Date: 29/8/2016 2:55
0

Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Stock, Vortex Piston reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Bryan from USA on 2013-04-17 22:49:11

Things I liked: I like the velocity and the power of the rifle. It is very accurate and I love the gas piston.

Things I would have changed: I added my own sling swivels, but factory swivels would have been nice.

What others should know: It is a chore to cock, but no more than other rifles listed in the same power category.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By joseph from USA on 2015-08-31 14:20:47

Things I liked: Price. Quick shipping. Nothing else

Things I would have changed: Hatsan quality control. Trigger jammed after seven shots. Took half an hour to un-jam. No accuracy. 6 inch groups at ten yards. Blemish on fore stock. Reviews on Hatsan rifles mixed....guess I got a bad one. But thanks to Pyramid Air for great customer service. They took this rifle back and exchanged for a Gamo Big Cat .25 with no qualms.

What others should know: The Gamo Big Cat .25 is a real tack driver right out of box. Thanks again Pyramid Air for resolution to the Hatsan issue

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronnie from USA on 2016-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: everything use hn 28.4 grain ammo

    Things I would have changed: offer in wood stock or lower cost

    What others should know: dump scope lower cost n inclind free sling

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sharon from USA on 2016-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, weight of rifle,trigger, stock and the power,

    Things I would have changed: Get a little better rear sight on it.

    What others should know: I have this rifle in the .22 cal and .25 cal, this review is on the .22 cal. First, and most important, this is an accurate air rifle. CLEAN THE BARREL BEFORE SHOOTING IT, it comes filthy. I find the .22 is a little more accurate than the .25 and loves several different bullets. This rifle likes the JSB Diablo 18.13's (average 828 FPS) and they have penetrating power and accuracy. That is a good combination for hunting. (Crosman CP's 14.3 gr. average 911 FPS) This gun has too much power for just paper shooters. When you look above at what I like about this rifle, there is very little this rifle lacks. If you hunt, this is a good choice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronnie from USA on 2016-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: stock. accuracy and power. im usuing 28.4 grain hn hunter extreme ammo. chrony at 711 to high of 724 fps. nearly 32 fpe. awesome gun . not a thing but beauty n power with this bad boy ... but ya couple awesome guns. .. i did im gonn buy more .. also highly accurate at 35 yards truely amazing....

    Things I would have changed: include a set of sling mounts n better scope but for the quality n power n accuracy its still a great price..... stop reading and start buying....

    What others should know: nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sharon from USA on 2016-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have the 125 .25 vortex with the black stock. First thing, clean barrel thoroughly before shooting. I also wax my pellets with Lee Alox and let them dry, then you aren't handling lead with your fingers. My .25 cal. like JBS Match Diablos (25.39 gr. After I had shot it a couple of hundred times, I shot over my chrono. The Diablos averaged (5 shots) 743.1 fps with a 3.7 fps spread. I have some old wadcutters (21.4 gr.) they averaged for 5 shots, 802.0 fps with an 8.5 fps spread. They both shoot very accurate. I like the weight, 8.4 lbs. for a big gun and the hard to scratch stock. All in all, this is a wonderful gun in so many respects. It does take a man to cock it but you should expect that to be the case.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see them get the weight down just a little more although this gun is lighter than most HARD shooting guns.

    What others should know: This gun is somewhat hard to cock but I am age 75 and can cock it easy. It gets easier as you get stronger and the cocking is as smooth as glass. Good Luck buying this gun, I would highly recommend anyone wanting hunting power to choose this gun in a heartbeat. It has monsterous power for an air rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By tyler from USA on 2016-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power with accuracy, mines in .22 well over 1000 shots and I'm getting 5 shot sub dime sized groups at 20 yards. For what it is it cocks much easier than expected, very smooth and consistent. So far the jsb 18.13 are the most accurate with the h&n sniper mags 18gr, predator metal mag 17gr and h&n terminator 16.36gr all producing dime sized groups at 20 yards. I'm maybe an average shooter at best with this being my second break barrel rifle and I'm confident I can take it out to 50 yards with sub inch groups. At 40 I've put down quarter sized groups 4 of which are dime sized and the rest my error. Any shot that's off target has always been my fault this thing is a laser guided missle! I've just purchased a 105x vortex also in .22 to see how much further I can push accuracy without going PCP. My experience will also be posted on here with that rifle here in the next few months hopefully.

