Diana RWS 54 Air King reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By David from USA on 2010-08-25 22:17:00

Things I liked:Beautiful Rifle...Awesome Accuracy....Awesome Power....I bought the .22 and it loves the JSB .22 Cal, 15.9 Grains, Diabolo Exact Jumbo,and the JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.1 Grains, Domed, Getting .5" groups at 30 yards with ease. The 54 is so accurate. Awesome target rifle and can't wait to get a few squirrels and rabbits. No re-coil is awesome. I have no problem with the cocking effort using the right technique. I have been several times to the Shooting Range and can shoot for 3 hours and 250 pellets no problem...This Baby is addicting.
Things I would have changed:Swivel Studs for Bi-pod and Sling.
What others should know:Yes it's heavy like all the other reviews say, but on a rest or a sticks bi-pod no worries at all. Iron Sights right out of the box at 18 yards in the house got .75 inch groups standing with no rest...With the Leapers 3x9x50 scope at almost 2 lbs. it is much more difficult to hold it steady. One of the other reviews pointed to a web address with directions to mount a swivel stud for an attached bi-pod....can't wait to install those. The RWS 54 is a must for anyone's Rifle collection. Also, get the UTG scope mount...fits perfectly and very tight to the gun. No scope shift at all.
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Victor from USA on 2010-06-13 19:08:51

Things I liked:awesome power, accuracy, and build quality
Things I would have changed:a lighter trigger pull
What others should know:it's a bit heavy - and does take some strength to compress the spring - comes with the territory I guess, if you want power
Sort by:
  • 123 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Alfonso from USA on 2015-07-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautifully made. Super Accurate. Powerful on .22 cal. Iron sights. More fun and challenging to get accurate at.
    Things I would have changed:Make it a little lighter. Add sling swivels to carry over shoulder. Metal safety button instead of plastic.
    What others should know:This is an amazingly accurate and powerful springer. At 50 yds. I can take down heavy pine cones with 2 to 3 shots. Imagine what it can do to a squirrel or rabbit? Difficult to shoot without resting it on something do its heavy weight.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Daniel from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the auto safety when you cock it and the anti-bear trap.I put a BKL one piece scope mount with a 3-9x40 Leapers scope and at 35 yd I hit dead center over 90% of the time and I am working on a group of a dime size at 50 yd. This 22 cal. hits the mark like many other rifles I own and yes these RWS air rifles are a little higher priced , you get what you pay for , and the workmanship is high quality. I have owned a lot of air guns ,and this one cost me the most , but I think it is worth the money ,and for dropping a variety of critters. At my age I want what I pay for and now I have rifle I can hunt with and plink with at a much cheaper price then buying ammo. I have no problem cocking my rws 30 to 40 times at my age 67 no problem at all.
    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything.
    What others should know:If you are thinking about mounting a scope the BKL scope mount self aligns with the bore of your rifle when it is mounted and your scope will be in line.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William from USA on 2015-03-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun is amazing accurate. Out of box first 2 5 shot groups at 15 yards with open sights i had less than .25" CTC shooting JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13 grains. I moved the target to 35 yards and was shooting .5 " groups with Open sights. I have shot a lot of springers in my day, all of which were hold sensitive which they all should be. With the recoiless system on this gun you literally dont feel a thing and before the reverse recoil is transferred to the barrel the pellet has already left. It is not hold sensitive at all!!!! I shot it in a gun vice, resting on a gun bag, holding it against a tree standing, offhand, and it didn't affect the accuracy at all. When purchasing a air rifle it all really boils down to accuracy imo and this gun has it guaranteed. I can not wait to get a scope for the gun and see what it is really capable of. I cannot really express how amazed i was with the accuracy of this gun.
    Things I would have changed:i think they could have done better with this gun and given it a metal trigger. I have no idea why the trigger is made out of plastic when the rest of the gun looks so well built.
