Date: 26/8/2016 21:0
0

Evanix Rainstorm II PCP Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By ecgarin from USA on 2013-11-08 14:13:14

Things I liked: the power it has and the accuracy you can do groups of a quarter size at 80 yards, the stock is great and very light weight great hunting rifle you can easily kill a rabbit at 100+ yards

Things I would have changed: nothing

What others should know: these gun is worth the money trust me you won't be disappointed it has everything power accuracy and lightweight, i think evanix is one of the best air rifles in the market, and trust me i have cricket,condor, air ranger, marauder, fx indy and the one that takes the trophy is the evanix.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By RICHARD from USA on 2016-02-08 21:51:12

Things I liked: It's a pretty gun the end.

Things I would have changed: The barrel. The ammo clip. The safety. The air tank. The baffling.

What others should know: This is the most inaccurate pellet gun I have ever shot. Their is no twist in the barrel. The ammo clip never ever works right. Guys, I can not think of anything I like about this gun other than it's good looks. I am a honest guy just sharing my own experience with this gun..

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ERIC from USA on 2016-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful gun. Absolutely a tack driver.

    Things I would have changed: Get away from the very porous and brittle Sepatia wood. Improve the baffling, the thing is LOUD

    What others should know: Received my .22 cal RS2 with the stock completely broke into at the wrist, after getting a new stock, Before ever shooting it. I installed a Altaros regulator, set it too 160 bar, roughly 2300 psi. removed the barrel, polished the leads and gave it a thorough cleaning with JB compound. Chronied the gun and with 21g Kodiak pellets, it is producing right at 43 fps of energy, 965 fps. I then shot a 5 shot group at 30 yds off of my lead sled rest. ALL 5 shots went through the same hole! Moved back to 50 yds and shot a 10 shot string and you could cover the group with a thumbtack. Shot several different types of pellets through it, all were 19g or heavier and ALL shot very accurate tight groups, not pellet finicky at all. These guns in .22 cal have a very positive response to being regulated down a bit from their HOT factory settings. I have shot guns that cost 3 times what I have in this RS and this gun will out shoot nearly all of them. I'll put it up against any FX of Daystate any time.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Micah from USA on 2016-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made , powerful and accurate

    Things I would have changed: Stock is kind of bulky around the receiver making it difficult to get at the saftey for leftys

    What others should know: After site in put 5 in about the same hole at 25 yrd , moved to 50 yrd, 5 more in the same hole , can't wait to see how far out this rifle will reach

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By RICHARD from USA on 2016-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings

    Things I liked: It's a pretty gun the end.

    Things I would have changed: The barrel. The ammo clip. The safety. The air tank. The baffling.

    What others should know: This is the most inaccurate pellet gun I have ever shot. Their is no twist in the barrel. The ammo clip never ever works right. Guys, I can not think of anything I like about this gun other than it's good looks. I am a honest guy just sharing my own experience with this gun..

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dwight R from USA on 2015-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought a refurbished rifle (.25 cal) and without a doubt it is the most accurate air rifle I have ever shot (it is also the first PCP rifle I have ever bought). It will primarily be used for hunting. The wood on the stock, while not spectacular is very nice and the stock design is excellent. The trigger was gritty and at 3.5 lbs when I got the rifle, I stoned and polished the sear surface and bobbed one spring and now I have a glass smooth trigger that breaks at 2.0 lbs. The 50 yd 5 shot groups average around 1/2" using JSB Heavy kings. I have also ordered a (Hume) regulator to reduce the shot to shot variation. All in all, an excellent rifle, lots of power and shoots one hole groups at 30 yds. I give it a thumbs up. I have already taken two raccoons (30 yard head shots) and a musk rat (63 yard head shot) with it.

    Things I would have changed: I would suggest better trigger refinement referring to pull and smoothness. Better baffles in the shroud and or a silencer and a regulator. Also the magazine will not function with Beeman/H&N Silver Bears or Silver Arrows and that too needs to be addressed.

    What others should know: If you don't want to tinker with the trigger or add a regulator than pay the extra money and get a German (HW) or English(Daystate or Air Arms) made rifle, it will just cost you a lot more and you may not end up with the same power level.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I just received my Evanix Rainstorm II in 9mm/.357cal., and so far, I couldn't be happier with the purchase. Well packaged by PA, and although the outer box showed signs of having survived rough treatment in it's journey, no apparent damage was done to the gun or other misc. contents of my purchase. In my order, I asked some favors of PA which weren't any obligation on it's part, but which were done to my satisfaction. Thank you PA! I paid for the 10 for $10 check, and a record of the service was included within the inner gun box. Every aspect of fit and finish is as perfect as that of other guns that I own, which include FX, Daystate, Weirauch, Beeman, and others. I attached my Omega compressor directly to the gun, and it pumped up flawlessly, and continues to hold the charge. I attached the probe that came with the gun, to a male adaptor which allows my foster fittings to directly attach to that male adaptor. 2 solid mags, made of metal, come with the gun, and that is all you need.

