Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Diana RWS 54 Air King reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    6 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Adam from USA on 2010-10-13 22:24:13

    Things I liked:I bought the .177 version. Absolute accuracy. I can't miss be it 10 yards or 70. A true point & shoot. Perfect fit for my size. This rifle's dynamics were crafted perfectly: There's no kick whatsoever.
    Things I would have changed:These are the only two things I can think of possibly improving... 1. This isn't very loud as is, but I'd love a more silent version. 2. It really beats the heck out of scopes. I'd love to convert it so the scope mounting is attached to the stock and riding over where the current mounting is. The scope would never feel a thing.
    What others should know:This is truly an ADULT rifle. It's long, heavy, and takes a fair amount of cocking effort. Perfect for my build. I have a 4-12x40ao Hawke scope, Leapers Space Age 1" Rings (low), on the recommended UTG Scope Mount Base. Setup is perfect! Best pellets I've found are Air Arms Field Heavy and JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy. Have not yet had the opportunity to hunt critters but let me put it in perspective: At 70 yards I placed soda cans filled with water. Each shot not only penetrated completely through both sides with little to no deflection from the water, but made the cans jump between 1 1/2 to 2 feet in the air. And since there's no kick you get to watch the impact in the scope.
    2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Victor from USA on 2010-06-13 19:08:51

    Things I liked:awesome power, accuracy, and build quality
    Things I would have changed:a lighter trigger pull
    What others should know:it's a bit heavy - and does take some strength to compress the spring - comes with the territory I guess, if you want power
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2011-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:They don't call the 54 the Airking for nothing,I've had lots of air rifles, none of them hold a candle to this one. You'll never have to make excuses when you own a 54, the best analgy is it is to the air rifle world what the 220 swift is in the varmint gun world, top of the heap looking down!
      Things I would have changed:Make it lighter.
      What others should know:This gun is death on scopes and mounts, buy a anti-droop base and use centerfire rings to hold a 3x9 or 4x16 UTG true-strength scope with locking reticle. Had mine two years and couldn't be more pleased.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kenny from USA on 2011-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pretty much everything. It's incredibly accurate. Fit and finish is great. Easy to load pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Reduce the weight, it's heavy!!!
      What others should know:I purchased the .177. After trying 10 different pellets H&N Field Target Trophy's worked best for me. It's pricey but I guess that's the price you have to pay for this kind of quality.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Neil from USA on 2011-07-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid German craftsmanship. Crisp trigger, no creep! Very accurate with a variety of pellets, seems to like the heavy ones the best. Mine is a .22 and it is a pleasure to shoot!
      Things I would have changed:Sling mounts would be great as you might choose to use one if in the field for awhile. After all, mine weighs 10.5 pounds w/ scope!
      What others should know:You are getting a fine piece of German work here. Just be aware it does weigh 9 pounds out of the box wit no scope. If that is not an issue, jump in!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Malcome from USA on 2011-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I cant say much that hasent already been said. I can tell you about my great experiences with the 54 for the past 5 years. They were wonderful. What a great rifle. Sure, ya gotta get used to the weight, but it isnt that bad. Sure, I hunt with it too. This has got to be one of the greatest camping toys I have. When the fish aint bittin, the 54 is. Would you like to borrow mine? No way, get your own. This rifle seems to be a cult. They seem different than the rest. Lots of tunes, acc, etc out there, none of which I have did, mine is completely stock. Of course I did add a scope, but that is a given. They arent really that loud, I would class it as about medium, and yes, I do use it in my back yard, and it is urburn where I live. I am a good ol boy, and thats the kind of neighbors have. Lots of people out there just dont respect airguns, but take a look around you. They are up and comming, and the 54 is gonna be around quite a while yet. Love this thing. It does take a bit to break it in. You will notice a speed increase, also the same for accuracy. Its like alot of stuff, just gets better and better. Really now, its the only airgun I need, but I bought several anyways. This is my favorite out of all the airguns I have. Fish is not the only thing that fears me.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Great rifle.
