Hammerli 850 AirMagnum reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Phillip from USA on 2009-09-08 18:59:26

Things I liked:Recently purchased the Hammerli 850 Airmagnum in .177 caliber from Pyramyd Air. Very fast shipping, packaged well; it arrived in excellent condition in the factory box which has a molded foam insert for protection. The rifle operates very smoothly and is exceptionally accurate in my opinion (easily achieves 1/2" five shot groups at 30 yards using .177 Crosman Premier Hollowpoints, and just slightly larger groups with Gamo Hunters), using just a plain old 4x32mm airgun scope for sighting. The trigger on mine breaks at a nice pull weight of less than two pounds with very little creep. I purchased two extra magazines, and Pyramyd accidentally missed them in the first shipped package; I emailed them and they shipped them promptly via express UPS. I would have been pleased enough waiting as the rifle comes with an extra mag, but Pyramyd went to the expense of super quick shipping to correct the error, and that is excellent customer service.
Things I would have changed:Up the power a tad. I was able to achieve just over 800 fps with 7.6 grain .177 caliber pellets in my 850 by merely substituting a slightly heavier hammer spring. Gas consumption goes up, but the gun gets the energy it is capable of and still gets well over one hundred shots per 88 gram cylinder.
What others should know:If you'd like an accurate multishot airgun but don't want to spend a mint on a PCP rifle yet, this is the one. Be very gentle with the four screws holding the action cover on, they will strip quite easily, requiring a tap and longer screws for repair. Don't panic if you mess up, it's easily repairable, just aggravating.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Irwin from USA on 2011-11-14 14:49:29

Things I liked:Easy to load the Co2 cannister. Very light to hold. No discernible recoil. Once the sights are set, accuracy with the iron sights is pretty good at 25 feet.
Things I would have changed:Make the front site easier to adjust.
What others should know:I have had two of these and returned both. The bolt mechanims in both rifles jammed. There was no pellet stuck in the gun. I checked this. I find that this part of the rifle is not well made and did not want to try my luck with a third one. I will just be happy with my single shot Beeman R9.
Sort by:
  • 12345 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By TonyS. from USA on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:German quality speak for itself.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe another 125 fps if possible from a co2 gun.
    What others should know:Accuracy is great!I have the .22 cal
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2015-05-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I purchased both the .177 and .22 calibers. As CO2-powered, these are amazing guns and a lot of fun. Remarkable accuracy. Excellent heft and balance. CO2 repeaters offering this kind of performance are just too rare to pass.
    Things I would have changed:At this time, nothing.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ukelay13 from USA on 2015-04-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I liked the accuracy, ease of use shooting and operating, compatibility with a variety of pellets, readily available air supply, use with variety of optics (not just airgun scopes), easy to maintain, and the power that can be harnessed from Co2. I don't think I could be more pleased with this airgun for the price.
    Things I would have changed:The way the barrel mounts to the receiver works but I feel it could be improved on, perhaps another pin or set screw would do it. I wish we could get the full kit version like found in Europe (muzzle break, scope, accessory rail and wood stock options). I had to add weight to the butt on mine to make it easier to shoot off hand.
    What others should know:There are many upgrades and mods available here at Pyramid Air and other places online. 700 fps with 14gr lead pellets is obtainable on a hot day with a few added parts and mods (Co2). Keep in mind temperature determines pressure with Co2 and the more you shoot the colder it gets so shoot very slowly for accuracy and power. I think my average standard deviation is around 4-6 fps for 8 shot groups when shooting slowly. Accuracy is usually less than 1 inch at 25 yards that's probably more on me as the shooter though, on good days I've seen .5" at 25 yards measured from the outside edge. I've had good results using JSB 14.35gr Exact Jumbo Express although most pellets shoot well. Umarex does stock spare parts and the construction of this airgun is very similar to that of the Walther Dominator. If you are making the change from firearms, want to exterminate some pests, or just want something to enjoy shooting I highly recommend a Hammerli 850.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bill from USA on 2015-03-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The bolt action is nice. I like the eight round rotary clip as opposed to loading a pellet between each shot. I do like the automatic safety. Most break barrels have one and it is not an issue. Working the safety is smooth and effortless. I really like the 88/90 gram power source. Accuracy and trigger pull are right up there on my good list. One C02 tank will last me about a week taking over 200 good shots.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing to change here.
