Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Diana RWS 34P air rifle reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Lynda from USA on 2009-06-10 13:44:43

    Things I liked:I can get 1 inch groups at 30 yards. i chronied itat 740 fps with diablo xact pelits.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:Superb 4 killing vermin. we hav a chipmunk problem at mi house and i hav killed atlest 50 of them now and the population is slowlee declineing. I put a leepers 3-9x32 scope and thats like 45 $ at pyramid air and i hav another uv that scope on mi discovery.
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27 10:54:07

    Things I liked:Definitely a Good Gun
    Things I would have changed:Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....
    What others should know:My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By david from USA on 2012-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great looking gun, solid.
      Things I would have changed:Make it a bit lighter.
      What others should know:Bought this for my 11 year old son. A bit too heavy for a boy that age. Nice that Pyramid has a 30 day return policy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Marian from USA on 2012-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:At the beginning, the rifle was very picky about pellets and even at 35 ft, shooting from a rest, I could only get reasonable groups with Beeman's H&N Match 8.18gr pellets. However, after a break-in period of ~1000 pellets, and barrel cleaning & action lubing (per Umarex's instructions) the rifle became very accurate. Now I get one-(rugged)hole 5-shot groups at 35 ft with: H&N Match, H&N Field Target Trophy Power (Cu plated), Beeman Magnum Crow, and even with RWS Diabolo Basic. Although the last brand has some fliers. Even heavy Kodiak pellets group nicely if a little low of POA. Shooting matchsticks/thoothpicks at that distance is no problem and a lot of fun. On the other hand, my Diana just cannot handle H&N Field Target pellets, and throws them around like a shotgun. I shall test the rifle with longer distances (up to 120 ft) once I get my field bench and rest put together. I may update this review when I have new results.
      Things I would have changed:A soft recoil pad would be nice, other than that, nothing really. Keep in mind though that this is only my second air rifle (first springer) so I do not have much experience.
      What others should know:The gun came out of the box on the dry side. It was making a lot of noise when cocked (I think that the technical term is "honking") Only after ~1000 shots and re-lubing the noise subsided. The gun is heavy. I put a 3-12x Leapers scope on it and, at my age, I can only shoot it from a rest; which is what wanted it for anyway, so it is not a negative thing for me. Pyramyd was, as always, excellent with shipping. Once the backorder cleared, I got an email from them Monday PM, and was shooting my Diana 34 Wednesday afternoon.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2012-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Out of the box i reset the sight to where the rear sight was at the lowest setting to start to adjust the sight, my first shot was almost a bulls eye!! So i have left the sight there and have been shooting fairly consistant groups. The fiber optic sights are great!! The weight is ideal.
      What others should know:The T06 trigger is great and the fiber optics as well.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Don from USA on 2012-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've put a few hundred pellets through this gun, and knocked down four squirrels, in the couple weeks since I got it. I've been very pleased with the overall quality of the weapon. In my hands it feels like one of my Savage or Remington rifles, and I didn't expect that. I found the gun to be consistently accurate, without scope, right out of the box. It's also quieter than I expected it would be. It's no louder than a staple gun, if that loud, which is a bonus given that I've got neighbors all around. I'm not using a scope. I got the rifle to get rid of squirrels that are infesting my attic and the four I've shot were all within 15 yards, for which the iron sights are more than adequate. Sighting in the rear sight, by the way, was very easy. Ten pellets or so was all that was required.
      Things I would have changed:I've never been a fan of blueing on barrels. It's a hassle to maintain. This rifle is no different. It's not a huge big deal to wipe the gun down with a silicon cloth after using it, but a matte or satin finish barrel would be easier to maintain.
      What others should know:I've had best success with the RWS Superdome pellets. Squirrels fall dead right there. I thought the rifle was pretty accurate from the first shot. It may be producing marginally tighter patterns now than when I started, but I'm really pleased with its accuracy. Shots pretty much go through the same dime sized hole in my targets and, like I say, the holes in the squirrels' heads have been right where I wanted them to be. This is my first air rifle and I read a lot about the artillery hold before getting the RWS 34. I actually find that I'm successful holding the gun more or less the way I do any other rifle I own. Now, I don't own large caliber guns, so I've never felt the need to hold them in ways that anticipate big recoil. But I haven't found that I need to "re-learn" how I shoot with the RWS 34.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the quality of this rifle. I like the feel and balance of it. It is easy to charge and the fact that is automatically sets the safety on is a good feature. The fiber optic sigths that come with the rifle are of good quality and adjust very simply, not a problem sighting them in. The rifle is relatively quiet for the power it has. Using the H&N Baracuda HP 10.34 grain pellets I could shoot all day on the bench at 30 yards and cover them all with a quarter.
      Things I would have changed:The fact that the barrel brakes throuh the forearm makes it quite dificult to add sling mounts but it would be nice if something was engineered to do this. The rifle does get quite uncomfortable,as any rifle would, if you are trying to walk and carry it for long distances like I do. Other than that I am more than satisfied with this rifle.
