Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Sam Yang Dragon Claw 500cc Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-10-27 21:20:31

    Things I liked:Dual tank, slightly less fps than single tank but does 4-5 closely spaced fps shots without resorting to using mil-dots to compensate for droop. First 5 shots use about 250 psi each and my POI seems to remain the same. I use a hand pump which is good for occasional shooting but I was wishing I had a scuba tank while sighting in the rifle! Finish of gun is good, bluing and stock are very nice. Gun is well balanced, lightweight, and is easy to hold and aim. It’s loud but not excessively loud, a cross between a black powder rifle and a .410 shotgun. I found the recoil to be light. Cocking effort was high initially but rapidly fell off. I lubed it with light oil and now it’s very smooth. Accuracy is good and improving. When I first got the gun, at 50 yards I was holding 4” center-to-center groupings. After working on the trigger, I’m down below 2.5” and can get shots within ¾” of my POI. All of my shots have been standing while using a tree to steady the rifle and I seat the bullets before firing each time. At 50 yards, 200 grain round nose bullets go 1 ½” into loosely held phone books, but the damage extends another ½” beyond and the channel is over 2” across (this is supposed to simulate shooting into bone). I’ve not shot many 225 grain HPs but they seem to have similar groupings as the 200s. I used a 3-9x32 Bug Buster and UTG mount from my RWS 34 and reversed the rail to give about ½” more eye relief. The UTG mount should let me use a 4-16x40 Leapers scope and clear the rear sight.
    Things I would have changed:Polish and lube the trigger and sear at the factory. Lighter bullets to use against smaller animals.
    What others should know:I hated the trigger when I first got the gun, it had high resistance, effort was high, and the travel was excessively long, you just pulled forever before it would fire. It took about fifteen minutes of polishing the trigger and sear, and lubing everything to get rid of this. It will never be a match trigger but now it’s smooth, I know when it will fire every time, and I keep the gun on target as I pull on the trigger. Use emery cloth and DO NOT alter your sear or trigger or you gun could become unsafe!
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By john from USA on 2012-12-16 19:47:48

    Things I liked:Beautiful gun with big power
    Things I would have changed:Mine broke the first day after about twenty shots. This gun comes with a bolt action that you have to install,it does install easy enough but due to a terrible design it backs off and shatters the firing hammer. They send a spare screw for it like they knew I was going to have an issue. I disassembled the gun to retrieve the shattered parts,they were keeping the gun from cocking at all. During the entire breakdown I found metal left behind from the lousy machine work that would have at some point caused serious damage. The valve design amazed me in the fact that it actually sealed,I'm certain it will leak at some point if not replaced with a better designed needle and seat. Again,terrible design and craftsmanship on the internal parts. It is a very hard gun to cock,my fingers were sore from the first twenty shots. Then it broke! The trigger pull is also quite hard,looking at it while apart explained why.
    What others should know:I will have parts made for it and correct the designs if they won't take it back and give me full refund for my entire purchase of the gun,pump,scuba tank,fittings,gun case,scope,fill adapters and all 650 rounds of ammo. $1500.00 worth of junk. Buy American! I also want this review posted for the truth about this product and its quality to be seen by all who read these reviews.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Keith from USA on 2014-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:wood work and engraving and cheek piece for ease of viewing thru scope.
      Things I would have changed:Updated the old dovetail scope mounts to Weaver/Picatinny mount system it provides more stable accurate sighting system for whats largely available in scopes.
      What others should know:This PCP Air Gun is accurate if you get the right ammo.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bo from USA on 2013-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great rifle, quality made. Very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:Buy it! you won't regret it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By lieman from USA on 2013-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:EVERY THING. I HAVE HAD MINE FOR A WHILE NOW. I expected to use not so often, but started shooting file cabnets 12 ga steel right thru + 19/32 plywood. 336 gr. ammo. Very much fun.
      Things I would have changed:no!
      What others should know:You will love it for price, ammo not cheap.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jeff from USA on 2013-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Ability to use different caliber bullets , I can use 240grain 50 cal or I can use 45 cal saboted bullets or balls and the velocity and shots per fill goes way up
      Things I would have changed:Maybe offer it with a case and scope pre mounted
      What others should know:Pyramid air always has the gun or parts I need I highly recommend them
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Orlo from USA on 2013-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This just feels great when you hold it. I'm still waiting for extra high mounts to put a scope on it but it's a hoot to shoot it with the iron sites. I've used a variety of ammo and it packs a punch. I haven't checked the speed yet but it's pretty accurate indoors at 40' but you'll need earmuffs as this is pretty loud. I have yet to count but i got a bunch of decent shots on one fill (A bunch in big bore is probably 10-15).
      Things I would have changed:The manometer (pressure gauge) is in kg per square meter - I'd rather it be in PSI but having the green range is fine enough to know max fill (3000 PSI) and when to refill.