    What others should know:This gun deserves a scope. Lots of fun shooting tin cans at 60 to 70 feet when you can see the hole appear in the can with the scope. Hang the can from a string so you can keep shooting.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Peter from USA on 2015-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lightweight, very accurate, no recoil what so ever.
    Things I would have changed:Would like more power/velocity to hunt; I have the .22 version.
    What others should know:Little picky about pellet fit, likes the RWS pellets.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Caleb from USA on 2015-01-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Repeating bolt action. good alternative to pcp. Accurate and fun to shoot
    Things I would have changed:One chamber on one of my clips doesn't rotate to feed properly. I have to spin it manually. Bolt action isn't very smooth. Every once and awhile the pellets load funny and it effects accuracy... A lot. change the price
    What others should know:Great gun. Not worth $300 spend a little extra and just get a Benjamin package.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Chuck from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very impressed with the .22 Hammerli! Very accurate easy to load! If your looking for a CO2 powered air rifle spend the money on a hammerli!! Getting a full clip 8 shots at 16yrds 1/4" group!! Awesome rifle high quality very well made!
    Things I would have changed:NOTHING!
    What others should know:Your missing out if you don't have one in your collection it will be your favorite air rifle ever!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William from USA on 2014-12-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Marvelous gun . With the sportscope all pellets go inside a dot the size of a dime atsixty feet
    Things I would have changed:none
    What others should know:Be careful when you screw in the air bottle . Don't drop it in or the rupture pin will be bent . Hard to repair
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By earl from USA on 2014-12-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:mine is the .22 cal version. i really like the quality. i ordered the 12 gram co2 adapter and it works very well. i didn't have to use the penny to get both cartrages to puncture. i get around 48-50 shots before the power falls off. this is in a 65 degree basement. i'm to young for open sights so i mounted a scope on it. using crosman premier ultra mag pellets at 33 ft, the group of 8 shots is one hole about .28 dia. in my opinion thats outstanding. awfull hand the group opens to about .75. not bad for a 70 year old shooter that tends to shake a bit these days. as an alternate for pellets, the H & N baracuda match does very well. both of these pellets fit a little tight in the chamber and i think that adds to the accuracy. the safety is located in the same place as my fwb124 so i'm already use to it. i can see where this might be undesirable to some.
    Things I would have changed:would have been nice if the magazine was a little thicker to accommodate the polymag hunting pellets.
    What others should know:as always buy extra mags. i would recommend this rifle to a friend. the weapon has fired 200 + rounds in the two weeks i have had it and i'm very happy with my purchase.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Thomas from USA on 2014-08-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Easy to Load Magazine 88 gram CO2 Cartridge Very Accurate
    Things I would have changed:Having to release the safety each time you cock the rifle. No forward rail for a bipod. You can rig your own which I did.
    What others should know:I'm still going strong on the first CO2 cartridge. About 125 shots so far.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ron from USA on 2014-06-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have the 177 version of the Hammerli 850 Air Magnum. RWS Super Dome pellets regrouping 0.2 inched center to center at 10 yards.
    Things I would have changed:The 8 shot cylinder does not index well. It works but not smoothly.
    What others should know:DO NOT DOUBLE LOAD PELLETS!!! Make sure you do not double load pellets. I've done this and the weapon fired the 2 pellets. Not a thing you want to do. You could jam things up; If this was a fire arm --- not good! DO NOT SHOOT EMPTY CHAMBERS!!! Know your count (number of shots} If you shoot on empty chamber you can freeze up the valves. Frozen open valve cost you the CO2. If this happens then let the CO2 bleed off and then remove the CO2 cartridge and wait until things warm up. If you rush it you will blow off the reloaded CO2. I have had to wait more than an hour (24 gram of CO2 can really freeze thing up).
