Date: 8/12/2016 18:30
0

Hammerli 850 AirMagnum reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gary from USA on 2014-02-09 17:51:40

Things I liked: Supreme accuracy, 8-shot repeater, CO2 optional adapter, easy loading and changing of magazine, very smooth consistent trigger pull. Wouldn't sell the 850 and the Nikon scope combination for a $1000. cause I may have gotten one in a thousand insofar as accuracy goes.

Things I would have changed: Nothing really, guess I just got a cream puff, by the way it is .177.

What others should know: I'm a retired engineer so am used to testing things and I am amazed at the accuracy of this rifle. But first let me say that I started out looking for an air rifle that I could shoot in my basement shooting range (9 yds) for my own amusement as well as for teaching my granddaughters to shoot. I first ordered a Chinese rifle (big mistake), sent it back the next day-poor quality, bad engineering. Then I ran across the 850 on the internet at Pyramyd. Decided to give it a try. Liked it from the beginning. I fired about 1000 rounds so far in about 1 month. The optional CO2 adapter allows you to use 1 or 2 (12 gm) cylinders when you don't want to shoot all day long using the 88 gm cylinder. In order to obtain the inherent accuracy I felt was in the rifle, I needed a high magnification scope. My first attempt was a Chinese scope (guess I didn't learn my lesson with the rifle). After trying 3 scopes I gave up and went to a Nikon 3-9X40 Prostaff Target EFR. The main reason I selected this scope was because it will actually focus at the highest mag down to 7 yds! The other scopes claimed focus down to 10 yds but didn't delivery. Next tried 12 different pellets since most airguns have a preference. After many shots I found that my rifle likes the RWS Match 10 Light 7.0 grain. Set up a target at 9 yds in a pellet trap using bench rest The target had 56 bulls the diam of the pellet. The average miss from bull center to pellet hole center was 0.32 mm! Repeat .32 mm!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Irwin from USA on 2011-11-14 14:49:29

Things I liked: Easy to load the Co2 cannister. Very light to hold. No discernible recoil. Once the sights are set, accuracy with the iron sights is pretty good at 25 feet.

Things I would have changed: Make the front site easier to adjust.

What others should know: I have had two of these and returned both. The bolt mechanims in both rifles jammed. There was no pellet stuck in the gun. I checked this. I find that this part of the rifle is not well made and did not want to try my luck with a third one. I will just be happy with my single shot Beeman R9.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 56 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2016-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a repeater. It has very visible sights, although they are plastic. I use a BSA AR 4x AO scope.( I have three of these on air rifles now, very good scope. About 70 bucks at Pyramyd.) Unusual but light trigger. Very accurate. Good power to about 200 shots.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of automatic safety, it is annoying. Put big boy picatinny rail on top. Also redesign CO2 system so cylinder can be removed without losing gas.

    What others should know: This rifle just loves RWS Meisterkugeln 14 gr pellets. Others are OK but these are really accurate. 90 gram CO2 cost about 8 bucks each after tax around here. CO2 does not leak out of rifle, and I do not remove it at the end of the day. Chronograph puts RWS pellets at 630 FPS, with a total variation of 15 FPS. This is at about 75 degrees F.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2016-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Hammerli 850 Airmagnum is a superbly crafted .22 cal air rifle. For purists who wouldn't think of owning or using a rifle with a synthetic stock, unless you want to travel to Europe and buy one that does have a Woodstock then spend the extra bucks shipping it back to the US, getting through customs etc. then by all means go for it. For me, the synthetic stock works beautifully and is solidly crafted. Some fill the hollow butt chamber with insulating foam but I doubt that would alter the balance of the rifle. Whether it would suppress any of the muzzle noise is an unknown for me.

    Things I would have changed: Offer a sample of RWS pellets as an incentive for purchase or a discount on the CO2 adapter at the time of purchase. Also, for urban rodent hunting, it would be ideal having a functioning muzzle suppressor either internal or external. The one available currently is purely cosmetic under you wrap a bunch of electrical tape around it. Coolness takes a backseat to bring very useful in my book. Umarex/RWS are you listening?

