Diana RWS 34P air rifle reviews - page 2

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jason from USA on 2008-07-22 17:13:58

Things I liked: (.22 cal) - This has to be THE most accurate rifle I've ever owned (out of box performance) in its price range. I own a bunch of Gamos, Crosmans and have owned a few others and while they're decent, it takes a bit of work (tuning, trigger, etc) to get them to stack pellets. This .22 Panther shot like a dream from day 1, is quieter than my other rifles, doesn't have a loud springy noise from the powerplant, is a bit more forgiving when it comes to hold sensitivity and has a nice out of box factory trigger (clean and crisp).

Things I would have changed: The scope stop hole needs to be deeper, but Leapers now has an inexpensive adapter that'll help lock your scope in place for good.

What others should know: Pellets - Mine loves Benjamin Domes. Next would be Predators and Gamo Hunters. The Predators and Hunters group extremely well, however the rifle seems to be a bit more hold sensitive with them. With the Benji Domes however, the rifle is much more forgiving when it comes to hold and I can consistently stay within 1/2" at 30 yards (offhand). It wasn't super hard to cock (just a little slap on the barrel) at first, but it did ease up a bit after about 50 rounds.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27 10:54:07

Things I liked: Definitely a Good Gun

Things I would have changed: Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....

What others should know: My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air

Sort by:
  • Previous 123 ... 56 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2013-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was waiting for another rifle that kept being backordered, so based on the recommendation of one of the experts, I purchased this rifle instead. It is as accurate as I had hoped for. I love the way it shoots. I purchased a Leapers scope for it (4x32 with adjustable objective and it is a dream to shoot. I cannot wait to get somewhere where I can shoot at distance. Right now I am in my 35' patio area, so the distance is very limited. It is not too loud, which is great because I live in a fourplex with neighbor's patios bordering on two sides.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this time. Very happy with the rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ted from USA on 2013-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love this gun. Well built and a joy to shoot. I think I have found my new favorite.

    Things I would have changed: A rubber buttplate would be a nice addition.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By STANFORD from USA on 2013-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Thr rifle was securely packaged. It arrived on time with no damage. What surprised me the most was that the sights were set to place a 2" grouping of Crosman Premier ammo at 20 feet.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: I would recommend Pyramyd Air to anyone.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well made gun. Nice trigger. Very visible sights.

    Things I would have changed: Metal sights in lieu of plastic.

    What others should know: I purchased this to replace the ElGamo I've had for 35 years. Unfortunatly it had got so weak it would not kill a bird. The quality of the RWS 34P rifle surpasses the Elgamo when it was new. This is the first rifle of any kind that I own that I did not even have to adjust the sights, it was dead on out of the box. Dead bird at 35 yards with open sights with 50 year old eyes. I am very impressed with the rifle and Pyramid Air's fast service.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ken from USA on 2013-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle is very well engineered and the decisions made by RWS to meet the pricepoint were really practical. It's an extremely solid and precise piece of hardware. Accuracy right out of the box exceeds my ability. I got some online advice from Pyramyd and went with a Leapers UTC 4x32 scope and it took 6 shots to sight in the rifle. Literally. I'm not expert enough to say anything about the other options under $300, but this rifle has to be very hard to beat.

    Things I would have changed: I haven't found anything yet. Maybe the plastic front sight? Really, nothing.

    What others should know: It IS a fairly heavy rifle, and shooting without a rest is a little bit of a challenge. On the other hand, I've tried a number of different variations of the artillery hold, and the rifle is not too finicky about the grip. Bear in mind reading this that I am not an expert marksman. That said, I can consistently put groups inside a quarter-sized circle at 60 feet without being overly concerned with repeating my grip with every shot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Allen from USA on 2013-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Diana simply makes fine guns. I got a 34p in 177 as a downsize counterpart to go with my 350p in 22. Right out of the box the accuracy of both guns is remarkable. They dont need tuned & the T06 trigger is perfect. You simply start with a great looking gun that flat out shoots. The 34p is my backyard plinker thats smaller & easier to cock but still deadly accurate. I can shoot all day with it & its a pleasure to do. My 34p also has not been picky about what pellets i use. I can plink with cheapos & break out the good pellets when the pests arrive.

