Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Evanix Rainstorm II PCP Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By zlatko from USA on 2010-10-21 17:12:56

    Things I liked:POWER,ACCURACY,AMAZING QUALITY OF MATERIAL AND THE BEST STOCK THAT I EWER SEE!!!!! i have this rifle in 22.cal and i must say that shoting over the 100 yards with this rifle is no problem!!again it has a lot of power....
    Things I would have changed:nothing to change.
    What others should know:extream power and accuracy.you will not reagret if you buy this rifle!!!!!!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Brian from USA on 2014-07-31 19:57:11

    Things I liked:It looks and shoulders good. Sounds powerful..357 cal. Stock looks pretty good.
    Things I would have changed:Make it shoot better.I can't get any better than 3 inch groups at 40 yards. Sent it back and it was out for 7 weeks just to get the barrel cleaned.
    What others should know:Make sure you test it before your warranty runs out. I have the older rainstorm in .22 cal that will out shoot the .357.I'm sure not all of them shoot bad but it seems like it is a lottery if you get one that shoots good or bad. You don't want to be stuck with a $900 dollar gun.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Brian from USA on 2014-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It looks and shoulders good. Sounds powerful..357 cal. Stock looks pretty good.
      Things I would have changed:Make it shoot better.I can't get any better than 3 inch groups at 40 yards. Sent it back and it was out for 7 weeks just to get the barrel cleaned.
      What others should know:Make sure you test it before your warranty runs out. I have the older rainstorm in .22 cal that will out shoot the .357.I'm sure not all of them shoot bad but it seems like it is a lottery if you get one that shoots good or bad. You don't want to be stuck with a $900 dollar gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By FANG from USA on 2014-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great power house gun. Well balanced. Accurate and very nice looking gun, Added trigger set back is useful. Sme power plant as the WC. The RS II has had some changes from the RS I that has improved the gun. Different mag than the older RS I. Mag can be inserted from both sides. Lever action is smooth.
      Things I would have changed:Noise level is not backyard friendly. More baffles. Mag is made up of both aluminum housing and a plastic cover. Cover and mechanics of working the pellet cover could be made of metal for longer lasting.
      What others should know:This gun is one that with a simple hammer spring change that allows lower power for lighter pellets if desired. Mine is set to shoot 14.3 cphp at 970 fps and still accurate at 30 + yards so far. Not stretched the gun out past 40 yards as of now. Very nice EVANIX gun. FANG
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By richard from USA on 2014-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:TheRain storm original or 2 is out done in fps only by the AR6 which dose not sound as accurate in reviews. I am very impressed that they can get this kind of speed from a 17in. barrel and I like that it is shrouded but would have gladly taken a slightly heavier gun to have a little more meat on the stock. I mounted a leapers 4-16 X 40 scope and bipod. I have best results from H&N Barracudas and Beeman Kodiacs. I am sending this to Will at Saddle Mountain Gunsmiths for tune
      Things I would have changed:Better stock and it really needs a good depinger It gives a loud twang when fired.
      What others should know:Many of the reviews on this gun are carried over from the original rainstorm which I own in the full length version. They also made a carbine version that was only slightly shorter. people doing reviews on this page are not very descriptive about which gun ( The Rainstorm or the Rainstorm 2) they are reviewing. I also don't see the nicer thumbhole stock available from Pyramyd.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Don from USA on 2014-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is accurate out of the box all i did was clean the barrel and start shooting. Not pellet fussy but does shoot heavier pellets a bit better
      Things I would have changed:I would prefer a male foster fitting and cover like the Marauder but the probe is fine.
      What others should know:Definitely order the 15 shot magazine with the hammer spring backed off a little you will get plenty of powerful shots from 2900 psi
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By sean from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice fit, points very well. Seems to be accurate, but have no broke in gun yet, but from what I seen so far I think it will be very accurate. Leaver is simple and easy to use. Shoots very nice. Mine is a 9 mm. Wanted some thing to take squrill to coyote with and I am very happy with it.
