Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Synthetic Stock reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Steve from USA on 2012-11-30 22:31:51

Things I liked:The accuracy of this rifle is absolutely better than my Benjamin Trail NP XL1100. The trigger is very smooth and easily controlled. Hold sensitive, but easy to overcome. This rifle delivers easily a 100FPS improvement over my NPXL1100.
Things I would have changed:The scope is very low quality. I would rather have saved $10 and not received a scope. If I had to choose another gripe, I would say the stock becomes very slick if your palm sweats during extended shooting.
What others should know:My rifle is currently delivering 950FPS with 14.3gr lead pellets. I followed barrel seasoning advice from a reputable source. I am achieving groups under 5/16 of an inch at 10 yards.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By mark from USA on 2015-06-19 06:31:07

Things I liked:Nothing
Things I would have changed:Better QC
What others should know:The safety broke after about 150 or so shots. There was no tapper at the breach and I wonder about the crown. The rear sights fell off and shot everywhere at 15 yrd. If you by one have PA check it out
Sort by:
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Felipe from USA on 2015-07-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Has a sleek & rugged feel. It's accurate and quiet. I find the open sights easy to use. I'm comfortable with the scope and rings it came with. The automatic safety and its location. The Quattro trigger of course.
    Things I would have changed:The weight & length. The access hole to the smaller trigger adjustment screws could be a little more to the front so that you don't have to reach the most forward screw at an angle. The fact that you could see the spring under the gun. Being that I will use this for hunting, I will have to be very careful not to get debri inside.
    What others should know:This gun is basically the less expensive version of the 125 Sniper. I was hitting good groups at 25yds straight out of the box with the open sights. I was dialed in in less than 15 shots, with two different pellets (lead and PBA). I will be using this rifle for hunting and am considering using the open sights or a 3x red dot. Definitely satisfied and will be purchasing more Hatsan air rifles. Will be wrapping it with camo cloth in the field for hunting purposes and also to protect the exposed spring from getting dirty.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By mark from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nothing
    Things I would have changed:Better QC
    What others should know:The safety broke after about 150 or so shots. There was no tapper at the breach and I wonder about the crown. The rear sights fell off and shot everywhere at 15 yrd. If you by one have PA check it out
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Raymond from USA on 2015-05-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The power of this gun is incredible. The quality of the action is superb. Quattro trigger is great.
    Things I would have changed:The stock is thin and flimsy at the butt. Mine cracked at the upper recoil pad attachment screw after about 10 shots due to the heavy recoil of this gun. The scope that comes with it is completely useless. I wasted 2 days chasing scope settings, then finally gave up and replaced the scope with an AimPoint 2.5 - 7 power scope and all has been well ever since. I wish the breech seal was an "o"ring type instead of the sleeve type that it is. The breech seal does not last very long and you will not find anything in your garage or at the local hardware store to "get you by" so order extras .
    What others should know:This is the hardest gun of any kind to shoot accurately that I have ever shot. Don't get me wrong, the gun itself is very accurate, it is just very difficult to shoot it and be consistant. Hold is everything. The less you touch this gun while shooting, the tighter your groups will be. Easier said than done with a rifle that weighs nearly 10 lbs. If you try to manhandle this rifle, it will shoot all over the map!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2015-02-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Unequaled power and accuracy in this price range
    Things I would have changed:Scrap the scope. Mine lasted about 75 shots
    What others should know:After receiving my rifle I immediately tore it down and replaced the crappy factory piston seal with the aftermarket one PA sells so I wouldn't have to worry about it not performing when hunting. IMHO this rifle is just as accurate as my RWS with a whole lot more power. Surprisingly, the learning curve for a rifle with this much power was not very steep. I actually got bored stacking pellets at 25 yards and moved it out to 50 and was shooting 1.5" groups at that range. As others have said this rifle loves the .25 jsb exact kings and throws them with authority, remaining on target even in gusty cross winds. If you buy this rifle, please do not be afraid to take it apart, it is one of the easiest ones to work on, and replace the piston seal, plenty of vids on youtube about it. I am sure the bad reviews for the 125 series are because of a bad piston seal, mine was crap when I got it. Still waiting for PA to ship my new chrony and will post stats when I get it.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Abe from USA on 2015-01-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:After a very extensive researching effort, I continually kept coming too the 125 .25 as my break barrel gun of choice. I could hardlywait for the gun too arrive and at 40, felt like a kid again with so much excitement! Once the day FINALLY got here, I was shaking with excitementa as I opened the very well packaged box. I didnt even wait too mount the scope and thanks to the very well made open Sights I was able too blast a couple of shots immediately. This gun literally made me shake with the amount of authority and power it displays. Accurate within a 1.5" open sighted out the gates. With it being almost dark I begrudgingly had to wait till the next day to shoot. With the quality of the few shots I was able to fire, I had a hard time sleeping that night. Next morning I took the hatsan to work and first shot sounded off. Subsequent shots were slow enough too see and wouldnt penetrate the target. My heart broke when pyramid told me the piston seal was probably broken. Awesome gun bes
    Things I would have changed:With the seals being turkishor whatever non American place makes them, perhaps look into some way to resolve that. I invested several days of researching the gun I wanted. I was not disapointed when everything was working out of the box. My heart broke knowing I will have to wait more weeks to enjoy the gun I reallywas confident and excited to get. Pyramid is beyond awesome with there customer service and replacement policy. This time im optingfor the piston seal upgrade to a more durable seal. I would change the seal in retrospect.
