Hatsan 125 Sniper Air Rifle Combo, Black reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Kenneth from USA on 2013-03-21 13:10:01

Things I liked: WOW!!! I just got my Hatsan 125 .22cal Sniper today. It’s a Beast! The first thing I did was run 10 shots over the Chrony using RWS Hobby 11.9 grain lead pellets and got an average of exactly 1000fps. I think it’s going to settle in around 975fps shooting them but they are too light for practical use. I then shot 5 Gamo Match Diablo 15.43 grain pellets over the Chrony and got a consistent average of 941fps. That’s 30.35 ft lbs of Muzzle Energy. That’s some power. I then took the scope out and checked it out at 10 yards. I was able to adjust it to a clear view at up to 6 power. (You just have to turn the eye piece out about 20 turns). I then took it outside and found that without any more adjustment I had a perfectly clear view at 20 meters (62.6ft) at 9 power. This Scope is much better than people have been giving it credit for. I like the included sling too. Good looking gun.

Things I would have changed: The Monster Muzzle. I think that they could have made it just a little smaller in diamiter. Ditch the bipod and go to a 40mm Scope.

What others should know: It's a two handed job to cock this beast so it's not for target shooting unless you have some really big Pipes on you. This is a Hunting Rifle. I will eat my Wheaties before I take it out to brak it in.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:2.0

By ad from Lebanon on 2014-12-13 16:03:37

Things I liked: power

Things I would have changed: weight, safety trigger, removable silencer, bipod, sling

What others should know: sling rise after few shoots so you adjust it again, to much of power for ordinary scope to handle, noise is a bit high

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By anthony from USA on 2015-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What's not to like, I am very pleased with the 125, .25 cal., I sighted it in with 9 shots, dead on at 35 yards, groups of 3 shots can be covered with a nickel ,,,,,, most excellent. Like I said I am very happy with this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: 1. the scope is not right for this gun, I changed the scope that came with this rifle. 2. The trigger seemed to have slop left to right.... tried to tighten it but still seems sloppy to me. (but it has grate pull,) 3. The bipod is a piece of junk...I put in in the trash were it belongs.

    What others should know: I think if Hatsan drop the bipod and up grade the scope they would have a perfect rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Uriah from USA on 2015-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The trigger accuracy and power

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all

    What others should know: The JSB diabolo exact king.25 are very accurate in this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bosco from USA on 2015-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I just received my Mod 125 .25cal and I'm blown away at the bluing on this gun, I shot a few rounds and WOW what power, It really is a beast as they say. The Power is SICK, you will get what you pay for with this gun. Ten for Ten works.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all. If it isn't broke don't fix it.

    What others should know: This gun shoots the JSB's well but the Barracuda's 27grain hits like a sledge hammer. The cocking isn't bad at all like those cry baby's say. I cock the gun with one hand while holding the butt with the other, however I'm 6"0 and 240. I wanta say thanks to the best gun Tech's in the world, Stacey you are the BOMB thanks a bunch. Don't think about just buy it you won't be sorry and O yea the spring version is the best and more power than the vortex, the chrony don't lie 800 fps with the 20grain H&N fields.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2015-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It goes bang every time AND it hits right behind that "X" the crosshairs make.

    Things I would have changed: bipod is kinda unnecessary... gimme 25 pellets and call it even.

    What others should know: If you are some air gun afficianado that expects world class performance then i would imagine you should save for a few more paydays and buys something else.... HOWEVER, if you are someone who is interested in hitting what you are aiming at STOP googling. STOP reading reviews. BUY THIS and BUY a good scope. Make bang and be happy! I am 100% sure that there will likely be a few of these with issues, but you can return it if you get one of those. My experience is this.. I opened the box, installed a leapers 4x16, didn't do 3 hours of cleaning. Lined it up at 15 yards. moved out to about 40 years and adjusted a little. shot a 5 shot group inside 2" at 40. not world class maybe, BUT waaaaaaaayyyy within my expectations for money spent. Good Stuff. No poop.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Victor M from USA on 2015-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is very powerful and excellent quality you feel that when you get in your hand very accurate, I have old rws rifle and the new one is most high quality

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: The piramid air for me is the best customer service is awesome thanks

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By shane from USA on 2015-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: power,power,power, and awesome accuracy out to 100yrds.

    Things I would have changed: removable moderator to help in ease of cleaning.