    Things I would have changed: There isn't much ammunition available yet for 9mm/.357cal. guns, with JSB having a virtual monopoly on most of the sales happening today, which IMHO has resulted in overpricing, but other sources of supply, such as "Hunter's Supply", in NM, are out there if you look hard for them on line. H & N puts out a 82 grain pellet (bullet) but the JSB works best so they say. As soon as more guns in this caliber hit the market, hopefully ammunition prices will come down.

    What others should know: I haven't had time to shoot the gun yet, but the 10 for $10 service results using 9mm/.357cal., 81.02 grain JSB Exact pellets, and a starting pressure of 200 bar, shows a range of 667.71 fps to 806.40 fps spread; 13.87 fps std. deviation. the first 5 shots averaged 6.48 fps std. deviation, while shots 6 thru 10 averaged 24.17 fps std. deviation. I intend to send this gun off to Will Piatt at Saddle Mountain Gunsmith, for some tuning, but that won't be for quite a spell, as their work load is backed up for nearly a year. He should be able to smooth out the trigger, lengthen and better the shroud by several decibels, and increase the power by up to 100 more psi. The Evanix is worth the effort, I think? I put off buying it, as I did not have faith in the Korean manufacturing process, but if this gun shoots as good as it looks, my procrastination was in vane. Oh yes! The sepatia stock is absolutely beautiful, and so is the bluing! Buy it! You'll like it too!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ENRIQUE from USA on 2015-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my second review about the Rainstorm II in Cal. .30.... The more I use it, the more it amaze me!!! I am using the JSB's 44.75 gr.... Rifle and pellet seem to be built one for the other.... From 20 to 100 yards (my more distant target)the accuracy of this rifle (at least mine), is insane!!!....SERIOUSLY TALKING, accuracy in my rifle can not be improved!!... You have all the accuracy you humanely can get when shooting and enough power to handle any midle size hunting around.... You just need to invest some time and pellets to getting to know the parabole.

    Things I would have changed: Evanix has to redesign the stock around the safety.... I had to cut some portion of the wood around the safety to be able to put the it on and off easily.

    What others should know: As loud as the expected from a rifle with this power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roger from USA on 2015-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have the .22 and .30 both powerful and accurate. If there was something not to like about this gun, I would not have bought the second one, love them both.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: very nice hunting rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ENRIQUE from USA on 2015-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I Just received my Raibstorm Ii in Cal.. 30..... I zero it at 55yds..... The rifle is super accuracy.... I am very happy that Evanix made rifles in this caliber.... I like Cal. 30 a lot!!..it is much more usable than the. 357.... Is a hunting caliber appropriate for chest shoots from rabit to coyote..... You have to be careful: It is a real hunting rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Air reservoir should be bigger to give more shots por fill. Only 7-8 keep same fps.

    What others should know: If you Hunt, an Evanix in .30 Cal. It is a must (unless you want to pay twice the price for an Fx or three times for a Daystaye).... I really like the caliber, the fps an the accuracy of this rifle give.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2015-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I don't like it, I love it. The metal to wood fit is like a glove and the cocking stroke is smooth and easy.

    Things I would have changed: Provide sling swivel studs and a single load tray.

    What others should know: My gun shoots better with diobolo pellets than with 105gr. bullets or round balls.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JoseN from USA on 2015-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the must I like is the accuracy....is very very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: the safety lock and be a lot more quiet.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ali from USA on 2014-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The wood on the rifle is excellent work, for me is easier way to recharge de rifle with de sidelever than other ones, has a good balance and weight! Mine is a 9mm/.357 and because of price, precision and power its the best option!

    Things I would have changed: A bigger cilinder that give more shoots per recharge, and a moderator to make less noise on the shots!

    What others should know: It is a perfect big bore hunting rifle!!! It has all you need for hunting big animals!

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By tom from USA on 2014-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light,nice wood.

    Things I would have changed: Better internal gaskets and o rings ,due to a blow out at 150 shots.also a better access to the safety.