    What others should know:If your in the hunt for a power full take down breakbarrel, the hatsan 125 is crazy powerful and accurate. Thats out of the box. Cant wait too get my rifle back with the seal upgrade! Pyramid Air is years apart from the other companies as far as service goes. My disapointment was easily tuned down by working with their customer service reps.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By ahkell from USA on 2015-01-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Powerful and accurate. Good trigger. Weaver rail welded on the barrel.
    What others should know:Takes practice to shoot this well, even with the gas piston. It's a good rifle for hunting and enjoyable and challenging to shoot.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By shaun from USA on 2014-06-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power, barrel quality
    Things I would have changed:For sure a locking mechanism that you have to engage to break the barrel.
    What others should know:My honest opinion is save your $$$s and go for an hw 77 or hw 80. more money I know, but 100 times the quality. apart from the barrel the rest of this is junk. After loading mine around 20 30 shots later, a slight bump under the stock with my supporting hand while ready to shoot caused the barrel to break slightly. Or just shaking it a little bit, the barrel would droop and break slightly,causing the pellet to to go i don't know where. after loading every time before I fire, checking if the barrel is still closed was a real pain. I know I know $200 only, but really SAVE UP and get something decent, I sent it back as it dangerous.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By AirsoftMA from USA on 2014-06-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:A lot of stuff! This gun is an absolute beast! I am 5' 5" and 120 lbs and still have a bit of trouble cocking this gun. I like the power. Havent had a chance to shoot targets yet
    Things I would have changed:the motion of cocking the gun is a bit rough.
    What others should know:dont buy a cheap scope, this gun will destroy it.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2014-06-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a hard hitting gun,lots of power.Well built and heavy.
    Things I would have changed:I would probably have preferred a wooden stock but its what it is.
    What others should know:The accuracy is not the best but I am not blaming the gun I am over 65 and my hold isn't what it used to be.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Louis from USA on 2014-02-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The gun fits me pretty good, good feel, good balance. I like it's power (now that is working correctly)
    Things I would have changed:Better quality check from factory.
    What others should know:I bought this gun (.25) caliber, and the first shot was so so, then they started to get so slow they were bouncing off the back stop. I sent the gun back no problems (thanks) I received a replacement gun, which had a "little" more punch at first, but after 50 shots it was falling off greatly again, and there was no penetration into the backstop. Instead of returning this gun again, I ordered a replacement piston seal, and tore down the gun to find the factory seal torn where the groove in the receiver- action is for the spring compressor rod. I deburred those edges internally, put in the seal, and it is doing great, and shoots Thru my backstop now!! So, 2 guns in a row with bad seals I wonder how many left the factory that way.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By kerry from USA on 2013-12-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great magnum springer, powerful, it is averaging 1000 FPC wow, 14.3 grain pellets.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger screws will not allow changing factory settings, change the screws and you can dial it in.Scope could be better but it gets the job done.