      Things I would have changed:Safty is hard to use and get use to especially with gloves on. Needs come out more, also is to tight to stock when all the way forward or back. A little more clearance would make it easyer to use. Think about a synthetic stock, As an option for some one buying it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2013-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish are great. The lever action works nice and smooth. It is a light and quick swinging rifle and the cheek comb is exactly at the right height. Crazy accurate
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change is the stock shape at the grip. They left the wood too high there (they should have taken it down more there and put more wood on the lower part of the grip to the stock so it is stronger as well
      What others should know:3000 psi fill, Accupell 27.8 grain at 970 FPS for 58 ft lbs. and 1" groups at 62 yards. Kodiaks Extra heavy did not group well but it may have to do with skirt thickness rather than pellet weight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MICHELLE from USA on 2013-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the power it has and the accuracy you can do groups of a quarter size at 80 yards, the stock is great and very light weight great hunting rifle you can easily kill a rabbit at 100+ yards
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:these gun is worth the money trust me you won't be disappointed it has everything power accuracy and lightweight, i think evanix is one of the best air rifles in the market, and trust me i have cricket,condor, air ranger, marauder, fx indy and the one that takes the trophy is the evanix.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ROBERT from USA on 2013-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The quality and feel of this rifle is top notch its light and very accurate only took four shots at fifty yards to zero in
      Things I would have changed:I would like it better if I could charge it up to say 4200 haha
      What others should know:If you are looking for a top quality beautiful gun that looks and feels like it'll be around longer than you will then this isa definate keeper very quiet as well on low pressures it souns a quiet as a nerf gun.lol
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ukisw71 from USA on 2013-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Exellent hunting rifle its my first PCP, great option for a first rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Safety is uncomfortable
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Larry from USA on 2013-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very nice looking gun. The quality is good and it feels even better. Nice wood and well balanced. The power is very surprising along with the accuracy. This is a big boy gun not to be taken lightly.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice to able to load clip from the right side without having to cock the gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Precision from USA on 2013-07-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I just bought the .357 and I am very happy I purchased it. This rifle has amazing power and knowing it's a repeater just makes me smile. Worth every dollar!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:You should buy one while on sale, these guns are worth it even at full price. FYI..This rifle comes with no iron sights and requires a scope.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By CJ from USA on 2013-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I had a .35 caliber version and with limited use, here is my first impression. This gun is compact, lightweight, and ergonomically fit. Although I received mine with a broken stock, I managed to put about 30+ shots through. With these shots, I was able to get groups smaller than one inch at 30 yards using JSB. I have to return the gun so I did not shoot further. I believe that once break in, this gun has the potential to be quite accurate at 50+ yards. This gun is powerful. The first 7 shots of each fill went through a 2X4 easily.
      Things I would have changed:Add baffles to the shroud to make it quieter. This gun is too loud!!! What a waste to be shrouded without baffles. Since the primary purpose of this gun is for hunting, make available a swing swivel set. Use better wood so that stock won't have so much issues with cracking.
      What others should know:I received mind with the stock not only cracked (a common complaints from buyers) but broken. After I placed my order, I send PA an email asking for a thorough inspection for defection, particularly cracked stock before shipping but still got mine broken. While you can return it, it is down right frustrating-especially when you drop a grand for it...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By matthew from USA on 2013-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I now have shot 200 .35 JSB pellets through my rifle and the barrel is breaking in nicely with 1" 7 shot groups at 50yds. Stock is very light and ergonomic making the rifle very easy to point and shoot. The machining quality is MUCH better than my first Evanix rifle (AR6 unshrouded) I like the new rotating fill port cover compared to the old screw off cover. I get 7 shots starting at 818fps peaks at 832fps and then back down to 815fps and am averaging 117fpe.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is heavy from the factory but can be adjusted, I currently have mine set to approx 1.5lbs which is good for hunting. Stock needs a bit more wood at the end of the forearm for mounting a sling stud for a bipod or Evanix or some after market company needs to produce a bipod air reservoir clamp similar to the one FX makes for several of their rifles.
      What others should know:The barrels on these rifle need to be cleaned before you start testing for accuracy, mine was filthy but cleaned up nicely. Next you need to shoot it to break in the barrel before you start seeing just how accurate this rifle can be. Out of the box the rifle will shoot 1.5" groups at 50 yds but by the time I had put 100 shots down the barrel I was getting 1" 7 shoot groups at 50yds and even a couple 3/4" groups. This rifle does not get 14 shots as advertised within a acceptable spread, after the 7th shot the fps drops drastically and by the 14th shot down to mid 600s. So my final word on the Rainstorm II .357 if your looking for a hard hitting multi shot rifle that will give you 7 solid accurate shots without breaking the bank and looks,carries and feels like some of the more expensive big bore rifles on the market I say this rifle is one you need to get.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-03-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, powerful, lightweight, dependable, shoulders & points better than any PCP I have tried. Under 1" 5 shots at 50yrds with Crosman Premieres and one ragged hole with JSB's. 35 to 50ftlbs, AWESOME
      Things I would have changed:I don't like probes, so a foster fill. Maybe detune a bit if 50ftlbs is too much for you. I like the power, but I like a big shot count & bell curve. You can EASILY put a lighter spring in and do so.