    What others should know: Transitioning from a heavy duty springer break your arm and shoulder break-barrel to an 8-shot CO2 bolt action repeater is a real awakening. This repeater provides quick followup shots for novices like myself are a necessity. Looking forward to getting a scope mounted and zeroed for improved accuracy. And lastly, even if there are some minor issues you can be sure that purchasing from PA is the way to go. They do their best to make things right and earn your business. A big thanks to Stacy for all her help with my purchases.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By frederick from USA on 2016-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this rifle !! It is accurate, and powerful enough for what I use it for. I have avocado trees, and my neighbors have fruit trees. Roof rats (rattus rattus ) come after fruit, and love avocados. There was much rain last year, so there are many rats. We all have dogs in my neighborhood, and don't use poison, out of fear we will kill our beloved pets. I'm now retired, and have lots of spare time, so I kill rats. I have 45 kills as of yesterday, and have only missed once. I was using a spring air rifle, and didn't know about using the "artillery hold", so I missed one, because you have to make quick shots sometimes. I have 39 kills in a row with my trusty Hammeli 850 AirMagnum. It is accurate, the trigger is not quite match-quality, but very nice. I haven't even adjusted it yet, but will. I'm shooting consistent 3/8 to 1/2 " inch groups at 72 feet. I own a Weatherby 33 378, and hit the target at over 1200 yards, with no problem.

    Things I would have changed: An adjustable cheek rest, and co2 shut-off valve would be a nice option, but for the price, I have no complaints.

    What others should know: This is a very nice weapon, for the low price. It dispatches rats at 62 feet, using RWS Super-H-Points, every time, if your aim is true. My 850 is the .22 cal, by-the-way. Purchase the umarex compenstor with your 850. Look on the internet on as how to improve it. It's only $30 something dollar sand works. There are better compensators out there, but this one works well , at a lower cost.The 850 can be very quiet, and the neighbors won't even know you are there. As soon as Pyramyd Air has another 10 % off sale on everything, like the recent sale, I'll purchase .25 Cal MRod, for reliable, longer range rat hunting, soon. Roof rats are what spread the black - death, by - the- way, so it's OK in my book to shoot them. I'm disabled, and have a difficult time with break-barrel rifles. The 850 is very gentle on hands and shoulders that will need joint replacement surgery. Thank you, Fred

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Harold from USA on 2016-07-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Build quality of the one I eventually received. Ability to have multiple pellets ready to go. Large Co2 cartridge is a big plus (I haven't gotten to the end of the first one yet). If you're concerned with dispatching squirrels, this rifle will do it at a reasonable distance.

    Things I would have changed: Although info says that the rifle is sighted in before leaving the factory at about 10 meters, mine wasn't. I didn't think I could be that bad at 30 feet. My own re-sighting fixed it. I'm trying to get better at hitting that bullseye without buying a scope (my issue not the rifle's). I needed the features, but I didn't need the weight. However, since I'm not carrying it around for very long, it'll be OK.

    What others should know: The first shipment was damaged in transit. Pyramid Air was quick to respond and replace the unit. So long as you take care of your issues within the return period, you're "golden."

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feel, weight, well, everything. I love the idea of not having to pump for every single shot. Yet it still has the power you want/need.

    Things I would have changed: To make it completely awesome, they need to design a better front sight. Merely pushing it left or right is not that accurate to perfectly sight in. A simple screw would do the job.

    What others should know: You'll get about 60-70 shots with the 2 co2 powerletts. The 90 gram tank, just about 200 shots. Great trigger pull, not overly loud to shoot. Pricey, but well worth it, in my books.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The easy answer to what I like is ... everything. Outstanding features of this rifle are its accuracy, the way it feels in my hands, the eight shot magazines, the quality machining and finishing of the metal parts, the efficient use of CO2, the really nice smooth trigger, and the available extras, including a silencer and an adapter which allows use of two 12s instead of one 88.

    Things I would have changed: This rifle has been around for a long time. Why isn't a wood stock available yet?

