Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    HaleStorm PCP Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2009-08-25 11:15:39

    Things I liked:This is a remarkable air rifle. A great deal for the money. It is very well engineered from the gold metal trigger to the detachable air chamber. My rifle is very accurate for my shooting ability compared to my Marauder which is also very accurate.The metal rotary magazine is easier to load, easier to insert in the rifle and seems more durable than the plastic spring magazine of my Marauder. Also my Halestorm came with 2 metal rotary magazines as opposed to having to purchase a second magazine seperately for my Marauder. The built in dual scope channels for Weaver and 11mm mounts is a great idea that is simple and should be incorporated into more air rifles. The stock is high quality hardwood and is a beautiful match to the rifle that looks better than even the pictures can show. The adjustable rubber butt on the stock is another great feature for the money. I like the automatic safety set with each cock of the rifle compared to my Marauder which is manual. The fiber optic sights are high quality although I removed mine to mount a scope. I like the charging system which involves inserting a brass coupling nozzle from the side. You can easily attach the nozzle to your pump first and then insert it into the fill chamber as opposed to unscrewing an end cap and attaching the pump hose to a fixed quick connect as in the Marauder. The detachable air chamber with the ability to purchase spare air chambers is an innovative design although I probably wont use it for my shooting.
    Things I would have changed:Add a shrouded barrel !!!! The Marauder wins for backyard shooting due to the significant noise reduction from the shrouded barrel. This gun and some other high powered air rifles are too loud to shoot in your backyard without disturbing your neighbors. The design of this rifle would very easily lend itself to adding a shrouded barrel. Also it requires a seperate quick connect fitting to adapt the charging nozzle to a Benjamin type air pump. This would be nice to include but I can't complain due to all the other features for the money.
    What others should know:The owners manual I received with my rifle did not cover some details. The rifle comes with a heavy brass fitting that has a threaded core. This is a degasser and protective cover that screws over the pressurized air chamber when you remove it from the rifle. Until I removed the air chamber I couldn't figure out where this heavy fitting went. To remove the air chamber you simply unscrew it from the rifle holding the notched areas at the end where the air gauge is. It can be removed fully or partially charged without any air loss and it or another can be easily reinserted and screwed back tight to continue shooting. The manual that came with my rifle did not cover this so I called tech support before I tried to unscrew a high pressure air chamber !! The tech support at Pyramid Air is excellent.
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2009-12-07 15:07:31

    Things I liked:Great stock, adjustable butt pad open sights, very, very accurate. Shooting 35FPE with Kodiaks. Shoots most pellets well, not very pellet fussy.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is too heavy even after adjusting. Fit & finish & materials. Use machined metal instead of pot metal. Better magazine molding. One of the 2 magazines won't cycle because the teeth are not all uniform.
    What others should know:Very rough out of the box. took about 500 pellets for things to smooth out. A lot of pot metal used. Finishes on metal part don't match & some edges had places were the paint has come off. Bottom line, spend the extra $50 bucks & get the Marauder
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2011-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is very well made, and the stock is beautiful. The lever aciton is smooth and the adjustable butt pad is a bonus. Iron sights are a nice touch.
      Things I would have changed:A shrouded barrel would be nice, but as is the rifle is an exceptional value for the money
      What others should know:I made no adjusments to the trigger and found it to be excellent. I am shooting under 1" at 25 yards with the iron sights off a shooting stick. I expect the accuracy to shine with a good scope. JSB's and CP Magnums have the same POI while Kodiak heavies are 1" low at 25 yards. The rifle is rated rather high for loudness, but I found the noise level not that much of an issue. I also own a Shin Sung 0.50 cal Dragon Slayer. Also very accurate, 3/8" at 50 yards with unreal knockdown power. PA has been an exceptional company - thanks guys!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By careeves1 from USA on 2010-08-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I choose four stars because I enjoy the rifle! It shoots with the knock down of an .22 short (30#) leaving an exit hole in a dove up to thirty yards downrange. It will pound away with accuracy 25 to 30 shots into your air reserve. The rifle will shoot inside a dime at thirty yards using an high quality pellet (15gr) ; not to mention, the same at fifty if you use a heavier pellet (18gr) of similar quality. I kill jack-rabbits with one shot at thirty yards with routine. The gun is mechanically simple to use. The 10 shot tumbler works simplistically. The trigger was very easy to adjust. I loved the adjustable butt pad which made a custom match between my shoulder and my jaw in relation to the cheek-rest on the rifle stock. Above all the customer service was excellent. It takes two days for an answer, but don't be surprised if the gun-tech calls you back on your cell phone to discuss your problem in an professional manner. In review, after years of use, I wanted a quality rifle to hand down to my son. I believe this is the one.
      Things I would have changed:The wood stock is beautiful, yet it is heavy succumbing to nicks to easily. Air Venturi could substitute the HAMERLI PNEAUMA or HATSAN tactical plastic stock making the rifle a tad lighter and sniper ready by simply unscrewing two large and two small trigger screws. In addition the HALESTORM sounds like a .22 short when fired, according to my neighbor, which leads me to ask for an silencer. Finally regarding the pressure gage, don't like looking down the barrel of an loaded gun just to estimate how much air is left in the tank!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2010-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weigth,Balance,Wood in stock,accurate,Blueing,and smoothness of side lever
      Things I would have changed:A better tigger, Thats why the 4 star overall. You can try to adjust it be there just is nothing to adjust.