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Charles M from USA on 2014-04-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I love this Hammerli 850 Air Magnum .22 caliber pellet rifle. Right out of the box, the accuracy was excellent. From a bench rested position at 10 meters distance, I was hitting the center of three inch targets without making a single adjustment to the fiber optic open sights. Bench rested group sizes were consistently in the range of 5/8" (Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum) to 1" (Beeman H&N Match and H&N Baracuda Match) with the open sights at 10 meters. After mounting a Leapers UTG 4X32 AO rifle scope, the bench rested group sizes were reduced to a range of 1/4" (H&N Field Target Trophy) to 5/8" (RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle and RWS Super Point Extra) at 10 meters. In a standing position at 10 meters with the scope, my group sizes widened to a range of 7/8" (H&N Field Target Trophy) to 1 5/8" (H&N Sport, RWS Superdome, and RWS Super Point Extra).
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:The .22 caliber pellets I have successfully shot with this rifle are RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle, RWS Hobby, H&N Sport, Beeman H&N Match, Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum, RWS Superdome, H&N Field Target Trophy, H&N Baracuda Match, RWS Super Point Extra, and H&N Spitzkugel. Using the 850 Air Magnum CO2 adapter I got a total shot count of 80. Using an Air Venturi 90 g CO2 tank I got a total shot count of 232 before the power became too low.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Samuel from USA on 2014-04-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:good accuracy, good power.
    Things I would have changed:A larger stronger bolt handle.
    What others should know:Pyramyd Air provides great service.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By PAUL from USA on 2014-02-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Amazingly accurate even with just the stock sights. Fiber optic sights work great for my 64 year old eyes. I love this gun! No more endless searching for .22 ammunition, or overpaying for center fire ammo. This gun is well balanced and has a nice light, (3lbs ?) and smooth trigger pull. Be sure to buy extra C02 and pellets, you'll really enjoy shooting this gun.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing really. German quality and engineering is very apparent.
    What others should know:I would suggest buying at least two additional magazines. Also a pellet pen would be helpful for loading the magazines but not really needed. You should be deliberate when working the bolt action, making sure to pull the bolt all the way back so the mag cycles when you push it forward.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2014-02-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Supreme accuracy, 8-shot repeater, CO2 optional adapter, easy loading and changing of magazine, very smooth consistent trigger pull. Wouldn't sell the 850 and the Nikon scope combination for a $1000. cause I may have gotten one in a thousand insofar as accuracy goes.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing really, guess I just got a cream puff, by the way it is .177.
    What others should know:I'm a retired engineer so am used to testing things and I am amazed at the accuracy of this rifle. But first let me say that I started out looking for an air rifle that I could shoot in my basement shooting range (9 yds) for my own amusement as well as for teaching my granddaughters to shoot. I first ordered a Chinese rifle (big mistake), sent it back the next day-poor quality, bad engineering. Then I ran across the 850 on the internet at Pyramyd. Decided to give it a try. Liked it from the beginning. I fired about 1000 rounds so far in about 1 month. The optional CO2 adapter allows you to use 1 or 2 (12 gm) cylinders when you don't want to shoot all day long using the 88 gm cylinder. In order to obtain the inherent accuracy I felt was in the rifle, I needed a high magnification scope. My first attempt was a Chinese scope (guess I didn't learn my lesson with the rifle). After trying 3 scopes I gave up and went to a Nikon 3-9X40 Prostaff Target EFR. The main reason I selected this scope was because it will actually focus at the highest mag down to 7 yds! The other scopes claimed focus down to 10 yds but didn't delivery. Next tried 12 different pellets since most airguns have a preference. After many shots I found that my rifle likes the RWS Match 10 Light 7.0 grain. Set up a target at 9 yds in a pellet trap using bench rest The target had 56 bulls the diam of the pellet. The average miss from bull center to pellet hole center was 0.32 mm! Repeat .32 mm!
