Date: 12/2/2016 10:21

Gamo Whisper Fusion Air Rifle, IGT reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Ron from USA on 2013-04-08 22:12:12

Things I liked: The feel is like a large rifle. The trigger pull is a great improvement over the older models.

Things I would have changed: The scope that came with mine is not worth sending back. Three hours later I still couldn't get it sighted in enough to hit a ten inch paper plate at 45 feet. I'm going to buy a better scope now. Other than that I like it.

What others should know: Buy lots of ammo because its fun to shoot, even with the iron sites.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Michael from USA on 2015-09-04 12:51:59

Things I liked: I like the looks and stock grip

Things I would have changed: If anything I would change the scope and trigger. I don't see any changes using trigger adjustment screw.

What others should know: This rifle is not very accurate. I find it impossible to get 2 shots close together from 20 yards resting on a sandbag. Shots go all over, some not even hitting the target paper. I used different 22cal pellet weights and brands. Lucky if I can hit a can once for every ten shots at less than 20 yards. Trying to sight in at 10 yards is a chore. The rifle seems to jump all over. The heaver the pellet the less accurate the rifle is. My Crossman Nitro Venom .177 cal is much more accurate. To say I am disappointed in this rifle is an understatement. I'll sell it as soon as I can.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mr. E from USA on 2016-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is very quiet in .22 cal. Like pellets from 14 grains to 21 . very accurate at 30 yards. build is great. scope is more than decent . light. I got on sale for 200 . trigger is great out the box. Mine did not need a break in period. very very accurate 30 yards ....I have not tried more ( I don't have the space, but I will update this after time at range ) and trigger is above decent.

    Things I would have changed: none so far.

    What others should know: its the perfect package. in 22 cal all is right for 30 yards. tack driver. trigger is good. just perfect out of box. looks great .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the light weight of the air gun. It is also the fact that it is easier to cock. The air gun hits hard and is a pleasure to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Like most break barrel air guns this one had droop. I changed the scope mount for a UTG DNT06 and I only had to go down about 10 clicks to start hitting consistent target groups.

    What others should know: A very solid airgun that is a pleasure to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By rick from USA on 2015-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: everything.I have shot both versions[spring&gas piston]the IGT model is much smoother,quieter,easy to cock,less recoil,much more enjoyable to shoot.Very powerful.Smooth trigger.Very accurate with iron sites.Loves all different types of ammo.Nice scope.Pyramyd Air has best price&customer service.

    Things I would have changed: Get Gamo to lower price&put a place to mount a sling.

    What others should know: Great gun for the money,plenty of good usable options on gun.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the looks and stock grip

    Things I would have changed: If anything I would change the scope and trigger. I don't see any changes using trigger adjustment screw.

    What others should know: This rifle is not very accurate. I find it impossible to get 2 shots close together from 20 yards resting on a sandbag. Shots go all over, some not even hitting the target paper. I used different 22cal pellet weights and brands. Lucky if I can hit a can once for every ten shots at less than 20 yards. Trying to sight in at 10 yards is a chore. The rifle seems to jump all over. The heaver the pellet the less accurate the rifle is. My Crossman Nitro Venom .177 cal is much more accurate. To say I am disappointed in this rifle is an understatement. I'll sell it as soon as I can.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By charles from USA on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The pistol grip stock and adjustable cheek piece create a great hold and cheek weld for sighting. The adjustable rear sights on this one do not lose the setting like some of the previous similar models. It is quiet enough that my neighbors in town don't run to the door when I shoot it.

    Things I would have changed: Not really anything. This rifle is a great improvement over previous models. Offering a larger objective tactical scope as an option to the one included would be an improvement even with higher cost. A great rifle for the money!

    What others should know: I have been buying from Pyramid Air for sometime now. I always get great service. This is the second of this rifle for me. PA gave me great customer service on the phone call for an RMA. The only reason this one does not get a 5 is because the first one started out quiet and got as loud as a .22 after 10 shots. I shipped the bad one back on a Thursday. I got my new one the next Thursday. Great turn around PA. I just put 30+ rounds through it today(Thursday/Yes; same day)and it works great(nice and quiet); of course there is some mechanical noise. I was even able to cut of blades of grass with it at 10 yards with open sights. I can't wait until I can get to the range and push this one to distance.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Damian from USA on 2015-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Stock, especially the grip. Smooth cocking effort. Although it was .22 cal, the gun was quiet.

    What others should know: I was reluctant to try Gamo but the features suited my needs as far as going for a gas piston rifle. I would not have attempted to give Gamo a try were it not for this companies outstanding return policy AND discounts to include free (and fast) shipping. I found this gun to be hold sensitive. At 10 yards, I achieved 1" groups which is "ok" by my standards at that distance. Not impressed with the trigger.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Kyle from USA on 2014-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Weight of the rifle, Stock design

    Things I would have changed: Eliminate the all-but-worthless scope (will not focus correctly, and/or will not maintain focus when changing magnification levels). If the rifle can be sold without the scope, it would be a better bargain. Maybe improve the cocking mechanical design to decrease the cocking effort.

