Diana RWS 34P air rifle reviews - page 4



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Lynda from USA on 2009-06-10 13:44:43

Things I liked:I can get 1 inch groups at 30 yards. i chronied itat 740 fps with diablo xact pelits.
Things I would have changed:nothing
What others should know:Superb 4 killing vermin. we hav a chipmunk problem at mi house and i hav killed atlest 50 of them now and the population is slowlee declineing. I put a leepers 3-9x32 scope and thats like 45 $ at pyramid air and i hav another uv that scope on mi discovery.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27 10:54:07

Things I liked:Definitely a Good Gun
Things I would have changed:Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....
What others should know:My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air
Sort by:
  • « Previous 123456 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Eddie from USA on 2010-04-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well pleased with this .177 rifle. Had it for about a month. Most accurate with RWS Hobby and RWS 8.3 grain domed pellets. Surprised how easy to cock. My 14 year old grandson can cock it easily.
    Things I would have changed:Not much.
    What others should know:Ordered UTG droop compensator base and weaver type rings. Rifle had no barrel droop. Had to return droop compensator base and swap for UTG Item#:LEMNT-DNTOWL[PY-A-2639] (base for rifles that have no droop). Zeroed in fine with this base and very accurate.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2010-04-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:EVERYTHING! But more specificaly... - Almost no recoil - Accurate right out of the box, and is even better ounce it's "broken-in" - Smooth, crisp, very light trigger pull (adjustable, 2-Stage) - All-Weather synthetic Monte Carlo style stock (solid and durable) - Awesome knock-down power - The incredible quality and value, just holding and shooting the RWS air rifle, you would think that it would cost in the $300-400 range. Amazing look and feel to this gun. It is very well built, and will last a long time. Fun to shoot, affordable. Great for hunting and target practice. (.22 Cal.) The day I bought it, I taped a target to our old wooden barn, to see what the pattern looked like to sight it in. Every shot with the .22 caliber 34P easily punched through the 3/4 inch wooden boards. ( yes it is an old barn, and weathered, thus weakening the wood) However, my friends .177 Gamo Whisper that is still fairly new, was unable to go through the wooden wall of the barn.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing at all. It's perfect.
    What others should know:I bought this rifle .22 Caliber and some accessories that I was told go good with this pellet rifle. - UTG Weaver style Scope Mount Base, that Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift - UTG Premium 1" Rings, Medium, Weaver Mount - Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope with R/G, 1" Tube - Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct - RWS Super-H-Point .22 Cal, 14.2 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct I recommend that you get all of these products if you are getting this pellet rifle, just because they are all amazing combination's for this rifle and ultimately help the rifle perform at its maximum ability. With all the above listed accessories the total cost comes out to $336.83 including the free shipping and the Free shooting glasses (I never received the free glasses, which were promised with specified items over $99). If you are looking for a pellet rifle, especially one that is both powerful and accurate, stop thinking and buy the RWS Diana 34P. It is a great gun, and great for hunting. I zeroed in the scope at 35 yards, and it was producing 1" groups at that distance with only having fired 30 pellets out of it. The more you shoot it, the more consistent the velocities it puts out, making it even more accurate. After about 100-150 pellets, I was able to stack shots at 40 yards. The bigger, heavier .22 Caliber pellets produce a lot of knock down power for hunting. Can easily kill raccoons, squirrels, birds, rabbits, woodchucks, and other small game.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2009-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The over all Quality, the bluing is tops and the fit is exellect.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:For a starter rifle you can't beat it. Mine is two years old and I love the time I spend with it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Matthew from USA on 2009-12-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Ive had this gun for a little more than a month and have put well over 500 pellets through it so far. To put it simply this rifle is absolutely outstanding. Appearance and finish out of the box were flawless. It cocks smoothly and has a very well balanced feel. From the very first shot I was surprised how accurate it is. Its not terribly hold sensitive and felt recoil (while noticeable) hasn't had a very big effect on how it operates at all. I've been able to stack shots right on top of one another at 30 yards after some practice and while I expect it can handle longer distances I haven't had the chance to try as of yet. I was hesitant to purchase the synthetic stock after my experience with other brands but RWS has really impressed me with how well they've put this rifle together. If you're still on the fence about purchasing this rifle, stop thinking about it and buy it. You will not be disappointed.
    Things I would have changed:I cant really think of anything about this gun negative enough to mention, honestly.
    What others should know:In my experience the RWS 34P is an outstanding rifle that shoots easily and with exceptional accuracy. You will be very pleased with its quality and appearance from the moment you open the box. I expect a rifle this well made will last quite a long time.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Mike from USA on 2009-10-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything. When you shoulder this gun it's like it's just an extension of yourself. It has a natural feel to it. It looks and feels very professional. I have the .22 and the pellets hit very hard at the target 35 yards out.
