Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Varmint Hunter HP air rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By kalebcarstarphen from USA on 2011-06-05 03:12:30

    Things I liked:This gun has a really nice trigger and good feeling amazing power
    Things I would have changed:the scope
    What others should know:i have shot 2 rabbits and 1 raccoon so far really good gun for a .177 cal one shot one kill
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By wifishing from USA on 2011-08-11 15:12:52

    Things I liked:It's a reasonable nice gun, with a lot of power when you use a heaver pellet of 10 gr. or more.
    Things I would have changed:It is NOT neighbor friendly when you use a lighter pe;llet. IT IS LOUD!
    What others should know:Thee stock has a MAJOR PROBLEM in that if you have a hand smaller than Walt Chamberlins, it's like trying to hold on to a tree stump. Look at a Benjamen Trail NP. They are nicer,more power,quiter by fare and cheaper.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jojo from USA on 2014-01-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, not PCP (you will not run out out air), break barrel not too heavy, even my daughter can do it. Very good quality made. Like the green color. Very very durable and weather resistant. Shoot it at any condition (rain or shine). Once you've sighted it (it came with scopes, mounts and combination flashlight and laser), after you've pick the best pellet for it, you almost can't go wrong. Take it and your first shot is as good as your last shot (my experience was 1 year later), from the last time you've shot this gun.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything gun design wise, but a little sanding off the sharp edges from the plastic molded stock can help.
      What others should know:I find the Gamo Master Point .22 1.05 g 16.20 gr to be very compatible to my gun. H&N field target .95 g 14.66 gr to be best for my gun. Comparing the price of both, why spend more for the H&N??? I find break barrel very practical. I have several PCP. The inconvenience with the PCP is you have to carry spare tanks of compressed air to have a full day of enjoyment. I get the same blast with my break barrel, especially this Gamo. Buy one for yourself, you will not regret it. I take it with me whenever I go camping. Just like what I said from the very beginning of mu review, YOU WILL NOT RUN OUT OF AIR.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By djkruszewski from USA on 2013-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love the green color of the stock. Overall the gun is great, really has knockdown power. Cocking effort is effortless and pellet speed is good. The new SAT trigger is awesome. The Predator Polymags are the best and most accurate so far. 1/4 groups off of a bench at 25 yards. At 25 yards as soon as you hear the spring release the pellets already hitting target.
      Things I would have changed:Scope that comes with it sucks. Get a different scope.
      What others should know:Not all .22 pellets fit this gun. Beaman crow magnums don't fit. Also Senco Newboy .22 hollow points don't fit. H&N hollow points a no go as well. Not sure why? The Predator Polymags are the best pellet so far. Afraid to purchase different pellets because they may not fit??
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-07-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I must say this is a great break barrel air rifle very accurate and easy to shoot! I own a hatsan 125 sniper as well and spendmore time shooting my varnit hunter then any other gun I own. this thing loves 16.0 predator polymags at 30yrds it puts one on topof the other! this is by far my favorite air rifle I have right now of the 3 that I own. I would definatly recommend this rifle to anyone.
      Things I would have changed:better scope do away with light and laser.
      What others should know:didn't have to go through shooting a million different pellets to find one that works great for this air rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Dusty from USA on 2013-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Shoots hard with lots of penetration. Decent accuracy. Good value.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic safety needs to be metal. Offer without scope at cheaper price so you could by what you want. Wish the barrel was solid metal not plastic with a steel liner.
      What others should know:All in all it is a good gun for the money. Great for taking small game, and just shooting in the backyard. It is a bit louder than I expected, it sounds like a framing nailer going off.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Guillaume from USA on 2013-05-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good looking rifle, the flashlight and laser are fun but if you buy a new scope, it will probably not fit. Very powerful and quite accurate for a .22 springer. Light but solid, this is a great/fun rifle to shoot and thanks to the synthetic stock you don't have to worry about scratches.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic barrel feels cheap, no sights, so you will need a scope. Stock scope is good for beginners, otherwise it will end up in the trash.
