Date: 28/8/2016 20:43
0

Daisy Powerline 901 reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Varmint Control from USA on 2014-05-12 11:31:18

Things I liked: It has a heavier plastic frame build than the Powerline 880. The rifle has good power that can rival more expensive break barrel air rifles, with the accuracy that can trump more expensive break barrel air rifles. These rifles can group tighter than 1/2 in., or hit tiny acorns... or even hit its' own holes at 20yds., rested shots. Powerline models 901 and 880 are excellent for removing European house sparrow and starlings out to 30yds. at least. Also great for dispatching a chipmunk overpopulation.

Things I would have changed: Offer this rifle with an included 3-9x32 scope and dovetail extra high mounts. It really helps to bring out the very best of this rifle's accuracy.

What others should know: Shoot lead pellets only! Hard metal BB's are no good for accuracy or the barrel rifling inside! I slip the plastic front sight piece off the barrel shroud exposing the thin, wire like barrel. I then wrap a piece of electrical tape just once around the barrel where the front sight piece will snap back onto. I believe that helps to stabilize the barrel underneath the shroud, during the air discharge when firing. I've found several kinds of pellets that work well: Beeman coated HP, Crosman Premier HP, RWS Superdome, JSB, Daisy Flat Nose, H&N FTT, etc. It's hard to beat these Daisy Powerlines for the money! If your Powerline starts losing air right after being pumped up, it's probably time to correctly oil the seals, not throw it away. It will hold air again after that (unless you truly have old or bad seals). I made that mistake the first time around with my first Powerline. Follow the proper instructions, and your Powerline should last quite some time to come.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Derek from USA on 2015-09-08 12:36:01

Things I liked: Easy to pump, easy to load, decent-feeling polymer stock. Good open sights for the price. Light weight. Easy to make the trigger great with just a shim made from a pellet tin lid.

Things I would have changed: A metal receiver would make this gun much better, despite a modest price increase. Change the pump arm to one like the Daisy 880 so it doesn't pinch your palm and is easier to pump. Change the stock to one with a cheek riser...like the 880 has. Make it more accurate, like, say, a Daisy 880. The trigger pull could be much shorter and lighter out of the box, but I have that same complaint on all my air rifles except my qb79 and my Beeman R9.

What others should know: Despite the same inner workings as a Daisy 880, the 901's I have handled and own do not shoot as accurately as the 880's I have handled and owned. My 880's get 1.25" 10-shot groups at 25 yards. The 901's get 2-3" groups. The 880 is easier to pump, and cheaper. If you want a cheap pumper with a rifled barrel, the 880 is the clear winner. The Crosman 2100 is the worst. Clunky, and absurdly inaccurate. Despite positive reviews I have read, I have handled many, and they were all junk. I have had excellent results with the Crosman m4-177, though. It just doesn't have the power of the 880.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For the price this is a excellent value. I like to shoot unleaded pellets at a cow bell at 30 meters. Pumping this rifle 10 times provides enough power to hit that target. The fixed sight when zeroed in works well when you have a little practice. I think it would be a good air gun for ten meter compitition. Excellent training air gun. Very satisfied with this product.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This air gun is fun to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Caracara from USA on 2015-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the build quality if this little rifle. It doesn't feel cheap at all. There is a huge difference between it and the 880 or a Crosman. Yes, The receiver is a polymer plastic, but it feels like carbon fiber, and my scope mounts to it pretty securely. It has pretty good power and you can pump it less to decrease velocity and noise level. The sights are pretty decent but my eyes require that I use a scope. The Trigger is a little stiff but it has a short pull. It resets when the bolt is pulled back.

    Things I would have changed: Okay, The parts are very good, but the barrel needs to be more secure in the shroud. I had a shot pattern that made a counter clockwise spiral. So I pulled the front sight off and put a big gob of JB Weld in behind it and popped it back on and left the gun standing up on it's barrel overnight. It really stabilized it. I thing the loading port is a little small for large hands like mine. It might be nice to have a moderator to reduce noise. I would like to see them make one with more power, maybe even .22 cal. Why not? I think someone should give us another option than the Benjamin 392. Yes, the 392 is a cool gun, but it is so old school and it doesn't scope very well. Give us something else, Please.

    What others should know: Don't be turned off by people saying it feels cheap just because they consider all plastic to be cheap. It has potential and costs so little that you can afford to tinker with it a little. After I got the barrel secure I put a cheap GAMO scope on it, but soon decided that it deserves a decent scope. I put my Bushnell 4X32 on it because I don't expect to try scooting over 30 yards with this Daisy 901 Multi-Pump Air Rifle. I tried about 8 different pellets from 5.2 gr. alloys to 10.5 gr. lead and the best groups are definitely from the GAMO Tomahawk 7.9 gr. pointed hollow points. They also drop into the chamber nicely while some of the others are a little tricky to load, especially the lighter ones. This is a FUN FUN GUN. Get One!

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Derek from USA on 2015-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy to pump, easy to load, decent-feeling polymer stock. Good open sights for the price. Light weight. Easy to make the trigger great with just a shim made from a pellet tin lid.