    What others should know: Don't what more than a month for a back order not worth the hassle.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Brian from USA on 2014-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It looks and shoulders good. Sounds powerful..357 cal. Stock looks pretty good.

    Things I would have changed: Make it shoot better.I can't get any better than 3 inch groups at 40 yards. Sent it back and it was out for 7 weeks just to get the barrel cleaned.

    What others should know: Make sure you test it before your warranty runs out. I have the older rainstorm in .22 cal that will out shoot the .357.I'm sure not all of them shoot bad but it seems like it is a lottery if you get one that shoots good or bad. You don't want to be stuck with a $900 dollar gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By FANG from USA on 2014-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great power house gun. Well balanced. Accurate and very nice looking gun, Added trigger set back is useful. Sme power plant as the WC. The RS II has had some changes from the RS I that has improved the gun. Different mag than the older RS I. Mag can be inserted from both sides. Lever action is smooth.

    Things I would have changed: Noise level is not backyard friendly. More baffles. Mag is made up of both aluminum housing and a plastic cover. Cover and mechanics of working the pellet cover could be made of metal for longer lasting.

    What others should know: This gun is one that with a simple hammer spring change that allows lower power for lighter pellets if desired. Mine is set to shoot 14.3 cphp at 970 fps and still accurate at 30 + yards so far. Not stretched the gun out past 40 yards as of now. Very nice EVANIX gun. FANG

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By richard from USA on 2014-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: TheRain storm original or 2 is out done in fps only by the AR6 which dose not sound as accurate in reviews. I am very impressed that they can get this kind of speed from a 17in. barrel and I like that it is shrouded but would have gladly taken a slightly heavier gun to have a little more meat on the stock. I mounted a leapers 4-16 X 40 scope and bipod. I have best results from H&N Barracudas and Beeman Kodiacs. I am sending this to Will at Saddle Mountain Gunsmiths for tune

    Things I would have changed: Better stock and it really needs a good depinger It gives a loud twang when fired.

    What others should know: Many of the reviews on this gun are carried over from the original rainstorm which I own in the full length version. They also made a carbine version that was only slightly shorter. people doing reviews on this page are not very descriptive about which gun ( The Rainstorm or the Rainstorm 2) they are reviewing. I also don't see the nicer thumbhole stock available from Pyramyd.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2014-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is accurate out of the box all i did was clean the barrel and start shooting. Not pellet fussy but does shoot heavier pellets a bit better

    Things I would have changed: I would prefer a male foster fitting and cover like the Marauder but the probe is fine.

    What others should know: Definitely order the 15 shot magazine with the hammer spring backed off a little you will get plenty of powerful shots from 2900 psi

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By sean from USA on 2013-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice fit, points very well. Seems to be accurate, but have no broke in gun yet, but from what I seen so far I think it will be very accurate. Leaver is simple and easy to use. Shoots very nice. Mine is a 9 mm. Wanted some thing to take squrill to coyote with and I am very happy with it.

    Things I would have changed: Safty is hard to use and get use to especially with gloves on. Needs come out more, also is to tight to stock when all the way forward or back. A little more clearance would make it easyer to use. Think about a synthetic stock, As an option for some one buying it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2013-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fit and finish are great. The lever action works nice and smooth. It is a light and quick swinging rifle and the cheek comb is exactly at the right height. Crazy accurate

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the stock shape at the grip. They left the wood too high there (they should have taken it down more there and put more wood on the lower part of the grip to the stock so it is stronger as well

    What others should know: 3000 psi fill, Accupell 27.8 grain at 970 FPS for 58 ft lbs. and 1" groups at 62 yards. Kodiaks Extra heavy did not group well but it may have to do with skirt thickness rather than pellet weight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ecgarin from USA on 2013-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.764 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the power it has and the accuracy you can do groups of a quarter size at 80 yards, the stock is great and very light weight great hunting rifle you can easily kill a rabbit at 100+ yards

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: these gun is worth the money trust me you won't be disappointed it has everything power accuracy and lightweight, i think evanix is one of the best air rifles in the market, and trust me i have cricket,condor, air ranger, marauder, fx indy and the one that takes the trophy is the evanix.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The quality and feel of this rifle is top notch its light and very accurate only took four shots at fifty yards to zero in

    Things I would have changed: I would like it better if I could charge it up to say 4200 haha

    What others should know: If you are looking for a top quality beautiful gun that looks and feels like it'll be around longer than you will then this isa definate keeper very quiet as well on low pressures it souns a quiet as a nerf gun.lol

  • 12 Next
Navigation