Date: 28/7/2016 0:45
0

Diana RWS 54 Air King reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2009-03-15 11:42:48

Things I liked: The RWS Diana 54 is the smoothest spring-piston airgun other than a TX200 or a hand-made Whiscombe (no longer available). The 54 does have a tiny bit of vibration when fired, which the TX200 doesn't, but the 54 is without recoil and the TX200 does have a small kick. If you can overlook the small bit of buzzing, the 54 is very superior in its firing characteristics. The 54 is also the most accurate of all spring-piston rifles--fully the equal of the TX200 and the Whiscombe and surpassing all others. Even in .22 caliber, the 54 drills them all into one small hole. It's a 50-yard spring gun. When you add to this the power that only the Whiscombe exceeds, the 54 is truly unique. I also like the extravagant checkering on the stock. You'll never see more checkering on a factory airgun.

Things I would have changed: The 54 is not for lefties. Too bad there isn't a lefthand model made.

What others should know: I recommend getting the 54 in .22 caliber to take full advantage of the available power. In .177, the rifle shoots too fast to be accurate at long range with anything but heavyweight pellets. Be sure to get a Leapers Diana scope base, because the 54 can have some barrel droop.

The most helpful critical review

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Victor from USA on 2010-06-13 19:08:51

Things I liked: awesome power, accuracy, and build quality

Things I would have changed: a lighter trigger pull

What others should know: it's a bit heavy - and does take some strength to compress the spring - comes with the territory I guess, if you want power

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2016-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've wanted this airgun for a long time. I like its masculine looks, its power, the fact that it is essentially without recoil, its side lever cocking, its open sights (which many guns seem to do away with these days), its strong bear trap protection, the fact that it is semi-ambidextrous (I'm left-handed), the fact that it is not hold sensitive, and the fact that it can accept a bipod and sling, should one wish to have those. The gun is quite accurate (haven't finished the accuracy workup) and a pleasure to look at and to shoot. With an anti-droop scope mount, there is plenty of adjustment room on the scope. I'm sighting it in at 42 yards (according to the ballistics chart). I'm not a sophisticated evaluator of triggers, but the T06 is the nicest trigger on any of my ten firearms and pellet rifles. German quality is evident throughout.

    Things I would have changed: With an anti-droop scope mount, the gun is so large that very few gun cases can hold it. I finally found a Plano "two-rifle" waterproof case that works. The gun has the reputation for eating scopes, but so far the UTG Bug-Buster is doing fine. Believe the reviews that say that this rifle is LARGE and HEAVY. It's great with a field tripod or bipod, but wouldn't be much fun to carry around all day in the field.

    What others should know: I'd love to see this gun in a walnut or laminated stock.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So many things... I never imagined a springer could be this good. The RWS 54 in .22 is complete and utter devastation on small game and varmint within 100 yards. I like the T06 trigger, which legitimately everyone I have let use the rifle has been surprised and impressed by. I really like the side lever which allows for super low profile, easy, and quiet loading while hunting. I love that you don't have to use an artillery hold, and that the skills transfer over to regular firearm usage. But most of all, I'm addicted to the almost effortless follow through and ability to hit EXACTLY what I was aiming at EVERY TIME so long as I take a calculated approach.

    Things I would have changed: Add two swivel studs for a sling, a spot for a bipod, make the rear iron sight better, send the gun out with less oil, and make the muzzle designed to take on legitimate airgun silencers that don't fall in a legal gray area. Also, RWS should include a scope droop compensator. It's almost silly you have to buy it separate for a rifle which is clearly designed for those who want/need extreme precision.

    What others should know: I give this 4 stars overall only because there are clearly lighter PCP rifles with more bells and whistles (though a much steeper price). I have had incredible success with this gun and believe that unless you plan on carrying an oxygen tank and compressor through the woods, this is the king of .22 pellet hunting. I have shot 13 different types of .22 through it, and found despite what so many have said, Crosman premiers and HP both shot horribly. For my gun, JSB Diabolos (15.89 or 18.13) are FAR superior to all other ammunition in firing characteristics (literally can shoot within a nickel every time at 50 yards with good shooting platform and strong grip). H&N Barracuda 21 grain is also very accurate, however, they're not hand selected and therefore have too many flyers to be my "go to". Barracuda Hunter Extremes are good for people who have pests, but lack the accuracy to hit the brain. Oh, this thing eats cheap scopes. Buy a good one (I use a 4-16 x 50 Hawk) and USE LOCTITE.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is an amazing gun and very, very accurate. With my old model 48 I could get a tight group at 20 yds but it expanded out to 4 inches at 30 yds. This gun shoots a tight group from 20 to 35 yds. I didn't try any farther. the recoiless function was amazing. My old gun was so sensitive to how you held it. You had to absorb the recoil and stay on target. This has no recoil. I like the new shape to the stock which is more comfortable. I love the trigger which is very consistent. It is a great gun and worth every penny.