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jose from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Size, weight and repeating bolt action!!
    Things I would have changed:More power!! it is a mid power CO2 rifle at about 686 feet per second on a hot day!Also the way the magazine was engineered leaving a pellet chambered even with the magazine removed!!
    What others should know:Automatic safety, dangerous if left with a pellet chambered, if you cock it and then remove the rotary magazine a pellet will still be in the chamber impossible to remove only by shooting it and can be forgotten if you also remove the CO2 88gr or 90gr canister and when you go to shot it again you will chamber another round and may miss fire or worst!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jared from USA on 2013-11-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun was very accurate right out of the box. The bolt cycles smoothly when its able to, ill touch more on that in the "what other airgunners should know" section. I added the muzzlebrake, and a Accushot sidewheel scope to it and its a nice package. I also added a caldwell adjustable bipod which i attached to a weaver rail screwed to the underside of the stock.
    Things I would have changed:A larger bolt probe, again refer to "what other airgunners should know" section for more on this...I would also like a less "plasticky" synthetic stock, considering the price point of this gun. My Ruger Air Magnum has a more solid feeling synthetic stock, that material feels more durable and firearms grade. This was my reason for 4 stars on value for my money.
    What others should know:okay... so when I first started shooting this I had a lot of CPHP's on hand and was getting terrible accuracy with these (1 inch groups at 10 yards!) I also noticed the bolt / action did not cycle smoothly. I then realized that it was the pellets. The wall of the pellet skirt on most pellets, including the CPHP's are thin. The wall of the pellet skirt on say, an RWS superdome, or any RWS pellet is very thick. This tiny needle like bolt probe centers itelf well inside the back end of an RWS pellet, but not a CPHP, or other similiar pellets. This was causing poor magazine cycling, and i think the bolt probe was pushing on the back of each CPHP pellet in a different spot giving poor accuracy, where in a RWS pellet the bolt probe fits snugly in the back of the pellet, centering itself perfectly each time. In closing, im getting sub dime sized groups at 30 yards with all RWS brand pellets. Also, not a deal breaker, but in .22, im getting 120 shots on a good day out of one 88 gram cartridge. Not quite what the advertisement said. I guess thats the difference between useable shots and "shots" a pellet rolling out of the end of the barrel and onto the floor in front of you is not really a shot. As long as your expectations are realistic in this regard, youll be addicted to this gun in no time.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Fred from USA on 2013-09-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:My 850 is nicely accurate: under 1/2" groups at 25yds shooting JSB 8.4gr. The continuous dovetail rail makes scope mounting & positioning easy. Fairly light. Lots of shots. Trigger is nice and light and consistent. Safety is easy to reach which is nice since its an automatic safety.
    Things I would have changed:Make the action smoother.
    What others should know:Use the Walther 88g CO2s and a drop of Pelgun oil. The forestock behind the CO2 cover is thick enough to support a bipod. I mounted a small weaver rail using a couple machine screws and clip my bipod to it. Its holding up fine. The action can be a bit rough but not horrible. Certainly not a reason to buy this gun. I really enjoy how accurate it is... good German airgun. I'm currently using a Leapers 3-9x compact scope and wish for higher power and/or a finer reticle, the gun is accurate enough for higher power & precise scope.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Ogre8472 from USA on 2013-09-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:It is a bolt action that takes all kinds of pellet shapes and sizes. The open sights are easy to see.
    Things I would have changed:I personally would have like the fore stock to be a little thicker to allow mounting a bipod or a sling mount much easier.
    What others should know:Buy the optional 12g co2 adapter if 88g are not in local stores. It will make shooting this much more enjoyable
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Eric from USA on 2013-07-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have only had it for a short time but so far it is the most enjoyable air gun in my collection. It hits the target every time at just past 210 feet. It is solid, accurate and fun to use.
  • 12345 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top