    What others should know:I am built on the bigger side and i have no issues shooting it offhand. The first few times cocking was much harder than i expected it to be but after about 20-30 shots it got much easier to cock. I shot probably 200 pellets through it the first day and i was not fatigued at all. You probably not be able to cock this gun from a prone position unless you are pretty strong. I have seen a couple reviews that this gun favors shooting a level line but i assure you that i shot targets 30 ft up off our 3rd story deck and shot targets on the ground from my 3rd story deck with no affect to the accuracy. This gun seems to favor heavier pellets. I had the tightest groups with baracuda 21.14, jsb 18.13, beeman kodiak 21.14. The JSBs shot the best for me. One other thing about the floating rail system. It is possible for you to inadvertantly knock the barrel back once it has been loaded which then it will act like a normal spring gun. All you have to do is push it back with your thumb.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By clarence from USA on 2015-03-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Robust German Airgun in 0.22cal!! Flawless wood and metal finish; Very usable open sights; Trigger adjustment was perfect; Texture of checkering is superb; Well balanced airgun with Phillips stock fasteners; Adequate internal lubing with very minimal dieseling;Dime groups at 18 yards with just open sights...New just out of the box!!
    Things I would have changed:Would buy a second if made available in Walnut stock or Laminate stock! Mill the dovetail into the receiver even at increased cost;need a Truly ambidextrous stock although this shoots fine Lefty; Any way to make cocking the mechanism easier...LOL***
    What others should know:RWS is a great Value and Quality in a German pedigree Airgun! Airgun's Anti-recoil floating action appears to greatly improve its inherent accuracy especially since my first was a RWS 34 0.22 cal just three months ago; Will be mounting A Hawke 30 Sidewinder soon and expecting quarter sized groups at 45 to 50 yards from this great Classic German Springer****!! H&N 5.53mm pellets****
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Richard from New Zealand on 2015-03-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I purchased an Air King after reading the reviews & knowing that it had stood the test of time. Mine is a .177 T06 Pro - without the fixed sights but with a barrel weight. This is a nicely balanced well put together rifle. The finish is glass blasted matt which looks great. The T06 (yes - it is a .177 T06) trigger did not require any adjustment whatsoever. The accuracy is still to be assessed and the rifle is still in its break in period; but early indications are that it is an accurate shooter. I am using H&N Barracuda Match 4.52 pellets - as these were included with the rifle.
    Things I would have changed:This is a very nice rifle, and I would not recommend any changes.
    What others should know:Some may describe the rifle as heavy, but it is well balanced and not difficult to carry, hold and aim. The 39lb cocking weight could be a challenge for some initially, but frequent use will assist you to develop the strength so this too is not a factor in the buying decision. I tried Crosman Premier and JSB Exact Heavy pellets but the H&N Barracuda Match 4.52 have performed best. When mounting the scope consider using a single piece mount that compensates for barrel droop.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By ahkell from USA on 2015-01-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:It's awesome. A functional work of art.
    Things I would have changed:Should not have waited so long before I bought it.
    What others should know: Was hitting 1/4" bulls OFFHAND at 10 meters, and it's a springer! Amazing. No recoil at all and really powerful. Easy to cock. Beautiful rifle.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Shaun from USA on 2014-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The build quality of this rifle is incredible. I like just looking at it. It is accurate right out of the box with the factory settings.
    What others should know:I'm not a huge airgunner, and I was drawn to this rifle because of other reviews and although I was looking for a gas piston, I decided on this one because of what I've read, both in regard to warranty and quality, and in operation. It is a beautiful gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By syed from USA on 2014-11-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:i love this baby.
    What others should know:however i have a question and need some instructions. kindly help: i am having a problem while corking. while corking i can hear the spring make a sound. it sounds like the spring is touching something and hence the click click click sound while corking. or something is touching the spring when while getting compressed. Also while corking i can feel the corking arm getting stuck a bit and can also feel something blocking the movement. but with a little force i am able to complete the corking. i will appreciate if someone can send me the a video link and instructions on how i can open it up and fix it . also what the problem could be. thanks
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By DANIEL from USA on 2014-10-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well made, very accurate after break in period. I would buy this again and recommend it to my friends.
    Things I would have changed:It is heavy, and takes strength to cock.
