Date: 29/9/2016 21:52
0

Gamo Whisper Silent Cat reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By john from USA on 2009-05-23 19:25:34

Things I liked: John from Alabama...I like everything about this air rifle. I have broke it in with Beeman Kodiak heavy .177 pellets,,,one inch groups at 25 yards. The feel is great,,,the rifle looks great,,,cocking and loading is very quick. The factory trigger is ok but a GRT III drop-in replacement is the secret to good tight groups. With the Beeman ammo I hear only the spring action when firing. For any distance shooting mount the scope. For the money this air rifle is Great.

Things I would have changed: I recommend changing the trigger to one made by CHARLIEDATUNA.COM,,,,the GRT III.....almost all rifles shoot better with a quality adjustable trigger

What others should know: PyramydAir has good prices and excellent service...I received my rifle in good condition....they are a good company to deal with

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Jay from USA on 2015-02-28 07:30:55

Things I liked: The weight, ease of cocking

Things I would have changed: The barrel definitely needs to be sturdier. After the fun has been sited in. The barrel actually flexes when the gun is cocked. The barrel does not return to the same position, there making you mis the target. Learn I say missy he target; Iean miss the complete target

What others should know: Pyramid was very nice and exchanged the gun for a more structurally doing gun that shoots straight. My advice:you get what you pay for...spend a few more dollars and you'll be much happier

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By glen from USA on 2016-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: After my home was robbed and my guns stolen, I decided to re-enter shooting with an air rifle. I still remember, shooting and hunting with a Crosman 760 as a kid in the late 1960's. The silent cat seemed like a reasonable first purchase. It's been an extremely pleasant experience. Good shooting at a very economical cost. I have been shooting at 30 yds. but I just shot 10 rounds at 50 yds. and managed to put 9 shots in a 2-1/2" circle. My brother is sending me a Benjamin Trail NP. I'm anxious to see how these gas piston rifles shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The scope, which is included, is worthless. I replaced the scope with a Hammers 3x9 AO.

    What others should know: The rifle is difficult to shoot. The double recoil, from the spring piston, is unforgiving. I use the "artillery hold" and I don't place my thumb in the pistol grip. I grasp the stock of the rifle as if there wasn't a pistol grip aperture. I'm having my best success with HN field target trophy pellets at 8.64 grs. At 30 yds. my best 5 shot grouping is just under 1". The rifle has potential. It's a big learning curve to shoot these spring piston rifles.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By james from USA on 2016-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The stock and thumb hole are great. Also very quiet and balanced well. Nice scope.

    Things I would have changed: The laser pointer is pretty worthless along with the flashlight. Also would be nice if you could use the iron sites along with the scope. This way you set them for different yardage.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rigoberto from USA on 2016-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excelentt !! air rifle !!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2016-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this gun five years ago, and since then have put over 10,000 pellets through it. At first I never thought that it would be this quiet, accurate, and consistent in it's fps. The fiber optic sights on this gun are very useful and accurate especially if you don't like the scope. Considering that it came with a crappy scope, I never realized the potential greatness of this gun; so instead I put on a Simmons 3-9x32 22 mag scope that my friend gave me. After that I started getting dime-sized groups at 12 yards ( the distance I shoot in my basement) with some RWS and H&N pellets. Soon after that I bought a chronograph and realized the consistency of every shot, each one with only a 0-5 fps difference between shots. This consistency is the biggest part of accuracy and will effect long shots the most. I've killed many animals with this gun including Eurasian Collard Doves, rabbits, and squirrels. Overall this airgun has the best quality for the price.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change would be the scope. Unfortunately, the scopes Gamo sends with it's great guns aren't that durable for the vibration that the gun expels. The recoil is opposite from a gun that shoots projectiles from a cartridge, this is because the spring piston is reacting forward and sends the gun forward then backward. Therefore the recoil is twice the amount of a regular gun, and the scope it comes with can't handle that, so they break real easily.

    What others should know: This airgun will perform great if it's put in the right hands. If somebody that has never shot an airgun before buys this, and complains that their accuracy is bad, their may be a user-error. Make sure that you know how to operate an airgun before you buy one, so you can expect the durability, accuracy, and consistency it is capable of.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By albert from USA on 2016-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: what you get for the price of this gun is great. Backyard friendly and accurage.