      What others should know:I have no experience with the 22 caliber so I had a hard time deciding which caliber to purchase. I went with the .177. I purchased the UTG #DNO34 scope elevation compensator mount and a UTG 3-9 x 50mm full size tactical optic scope with the 1" tube. I got the Weaver low profile four screw rings. This worked out really well except I had to put a .010 piece of shim stock under the front scope ring so I could get enough scope adjustment. This worked out really well for the first say 50 shots then the rifle became inaccurate. I found that because of the heavy vibration when fired the ring caps came loose. I applied some liquid rubber on the threads and remounted the caps and resighted the rifle and it seems to be holding good to this point after about 200 shots. The scope is very nice for the price. I just put it on 9 power and leave it there. With the AO feature you can focus on anything from really close to far away. Scope caps get in the way if you are focusing really close, they touch the side of the barrel. As for pellets, I purchased the variety pack with the different pints and weights. I found that the Meisterkugein 8.2 grain shot very accurate at 20 yards they averaged around 850 fps with my rifle. The others like the RWS Super HP 6.9 grain shot an average of 940 fps but weren't as accurate. The most accurate at 30 yards was the H&N Baracuda HP 10.34 grain at 740 fps. I like the accuracy but now I wonder if I should have purchased the .22 caliber in stead.?
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2012-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Another great RWS rifle all I can say is for the money this gun is sweet
      Things I would have changed:If I was looking for one gun that was well built to last and accurate and afordable this would be the one.
      What others should know:Buy it shoot it and love it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hiking from USA on 2012-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this for my grandson and I am totally impressed. Right out of the box, it was shooting all over the place, but like others had mentioned after about 25-50 shots it was dead on. Now with a scope he can hit everything he shoots at out to 100 ft. consistantly taken the red bullseye out of those splat targets in 3 shots.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:I bought the air gun without the scope, because I had a good scope to put on it, but I was unable to get mounts that would work. I would suggest if you already have a good scope that you buy the scope mount that are made for this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JAMES from USA on 2012-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate , my first rws and i love it the T06 trigger is great.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know: shoot's crow magnuns and crossman premier's really well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2012-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Length of bbl. weight of gun, sights, trigger pull, durability of synthetic stock, but most of all it's accuracy. After all if a gun isn't accurateit is no better that a tomato stake.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, excellent firearm.
      What others should know:How again did someone get 900fps out of this gun? The actual fps are around 700fps. Still that is enough power for hunting small varmits under 25 yards.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great rifle. I bought it in .177 and it's very accurate while at the same time it packs a punch! The sights on it are excellent and very easy to aim with. The new T06 trigger is fantastic, for me it had the right amount of pull right out of the box so I didn't need to adjust anything.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is a bit heavy, so a lighter one would be slightly more convenient, but it's not too big of a deal since it only makes it difficult for me to shoot at longer distances while standing up.
      What others should know:Buying the rifle was great decision, it exceeded my expectations and i got more than what i payed for! I love this rifle and you will not regret buying it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By harleybob from USA on 2011-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good weight and balance,fiber optic sights,very powerful.Accurate right out of the box.Great recomendation from Pyramyd Air.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.Awesome gun.
      What others should know:This gun seems to like whatever you shoot out of it.Groups that can be covered with a nickle with open sights at 30yds. & after putting a scope on it you can cover with a dime.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By THOMAS from USA on 2011-07-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very Powerful. Purchased to get rid of some pest in my back yard. Well Constructed. Should last long time. Very Accurate with the proper scope.
      Things I would have changed:Scope I purchased for this gun does not work with this gun without a separate compensator mount to lift the back end of the scope up. Tech service said just to shim up the rear rather than purchase this mount and a new set of scope rings. If you don't shim up the back of the scope it will always shoot low. The scope I purchased was a Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Riflescope with r/G, 1" Tube. Once the back was shimmed up it worked great. Very Accurate at 35+ yards.
      What others should know:Definitely worth the money. I've had cheaper models and this one outperforms them all hands down.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2011-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I found the open sights on the .177 to be very good out to my normal range of 50 yds for varmint control. But I equipped it with the 4X40 Leapers Tactedge long eye relief scope as at 70yrs age, every vision advantage is needed. For a younger person with good eyes, the open sights would be just fine at that range. The new TO6 metal trigger is excellent. I've shot pistol and rifle all my adult life and the trigger is up there with the best of them. No adj were necessary :-)
      Things I would have changed:Too bad the UTG special RWS scope mount wont fit the guns with the TO6 trigger. As all the current 2011 RWS production use the TO6 trigger. Perhaps UTG will upgrade their mount soon? Also, it would be great to see a bundle with a wider range choice of Leaper Scopes. So a person dosnt have to spend so much time on the web site doing research.