      What others should know:Recoil is minimal when using a bipod. I found that the H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme in .22 are accurate and fast. The stock seems to be beige on the picture, but in reality it is green. If you can, invest in a Picatinny rail - I installed a new BSA scope and I have to check the mounting screws after every 30-40 shots. The stock grooved rails are not the best.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2013-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Stock and Grip are perfect. I'm 6' 200lbs and my hands are pretty normal for my size body....and the grip is perfect. My hand glides into it and feels very "at home" in the grip, I would not change a thing. The accuracy is amazing. I'll shoot through the same pellet hole at fifteen yards with ease......but the scope needs constant adjustment. I've heard horror stories about the previous trigger's, but the new trigger is very smooth....good job Gamo.
      Things I would have changed:I would offer the gun without a scope. Sounds like most people ditch the scope right off the bat.....I am doing the same. The Lazer and Light are trinkets that will never be used. The gun is VERY loud, but this is the nature of high powered springers.....maybe do a silicone spring wrap to help mute the spring slap? Maybe offer a Tri-Pod instead of a scope?
      What others should know:Overall, I doubt you can find a better gun for the price. Just be aware you will need to buy a better scope if you want to make consistent long shots. The negative comments I've made are probably due to in light of the things this rifle does very well, like if your seat isnt perfect in your BMW....you'll focus on that.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mitchel from USA on 2013-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have own the .177 and .22 models and both of them are very accurate and powerful. The .22 I just got had a bent barrel so I will be requesting a new one but even with the bent barrel, the gun was consistently accurate at 20 and 25 yards. I love the weight, feel, and color of the gun.
      Things I would have changed:obviously I would opt for a bigger scope but to keep the price lower, the scope works.
      What others should know:The gun is louder than many other springers but if you do not mind a louder cracking noise, then this gun works well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jerome from USA on 2012-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Varmint hunter HP is a well made rifle by Gamo nice weight good balance too. The gun shoots very well for a high powered spring air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:I did put another scope on the rifle that I purchased from Pyramyd Air. this is a great addition to the Varmint hunter HP. The Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube.
      What others should know:You know this is a serious air rifle as soon as you cock it! I Have found it shoots really well with RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .22 Cal, 14.0 Grains, Wadcutter that I also purchased from Pyramyd Air. Buy three get one free!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jerome from USA on 2012-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:.22 Cal Nice,Heavy enough to take up some of the recoil.I am just getting used to the new S.A.T. Trigger so far I like the action of it.I have a Gamo Silent Cat in .177 and the trigger is far more stiff.The S.A.T trigger is so much smoother and shorter pull.
      Things I would have changed:I did put on a different scope, A Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube.NICE.Enough said on that.
      What others should know:For $210.00 I think it is a very fine Rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Shooter Bob from USA on 2012-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gamo quality speaks for itself. It was time to add a .22 cal rifle to my RWS .177 and have the pair to do my target and varmint shooting. I have always had outstanding accuracy with the RWS Superdome pellet in my .177 so that is where I started with the Gamo. Right out of the box, elbow wobbly rest for the first shots, I was grouping a little over an inch at about 45 yards. I must admit this was not with the stock scope that comes with the Gamo. More on that below. I scoped the rifle with a nice 3x9x40mm UTG which I would assume made some difference based on the reviews I had read on the stock scope. More testing to be done, with other pellets as well. I would recommend this rifle for anyone looking to varmint hunt at extended ranges with .22 cal. It has the POWER to do this type of hunting. The 40 lb. barrel break force tells you something as compared to the nominal 30 lb. or so, of other rifles. The synthetic stock is nice and makes for an overall weather resistant rig.
      Things I would have changed:This rifle is really designed for the long reach downrange. I would not include a scope which is not going to hold up well under the heavy recoil of that "40 lb. spring". Power and accuracy at range is the hallmark of this rifle in my opinion. So, leave the scopy off, and/or offer a selection of scope options that make sense.
