Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Stock, Vortex Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2013-04-17 22:49:11

    Things I liked:I like the velocity and the power of the rifle. It is very accurate and I love the gas piston.
    Things I would have changed:I added my own sling swivels, but factory swivels would have been nice.
    What others should know:It is a chore to cock, but no more than other rifles listed in the same power category.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2014-12-17 08:39:16

    Things I liked:Some aspects of the engineering/design of the Hatsan guns are better than other brands, example, the added lock-screw at the barrel pivot bolthead to prevent loosening. Front stock mounting screw/bolt very solid.
    Things I would have changed:The adjustable trigger screws are made to be lawyer proof and adjustment makes the trigger slightly better but marginal. Offer without Optima scope.
    What others should know:This is well made solid magnum air gun. Sadly, I returned this gun after finding the barrel was "drooped" bent upwards badly enough that my scope would need shimmed more than I cared to shim it.(shooting over 10" high @20yds) The guns' shot cycle/recoil requires a tough scope in a solid mount. Rotated a reticle(+ to x) in a high rated air gun scope secured in a one-piece quality mount after 5 shots. Quality control at Hatsan seems to need improvement. This gun being reviewed was my second from PA, the first, after initial shooting 50 shots to clear the dieseling, I cleaned the barrel and upon shining a bore light at breech end, I could see heavy gouges in the rifling near the muzzle. PyramydAir is great to deal with in making things right! THANK YOU I guess I'm just not meant to own a magnum air gun.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2014-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Some aspects of the engineering/design of the Hatsan guns are better than other brands, example, the added lock-screw at the barrel pivot bolthead to prevent loosening. Front stock mounting screw/bolt very solid.
      Things I would have changed:The adjustable trigger screws are made to be lawyer proof and adjustment makes the trigger slightly better but marginal. Offer without Optima scope.
      What others should know:This is well made solid magnum air gun. Sadly, I returned this gun after finding the barrel was "drooped" bent upwards badly enough that my scope would need shimmed more than I cared to shim it.(shooting over 10" high @20yds) The guns' shot cycle/recoil requires a tough scope in a solid mount. Rotated a reticle(+ to x) in a high rated air gun scope secured in a one-piece quality mount after 5 shots. Quality control at Hatsan seems to need improvement. This gun being reviewed was my second from PA, the first, after initial shooting 50 shots to clear the dieseling, I cleaned the barrel and upon shining a bore light at breech end, I could see heavy gouges in the rifling near the muzzle. PyramydAir is great to deal with in making things right! THANK YOU I guess I'm just not meant to own a magnum air gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By billy from USA on 2014-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The things I love about the gun are that it looks and feels like a beast. The performance how ever puts that to shame, this gun is unbelievably accuracy and powerful. Puts nearly every gun 3x the price of this. Would get 30+ fpe with the polymags, so it would compete with great pcps. The trigger is great, you can make it a longer/shorter pull and make the trigger lighter/heavier, you can tell this us a great gun within the first shot.I really like the safety being where it is because instead of having to move your finger after just being ready to shoot when you have the target in your sight, you just move your thumb, up and you don't loose any time messing around.
      Things I would have changed:Have a choice to purchase this gun with a really good scope or no scope. The scope they give you will work just fine. But to get every ounce if accuracy out if this gun you will have to upgrade, also trtly making the material on the stock just thicker or better because when I got it, it was the a little rubbed off on the bottom of it and side. But I had to look really good to find it, again not a biig deal but would like it fixed if/when I get it again.
      What others should know:This gun is heavier than I expected but should be no deal breaker. The trigger was better than expected and power and accuracy was just so good. If you are even considering buying a gun, you need to get this one. I would definatly recommend the diablo exacts, they are the most accurate out there and deliver the KO punch. But if you are hunting within about 20 yards, that needle point of a difference won't matter, but 30+yards I would get the exacts.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gary from USA on 2014-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power and accuracy. Hatsan 125 .25 caliber not a vortex.
      Things I would have changed:Immediately changed the scope not to say it wouldn't have worked. I just figured the better the scope the better the accuracy. Also clean the bore before you even try to shoot it in. The high rings have to stay on the scope because the front sight is big. With a 40mm lens you have to keep it on 6 power so you don't see the front sight. 32mm you probably don't have to worry about the power level on the scope but you still have to keep the rings. Not complaining Hatsan made a great rifle at a great price point!!!!!!