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely nothing

    What others should know: I just cant say enough about how impressive Diana guns are out of the box. I hardly shoot my other springers. My Dianas have better triggers & accuracy which means more fun shooting. Also the purchases through PA have been great & the shipping fast & well packed. Thanks again PA!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2013-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made, solid gun for a very reasonable price. Fiber optic sights and T06 trigger are very nice. This was my first air rifle. I bought it after extensive research with the intention of teaching myself to shoot and learning about pellet ballistics and mil dot scopes. It has served that purpose very well and I feel ready for the leap to a high-end PCP rifle in 0.22 caliber. If I could go back and do it over, I would get this exact same gun again as my first air rifle. Per the recommendation of a PA sales rep, I paired it with a UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40 AO scope and UTG Drooper Scope Rail. This has made for a great setup.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: For pellet choice, go heavy. Advertised velocity for this gun is 1000 fps. I have found that that is just too fast to get any sort of acceptable accuracy at 20 yards. I tried about 20 different pellets, and my 34P definitely likes slower, heavier pellets. My 10 for $10 test shot 7.1 grain Beeman Lasers at an average of 936 fps. I got relatively poor groupings at 20 yards with 8.2 grain Meisterkugelns, R-10 Match Heavies, and many other pellets of similar weight and different shapes. My gun shoots 9.3 grain RWS Supermags a little better, and shoots 10.34 grain JBS Diabolo Exact Heavies and 10.65 grain Beeman Kodiak Match Extra Heavies even better. However, at 20 yards, my 34P's favorite pellet is the 10.65 grain H&N Baracudas. I have just begun to push the distance out to 40 yards, and early results are the same. I have therefore found, which should be no surprise, that my RWS 34P in 0.177 simply likes slower heavier pellets. This is a high-powered spring gun. Lighter, faster pellets sacrifice accuracy to an unacceptable level (for me).

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2012-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Had a Benjamin Trail NP AW I returned it Because the RWS 34 P is That MUCH Better, I like Accuracy, Iron Sights are excellent, accuracy, feel & balance, weight of gun, stock feel & width, ergonomics of gun, love the auto safety & it's location, it is easy to switch from safe to fire. The RWS 34Panther is a Excellent gun and it is a professional gun. my Crosman Trail was just a Toy and was not accurate

    Things I would have changed: I would Not change this gun as it is Perfection, right out of the box

    What others should know: Again this gun is perfection!!!! just clean the barrel, and shoot 1000 pellets through it before doing anything. mine was slightly noisy at first, and after 100 shots it was much quieter and smoother, now it is very smooth & quiet, get it you will love

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2012-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The .22 RWS34 is GREAT. I purchased the RWS34 based on superb recommendation from Pyramid Air's Richard & Micheal. I needed to replace a Benji Trail NP which I could not get to group properly. Three EXCELLENT benefits... 1. As described by one reviewer... it sounds like a staple gun, ie. it is NOT loud. My wife said it does not even sound like a gun! This is important since some of my neighbors would be real upset if they heard a gun in the backyard. 2. The RWS34 has positive scope mount detents to insure no scope slippage. 3. The trigger is EXCELLENT. Unlike two other air rifles I purchased... there is no need to purchase and install an aftermarket trigger for the RWS34.

    Things I would have changed: Perhaps I am doing something wrong... But, when I cock the gun with the break barrel, the area of my trigger hand between my index finger and thumb will push in the safety. This defeats the EXCELLENT design of the RWS34 which automatically activates the safety when the gun is cocked. Perhaps the stock could be cast to have a small bump or channel surrounding the safety to prevent the trigger hand from inadvertently pushing the safety in ?? However, not a big deal now that I know to exercise caution.

    What others should know: Another HUGE Benefit: The RWS34 is easily "Un-Cocked". Technique: Carefully move break barrel its full travel and then release the barrel slightly from the end of its swing, now push in the safety, then squeeze trigger. Carefully swing the break barrel to the normal firing position. This is important for me since I often encounter one of the other neighbors with children and dogs... this allows me to "safe up" the gun when appropriate yet leave a pellet in the breach without having to fire the gun. CAUTION: DO NOT SQUEEZE THE TRIGGER WITH THE BREAK BARREL OUT OF THE FIRING POSITION UNLESS YOU HAVE A FIRM GRASP ON THE BARREL. Safety rules I have read say NEVER take your hand off the break barrel while it is out of the firing position... keep a firm grasp to avoid injury if the sear somehow trips or trigger "bear trap" device fails to to prevent the trigger from being pulled.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Steven from USA on 2012-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great balance, superior construction, reasonable cocking weight, excellent sight picture, super value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: This is a great air rifle, but I sent it back. Mine must have been the odd one, because it was inaccurate. Holding was consistent, neither too hard nor too soft, but it still spread pellets all over the target. I wanted a great pellet gun for target, plinking and occasional dispatch of tree rats in my back yard, and it would have been suited for that, had it been more accurate. In addition, with Kodiak heavy pellets, the velocity was right around 700 fps, and I was looking for 800 fps. Ultimately I exchanged it for the 350P and could not have been happier with that decision