      What others should know:The gun is now my favorite rifle in .22 I have a fully tuned Rapid in .25 and I like the Rainstorm II WAY more. Shorter, lighter, a lot less money, just as accurate with the right pellets. If for any reason you are unhappy with it, Will Piatt of Saddle Mountain Gunsmith is an expert on these and turns them into a great rifle. Don't get me wrong, it's great to begin with but he adds a foster fill, improves the shroud, works the trigger, sets it for a bell curve and more shots at 35ftlbs as opposed to the 50ftlbs and steady drop in velocity it does from factory. Very affordable accurate gun. I have to say the best bang for your buck period..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By napoleon from USA on 2013-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Lite, compact(carbine) & accuract for a hunting rifle. I have the .25cal power house version set for hunting at 56fpe lots of knock down power with the H/N 31g baracudas, avarage of 900fps. excelent wood stock and finish, butter smooth side cock action. This is the better buy over the over rated euro guns,though they are nice just to pricey for the avarage person. This is the alternitive my opinion, you don't need pin point paper target accuracy for hunting. Having said that, this rifles accuracy at 20 yards=(one raget hole), 35 yards= (1/4"), 50 yards is down to (5/8")witch is pretty good considering i have only put 130 rounds in it so far and the groups are just getting smaller as it breaks in. Most shoting was done siting resting rifle on palm on a padded camara tripod. Groupings were 5 shot groups, and yes, i'm not the greatest shot to boot lol. Very nice rifle, you cant go wrong.
      Things I would have changed:crosman quick fill conect, probes are just one more item to loose. Better baffles to tame this beast though i hear it is not backyard friendly, if noise is not a problem dont worry. Mine went straight to a tuner.
      What others should know:rifle is very lite so feness is the key, no need to man handle it like heavy rifles. I wanted my .25cal to be back yard friendly so it was sent directly from PA to Will Piatt, (Saddle mountain gunsmith) to be tune to my liking. Triger job,crossman style quick conect,custom machien depinger, 3" longer custom carbon fiber shroud with custom baffles, rear vent holes. This power house is the same or slightly more qiet than the .22cal marauder i also have which is also set "hot" at 33fpe. My goal was to make it more backyard friendly not to inprove accuracy as the gun is already accurate though Will P will do his magic if it is a little off his standards as he is a world class shooter who knows his way around korean air rifles
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By TSport from Norway on 2012-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great design, balance and finish. The gun is quite light and as advertised, its weight with a scope is equivalent to others without, which is a big plus. The new magazine works great. It's easy to load with help of pen or similar. It accepts large pellets easily. You can also load single shots for even larger ones. The power out of the box is quite high and more than enough for the heaviest .22 pellets out there. Accuracy is acceptable for this kind of power. All holes within 1" at 25M with random ammo over 21gr.
      Things I would have changed:Add a power adjuster. So much power is only useful for hunting while when target training you're wasting lots of air. And the gun is LOUD. After improving the shroud with a different and more common design, the conclusion is that the shroud is poorly built.
      What others should know:If you're after a a pure neighbor friendly target puncher look for something with less power and better sound dampening. Also, it's relatively easy to mod / tune this gun yourself with help from internet, including reducing the power. At full throttle, there's lots of pumping and little shooting, so consider a scuba tank or similar. It took me about 3 rounds to order one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2012-07-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light, short, nice quality, powerful in .22 cal, tuneable, comes with 2 magazines
      Things I would have changed:Detuned from factory a little for better shot count, quieter
      What others should know:This rifle is powerful out of the box. Mine was putting out 50fpe with JSB monster 25 grain pellets. Downside is you get about 2 magazines max before having to refill. It is not backyard friendly, sounds like s .22LR firing. I am sending mine out to be retuned and have a cusrom exteneded shroud installed to quiet it down.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By WilliamA from USA on 2012-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Superb quality, fit and finish next to none! Unbelievably light for such a powerful rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Adjustable power would be nice!
      What others should know:Highly recommend this air rifle. Evanix is the bang for the buck!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By keith from USA on 2012-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:stock is great 39 inches in length and light great for the woods
      Things I would have changed:louder than mrod but that can be fixed so its quiter than it
      What others should know:shoots kodiak very hard great with a compact scope and offset mounts small light package oh and very accurate hits the fly paper at 40 yards easily
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By keith from USA on 2012-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:small in length 39 in. light in weight about 7 lbs stock is GREAT blueing is good and deep safety is also easy and covered
      Things I would have changed: its a little louder than mrod but that can be fixed by NC gunsmith saddle mountain great work now its better than perfect
      What others should know:let me tell you i gave it to will piatt couldnt be happier i also put centerpoint 3-12power by 44 tactical sidewinder with a off set bkl mount so it mounts behind the loading area a little pricey but perfect with no regrets it definetly shoulders to perfection
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top