      What others should know:I found it to be as accurate as my benji maruader if not just alittle better. I think for the money you can not do any better. This is a fine made air rifle that is hard hitting and accurate. Thanks go to PA for their fine packageing and their service as always!!!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2009-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great stock, adjustable butt pad open sights, very, very accurate. Shooting 35FPE with Kodiaks. Shoots most pellets well, not very pellet fussy.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is too heavy even after adjusting. Fit & finish & materials. Use machined metal instead of pot metal. Better magazine molding. One of the 2 magazines won't cycle because the teeth are not all uniform.
      What others should know:Very rough out of the box. took about 500 pellets for things to smooth out. A lot of pot metal used. Finishes on metal part don't match & some edges had places were the paint has come off. Bottom line, spend the extra $50 bucks & get the Marauder
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Leeroy from USA on 2009-11-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I own the Hatsan at44-10 it's the same airrifle....... and i can say i love the whole thing. Accuracy is great on 50 meters. The lever action is smooth. I would say it's simply designed, and simple is durable.
      Things I would have changed:There is one thing i would change, The leveraction i would have made of stainless steel.
      What others should know:Mounthing a bipod and a scope is verry simple
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By CarlCrego/ from USA on 2009-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.66666996479034423 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a wonderful rifle.All of the features that the HaleStorm has to offer for the price, tells me that I have made the right choice.
      Things I would have changed:The name.
      What others should know:I have no connections with Pyramyd Air, but I must say, that they are second to no one when it comes to service, delivery of product and price.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2009-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, fairly quiet compared to my Evanix AR-6 Take-down rifle and Career-707. Good price.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the design of the magazine so it would rotate even if some of the chambers were not loaded. I like to keep my guns in the "ready Mode". By that I mean ready to fire by simply cocking and inserting a pellet into the chamber all in one operation, but that can't be safely done with this gun. There is no way to insert a loaded magazine without actually cocking and chambering a pellet, then the gun is locked and loaded and all you have to rely on is the mechanical safety, and we all know there is no foolproof safety. If you leave one of the chambers empty so there is no pellet to chamber, the cylinder will not rotate to chamber a round when you're ready to fire, you have to completely remove the mag and re-insert it after turning it to a live chamber. For this reason and for my own purposes, I consider this an unsafe rifle. The only safe way to store this rifle is with the magazine removed.
      What others should know:The gun was too heavy for it's size. Would get tiresome in the field after about 15 minutes.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2009-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a remarkable air rifle. A great deal for the money. It is very well engineered from the gold metal trigger to the detachable air chamber. My rifle is very accurate for my shooting ability compared to my Marauder which is also very accurate.The metal rotary magazine is easier to load, easier to insert in the rifle and seems more durable than the plastic spring magazine of my Marauder. Also my Halestorm came with 2 metal rotary magazines as opposed to having to purchase a second magazine seperately for my Marauder. The built in dual scope channels for Weaver and 11mm mounts is a great idea that is simple and should be incorporated into more air rifles. The stock is high quality hardwood and is a beautiful match to the rifle that looks better than even the pictures can show. The adjustable rubber butt on the stock is another great feature for the money. I like the automatic safety set with each cock of the rifle compared to my Marauder which is manual. The fiber optic sights are high quality although I removed mine to mount a scope. I like the charging system which involves inserting a brass coupling nozzle from the side. You can easily attach the nozzle to your pump first and then insert it into the fill chamber as opposed to unscrewing an end cap and attaching the pump hose to a fixed quick connect as in the Marauder. The detachable air chamber with the ability to purchase spare air chambers is an innovative design although I probably wont use it for my shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Add a shrouded barrel !!!! The Marauder wins for backyard shooting due to the significant noise reduction from the shrouded barrel. This gun and some other high powered air rifles are too loud to shoot in your backyard without disturbing your neighbors. The design of this rifle would very easily lend itself to adding a shrouded barrel. Also it requires a seperate quick connect fitting to adapt the charging nozzle to a Benjamin type air pump. This would be nice to include but I can't complain due to all the other features for the money.
      What others should know:The owners manual I received with my rifle did not cover some details. The rifle comes with a heavy brass fitting that has a threaded core. This is a degasser and protective cover that screws over the pressurized air chamber when you remove it from the rifle. Until I removed the air chamber I couldn't figure out where this heavy fitting went. To remove the air chamber you simply unscrew it from the rifle holding the notched areas at the end where the air gauge is. It can be removed fully or partially charged without any air loss and it or another can be easily reinserted and screwed back tight to continue shooting. The manual that came with my rifle did not cover this so I called tech support before I tried to unscrew a high pressure air chamber !! The tech support at Pyramid Air is excellent.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By JD from USA on 2009-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful Walnut Stock & Butt Pad. First Class Engineering & Quality Components Throughout. Magazine Design is First Class, Made of Metal, Easy to Load, Insert & Remove & Works Great. Gold Trigger is adjustable & first class. Nice Fully Adjustable Fiber Optic Front & Rear Sights Factory Installed. Powerful @ 1000 fps using 7.5oz Gamo Hunters. Ambi Raised Cheek Piece. Nice Built-in Pressure Gauge. It's short, well balanced and easy to carry in the field.
      Things I would have changed:My Rifle is not as accurate as I prefer. Best groups I can manage are in the 1.5-2 inch range at 40yds with Gamao Hunter's. I would replace the removable Fill Probe with a Permanent Quick Disconnect with screw-on cover. I would show both Bar & PSI on the Built-in Pressure Gauge.
      What others should know:In my opinion, this is one of the Best PCP Rifle Buys. Even tho the accuracy is lacking a little, I like it better than my Benjamin Marauder...
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top