    What others should know:A little pricey........but you will get your moneys worth for this great RWS product. I still have my RWS Mod.45 purchased in 1984 and it works like new.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By steven from USA on 2014-10-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:this airgun is awesome in every respect. I use this gun primarily for pest control and hunting. you want to know about accuracy? you don't just hit the bullseye you choose which part of the bullseye to hit. at 20 yds. I have literally shot a ragged hole around the center just because I could. i took a squirrel out of the top of a tree the other day shooting at a 75-80 degree angle and hit him directly on the shoulder. I haven't yet had the chance to duplicate that shot. I mention it only because so many reviews say the gun is only for level bench shooting, don't believe it!!! I have several other airguns,a weihrauch hw90, Benjamin trail np and a crosman nitro venom all .22 cal and this may be my last purchase unless I breakdown and buy a 56TH. never say never. the to6 trigger is superb. it has slightly more pull than the weihrauch but very predictable and crisp I feel no creep whatsoever. it has nice balance making it very easy to hold on target and the build quality is very evident.
    Things I would have changed: I would like a darker stain on the stock.LOL
    What others should know:as I mentioned above I use this primarily for hunting. I have added a sling and a weaver fixed power 6x38 scope on a dampa mount. I have targets at 20 30 45 and 60 yards. it shoots on a line all the way to 60 yds needing no elevation correction this airgun likes a heavy pellet and I find barracuda hunter extremes 19.09 are the most accurate. the crow magnum 18.21 are very good also. this gun does not like crosman premier pellets at all. I would like to try an even heavier pellet to see what it would do. sure this is a big gun and heavy too. however I weighed my scoped Benjamin trail and was surprised to find it weighs 1.6 pounds less than the air king. the weihrauch hw90 weighs .9 less. my point being sure it's heavy but it's not that much heavier. I can't tell the difference. don't let the weight stop you from getting this certain classic. this is by far my favorite pellet gun and if you are considering getting one you you won't be disappointed.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By richard from USA on 2014-10-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Awesome gun, arrived on time and in good condition. Very accurate so far with the 400 rounds I've shot. Love the recoilless action, I watch my pellets hit. Worth the extra money-German Quality!
    Things I would have changed:Get rid of the plastic pieces off the gun. It might save weight but I have the muscle to pick up metal.
    What others should know:Heavy gun not for the smaller shooter.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William from USA on 2014-08-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's great German quality - the sliding action really works, no felt recoil and best of all you never loose the sight picture, often seeing the pellet hit the target. I have the .22 with T06 trigger and it is really a good trigger. Wood is very good. Accuracy is very good from my limited testing. I love the gun.
    Things I would have changed:The rear sight elevation knob seems really flimsy when you adjust the sight higher. It works ok, just doesn't seem to match the quality of the rest of the rifle. It is a bear to cock, no kidding. My right bicep is beginning to look like PopEye's... LOL
    What others should know:Lots of oil on it, inside and outside when I got it. It wiped off easily with paper towels. I never noticed any dieseling, even from the first shot. The gun gets even better as I use it. It is heavy for sure. I wouldn't want to carry it around all day.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This RWS 54 was an addition to my armory, and a supplement to my RWS 48, with both in .22 cal. The recoilless system dispenses with the restrictions placed on the shooter having to coordinate an artillery hold with different shooting stances. Like going from driving a stick shift to driving with an automatic transmission. I have owned this rifle about 3 months now. It’s shouldering a Leepers 4-16X50 for the time being, above a DNT06 rail adapter. Like with my 48, JSB 15.9 gr and 18.1 gr seem to work quite well and am getting sub 0.75 inch groups at 30 yards with ease. I can do better, but this rifle shoots so smoothly it’s made me a little lazy in my follow through. Both pellets dismiss squirrels quickly and effectively at the same distances. And thus far no squirrel has reported back to me as having been able to discern any difference between being popped with a Jumbo or a Jumbo Heavy. The 54 is getting the job done.
