Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Diana RWS 54 Air King reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    6 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Adam from USA on 2010-10-13 22:24:13

    Things I liked:I bought the .177 version. Absolute accuracy. I can't miss be it 10 yards or 70. A true point & shoot. Perfect fit for my size. This rifle's dynamics were crafted perfectly: There's no kick whatsoever.
    Things I would have changed:These are the only two things I can think of possibly improving... 1. This isn't very loud as is, but I'd love a more silent version. 2. It really beats the heck out of scopes. I'd love to convert it so the scope mounting is attached to the stock and riding over where the current mounting is. The scope would never feel a thing.
    What others should know:This is truly an ADULT rifle. It's long, heavy, and takes a fair amount of cocking effort. Perfect for my build. I have a 4-12x40ao Hawke scope, Leapers Space Age 1" Rings (low), on the recommended UTG Scope Mount Base. Setup is perfect! Best pellets I've found are Air Arms Field Heavy and JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy. Have not yet had the opportunity to hunt critters but let me put it in perspective: At 70 yards I placed soda cans filled with water. Each shot not only penetrated completely through both sides with little to no deflection from the water, but made the cans jump between 1 1/2 to 2 feet in the air. And since there's no kick you get to watch the impact in the scope.
    2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By VICTOR from USA on 2010-06-13 19:08:51

    Things I liked:awesome power, accuracy, and build quality
    Things I would have changed:a lighter trigger pull
    What others should know:it's a bit heavy - and does take some strength to compress the spring - comes with the territory I guess, if you want power
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2014-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's great German quality - the sliding action really works, no felt recoil and best of all you never loose the sight picture, often seeing the pellet hit the target. I have the .22 with T06 trigger and it is really a good trigger. Wood is very good. Accuracy is very good from my limited testing. I love the gun.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight elevation knob seems really flimsy when you adjust the sight higher. It works ok, just doesn't seem to match the quality of the rest of the rifle. It is a bear to cock, no kidding. My right bicep is beginning to look like PopEye's... LOL
      What others should know:Lots of oil on it, inside and outside when I got it. It wiped off easily with paper towels. I never noticed any dieseling, even from the first shot. The gun gets even better as I use it. It is heavy for sure. I wouldn't want to carry it around all day.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This RWS 54 was an addition to my armory, and a supplement to my RWS 48, with both in .22 cal. The recoilless system dispenses with the restrictions placed on the shooter having to coordinate an artillery hold with different shooting stances. Like going from driving a stick shift to driving with an automatic transmission. I have owned this rifle about 3 months now. It’s shouldering a Leepers 4-16X50 for the time being, above a DNT06 rail adapter. Like with my 48, JSB 15.9 gr and 18.1 gr seem to work quite well and am getting sub 0.75 inch groups at 30 yards with ease. I can do better, but this rifle shoots so smoothly it’s made me a little lazy in my follow through. Both pellets dismiss squirrels quickly and effectively at the same distances. And thus far no squirrel has reported back to me as having been able to discern any difference between being popped with a Jumbo or a Jumbo Heavy. The 54 is getting the job done.
      Things I would have changed:Seems the only thing anyone can find to complain about this rifle is the weight. It is somewhat heavier than my RWS 48, but quite honestly, the recoilless attribute more than compensates for any inconvenience in weight. I have found myself unconsciously grabbing the 54 for field work when my 48 is right beside it. The negative issue concerning weight is sophistry. But if weight really was a deal breaker, perhaps Diana could follow the technological lead of Smith & Wesson. An RWS 54X. All scandium and titanium construction. Synthetic walnut stock. And now at just 4 pounds, 11.2 oz., probably pushing around $4K. And I would probably buy one. The 54 is just that good :)
      What others should know:Like many, I looked VERY CLOSELY at the Air Arms TX200 before ordering this rifle. The hype and hyperbole surrounding the TX is tough to ignore. But my decision hinged on two things Tom Gaylord mentioned must be considered when choosing an air rifle. WHAT are you going to use the rifle for, and HOW do you intend to use it. Honestly address these two parameters and your rifle of choice will deliver you a George Zimmer style guarantee. The 54 is at its best in .22 cal. given the robust power it has. It weighs in at 9.9 pounds, slightly heavier than the TX by about 0.6 pounds, or 9.6 oz, (about 6.5% heavier than a TX; about 18% heavier than my RWS 48). It’s a 22 foot pound gun in .22, while a TX is about 16 foot pounds in its’ favored and optimized .177 cal. platform. The 54 is recoilless and not hold-sensitive. It has a lifetime warranty. It’s accurate. So much so Tom Gaylord hinted the 54 in .22 had out shot his own TX in .177. (blog, 5-11-2011) The .177 TX is an excellent choice for competitive shooting. It comes complete with a gorgeous stock, immaculate bluing, and credentialed bragging rights. The 54 excels in .22 as a small game and pest control solution. Rock solid German design and engineering, ergonomic side lever cocking, adj open sights (better to have ’em, than not). The RWS 54 is the Chuck Norris of fighting air rifles. A famous gun scribe once mused, ‘There is no “One Gun”. If there was, everyone would have it.’ If that is so, then where’s the comparison?