    Things I would have changed: A metal receiver would make this gun much better, despite a modest price increase. Change the pump arm to one like the Daisy 880 so it doesn't pinch your palm and is easier to pump. Change the stock to one with a cheek riser...like the 880 has. Make it more accurate, like, say, a Daisy 880. The trigger pull could be much shorter and lighter out of the box, but I have that same complaint on all my air rifles except my qb79 and my Beeman R9.

    What others should know: Despite the same inner workings as a Daisy 880, the 901's I have handled and own do not shoot as accurately as the 880's I have handled and owned. My 880's get 1.25" 10-shot groups at 25 yards. The 901's get 2-3" groups. The 880 is easier to pump, and cheaper. If you want a cheap pumper with a rifled barrel, the 880 is the clear winner. The Crosman 2100 is the worst. Clunky, and absurdly inaccurate. Despite positive reviews I have read, I have handled many, and they were all junk. I have had excellent results with the Crosman m4-177, though. It just doesn't have the power of the 880.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Arpad from USA on 2015-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It fits perfectly in hand, shot straight out of the box. Has just the right weight and balance. It shoots both BBs and pellets but don't waste your time on the BBs,it's that good with pellets. (As a reviewer said, if you really want to shoot BBs, go for the Grizzly). As another reviewer said, the 901 is perfection! I agree.

    Things I would have changed: A little more room for the fingers to insert pellets.

    What others should know: Last year my grandson asked me to teach him to shoot. (It has started me on a hobby I hadn't expected but love dearly). Knowing what I know now, I'd start him on a Grizzly and move straight into the 901. The 901 is the kind of gun that if you were caught on a desert island with unlimited pellets but only one gun, this is the one you'd want to have. I've read every review of the 901 I could find on line and agree with all the positives. For the money it is impossible to beat. I actually like it more than some guns that cost nearly twice as much. Well done, Daisy!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralland from USA on 2015-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Daisy Powerline 901 is very accurate. It is easy to pump and despite a long, slightly heavy trigger pull, surprisingly easy to shoot accurately, even off-hand.

    Things I would have changed: The 901's accuracy deserves better sights. Rear sight adjustment is crude and the front sight is too low to permit use of either the Williams 5D or Daisy aperture sights.

    What others should know: I hesitate to use BBs in an air gun with a rifled barrel, but I gave it a try. With three or more pumps accuracy with BBs is poor; however, with two pumps it will group five shots within an inch at ten meters and shoot completely through a fifty page magazine. After retracting the bolt to cock the 901, push the bolt slightly forward with your thumb. You probably won't even notice the bolt moving, but it will move just enough to block the BB port and prevent a pellet from falling in.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2015-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Outstanding accuracy! This is a lot more sturdy than the 880 and is still very light.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Very good choice for a starter air rifle. Reliable and accurate!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sal from USA on 2014-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: solid feel, smooth pumping action, decent power, extremely accurate around 20 yards, composite stock it comfortable, scope included with rifle and fires both pellets and BBs

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, it's a very nice rifle for the money.

    What others should know: The Daisy 901 is in my opinion the best pump pellet gun in its price bracket, it has a good solid feel where as some other rifles around the same price feel a bit on the cheap side, pumping action is positive and does not feel weak in any way, the composite stock is nice and resists dings and scratches where as wood will not. Being a multi pump type rifle you can adjust your velocity thru how much pressure you build up in the chamber, maximum of 10 pumps or you risk ruining the seals, I target shoot with mine at 8 pumps which is plenty, open sights are good and work well, the 4X32 scope supplied is not high end by any means but works just fine for the rifle. Another nice thing about the daisy 901 that its not over particular about what pellet you use in it, I've shot Daisy wad cutters, Gamo Magnums and Hunters and don't notice any difference, it's very accurate to 20/30 yards on a good day I can set 1" groupings at that range. I think the 901 is the best of best in it's price range.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mark from USA on 2014-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Superb plinker and pest control rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Could make it easier for us older shooters load those tiny.177 pellets into the chamber. Smaller diameter front fiber optic sight would be nice too.

    What others should know: I've alway wanted a super accurate air rifle, like a Hammerli 850, but now I no longer feel the need for one... Out to 25 or so yards my Daisy 901 does everything I ask it to.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2014-06-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I got this as a back door plinker that my wife and son could use. Its easy to pump, and its pretty quiet. It only needs 3 pumps to hit targets at 25 yards, and it shoots fine with inexpensive pellets. The stock has a good feel, and its easy to shoot. You cannot beat it for the money.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Everyone needs a pump up plinker, even if your main airgun is a high end springer, or PCP. Its inexpensive and will last forever.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Varmint Control from USA on 2014-05-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.04 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It has a heavier plastic frame build than the Powerline 880. The rifle has good power that can rival more expensive break barrel air rifles, with the accuracy that can trump more expensive break barrel air rifles. These rifles can group tighter than 1/2 in., or hit tiny acorns... or even hit its' own holes at 20yds., rested shots. Powerline models 901 and 880 are excellent for removing European house sparrow and starlings out to 30yds. at least. Also great for dispatching a chipmunk overpopulation.