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

    What others should know: I haven't hunted with it yet but with the increase in accuracy I will have more confidence to take the kill shot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clyde from USA on 2016-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, recoilless design, and quality of construction.

    Things I would have changed: This is one HEAVY airgun. That's an advantage when shooting from the bench, but for hunting, you'll think you're humping an M1 Garand through the boonies. It ought to come with sling swivels installed! For a long hunting session, a sling is really a necessity.

    What others should know: Although this air rifle is recoilless from the shooter's perspective, that's because the action & barrel slide on rails. Any scope & mounts need to be designed for use on a typical, heavy recoil, spring-cocker.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Neil from USA on 2016-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I agree with most of the comments except those about .22 cal only. I got the .177 because I wanted a Field Target capable rifle in case I ever take up that sport plus it has plenty of power to kill any rabbit or squirrel with a head shot. I don't need more power. Also, it shoots flat and .177 is cheaper. With Kodiak Golds it's subsonic and very accurate. The Kodiaks may have shot a tiny bit better but I like clean fingers. I have shot tin cans at 60 yards offhand with this air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: In a perfect world I would liked it sized 10% smaller, lighter and less powerful. The weight is about a pound too heavy with scope for offhand shooting at least for me. I often wear my shooting jacket which eliminates that problem. It is a good way to build up your strength and if you limit your shooting it's not bad. I find the stock a bit long for me when reaching for the trigger. The cocking lever is ugly. It's a bit loud.

    What others should know: It's as accurate as my Marauder. It's a fun gun to shoot prone, sitting or from a bench or shooting sticks. Offhand it's a bit of work.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Air King is very accurate right out of the box. I was able to shoot several 5 shot groups at 20 yards with JBS Diablo .22cal. 18.13gr pellets after mounting a Leapers 3x9 scope using a DIANA bullseye scope mounting system. I am impressed with rifle's trigger and the "howitzer" action. I feel no shock when firing the rifle and the scope, firmly mounted in the "bullseye" mount, seems to handle the spring piston action of this magnum air rifle without a problem. I have had the rifle for several months and have put several hundred shots through it.

    Things I would have changed: Not really.

    What others should know: The RWS Model 54 is on the heavy side and charging the rifle takes more effort than my Beeman R9 but it is pushing a .22 cal pellet at well over 800 FPS so both are expected. The power and accuracy of this adult air rifle are well worth the extra weight and cocking effort. It is not a Beeman R9 nor is it a Air Arms TX200, with regards to fit and finish but it is a fine shooter and small game should be very concerned up to and beyond 50 yards. I really like this air rifle!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By D. Braxton from USA on 2015-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to cock, load and reset. Good quality throughout. Awesome artillery action "built in;" no need for artillery hold. Accurate but... Quarter size groups out to 40 yards, 1.5 to 2 inch out to 50.

    Things I would have changed: Use some aluminum parts to lighten ship. Make it in a modern thumbhole composite to lighten even more. These modern upgrades would go a long way to bring this accurate, easy to shoot springer into the 21st century.

    What others should know: Dang it! I wanted to love this gun. I had over 300 rounds thru it and from the beginning every three to five shot would be low and a bit left and would group there nicely. I was shooting two groups in every shot count and losing about 38 to 44 FPS with the "flyers". Guys at Pyramyd said there was most likely a small nick in the seal that lined up with a blemish in the chamber and the air pressure would vary. They offered to fix no problem, but I'd already decided to return for a PCP and leave springers behind. HOWEVER, if you want a good springer with no hold sensitivity, this is it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2015-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Diana: solid German Airgun with impeccable fit and finish; Spring Gun that' s easily accurate out of Box**!! Great $$ value; weight adds to its inherent accuracy; adjustable T06 trigger shipped with 4.5mm 54 AirKing;

    Things I would have changed: Option to trade the sights for a barrel weight like on the Diana 56th!! would love to have this in a WALNUT stock!!

    What others should know: Watch for EASY to FIX barrel droop/ Get the solid UTG compensator mount and Weaver rings; shooting supported accurately to 60+ yds. with 10X fixed mag scope; still NEW and shoots less than 30mm groups with H&N 4.52mm FTT 8.6 grains/ still might be better accuracy with $$ bigger mag scope and a different "magic" pellet; 54 & 56 series Diana: my most friendly and Accurate Spring Guns*****!!!!! Importantly, may push the action forward PRIOR to cocking to reduce the final cocking Effort by at least 20%%......Yes!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Owl from USA on 2015-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The stock. The checkering. The weight (yes, if you can believe that). The eyesight line. Most of all, it's accuracy at distance.

