Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Whisper Silent Cat reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By john from USA on 2009-05-23 19:25:34

    Things I liked:John from Alabama...I like everything about this air rifle. I have broke it in with Beeman Kodiak heavy .177 pellets,,,one inch groups at 25 yards. The feel is great,,,the rifle looks great,,,cocking and loading is very quick. The factory trigger is ok but a GRT III drop-in replacement is the secret to good tight groups. With the Beeman ammo I hear only the spring action when firing. For any distance shooting mount the scope. For the money this air rifle is Great.
    Things I would have changed:I recommend changing the trigger to one made by CHARLIEDATUNA.COM,,,,the GRT III.....almost all rifles shoot better with a quality adjustable trigger
    What others should know:PyramydAir has good prices and excellent service...I received my rifle in good condition....they are a good company to deal with
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Daryl from USA on 2012-07-24 20:12:51

    Things I liked:The gun has good power. Stock is unique and usable.
    Things I would have changed:I purchased this gun for my son age 13 who just earned his rifle merit badge in boy scouts. He opted for an air rifle vs a .22 because he would be able to shoot more freely in our back yard. He sighted the gun in with the barrel sight and informed me that they were adjusted all the way to one side. When I looked for myself sure enough it seems that when th gun was so poorly manufactured the sights were not installed on the center of the barrel. To top it off there is alot of lateral play in the rear sight. There is no way you could count on using it accuratly. The scope is ok but very unforgiving when tring to get a good sight picture. The slightest movement of your head and you loose the picture.
    What others should know:I have owned a gammo rifle of my own for 15 years and it is by far more stable and accurate than this one.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Karen from USA on 2014-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This was my first gun and overall i love it. the day i got it i sighted it in at 20 yards and it shot ok. After about 6 months of having it, i replaced the scope and got some great JSB express pellets and it shot quarter groups at 30 yards. That was after about a 1250+ shot break in. the scope i replaced the gamo scope with is a centerpoint 3-9x32 mil-dot scope.
      Things I would have changed:the bundled scope is kind of a wash and i would include a gamo gun biddy sling
      What others should know:This gun is a gun and it shoots very well after you find what pellet it likes, you upgrade the optics, and you break it in.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Karen from USA on 2014-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The cocking mechanism is very smooth. The stock is very nice and light, i have carried it for 3 mile walks so it has to be very light.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger and scope and scope rings. I think the trigger should be changed to Gamo's SAT trigger and its sales would explode. The scope is ok quality but it could use an upgrade right away. The scope rings didn't come with a recoil pin. This gun needs them
      What others should know:You need to do some upgrading as soon as you receive this rifle. Also this gun is VERY pellet picky, so you'll need to do some pellet testing and try some pellet samplers.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2014-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This beast is a tack driver! A little background on me, I am a retired USArmy shooting instructor, I have extensive range time, and logged (who knows how many hours behind a trigger) and this gun, for as little as I paid is flawlessly accurate! I have a range set up at 10m, 20m, and 50m. I sighted the stock scope in at 10m using redfire gamo rounds (had to adjust the reticle for clarity)and it sighted in perfectly within 2 shots. I did however swap scopes for a more powerful adjustable once i learned how accurate this weapon was down range. With my swapped scope (a mediocre 3-9x40 mildot) At 10m I shot a 5 shot grouping within a 1/2" 3 of which were same hole shots. I stepped a new target off to 20m using the same redfire rounds i upped the grouping to 5 shots within 3/4" with variable 5-7mph winds. My curiosity and amazement sent my target out to 50m! Yes 50m, where I shot the 1" orange center out of my target with 5 more rounds and zero strays. I am absolutely AMAZED! This was all done from the prone stance using sadbags for relief.
      Things I would have changed:out of the box the iron sight was loose, but with the turn of a hex key this was remedied. I would love to see a bi-pod made for these weapons that is stock-mounted instead of the barrel pincher type. Lastly, the thumbhole has a seam in the molding that wears a blister after a few hundred rounds (i took some 500grit paper to mine and fixed it in under a minute) all in all for 150$ I am not complaining for a minute over this premium plinker! I recommend Mil-Dot scope in the future to allow a shooter to use various gamo rounds without the need for doping the scope to each round, on a dotted reticle we could just count our MOA dots to compensate for lighter rounds. Example: the redfire being sighted dead on the crosshairs, if I switch to PBA I have to aim 3MOA left and 2MOA high.
