Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo SOCOM Extreme Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Seth from USA on 2009-10-28 13:53:14

    Things I liked:I've only fired about three shot with it and was surprised at the out of box accuracy. I'm a lefty when it comes to shooting rifles so I like the stock. I haven't gotten a chance to go shooting with it so I can"t give a fair review, but I can say that from what I have done with it I like it. I like the illuminated reticle scope, I think the package is awesome for the money. If for some reason you don't like the stock you can buy the wooden one from Gamo for about thirty-two dollars and you will have the other package for a fraction of the cost. Pyramydair may have the wooden stock for less. I've got three other Gamo rifles and a CO2 pistol, I bought a whisper for my younger brother and have shot them frequently and haven"t been disappointed my only complaint was I couldn"t keep a scope accurate on my shadow 1000. The open sights work well on it though
    Things I would have changed:The swell on the rear grip felt a little awkward to me but nothing I couldn"t get used to other people might not even notice it
    What others should know:There is no adjustable objective on the scope while that is no big deal to me others might want to take it into consideration
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Cookie D. from USA on 2011-07-15 08:25:06

    Things I liked:If I can ever get off 1st base with my problem below then I can answer this question.
    Things I would have changed:The product arrived to you from the manufacturer via UPS (I'm a UPS retiree), then it was overboxed and sent to me via FedEx. The packaging was compromised. The scope had fallen out of it's box and was loose in the rifle's box. The focus ring on the scope is extremely hard to turn. I know that the scope was made in China so I don't really know if the problem is a manufacturing issue or if the scope was actually damaged in transit. Does anyone check this stuff before it's sent to the customer?
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kellie from USA on 2012-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything! The power, the feel, the look. (i got the .22 cal) The cocking force needed isnt as bad as i thought, or as bad as everyone was making it out too be. Im very small, too, 24, 5'11, 150 lbs. Im plenty strong, but from what i was hearing i figured, i might get sore after awhile, but shot hundreds of rounds the first second and third day, no problem, just got easier and easier. The gun is VERY heavy, but again, i got used to it and now it feels really good, not heavy at all, except during extended free standing aiming. it gets heavy, but so doesnt anything after awhile of holding.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldnt let anyone send out another rifle without a scope in the box. I was very disappointed at this as i also got it christmas day only to have to go out and buy a hundred dollar scope, which im happy with and planned on replacing the scope anyway so its okay, but thats just not acceptable. Um, i would like to make it lighter but at the same time its okay because i feel like the power is in the weight and i love the power, recoil is so strong but again i wouldnt change it.
      What others should know:You NEED a one piece mount for the scope and the recoil screw MUST be screwed down all the way or the recoil will push the scope right off the back of the rail after quite a few shots if your not paying attention, but its not a problem with the one piece mount that comes with the scope, i just didnt receive my scope so i didnt have the one piece mount for the first week. you should also know how heavy it is, might make your arm or shoulder sore, either from caring on a sling or shooting. gamo sling works perfectly with the pistol grip and bull barrel by the way. I wouldnt be too concerned with the 58lbs of cocking effort needed if you feel strong enough because you'll easily get used to it with a little shooting, but it is surprising at first. I would definitely suggest the charlie da tuna GRT III trigger, as its incredible on its own, nevermind the fact the trigger pull on the the socom is really long and will fully mess with your accuracy. Also the gold is a very nice touch Otherwise that the rifle is definitely worth the money and takes some learning to get accurate and used to the weight and cocking but its SO worth it. I just wish i could shoot it all day but being winter its getting dark around 430
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By primo from USA on 2011-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have this rifle in .22 & .177 it's super hard to say which one I like best they both give me&my friends loads of fun. Imagine an air rifle that hits as hard as a firearm, and super inexpensive to feed. Both guns take a lot of practice to dominate,but once you get the hang of their sensitivities your going to be rocking. Both are heavy weights in relation to cocking but once you start pulverizing targets the effort won't matter. Hitting minute objects 1 x 1 inch at 30 or 40 yards with explosive power S.O.P.
      Things I would have changed:OH if they would have come with open sights then these guns would have been on the road to classics, such a pity
      What others should know:Gamo can make first rate guns , the finish and the design on these rifles is admirable.The socom extreme looks super I'm sure, like in my case it will garnish a respected place in any air gunners collection . I should have acquired them at Pyramyd .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JOSEPH from USA on 2011-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:What a gun! Its well balanced and has very very good power. I like the scope and how the gun feels when you shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is not to bad....... i replaced it with a grt111 from charliedatuna.com. made a incredible difference and my accuracy improved. Installation is the same as the quest 1000x.
      What others should know:If you want power this gun is it! The best pellets for accuracy is the copper coated FTS 8.80 grain, and the Crow Magnums from Beeman 8.80grain. Great gun! LOVE shooting it! Good practice for hunting season.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GREG from USA on 2011-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything.rifle,scope,accuracy and velocity.Me and my father shot around 50 rnds threw my gun.It took around 5 rnds to get it sighted in.After that we we're shooting 1 1/2"groups @ 40 yds.We used PBA platinum 9.7 grn,Gamo lead-free 14.4 grn,polymag 16 grn,h&n sport 21.14 grn,and Eunjin 28.5 grn.I sighted it in with gamo's leadfree 14.4 (my choice of the 5).All the pellets fired excellent.I just had to compensate for the weights.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING IT'S AWESOME!!!