      What others should know:I seem to enjoy the rifle with mostly RWS pellets. I like pellets less than 16 grains in weight. That also puts the Preditor in this class. Those also work great in this rifle. Its fast on the Crony. This rifle is pricey, so take your biggest wallet with you when you buy one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2011-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy Accuracy Accuracy. This rifle delivers. This rifle is built like a tank. The anti-recoil system is fantastic. The trigger is great as well. Powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Weighs as much as a boat anchor.
      What others should know:This rifle is without a doubt the best springer out there. It is not hold sensitive, it is powerful, and you can tell there is a fine attention to detail and quality. It will last you a lifetime.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2010-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.56 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really liked the high quality finish on the stock and the receiver. The wood was of good quality. The trigger pull was exceptable and the efort to cock the rifle was what I expected. The gun is very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:I have built several guns which I use in benchrest shooting. This gun needs to be revised. The barrel is a disapointment. RWS removed too much materal which causes the barrel to bend slightly when stored. The front sight is really cheap and over sized. The rear sight is flimseyalthough I have seen it used on other rifles. If you touch the side of the rear sight it will shift to one side or the other. I do not mind a heavy stock, however this one could be lightened up some. The plastic trigger is really cheap too along with the plastic muzzel brake. there is many barrel makers here in the states that could provide a much stronger barrel drilled to except standard rifle sights and ready to fit in RWS's receiver and probabley much cheaper. RWS has over machined the barrel to the point that it is weak in my opinion and that costs extra money too.
      What others should know:This gun has a lot of vibration and recoil in the receiver. You need to be very careful when selecting a scope. Check the manufacturers rating for recoil before buying a scope and beware of any scope not rated for less than heavy recoil. You can check online for scope ratings.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adam from USA on 2010-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.44443988800048839 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought the .177 version. Absolute accuracy. I can't miss be it 10 yards or 70. A true point & shoot. Perfect fit for my size. This rifle's dynamics were crafted perfectly: There's no kick whatsoever.
      Things I would have changed:These are the only two things I can think of possibly improving... 1. This isn't very loud as is, but I'd love a more silent version. 2. It really beats the heck out of scopes. I'd love to convert it so the scope mounting is attached to the stock and riding over where the current mounting is. The scope would never feel a thing.
      What others should know:This is truly an ADULT rifle. It's long, heavy, and takes a fair amount of cocking effort. Perfect for my build. I have a 4-12x40ao Hawke scope, Leapers Space Age 1" Rings (low), on the recommended UTG Scope Mount Base. Setup is perfect! Best pellets I've found are Air Arms Field Heavy and JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy. Have not yet had the opportunity to hunt critters but let me put it in perspective: At 70 yards I placed soda cans filled with water. Each shot not only penetrated completely through both sides with little to no deflection from the water, but made the cans jump between 1 1/2 to 2 feet in the air. And since there's no kick you get to watch the impact in the scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2010-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.8000001907348635 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful Rifle...Awesome Accuracy....Awesome Power....I bought the .22 and it loves the JSB .22 Cal, 15.9 Grains, Diabolo Exact Jumbo,and the JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.1 Grains, Domed, Getting .5" groups at 30 yards with ease. The 54 is so accurate. Awesome target rifle and can't wait to get a few squirrels and rabbits. No re-coil is awesome. I have no problem with the cocking effort using the right technique. I have been several times to the Shooting Range and can shoot for 3 hours and 250 pellets no problem...This Baby is addicting.
      Things I would have changed:Swivel Studs for Bi-pod and Sling.
      What others should know:Yes it's heavy like all the other reviews say, but on a rest or a sticks bi-pod no worries at all. Iron Sights right out of the box at 18 yards in the house got .75 inch groups standing with no rest...With the Leapers 3x9x50 scope at almost 2 lbs. it is much more difficult to hold it steady. One of the other reviews pointed to a web address with directions to mount a swivel stud for an attached bi-pod....can't wait to install those. The RWS 54 is a must for anyone's Rifle collection. Also, get the UTG scope mount...fits perfectly and very tight to the gun. No scope shift at all.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jack Dupp from USA on 2010-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.6666698455810553 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy and finish quality are outstanding. This rifle will likely last a lifetime. Definitely an heirloom airgun. I am very satisfied with my purchase. I bought the .22 version.