    Things I would have changed: The scope can be dropped completely and make it 10 bucks cheaper

    What others should know: I put a Burris scope on it to really test its accuracy and was able to hit nickle size groups at 20 yards. Found that RWS superdomes and JSB pellets work extremely well with this riffle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By David from USA on 2015-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: light, comfortable, like the trigger

    Things I would have changed: needs auto safe to engage when cocked

    What others should know: not as quiet as advertized

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Edward from USA on 2015-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light will not scratch or dent in the woods. Good for messing around in the yard.

    Things I would have changed: Scope should not come with it.

    What others should know: Scope was only good out to about 15 yards after that is shot all over the place. I can shoot with open sights out to 35 yards. Not as good as my RWS Diana's but a good back yard beater.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy to cock, very accurate. Once sited in, was hitting bullseye consistently. My targets are on a 1/4 inch thick plywood, pellets going clean through at 30 yards. I imagine it would do the same at 40 or even 50 yards.

    Things I would have changed: For the money, not nothing.

    What others should know: Far from "whisper" or "silent", the thing is as loud as a .22. First shot out of the box scared the crap out of me. Was NOT expecting it to be as loud as it was. To get the most out of the gun, highly recommend NON-LEAD pellets.....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2015-03-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the looks , weight and low noise when shot

    Things I would have changed: Make the slot where your thumb goes through a little larger

    What others should know: very powerful gun,never forget safety .

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jay from USA on 2015-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight, ease of cocking

    Things I would have changed: The barrel definitely needs to be sturdier. After the fun has been sited in. The barrel actually flexes when the gun is cocked. The barrel does not return to the same position, there making you mis the target. Learn I say missy he target; Iean miss the complete target

    What others should know: Pyramid was very nice and exchanged the gun for a more structurally doing gun that shoots straight. My advice:you get what you pay for...spend a few more dollars and you'll be much happier

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By JimPysht from USA on 2015-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Surprising that this 'plain old springer' is really this good. Amazingly, it didn't destroy the (included) scope like the Bone Collector did. Took me 3 other Nitro-System rifles to find this out.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fernando from USA on 2015-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excelent rifle. Work very well with hallow point pellets 7.5gm & hiper velocity 5.9 gm, but is really letal with Gamo Pro Magnum Extreme Accuracy 7.8 gm. Dome with big iguanas over 250 fts. Try also Rabbit Magnum Power pellets 16.05 gm. Work like a .25rifle. That's others level experience.

    Things I would have changed: The scope 4x32 is not for this powerfull rifle. I'm use a 3-9 x 40AOL WITH mil-dot, but I think a 4-16 x 50 AOL or 6-20 x 50AOL mil-dot is the better to this rifle.

    What others should know: Is very important 3 in one oil treatment and use the gun cleaning kit every 500 shots to reduce pellets friction and corrosion.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2015-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Likes. . .light weight, easy cocking, quieter than most, accurate with right pellet, decent trigger, nice feel & easy handling, good looking rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Scope upgrade.

    What others should know: Very 1st. air rifle, purchased a year ago. This one started it all and 14 air rifles later, still one of my favorites. Pleasure to shoot. Scope upgrade to a 4-12x40. Looks and performs to perfection. Very pleased with performance. . .good groups @ 10-20-30-40-50 yards. Added laser/light combo for enhanced capabilities, appearance and shooting experience. Nice rife for beginner - experienced.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Karen from USA on 2014-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This was my first gun and overall i love it. the day i got it i sighted it in at 20 yards and it shot ok. After about 6 months of having it, i replaced the scope and got some great JSB express pellets and it shot quarter groups at 30 yards. That was after about a 1250+ shot break in. the scope i replaced the gamo scope with is a centerpoint 3-9x32 mil-dot scope.

    Things I would have changed: the bundled scope is kind of a wash and i would include a gamo gun biddy sling

    What others should know: This gun is a gun and it shoots very well after you find what pellet it likes, you upgrade the optics, and you break it in.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Karen from USA on 2014-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The cocking mechanism is very smooth. The stock is very nice and light, i have carried it for 3 mile walks so it has to be very light.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger and scope and scope rings. I think the trigger should be changed to Gamo's SAT trigger and its sales would explode. The scope is ok quality but it could use an upgrade right away. The scope rings didn't come with a recoil pin. This gun needs them