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2013-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, is really good for a springer, plus it's a RWS that is really well made
      Things I would have changed:Really heavy!! Don't like the weight at all
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2013-09-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, power
      Things I would have changed:To heavy, other then that awesome gun, best springer I have ever shot
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful gun in all aspects. Have fired it about 100 rounds so far. I got the Pyramid option of their setup with a Bushnell Banner 4-12 x 40 AO scope. Everything came through apparently OK as a heavy duty plactic case was part of the deal. Now we will see how the scope holds up on the 54 with its "recoiless to the shooter" system. The system has to slam the scope around pretty hard. For us older folk, a optical sight generally is a must unless someone starts offering a peep adjustable rear sight such as the old Lyman 48 or Redfield International sights. The open notch sights are for young eyes!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. The weight has me considering adding a quick removable sling for carrying and for NRA style position shooting practice.
      What others should know:Keep in mind it is heavy. The quality and performance far exceed the price and you don't have to fool around with CO2 or air compression tanks. The side lever beats break barrel systems and I think is better than the under lever system for handiness. I can shoot the 54 prone without changing my position much which cannot be done with the others.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2013-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful gun! Very Accurate.
      What others should know:Originally bought a Hawke-HK4026 Scope and a BKL-360MB Scope Mount for the gun on technician's recommendation. Scope was mounted and tested by Pyramyd before shipping but they did not catch that at 10 yds the scope was maxed out vertically and pellets hit target 1/2" below bullseye. The BKL-360MB Mount is a bad match for this gun. Use the BKL-388MB instead to compensate for barrel droop.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pete from USA on 2012-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great air rifle very strong with no recoil! Very accurate, well worth the money.
      Things I would have changed:Kinda heavy, other then that nothing.
      What others should know:Very hard on scopes. Make sure you spend the money on a high quality strong scope that won't break. My Leapers UTG 4-16x50 broke after about 1000 shots (6weeks).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2012-09-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy, quality. Although I am small, its easy to use off a bench. Recoilless action makes it a precision instrument. Velocity tests showed up to 1200 fps,long before ultra lightweight pellets and universal 1200 fps.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing- It is what it is. Its heavy, but thats a known quantity. Silly to buy a gun you know is heavy then complain about it! Pricey, but power and recolless action make it unique, head and shoulders above the rest.
      What others should know:This rifle is made for bench shooting. Its side lever cocking, power, accuracy and lack of recoil make it perfect for long range target or varmint shooting, or just toying with ballistics. Its unique and will be a prized possession.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Malcolm from USA on 2012-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this gun to deal with our very destructive ground squirrel population. After some experimentation I settled on JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13gr pellets. I clocked them at 920 fps at the muzzle, and they delivered devastating power, guaranteeing 1-shot kill for the squirrels.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice to be able to mount a tripod, but I sit it on top of a Vanguard Porta Aim Gun Rest, which works. It's definitely too heavy for me to shoot offhand.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate. Zero recoil. Beautiful. Exudes craftmanship.
      Things I would have changed:Heavy! My goodness. Shooting offhand with a big scope and a muzzle brake is pretty tough. This gun is made for a bench rest.