      What others should know:Having dual tanks this is a little heavier than the single tank but it feels great to hold. I have a Rogue and Marauder and this feels the best of those to hold/aim.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By john from USA on 2012-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful gun with big power
      Things I would have changed:Mine broke the first day after about twenty shots. This gun comes with a bolt action that you have to install,it does install easy enough but due to a terrible design it backs off and shatters the firing hammer. They send a spare screw for it like they knew I was going to have an issue. I disassembled the gun to retrieve the shattered parts,they were keeping the gun from cocking at all. During the entire breakdown I found metal left behind from the lousy machine work that would have at some point caused serious damage. The valve design amazed me in the fact that it actually sealed,I'm certain it will leak at some point if not replaced with a better designed needle and seat. Again,terrible design and craftsmanship on the internal parts. It is a very hard gun to cock,my fingers were sore from the first twenty shots. Then it broke! The trigger pull is also quite hard,looking at it while apart explained why.
      What others should know:I will have parts made for it and correct the designs if they won't take it back and give me full refund for my entire purchase of the gun,pump,scuba tank,fittings,gun case,scope,fill adapters and all 650 rounds of ammo. $1500.00 worth of junk. Buy American! I also want this review posted for the truth about this product and its quality to be seen by all who read these reviews.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dean from USA on 2012-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:A very nice gun. I have a few from Pyramid and figure this is a great large caliber gun to complete my collection, and am impressed. The pellets are substantial to say the least and definitely will take down large game. the gun is well balanced and not as heavy as my Marauder, so I can't wait to carry it in the field for some boar hunts! I sighted it in roughly in at the range and a few around were impressed as well.
      Things I would have changed:It's hard to say but the only thing that seemed as though it didn't quite look right was the triple barrel end piece. It is a different metal, and just looks like an added on piece -yes, I know it is, but there may be a cleaner way, even perhaps the same metal as on the barrel, or something completely different. One other minor point was the cocking lever, A nice piece of titanium or other metal here would finish the gun, and although the lever works well it does have the casting marks left and could be finished nicer. These are minor points of aesthetics and should not detour anyone from owning such a quality gun though!
      What others should know:Just a note on the stock-very nice piece of Mahogany, and a great finished look, and feels good and balanced in your hands.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ali from USA on 2012-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun it's excellent gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By egnile from USA on 2012-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a very nice gun!!!
      Things I would have changed:nothing!!
      What others should know:nothing yet!! what a beauty!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By magicmarv from USA on 2012-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.54 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power - accuracy with the stock sights - right on target each shot. With a scope its awesome. Easy to load, clean, fire and show off. Folks cannot believe there's a 50 cal air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Can't think of anything.
      What others should know:Full tanks you'll get about 6 good clean high power shots. After that, another 4 or so at good velocity - carry a refill tank with you as the pump will take forever!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ron from USA on 2011-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.6666698455810553 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like just about everything regarding this beast. Beautiful stock and action plate with ".50 Caliber" imprinted on it. Purchased specifically for wild boar hunting, although it's only been used as a coffee can killer thus far. A bit loud for an airgun, but this is quite literally not your Father's airgun! I truly believe this particular airgun is the manifestation of a new generation of airguns, as nobody in their right mind would have even dreamed a compressed-air rifle could ever have the raw power to kill a boar-sized mammal only 5 years ago. It's not so much about FPS, but ft.lbs. and caliber size that will do the damage one requires for these very aggressive, very powerful animals. One shot to the vitals will take out the biggest boars humanely and relatively pain-free, and that's what the goal is for us "real hunters" that do care about our environment and that our grand children will be able to hunt as well.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a "Dragon Claw / Hill pump" combination, with a reduced price for the set? I went to a local paintball and gun/dive shop in town to fill 'er up, and had to purchase a scuba adapter kit with a gauge (about $50) even though the Dragon Claw has a built-in air-pressure gauge, to use between the rifle and tank. It cost me $4 to fill up to 3,000 psi. Not bad for 15-20 good, powerful shots. A gauge like this would be a nice addition to the rifle as another package deal.