      Things I would have changed:I would like for it to come with swivel studs and a picatinny rail instead of the 11mm dovetail mount.
      What others should know:A wonderful air rifle. Make sure you get a good scope because the Model 54 is a cheap scope eater.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark 611 from USA on 2010-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.3333301544189453 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is very well made, has an exelent trigger the best T05 I've ever felt out of the box, very accurate when I can get a scope to hold zero!
      Things I would have changed:Its a little heavy for carry'in around in the woods
      What others should know:This rifle is a scope eater, it has ate 3 Leapers scopes 2 3x9x32 and 3x9x40 TS scopes! with in a week and a half, I just ordered a Bushnell 3200 10x 40 fixed power and maybe it'll hold up to this beast! This is a very powerful shoots cphp's 14.3gr at 830fps out of the box .22cal, I'm thinking the anti recoil system is causing the scope breakage cause my RWS m48 havs never damaged a scope ans its basically the same gun with the same power!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Victor from USA on 2010-06-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.40000009536743165 ratings
       
      Things I liked:awesome power, accuracy, and build quality
      Things I would have changed:a lighter trigger pull
      What others should know:it's a bit heavy - and does take some strength to compress the spring - comes with the territory I guess, if you want power
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adam from USA on 2010-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This review is for the .177 version. Powerful, accurate, heavy. I'm 28 and received it as a wedding gift from my brand new wife (I picked it out, she paid for it) and I fell in love with this gun immediately. I've owned it for only 5 days now and have shot about 500 pellets in my basement range. Whether holding it with both hands or resting it on a pillow on boxes - I'm hitting 1/2 inch targets at 10m with every shot. I can't wait to get a scope and bipod to take this gun out sniping. I couldn't ask for anything more out of this gun - it really is the creme de la creme of spring rifles. I chose this gun because I wanted unlimited accuracy (no break barrels), I didn't want to mess with CO2 (I will never buy another CO2 gun - too much hassle), so that left under levers and the more expensive side levers. I chose side lever so I could lay prone in a field/forest without turning to operate an under lever. I chose the 54 because of the added bonus of having no recoil. Although a bit pricey, I could not have decided on a better rifle.
      Things I would have changed:It would have been nice to see a lighter weight option for this rifle...but personally I like how heavy it is. My neighbor and my father-in-law complained about it's weight compared to their shotguns but I like a heavy rifle - helps me keep her steady.
      What others should know:By the tenth shot with this gun I had the open sights aligned perfectly - shooting with just my hands and in a standing position. VERY easy to calibrate the open sights. After about 500 shots they haven't budged. So far my favorite pellet is JSB Diablo Exact Match 10.2 grain Domes. The first 300 shots I used Premier Ultra Magnum Heavy 10.5 grain, but those darn things are dirty as hell - dust all over my fingers and the rifle. The Diablos shoot just as good and are pretty clean for lead pellets. Also, the Premiers are an EXTREMELY tight fit...so much so that I felt like I had to almost force them in. The Diablos on the other hand feel like they were made for the 54: they slide in perfectly with barely any effort. It's a heavy rifle and it takes decent effort to cock. I'm a muscular guy so I have no problem firing the 54 all day. This rifle is NOT for children and NOT for adults with small frames. I'm still not sure if I should have gone with the .22 in the long run, but I am extremely happy with the .177 and have no doubt I'll be taking down small game with ease.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2010-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fine German craftsmanship, excellent accuracy, suprising power, and recoiless...what more could you ask for? This is my second RWS in .22 caliber, the first being the 350 Pro Compact. I was so impressed with the 350 I was curious to see if the anti recoil mechanism of the 54 could possibly add anything to accuracy. After testing I'm coming to the conclusion that the 54 is not inherently "much" more accurate, BUT (and that's a big but) that wonderful recoiless design makes it easier to shoot accurate more consistantly. It's simply more forgiving. It's also a big plus when shooting off rests since it cancels out, somewhat, any variation in hold and makes it less critical than on a typical high recoil sporter gun. Having shot high power competition benchrest for a few years, my favorite pastime is draining every bit of accuracy out of a rifle. The 54 will now be primarily my favorite ultimate high power springer target gun. As for pellets: My 54 likes Crosman Premier and JSB Exact extra heavy 18 grain, although it shoots fine with many others. In my 40 ft basement range I can shoot .13" and less (some as small as .06) with Crosman Premier. At 32 yards in the backyard under good conditions I've shot a few groups between .4" and .5" with JSB heavies. That's remarkable. Can't wait to put out some wind flags and try some really long range shooting this Summer.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. This simple unique recoiless design I've not seen used since my Feinwerkbau 300s match rifles and it's nice to see it's back in a gun that's 4 times more powerful.