      What others should know:Buy a good scope. Good scopes are not cheap. Buy a good mount. BKL mounts are good. The T05 version of this gun had a lot of droop. The new ones are supposed to be droop-free. The new ones have the T06 triggers. I wish mine did. It helps if you can tinker. The recoil system can be tweaked to improve accuracy to MOA levels.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike Mason from USA on 2011-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wow, I don’t know where to begin! My model 54, has the newer T06 trigger, that is easy to adjust if you read up online, as the instructions leave a bit to be desired. I have been shooting mid weight pellets, and haven’t found one it doesn’t like yet. One hole groups at 25 yards (off a rest) all day long! The anti-recoil system, makes this rifle completely NOT hold sensitive. This Rifle was bought as part of a package deal that included a leaper’s 3-9X50 scope, mounts and rings. When Diana went to the T06 trigger, they lengthened the scope mounting dovetail and the mount won’t fit, without modification, when I called Pyramyd Air they sent me a different mount and told me to keep the mount and rings that came with the package! How’s that for customer service!
      Things I would have changed:Could be lighter, and easier to cock, but so what.
      What others should know:Mine is a .22 caliber and it hits like a hammer, with NO discernible recoil! It does have a reputation of being hard on scopes. The other day I was shooting at 10 yards, first shot went right where I expected, and then I missed the target completely on shots 2 and 3, and thought well, it’s eaten its first scope, but on closer examination I realized it put 3 pellets in the same hole, not just one hole, but the SAME hole! Shots 4 and 5 opened it up to about a quarter inch hole (that’s total size, not center to center) This rifle is not cheap, but WOW, you truly do get what you pay for.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bernard from USA on 2011-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I was shooting mine today, 1.125" group at 75yds. amazing! the anti-recoil system works, it's been said to be hard on scopes but i've had good luck with the better centerpoints. The cocking effort is not bad for a high powered magnum, I can shoot this thing all day. i have a .22 and had a tune job done, not sure it needed it but the FPS went up by 20 for an average of 780 FPS. Great gun and a pleasure to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:I'm a lefty and it took a while to get my technique down for cocking and loading. a lefty version would be awesome. The front sight/muzzle brake is kind of chincy looking, seems to be the only cheap thing on the gun. the beech stock is nice but a walnut stock would be appropriate for the money you pay. though the trigger performs very well, it could be upgraded to metal considering the cost of the gun
      What others should know:It's definitely hard on scopes so make sure you only buy an optic that's rated for heavy recoil airguns. And buy solid mounts. Don't use any rings with only one screw on each side. If you do it right with this gun, you'll find yourself shooting remarkable groups at distances you won't believe. Honest.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin C from USA on 2011-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:They don't call the 54 the Airking for nothing,I've had lots of air rifles, none of them hold a candle to this one. You'll never have to make excuses when you own a 54, the best analgy is it is to the air rifle world what the 220 swift is in the varmint gun world, top of the heap looking down!
      Things I would have changed:Make it lighter.
      What others should know:This gun is death on scopes and mounts, buy a anti-droop base and use centerfire rings to hold a 3x9 or 4x16 UTG true-strength scope with locking reticle. Had mine two years and couldn't be more pleased.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kenny from USA on 2011-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pretty much everything. It's incredibly accurate. Fit and finish is great. Easy to load pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Reduce the weight, it's heavy!!!
      What others should know:I purchased the .177. After trying 10 different pellets H&N Field Target Trophy's worked best for me. It's pricey but I guess that's the price you have to pay for this kind of quality.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Neil from USA on 2011-07-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid German craftsmanship. Crisp trigger, no creep! Very accurate with a variety of pellets, seems to like the heavy ones the best. Mine is a .22 and it is a pleasure to shoot!
      Things I would have changed:Sling mounts would be great as you might choose to use one if in the field for awhile. After all, mine weighs 10.5 pounds w/ scope!
      What others should know:You are getting a fine piece of German work here. Just be aware it does weigh 9 pounds out of the box wit no scope. If that is not an issue, jump in!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Malcome from USA on 2011-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I cant say much that hasent already been said. I can tell you about my great experiences with the 54 for the past 5 years. They were wonderful. What a great rifle. Sure, ya gotta get used to the weight, but it isnt that bad. Sure, I hunt with it too. This has got to be one of the greatest camping toys I have. When the fish aint bittin, the 54 is. Would you like to borrow mine? No way, get your own. This rifle seems to be a cult. They seem different than the rest. Lots of tunes, acc, etc out there, none of which I have did, mine is completely stock. Of course I did add a scope, but that is a given. They arent really that loud, I would class it as about medium, and yes, I do use it in my back yard, and it is urburn where I live. I am a good ol boy, and thats the kind of neighbors have. Lots of people out there just dont respect airguns, but take a look around you. They are up and comming, and the 54 is gonna be around quite a while yet. Love this thing. It does take a bit to break it in. You will notice a speed increase, also the same for accuracy. Its like alot of stuff, just gets better and better. Really now, its the only airgun I need, but I bought several anyways. This is my favorite out of all the airguns I have. Fish is not the only thing that fears me.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Great rifle.