      What others should know:Once you find a method of filling it up, it is simple to use even for beginners, and requires two simple steps to shoot. Kind of a "side bolt-action" implemented here, just pull it back, then pull back the metal sleeve above the action to load it, and your good to go. Best not to operate this rifle in a residential area, unless you have none or very few neighbors, or you are in a rural area due to the louder-than-usual noise. (Personally, I love the noise - beautiful)!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Vernon from USA on 2011-10-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.06 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Dual tank, slightly less fps than single tank but does 4-5 closely spaced fps shots without resorting to using mil-dots to compensate for droop. First 5 shots use about 250 psi each and my POI seems to remain the same. I use a hand pump which is good for occasional shooting but I was wishing I had a scuba tank while sighting in the rifle! Finish of gun is good, bluing and stock are very nice. Gun is well balanced, lightweight, and is easy to hold and aim. It’s loud but not excessively loud, a cross between a black powder rifle and a .410 shotgun. I found the recoil to be light. Cocking effort was high initially but rapidly fell off. I lubed it with light oil and now it’s very smooth. Accuracy is good and improving. When I first got the gun, at 50 yards I was holding 4” center-to-center groupings. After working on the trigger, I’m down below 2.5” and can get shots within ¾” of my POI. All of my shots have been standing while using a tree to steady the rifle and I seat the bullets before firing each time. At 50 yards, 200 grain round nose bullets go 1 ½” into loosely held phone books, but the damage extends another ½” beyond and the channel is over 2” across (this is supposed to simulate shooting into bone). I’ve not shot many 225 grain HPs but they seem to have similar groupings as the 200s. I used a 3-9x32 Bug Buster and UTG mount from my RWS 34 and reversed the rail to give about ½” more eye relief. The UTG mount should let me use a 4-16x40 Leapers scope and clear the rear sight.
      Things I would have changed:Polish and lube the trigger and sear at the factory. Lighter bullets to use against smaller animals.
      What others should know:I hated the trigger when I first got the gun, it had high resistance, effort was high, and the travel was excessively long, you just pulled forever before it would fire. It took about fifteen minutes of polishing the trigger and sear, and lubing everything to get rid of this. It will never be a match trigger but now it’s smooth, I know when it will fire every time, and I keep the gun on target as I pull on the trigger. Use emery cloth and DO NOT alter your sear or trigger or you gun could become unsafe!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice finish and stock. Air gauge seems to be accurate but is in bar instead of PSI. Very well balanced and easy to hold despite being light. I can fire four high power shots with closely spaced fpe into the same POI. Fifth shot will be ½-1” below the first. First four shots take 250 psi each. Six shots take you down to 1500 psi. I used the Leapers 3-9x32 Bug Buster scope on a UTG mount off an RWS 34 Panther. Because of the scopes short eye relief I took the scope rail off the gun and flipped it around to move it back ½” for a better head position. I did have to shim the scope because of too much droop compensation. With 200 grain bullets and seating the bullets, I was within 1” of my aim point at 50 yards. I used a stack of dry phone books at 50 yards as a backstop and the bullets penetrated 1” with an additional 1.5” of damaged pages on high power. I’m certain I was losing some energy due to the phonebooks moving under impact. At the same distance I lined up 5 milk jugs filled with water, I was slightly off but I went thru 4 and bounced off a metal backplate. Trigger, very stiff and has a lot of creep! I found I had to slowly squeeze for a long time to keep from jerking the gun. You can yank on the trigger and fire the gun easily but that’s not accurate for me. Gun sounds like a 410 shotgun or a black powder rifle. It’s not as loud as a modern firearm in 30 cal. Recoil is light, more like a gentle push.
      Things I would have changed:The only knock against the gun is the trigger. If you ever let up off the trigger, it stays exactly where it was and your next tug might fire the rifle. Instead of two tubes, have just one large tube which would reduce the energy lost to recoil. Longer barrel would be nice to help with accuracy and distance.
      What others should know:I’ve read where the dual tank is not as powerful as single tank and mine is 40 fps less than the single. The dual tank does give the ability to shoot more times with less power drop between shots. I'd like to see 160-180 garin bullets available for this gun for small pest control. My rifle seems to be .496" so I don't think .495" round balls will work well. With the UTG mount it looks like I can just clear the rear sight with a Leapers 4-16x40 scope and I will try in the future. Rear trigger is not removable and forms the back part of the tank mounts. Trigger is why I didn't rate this gun as 5 stars. My gun could just have a stff trigger but it has improved slightly after about a hundred shots.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chris from USA on 2011-10-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power..... this thing is a beast it has some kick to . This is a beutifull gun and shots great
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is the worst on any gun I've ever shot after shooting this gun you will have some misfires out of your other gun because your finger has adapted to the pull of this gun. It is 10 pound pull or better you can pick the gun up by trigger and it won't go off other than that no complaints
      What others should know:Buy it you won't regret it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ginoe from USA on 2011-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.6666698455810553 ratings
       
      Things I liked:overall agreement with positive attributes that have already been said.
      Things I would have changed:heavy trigger pull, still trying to get a feel for when it breaks.
      What others should know:before purchasing, must read blog report by B.B. Pelletier on this particular airgun. many good suggestions & tips. i wished i would have read it before i made my purchase. was unable to fill the rifle with air, did not have the proper connections from handpump to rifle - had to order the Pyramyd Air Quick-Disconnect male fitting and switch out the fill port on the rifle. iron sight shot very low of the target even at max adjustment. i will file down the front sight to get a more agreeable result.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ricardo from USA on 2011-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome power,deep rich blueing, nice looks, ligthweigth, and very precise gun. I love it.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top