      What others should know:I tried 6 different types of pellets. Do not waste your money on pellets. The only ones that gave a tight group were the PREDATOR POLYMAG 26gr. At 25 yards right next to each other. Im sure they will do great at 50. They also penetrated the deepest. At just under $200 plus another $100 for a better scope you cant go wrong.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jhubb10 from USA on 2014-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Things I like about this rifle is how rugged it feels. This should make a great Turkey hunting gun for those California wild turkys. The power of this rifle exceeded my expectations of what an air rifle is capable of doing. The gun was quick to sight in, however, some more tweaking will be needed to get this gun to drive nails. Out of all my firearms I own this is currently my favorite rifle.
      Things I would have changed:I wish is came with mounts for a sling. The scope is ok, but I wish Hatsan would leave it off the rifle and lower the price.
      What others should know:I am really liking this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Couldn't shoot it. Safety came to me broke. It looked of good quality though.
      Things I would have changed:Scope
      What others should know:Really nothing I can add mechanically. My gun must of got damaged in transit. Everything looked good quality. I would say maybe heavy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2014-11-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this just because I was curious to try out a .25 caliber with the Nitro Piston. Opening the box...It's not a pretty gun. Black synthetic, its what I expected. Fit / finish is average. First shots, I scrubbed the barrel, and set up a 3/4 inch pine board @ 35 yards. I used JSB Diabolo pellets and it ripped right through the board-repeatedly. I was impressed the way it hit at that distance with clean, perfect round holes. I'm getting average 1 1/2" groups @ 35 yards with JSB Diabolo pellets and with H & N hunter extreme. It's hard to explain the Piston technology. It's different than a springer. I would say a little smoother. Overall I like this gun. I always been an RWS snob. Hatsan has put out a decent product and I honestly think this is same or better shooting than my 600+ dollar springer airguns. $200 bucks you cant beat this. It's a beast.
      Things I would have changed:Cheesy plastic safety and muzzle break. The fiber optic sights really don't add much to this. They work but, are hard to line up quick if you are shooting on the fly. Expect to use a scope. Diamond style rear peep sight would be a definite plus.
      What others should know:This is not for novice shooters. I read that this gun was extremely heavy. It would be heavy to some that have not used a quality hunting air rifle before. It weighs no more than my RWS 52. Cocking effort is comparatively higher than normal around +10 lbs...but the added firepower is well worth it. The scope that comes with this gun works just fine. I read in these reviews that its poor quality. I find the scope works great to hunt with. I already took two 30+ lb racoons with clean head shots @ 40 yards. The scope is a standard duplex. It holds zero. It's clear.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is an accurate and powerful gun. I bought .25 caliber and I am very happy with it.It has a good trigger. It is also good practice to keep your eye in for firearms.
      What others should know:The piston and trigger are both very good. The stock has enough grip to maintain a good cheek weld and follow through.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Albert from USA on 2014-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After reviewing springer air rifles and the companies that sell them I chose Pyramyd Air and the Hatsan 125 Nitro Piston in .25 caliber. It exceeded my expecations. Well built, great craftmanship. The first cock and load - smoother and easier than I expected. I haven't been able to do any shots to check accuracy but I believe it will deliver what others have discovered. The 20 for $20 was a great value. I blown away.
      Things I would have changed:So far, nothing.
      What others should know:Some have commented on the weight and size. Yes, it's long and heavy but when the power and caliber (mine in .25) I believe it's needed, but nothing that can't be overcome with a sling. It's a man size rifle. I'm looking forward to adding to my impressions after shooting through my first can of ammo!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2014-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, power, accuracy, dual scope rails, trigger. Open sights were great, but I had planned on scoping this. I love the 1 cock power - this is new to me being my first adult airgun. Was torn between choosing a .22 or a .25 and figured I'd start with the .22 and look for a better .25 PCP if I ended up liking airguns.
      Things I would have changed:I'd pay more for a better scope (or less for rifle without a scope), maybe a little shorter pull since it has the ability to lengthen the pull, maybe better silencer (I guess getting the Sniper might have done that, but I didn't want the extra weight). Nicer stock (or more stock options, or aftermarket stocks). As nice as the trigger was, I'd still like better (willing to pay for it). Lighter, shorter.