    What others should know: You need to do some upgrading as soon as you receive this rifle. Also this gun is VERY pellet picky, so you'll need to do some pellet testing and try some pellet samplers.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2014-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: This beast is a tack driver! A little background on me, I am a retired USArmy shooting instructor, I have extensive range time, and logged (who knows how many hours behind a trigger) and this gun, for as little as I paid is flawlessly accurate! I have a range set up at 10m, 20m, and 50m. I sighted the stock scope in at 10m using redfire gamo rounds (had to adjust the reticle for clarity)and it sighted in perfectly within 2 shots. I did however swap scopes for a more powerful adjustable once i learned how accurate this weapon was down range. With my swapped scope (a mediocre 3-9x40 mildot) At 10m I shot a 5 shot grouping within a 1/2" 3 of which were same hole shots. I stepped a new target off to 20m using the same redfire rounds i upped the grouping to 5 shots within 3/4" with variable 5-7mph winds. My curiosity and amazement sent my target out to 50m! Yes 50m, where I shot the 1" orange center out of my target with 5 more rounds and zero strays. I am absolutely AMAZED! This was all done from the prone stance using sadbags for relief.

    Things I would have changed: out of the box the iron sight was loose, but with the turn of a hex key this was remedied. I would love to see a bi-pod made for these weapons that is stock-mounted instead of the barrel pincher type. Lastly, the thumbhole has a seam in the molding that wears a blister after a few hundred rounds (i took some 500grit paper to mine and fixed it in under a minute) all in all for 150$ I am not complaining for a minute over this premium plinker! I recommend Mil-Dot scope in the future to allow a shooter to use various gamo rounds without the need for doping the scope to each round, on a dotted reticle we could just count our MOA dots to compensate for lighter rounds. Example: the redfire being sighted dead on the crosshairs, if I switch to PBA I have to aim 3MOA left and 2MOA high.

    What others should know: I see a couple reviews about this gun where people say "its inaccurate" or "the scope sucks" etc.. It begs me to question the accuracy, as stated above, I am a trained shooter and at 50m am putting 5 shot groups in a 1" pattern.. I am aware that machines can have defects from time to time but lets face it: could this be from the operator not knowing what he/she is doing?? The scope swap was done on my part not for lack of accuracy, rather I prefer mil-dot as this is what I was trained with, and prefer adjustable for long range shooting. In closing, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED with this purchase. Even months later this gun continues to amaze me! It is hands down, one of my favorites.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle looks awesome!

    Things I would have changed: The scope is garbage and the iron sights are mis-aligned right out of the box. The sights are so bad that, even though I adjusted them completely to the right, I still had to aim right of the target. At first I thought the scope would help but it seems the scope rattles internally between shots so that every shot is a different aiming point. The scope was tight and not physically moving, so it must have been moving internally. I figured I would use the iron sights, but as I already mentioned, they are not good either.

    What others should know: Four important things about this rifle: 1). The rifle is too loud for backyard use. It advertises that it emits less than half the noise of a non-suppressed rifle, but mine was not. It was just too noisy for pest control In my neighborhood. I shot about three hundred rounds through it and it never quieted down. 2) as stated above, the scope and iron sights are bad. It was impossible to get it zeroed. 3). As other have stated, the trigger is rough but can be upgraded for an extra expense...and 4). Pyramid air is awesome! I called and made arrangements to refund my air rifle because of the aforementioned issues. They were awesome! I will definitely do business with them in the future. I will save some $ and buy a better one next time.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jun from USA on 2013-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the weight, very light and easy to shoot. Shoots very well off hand. I like the optical fiber open sights.

    Things I would have changed: I would like a better scope. I'd rather pay for a better scope in the initial price instead of having to buy a new scope. I uninstalled the scope and am shooting it with the open sights which are excellent.

    What others should know: Not the easiest to cock. At least at first, now it is getting easier to cock. Maybe because of the shortness of the barrel. It is fast to bring up and get on squirrels.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2013-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: My very first pellet rifle. Bought it second hand about a month ago and was blown away by the power as I had only shot the pump style BB guns in the past. This is the rifle that started my air rifle addiction

    Things I would have changed: Had no idea how crappy the scope was until I got my new Umarex Octane. I bought a really nice Leapers Accushot for my Octane, so I put the Octane's old scope on my Silent cat. The Octane's scope is ten times better than the Gamo scope!

    What others should know: Quiet, easy to cock, powerful, accurate when you put a quality scope on it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By SpiceMan from USA on 2013-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This was my first airgun ever. Great Beginner. Nice price. I like the high velocity when shot with PBA ammo.

    Things I would have changed: After a lot of use, your arm will get tired of the 40+ pound cocking effort to break the barrel.

    What others should know: The front sight gets in the way of the scope supplied. Otherwise, try lots of different types of ammo to find what works best when breaking it in.... and it will need the be broken in. After 500- 800 rounds you'll get it tuned.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation