Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Stock, Vortex Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.0 (16 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2013-04-17 22:49:11

    Things I liked:I like the velocity and the power of the rifle. It is very accurate and I love the gas piston.
    Things I would have changed:I added my own sling swivels, but factory swivels would have been nice.
    What others should know:It is a chore to cock, but no more than other rifles listed in the same power category.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By John from USA on 2014-02-22 14:19:47

    Things I liked:Surprised at the accuracy I'm able to achieve with this magnum .
    Things I would have changed:I had heard of no complaints of barrel droop with this gun but mine was severe. I had to order droop compensator rail to correct. I had purchased 'high' scope rings for this gun and with the addition of the drooper rail made scope way to high. Turned around and ordered 'low' mounts that was just right.
    What others should know:I kept my gun upon discovering the severe barrel droop and spent the extra money for the drooper rail. Although I don't have a problem with the weight of the gun, some people might as gun is very nose heavy.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By charbel from USA on 2014-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, power, great trigger, QUALITY!
      Things I would have changed:Get rid of that scope and make it a bit cheaper. A sling would also be helpful.
      What others should know:This is a heavy gun and it gets tiresome to carry around or hold up to the shoulder for extended periods of time. This rifle is also dealdy accurate. For the money, this is a quality rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2014-09-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:AMAZING out of the box Trigger, Firing Groups OUT OF THE BOX, not to Specific on Pellets I have tried...
      Things I would have changed:Take off the Optima Scope and rings it comes with, drop the price accordingly.
      What others should know:I have only had access to a 10 yard range since receiving this .25 cal rifle. I put on a UTG/Leapers True Hunter 3-9x40AO and took it out to see if it shoots with 4 different pellets. I put Beeman Crow Magnums, H&N Barracuda Hunters, H&N Sport Hollowpoints, and Predator Polymags through it to start. Now, with my experience with other break barrels, even Nitro Piston/Air Ram guns, I expected a Break in period before accuracy was shown at all. I did clean this rifle when I received it, so I knew some seasoning shots would be in order. Long story short, 3 of the 4 pellets shot Dime Sized, OR SMALLER, groups at 10 yards, after 20 or so seasoning shots. I did not expect this from a Magnum Break Barrel. The Polymags gave me a 10 shot group I can cover with a dime. I am VERY HAPPY with this rifle, even as little as I have shot it, thus far. Do be warned, this is a HEAVY rifle to pack around. I will hopefully update this review with some Chrony results this week. AWESOME RIFLE...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Surprised at the accuracy I'm able to achieve with this magnum .
      Things I would have changed:I had heard of no complaints of barrel droop with this gun but mine was severe. I had to order droop compensator rail to correct. I had purchased 'high' scope rings for this gun and with the addition of the drooper rail made scope way to high. Turned around and ordered 'low' mounts that was just right.
      What others should know:I kept my gun upon discovering the severe barrel droop and spent the extra money for the drooper rail. Although I don't have a problem with the weight of the gun, some people might as gun is very nose heavy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ROBERT from USA on 2014-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power house, accurate, very we'll made, awesome open site shooting.
      What others should know:Very long gun, bi-pod would be a must for smaller or shorter shooters with not a long reach.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Larry from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the power, accuracy, and the way the gun is made. Great hunting rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Needs a better scope
      What others should know:A great man's gun for plinking and hunting. I wouldn't recommend this for a weak person. It is a magnum gun with a good kick and stiff cocking
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ken from USA on 2013-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the fit and finish on this rifle is wonderful. the accuracy is very good. I have shot 1" groupings at 20 -30 meters consistently.
      Things I would have changed:weight
      What others should know:this gun is a BEAST--- definitely not a Daisy Red Ryder. unless you are muscle bound it is a "two hander"
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By LJC from USA on 2013-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy, trigger, weight, weaver rail and looks. Even the iron sights are really good
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice if a sling and the mounts were included or atleast readily available for purchase at a reasonable price. The sling is available from "hatsanusa.com" but it does not include the factory mounts for the gun. The included dovetail scope rings are an insult to this gun, it makes no sense to build a gun with this power and a weaver rail but then send dove tails for mounts.
      What others should know:This is a great gun, the included scope is ok but the rings are not fit to handle this gun. Be sure to order weaver style rings(11mm dovetails can not hold up to the recoil and the scope will never stay where you put it, I have a 40mm scope and I had to use high rise rings) and a nicer scopoe(new scope is not a must but getting weaver rings is a big must.) Its powerful, accurate (nickel size @ 25yds w/ iron sights using my trucks hood and my arms as a prop[Benjamin HP 14.3gr, H&N terminator 16.36gr & JSB exact match 15.87gr in 22 caliber]) and its a good looking gun, does not feel or look cheap. It is on the heavy side, 10lbs w/leapers 3-9X40 AO, but it is just right for me. Im not a huge guy but im not small by any means and I love the weight of this gun, the little extra weight helps me steady it... This is NOT a toy, small kids will have a hard time shooting and handling this gun. I would recommend this gun only to adults looking to shoot some targets, or my favorite, to hunt small game. Im very happy with mine and im sure you would be equally happy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By airgunanimal from USA on 2013-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my second Hatsan 125. I also have one in 22 cal. It is a well made gun, solid, and a bit heavy. I like it heavy because this gun is in the magnum air gun class. It has significant recoil, but that is expected with this much power. Would be an excellent hunting rifle and also great for target shooting.remember it does cock hard! Above average accuracy. Pellet selection has everything to do with your guns performance. I like shooting at about 40 to 50 yards. with this gun I was using pellets around 20 grains. It was happy with 7 of the 8 pellets that I ran though it. But each pellet shoots a little differently. At 45 yards the drop off with the 31 grain pellets was to much. WHAT I LIKE ABOUT MY HATSANS IS THAT THE FPS THEY LIST IS ACTUAL! I have a crony and was very pleased with the speed.
      Things I would have changed:Use a different( larger) drive system for 25 cal rifles. Too much speed is lost, and the drop off is significant. It would be nice to see the 25 cals going 1000 fps. ( In a spring piston or gas piston.) I know the pre-charge guns will get there.
      What others should know:Not really a beginners rifle. It is hard to cock and is heavy. Would be better suited for hunting not target practice. If you already have a .177 and a .22 cal then go ahead and grab this. why not? The more the better!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Russell from USA on 2013-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very smooth cocking and very quiet gun. I like the plastic stock and this is a steady gun to hold. The scope it comes with has a good solid stop and is not that bad to leave on.
      Things I would have changed:I would shorten the stock a little for most people
      What others should know:I took it to 100 yards right away and hit my marks. .25 caliber is a cool way to go.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rudedawg from USA on 2013-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, power
      Things I would have changed:Trigger adjustment screws, scope, balance, weight
      What others should know:This rifle is very accurate straight out of the box. As others mentioned perform a thorough cleaning prior to shooting and oil all hinge points. I liked this rifle but it was just too heavy and long for me to shoot freehand comfortably. The trigger screws will not adjust to relieve the pull weight which averaged >4# which is not ideal for target shooting. Yes you can change them out but at a risk as others have mentioned. I could cock it using 1 arm to break the barrel while pushing the fore-grip with the other but after a long shooting session it was more comfortable to set it on the rubber stock pad and use both arms to cock. My particular rifle had some other issues and was returned within 2 weeks, PA was super with this transaction. If I were 30-40 years younger the rifles weight & balance may not have been an issue but for now will wait before replacing until a lighter gas piston with Hatsan accuracy comes around. Not sure if PA will post this review but all shooters expect different things, this rifle although it did have many quality points as reflected on the rating stars did have issues and was just not the one for me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jon from USA on 2013-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:STRONG, WELL BUILT RIFLE. ADJ. STOCK. WELL DESIGNED TRIGGER,FULLY ADJ. SHIPS WITH ORIGINAL SPRING.
      Things I would have changed:INCLUDE A BETTER SCOPE
      What others should know:CLOVER LEAF GROUPS AT 25 YDS WITH PREDATOR POLYS
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-05-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Had this rifle for a bit over 2 weeks now, and i was very impressed with it. Very hefty, but the trigger makes all the difference. The trigger is smooth and crisp breaking, it is still maybe around the 4-5 lb mark, but its adjusted all the way, may look into replacing the adjustment screws later down the road(someone else mentioned using a bit longer screw helped his a lot). Prior to this rifle, the only other rifle i have to compare it with is a Daisy 1000s .177 caliber. This is also the first .22 caliber pellet gun i've owned, after about a week before ordering this one, i was tossed between a .22 or a .25. After weighing the two pro's and con's(con being that the .25 caliber i would have to order pellets, whereas the 22 i could get locally)i opted on the 22. Figured it would be 'enough' pellet gun for the time being. And it is powerful. At 52 yards i put a pellet through a soda bottle filled with water, and through an aresol can at 45 yards using Crossman hollow tipped pellets. Accuracy is very good too,typical groups at 20-ish yards are nickel sized with the occasional flyer(either a blemished pellet or me). Basically i purchased this to help my trigger cravings due to rimfire ammo shortages, and also for neighbor friendly back yard shooting, and not regretting it one bit.
      Things I would have changed:Guess the main thing i would change if possible was the weight. It is a rather heavy rifle, nearly 10 lbs i think.. also the scope that comes with it isn't the greatest, but it does do the 'job'.... will be trying diffent optics as time(and money) allows...
      What others should know:If you are in the market for a new pellet gun, this one is very much worth a look. I have no regrets at all in getting it. I did have the 10-for-10 done just for peace of mind, and the velocity seemed to average around the 840 fps mark with a lead pellet. Can't wait to take it squirrel hunting one day, i'm sure it will do just fine. I recall another review saying it does get quieter while breaking it in, i've only put about 250 or so pellets through it so far, and i have noticed the sound level dropping some, it is quiter than my springer Daisy 1000...One last thing i would recommend as some others have, use a thread locker on anything that could turn. After about 20-30 shots i noticed one of the adjustment screws on the trigger dissappeared. Luckily it was one that wasn't too important in the grand scheme of things, actually, turning out that particular screw helped decreases the force to pull the trigger in the 1st stage. Hats off to Hatson!! :)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2013-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the velocity and the power of the rifle. It is very accurate and I love the gas piston.
      Things I would have changed:I added my own sling swivels, but factory swivels would have been nice.
      What others should know:It is a chore to cock, but no more than other rifles listed in the same power category.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By jose from USA on 2013-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the knockdown power
      Things I would have changed:more fps for longer range,the more the merrier
      What others should know:great hunting rifle
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:First, I must divulge that this is the first rifle I've owned in 45 years - the last being a Crosman pumpmaster type I had as a youth. Therefore, I can't really compare it to any other rifle. I purchased the Hatsan 125 for 3 reasons - target shooting, getting rid of small nuisance animals and as a nice-to-have backup survival rifle. Overall, I’d give the rifle 4.5 stars; for value, 5 stars and for accuracy, 4.5 stars. I’ve only put about 200 pellets through it so far and I’m still refining my technique, but it appears to be a pretty accurate rifle with quarter size groups obtainable at 25 yards and half dollar sized groups at 40 yards. Accuracy was one of the main characteristics I was looking for and so far the Hatsan 125 appears to meet the requirement. The fixed sights are excellent and the scope that comes with the rifle is not bad though I will eventually upgrade. I was also looking for an accurate rifle at what I judged to be a moderate price and I’m pretty pleased with the quality and accuracy of the rifle for what I paid.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is a quality product and deserves the good rating I gave it. For what I paid I think it comes with some nice features like a scope, cheek rest, rubber butt pad, decent trigger and adjustable iron sights. It is an eye-appealing rifle that is certainly well machined. Honestly, in my experience with it so far, I wouldn't change a thing about this rifle and wouldn't expect Hatsan to change anything and keep it at the same price. That being said,though I really like this rifle and I will certainly keep it, there are a couple of things that keep it from being my ideal air rifle. The first is the weight. It feels heavier than the advertised 8.4 pounds but whether it is or isn’t, it is heavier than I would prefer. I can’t see me hauling this around in the woods all day. Also, it is longer than I expected (my fault, I should’ve paid more attention to the specs), it doesn’t fit in any of my soft or hard cases (have to buy another) and again, I think I’d like a little shorter rifle for traipsing around in the woods. As mentioned earlier, the scope that comes with the rifle is decent though I will eventually upgrade. I am partial to a finer mil-dot type reticle. Though I can add a sling, it would be nice if the rifle came with at least the attachment points for a sling.
      What others should know:Customer service at Pyramid Air was great and the delivery time of my rifle was very fast. After reviewing my narrowed down choices, they even suggested a rifle option that was a little less money but still gave me what I was looking for. Now that's putting your customer first! I purchased their 10-10 service and am satisfied that it was worth the small extra cost. My rifle works great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2012-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a full sized adult air rifle. I got the 22 caliber. The trigger is good. Finish is good. The gun is heavy, but so is every other gun with similar specs. I have less than 100 pellets through it and with H&N 18.21 Crow Magnums it grouping less than a quarter.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is fair wish it was of higher quality.
      What others should know:The barrel chamber is really tight when putting pellets in. Very happy with this gun
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top