Gamo Hornet Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Perry from USA on 2013-02-01 16:52:56

Things I liked: Everything. I liked the lite weight the most. Accurate and Powerful.

Things I would have changed: Nothing. For the money you couldn't ask for more.

What others should know: I don't just plink with mine, I'm a hardcore raccoon hunter and use destroyer pellets in it. Dogs tree him and with a well placed shot its lights out.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Matthew from USA on 2014-07-05 15:20:36

Things I liked: the gun is powerful 1200 fps which is good

Things I would have changed: i would change the scope mainly because it sucks. around 20 yards or less the scope is very blury. also would put front an rear sights

What others should know: the scope will not hold zero, and the rifle is not accurate at all out of the box. and you can get better air rifles for $99

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2015-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the performance for the price. Mine can hit a nickel with 100% consistency at twelve yards, using cheap Crosman pointed hunting pellets. Groups at this range are around a half inch using these cheap pellets. With the scope dialed in at 12 yards, I have no problem hitting a coke can at 40-50 yards. I also like the weight, power, ease of cocking, and the balance. Rips through a 1/2" hardwood board easily, even with wadcutters. Very handy little rifle, great for stalking the woods and I'm not worried about messing it up. It would make a nice little truck gun.

    Things I would have changed: I picked this gun up on sale for $89. For the money, I wouldn't change a thing. The weight and balance of this gun beats every other spring gun out there at this power level, regardless of the price. That said, here are the shortcomings of the rifle: The trigger isn't the greatest, but I have used guns that cost a lot more with triggers that were much worse. Also, the gun makes a lot of spring noise and shoots with a lot of recoil and vibration. I had some issues with my zero shifting at first, but sure enough the stock screws had vibrated loose- this is normal for a powerful spring gun. I took the action out of the stock, applied some spring tar through the cocking slot, and used some loctite on the screws when I put the stock back on. The tar made a noticeable difference in how it sounds and feels when fired, but it didn't really seem to improve the accuracy or the overall performance of the rifle. The loctite has kept the screws tight for about a tin of pellets so far.

    What others should know: I am not an airgun newbie. I have been shooting and tinkering with spring guns for about six years, and I've done a dozen or so home tunes on different rifles. I picked this up because my only shooter at the time was a powerful .25 breakbarrel that is very heavy. I wanted a lightweight .177 springer to carry around and plink with, that still has the power to hunt. This gun serves that purpose well. Easily capable of squirrel and rabbit hunting out to around 25 yards, maybe further with a more accurate pellet. Not the greatest gun in the world, not even close- but great for what it is and fantastic for the money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By deanna from Canada on 2014-10-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Power and accuracy are amazing, after some fiddling around with the scope i was able to get dime sized groups at 30 yards using H&N FTT, and punch through a sheet metal bucket with ease.

    Things I would have changed: include a better scope for more $$ or no scope for less $$, for the money this gun is amazing! but i couldnt get the dials of the scope to work properly at all. shooting some paper targets helped me find where it was at, so using kentucky windage is gonna have to be good enough till i can get a new scope.other than the scope, not one complaint about the rifle!

    What others should know: if you need a powerful and extremely accurate airgun on a <150$ budget, this will certainly satisfy your needs. i know i was impressed by how powerful and accurate this was out of the box

  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2014-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the gun is powerful 1200 fps which is good

    Things I would have changed: i would change the scope mainly because it sucks. around 20 yards or less the scope is very blury. also would put front an rear sights

    What others should know: the scope will not hold zero, and the rifle is not accurate at all out of the box. and you can get better air rifles for $99

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jerrod from USA on 2014-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's reliable. I've shot maybe 800 pellets through it and haven't had a problem yet. Has good power too. I've taken 2 birds at 20 yards and it only took one shot.

    Things I would have changed: Better scope and trigger. The scope is not the best. Once it is sighted in, it stays put, but not for long. You also can't see much out of it and the focus adjustment doesn't exactly focus.