    Things I would have changed: Buying the 10 for 10 service, mine has a corner on the loading end of the barrel that had been rolled over. Nothing to harm any tolerances just had to grind down the end to end the occasional cut on my finger. Also mine came a touch dry but it was an easy fix. Other than that nothing I can think of.

    What others should know: Always get the 10 for 10 service. The pellet pen will be your best friend since mine has a tight choke on it and wider pellets won't fully seat fingertip alone. Not really pellet fussy only hating jsb monsters and cheap ruger WalMart ammo which is just trash. Everything else including crosman ammo shoots well under a. Inch at 20 yards and I've ran about 15 different kinds of ammo so far.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the way it shoots. Very accurate. This gun feels like my 30.06 ...very heavy

    Things I would have changed: The safety is not a positive snap. It is loose and cheap feeling.

    What others should know: Quiet and impressive knock down power ! I love the 25 cal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By phil from USA on 2015-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: looks great right out of the box every thing I ordered was packed real nice very accurate with the iron sights mounted my own scope a simmons 3-9 -50 using jsb 18.13 domed .22 caliber pellets I was shooting 1 inch targets at 35 yards and keeping all hits in the center. I haven't shot over 65 yards yet but I am hitting squirrels and rabbits in the head at that range consistently

    Things I would have changed: not a thing I don't know about the scope I did not even mount it. people complain about the cocking effort but is not that hard i'm in my late fifties and can shoot for hours no problem

    What others should know: I have the .22 caliber and it is a tack driver I have tried several pellets of jsb and Crossman and they all shoot great I do have to change my scope settings for different weights but I do that with my regular rifles. this is my first break barrel and I am very pleased with it's performance.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2015-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle in [.25] caliber is as amazing as the previous two Hatsan 125/.22 Nitro Pistons I own. The Vortex Piston seems about the same but a chrony might show me something. I broke this rifle in with the open Fiber Optic sights and as with the others, was delighted on how accurate it was.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I'd change on this rifle is the quality of the scope and rings. I put my Leapers UTG 4-16 x 50mm AO Iluminated Mil-Dot scope on it. The OEM scope just isn't up to the quality and power of the rifle.

    What others should know: This rifle and the two .22 Hatsan 125's I own are without a doubt, the best and most accurate for the price I have found.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By joseph from USA on 2015-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price. Quick shipping. Nothing else

    Things I would have changed: Hatsan quality control. Trigger jammed after seven shots. Took half an hour to un-jam. No accuracy. 6 inch groups at ten yards. Blemish on fore stock. Reviews on Hatsan rifles mixed....guess I got a bad one. But thanks to Pyramid Air for great customer service. They took this rifle back and exchanged for a Gamo Big Cat .25 with no qualms.

    What others should know: The Gamo Big Cat .25 is a real tack driver right out of box. Thanks again Pyramid Air for resolution to the Hatsan issue

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2015-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid, powerful and accurate. Its heavy but seems to be less hold sensitive because of it. Had low expectations with Hatsan due to lots of quality control complaints. After 200 shots its shooting sub-dime size groups at 20 yards with JSB, Hatsan Vortex and H&N pellets. Lots of power out of the .25. No problem shooting through 3/4" plywood at 25 yards with pointed pellets. I'm getting 800 FPS with H&N Field Target Trophy's. Mine also loves Polymags. Did the 10 for 10 and was worth every penny.

    Things I would have changed: Would be great if it came with the silencer that they put on the 125 Sniper Model.

    What others should know: I've heard several complaints about the trigger but compared to my Umarex Octane's trigger its a dream.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Doug from USA on 2015-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Power!!!

    Things I would have changed: I think the safety could be improved somewhat.

    What others should know: I've shoot a lot of air rifles but this one is my favorite!!!

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Randall from USA on 2015-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good scope mounting setup. No problem with scope moving under the heavy recoil of this rifle. The trigger was ok, better than Crosman's I've owned. Some people gripe about the rifle being difficult to cock, but I was able to shoot 50 rounds a session with no trouble, and I 'm 69.

