Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Gamo Whisper Deluxe with Nitro Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (9 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Goey from USA on 2008-12-23 07:19:38

    Things I liked:Quiet. Not super duper ninja quiet, but noticeably quieter than my Hunter 220 (unless you shoot the included Gamo pellets; they crack like a .22 cartridge). MUCH less recoil. Less than a tin of pellets through it and already more accurate than I am. Had no real complaints with the factory trigger but on a whim replaced it with a GRT-III and watched my 15 yard, five shot strings drop first to the size of a penny and a few days later to the size of a dime. This is with open sights while leaning against a tree. Plenty powerful. Chrono average with Crossman Premier Hollow Points is 935 fps. Gamo Raptors came in at 1127 fps. At 26 yards put a CPHP into the boiler room of a young, adult male raccon. He ran 30 paces then dropped like a rock. Also, the stock is a darker grey than I had anticipated. Just looking at the gun makes my friends envious 8)-
    Things I would have changed:The rear sight doesn't appear to be as sturdy as the one on my 220.
    What others should know:It took me a long time to pull the trigger on this purchase but now that it's done I have no regrets.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Mark from USA on 2009-07-28 19:38:53

    Things I liked:Light, nice design, easy and smooth to cock. The gas spring works well.
    Things I would have changed:The "claimed" quietness is overstated. Not much different than my RWS's or my Air Arms TX200. Seems cheaply made and somewhat flimsy. A little too much reliance on plastic. Could probably make good use of some metal backing to stiffen the forearm. The trigger is OK, not great, but usable. The scope is not worth mounting.
    What others should know:I would be willing to forgive the preceding if I could get any kind of decent groups at 25 yards. I've tried 7 different pellet brands and different weights within those brands. The best results, so far, have been with the Crosman Premiers 7.9 gr. domed. At 25 yds. three holes will be touching with 2 "flyers" an inch and a half away. Frustrating! This is from a bench, off hand, sandbag, clean barrel and I still can't duplicate the consistency of any of my other air rifles, (except for a cheap air rifle made in china, that I gave away within a week). I may have well got a "lemon", but based on my experience, I would cheerfully spend somewhat more for an RWS, an Air Arms, or for the most accurate air rifle I own, an Air Force Talon SS. "
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Cheryl from USA on 2011-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. FPS Accuracy Scope The black grips on it The plastic body The scope night sights Its really silent Easy to cock
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. People complain about the trigger but thats barely a problem. There are no problems with this gun. GET IT
      What others should know:No, Just get this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its a great gun for shooting birds,rabbits, and squirrles. Powerful and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger for sure, i replaced mine with a grt 3 trigger is amazing.
      What others should know:To remove the stock you hyave to remove the rubber pads in the hand grip, and they cant be put back on easily
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nick from USA on 2011-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:almost everything. A lot of capability for the weight and price!
      Things I would have changed:Trigger for certain. Included scope doesn't do the Whisper gas spring justice.
      What others should know:Pyramyd has the overall length listed as 43.5". Its not. Its 46.25" What's 3"? Enough to not fit in my gun case. So, if the length is a factor in your purchase (usually not) then you best measure twice! Also, DO NOT order Charlie Tuna's GRT111 (as some have said they installed). It won't fit. Order the GRT-4G for the GAMO plastic trigger unit, which the current Whisper Deluxe model has.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2010-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:My first Gamo -- style and accuracy are terrific.
      Things I would have changed:probably trigger, but i have not tried to adjust mine yet.
      What others should know:once the scope was sighted in, I was able to shoot consistent 2.5 inch groups at 50 yrds. Nice!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bernie from USA on 2009-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is just sweet.Hmm well my whisper shoots most pellets very well.I still use the stock trigger and i just shoot the 1 inch bull out till there is just 1 big hole. And it is quite contrary to some of the other reviews.out to 40 yards it is VERY ACCUARTE.. I just have to wonder tho.
      Things I would have changed:The Trigger and the scope.
