Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Stock, Vortex Piston reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Bryan from USA on 2013-04-17 22:49:11

Things I liked: I like the velocity and the power of the rifle. It is very accurate and I love the gas piston.

Things I would have changed: I added my own sling swivels, but factory swivels would have been nice.

What others should know: It is a chore to cock, but no more than other rifles listed in the same power category.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By joseph from USA on 2015-08-31 14:20:47

Things I liked: Price. Quick shipping. Nothing else

Things I would have changed: Hatsan quality control. Trigger jammed after seven shots. Took half an hour to un-jam. No accuracy. 6 inch groups at ten yards. Blemish on fore stock. Reviews on Hatsan rifles mixed....guess I got a bad one. But thanks to Pyramid Air for great customer service. They took this rifle back and exchanged for a Gamo Big Cat .25 with no qualms.

What others should know: The Gamo Big Cat .25 is a real tack driver right out of box. Thanks again Pyramid Air for resolution to the Hatsan issue

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By joseph from USA on 2015-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price. Quick shipping. Nothing else

    Things I would have changed: Hatsan quality control. Trigger jammed after seven shots. Took half an hour to un-jam. No accuracy. 6 inch groups at ten yards. Blemish on fore stock. Reviews on Hatsan rifles mixed....guess I got a bad one. But thanks to Pyramid Air for great customer service. They took this rifle back and exchanged for a Gamo Big Cat .25 with no qualms.

    What others should know: The Gamo Big Cat .25 is a real tack driver right out of box. Thanks again Pyramid Air for resolution to the Hatsan issue

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2015-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid, powerful and accurate. Its heavy but seems to be less hold sensitive because of it. Had low expectations with Hatsan due to lots of quality control complaints. After 200 shots its shooting sub-dime size groups at 20 yards with JSB, Hatsan Vortex and H&N pellets. Lots of power out of the .25. No problem shooting through 3/4" plywood at 25 yards with pointed pellets. I'm getting 800 FPS with H&N Field Target Trophy's. Mine also loves Polymags. Did the 10 for 10 and was worth every penny.

    Things I would have changed: Would be great if it came with the silencer that they put on the 125 Sniper Model.

    What others should know: I've heard several complaints about the trigger but compared to my Umarex Octane's trigger its a dream.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Doug from USA on 2015-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Power!!!

    Things I would have changed: I think the safety could be improved somewhat.

    What others should know: I've shoot a lot of air rifles but this one is my favorite!!!

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Randall from USA on 2015-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good scope mounting setup. No problem with scope moving under the heavy recoil of this rifle. The trigger was ok, better than Crosman's I've owned. Some people gripe about the rifle being difficult to cock, but I was able to shoot 50 rounds a session with no trouble, and I 'm 69.

    Things I would have changed: Hatsan's QC

    What others should know: I had this rifle for one week. My first inclination when I opened the box was to send it back immediately. The stock had what appeared to be white water marks and was dark in other places. It cleaned up ok, so I inspected it further and it was ok. I got the 10 for 10 and the gun averaged 995 fps with 11.9 g Hobbies. The ES was 99 fps . A week later a 10 shot string with jsb 15.89 g averaged 722 fps. Too low. I returned the rifle for a refund including the 10 for 10. These rifles are notorious for having QC issues. No more Hatsans. 722 fps. Something was wrong . t two 10 shot strings with CPHP 14.3 g pellets and they averaged 887 and 891 fps with the second string having a ES of 20.5 fps. I thought it was settling down. Five days later I shot one 10 shot string of jsb 15.89 g and it averaged 721.83 fps, with a ES of 45.8 fps. Something was wrong. I returned the rifle and received a refund, including the 10 for 10.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By BigUglyHat from USA on 2015-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything as advertised. The 10 for 10 PA offers proved 1050fps in .22 w/ a 12g lead pellet,i was getting 961 fps w/ CPHP 14g. 815 fps w/Baracuda Xtreme 19g. 775 w/kodiacs 21g...27/28ft;lbs on every pellet i used. It grouped well w/ everything over 15g. Grouped w/ Air Arms 18g the tightest. The only 14g pellet that worked was H&N FTT power copper plated,it group almost as good as the AirArm 18g & they mushroomed out just like a reg jacketed high powered rifle bullet,very cool. This thing even flattened out Kodiacs at 20 yrds against 1/4" thick alluminum waffle iron resulting in a deep dent. Very impressive. So accuracy & power are deffinitly there. Read in 3 diff forums where they classified it as a super magnum. I dont use scopes so no comment. Iron sights are very nice comapred to some others ive dealt w/.