      What others should know:I spent a lot of time viewing the Video's and reading the reviews on this site and found them very helpful. Pyramyd Air is providing great service in this way. And made the choice of air guns and scope a lot easier. I use the .177 cal only for varmint control and this gun has great knock down power. Every shot I've made with it has been a clean kill using RWS field line superdome. And the noise is low compared to other air guns I've used 35 yrs ago. Lots have changed in that 35 yrs !! For the better too.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Viktor from USA on 2011-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice and comfortable plastic stock, power and accuracy. Perfect tool for pest control and a great value for the price. I am planning on installing of a good scope on this rifle, but have no problem of hitting chipmunk-sized target at 25 yards with open sights.
      Things I would have changed:I wish I can get RWS/DIANA Lock down mount Single block with 0,01´4” elevation with 4 screws per ring. This mounts are available only in Europe for now.
      What others should know:My RWS 34P likes 8.4gr JSB Match Diabolo and RWS 8.3gr Superdome. I am very impressed with customer service at Pyramyd Air too.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vernon from USA on 2011-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I use my gun primarily for pest control and target practice. I seldom hunt with it but I’ve taken squirrels in the gardens at 20 meters with head shots that dropped them instantly. I’ve actually missed on head shots and took them out with body shots that usually drops them in a few seconds. Synthetic stock dampens vibrations and is well balanced. Fits the hands well and is easy to grip. Accuracy is superb. At 20 meters with using a rest, I can touch the center dot and have each shot touch each other. Not picky with pellets, I can shoot RWS Superdomes and switch to Polymags and use the same scope position. Trigger is excellent and I really like the feel, there’s no guessing when you come to the second stage.
      Things I would have changed:I replaced the factory spring with one of Pyramid's Pro Guide springs after about a thousand shots. This helped this well dampened rifle have even less vibration.
      What others should know:Gun is sensitive to hold and trigger pull. The best position I've found is to lay it in your hand just past the trigger guard (artillery hold) and make sure you pull the trigger straight back. Make your own front sight shroud from a piece of 3/4” conduit or 1/2” copper pipe. Sights are not bad but they’re too big for much past 10 meters. If you mount a scope remove the front and back sight to make it easier to cock the gun. According to Umarex, apply a few drops of oil to the chamber about every 200-400 shots. They told me that even if you over oil the gun (not to the point of dieseling) that after about 50 shots the excess oil is blown out. Keep the barrel clean. My gun seems to be very sensitive to build up in the barrel. I usually clean with a plastic brush every 100 shots or so with alcohol followed by wipes to maintain accuracy. I use the RWS cleaning plugs but have found better success making my own from heavy duty felt. I generally insert the cleaning plugs sideways to better clean the barrel. My primary pellet is the RWS Superdome and occasionally a polymag. When I start to loose accuracy I clean the barrel. When I start to lose power, I add a drop or two to the chamber.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Walter from USA on 2011-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Well made. Will obviously become something i can pass dow, to my kids if it is given reasonable care. Pyramidyr website was dead on accurate with specs, reviews, and advice, making my purchase choices much easier
      Things I would have changed:I wanted a quiet gun for backyard use with the kids. It is not that quiet. I have only put 350 pellets downrange so this may change with some more time. Also, the weight specs are very accurate. Put a 2 pound scope on this gun and I'm sure it will feel like my M1 garand
      What others should know:comes fiberoptic sight, which makes a great hunting sight, but not so precise 10 meter target shooting. If you think you will go aftermarket aperature sight or a scope research those options now. There are pleny of good options but you have know about barrel droop, break barrel vs. fixed barrel, etc.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By dennis from USA on 2011-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i've got 200 pells thru the bbl and it's starting to cloverleaf @ 25 yds using crossman premiums. but it gums up rather quickly and requires frequent cleaning. squirrels ain't got a prayer. lol
      Things I would have changed:like i said in the last review the checkering around the pistol grip has some sharp edges.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By dennis from USA on 2011-02-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accurate,very well made, a handsome gun, an excellent triger
      Things I would have changed:take sharp edges off from pistol grip.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2011-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this gun in .22 caliber for eliminating squirrels indulging in my wife's bird seed. Works great. Not a showpiece, but looks to have many of the same working parts as my older .177 Diana 34. Shooting quality has been maintained in spite of plastic stock, trigger and trigger guard. Quite satisfied with this gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By greg from USA on 2011-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:powerful, accurate, polymer stock, .22 caliber, blueing, checkering on stock, fiber optic sights, price-point.
      Things I would have changed:pretty much nothing. the sights are sort of wide, and the stock is sort of sharp around the edges. this can be corrected with fine sandpaper/file.
      What others should know:this is truly a great rifle for pest elimination, accuracy, and it shoots great with a scope, also accepts a wide variety of pellets. jsb jumbo exact and beeman FTS are among the best for tight groups. i mounted a Leupold Rifleman 3x9 scope on mine with an RWS one piece scope mount. a truly great combo for only $400 combined. shoots great anywhere from 10 to about 60 yards. highest quality gun in this price range by far. also reccomended, if you own ANY firearm, even airguns join the NRA. help protect our gun rights for decades to come! thanks.
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top