    What others should know: I originally thought this rifle would be too expensive. An extra $100 for the CO2 adapter, $40 more for the 'muzzle brake' (aka a true silencer), and a scope and rings, brought the total to a shade over $500. Well, I'm very happy I bought this package, and if you do, you will be too. I've accumulated over 30 airguns. This one is the most accurate. The last time I shot it, I put the first 16 .22 pellets in one ragged hole at 50 feet. This gun makes me a shooter. I can't believe how accurate it is. 80-100 shots on two 12s. Great economy of CO2. One downside is that mine seemed pellet picky when I first started shooting it. I gravitated to Falcons exclusively now. No jams, Very very rare mis-feeds, usually my fault. The more I have shot this rifle, the smoother it gets. It's my #1 go to.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hiram from USA on 2016-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fun, fun, fun. Accurate, accurate, accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Make the bolt handle a wee bit longer. Sometimes I raked my thumb knuckle on scope.

    What others should know: I've seen other reviews where the forearm can come off when picking up rifle, so I always pick mine up by the barrel, don't want to drop my baby.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Weight, size, repeater, bolt action, sights, co2 and no break barrel, accuracy, straight hard hitting, relatively quiet, variety of pellet choices, 88 & 12gr co2 usage.

    Things I would have changed: Smooth out the bolt action to prevent jams for faster repeat shooting. Even with carefully recessed pellets, still an occasional jam. Maybe breakin time required for smoother action.

    What others should know: Recommend a try. . .one of the finest co2 rifles offered. . .both calibers ( I own both). Experiment with pellets, buy extra magazine clips and possibly the 12gr co2 adapter. All around nice air rifle and hard to believe it is not a low powered break barrel.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By JUAN from USA on 2016-02-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It feels well built, bolt action could be smoother, but overall I am happy with it.

    Things I would have changed: bolt action is a little hard, but it may need some use to be smoother.

    What others should know: nice rifle at a good price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle is excellent in all ways. A pleasure to own and shoot. At least 200 shots per tank...very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: So far I have found nothing that I would change.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size, weight, scopeable, accuracy, iron sights, trigger and safety, bolt action, repeater, hard hitting .22 pellet shooter, use for pesky irritants in yard, long lasting 88gr co2 or adapter for 2 -12 gr co2's

    Things I would have changed: Smooth out bolt action and refine magazine clip for better pellet loading and performance. Tends to jam for some reason, even with careful pellet insertion and pellet selection.

    What others should know: Extra clips/magazines are a must. Try different pellets and recess into clip to minimize jams and to get the best performance out of this remarkable bolt action co2 repeater. PA can help you with all your needs in a one stop shopping experience.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bobbi from USA on 2016-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this gun shoots as good as both my beemans. r9, r7, only shooting at 22yards. getting 3/8" eight shot groups. rws hobby 7 grain pellets. excellent product. bought compensator, wrapped holes with electrical tape, extremely quiet.

    Things I would have changed: nothingbuy it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tony from USA on 2016-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Hammerli 850 I did a lot of research to try to find the most accurate pellet rifle I could without spending a fortune. I researched springers, PCPs, Co2, etc and did find very accurate models in each category, but none of the highly accurate models that I found were less than $300 dollars except the Hammerli 850, so that is the air rifle I chose and it turned out to be the most fun to shoot pellet rifle that I have ever owned. I don’t have to lug around an air tank or anything like that and I am getting about 200 full power shots before noticing my POI dropping. The accuracy is just amazing with this rifle. At 20 yards I can get 8 shot groups that look like one big ragged hole with the JSB’s, Kodiaks and (Meisterkugeln’s when it is not windy) and at 30 yards the group was still tight enough that the pellet holes were still touching in the group when using the jsb heavy pellets. I have shot JSB heavy 10.34gr, JSB match 8.4gr, Kodiak Match, rws meisterkugeln, rws R10 match, rws superdomes, and Crosman premiums and have listed them in order of most accurate to least accurate in my rifle and all were decently accurate up to 20 yards. So if your looking for a super accurate pellet rifle that is fun and easy to shoot and doesn’t cost a fortune, this is great choice.