    Things I would have changed: If you changed what most complain about? then it wouldnt be in the magnum class. I cant figure why people buy a magnum then complain about magnum things. Muzzle break might should be bigger/heavier to match the Beasty'ness... So, in the recommend dept?i would recommend the sniper version which has the bigger muzzle break. Dont know if its heavier. I didnt wanna tinker w/it while under warranty. But bigger heavier muzzle breaks are out there.I read in a forum where this one is removable w/heat & a good smack from a wooden mallet. But as i mentioned,i learnt a long time ago not to tinker w/stuff under warranty.

    What others should know: Walks,Talks,acts like a magnum. It was hard to break the barrel,before the cocking part,my hand was actualy sore the next day after a 100 shots (this is not a complaint,i liked the fact that its beasty enuff to make my hand sore)Id have to smack it 2 or 3 times to break it open w/bottom of my fist trying to find (sweet spot) out just how much smack i needed to break it open w/just 1 smack. Hope that makes sense. Maybe a Locking/Unlocking devise could cure it. 800 shots of this & the barrel got loose right at the point where it breaks open, up & down,not side to side,naturally accuracy fell off. So i decided for a return & get a 150 torpedo w/same power. I figure the under lever action on the Torpedo will eliminate any chance of this reaccuring. Sniper version has a bigger muzzle break,this might cure the need for the smack mine required which i was looking into adding to mine before it got loose. Dan at PA made the return & trade out painless. Torpedo is on the way.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Shady from USA on 2015-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power Accuracy Solid Design Big kick when fired

    Things I would have changed: Finish on the gun is nice if you like Blue over Rust, just poor craftmanship.

    What others should know: Hatsan needs to work on quality control. Worth paying for "10 for $10" on some gun makers

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Shady from USA on 2015-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power Accuracy Solid Design Big kick when fired

    Things I would have changed: Id fire the guy doing the Bluing on these guns. And his boss. Finish on the gun is nice if you like Blue over Rust, just crappy could care less craftmanship

    What others should know: Hatsan workers appear to be absolute idiots. Take no pride in their workmanship Getting a defect like this rust to pass quality control. Go German RWS

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2015-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The trigger is really great. This gun is obviously well made.

    Things I would have changed: It would be good if Hatsan could shave some wait off rifle

    What others should know: This model Hatsan really gives the most bang for your buck.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Upgrade alert and UPDATE!!! After My broken syn .25 cal stock was replaced at no cost (defect) by Hatsan USA. I asked if there was a VORTEX Upgrade, the answer is YES! I immediately jumped on the reasonable $99.95 which includes shipping to me in a new Hatsan box. The gun is a dream to fire now without the massive double recoil, and delivers more power to the target. After correcting my UTG scope which got bashed up by the previous magnum spring it seems to be doing very well with .5"-1." groups at 30 yards with H&N Baracuda 31.02 grain pellets. So the tests continue, If you have a Hatsan Syn Springer 125 .25 contact HATSAN USA and get it converted it is worth every penny. If you're in the market for the 125 . 25 get the VORTEX, it will be a better experience.

    Things I would have changed: There have been some comments on CS Hatsan USA is centrally located Bethel Heights, AR. If you're on NY or L.A. Time like I am, it's time to relax a bit and not stress they will respond to you and get the job done. I google earthed their warehouse and it's in the heartland of America in a small steel warehouse. Be thankful we don't have to send them to Turkey. The cocking effort is less than the spinger version, and if I do it correctly I can cock it with one hand, but not for long. Things I would change? Well maybe just inform...Others

    What others should know: When I purchased the springer model of this rifle I knew it was too much spring, and it never settled down. So 3 scopes later I was pretty upset. With the VORTEX it's easier to shoot my sight seems to be holding up at zero, and it still has the power and better accuracy. Buy this version and not the springer unless Hatsan d-tunes or re-engineers that model.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jesse from USA on 2015-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the quality compared to the Benjamin Nitro 2 I sent back because it had a hairline crack in the barrel before I even shot it? I was intimidated by how much strength/leverage it took to cock this Turkish Beast, but after fifty shots it seemed to get easier, This is one powerful air rifle, I could not get over the penetration of my wood and earthen backstop, this thing could kill a large mammal with a well placed shot, no doubt about it. A great survival air rifle, never go hungry with this thing!