    Things I would have changed: Hatsan's QC

    What others should know: I had this rifle for one week. My first inclination when I opened the box was to send it back immediately. The stock had what appeared to be white water marks and was dark in other places. It cleaned up ok, so I inspected it further and it was ok. I got the 10 for 10 and the gun averaged 995 fps with 11.9 g Hobbies. The ES was 99 fps . A week later a 10 shot string with jsb 15.89 g averaged 722 fps. Too low. I returned the rifle for a refund including the 10 for 10. These rifles are notorious for having QC issues. No more Hatsans. 722 fps. Something was wrong . t two 10 shot strings with CPHP 14.3 g pellets and they averaged 887 and 891 fps with the second string having a ES of 20.5 fps. I thought it was settling down. Five days later I shot one 10 shot string of jsb 15.89 g and it averaged 721.83 fps, with a ES of 45.8 fps. Something was wrong. I returned the rifle and received a refund, including the 10 for 10.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By BigWoodHat from USA on 2015-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything as advertised. The 10 for 10 PA offers proved 1050fps in .22 w/ a 12g lead pellet,i was getting 961 fps w/ CPHP 14g. 815 fps w/Baracuda Xtreme 19g. 775 w/kodiacs 21g...27/28ft;lbs on every pellet i used. It grouped well w/ everything over 15g. Grouped w/ Air Arms 18g the tightest. The only 14g pellet that worked was H&N FTT power copper plated,it group almost as good as the AirArm 18g & they mushroomed out just like a reg jacketed high powered rifle bullet,very cool. This thing even flattened out Kodiacs at 20 yrds against 1/4" thick alluminum waffle iron resulting in a deep dent. Very impressive. So accuracy & power are deffinitly there. Read in 3 diff forums where they classified it as a super magnum. I dont use scopes so no comment. Iron sights are very nice comapred to some others ive dealt w/.

    Things I would have changed: If you changed what most complain about? then it wouldnt be in the magnum class. I cant figure why people buy a magnum then complain about magnum things. Muzzle break might should be bigger/heavier to match the Beasty'ness... So, in the recommend dept?i would recommend the sniper version which has the bigger muzzle break. Dont know if its heavier. I didnt wanna tinker w/it while under warranty. But bigger heavier muzzle breaks are out there.I read in a forum where this one is removable w/heat & a good smack from a wooden mallet. But as i mentioned,i learnt a long time ago not to tinker w/stuff under warranty.

    What others should know: Walks,Talks,acts like a magnum. It was hard to break the barrel,before the cocking part,my hand was actualy sore the next day after a 100 shots (this is not a complaint,i liked the fact that its beasty enuff to make my hand sore)Id have to smack it 2 or 3 times to break it open w/bottom of my fist trying to find (sweet spot) out just how much smack i needed to break it open w/just 1 smack. Hope that makes sense. Maybe a Locking/Unlocking devise could cure it. 800 shots of this & the barrel got loose right at the point where it breaks open, up & down,not side to side,naturally accuracy fell off. So i decided for a return & get a 150 torpedo w/same power. I figure the under lever action on the Torpedo will eliminate any chance of this reaccuring. Sniper version has a bigger muzzle break,this might cure the need for the smack mine required which i was looking into adding to mine before it got loose. Dan at PA made the return & trade out painless. Torpedo is on the way.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Shady from USA on 2015-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power Accuracy Solid Design Big kick when fired

    Things I would have changed: Finish on the gun is nice if you like Blue over Rust, just poor craftmanship.

    What others should know: Hatsan needs to work on quality control. Worth paying for "10 for $10" on some gun makers

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Shady from USA on 2015-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power Accuracy Solid Design Big kick when fired

    Things I would have changed: Id fire the guy doing the Bluing on these guns. And his boss. Finish on the gun is nice if you like Blue over Rust, just crappy could care less craftmanship

    What others should know: Hatsan workers appear to be absolute idiots. Take no pride in their workmanship Getting a defect like this rust to pass quality control. Go German RWS

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2015-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The trigger is really great. This gun is obviously well made.

    Things I would have changed: It would be good if Hatsan could shave some wait off rifle

    What others should know: This model Hatsan really gives the most bang for your buck.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Upgrade alert and UPDATE!!! After My broken syn .25 cal stock was replaced at no cost (defect) by Hatsan USA. I asked if there was a VORTEX Upgrade, the answer is YES! I immediately jumped on the reasonable $99.95 which includes shipping to me in a new Hatsan box. The gun is a dream to fire now without the massive double recoil, and delivers more power to the target. After correcting my UTG scope which got bashed up by the previous magnum spring it seems to be doing very well with .5"-1." groups at 30 yards with H&N Baracuda 31.02 grain pellets. So the tests continue, If you have a Hatsan Syn Springer 125 .25 contact HATSAN USA and get it converted it is worth every penny. If you're in the market for the 125 . 25 get the VORTEX, it will be a better experience.