    Things I would have changed: I like just about everything with this gun except for one thing, the sights. These sights are just to big and bulky to have dead on accuracy that the gun can produce. I would make the front sight a lot smaller (maybe give a choice of a peep?) for accuracy.

    What others should know: I am shooting about 22yds with this rifle and (with a scope) I can keyhole just about every shot. This is a very accurate rifle, one that should satisfy anybody in the market for a spring piston rifle. Just be weary of the sights. I would buy a good air gun scope along with the rifle. If you use it for hunting, don't bother but target shooting for group, yea, you will need the scope. The eyesight line is perfect for my face. When lay my cheek on the rest and open my eye, the scope is in line perfectly for my eyesight. Should be for yours too. At 25yds that I shoot, most of my shots all land within a half inch or less with most landing "keyhole" with the last shot. The weight is an issue though. For smaller frame people this gun might be a touch heavy for them. I would not hesitate buying another RWS 45 when I'm in the market for another air rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alfonso from USA on 2015-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautifully made. Super Accurate. Powerful on .22 cal. Iron sights. More fun and challenging to get accurate at.

    Things I would have changed: Make it a little lighter. Add sling swivels to carry over shoulder. Metal safety button instead of plastic.

    What others should know: This is an amazingly accurate and powerful springer. At 50 yds. I can take down heavy pine cones with 2 to 3 shots. Imagine what it can do to a squirrel or rabbit? Difficult to shoot without resting it on something do its heavy weight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the auto safety when you cock it and the anti-bear trap.I put a BKL one piece scope mount with a 3-9x40 Leapers scope and at 35 yd I hit dead center over 90% of the time and I am working on a group of a dime size at 50 yd. This 22 cal. hits the mark like many other rifles I own and yes these RWS air rifles are a little higher priced , you get what you pay for , and the workmanship is high quality. I have owned a lot of air guns ,and this one cost me the most , but I think it is worth the money ,and for dropping a variety of critters. At my age I want what I pay for and now I have rifle I can hunt with and plink with at a much cheaper price then buying ammo. I have no problem cocking my rws 30 to 40 times at my age 67 no problem at all.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything.

    What others should know: If you are thinking about mounting a scope the BKL scope mount self aligns with the bore of your rifle when it is mounted and your scope will be in line.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is amazing accurate. Out of box first 2 5 shot groups at 15 yards with open sights i had less than .25" CTC shooting JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13 grains. I moved the target to 35 yards and was shooting .5 " groups with Open sights. I have shot a lot of springers in my day, all of which were hold sensitive which they all should be. With the recoiless system on this gun you literally dont feel a thing and before the reverse recoil is transferred to the barrel the pellet has already left. It is not hold sensitive at all!!!! I shot it in a gun vice, resting on a gun bag, holding it against a tree standing, offhand, and it didn't affect the accuracy at all. When purchasing a air rifle it all really boils down to accuracy imo and this gun has it guaranteed. I can not wait to get a scope for the gun and see what it is really capable of. I cannot really express how amazed i was with the accuracy of this gun.

    Things I would have changed: i think they could have done better with this gun and given it a metal trigger. I have no idea why the trigger is made out of plastic when the rest of the gun looks so well built.

    What others should know: I am built on the bigger side and i have no issues shooting it offhand. The first few times cocking was much harder than i expected it to be but after about 20-30 shots it got much easier to cock. I shot probably 200 pellets through it the first day and i was not fatigued at all. You probably not be able to cock this gun from a prone position unless you are pretty strong. I have seen a couple reviews that this gun favors shooting a level line but i assure you that i shot targets 30 ft up off our 3rd story deck and shot targets on the ground from my 3rd story deck with no affect to the accuracy. This gun seems to favor heavier pellets. I had the tightest groups with baracuda 21.14, jsb 18.13, beeman kodiak 21.14. The JSBs shot the best for me. One other thing about the floating rail system. It is possible for you to inadvertantly knock the barrel back once it has been loaded which then it will act like a normal spring gun. All you have to do is push it back with your thumb.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2015-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Robust German Airgun in 0.22cal!! Flawless wood and metal finish; Very usable open sights; Trigger adjustment was perfect; Texture of checkering is superb; Well balanced airgun with Phillips stock fasteners; Adequate internal lubing with very minimal dieseling;Dime groups at 18 yards with just open sights...New just out of the box!!