    Things I would have changed: The cheap scope sucks, don't even include it with the rifle. I bought a much nicer 3-9x32 AO scope that will be a great fit for this nasty air rifle. It's heavy, big and long, if your a little feller, forget it! You need muscle to cock it, maybe there should be warning on Pyramyd's web site rating this as a extremely hard cocker?

    What others should know: I don't know about the few negative reviews, maybe a few bad ones slipped through the QC dept? I like the Hatsan, maybe in a couple years things will smooth out, they're better than that darn Crosman Nitro 2 I sent back!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The feel of the stock is nice or at least for me and the weight feels good also. Pyramid air and AGD for taking these things back, still have one and would fix it myself but Hatsan CS is unresponsive and the only place you can get the alive jam parts or a barrel.

    Things I would have changed: The length of pull is terrible way to long which causes issues with trying to mount scopes. Normal fire arms are around 13.5" to 13.75" these are 15" had one that was 16". Pull the pad off and you will then be able to use your scope. Make a desent product, improve QC and hire a desent customer service team at Hatsan.

    What others should know: I have gone through 4 of these. #1 dead gas ram, # 2 and 3 piston seals failed after 150-200 shots but they shot accurate while they lasted. Now #4, seals ok but shoots all oer the place, barrel bent up so no adjustment even left in open sights, maxed out and still 2" high. The alive jam pin is either to small or the hole in the breech block where it sits is to big and the spring to short. There is a .15 gap between alive jam pin and breech block hole meaning this rifle won't hit anything till the tolerances are fixed. Warranty well if you get a response from Hatsan consider yourself lucky, the WORST service I have ever seen. These rifles have major QC issues, poor fitting parts, over lubed pistons causing seals to fry, stock length variable but way to long for most. Rifle #3 had a hole bored through the side of the action that was done after the rifle was blued looked like it was done in a barn yard! I would guess it started life as a springer the was converted poorly to vortex ram.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing is a BEAST. I love it as my GO TO Breakbarrel for serious backyard varmint hunting. It packs a serious punch that few, if any small to small medium sized critters, will be able to walk away from. Love the position of the safety. Very quick and easy to engage or disengage safety which is a big plus with guns with auto-safety.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking effort.

    What others should know: Cocking effort will wear you out if you are using this as an all day plinker. I'm good with it for about 1-2 hours then my old arm needs a break......then I go to the trusty PCP rifles ;-) Pretty accurate (for me) up to about 45 yards WITH POWER after that need more data to make additional comments. Not sure how long my CenterPoint 4x16x40 scope will hold up to the punishment of this gun....only time will tell.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By WIlliam from USA on 2014-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: Replace the Quatro trigger adjustment screws with longer ones, to provide a decent trigger.

    What others should know: However the trigger which is advertised by Hatsan as as the fully adjustable quatro trigger is, as furnished a piece of crap, which I was able to fix by simply lengthining the sear screw and went from an awful 7+ pound trigger to a 2lb trigger, accuracy so far is mediocre at best I hope after the break in period it will get better.

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2014-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Some aspects of the engineering/design of the Hatsan guns are better than other brands, example, the added lock-screw at the barrel pivot bolthead to prevent loosening. Front stock mounting screw/bolt very solid.

    Things I would have changed: The adjustable trigger screws are made to be lawyer proof and adjustment makes the trigger slightly better but marginal. Offer without Optima scope.

    What others should know: This is well made solid magnum air gun. Sadly, I returned this gun after finding the barrel was "drooped" bent upwards badly enough that my scope would need shimmed more than I cared to shim it.(shooting over 10" high @20yds) The guns' shot cycle/recoil requires a tough scope in a solid mount. Rotated a reticle(+ to x) in a high rated air gun scope secured in a one-piece quality mount after 5 shots. Quality control at Hatsan seems to need improvement. This gun being reviewed was my second from PA, the first, after initial shooting 50 shots to clear the dieseling, I cleaned the barrel and upon shining a bore light at breech end, I could see heavy gouges in the rifling near the muzzle. PyramydAir is great to deal with in making things right! THANK YOU I guess I'm just not meant to own a magnum air gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By billy from USA on 2014-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The things I love about the gun are that it looks and feels like a beast. The performance how ever puts that to shame, this gun is unbelievably accuracy and powerful. Puts nearly every gun 3x the price of this. Would get 30+ fpe with the polymags, so it would compete with great pcps. The trigger is great, you can make it a longer/shorter pull and make the trigger lighter/heavier, you can tell this us a great gun within the first shot.I really like the safety being where it is because instead of having to move your finger after just being ready to shoot when you have the target in your sight, you just move your thumb, up and you don't loose any time messing around.