      What others should know:If you enjoy shooting for accuracy off a bench or to a lesser degree position shooting, this may be your ticket in a high power springer. I'm no weakling, but to me the weight is just a bit much for carrying in the field all day and shooting offhand. Best bet would be to stay put in a choice area for squirrels or other game and do your sniping from there with a bipod or some other way to rest the gun. You won't miss. No Co2, no pumps, no air tanks...just you, the 54, and a pouch full of your favorite pellets and you're all set ! Do not believe that the 54 is 50 feet a second slower or less powerful than the 350 magnum which is rated most powerful in the RWS line. I can't tell the difference an don't think anyone else will. This small velocity claim difference should not influence your purchasing decision. This is the first sidelever gun I've had and I must say it's a nice mechanical advantage, but I'm used to barrel break guns and find them just as easy to cock and use. Also the sidelever needs much more clearance to the side while cocking as compared to a barrel break gun. This could be a disadvantage when hunting in brushy areas.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bob from USA on 2010-04-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.04 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight of gun is heavy; a major advantage in target sports. You can't appreciate a recoiless gun until you shoot this one! I do not even blink! I have killed my 50th varmint with this gun, missing maybe three. Adding a red dot scope for my purposes was a smart move, UltraDot makes best red dot on the market.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger would benefit from a professional upgrade, tho the factory one is fine. The muzzle is plastic, and some sight parts are plastic. They will wear over time, too bad not all parts blued steel. The finnish turns white if dinged, but it is easy to coer up.
      What others should know:Side cocking makes the barrel cockers look like a mistake.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vlad from USA on 2010-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The reviews of other users. All of them are very good....
      Things I would have changed:Attaching of Bi-Pod
      What others should know:This is the page describing how to attach the Bi-Pod to RWS 54: http://www.fiberopticproducts.com/Rws54_bipod.htm
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2009-11-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything you hope it is! Accurate and powerful! That's all you need. .22 is the way to go. The anti-recoil works brilliantly. Hard to go back to all my other air rifles when I'm shooting this one. I almost feel like it's unfair when I'm hunting with this thing!
      Things I would have changed:Yea, it's heavy. Deal with it!
      What others should know:500-1000 shot break in period. Still more accurate than anything else you have with the first shot out of the box and it only gets better. If you can spend the money, it will be the last .22 springer air rifle you'll ever need to buy. RWS HP, Predators, and RWS Superdomes have given me the best results. Tried just about everything out there to be sure. Make sure you get the correct scope stop mount.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2009-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Brianag618; This is the 5th springer I have in my collection (RWS Panther 34, GAMO Whisper & CFX, Crosman G1 Extream. Also a 1960's Sheridan 5m/m Pump up) and the RWS 54 is 2nd to none. It has become my most favorate Springer to shoot. The Re- Coil Less design is nothing but fantastic, and is extreamly powerfull, and accurate. Unlike other springers there is NO kick to it or spring twang. Once you have it sighted in and using either a By- Pod (mounted to the stock only) you will be hitting ctr to ctr hole on hole hit easly out to 35/40 yards w/o any trouble at all (MY limit on my property, need to get to a range to see what she will do out to 50/75/100 yards).
