Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Silent Stalker IGT Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By rocco from USA on 2012-02-27 14:52:35

    Things I liked:accurate,powerful knockdown power,stealth shooting.
    Things I would have changed:scope , but it does work
    What others should know:i put a leapers 4 x 12 x 50 mm scope on this and i use jsb exact 8.44 grain pellets. grouping quarter to dime size groups at 30 yds and half dollar size groups at 80 yds !!! lotta power here compared to my big cat 1200 springer.this rifle is no joke...good job Gamo.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Richard from USA on 2012-12-16 14:42:45

    Things I liked:Nothing -- the rifle was NOT operable out of the box.
    Things I would have changed:Poor quality control. Rifle was DOA out of the box. Would not cock even though it had a "quality control" sticker right on the stock at the hinge point.Obviously something wrong at the Gamo manufacturing plant.
    What others should know:Pyramid Air refunded the purchase with no hassles. I purchased a Crossman Nitro Venom from another vendor. Excellent gun, much higher quality - I will not attempt to purchase Gamo again.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gerald from USA on 2013-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:balance, and ease of loading, cocking as expect
      Things I would have changed:Every review I read, this the scope is not worth putting on your gun. If you shoot at 10 yards it fine, but if you would like to shoot at greater distances buy a better scope. Watch videos on what scope fits your needs.
      What others should know:@When I took this gun out of the box, I;m glad I was in a barn so I could hit the side. I have shoot rifles in competition and all the barrels are crown. The Gamo was not it was rough at end of bore with burrs in barrel. I crowned the barrel a little to remove burrs and put a small bevel at end of bore, now at 20 yards with a 7.8gr pellet you are looking at less 1/2 inch with 10 shots this is acceptable in my book. This is my first experience with a air rifle, maybe if I had spent more money on a rifle it would =have shoot good out of box.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By VIJAYANT from India on 2013-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have the .177 version Silent, accurate and a nice rifle @ the selling tag it has. Wont rate it as very powerful but packs a good punch in grains up to 10 grains....It likes the dome pellets and especially gamo rocket
      Things I would have changed:Scope - definitely, GAMO Scope is not all that good for longer ranges,
      What others should know:Does not work accurate at all with pellets of grains above 12 or so. Tried rabbit magnum and JSB exact but way off target. Gun does not like the PBA pellets at all
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Zack from USA on 2013-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look and the power
      Things I would have changed:Better scope rings and action
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Kubie from USA on 2013-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, noise level(as in fairly quiet), and feel.
      Things I would have changed:Scope rings are not good, scope is fair but could be better, and I would love iron sights. The inability for the rings to hold the scope steady took the accuracy from 5 to 3 as when zeroed it hits dead on for about 10 shots then starts moving about.
      What others should know:I love the rifle, .22 cal has incredible power and the IGT piston is easy to cock and shoot smooth. Not near the movement as a spring gun while firing. I got it for squirrel control as the little rats were trashing my attic. Notice the were? At 20 yards you can put a pellet in one ear and it is still moving right along as it comes out the other. I wish the scope rings were better, my point of aim keeps moving and I am 90% sure it is the rings. I have them cranked down and locktited but still can not keep a zero over 10 or so shots. I am going to invest in a good solid one piece mount and see what happens. The scope seems okay, I will know once I get the ring issue solved. It has decent light gathering, and when I have it zeroed It shoots about a half inch group at 20 or so yards. Not bad for my old eyes. Would think this rifle deserves a 40mm lens for even more light gathering and sharpness but the 4 power is about right. I will replace it with a 4X40mm center point if I can not get the zero to stay put. Bottom line, for the money I do not think you can beat it for pest control in an urban setting. I have dropped 7-8 tree rats so far without a single neighbor noticing the shots.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Christophe from USA on 2013-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price point was right. I like the no-nonsense material used in the butt and stock. Really powerful and accurate with higher end pellets.
      Things I would have changed:The scope that comes with the rifle is adequate for the short haul, but it might be a good move to offer a higher end scope for an extra twenty or thirty dollars on the rifle. I would have a feature for a sling.
      What others should know:This is an overall really big bang for the buck. The rifle, with the right scope, is a formidable hunting rifle up to forty yards. This rifle is good for entry level and for more advanced shooters looking for a very affordable rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kubie from USA on 2013-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I love the easy and smooth cocking action. The feel of this rifle is also a winner. Feels like a "real" gun, not a cheap toy like some airguns I have used. I am using medium weight pellets and the accuracy is dime sized with the factory scope at my 15 yard indoor range. It makes short work of tree rats at double that range going in one ear and out the other so to speak. Not competition grade accuracy but more than sufficient for removing unwanted pests at practical ranges. Quiet enough for in town use if you are careful about it.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is not as bad as some claim however with this quality of rifle I would like to see a 40mm objective on a slightly better scope with MUCH better rings. The added light gathering capability of the larger scope would be sweet. I am okay with the 4x magnification, use the same thing on my .22 rifle and never felt under scoped. But those rings gotta go they are just not up to the job.