    What others should know: The bore was not centered in the breech block, apparently this is a common situation with the Diana air rifles and does not affect function or accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DanaR. from USA on 2012-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Still the best gun for the money out there.I have a house full of airguns,and 6 other 34`s. I`m getting 5 shot groups under .5" @ 30 yds,with cphp,cpl,and RWS Superdome pellets. The R-9 is a super airgun,but if you look at the prices since 7 yrs ago,the R-9 had doubled in price,the old Diana 34 is still about the same!

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see Diana go to the 16" barrel,like the R-9,the 19" barrel is a little long. The older Panther stock looked more plain,but I think was a better stock,it had rubber buttpad(plastic on this one),and it was better at absorbing vibration,I think.A few sharp edges on the cocking arm cut out to smooth off. These are minor complaints.

    What others should know: Don`t waste your money on the Gamo line,or even the Gamo clones under the Crosman brands.Everything better on these,barrels,metal finish,triggers,heirloom quality.This gun will be passed on to your relatives when you get too old to cock it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By david from USA on 2012-09-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great looking gun, solid.

    Things I would have changed: Make it a bit lighter.

    What others should know: Bought this for my 11 year old son. A bit too heavy for a boy that age. Nice that Pyramid has a 30 day return policy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marian from USA on 2012-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: At the beginning, the rifle was very picky about pellets and even at 35 ft, shooting from a rest, I could only get reasonable groups with Beeman's H&N Match 8.18gr pellets. However, after a break-in period of ~1000 pellets, and barrel cleaning & action lubing (per Umarex's instructions) the rifle became very accurate. Now I get one-(rugged)hole 5-shot groups at 35 ft with: H&N Match, H&N Field Target Trophy Power (Cu plated), Beeman Magnum Crow, and even with RWS Diabolo Basic. Although the last brand has some fliers. Even heavy Kodiak pellets group nicely if a little low of POA. Shooting matchsticks/thoothpicks at that distance is no problem and a lot of fun. On the other hand, my Diana just cannot handle H&N Field Target pellets, and throws them around like a shotgun. I shall test the rifle with longer distances (up to 120 ft) once I get my field bench and rest put together. I may update this review when I have new results.

    Things I would have changed: A soft recoil pad would be nice, other than that, nothing really. Keep in mind though that this is only my second air rifle (first springer) so I do not have much experience.

    What others should know: The gun came out of the box on the dry side. It was making a lot of noise when cocked (I think that the technical term is "honking") Only after ~1000 shots and re-lubing the noise subsided. The gun is heavy. I put a 3-12x Leapers scope on it and, at my age, I can only shoot it from a rest; which is what wanted it for anyway, so it is not a negative thing for me. Pyramyd was, as always, excellent with shipping. Once the backorder cleared, I got an email from them Monday PM, and was shooting my Diana 34 Wednesday afternoon.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2012-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Out of the box i reset the sight to where the rear sight was at the lowest setting to start to adjust the sight, my first shot was almost a bulls eye!! So i have left the sight there and have been shooting fairly consistant groups. The fiber optic sights are great!! The weight is ideal.

    What others should know: The T06 trigger is great and the fiber optics as well.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2012-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've put a few hundred pellets through this gun, and knocked down four squirrels, in the couple weeks since I got it. I've been very pleased with the overall quality of the weapon. In my hands it feels like one of my Savage or Remington rifles, and I didn't expect that. I found the gun to be consistently accurate, without scope, right out of the box. It's also quieter than I expected it would be. It's no louder than a staple gun, if that loud, which is a bonus given that I've got neighbors all around. I'm not using a scope. I got the rifle to get rid of squirrels that are infesting my attic and the four I've shot were all within 15 yards, for which the iron sights are more than adequate. Sighting in the rear sight, by the way, was very easy. Ten pellets or so was all that was required.