    Things I would have changed:The rear sight screw needs to be longer. It cam out on me adjusting for longer ranges, and it was a pain to get back in.
    What others should know:This is a seriously nice gun and a hard hitter. I didn't think I would like the synth stock but I got over it when I opened the box. Then after handling it I was converted. If you get a scope for it don't forget to purchase a UTG droop compensating base, it makes all the difference.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By sam from USA on 2009-08-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:this is a very good gun the quality is great the accurcy and power are amazing. i can get a quarter inch groups or less at 15yrds with 10.5grn crosman pellets and abput the same sized groups wiht beeman kodiaks. the trigger is great the second stage breaks like glass i dont care that the trigger is plastic because its great and it works. the sights are nice the rear sisght one mine broke but its ok because i use a leepers 3-9x40 scope and its a great combo. its not to hard to cock and it just gets easier after time. this gun is not to loud to shoot in a neighborhood i shoot all day and ave never gotten a complaint but this depends on your neighborhood
    Things I would have changed:the scope rail. the stop pin holes are not deep enough but its not a problem because there is a UTG Scope Mount Base that is a littel less than 20 bucks and it is great my scope stays where it is and doesnt move. a sling would be nice because it can get heavy when you get a scope on it and cary around for a few hours in the woods
    What others should know:ive had this gun for about 2 months now and it seems to be broken in fairly nicely. i shoot a lot of squirrels in my back yard with my gun and the just fall right out of the trees and are done before the hit the ground. and rabits never now what hits them. this gun is great for just general shooting or small game hunting its very accurate and very powerfull
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Adam from USA on 2009-08-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This air rifle was a 13th B-Day present for my son. Who has quite a bit of experience with air guns for his age. He shoots my old Crosmans and my Sheridans so a beginner he is not. I have pretty much let him break this air gun in himself, it is .22 caliber and he has now officially put 500+ pellets through it and he loves it. I recently shot with him in our back yard range, open sighted, and he never misses. I mean he punches dime size holes in everything out to 40 yards easily. I can shoot pretty good, and my efforts with my old Crosman Model 1 are futile. H has made me look like Ned in the first grade reader. Not only can this baby throw lead at 14 grains out at about 760 feet per second consistantly it shoots every pellet accurately. We use premiers, Gamos, RWS's, Preditors etc... No one shoots better than another. It does like to shoot at about 30 yards, it has the best balance of power and range. It will shoot at 50 but really likes 30 to 35 best. The stock is bullet proof, very nice and practical, utilitarian is the best word. The rifle is truly a gem and sights are unbelievable.
    Things I would have changed:DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT THIS AIR RIFLE !
    What others should know:The # 1 thing to know about this air rifle is do not under estimate it. It is extremely powerful and shoots long distances, be weary of your back stops and know your target and beyond, this isn't your old crosman 760, this one travels like a freight train... Lastly, if you hunt with this, as my son and I have, it takes most game very quick and effortlessly. It is very humane and quite authoritative when it hits your prey, when it is in this guns sights, its dead, period ! I have shot good size squirrels out to 36 yards and one shot bam, dead. Good luck and if you are looking for a solid gun for under $ 250.00 this one is it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bill from USA on 2009-08-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I received the .177 cal. on July 23rd, 2009. Open sites are very good - the front site now comes with a hood for protection. Very accurate (shooting at 25 yards) with the right pellet. Hits very hard too. I agree with Tom Gaylord's assessment, Crosman Premiers 7.9 grain, both hollow point and domes, shoot with fantastic accuracy. I also tried JSB Diabolo Exact domed, 8.4 grains, and RWS Superdomes, 8.3 grains. The JSB's were not as accurate as the Crosman's. The Superdomes were absolutely horrendous - the worst rifle / pellet mix I have ever seen. My 12 gauge shotgun patterns better. It's too bad as my RWS 45 loves the Superdomes so I have many tins in stock, but the 34 simply hates them. The gun is not as hold sensitive as most springers tend to be. The gun honked like a goose for the first 100 or so rounds when cocked, but has settled down very nicely after break in - which takes about 1000 rounds to fully break in. The noise level is on par with other spring guns, so in a back yard in a typical development setting, the neighbors will know your shooting, but it's not irritatingly loud. I had Pyramyd do the 10 for $10 test and it averaged 903 fps with 7.9 grain Crosman Premiers.