      What others should know:The PBA platinum 9.7 sounds like a .22 going off.Not a backyard round.Some dont like the trigger,We had no problem with it,pulls like any other rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By GREG from USA on 2011-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just got the .22 extreme in the mail today.Pyramid was great and I plan on buying another rifle b4 the month ends for more savings...I have not shot this rifle yet but plan to in a few days "wknd". The rifle is everything I hoped.well built,stock is very tuff and durable,no imperfections.The molding and seams are clean and look great.The weight of the scope as well as the rifle feels nice and solid.The lighted reticle is sharp and clean,it's small and bright and is dead center on the crosshairs. i will update and give a review of how it operates and fires on nov. 19th.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-11-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good, very powerful gun. I have a Whisper VH in .177 before I got this Socom Extreme .22 and they shoot very similarly. The biggest difference is the cocking effort. You need decent upper body strength but it's more about angle than strength. Put the butt on your hip and learn to cock it with your left hand all the way at the end of the barrel and you'll be fine, even if you are not a gym rat.
      Things I would have changed:Included scope's objective is VERY close to the barrel when mounted properly. I'd say less than 1mm. Although I'd prefer a little more space (maybe 2mm), it doesn't seem to affect performance nor does it hit the barrel so OK I guess. Technically the closer you can get it to the barrel, the better, but I think this is a little TOO close.
      What others should know:I suppose if you run PBA's through it, they'd go supersonic and this rifle would be loud. I don't run the light stuff because by 20 yards, they have nothing left. Run a heavier 15 to 20 grain pellet and you'll be just under the speed of sound, the rifle won't be much louder than a whisper VH, and by 20 yards, you'll retain more energy than a PBA even at the lower speeds at the muzzle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MD from USA on 2011-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Awsome power when new, with the PBA. BUT fell off sharply in the next 200 rds. (-100fps). Very accurate right out of the box, with Premier Ultra mags 14.3g. I am only an average shooter, and I had no problem shooting threw a 1' hole in a metal plate at 30yds. The scope was cool, but fell apart, as well as a Centerpoint scope. Thank God for warranties. Pyramid Air replaced both free of charge. And both the replacements failed and was ultimately refunded fully. Now I am trying out the Walther.
      Things I would have changed: The bulbous pistol grip is obnoxious. Slim it down to a more resonable profile. Also make a open sight/sling system for the hunters.
      What others should know: Get the TOUGHEST scope possible, 2 guns ate 4 quality airgun scopes. The insides just can't take the brutal double recoil of this monster.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MD from USA on 2011-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awsome power when new. Accurate right out of the box with premier ultramags. 1" grouping at 30 yds.
      Things I would have changed:The bulbous pistols grip.
      What others should know:Rifle's power drops off quickly when the new wears off (200+ shots). And the recoil tends to eat scopes.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By BOB from USA on 2011-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like everything about this rifle. It's accurate and heavy duty! And powerful!! I use the Gamo Raptor Gold for target practice. This ammo with this gun seems to be a really good combination.
      Things I would have changed:I haven't found anything yet that I'd change.
      What others should know:In my opinion the instructions on mounting the scope are not clear. Be sure to tighten the recoil screw in the base of the scope mount!! I ruined the scope that came with the rifle because the instructions say to screw it in less than 1/4"! It slid back till the scope hit the rail and damaged the scope!! I replaced it with a BSA with the same specs AND TIGHTENED THE RECOIL SCREW and am very happy with it.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Cookie D. from USA on 2011-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:If I can ever get off 1st base with my problem below then I can answer this question.
      Things I would have changed:The product arrived to you from the manufacturer via UPS (I'm a UPS retiree), then it was overboxed and sent to me via FedEx. The packaging was compromised. The scope had fallen out of it's box and was loose in the rifle's box. The focus ring on the scope is extremely hard to turn. I know that the scope was made in China so I don't really know if the problem is a manufacturing issue or if the scope was actually damaged in transit. Does anyone check this stuff before it's sent to the customer?
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:superbly accurate airgun. for those who have a differing opinion...please research how to shoot an airgun (you don't shoulder it as firmly as a deer rifle)...as mine is dead-balls-on-accurate. scope is sweet too...i hope it last longer than all other reviews i have read...supposedly about a 200-250 shot max till reticle is trashed due to recoil? gun is a little heavy, but it that enhances its accuracy, so be it.
      Things I would have changed:weight of the gun, unless accuracy is in turn diminished. a rivet holding my barrel together has come loose already and only was noticed by me before it fell completely out because it got pinched as i was cocking the barrel.
      What others should know:def research how to shoot an airgun. i have read several reviews of people not finding accuracy from these guns. heavier pellets and a light hold on the gun. allow the recoil to happen.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2011-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the power this gun has very hard hitting and my gun is accurate. I can shoot groups about a dime size from 25ft. Be careful to double up whatever you use to stop the pellets especially non lead. This thing has some kick too. Well made gun for sure tight tolerances.