    Things I would have changed: I've never been a fan of blueing on barrels. It's a hassle to maintain. This rifle is no different. It's not a huge big deal to wipe the gun down with a silicon cloth after using it, but a matte or satin finish barrel would be easier to maintain.

    What others should know: I've had best success with the RWS Superdome pellets. Squirrels fall dead right there. I thought the rifle was pretty accurate from the first shot. It may be producing marginally tighter patterns now than when I started, but I'm really pleased with its accuracy. Shots pretty much go through the same dime sized hole in my targets and, like I say, the holes in the squirrels' heads have been right where I wanted them to be. This is my first air rifle and I read a lot about the artillery hold before getting the RWS 34. I actually find that I'm successful holding the gun more or less the way I do any other rifle I own. Now, I don't own large caliber guns, so I've never felt the need to hold them in ways that anticipate big recoil. But I haven't found that I need to "re-learn" how I shoot with the RWS 34.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2012-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the quality of this rifle. I like the feel and balance of it. It is easy to charge and the fact that is automatically sets the safety on is a good feature. The fiber optic sigths that come with the rifle are of good quality and adjust very simply, not a problem sighting them in. The rifle is relatively quiet for the power it has. Using the H&N Baracuda HP 10.34 grain pellets I could shoot all day on the bench at 30 yards and cover them all with a quarter.

    Things I would have changed: The fact that the barrel brakes throuh the forearm makes it quite dificult to add sling mounts but it would be nice if something was engineered to do this. The rifle does get quite uncomfortable,as any rifle would, if you are trying to walk and carry it for long distances like I do. Other than that I am more than satisfied with this rifle.

    What others should know: I have no experience with the 22 caliber so I had a hard time deciding which caliber to purchase. I went with the .177. I purchased the UTG #DNO34 scope elevation compensator mount and a UTG 3-9 x 50mm full size tactical optic scope with the 1" tube. I got the Weaver low profile four screw rings. This worked out really well except I had to put a .010 piece of shim stock under the front scope ring so I could get enough scope adjustment. This worked out really well for the first say 50 shots then the rifle became inaccurate. I found that because of the heavy vibration when fired the ring caps came loose. I applied some liquid rubber on the threads and remounted the caps and resighted the rifle and it seems to be holding good to this point after about 200 shots. The scope is very nice for the price. I just put it on 9 power and leave it there. With the AO feature you can focus on anything from really close to far away. Scope caps get in the way if you are focusing really close, they touch the side of the barrel. As for pellets, I purchased the variety pack with the different pints and weights. I found that the Meisterkugein 8.2 grain shot very accurate at 20 yards they averaged around 850 fps with my rifle. The others like the RWS Super HP 6.9 grain shot an average of 940 fps but weren't as accurate. The most accurate at 30 yards was the H&N Baracuda HP 10.34 grain at 740 fps. I like the accuracy but now I wonder if I should have purchased the .22 caliber in stead.?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2012-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Another great RWS rifle all I can say is for the money this gun is sweet

    Things I would have changed: If I was looking for one gun that was well built to last and accurate and afordable this would be the one.

    What others should know: Buy it shoot it and love it

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By hiking from USA on 2012-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this for my grandson and I am totally impressed. Right out of the box, it was shooting all over the place, but like others had mentioned after about 25-50 shots it was dead on. Now with a scope he can hit everything he shoots at out to 100 ft. consistantly taken the red bullseye out of those splat targets in 3 shots.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: I bought the air gun without the scope, because I had a good scope to put on it, but I was unable to get mounts that would work. I would suggest if you already have a good scope that you buy the scope mount that are made for this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JAMES from USA on 2012-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate , my first rws and i love it the T06 trigger is great.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: shoot's crow magnuns and crossman premier's really well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By david from USA on 2012-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Length of bbl. weight of gun, sights, trigger pull, durability of synthetic stock, but most of all it's accuracy. After all if a gun isn't accurateit is no better that a tomato stake.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, excellent firearm.

    What others should know: How again did someone get 900fps out of this gun? The actual fps are around 700fps. Still that is enough power for hunting small varmits under 25 yards.

  • Previous 123 ... 56 Next
Navigation