      What others should know:Put a decent scope on this rifle and a gtr3 tigger and you can't go wrong.I just gotta wonder thoe about some of the other reviews.I also own a RWS 34 pro compact and cosmeticly the RWS is better and workmanship is better but not alot.but better and IT IS the louder of the two.....
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Mark from USA on 2009-07-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light, nice design, easy and smooth to cock. The gas spring works well.
      Things I would have changed:The "claimed" quietness is overstated. Not much different than my RWS's or my Air Arms TX200. Seems cheaply made and somewhat flimsy. A little too much reliance on plastic. Could probably make good use of some metal backing to stiffen the forearm. The trigger is OK, not great, but usable. The scope is not worth mounting.
      What others should know:I would be willing to forgive the preceding if I could get any kind of decent groups at 25 yards. I've tried 7 different pellet brands and different weights within those brands. The best results, so far, have been with the Crosman Premiers 7.9 gr. domed. At 25 yds. three holes will be touching with 2 "flyers" an inch and a half away. Frustrating! This is from a bench, off hand, sandbag, clean barrel and I still can't duplicate the consistency of any of my other air rifles, (except for a cheap air rifle made in china, that I gave away within a week). I may have well got a "lemon", but based on my experience, I would cheerfully spend somewhat more for an RWS, an Air Arms, or for the most accurate air rifle I own, an Air Force Talon SS. "
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rod from USA on 2009-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the Ram Air Gas Spring. It is a great technological improvement over a spring and is what inspired me to buy this gun. The gun is very light weight and easy to handle. Cocking effort is fairly easy, however the stroke is long. The stock design is visually appealing and durable making this rifle ideal for general purpose shooting without the worry of scuffing it up.
      Things I would have changed:I replaced the trigger with Charlie Tuna's before I even shot the gun. It is worth 35 bucks in looks alone, not to mention the feel. I am not sure about the synthetic shrouded barrel. The mold seam along the top of the dampener and barrel make it look like cheap stamped plastic. Considering how light weight the gun is I would have preferred metal. The end of the forearm is rather flimsy. Here again, the gun is so light that a thicker forearm or metal reinforcement would be better. Since the safety is stamped metal it has a sharp edge on the trigger side that needs to be filed to smoothen. Overall, adding some more metal would greatly enhance this gun without making it too heavy.
      What others should know:I have two other Gamo rifles and they are nice guns for the money. This particular gun could use a few improvements to make it worth $400. Definitely not the quality of a German gun, but...........it's not.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2008-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have high marks for the Ram Air Gas Spring. The gunsmiths at Pyramyd Air Gun Mall are great. The 10 for 10 tests is nice to know the gun works.
      Things I would have changed:While it is still loud as compared to my Gamo Varmit Hunter with the factory spring. It is about 3 decibels quieter.
      What others should know:I installed the Charlie Springer Trigger (charliedetuna.com) modification. For about 37.50 you can have a reduced trigger pull (under 2.0 pounds) and the gold plated trigger accents the gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Goey from USA on 2008-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet. Not super duper ninja quiet, but noticeably quieter than my Hunter 220 (unless you shoot the included Gamo pellets; they crack like a .22 cartridge). MUCH less recoil. Less than a tin of pellets through it and already more accurate than I am. Had no real complaints with the factory trigger but on a whim replaced it with a GRT-III and watched my 15 yard, five shot strings drop first to the size of a penny and a few days later to the size of a dime. This is with open sights while leaning against a tree. Plenty powerful. Chrono average with Crossman Premier Hollow Points is 935 fps. Gamo Raptors came in at 1127 fps. At 26 yards put a CPHP into the boiler room of a young, adult male raccon. He ran 30 paces then dropped like a rock. Also, the stock is a darker grey than I had anticipated. Just looking at the gun makes my friends envious 8)-
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight doesn't appear to be as sturdy as the one on my 220.
      What others should know:It took me a long time to pull the trigger on this purchase but now that it's done I have no regrets.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top