      Things I would have changed:The scope relief is awful shame because when you can dial your eye in its not bad. I put a barska on it and night and day difference. The weight of the gun is heavy and it can wobble if you have no rest. Also a tad hard to cock for smaller guys ,I am a big guy abd its not easy. But the rewards are worth it bigger bicep and hard hitting gun.
      What others should know:Air gunners should know this ain't no toy. My gun shoots through 1-1/2 pine boards with non lead pellets. Squirrels take dirt naps from much further away now. 50yards is possible. Get a good trigger and good scope and this thing is serious. Clean the barrel often for accuracy mines spot on.....
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Russell from USA on 2011-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful, hard-hitting, and accurate. The .22 drops groundhogs instantly with head shots within 30 yards (using Kodiak lead pellets). The scope is fairly decent and I see no need to upgrade. A lens cover was provided, and the scope came pre-mounted. The stock is great too. Overall it's a fantasic package for the money.
      Things I would have changed:The scope rings need to be a little higher because there's not enough clearance for a lens cover. I would also prefer a picatinny style rail for the optics.
      What others should know:Cocking takes a good deal of effort, but that's understood. There's a noticeable recoil which ought o be a good test for the scope's durability. Using alloy pellets, the report is close to a .22 rimfire, but sounds more like an "airgun" with lead pellets. Lead pellets shoot lower too, so if you plan to shoot alloy and lead you'll need to spend time documenting your dope for scope adjustments. And one last thing...it's heavy. Then again, so is my Remington 700 .308; so this airgun serves as a great training tool.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Russell from USA on 2011-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful and accurate. Nice stock and the trigger isn't as bad as I thought it would be. The scope is nice as well. The scope came mounted and maybe I was just lucky, but it was zeroed in as well.
      Things I would have changed:I'd replace the scope dovetail with a picatinny rail or at least have the ability to add one. Not much else to improve upon.
      What others should know:It's heavy & cocking requires a good deal of force, but that's understandable. The report is very close to that of a .22 rimfire using PBA pellets. With lead pellets the report more like an air rifle. At 25 yards, lead pellets impacted a few inches lower, but I was able to produce 1/2-inch groups shooting prone without a rest. If your looking for a good varmint air rifle, this is it. I took several groundhogs within 30 yards, dropping them in their tracks.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First of all, Pyramyd Air has great service and fast shipping. I like everthing about this rifle. I own several Gamo's and they dont compare to this rifle. I was worried due to reviews being mixed. Right out of the box I started shooting and zeroing the scope. WOW!!!. Very accurate and powerful. The scope was right on, the weight is perfect for me. I only have one arm and was worried about the 58 lbs to cock the rifle, not a problem. Simply AWESOME. Thank you Gamo.
      What others should know:The power is unreal. I have a large pellet trap with 1 inch plywood, a sheet of metal and 2x4's backing it. I used a 10 grain pellet and the pellet was blowing thru the back of the trap. Beware of anything beyond your target.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:EMPACT-77 THE LOOK AND THE FEEL this is a well made air gun many wood chucks heads will go back and to the left this spring dirt napps for all the back yard vermine
      Things I would have changed:the scope that comes with it is junk got rid of mine and replaced with a leapers 6x24 the trigger is hard and stiff keep it well oiled
      What others should know:this is no grilie mans air gun if you ever been to the beach and a guy kicked sand in your face this is not the air gun for you .You well need a good sling the PBA ROUNDS ARE NO GOOD FOR LONG RANGE
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carl from USA on 2011-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:On first purchasing this rifle, I thought the shots would be cracking on every shot. Standard lead pellets proved much quieter than expected. Using Gamo copper ammo, I was punching holes through 3/4" deckboard with ease! The accuracy is very good, and the power for price cannot be beat!
      Things I would have changed:The 'bull barrel' is threaded on, and can unscrew very easily. I don't know if that is a feature for cleaning or what, but having your barrel unscrew is not a very comforting thing. I might Loctite mine to prevent it from coming off unintended. IT doesn't seem to affect the accuracy though.
      What others should know:The gun is a bit on the heavy side, but it balances out fairly well while shooting. Hopefully gas piston tech will make rifles like this lighter and more practical in the future. It is a very good air arm, and I plan to get a LOT of use out of this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Great white hunter from USA on 2010-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The scope,the safety,and the power are the best I have ever had the privlage of owning.
      Things I would have changed:There is nothing I don't like.
      What others should know:With it's 11.9lb weight and heavy coking it is not for the weaker armed person.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the speed
      Things I would have changed:The rubber ring on the back of the scope falls off the first time I used it. Looks like the threads on it were cross threaded. This needs to be fixed because of the way it is cocked.
      What others should know:The trigger has a strange feel no matter how you have it set. I don't know if it is a spring gun trait.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By PETROS from USA on 2010-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:its unique design its beautiful and steady accuracy its great power its great combo price
      Things I would have changed:its noise
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top