    Things I would have changed: Have a choice to purchase this gun with a really good scope or no scope. The scope they give you will work just fine. But to get every ounce if accuracy out if this gun you will have to upgrade, also trtly making the material on the stock just thicker or better because when I got it, it was the a little rubbed off on the bottom of it and side. But I had to look really good to find it, again not a biig deal but would like it fixed if/when I get it again.

    What others should know: This gun is heavier than I expected but should be no deal breaker. The trigger was better than expected and power and accuracy was just so good. If you are even considering buying a gun, you need to get this one. I would definatly recommend the diablo exacts, they are the most accurate out there and deliver the KO punch. But if you are hunting within about 20 yards, that needle point of a difference won't matter, but 30+yards I would get the exacts.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gary from USA on 2014-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Power and accuracy. Hatsan 125 .25 caliber not a vortex.

    Things I would have changed: Immediately changed the scope not to say it wouldn't have worked. I just figured the better the scope the better the accuracy. Also clean the bore before you even try to shoot it in. The high rings have to stay on the scope because the front sight is big. With a 40mm lens you have to keep it on 6 power so you don't see the front sight. 32mm you probably don't have to worry about the power level on the scope but you still have to keep the rings. Not complaining Hatsan made a great rifle at a great price point!!!!!!

    What others should know: I tried 6 different types of pellets. Do not waste your money on pellets. The only ones that gave a tight group were the PREDATOR POLYMAG 26gr. At 25 yards right next to each other. Im sure they will do great at 50. They also penetrated the deepest. At just under $200 plus another $100 for a better scope you cant go wrong.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jhubb10 from USA on 2014-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Things I like about this rifle is how rugged it feels. This should make a great Turkey hunting gun for those California wild turkys. The power of this rifle exceeded my expectations of what an air rifle is capable of doing. The gun was quick to sight in, however, some more tweaking will be needed to get this gun to drive nails. Out of all my firearms I own this is currently my favorite rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I wish is came with mounts for a sling. The scope is ok, but I wish Hatsan would leave it off the rifle and lower the price.

    What others should know: I am really liking this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2014-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Couldn't shoot it. Safety came to me broke. It looked of good quality though.

    Things I would have changed: Scope

    What others should know: Really nothing I can add mechanically. My gun must of got damaged in transit. Everything looked good quality. I would say maybe heavy.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this just because I was curious to try out a .25 caliber with the Nitro Piston. Opening the box...It's not a pretty gun. Black synthetic, its what I expected. Fit / finish is average. First shots, I scrubbed the barrel, and set up a 3/4 inch pine board @ 35 yards. I used JSB Diabolo pellets and it ripped right through the board-repeatedly. I was impressed the way it hit at that distance with clean, perfect round holes. I'm getting average 1 1/2" groups @ 35 yards with JSB Diabolo pellets and with H & N hunter extreme. It's hard to explain the Piston technology. It's different than a springer. I would say a little smoother. Overall I like this gun. I always been an RWS snob. Hatsan has put out a decent product and I honestly think this is same or better shooting than my 600+ dollar springer airguns. $200 bucks you cant beat this. It's a beast.

    Things I would have changed: Cheesy plastic safety and muzzle break. The fiber optic sights really don't add much to this. They work but, are hard to line up quick if you are shooting on the fly. Expect to use a scope. Diamond style rear peep sight would be a definite plus.

    What others should know: This is not for novice shooters. I read that this gun was extremely heavy. It would be heavy to some that have not used a quality hunting air rifle before. It weighs no more than my RWS 52. Cocking effort is comparatively higher than normal around +10 lbs...but the added firepower is well worth it. The scope that comes with this gun works just fine. I read in these reviews that its poor quality. I find the scope works great to hunt with. I already took two 30+ lb racoons with clean head shots @ 40 yards. The scope is a standard duplex. It holds zero. It's clear.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2014-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is an accurate and powerful gun. I bought .25 caliber and I am very happy with it.It has a good trigger. It is also good practice to keep your eye in for firearms.

    What others should know: The piston and trigger are both very good. The stock has enough grip to maintain a good cheek weld and follow through.

  • 123 Next
Navigation