    What others should know: I have not tested this rifle extensively, but, in my opinion, this rifle will not be a "tack driver"

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dawayne from USA on 2014-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun very quite! It makes less noise than my Bone Collector and I thought it was pretty good.Mine is in .22 cal.It's got a good 400 pellets down it now with no problems.So far I only shoot 30 yds with cheap Crosman hp pellets and except for a few flyers I'm pretty happy.Most scopes that come with combo's are crap and I planned on getting a better one when I ordered this.This scope holds zero fine.IF...it ever lets me down I'll put a good CP on it.The power is great blowing through tin cans with ease at 30 yds.I like it having open sights also.I look forward to testing it at 40-50 yds just for fun.The trigger works great not hard to pull.

    Things I would have changed: Make the scope a mil dot. The trigger works great but looks cheap.Needs a steel trigger.

    What others should know: If you want to pop a pest at night with out much noise this is the gun!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By william from USA on 2014-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is my first gas piston air rifle and for the money it is a great choice. I looked at the Ben Trail hard but reviews on the small stock grip and finding the right hold made me come back to the Whisper Fusion. It has shot well and the stock mounts quick and natural. Trigger seems good but need more time shooting to get feel of it. Gun has good weight and feels solid.

    Things I would have changed: Scope is not great but will do till it lets me down. Don't really like/need open sights. Not sure about adjustable comb, but as high as the scope mounts because of the open sights it works.

    What others should know: Great gas gun for the money. Good power and accuracy. Mine likes Crossman Premier hollow point.22 pellets. Really like the recoil of gas over spring. For those trying to settle on a gas gun, this one should be considered

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jag from USA on 2014-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Almost perfect. A very accurate and easy to shoot at around 50 yards

    Things I would have changed: A little of cocking of the gun

    What others should know: A very nice buy for the prise

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2014-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: got this air rifle 2 weeks ago from pyramid air have about 500 rounds through it. The scope is still on and clear. Very accurate and quiet. If you are looking for a break barrel air gun this is one of the best.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: try it you will love it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By k19k19 from Philippines on 2014-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is rifle is so beautiful and very accurate. I can shoot 1/2 inch group size at 40 yards using Gamo TS-10 .177 cal 10.5gr pellet. Mine likes to be gripped tightly (max contact with my palm) and pulled toward the shoulder. This allows my body to absorb all the vibration produced by the IGT piston (very important when shooting long range past 30 yards). Then I hold lightly at the forestock. I use aiming technique to get good result at long range, since I can never hold the rifle aimed at target for more than a second. I have shoot about 2000 rounds through it and this rifle still feels as good as new.

    Things I would have changed: Wish Gamo did not include the scope. I have to upgrade it with a Leapers 4-16x55 AO IR using BKL dovetail to picatinny rail with loctite (between rail and dovetail) to prevent it from sliding and to preventing any oil from get into it.

    What others should know: I use the lowest possible scope ring to make the center-of-gravity low, otherwise this rifle will jump vertically every shot. Somehow the moly grease tune with 2 drops of Hoppe's no.9 gun oil works best for me. It produces the best recoil consistency from mid day to mid night (temperature change). I fixed the trigger creep by filling the mechanism with white lithium grease. Now trigger is very smooth every shot. Zeroed it at 20 yards using my favorite hunting hold since bench rest zero and freehand hold zero is different, maybe due to recoil absorption of my body. Shooting uphill was the easiest since the weight of the rifle is cancelling out the piston slap (when piston hit the end of the tube). Shooting downhill was the most difficult since the weight + piston slap is making my POI drop a lot at long range (~70 to 80 yards). Hope my experience will help you find some answers.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Aleksandr from USA on 2014-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The feel, weight, iron sights, trigger. Pleasure to shoot, very accurate. I have not mounted scope yet - too much fun to shoot with iron sights.

    Things I would have changed: Everything seems to be well thought out and works well.

    What others should know: Very different experience from all my springers. Try it!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2014-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The feel like a real gun and it shoot great.

    Things I would have changed: Add a better scope

    What others should know: It take time to break it in then it will quiet down

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Craig from USA on 2014-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lightweight, accurate, easy to cock and the stock is comfortable. Happy with scope also,shooting at 30-40 yards

    Things I would have changed: Nothing,good quality for under 300$

    What others should know: Using RWS supermag field line 9.3 gr pellets,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Konnor from USA on 2014-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall this is the best air rifle I've ever owned. I like everything about it. This is the first gas piston air rifle I've bought and I love it. It is very light weight, shoots great and very accurate. The kick is little to nothing and it is very quiet. Smooth trigger and stock feels great!