    Things I would have changed: Would buy a second if made available in Walnut stock or Laminate stock! Mill the dovetail into the receiver even at increased cost;need a Truly ambidextrous stock although this shoots fine Lefty; Any way to make cocking the mechanism easier...LOL***

    What others should know: RWS is a great Value and Quality in a German pedigree Airgun! Airgun's Anti-recoil floating action appears to greatly improve its inherent accuracy especially since my first was a RWS 34 0.22 cal just three months ago; Will be mounting A Hawke 30 Sidewinder soon and expecting quarter sized groups at 45 to 50 yards from this great Classic German Springer****!! H&N 5.53mm pellets****

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from New Zealand on 2015-03-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased an Air King after reading the reviews & knowing that it had stood the test of time. Mine is a .177 T06 Pro - without the fixed sights but with a barrel weight. This is a nicely balanced well put together rifle. The finish is glass blasted matt which looks great. The T06 (yes - it is a .177 T06) trigger did not require any adjustment whatsoever. The accuracy is still to be assessed and the rifle is still in its break in period; but early indications are that it is an accurate shooter. I am using H&N Barracuda Match 4.52 pellets - as these were included with the rifle.

    Things I would have changed: This is a very nice rifle, and I would not recommend any changes.

    What others should know: Some may describe the rifle as heavy, but it is well balanced and not difficult to carry, hold and aim. The 39lb cocking weight could be a challenge for some initially, but frequent use will assist you to develop the strength so this too is not a factor in the buying decision. I tried Crosman Premier and JSB Exact Heavy pellets but the H&N Barracuda Match 4.52 have performed best. When mounting the scope consider using a single piece mount that compensates for barrel droop.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2015-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's awesome. A functional work of art.

    Things I would have changed: Should not have waited so long before I bought it.

    What others should know: Was hitting 1/4" bulls OFFHAND at 10 meters, and it's a springer! Amazing. No recoil at all and really powerful. Easy to cock. Beautiful rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shaun from USA on 2014-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The build quality of this rifle is incredible. I like just looking at it. It is accurate right out of the box with the factory settings.

    What others should know: I'm not a huge airgunner, and I was drawn to this rifle because of other reviews and although I was looking for a gas piston, I decided on this one because of what I've read, both in regard to warranty and quality, and in operation. It is a beautiful gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By syed from USA on 2014-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: i love this baby.

    What others should know: however i have a question and need some instructions. kindly help: i am having a problem while corking. while corking i can hear the spring make a sound. it sounds like the spring is touching something and hence the click click click sound while corking. or something is touching the spring when while getting compressed. Also while corking i can feel the corking arm getting stuck a bit and can also feel something blocking the movement. but with a little force i am able to complete the corking. i will appreciate if someone can send me the a video link and instructions on how i can open it up and fix it . also what the problem could be. thanks

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DANIEL from USA on 2014-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made, very accurate after break in period. I would buy this again and recommend it to my friends.

    Things I would have changed: It is heavy, and takes strength to cock.

    What others should know: A little pricey........but you will get your moneys worth for this great RWS product. I still have my RWS Mod.45 purchased in 1984 and it works like new.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By steven from USA on 2014-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this airgun is awesome in every respect. I use this gun primarily for pest control and hunting. you want to know about accuracy? you don't just hit the bullseye you choose which part of the bullseye to hit. at 20 yds. I have literally shot a ragged hole around the center just because I could. i took a squirrel out of the top of a tree the other day shooting at a 75-80 degree angle and hit him directly on the shoulder. I haven't yet had the chance to duplicate that shot. I mention it only because so many reviews say the gun is only for level bench shooting, don't believe it!!! I have several other airguns,a weihrauch hw90, Benjamin trail np and a crosman nitro venom all .22 cal and this may be my last purchase unless I breakdown and buy a 56TH. never say never. the to6 trigger is superb. it has slightly more pull than the weihrauch but very predictable and crisp I feel no creep whatsoever. it has nice balance making it very easy to hold on target and the build quality is very evident.

    Things I would have changed: I would like a darker stain on the stock.LOL

    What others should know: as I mentioned above I use this primarily for hunting. I have added a sling and a weaver fixed power 6x38 scope on a dampa mount. I have targets at 20 30 45 and 60 yards. it shoots on a line all the way to 60 yds needing no elevation correction this airgun likes a heavy pellet and I find barracuda hunter extremes 19.09 are the most accurate. the crow magnum 18.21 are very good also. this gun does not like crosman premier pellets at all. I would like to try an even heavier pellet to see what it would do. sure this is a big gun and heavy too. however I weighed my scoped Benjamin trail and was surprised to find it weighs 1.6 pounds less than the air king. the weihrauch hw90 weighs .9 less. my point being sure it's heavy but it's not that much heavier. I can't tell the difference. don't let the weight stop you from getting this certain classic. this is by far my favorite pellet gun and if you are considering getting one you you won't be disappointed.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By richard from USA on 2014-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Awesome gun, arrived on time and in good condition. Very accurate so far with the 400 rounds I've shot. Love the recoilless action, I watch my pellets hit. Worth the extra money-German Quality!

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the plastic pieces off the gun. It might save weight but I have the muscle to pick up metal.

    What others should know: Heavy gun not for the smaller shooter.

  • 123 Next
Navigation