      What others should know:This is my first "adult" airgun and first airgun since my Sheridan from my teen years. I have plenty of shotguns, rifles, handguns, and this, I have to say has an equal value for shooting enjoyment. There are some quirks about airguns i am just now learning, but its great that I have something that I can shoot in my backyard that takes a little bit of skill (lighter pellet guns & small calibers like .22's are too easy to shoot). I'm still a little inconsistent, getting >1/2 inch groups at 25 yards, then following that up with about a 1+ inch group (could be that I only have about 250 shots so far). My gun had some stock discoloring and fade when i first got it & Pyramyd replaced it right away (not that big a deal but I had to call and ask about it - thought maybe that's what I got for $230.00). This is an absolute bargain for what you're getting, but I might be used to regular firearms. Now I'm hooked - researching & looking for a max power & accurate .25 or larger PCP.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-11-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First I want to say that I am not an AG Snob either. Best air rifle I have is the old MRod. This is my first .25 caliber rifle. I shoot a Springfield '03 and M1 Garand in CMP competition a .300 Winchester Magnum at 1000 meters, so I'm just not feeling any recoil here. Which is a good thing.This rifle is also big and darn heavy. That mitigates a lot of recoil too. It has power and it is accurate inside 50 yds . The H&N Barracudas I am using say >25 joules w/ .25, which if I remember correctly is about >18 1/2 foot pounds. The sights work. Big and slow are best shooting short.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is a joke. I did not even bother to sight it in. I just took it off and threw it away. The rail is necessary because no 11mm dovetail is going to stay on this gun for long. I put on a pair of Warne rings and an old Leapers 3-9x40. That's held zero for the 200 pellets I've put through it.
      What others should know:I'm not the type to pay $2-3k for an air gun to shoot sparrows at the bird feeder.If I'm spending that kind of $ I want to shoot over 1000 meters. If your a 10 meter Olympian, great, you have my respect.The trigger on this gun has a break similar to some Browning long guns and is a useful tool for practice. Now my little speech: I am really on the fence about hunting anything bigger than rabbits with air rifles.A guy here related taking a feral pig with a.25.If he's being truthful I think that's just wrong. It's unethical, as I'm sure any hunters will agree.There's too many variations in shot placement & too little energy in the pellet+ no follow up. I think a feral pig deserves at least a .223.If you can run a big bore PCP that's another story. One could take a rhino with a .380 pistol,if one could walk up to it and put rounds through it's eye.Is that hunting? I am enjoying this rifle and I think many other would too.It's no Prom Queen but do your part & it hits what you point it at.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Marvin from USA on 2014-11-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the power of the gun. No problem with small animal hunting at ranges of 20-35 yards.
      Things I would have changed:This gun is unbelievably heavy. I read other reviews that said it was heavy but I didn't know it was really THAT HEAVY. My friend who is an Army Ranger picked it up and said it was heavier than 90% of the guns he carries! The cocking of the gun will take some serious pull so please take these two things into account when purchasing the gun. The scope needs to be changed out. It mounts easy enough but it does not keep sighted in for more than 10-15 shots..then another sighting in is required. The gun is anything but quiet...in fact my .22 center-fire (long rifle ammunition) is significantly more quiet than this gun.
      What others should know:This gun is a good small animal hunting machine because of it's power but I would hate to lug this around all over because of it's weight; I would be prepared to change out the scope because they should have lowered the price of the gun and kept the scope off; and if your planning on shooting those pesky squirrel's in your neighborhood be prepared to speak to the police when your neighbors call them because it's loud! If your just out shooting squirrels, rabbits, and raccoon's on a large piece of acreage for fun...then this is the gun for you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By keith from USA on 2014-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got the .25 cal.This thing is no joke.first shot went threw a 1/2 inch sheet of plywood and 3/4 of the way threw my wood privacy fence.Cocking is not really that bad.Its no where near as loud as my crossman 2100 classic.The gun is heavy but has a good feel when bringing it up to my shoulder.looks well made.Dead on at 20 yards right out of the box with open sights.
      Things I would have changed:The safety seems kinda cheesy.Gun is long.close to a foot longer than anything I own.Not even going to bother mounting the scope it came with.They should leave it out and give a discount when you buy a better scope.
      What others should know:Its worth the money.Get a sling and a good scope
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Lorenzo from USA on 2014-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power as advertised, good price point, and good OEM trigger (a rare thing nowadays, it seems). Hatsan has been well-written about in several reviews I had read.
      Things I would have changed:Wasn't able to shoot it - see below - but the length of pull with the standard synthetic stock was quite long for me. There were spacers to make it longer, but obviously one can't make it shorter. Better to reduce the pull length by .75 inch and allow users to install the spacers if they need more pull length. Also - can they reduce the weight of this thing a bit? It weighed over 10 pounds with the OEM scope and thumbhole synthetic stock. That's REALLY heavy to shoot for a long time in the field, and no sling swivels, which at least would make installing a sling easier.