      Things I would have changed:I am not a great big fan of wood stocks, wish it came with and optional composit (Plastic stock). Also I have large fingers which makes it just a little hard to slip them in to load my pellets. Be nice if someone could come up with a tool to make it easier to load. Other wise I would not change a thing.
      What others should know:The RWS 54 side lever is not a light weight Springer, it is a bit on the heavy side, and you will need some type of shooting plate form like a By- Pod (Mounted to the stock only and seperate from the stock mounting screw) or Try- Pod, or a shooting stick, to help hold this shooting machine while shooting. This is from a 5' 11" 225 lb man. To try to shoot this gun free hand you better be a weight lifter. As for pellets, mine likes the Crosman Heavies 10.5grm and the RWS 9.3grm Supermags'. Anyone buying this springer would be wise to have the Jim Maccari XLR2 kit installed in it (Note the seal DOES NOT COME WITH THE KIT so do not forget to order and APEX Lrg Seal at the same time). The kit changes out the spring to a Mod High Power Spring, a new Rear Spring Guide and a Special Front Spring Guide. I found that it helped even out the power of the gun and a much smother action to the Re- Coil Less feature of the gun. If you are not a scope user, you will like the fact that both the front sight and the rear sights are fully adjustable. The front sight blade has an Allen set Screw that lets you slide the sight blade forward or backwards depending on the distance you are shooting, a nice little feature, and it also has the T-05 trigger that is adjustable for trigger pull. Over all this is one Hell of a Springer but not for light weights.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jay from USA on 2009-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like having no recoil, i liked having a group size of a dime at 25 yds with predator pellets and the crossmans also. At 50 yds both pellets were a .750 of a inch group. I liked the side cocking, i think this will kill many bushy tales this year.
      Things I would have changed:i would like to see the trigger a little lighter, i have not checked yet to see if this was adjustable.
      What others should know:this is a .22 cal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

         By Tom from USA on 2009-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.5999999046325685 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The RWS Diana 54 is the smoothest spring-piston airgun other than a TX200 or a hand-made Whiscombe (no longer available). The 54 does have a tiny bit of vibration when fired, which the TX200 doesn't, but the 54 is without recoil and the TX200 does have a small kick. If you can overlook the small bit of buzzing, the 54 is very superior in its firing characteristics. The 54 is also the most accurate of all spring-piston rifles--fully the equal of the TX200 and the Whiscombe and surpassing all others. Even in .22 caliber, the 54 drills them all into one small hole. It's a 50-yard spring gun. When you add to this the power that only the Whiscombe exceeds, the 54 is truly unique. I also like the extravagant checkering on the stock. You'll never see more checkering on a factory airgun.
      Things I would have changed:The 54 is not for lefties. Too bad there isn't a lefthand model made.
      What others should know:I recommend getting the 54 in .22 caliber to take full advantage of the available power. In .177, the rifle shoots too fast to be accurate at long range with anything but heavyweight pellets. Be sure to get a Leapers Diana scope base, because the 54 can have some barrel droop.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wesley from USA on 2008-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything, seems like it's made very well. the accuracy is superb. ans the action being recoiless makes a huge differance. with break action's how you hold or rest the gun matters, this shoots effortless. kills are one shot perfect. All the way up to raccons. I've had the rifle for more than a year and love it. i use a leapers 3-9 x 40 mil-dot scope which makes longer shots effortless knowing where to aim. i use beeman silver arrow pellets which seem to work the best. i have tried others but these work the best killing thinskinned or toughskinned animals alike.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing that might be nice for people that use open sights is to add a tapped set of holes just in front of the scope mount to re position the rear sight for a longer sight picture if possible or offer a scoperail mounted sight.
      What others should know:I have hunted for a long time with all types of guns and ammo and although people like the idea of a head shot with a pellet gun, a heart lung shot is king. you will have no problem penetrating. I waited for three squirrls to line up all three went down 1 pellet. So penetration is not a problem.
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top