      What others should know:I see a couple reviews about this gun where people say "its inaccurate" or "the scope sucks" etc.. It begs me to question the accuracy, as stated above, I am a trained shooter and at 50m am putting 5 shot groups in a 1" pattern.. I am aware that machines can have defects from time to time but lets face it: could this be from the operator not knowing what he/she is doing?? The scope swap was done on my part not for lack of accuracy, rather I prefer mil-dot as this is what I was trained with, and prefer adjustable for long range shooting. In closing, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED with this purchase. Even months later this gun continues to amaze me! It is hands down, one of my favorites.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle looks awesome!
      Things I would have changed:The scope is garbage and the iron sights are mis-aligned right out of the box. The sights are so bad that, even though I adjusted them completely to the right, I still had to aim right of the target. At first I thought the scope would help but it seems the scope rattles internally between shots so that every shot is a different aiming point. The scope was tight and not physically moving, so it must have been moving internally. I figured I would use the iron sights, but as I already mentioned, they are not good either.
      What others should know:Four important things about this rifle: 1). The rifle is too loud for backyard use. It advertises that it emits less than half the noise of a non-suppressed rifle, but mine was not. It was just too noisy for pest control In my neighborhood. I shot about three hundred rounds through it and it never quieted down. 2) as stated above, the scope and iron sights are bad. It was impossible to get it zeroed. 3). As other have stated, the trigger is rough but can be upgraded for an extra expense...and 4). Pyramid air is awesome! I called and made arrangements to refund my air rifle because of the aforementioned issues. They were awesome! I will definitely do business with them in the future. I will save some $ and buy a better one next time.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jun from USA on 2013-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight, very light and easy to shoot. Shoots very well off hand. I like the optical fiber open sights.
      Things I would have changed:I would like a better scope. I'd rather pay for a better scope in the initial price instead of having to buy a new scope. I uninstalled the scope and am shooting it with the open sights which are excellent.
      What others should know:Not the easiest to cock. At least at first, now it is getting easier to cock. Maybe because of the shortness of the barrel. It is fast to bring up and get on squirrels.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2013-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My very first pellet rifle. Bought it second hand about a month ago and was blown away by the power as I had only shot the pump style BB guns in the past. This is the rifle that started my air rifle addiction
      Things I would have changed:Had no idea how crappy the scope was until I got my new Umarex Octane. I bought a really nice Leapers Accushot for my Octane, so I put the Octane's old scope on my Silent cat. The Octane's scope is ten times better than the Gamo scope!
      What others should know:Quiet, easy to cock, powerful, accurate when you put a quality scope on it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By SpiceMan from USA on 2013-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This was my first airgun ever. Great Beginner. Nice price. I like the high velocity when shot with PBA ammo.
      Things I would have changed:After a lot of use, your arm will get tired of the 40+ pound cocking effort to break the barrel.
      What others should know:The front sight gets in the way of the scope supplied. Otherwise, try lots of different types of ammo to find what works best when breaking it in.... and it will need the be broken in. After 500- 800 rounds you'll get it tuned.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By weldon from USA on 2013-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It took about 300 shots to "shoot in" but now it is very accurate with 1/2"-3/4" groups (cloverleafs) at 33" the standard shooting Gamo Rockets. Seems to have little recoil for a springer and it is fairly well made for the price. Easy to cock and locks up tight plus the chamber is well machined and makes for easy loading.
      Things I would have changed:The stock needs a bigger thumbhole for my hand and the rifle is a tad light for me (large adult). Not all that quiet even with the surpressor and alloy pellets sound like a .22 short. Dump the cheap scope and take $25-$30 off the price. I would give it a 5 * rating overall but the stock needs to be beefed up and the thumbhole enlarged. The trigger is only fair and I can get used to it (long pull) but maybe a Charlie De Tuna might be in order. Plus the "Ghost" image of the front sight through the scope made me have to get a higher mount (1 1/2")to get rid of it.
      What others should know:It took alot of shooting to get this rifle slicked up to where it was accurate as right out of the box it was very poor. I should have cleaned out the barrel to get rid of the goop inside first thing. I installed a Centerpoint 3 X 9 X 40 scope and my accuracy with the rifle really improved although the scope that comes with it seems to work it is cheap and not shooter friendly. I also had to get a one piece 1 1/2" high scope mount to get rid of the "Ghost" image of the front sight through the scope. This is a powerful .177 springer and I can blow a hole through and through a #10 can with ease.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By kris from USA on 2013-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the overall look of the gun and the accuracy.very good for a first gun.
      Things I would have changed:I would put a better scope on the rifle.