      What others should know:Bolt the scope up (with better rings preferably) and shoot 50 to 100 shots then tighten it up and go through sighting it in all over. Since I have done that I am quite happy with the over all accuracy. Do not forget to tighten up all the screws on the rifle as well. I did have a rattle in the stock on delivery. Pulled the recoil pad off, 2 screws, and dumped out an unused washer. Problem solved and as far as I can tell it was not a part of the rifle, just dropped in during assembly.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Christophe from USA on 2013-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good price point for the more frugal gun shopper, while not skimping on the features of the higher end rifles. A solid gun with surprising power and accuracy (with the right scope). Very highly recommended.
      Things I would have changed:I would say that fixed post sights would be nice for those who choose to hunt in lower light. Not much needs improving on this solidly built rifle.
      What others should know:It is strongly suggested that one change out the scope, even though the scope that the rifle comes with is not too bad as temporary scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gordon from USA on 2013-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price was great. Arrived quickly. Shoots accurately. Overall seems like a nice gun and should do everything I need it to do.
      Things I would have changed:Webpage states SAT trigger. I don't believe the .22 version comes with SAT. Waiting for an answer from both Pyramid Air and GAMO. Scope is OK so far. Time will tell whether I have the same problems with drift as others have.
      What others should know:This is my first air rifle so I don't really have much to compare it to. Mounted the scope and sighted in the rifle as good as I could - weather here in Northern WI is too cold this time of year. Took about 15-20 shots and I was grouping about 1" at 60 feet. The next day a bunny wondered into the yard. 1 shot and had bunny for dinner. The shrubs and gardens will be safe this year.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2013-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle was and is everything I expected it to be. I was a bit surprised by others review about the scope being sub par as I found it very adequate. It is very powerful and not quiet, quiet for what it is but again not quiet. I would recommend this to any adult wanting a high end mid level air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Gamo should fine a way to pre-mount the scope and zero it, as this process takes some effort and time.
      What others should know:This is NOT an indoor rifle, very suitable for hunting small game and long range target practice. PBA Platinum will crack very similar to a 22lr firearm.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Samson M. from USA on 2013-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy,power and the finish on the gun is well made.
      Things I would have changed:Basically nothing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Larry from USA on 2013-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Hard hitting. Shoot through 1" boards. High quality. Much better than the crosman that I had.
      Things I would have changed:Put a better scope on it or don't include one.
      What others should know:I put a Leapers 4 X 32 scope on mine. I wish I would have put 3 - 9 X 32 on it. I am using crosman hollow points. They are shooting great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2013-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is everything it is acclaimed to be. Very powerful, in first tests blows right through 1/2" particle board, had to put 1" solid behind that to keep it contained. Still getting scope sighted in, but very close and seems to hold true.. Over all awesome gun very worth the $150.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, maybe the stock to the other Gamo offering of the stock that comes on the Whisper models, which has a thumb hole that emulates a pistol type grip with rifle stock.
      What others should know:Just buy and try, you will not be disappointed, bear in mind you must mount and sight in scope, takes time and effort but well worth it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By James from USA on 2013-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:powerful gun for a good price
      Things I would have changed:it would be nice if accuracy were a little better
      What others should know:overall good for the money
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Richard from USA on 2012-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nothing -- the rifle was NOT operable out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:Poor quality control. Rifle was DOA out of the box. Would not cock even though it had a "quality control" sticker right on the stock at the hinge point.Obviously something wrong at the Gamo manufacturing plant.
      What others should know:Pyramid Air refunded the purchase with no hassles. I purchased a Crossman Nitro Venom from another vendor. Excellent gun, much higher quality - I will not attempt to purchase Gamo again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By terry from USA on 2012-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:this is a great rifle for the money. Accurate,and very powerful.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is junk, like other reviews, will not hold horizontal. I replaced mine with a Leapers 4x32 a/o. Awesome scope.
      What others should know:Like other reviews you need to loc-tite the screws, the 2 on the forend, and the one on the rear trigger guard. My rifle likes the heavier pellets. I use it for pest control (squirels) The Beeman Kodiak HPs work extremly well. I can shoot a half doller groupe at 25 yds without a bench rest. Thats pretty good for a 63 yr. old. Nerves arn't quite as steady as they used to be. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great hunting air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By terry from USA on 2012-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful and accurate. Well made good ,quality compared to the other guns I looked at.