    What others should know: By the way Pyramid Air is also a great place to buy pellets from, because they pack them very well so that they will not get damaged in shipping and if they still have the same deal, you can get a free tin of pellets if you buy 3 tins at a time.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tony from USA on 2016-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle is accurate, and fun to shoot. Like the side lever bolt and the option to use 2 CO2 cartridges rather than an 88/90 gram bottle.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt lever could be smoother, but hopefully the more I use it the better it'll get. Would be nice to have it as a repeater and a 10 round clip instead of the 8 in .22 caliber.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Likes. . . .medium weight not too heavy but feels substantial, well built, straight & accurate shooting, hard hitting, easy trigger, bolt action, 8 pellet rotary mag, dovetail rail for accessories, large co2 and 200+ shots less the break barrel pellet loading, relatively quite

    Things I would have changed: Smoother bolt action. . . .should smooth out in time. Maybe $25-$50 cheaper. . . Nothing else

    What others should know: For my first bolt action air rifle, after all of one day, this 850 is beyond expectations. Chrony test is not necessary the way this rifle destroys a variety of targets at close range out to 25 yds+ (my distance backyard shooting). Using H&N Baracuda Hunter 10.34gr. Purchase extra mags. I added a Simmons 3-9x32 scope and get pin point accuracy and the umarex compensator. This rifle is quite impressive. Did not expect this kind of performance from a co2. Not an inexpensive rifle however an all around excellent, excellent purchase. Highly recommend

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joachim from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: WOW. Had this rifle for quite some time. And again is WOW. I have waited to post comments for this until I have broken this air rifle in. So here it goes.....I live in Louisiana, where weather alot of times is more friendly than most places up north. Keep in mind that this is a Co2 rifle. Chrony results are as follows ... This is after a 900 shots. ...48deg. ..659 Fpe 45deg....609 Fpe 25 yards groups where at a dime size. I would like to mention that I am shooting the .22 caliber with the 12 gram adapter. I also have the weaver rail with a Hawke scope4-12 by50. This can run the rifle in price very quickly. For mine around $650 since I bought the rifle for $300. I will tell you this......just buy this air rifle. You will not regret the purchase.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle gets a little more heavier for all the add ons,but will not affect it shoots and or accuracy

    What others should know: This is an awsome air rifle. If you take care of it,it will take care of you. Just simply amazing

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2015-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice shooting, accurate CO2 gun. I got the adapter from Baker air guns and put a 9 oz bottle on it. 100s and 100s of shots before needing a refill. I'm Really pleased.

    Things I would have changed: It does need a better trigger. It is not too bad to get some nice accuracy out of it, but it is a bit long and stiff compared to my Beeman guns.

    What others should know: For the price I think you would enjoy this gun. It is a good value for the money

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2015-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A well made, accurate product just like you would expect from Germany, shoots very well, and is easy to operate...it is exactly what I was looking for in a pellet rifle

    Things I would have changed: The ability to install a sling and Hammerli should offer a really nice wooden stock as an accessory

    What others should know: Anyone looking for a easy to use pellet rifle that is very accurate, this is the gun for you...

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By jewelifin from USA on 2015-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: light, no pumping, accurite, price, lots of shots per cartridge.

    Things I would have changed: a little btter trigger.

    What others should know: buy it, if you shoot it alot get the 24 pack of co2 90gr. you we never run out, 4800 shots

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have only about 100 pellets thru the gun since I bought it and I am happy with its accuracy, feel and especially the trigger. This is my first moderately priced rifle and I should have gotten it long ago. So far absolutely no complaints

    Things I would have changed: nothing so far

    What others should know: I got an 88 gm CO2 to 12 gm adapter from China for about $10, but it was only 5 inches long so changing the 12 gm cylinder would have been a problem, so I made an extension for it from a 1" to 3/4" reducing copper coupling, a cap for the 3/4 " pipe and about 3" of copper pipe. I then put 4 bolts thru the cap, with a short bushing on each, so twisting the cover for the 12 gm cylinder would be easy. Works like a charm and no $!00 adapter needed. You need to attach the nipple to the housing and I used a short bolt, but careful it is not too long and interferes with the seating of the cylinder.

  • 123 ... 56 Next
Navigation