      What others should know:If you put a better scope on the rifle you can hit your target at 20 to 45 yards
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jeffrey from USA on 2013-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is the best break-barrel gun ive owned! I prefer this over my gamo big cat .22! I was hitting a liter bottle at 65 yards every time! Drop the included scope and go open sight because thats what i used to hit those bottles. If you are looking for a deadly accurate air rifle, buy one of these. READ THIS PART!!!!!!!!!!!! The pellets i use to get this accuracy are very cheap. I get crosman .177 pointed pellets. Thats all! Dont waste your money on expensive pellets. These ARE the best pellets ive shot out of this gun.
      Things I would have changed:I would not change anything about this gun except for the price, it should be higher!!!!!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet gun, little recoil, easy to cock, fairly accurate, and I like the true glow sights
      Things I would have changed:Really needs a sight stop, I've never been able to keep a scope accurate in my 2+ years of ownership, and it's the most ergonomic
      What others should know:Not a bad gun overall, but I think there are better guns on the market for the money
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:lightweight powerful accurate
      Things I would have changed:scope took it off prefer to use the open sights
      What others should know:I have a gamo hornet as well as the gamo silent cat great guns gamo all the way
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice fitting stock, manual sights and scope, power
      Things I would have changed:add rubber to stock to enhance grip
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Doug from USA on 2012-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice fit good style, light weight
      Things I would have changed:Less vibrations, went to a local store put one of those rubber barrel rings on it, helped quite a bit. Better check pad
      What others should know:Very accurate if use same ammo, very loud if use pba ammo, not sure what all the fuss is about the scope, have shot one can of 250 pellets plus some of the other on market, scope is still tight and right on the mark, have declared total war on all these dang yard rats (squirrels) 30-40 yrds no problem
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Luis from USA on 2012-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am not a shooter, I was debating getting a .22 rimfire and start shooting at my local range when I decided to get an airgun and practice first. I therefore don't big range of experience to pull from other than the shots taken as part of a conceal weapons permit class I took. I like this Silent Cat simply because I was able to nail nice groups in quarter size groups at 20 yards right out of the box after watching the whole Airgun Academy video series. Next, I loaded up the platinum pellets from the package and improved that to groups in nickel size at the same 20 yards. These caught me by surprise with their loud reports. I like the iron sights and so far they have not wandered after 50 or so shots. I intend to tighten in short order to avoid drift. I am not bothering with the scope and instead worked with Justin here finding a good replacement scope. I will update later.
      Things I would have changed:I trust what most have said about the scope so, have opted to forgo installation and wait instead on a UTG scope. The trigger is also a bit of a challenge although I must say I developed a technique whereby I pull on secondary to a point just shy of the fire point and simply pull back the couple of millimeters left to fire: quickly and firmly and as squarely as possible. So far, so good. Nonetheless I have ordered the plastic trigger replacement for Charleythetuna and we will see if I can improve on the wonderful accuracy I am achieving thus far.
      What others should know:I had zero experience and still managed to achieve pretty incredible results at 20 yards right out of the box. So, this is a very viable machine for the beginner. Find the sweetspot on your trigger while maintaining focus on your target and it will come together somehow. Althought the PBA ammo beat the wad cutters, they are LOUD and it pretty much sounds like you are shooting a firearm. So, be warned.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2012-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power is good, the accuracy is good when you replace the scope. Well built internals.
      Things I would have changed:The sights on it are garbage! The trigger is eh. And its very loud for the first couple shots.
      What others should know:It doesn't like pba ammo, don't use it! Mine broke after I put 50more pba platinum rounds through it after I put thousands of regular rounds in it. It really likes h&n copper plated pellets too ;)
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ejbpesca from USA on 2012-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, accurate, smooth trigger, bright neon sights, sound suppressor for 1200 ft. per second ammo, nice feel all around.
      Things I would have changed:To sight this gun in I had to send the rear sight completely to the left. This makes sighting a bit difficult with the windage so far over. The scope shipped with mine is useless. It is so fogged over internally I can't see through it.
      What others should know:I gave away my old Eurolux that weighed in at 10 lbs. for this light gun that hits harder than my old one. At less than six pounds I guess they don't come much lighter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pepa from USA on 2012-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely powerful, very good out-of-box accuracy. The sights are very nice.
      Things I would have changed:Recoil is hard but it is more realisic to a real rifle.
      What others should know:Gamo fixed the problem of the scope sliding back with the recoil by putting a plastic pin to align into the gun with the scope.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Tanner from USA on 2012-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:light wieght,pretty quiet,accurate,and alot of power
      Things I would have changed:scope isnt that good it took forever to zero it in
      What others should know:scope isnt good but overall its a good gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chris from USA on 2012-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great gun!!
      Things I would have changed:nothing
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top