    Things I would have changed: Offer this rifle with an included 3-9x32 scope and dovetail extra high mounts. It really helps to bring out the very best of this rifle's accuracy.

    What others should know: Shoot lead pellets only! Hard metal BB's are no good for accuracy or the barrel rifling inside! I slip the plastic front sight piece off the barrel shroud exposing the thin, wire like barrel. I then wrap a piece of electrical tape just once around the barrel where the front sight piece will snap back onto. I believe that helps to stabilize the barrel underneath the shroud, during the air discharge when firing. I've found several kinds of pellets that work well: Beeman coated HP, Crosman Premier HP, RWS Superdome, JSB, Daisy Flat Nose, H&N FTT, etc. It's hard to beat these Daisy Powerlines for the money! If your Powerline starts losing air right after being pumped up, it's probably time to correctly oil the seals, not throw it away. It will hold air again after that (unless you truly have old or bad seals). I made that mistake the first time around with my first Powerline. Follow the proper instructions, and your Powerline should last quite some time to come.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By goofy from USA on 2013-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy, power, easy to use, looks and derabelity

    Things I would have changed: a larger bb reservoir

    What others should know: fun gun you should get one

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Wesley from USA on 2013-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy Pump action, decent heft, pretty powerful

    Things I would have changed: Wood instead of plastic. The plastic makes it look and feel like a toy, which it is not. I'm not pleased with the sites and it doesn't appear to be very accurate, but for what you pay, it's an awesome little plinker and powerful enough to ward off varmint's out of the garden. Of course I do this with minimal pumps to just scare 'em off, but if they keep returning, I may have to pump it up to show them I mean business, lol!

    What others should know: No... just be safe and use common sense. It's a fun gun to shoot, but it's powerful enough, fully pumped, to do some serious damage.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mr Funnyman from USA on 2013-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Im just learning about airguns Im disabled and this is a way for me to occupy my mind and get out This rifle feels good looks good and alot of fun

    Things I would have changed: nada

    What others should know: buy it you will enjoy it

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2013-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The synthetic stock and adjustable iron sights are well made and durable. The pump is not difficult to use and the ability to fire both BB's and pellets is also a nice feature. This rifle is very accurate with the "right" pellets (see below). Variable power is nice and for the price you pay it is a very reliable, accurate with pellets and adequate with steal BB's This is a fun rifle to shoot. I've had mine for more than 2 years now with no problems.

    Things I would have changed: The breach and loading chamber are a bit smaller than I would have liked ,which makes loading pellets somewhat challenging. The trigger pull is short but very stiff. The rail is plastic.

    What others should know: This thing is very picky about what pellets you feed it. From personal experience, I discovered that my rifle prefers pointed and wadcutter pellets over all the other types. I can shoot 1/4in groups at 10 yards with the right pellets! Remember to oil this gun regularly and it should serve your shooting needs for years to come.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By fredrik from Norway on 2013-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: it is nice looking and pretty accurate 1" grouping at 50 yards with crosman premium and scoped.

    Things I would have changed: the shoulderstock feels a little wobbli while pumping

    What others should know: easy to pump, accurate, all in all a great little pumper.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rob from USA on 2011-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Solid feel and grip. More comfortable for me to pump without pinching my fingers than the Daisy 880. Easy for me to hold with the full width forearm. Accurate and powerful.

    Things I would have changed: As almost all BB/Pellet rifles, it is difficult to get my fingers to single load pellets, and I wish there were some sort of ramp to drop the pellets in to help feed the chamber. But again, this is no harder for me than any other combo BB/Pellet gun. Other than that, nothing.

    What others should know: Note: The maximum BB and Pellet velocities given for this rifle and the Daisy 880 are given as the same in the owners' manuals, I see they are advertized as slightly different in favor of the 880 on the packaging and Daisy's website. I do believe they are the same as the manuals indicate. I think the mechanisms are exactly the same between the two, and can not find any difference in power or penetration when comparing them side by side (both new guns). I may chronograph them for fun when I get my Chrony back from my buddy who borrowed it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ike from USA on 2011-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Feels solid. Quality is great.

    Things I would have changed: One pellet at the time is kinda boring. A clip to load pellets would nice

    What others should know: Very nice gun. It was recomended by pyramid custumer service. Very nice gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By habidur from USA on 2011-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I liked every bit and every little thing of this rifle, it was my very first pellet/bb gun I've owned, regret giving it away, powerful, accurate, good for the price.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight used to shift a little after some times even if I tighten the screw and would have to set the sights again, wished it was a fixed sight with no windage.

    What others should know: You will enjoy this gun, I'd recommend this daisy 901 than any Crosman 700 pump series, much stronger than my Crosman 760 pumpmaster and my Crosman 764sb in my experience,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edwin from USA on 2011-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Light weight,easy to pump,accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Maybe all the air rifle you need for backyard plinking.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daerickman83 from USA on 2011-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: this gun is amazing. ive had it for a while and it still works great. what i realy like is its rifled barrel so it is extremely accurate. i suggest getting a scope with this gun so you wont miss a single shot.

  • 12 Next
Navigation