    Things I would have changed:The infamous RWS scope rail that allows scope creep due to the small scope stop pin hole. To stop creep totally, I followed Tom Gaylord's advice (he reviews the 34 P - check the blog) and used a Beeman 5040 1-Pc Mount with the scope stop pin hanging in front of the scope rail. Barrel droop is also an issue with many RWS guns. The one piece mount allows you to shim in between the mount and rail instead of just under the rear ring. I put 2 strips of film negative between the rail and rear part of the mount and one piece between the scope and rear ring. I've shot about 2500 rounds with no creep at all. I believe that Pyramyd now sells a scope mount that corrects both of these issues right out of the box. They do sell the Beeman 5040 mount mentioned above too.
    What others should know:For the price, it'd be tuff to beat this gun. I'm extremely happy with the purchase and I do recommend this gun.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By dave from USA on 2009-06-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is my first and only air rifle. Overall build quality, appearance, power and value is better then good. it doesn't look or feel cheap. i was pleasantly surprised to see protected front sights(same as the wooden stock 34), unlike the pictures or complaints I've come across before purchase.
    Things I would have changed:Although it seems that most people prefer fiber optic sights and while they do function well, I feel that it looks kind of cheap, fragile and toy-like. They do look much better under sunlight, but what's wrong w/ having metal sights? The trigger and the trigger guard(part of the stock) are made of strong plastics and i felt that a metal trigger wouldn't improve anything.
    What others should know:Although i don't have comparisons, this trigger seems to feel much lighter after break in. Without the safety engaged, this trigger will release with minimal effort. At first, I dripped with sweat after shooting only a few shots and had to take time off to rest. But after a few hundred shots, cocking became much easier and now I don't break a sweat. This gun is very heavy, but i think it was carefully engineered that way.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Lynda from USA on 2009-06-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I can get 1 inch groups at 30 yards. i chronied itat 740 fps with diablo xact pelits.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:Superb 4 killing vermin. we hav a chipmunk problem at mi house and i hav killed atlest 50 of them now and the population is slowlee declineing. I put a leepers 3-9x32 scope and thats like 45 $ at pyramid air and i hav another uv that scope on mi discovery.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By TNT from USA on 2009-06-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power, accuracy, ease of use. Seems very well built and should last for decades! Bought to control squirrel population and it works like a charm! One shot does it all!
    Things I would have changed:Love is as-is. Would be nice to have a wood stock version that has the checker pattern like the synthetic does. This was the reason I went synthetic and I'm very pleased.
    What others should know:B.B. Pelletier suggested I go with the 0.22 version for squirrel control and I'm very glad I did!! If you are looking for a gun for pest control you can't go wrong with this one!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Redleg from USA on 2009-05-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a quality air gun with a superbly crafted synthetic stock (I purchased the .177 cal). Very nice two stage trigger that is well pronunced between the first and second stage. With a crisp pull in the second stage. Tru Glo signts are good for target acquisition and plinking and the adjustments are well defined clicks for both windage and elevation. This air gun appears to perform best with heavy pellets. I've had very good results with the Beeman Crow-Magnum and RWS Superdome.
    Things I would have changed:This gun needs sling swivels if you use it for hunting. This aiir gun will be a heavy load to lug around in the field without a sling. Further, it would help in both the Off Hand and Sitting Posiion because the gun is so heavy at the muzzle, and the balance point for me is just in front of the trigger guard.
    What others should know:I 've had this air gun for over two months before submitting these comments. This is my first adult air rifle, and I selected the 34P over the CFX upon the recommendation of the PyramydAir Customer Rep. I would recommend a .22 Cal for an air gun that weighs this much with or without a scope. Before mounting the scope I shot approximately 300 pullets through it to get a feel for its shooting characteristics, and hopefully also obtain some mechanical break-in. I learned to obtain consistent shot groups requires a longer follow through and much more relaxed hold with the left hand foreward position. This air rifle is very difficult to shoot in both the Off Hand (Standing) and Sitting Position because of the barrel drop. A rifle sling would greatly improve the balance and steady the hold position. I noticed that other evaluators have obtained very small shot groups; however, the best I have obtained with out of the box pellets (without sorting or weighing the pellets) is about 3/8" CTC at 20 yards with a 5th Gen Leapers 3-9 Scope . And about 1/2" with the open sights. Both shot groups were from a bench rest.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Harald from USA on 2009-05-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Nice T05-trigger Wonderfully made and discrete Silent yet powerful
    Things I would have changed:Nothing at all, seriously.