    Things I would have changed: There have been some comments on CS Hatsan USA is centrally located Bethel Heights, AR. If you're on NY or L.A. Time like I am, it's time to relax a bit and not stress they will respond to you and get the job done. I google earthed their warehouse and it's in the heartland of America in a small steel warehouse. Be thankful we don't have to send them to Turkey. The cocking effort is less than the spinger version, and if I do it correctly I can cock it with one hand, but not for long. Things I would change? Well maybe just inform...Others

    What others should know: When I purchased the springer model of this rifle I knew it was too much spring, and it never settled down. So 3 scopes later I was pretty upset. With the VORTEX it's easier to shoot my sight seems to be holding up at zero, and it still has the power and better accuracy. Buy this version and not the springer unless Hatsan d-tunes or re-engineers that model.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jesse from USA on 2015-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the quality compared to the Benjamin Nitro 2 I sent back because it had a hairline crack in the barrel before I even shot it? I was intimidated by how much strength/leverage it took to cock this Turkish Beast, but after fifty shots it seemed to get easier, This is one powerful air rifle, I could not get over the penetration of my wood and earthen backstop, this thing could kill a large mammal with a well placed shot, no doubt about it. A great survival air rifle, never go hungry with this thing!

    Things I would have changed: The cheap scope sucks, don't even include it with the rifle. I bought a much nicer 3-9x32 AO scope that will be a great fit for this nasty air rifle. It's heavy, big and long, if your a little feller, forget it! You need muscle to cock it, maybe there should be warning on Pyramyd's web site rating this as a extremely hard cocker?

    What others should know: I don't know about the few negative reviews, maybe a few bad ones slipped through the QC dept? I like the Hatsan, maybe in a couple years things will smooth out, they're better than that darn Crosman Nitro 2 I sent back!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The feel of the stock is nice or at least for me and the weight feels good also. Pyramid air and AGD for taking these things back, still have one and would fix it myself but Hatsan CS is unresponsive and the only place you can get the alive jam parts or a barrel.

    Things I would have changed: The length of pull is terrible way to long which causes issues with trying to mount scopes. Normal fire arms are around 13.5" to 13.75" these are 15" had one that was 16". Pull the pad off and you will then be able to use your scope. Make a desent product, improve QC and hire a desent customer service team at Hatsan.

    What others should know: I have gone through 4 of these. #1 dead gas ram, # 2 and 3 piston seals failed after 150-200 shots but they shot accurate while they lasted. Now #4, seals ok but shoots all oer the place, barrel bent up so no adjustment even left in open sights, maxed out and still 2" high. The alive jam pin is either to small or the hole in the breech block where it sits is to big and the spring to short. There is a .15 gap between alive jam pin and breech block hole meaning this rifle won't hit anything till the tolerances are fixed. Warranty well if you get a response from Hatsan consider yourself lucky, the WORST service I have ever seen. These rifles have major QC issues, poor fitting parts, over lubed pistons causing seals to fry, stock length variable but way to long for most. Rifle #3 had a hole bored through the side of the action that was done after the rifle was blued looked like it was done in a barn yard! I would guess it started life as a springer the was converted poorly to vortex ram.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing is a BEAST. I love it as my GO TO Breakbarrel for serious backyard varmint hunting. It packs a serious punch that few, if any small to small medium sized critters, will be able to walk away from. Love the position of the safety. Very quick and easy to engage or disengage safety which is a big plus with guns with auto-safety.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking effort.

    What others should know: Cocking effort will wear you out if you are using this as an all day plinker. I'm good with it for about 1-2 hours then my old arm needs a break......then I go to the trusty PCP rifles ;-) Pretty accurate (for me) up to about 45 yards WITH POWER after that need more data to make additional comments. Not sure how long my CenterPoint 4x16x40 scope will hold up to the punishment of this gun....only time will tell.

  • 123 Next
Navigation