    Things I would have changed:Seems the only thing anyone can find to complain about this rifle is the weight. It is somewhat heavier than my RWS 48, but quite honestly, the recoilless attribute more than compensates for any inconvenience in weight. I have found myself unconsciously grabbing the 54 for field work when my 48 is right beside it. The negative issue concerning weight is sophistry. But if weight really was a deal breaker, perhaps Diana could follow the technological lead of Smith & Wesson. An RWS 54X. All scandium and titanium construction. Synthetic walnut stock. And now at just 4 pounds, 11.2 oz., probably pushing around $4K. And I would probably buy one. The 54 is just that good :)
    What others should know:Like many, I looked VERY CLOSELY at the Air Arms TX200 before ordering this rifle. The hype and hyperbole surrounding the TX is tough to ignore. But my decision hinged on two things Tom Gaylord mentioned must be considered when choosing an air rifle. WHAT are you going to use the rifle for, and HOW do you intend to use it. Honestly address these two parameters and your rifle of choice will deliver you a George Zimmer style guarantee. The 54 is at its best in .22 cal. given the robust power it has. It weighs in at 9.9 pounds, slightly heavier than the TX by about 0.6 pounds, or 9.6 oz, (about 6.5% heavier than a TX; about 18% heavier than my RWS 48). It’s a 22 foot pound gun in .22, while a TX is about 16 foot pounds in its’ favored and optimized .177 cal. platform. The 54 is recoilless and not hold-sensitive. It has a lifetime warranty. It’s accurate. So much so Tom Gaylord hinted the 54 in .22 had out shot his own TX in .177. (blog, 5-11-2011) The .177 TX is an excellent choice for competitive shooting. It comes complete with a gorgeous stock, immaculate bluing, and credentialed bragging rights. The 54 excels in .22 as a small game and pest control solution. Rock solid German design and engineering, ergonomic side lever cocking, adj open sights (better to have ’em, than not). The RWS 54 is the Chuck Norris of fighting air rifles. A famous gun scribe once mused, ‘There is no “One Gun”. If there was, everyone would have it.’ If that is so, then where’s the comparison?
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2013-09-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, is really good for a springer, plus it's a RWS that is really well made
    Things I would have changed:Really heavy!! Don't like the weight at all
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2013-09-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, power
    Things I would have changed:To heavy, other then that awesome gun, best springer I have ever shot
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Thomas from USA on 2013-09-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful gun in all aspects. Have fired it about 100 rounds so far. I got the Pyramid option of their setup with a Bushnell Banner 4-12 x 40 AO scope. Everything came through apparently OK as a heavy duty plactic case was part of the deal. Now we will see how the scope holds up on the 54 with its "recoiless to the shooter" system. The system has to slam the scope around pretty hard. For us older folk, a optical sight generally is a must unless someone starts offering a peep adjustable rear sight such as the old Lyman 48 or Redfield International sights. The open notch sights are for young eyes!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. The weight has me considering adding a quick removable sling for carrying and for NRA style position shooting practice.
    What others should know:Keep in mind it is heavy. The quality and performance far exceed the price and you don't have to fool around with CO2 or air compression tanks. The side lever beats break barrel systems and I think is better than the under lever system for handiness. I can shoot the 54 prone without changing my position much which cannot be done with the others.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Brian from USA on 2013-03-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful gun! Very Accurate.
    What others should know:Originally bought a Hawke-HK4026 Scope and a BKL-360MB Scope Mount for the gun on technician's recommendation. Scope was mounted and tested by Pyramyd before shipping but they did not catch that at 10 yds the scope was maxed out vertically and pellets hit target 1/2" below bullseye. The BKL-360MB Mount is a bad match for this gun. Use the BKL-388MB instead to compensate for barrel droop.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Pete from USA on 2012-12-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great air rifle very strong with no recoil! Very accurate, well worth the money.
    Things I would have changed:Kinda heavy, other then that nothing.
    What others should know:Very hard on scopes. Make sure you spend the money on a high quality strong scope that won't break. My Leapers UTG 4-16x50 broke after about 1000 shots (6weeks).
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Brian from USA on 2012-09-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power, accuracy, quality. Although I am small, its easy to use off a bench. Recoilless action makes it a precision instrument. Velocity tests showed up to 1200 fps,long before ultra lightweight pellets and universal 1200 fps.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing- It is what it is. Its heavy, but thats a known quantity. Silly to buy a gun you know is heavy then complain about it! Pricey, but power and recolless action make it unique, head and shoulders above the rest.
    What others should know:This rifle is made for bench shooting. Its side lever cocking, power, accuracy and lack of recoil make it perfect for long range target or varmint shooting, or just toying with ballistics. Its unique and will be a prized possession.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Malcolm from USA on 2012-04-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I bought this gun to deal with our very destructive ground squirrel population. After some experimentation I settled on JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13gr pellets. I clocked them at 920 fps at the muzzle, and they delivered devastating power, guaranteeing 1-shot kill for the squirrels.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice to be able to mount a tripod, but I sit it on top of a Vanguard Porta Aim Gun Rest, which works. It's definitely too heavy for me to shoot offhand.
  • 123 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top