      What others should know:This is an initial reaction review. Good as it is. I have much more shooting to do, pellets to try, etc. and I will report back when the rifle is really broken in and other data is available. For anyone starting out with this rifle in .22 cal, I would certainly recommend the RWS SuperDome as a starting point for picking your "best pellet".
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By alex from USA on 2012-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:FYI, its more GREEN than Sand color, which i like. It was a nice surprise. Bigger and more comfortable grip then the Stalker. It is ~.5-1" LONGER than the Vermint Stalker Delux that i upgraded from. That is a big plus for me. Area where one would have his left hand is meatier so its a much better holding feel for me(comparing to Stalker as above). PS: if youre trying to choose between teh new Extreme series and this(which as others have said is same) get htis. Its cheaper and in my experience the Bull Whisper barrel does very little to quiet it down. Especially if you use PBA or any Supersonic ammo. No comment on the scope...its same as on the Stalker. I am using the Bushnell 6-18x50 and very happy.
      Things I would have changed:I prefer the Vermint Stalker Trigger system. Its not IGT and does not feel as smooth. Maybe its just me but if you are not holding it tight the recoil will cause it to ruin the accuracy.
      What others should know:My ammo of choice is the Skenco Blue Arrow, puts a hole in standard fence plank at 10 yards where typical lead pellet just mushroomed and got stuck. My gut came with a nicked/slit barrel o ring. So be sure to inspect yours. Have not brought that up to Pyramid yet.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Nate from USA on 2012-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just recieved this air gun today in .22cal. Was very excited to finally get it. Along with it I ordered 4 tins of pellets. First impression was so so. Bull barrel seems to be a plastic or resin sheath over a steel barrel, but I can get over that at $200 dollar range. Stock is decent, not much id complain about there. Lack of iron sights is a downfall. Scope and laser/flashlight seem like something I probably wont get much use out of. And from some of the other reviews, im not losing out on anything. But, after about a dozen shots with H&N Baracuda Match, .22 Cal, 20.80 Grains pellets. I cannot get this gun to group pellets at all. The recoil is MASSIVE. I have tightened down all the scope mount screws and checked them two, and three times. I am not a novice handler by any means I know how to sight in a new gun/scope. This is leading me to think theres something with the gun itself or the scope is just a serious piece of crap and wont hold zero at all. Any feedback would be great. Im going to try a 16gr or 14,x gr and see how it likes those. From the reviews I have read, it likes heavier pellets around 20gr so thats what I went with. I am using a benchrest also, at 25 and 30 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Iron sights,trigger pull.Safety isnt to my liking, I personally like a rear safety. But there is no mistaking whether its on safe or fire, which is nice. And its at trigger finger reach, you can arm or safe it without moving hand or without losing sight picture. That part is nice.
      What others should know:Beware of recoil on this one. Im only about an hour or so into this gun,but so far it seems like there is PLENTY of takedown power. There is no doubt this thing is a powerhouse. If i can get it to group with a different type/grain pellet I'll be a happy camper.And possibly post a more "positive review". Til then, im slightly hesitant on keeping this one. But, like all these reviews, they are personal opinons and should be taken with an open mind.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By alex from USA on 2012-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun it incredibly accurate, powerful, and looks really good i cant ask for a better rifle
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this gun is a power house, i would highly recomend this gun to others
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Alias from USA on 2012-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:High power,fairly acurrate and not to heavy.
      Things I would have changed:Better scope instead of lazer lite
      What others should know:Use locktite on scopemount screws because of recoil
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Troy from USA on 2012-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accurate and quiet with lead pellets...Loud with pba. Trigger is nice.