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely recommend a different scope but nothing other than that.

    What others should know: If you're interested in a great air rifle, the price is a little steep but you should definitely look into this rifle.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Sport from USA on 2014-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is very ergonomic. The action is smooth and light. You can cycle this gun all day. I's quite ez to cock. The stock is world class. If i could put this stock on every gun i own, I would. Cant say enough about the stock. It is a good looking gun and the silencers actually work well. Dramatically more quiet than any other springer or gas piston gun i own. The trigger is better than just ok but not as good as the T06 rws group. There is a wide margin between these 2 triggers. The SAT is decent. Its much heavier than the T06 and has considerable creep. However thats only bad for paper punching. Its a good hunting or plinking trigger. The gun feels light and well balanced. I put a 3x9x50ao scope and bipod on mine. Quite functional for hunting and slings just fine with the bipod. It has plenty of power. You sacrifice accuracy with more power. But with a good hollow point or dome you can reach out to 40m with good stopping power. You can hunt well with this gun. It has alot of cool fator and will make for a great close range hunter. 30-40m max for accurate clean kills. Anything further requires luck no matter how good you are.

    Things I would have changed: Like everyone else says.. The scope has to go. But its ok if funds are tight. Replace it with a decent ao scope and you will be happier. A new scope DOES NOT make this gun more accurate! This gun will give you about 1.5 inch groups at 20m with a lot of verticle strings regardless of what scope or ammo you run thru it. There are times i can get dime sized 10 shot groups at 20m. Its not consistent tho and its not scope, mount, ammo or fouling. I have not discovered why it prints erratically. It is a bit hold sensitive. Mine likes to be pulled into my shoulder with slight down pressure on the fore stock. Less creep in the second stage of the trigger for a more crisp break would be nice.

    What others should know: First thing you need to know is this is not a target rifle. Get that out of your head now. You will not make it a target rifle either. You can put the best available scope on it and it will not group anywhere near MOA. If you want accuracy keep looking. I'd suggest RWS 34p for paper punching. Same price point, comparable power, with VASTLY superior accuracy from the 34. Do not buy this gun if you are going to hit paper targets and are looking for tight groups. It wont do it and you will get frustrated. It likes heavier pellets in .177. Best accuracy will come from 10-11 grain pellets. Lighter pellets are being over driven in terms of fps and I believe that .177 pellets destabilize as you get closer to 900 fps. This gun is a magnum and it hauls the mail. Use a heavier pellet to harness that power and drop the fps to the 850 fps range. It will hit plenty hard and give you better groups and more confidence for a kill shot. Mine likes Barracuda match and JSB domes. Both around 10.5 grains and will knock the crap out of small game at less than 40m. This gun has plenty of power at even 55m, its just not accurate enough to consistently get a humane kill at that range. Dont risk wounding something. I have about 9000 shots thru mine and its fine. No mechanical problems and I still like to PLINK with it. The stock is just wonderful to shoot. Dont buy this and expect repeatable accuracy. Shoot spinners or cans or whatever like a champ with this gun. Certainly a good close range hunter

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ivan from USA on 2014-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very quiet. Great improvement on the trigger. Very comfortable handling.

    Things I would have changed: Barrel pivot had side to side movement. When I cocked the rifle I would hear grinding.

    What others should know: Would have kept rifle if they had better QC. I don't mind tuning a rifle to improve, but not fix right out of the box. Thank you Pyramid! 30 Day money back guarantee.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Frank from USA on 2014-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very quiet, low recoil, nice trigger. Scope seems fine too.

    Things I would have changed: Breaking the barrel and charging the IGT requires a good amount of strength.

    What others should know: A very nice air rifle at a good price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2013-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Trigger is great for a factory air rifle under $250. Rifle is quiet. Stock has a good feel. Accurate to 35yds for pest control.

    Things I would have changed: A better scope with AO. Barrel shroud makes gun feel like a toy. Make the stock heavier.

    What others should know: I'm an avid rifleman with many years experience. I was looking for a quieter air rifle for tree rat and rabbit control compared to my Diana 34. For the money, it's hard to find a better rifle this quiet. The trigger is great for an air rifle. Don't get me wrong, it could be better, but it's much better than I expected. Many users complain about the trigger, but they must be comparing it to a custom trigger job, not a factory trigger. The scope is decent. It would be nice to have an AO, but I haven't found the lack of it to be an issue yet. Stock is great too, but it would be nice if it was heavier. The gun is light, which is great for carrying, but more weight in the stock would make the gun feel and shoot better. Last is the question I get asked most, noise. The gun is quiet, when using heavier subsonic pellets. Now, here's the kicker, it's loud to the shooter, but step back a couple feet and to everyone else its quiet. There's a piston slamming right next to your ear, so it sounds very load as the shooter! Overall I would be hard pressed to find a better value in a rifle under $250.

  • 12 Next
Navigation