    What others should know:If you can not do at least 20 push ups you are not going to like this rifle.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Chris from USA on 2013-09-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The power of this gun in the .25 is spectacular. I realized very quickly that my Diana RSW 34 .22 was no match for medium to large raccoon game, to say otherwise would not be fair to the animal. The test I conducted was on a James Hardie Panel, made of fiber cement siding. This panel is extremely tough stuff, at 74 feet/24.6 yards The RSW .22 with Premier 14.3 Domed, and Benjamin Hollow point 14.3 was barley able to penetrate this panel, and the skirt of the pellet protruded out of the entry point. This would not be a kill shot on any game at that distance. The Hatsan 125 .25 new, and after 30 rounds, with H&N pellets Barracuda 32.02 and H&N Hunter Extreme 28.4 blew through this panel, hit a concrete block wall and in a few cases ricochet off, and kept going. This would be a clear head shot kill. Hatsan tests with lead pellets (24.8 gr)and the Muzzle energy calculator Pyramid has provided is a critical tool to determine what gun to choose for the energy needed for what you are shooting at. In my test the calculator estimated the guns muzzle energy was 35.48 EFP with .25 and 28.4 pellet vs. .22 with 14.3 gr at 800 fps generating only 20.33 estimated EFP a massive difference in energy and a humane kill. I love the look of my RSW, it's a super handsome stylish weapon for SMALL GAME and birds. However the Hatsan's no frills black synthetic stock has power, and is what I will go to for hunting small to medium size game at close range,not more than 30 yards. Great Price!!!
    Things I would have changed:Many have said the scope, I agree 100% eye relief is awful and you have to dance around to sight it. Not good if you need to get a shot off. I'm left handed, the stock is right, ambi would be great, but I works fine either way.
    What others should know:I believe in precise shooting, dime to quarter size target area max at any range. I also believe we as air gunners should be humane hunters. Get enough gun for what you're shooting at. Keep hunting shots within 20 to 30 yards in .25 750 FPS, small to, not as small game (Break Barrel Springer) 5 to 30 yards with .22 800 FPS, Rabbit, Squirrel, Avian. And only target, squirrel, and small avian with .177 1000+ FPS at 20 to 30 yards. It's more enjoyable to have a clean powerful shot at your game, don't "under gun", trust me on this. Pyramid has a fantastic selection, and serves us very, very well. Invest in the right gun, you'll be glad you did. I'm happy with both of these purchases.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By michael from India on 2013-08-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I will recommend this magnum to everyone who wants the ultimate power in a break barrel air rifle. do not get fooled by the price tag as this is a purely quality air rifle more powerful that the RWS 350 . forget about paying for expensive gun ,thinking more expensive gun will be better quality than the Hatsan .... no its not true. this gun is powerful , sleek, and well balanced weight. cannot get this world class quality for this price ever. at par or better than HW90/RWS 350/ and any magnum gun in the market.
    Things I would have changed:Had an option of a wooden stock in the same price range.
    What others should know:DO NOT TAKE THIS GUN FOR GRANTED...ITS A MONSTER AND PLEASE RESPECT IT AS IT IS A 22 RIFLE.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Brenton from USA on 2013-06-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:excellent build quality. accurate. good price point. overall an great buy that you wont regret!
    Things I would have changed:scope is ok but a better one would be nice
    What others should know:a little heavy and hard to cock if you are not in shape
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Steve from USA on 2012-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy. This rifle produces excellent accuracy at 10 yards and very good groups at 25. The trigger is very good and the overall build quality is excellent.
    Things I would have changed:The hard plastic stock transfers a great deal of vibration from the rifle's very powerful spring to the shooter's face. This is able to be overcome with practice, but may cause loss of sight picture during shooting.
    What others should know:My Hatsan 125 in .22 caliber fires 14.3 grain pellets at 970FPS average. At this velocity, 14.3 grain pellets seem to become unstable beyond 30 yards. I believe a pellet weighing 16 grains or more should be used to increase pellet stability.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2012-11-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The accuracy of this rifle is absolutely better than my Benjamin Trail NP XL1100. The trigger is very smooth and easily controlled. Hold sensitive, but easy to overcome. This rifle delivers easily a 100FPS improvement over my NPXL1100.
    Things I would have changed:The scope is very low quality. I would rather have saved $10 and not received a scope. If I had to choose another gripe, I would say the stock becomes very slick if your palm sweats during extended shooting.
    What others should know:My rifle is currently delivering 950FPS with 14.3gr lead pellets. I followed barrel seasoning advice from a reputable source. I am achieving groups under 5/16 of an inch at 10 yards.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top