    What others should know: It's a good beginner gun, but if you want perfect accuracy, get a different gun. It's tough so you can learn what not to do without actually breaking anything.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2013-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fairly accurate rifle. Getting about 3/4" groups at 20 yards with CPHP pellets. Light weight and easy to carry in the field. Packs a good wallop on small game and pest within 25 yards.

    Things I would have changed: The scope will not hold up to the spring recoil of this air rifle. Need to provide a more sturdy design for the optics. Also, the trigger is terrible. The rifle has about 750 shots through it and still have trouble with trigger control.

    What others should know: Plan on replacing the optics. This seems to be a pretty common complaint. Overall, for the money, this is a good performer if you can deal will the trigger pull. There are replacement trigger systems out there that may help this issue.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jordan from USA on 2013-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything! great gun, I love rabbit and pigeon hunting and on my first day I got it I dropped a black bird at 75 yards!

    Things I would have changed: The sound kind of makes a bang

    What others should know: Get some red fire pellets! and be safe

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2013-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great gun powerful configurable Bought it about a month ago and shoot it everyday too much fun

    Things I would have changed: Scope add front and rear sights

    What others should know: adding a little pel gun oil really adds a bang.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Perry from USA on 2013-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything. I liked the lite weight the most. Accurate and Powerful.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. For the money you couldn't ask for more.

    What others should know: I don't just plink with mine, I'm a hardcore raccoon hunter and use destroyer pellets in it. Dogs tree him and with a well placed shot its lights out.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By willie from USA on 2013-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: this gun is low priced and accurate. it will shoot 25yd 1" groups easily. good looking rifle that delivers. nice first gun but would buy the crosman tx77 nitro for $40 more if i had it to do it all over again

    Things I would have changed: i didn't care for the twang and recoil. the scope as noted is absolute BUNK

    What others should know: this gun has been great overall and really stacks pellets, nice gun.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: CROSMAN AND RWS products and pyramid air

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Dont buy gamo products they are junk this gun failed at 600 rounds strarted smoking from under the receiver gun went from 950fps to 380fps. I have read about this problem online with other gamo rifles. Have you ever seen there pellets? BEWARE they have no quality control.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2012-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good balance and weight. Smooth cocking and nice predictable trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Not include a scope or include a usable scope.

    What others should know: The scope that comes with this don't even mount it use it as a target I had a poor 3x9x40 laying around put it on and shot after shot in same hole. I have ordered a good scope to put on it the on I have now is an el cheapo not even clear view of target and not designed for a springer. But it feels like a Rolls Royce compared to the included one. For the price a great gun you could pay twice the price and not get any better.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2012-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I liked a lot. First of all, you can't beat the price. This was my first springer and I have put about 1400 pellets through it. I'm still using the scope it came with and had issues at first with it slipping back in the rails. Blue Lok-tite on the screws cured overnight and now it holds great.

    Things I would have changed: The scope rails could be better as someone already mentioned. Other than that, no problems at all.

    What others should know: Learning the artillery hold is KEY. For me, the best pellets I've test with are: Crosman Premier Domed 7.9 Crosman Premier Hollow point 7.9 RWS 8.4 I've haven't taken the gun apat yet, but I did caulk in 4 oz. of lead into the back of the stock and filled in the rest with strips up cloth and pieces of foam. This helped with balance and dampening the twang. Definitely get a on piece mount and a new AO scope if you can afford it. My max shooting distance is 13 yards indoors so it's the stock scope for now.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2012-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight of the gun. I also like the break barrel action. Makes for quick reloads when snipping squirrels. For the price, can't argue the quality overall of this gun. It's heavier than most but that's my preference.

    Things I would have changed: better/deeper, scope rail to mount. I had a different scope (same size) from what was included, got it all sighted to hit a ' bulls eye on command and the kick of the gun eventually made the scope slide off the back end of the mount. After re-tightening it and sighting back in, a couple of days later.. the crosshairs fell out of position and eventually broke. For a $30 scope I'm not fussin' much but it shouldn't slide back like that no matter HOW tight you have it. I think that there should be a groove stop or something like that or have a raised mount instead of it being directly on the barrel. Oh, and a nut placement or other such method possible to mount a bi-pod would be nice. BUT that'd be tricky w/o compromising the gun's other qualities.