      What others should know:I seem to enjoy the rifle with mostly RWS pellets. I like pellets less than 16 grains in weight. That also puts the Preditor in this class. Those also work great in this rifle. Its fast on the Crony. This rifle is pricey, so take your biggest wallet with you when you buy one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2011-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy Accuracy Accuracy. This rifle delivers. This rifle is built like a tank. The anti-recoil system is fantastic. The trigger is great as well. Powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Weighs as much as a boat anchor.
      What others should know:This rifle is without a doubt the best springer out there. It is not hold sensitive, it is powerful, and you can tell there is a fine attention to detail and quality. It will last you a lifetime.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2010-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.56 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really liked the high quality finish on the stock and the receiver. The wood was of good quality. The trigger pull was exceptable and the efort to cock the rifle was what I expected. The gun is very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:I have built several guns which I use in benchrest shooting. This gun needs to be revised. The barrel is a disapointment. RWS removed too much materal which causes the barrel to bend slightly when stored. The front sight is really cheap and over sized. The rear sight is flimseyalthough I have seen it used on other rifles. If you touch the side of the rear sight it will shift to one side or the other. I do not mind a heavy stock, however this one could be lightened up some. The plastic trigger is really cheap too along with the plastic muzzel brake. there is many barrel makers here in the states that could provide a much stronger barrel drilled to except standard rifle sights and ready to fit in RWS's receiver and probabley much cheaper. RWS has over machined the barrel to the point that it is weak in my opinion and that costs extra money too.
      What others should know:This gun has a lot of vibration and recoil in the receiver. You need to be very careful when selecting a scope. Check the manufacturers rating for recoil before buying a scope and beware of any scope not rated for less than heavy recoil. You can check online for scope ratings.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adam from USA on 2010-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.44443988800048839 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought the .177 version. Absolute accuracy. I can't miss be it 10 yards or 70. A true point & shoot. Perfect fit for my size. This rifle's dynamics were crafted perfectly: There's no kick whatsoever.
      Things I would have changed:These are the only two things I can think of possibly improving... 1. This isn't very loud as is, but I'd love a more silent version. 2. It really beats the heck out of scopes. I'd love to convert it so the scope mounting is attached to the stock and riding over where the current mounting is. The scope would never feel a thing.
      What others should know:This is truly an ADULT rifle. It's long, heavy, and takes a fair amount of cocking effort. Perfect for my build. I have a 4-12x40ao Hawke scope, Leapers Space Age 1" Rings (low), on the recommended UTG Scope Mount Base. Setup is perfect! Best pellets I've found are Air Arms Field Heavy and JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy. Have not yet had the opportunity to hunt critters but let me put it in perspective: At 70 yards I placed soda cans filled with water. Each shot not only penetrated completely through both sides with little to no deflection from the water, but made the cans jump between 1 1/2 to 2 feet in the air. And since there's no kick you get to watch the impact in the scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2010-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.8000001907348635 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful Rifle...Awesome Accuracy....Awesome Power....I bought the .22 and it loves the JSB .22 Cal, 15.9 Grains, Diabolo Exact Jumbo,and the JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.1 Grains, Domed, Getting .5" groups at 30 yards with ease. The 54 is so accurate. Awesome target rifle and can't wait to get a few squirrels and rabbits. No re-coil is awesome. I have no problem with the cocking effort using the right technique. I have been several times to the Shooting Range and can shoot for 3 hours and 250 pellets no problem...This Baby is addicting.
      Things I would have changed:Swivel Studs for Bi-pod and Sling.
      What others should know:Yes it's heavy like all the other reviews say, but on a rest or a sticks bi-pod no worries at all. Iron Sights right out of the box at 18 yards in the house got .75 inch groups standing with no rest...With the Leapers 3x9x50 scope at almost 2 lbs. it is much more difficult to hold it steady. One of the other reviews pointed to a web address with directions to mount a swivel stud for an attached bi-pod....can't wait to install those. The RWS 54 is a must for anyone's Rifle collection. Also, get the UTG scope mount...fits perfectly and very tight to the gun. No scope shift at all.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top