      Things I would have changed:The scope it takes a bunch of pellets to get it sighted in loc~tite all the scope screws. Once sighted in works good.
      What others should know:I love this rifle. It seems to like the heavier pellets. I found the crosman premier ultra magnums worked the best.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By EC from USA on 2012-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Bought both the .22 and .177 versions 4 months ago - the .22 is a tack-driver right out of the box with dime or smaller @50 yds (artillery hold) using pellets from 9.7 gr. up to 22 gr. - I like its performance with the 13-14.5 gr range pellets. It needed minimal setup work (Locktited the screws, no other adjustment besides replacing the Gamo 4X scope). Can't say the same for the .177 version: even after restorquing the screws with Locktite, checking and reseating the action in the stock, and replacing the scope it still shoots all over the place - over 3" at only 10 yds, and not much improvement after trying 8 different pellet types, and 4.7gr to 10gr weights. I got down to 1.5" groups from a bench rest with Crosman 7.9 hollow points, but when hand held (artillery hold or hand grip, no difference) I still had 3" groups, but grouped 5" off-center! Shifting the support hand forward or backwards an inch or so just moved the general point of impact around and did not improve groupings.
      Things I would have changed:Gamo's 4x scopes on these were very disappointing - I also had scope stability/drift issues after sighting in, even after using Locktite on all the mounting screws. I replaced the Gamo scopes with 1 Leapers Golden Image and 1 BugBusters 3X9 AO scopes - it reduced the eye strain, they seemed to be brighter optically, and I haven't needed to resight or realign either of them. I prefer the thinner mil-dot of the Golden image to the thicker BugBusters mil dot, and might get around to putting it on the .22 tack driver one fo these days! Hello, Gamo: your hi-power gas pistons (and springers) need better scopes - at least 3X9s, and preferably 4X12s for the longer range hunters!
      What others should know:After around 500 rounds, the .22 groups are slightly tighter; after around 750 rounds the .177 isn't showing any improvement in group size. I own 2 Beemans and another Gamo (NRA version 1000 fps springer), and they all outshoot this particular .177. ue to bad midwest spring weather, didn't get to seriously shoot these new ones on a measured range until around 2 months after purchase, so I was beyond the Pyramyd 30-day return period so I did not try to contact them to see if this .177 was just a sub-optimal fluke or not. Other than this particular one, I've had very good experiences with my Gamos.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2012-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall this is a good rifle. When I recieved I removed the stock checked all the screws, used blue locktite and torqued all screws when replaced.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is ****! held vertical fine but would not hold horizontal. would get it sighted in and after that would slowly and continuly shift impact to the right. move it back and would do the samething agian. The trigger is not good. Mine did not come with the SAT trigger I recieved an older model even though it is shown with SAT. Pyramyd Air compesateded me for this error on my next order. A Carlie da Tuna is on its way for this rifle.
      What others should know:This rifle is a shooter!! One has to be very good with his technique, but is capable of fine groups given the right pellet. Mine as above really likes JSB bothe the 8.4 and the 10.3 with a very slight edge going to the heavier. Groups under a dime at 25yds and under a quater at 50yds. Marshmellows. a wonderful reactive, ealily seen, inexpensive, and with stands multiple shots, are easily taken at 50 yds with good technique. This rifle likes to be held lightly. I rested mine on a 2" foam pad on the deck rail. If you are looking for a good air rifle this may be the choise. PS I got the 10 for 10 and the velocity rerults were as follows: 1008, 954, 975, 969,963,974,956,969,971,965. throwing out the 1st shot thats an average of 966 and SD of 2.33 fps. These were shot with Beeman 7.1 gr. Lazers according to the report. This may be the rifle for you.... I am very happy with mine.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2012-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The rifle can be remarkably accurate. Shooting a dime at fifty feet with only a hand rest was easy, as was a head shot on a small pest. I own two other Gamo rifles and the trigger pull on this model, while still a bit stiff, is better than the others.
      Things I would have changed: The gun, was without sights and requires a mounted scope. If I had designed a gun it would have an adjustable fiber-optic rear sight and a fiber-optic front sight.
      What others should know: If the rifle has sat for a while unattended and is a bit cold, the first shot may be a bit low. Thus, if you're planning on charging it and keeping it charged for day, I would recommend firing a warm-up round first.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rocco from USA on 2012-02-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accurate,powerful knockdown power,stealth shooting.
      Things I would have changed:scope , but it does work
      What others should know:i put a leapers 4 x 12 x 50 mm scope on this and i use jsb exact 8.44 grain pellets. grouping quarter to dime size groups at 30 yds and half dollar size groups at 80 yds !!! lotta power here compared to my big cat 1200 springer.this rifle is no joke...good job Gamo.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top