    What others should know: I know it varies per gun but the oddest thing is the type of round this thing is most accurate w/ consistently is your standard run of the mill flat heads. I've used all kinds of pointed tip pellets and they consistently veer off to 2'clock or 10. Now, granted, this could be how I'm holding it sitting in folding chair on the back deck off the railing but I can subsequently load a flat head pellet and hit a NRA rated 75' target maybe 4" diameter dead on at 60-75' way, easily. Also, I noticed while the owner's manual said not to shoot steel bb's in it, the diameter of them vs. the copper ones, well I didn't see a difference, and noticed that both are a real pain to load w/o them falling out when closing the barrel. I'll stick to the pellets.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By mark from USA on 2012-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the way it shoots it's smooth.

    Things I would have changed: I did not like the scope and the gun is not very accurate.

    What others should know: I think this is a g8 gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Emilio from USA on 2012-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The price and power of this rifle is very good. Cocking this rifle isn't that difficult but I would not recommend this rifle to any young shooters. It's powerful enough to take down crows and squirrels but anything larger than that isn't recommended without a definite heart or head shot. It's also fun for backyard plinking and target practice (with a proper scope) It is great for the price and I would definitely recommend this rifle to anyone interested in plinking and small game hunting.

    Things I would have changed: The scope.

    What others should know: A better scope is needed for more accurate shots but besides that, great rifle for the price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Troy from USA on 2012-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Bought this air rifle at a different retailer only because I had been given a gift card there. I get so much of my air rifle information from here I wanted to share the experience of my rifle in hopes it will help someone with their decision here. This rifle was purchased only because it was the only air rifle the retailer had in stock. Being very skeptical due to the price I was already biased to it being junk. Much to my surprise it is a gem! Very well balanced and limited vibration. I never mounted the factory scope due to reviews I had read. I had a Simmons Deerfield 4-12x40mm on a hunting rifle and decided to try it instead. Factory mounts are a fraction too short for the scope so I placed a shim below the tube both front and back. Needed very little to clear the top of the gun, I used the plastic from a shotgun shell to give the extra height. 15 pellets in I was zero'd firing 1/2" groups at 18 yds. Gamo round nose hunting pellets shot the best for me. 7.56 gr resting the rifle at its balance point, I made an "OK" sign with finger and thumb resting it on the back edge of my deck rail. With artillery hold and resting shooting hand thumb on the side of the stock at the base of my trigger finger I got the most consistent hold. A little more time with the trigger or maybe even an upgrade I'm very confident I can get 5/16" or better groupings at 18-20yds. Minor stock detail is the only thing making this different from a big cat so don't let the lack of reviews scare you.

    Things I would have changed: Add $25 to price and upgrade to a better scope since it is only offered in a package. It's an intro level spring piston and s double the value compared to cost. Any other changes would place it into a different class and would then most likely be a stock item at that point anyway.

    What others should know: Buy 5-6 types of pellets. Every rifle will like a type better than others. Heavier tends to work better in this power range. 10.5gr @ 850 fps still has more energy than PBA 5.4gr at 1150 fps and the weight lends to the accuracy. What good is speed if you miss the target? I shot through all the round nose pellets the first night having so much fun. I will try to upload a video review to show the results of the accuracy after the spring breaks in. Have fun and be safe.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2012-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well made for the price - (Made in Spain). Easy to sight in. Less then 40 pellets to sight in at 20yds for a nickel-to-quarter grouping.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Alex from USA on 2011-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I really like the power to the gun takes down rabbits and other small varmints with only one shot! this is actually my first pellet gun. I've even took this gun out on a rainy day its perfectly fine. I would recommend this gun to anyone!!

    Things I would have changed: The scope mount comes loose very easily for me, after about 20 shots you really need to tighten them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Zach H from USA on 2011-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Powerful rifle with excellent scope and shooting accuracy. The synthetic stock makes the rifle feel light yet durable and very well built.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Incredible deal for the money spent. Gamo has released a beauty with this gun. Powerful enough for small game hunting and yet not too much for a back yard shoot around.

Navigation