

    What others should know: 853 is a tight, rock solid little target gun that won't cost an arm and a leg. It's a really great gun.

  • 12 Next
Navigation