      What others should know:Arrived in extremely poor condition. Badly faded stock at the rear and Vortex piston that had leaked out its gas. Contacted Hatsan and they arranged for rifle to go back to them. Cust Serv has been good and is doing the right thing. They told me changes have been made at manufacturer level in the stock and the Vortex piston seal to correct the issues I had. They upgraded the stock for me as well. I'm happy with the customer service. Flaws can happen with any product, and the way it is handled is most important. Hatsan has done it right. Update - I received the rifle and it was packed with about 100 of the Hatsan Vortex Supreme .22 14.66g pellets. When I tried to sight in, found most pellets were hitting the paper target sideways at 20 yards. I was advised by a trusted source to try JSB pellets. I ordered from Pyramyd JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13g pellets and they stabilize and shoot OK, but tumbling pellets in a Hatsan rifle with Hatsan pellets?? I'm a bit disillusioned with Hatsan.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By charbel from USA on 2014-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, power, great trigger, QUALITY!
      Things I would have changed:Get rid of that scope and make it a bit cheaper. A sling would also be helpful.
      What others should know:This is a heavy gun and it gets tiresome to carry around or hold up to the shoulder for extended periods of time. This rifle is also dealdy accurate. For the money, this is a quality rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2014-09-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:AMAZING out of the box Trigger, Firing Groups OUT OF THE BOX, not to Specific on Pellets I have tried...
      Things I would have changed:Take off the Optima Scope and rings it comes with, drop the price accordingly.
      What others should know:I have only had access to a 10 yard range since receiving this .25 cal rifle. I put on a UTG/Leapers True Hunter 3-9x40AO and took it out to see if it shoots with 4 different pellets. I put Beeman Crow Magnums, H&N Barracuda Hunters, H&N Sport Hollowpoints, and Predator Polymags through it to start. Now, with my experience with other break barrels, even Nitro Piston/Air Ram guns, I expected a Break in period before accuracy was shown at all. I did clean this rifle when I received it, so I knew some seasoning shots would be in order. Long story short, 3 of the 4 pellets shot Dime Sized, OR SMALLER, groups at 10 yards, after 20 or so seasoning shots. I did not expect this from a Magnum Break Barrel. The Polymags gave me a 10 shot group I can cover with a dime. I am VERY HAPPY with this rifle, even as little as I have shot it, thus far. Do be warned, this is a HEAVY rifle to pack around. I will hopefully update this review with some Chrony results this week. AWESOME RIFLE...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Surprised at the accuracy I'm able to achieve with this magnum .
      Things I would have changed:I had heard of no complaints of barrel droop with this gun but mine was severe. I had to order droop compensator rail to correct. I had purchased 'high' scope rings for this gun and with the addition of the drooper rail made scope way to high. Turned around and ordered 'low' mounts that was just right.
      What others should know:I kept my gun upon discovering the severe barrel droop and spent the extra money for the drooper rail. Although I don't have a problem with the weight of the gun, some people might as gun is very nose heavy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ROBERT from USA on 2014-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power house, accurate, very we'll made, awesome open site shooting.
      What others should know:Very long gun, bi-pod would be a must for smaller or shorter shooters with not a long reach.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Larry from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the power, accuracy, and the way the gun is made. Great hunting rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Needs a better scope
      What others should know:A great man's gun for plinking and hunting. I wouldn't recommend this for a weak person. It is a magnum gun with a good kick and stiff cocking
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ken from USA on 2013-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the fit and finish on this rifle is wonderful. the accuracy is very good. I have shot 1" groupings at 20 -30 meters consistently.
      Things I would have changed:weight
      What others should know:this gun is a BEAST--- definitely not a Daisy Red Ryder. unless you are muscle bound it is a "two hander"
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By LJC from USA on 2013-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy, trigger, weight, weaver rail and looks. Even the iron sights are really good
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice if a sling and the mounts were included or atleast readily available for purchase at a reasonable price. The sling is available from "hatsanusa.com" but it does not include the factory mounts for the gun. The included dovetail scope rings are an insult to this gun, it makes no sense to build a gun with this power and a weaver rail but then send dove tails for mounts.
      What others should know:This is a great gun, the included scope is ok but the rings are not fit to handle this gun. Be sure to order weaver style rings(11mm dovetails can not hold up to the recoil and the scope will never stay where you put it, I have a 40mm scope and I had to use high rise rings) and a nicer scopoe(new scope is not a must but getting weaver rings is a big must.) Its powerful, accurate (nickel size @ 25yds w/ iron sights using my trucks hood and my arms as a prop[Benjamin HP 14.3gr, H&N terminator 16.36gr & JSB exact match 15.87gr in 22 caliber]) and its a good looking gun, does not feel or look cheap. It is on the heavy side, 10lbs w/leapers 3-9X40 AO, but it is just right for me. Im not a huge guy but im not small by any means and I love the weight of this gun, the little extra weight helps me steady it... This is NOT a toy, small kids will have a hard time shooting and handling this gun. I would recommend this gun only to adults looking to shoot some targets, or my favorite, to hunt small game. Im very happy with mine and im sure you would be equally happy.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top