      Things I would have changed:Better scope
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jon from USA on 2011-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The big reasons why I bought this the Gamo varmint hunter hp .22cal was that it shoots at a high velocity with the .22 and it’s reasonably lightweight gun. My last gun was a Gamo whisper .177 which was very nice but this .22 varmint hunter hp is defiantly an upgrade. Accuracy: this .22 shoots very accurately in my opinion. After taking a couple shots and I’m warmed up I expect to shoot groups the size of a dime at 50 feet with my best pellet. If they miss that dime size then I’m shooting the gun wrong. I’m noticing no barrel drop that effect the elevation on my shots. After cocking the gun it does seat itself nicely in the same place with a firm click. Range: I have a 4’x3’ aluminum sheet that I use for a long distance shooting. I placed it at 500 feet and have hit it 20 out of 20 shots before with this gun. With my old whisper .177 the best I could do would be to occasionally hit it at 350’. I think the .22 cal is staying more stable for longer distance shots compared to the .177 Scope: I used the stock scope with laser and flashlight for about a week while I was waiting for a leapers 4x16 50A0 scope to come in. the stock scope was very good for what it was. Held zero fine and I could easily get the reticle in focus. The laser was cheep as it wouldn’t hold zero for more than 10 shots. The flashlight also had issues with the on/off switch on the second or third day of shooting. Cocking pressure is smooth and not to tiresome. Trigger pull is smooth and light.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn’t mind seeing this gun have 100-200fps higher velocity but only if Gamo could keep the weight and price the same. The light and laser are to cheep to be an asset to the gun. I would have rather seen a 3-9X40 stock scope instead.
      What others should know:Pellets: I’ve found that the H&N Field Target Trophy .22 cal dome head 14.66 grains with a 5.53 dome head diameter are shooting the tightest groups so far with the varmint hunter hp. It seems any pellet that fits the barrel tight has a good chance of shooting well. Beeman field target round nose pellets are similar to the H&N but don’t have the same consistent tight fit yet shoot very well. Crosman premier hollow point shoot well also along with the Benjamin Discovery .22cal hollow point which is very similar to the Crossman hollow point. Both of these pellets don’t fit as tight as the H&N. the Gamo PBA Platinum that comes with the gun shoot pretty good for PBA. They fit tight, shoot fast and actually group on the target at 100’. The one pellet that I found not to work is the RWS Superdome .22cal. Everytime they shoot low to the left and the group is twice that of any other pellet. Looks like they are tumbling in the air judging by the long holes in the paper target. I certainly like this gun a lot because it’s fitting all my current needs of accuracy, power, weight and it looks great. I enjoy this Gamo and would highly recommend upgrading to it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By vrmnthntr from USA on 2011-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:WOW! This is amazing! shoots great! Shoots excellent with crossman pointed pellets but Daisy pointed pellets destabilize and go where they want to haha.
      Things I would have changed:The scope and the laser and light are not too high quality. The scope is working great so far but just not high quality and the laser is great but the flashlight broke second day for no reason.
      What others should know:AWESOME! If you are trying to decide buy it! It'll blow through a milk jug no problem. PBA is loud in the backyard :D. Tons of fun and hopefully I will have a video review up soon on how nice it is.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Brian from USA on 2011-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i love everything about this gun it tops my Gamo big cat in every way. it feels like your shooting a .22 it has a lilttle punch behind it
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:when you shoot it aim low for the recoil. also the pba platinum pellets are very loud when shot in the backyard.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By wifishing from USA on 2011-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's a reasonable nice gun, with a lot of power when you use a heaver pellet of 10 gr. or more.
      Things I would have changed:It is NOT neighbor friendly when you use a lighter pe;llet. IT IS LOUD!
      What others should know:Thee stock has a MAJOR PROBLEM in that if you have a hand smaller than Walt Chamberlins, it's like trying to hold on to a tree stump. Look at a Benjamen Trail NP. They are nicer,more power,quiter by fare and cheaper.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kalebcarstarphen from USA on 2011-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun has a really nice trigger and good feeling amazing power
      Things I would have changed:the scope
      What others should know:i have shot 2 rabbits and 1 raccoon so far really good gun for a .177 cal one shot one kill
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top