    What others should know:No doubt - just go and buy. My best air rifle ever, by the way I'm 34 years old.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By rwsguy from USA on 2009-05-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:everything. this is an amazing rifle. its super accurate. the sights are very good the power is amazing. i can get dime sized groups at 10 yrds with crosman heavies with ease. and about the same sized groups at 25 yrds. the sights are nice and the adjustment is crisp and clear. the fiber optic truglow whatever is great for low light. the gun isnt to heavy wich is good. the cocking is also not to bad. i was amazed with this gun because after about 50- 100 shots it seemed to be broken in. its also not to loud. i live in a suburban area and its fine. the triger is fine its got a good first stage and an excelet second stage. i dont care that its plastic because you can hardly tell and i would take a good plastic one over a bad metal one any day. the triger is nice and light too. the gun is a little front heavy but its no problem. there is little vibration with this gun. i like that the safty is automatic and i think that the positioning of the safty is good to. rws also added a hood to the front sight wich is good because it offer a wee bit more protection for that bad boy
    Things I would have changed:the scope mount the stoppin holes are to shallow. this isnt a big problem because you can buy a $20 utg scope base made for this gun and other rws modles. also maybe add sling mounts because once you get a scope on this gun it can be a little heaavy to cary around all day
    What others should know:this gun is great for squirrel hunting one head shot and they just drop when you use crossman heavies in 177. i have a leapers 3-9x40 scope on mine and its a great match unles you happen to be a squirrel. i had it zeroed in about five shots. also under the video tab there is a good indepth reviw of this gun that is helpfull if you arent sure if this gun is for you. also jsb predators work very well out of this gun. um this stock is very nice it fits well in my hands. this guns is great and for 200 somin dollars you get more than what you pay for its well worth the money
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Definitely a Good Gun
    Things I would have changed:Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....
    What others should know:My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By rwsguy from USA on 2009-04-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:every thing. this is a great gun. its super accurate i have put pellets through the same hole many times. it powerful ive taken multiple squerils with it. the open sights are very nice the adjustment is crisp and easy. the trigger is great it is way better than my gamo. people complain about the fact that is plastic but you cant really even tell. its a fairly heavy gun but its not to bad. mine seemed to have a quick breakin it got easier to cock after about 50 shots and it not really all that loud. mine really likes crosman primer heavies, i havent tried to amny other pellets but with these i can get very tight groups.
    Things I would have changed:the scope mount. its not that big of a deal because you can get the utg compensator mount for a little under $20. i would also think about adding sling mounts because if your gunna be luggin this thing around all day it will start to feel heavy
    What others should know:i put a leapers 5 gen 3-9x40 scope on mine and its a great combination. i had it sighted in after a bout 5 shots.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Richard from USA on 2009-03-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Awesome air rifle. Right out of the box. XLNT customer service too. One of the best companies I have ordered from. You can rest assure on a quality product. Thank You
    Things I would have changed:Perfect.. Change nothing
    What others should know:Keep your air gun clean and pick up after yourselves when outdoors so we all have a place to go shooting. Be sure to use recommended pellets. Try Predator
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By irvingernie from USA on 2009-03-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The best thing that can be said about this rifle is, super incredibly ultra accurate shooting instrument. The stock is well made, solid feel and well balanced, sights are true glo and great. Oh, and of course the price was right , incredible bargain.
    Things I would have changed:If there was something to change, I suppose I would add on a front sight globe and metal trigger.
    What others should know:This pellet rifle shoots tight groups. I shot the rws 34 using crossman premiers hollow points and I was able to get very consistent groups. I highly recommend you buy a good quality airgun scope to accommodate the enhance accuracy on this pellet rifle.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Peter from USA on 2009-02-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It delivers 975-980 fps with 7 grain RWS Hobby pellets. I'm sure you could get 1,000 fps with 6.5 grain Beeman Lasers. Not many lower priced or similarly priced rifles come this close to their advertised 1,000 fps. The iron sights work very well and precisely. If you are a serious shooter, this is your entry level choice. They just improved the front sight to a hooded version like you find on wooden stock variants all along.
    Things I would have changed:It is a little front heavy with no scope. Still a bit heavy with a 4x32 that weighs 13.5 ounces. Probably perfect with an 18.1 ounce 3-12x40 scope.
    What others should know:Get the UTC/Leapers Weaver scope mount with droop compensation. All springers have droop. All springers recoil too hard for dovetail mounts. I don't know if or how well it would work with non-RWS rifles, but it is perfect for RWS rifles. It is hard to get this rifle. There's a good reason... it is a awesome deal! Ordered Thurs PM didn't leave Pyramid until Wed. It is often out of stock, but worth the wait.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By zack from USA on 2009-02-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:nice synthetic stock and front and rear sights i can easily hit a daisy shatter blast at 30 to even 40 yards every 3 out of 5 shots very nice trigger very constitant triger pull very accurate good power.
    Things I would have changed:the gun is almost perfect but they need to fix the scope rail on the gun its just not big enough and deep enough but other than that the gun is a beast.
    What others should know:my gun is in .22 cal and is powerful enough to kill sqirells and 50 yards with a head shot in the past month i bought a leuoplod scope 2-7-28 very nice works very well
  • « Previous 123456 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top