    What others should know: i had to buy a barrel droop compensator for my scope. tack driving accuracy out to about 30yrds. 1 1/2" groups @ 50yrds. 3 1/2" groups @110yrds. this was accomplished with the .25 cal model. all shots were from a bench rest. the barrel was properly season'd using J&B non-embedding bore compound a 100 shots prior to this test. the trigger needed adjusted also. the BOTTOM LINE is for under $300 you can't go wrong with this sledgehammer! i would not recommend this magnum springer to a novice shooter. it is very hold sensitive. the artilary hold is somewhat difficult due to the gun's overall weight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By vicente from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like everything about this high quality rifle. Power. Accuracy. Sling.silencer. Synthetic stock. Adjustable cheek piece.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a better scope but I don't really care abut that.

    What others should know: This is a very high quality air rifle at a very good price. I always replace the factory spring. piston seal. and breech seal. This makes the rifle shoot smooth and more accurate. Mine shoots crosman premiers 14.3 gr and jsb 18 gr very well.

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By ad from Lebanon on 2014-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: power

    Things I would have changed: weight, safety trigger, removable silencer, bipod, sling

    What others should know: sling rise after few shoots so you adjust it again, to much of power for ordinary scope to handle, noise is a bit high

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By ad from Lebanon on 2014-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: silencer and power

    Things I would have changed: sling, bipod, weight, and accuracy.

    What others should know: I have this air rifle, I'm using the iron sight on 15 meters, and accuracy is too bad, I can't get a fine grouping at all, pellets I use are crossman premeir hollow point cal .22, I bought it from a local store about 3 months ago and now I'm thinking of selling it again, not mentioning the the sling keep on rising after few shoot :@ , any suggestion to help me?

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2014-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love these rifles if you can get one that has good seals. It took me 7 different guns to get a good one. The 10 for 10 test is good, but it takes 50 to 100 shots to see if the piston seals were installed right from the factory.

    Things I would have changed: Hatsan to step up QC.

    What others should know: No telling how many people are shooting one of these, thinking they have all that power and they don't. Have to chrony them every once in a while to see if seals are still holding.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Ukelay13 from USA on 2014-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My favorite thing about this airgun was the fit of the stock to my body after spending much time adjusting it. The palm rest was by far my favorite part of the stock. This air gun had power to spare. The scope mounting rail having a dovetail and Weaver mounts is a nice plus but the recoil rends the dovetail useless without a one piece mount.

    Things I would have changed: Take away hard sights, bipod, and muzzle brake to save money. This airgun is louder than an RWS 34 in .22 (or at least mine was).

    What others should know: I bought many different pellets from different manufacturers and none of them would group consistently out of the airgun I had. I did end up trading this in at the end of the 30 day "love it" guarantee. After using it every day up till I traded it things were starting to go wrong with the stock and quite possibly other areas from the substantial recoil. This airgun also broke 2 airgun scopes including the one it came with. You will need good Weaver rings. My main reason for trading this is I needed a consistent 1" group at 30 yards and the airgun I had could not produce anything near that. Hatsan customer service was not very punctual, but they were responsive. I traded for a RWS 34. Don't let my bad experience stop you from trying one out. Luke

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2014-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is truly a beast of an air gun! The first day I got it(June 5) I was hitting targets right out of the box at 50 yards with open sights(previous reviews said that the scope is terrible). I saw a jack rabbit and decided to go for it. First shot, it was lights out and there was no return. That was about 50 yards. Today I saw another one and shot it. The same thing happened. I confirmed it to be 55 yards and the pellet(crosman premier ultra mag 22) went into its chest through the lungs, and exited the other side. This was all with the open sights. AMAZING accuracy and knock down power for any air gun! This all happened within only 30 shots, where as many of my other air guns took 100s of rounds to break in. This is the best air rifle for the money and caliber. When considering other break guns, don't look further than this one. It is also very quiet for the power generated.

    What others should know: Buy this one! It is huge and you will look awesome shooting this bad boy. Very good for the money!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Carl from USA on 2014-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I started out with the Gamo Silent Cat .177 and then the .22 Game cat.. I kinda liked them both other than scopes and trigger pull. I decided to buy the sniper .25 for hunting. I literally licked this one. Adjustable stock powerful etc. A great looking gun and ergonomical. I am 6'2". The heavier weight of the rifle kinda takes out some of the recoil.

    Things I would have changed: No bipod. Include Blue Loctite. My scope fell apart after about 20 shots. There is allot of recoil on these air rifles use Loctite. And have some patience they get easier to cock, or you eat spinach and get stronger.

    What others should know: If you decide to add all 3 spacers in the butt plate you'll probably need longer screws than provided. Eat spinach not Wheaties. My muzzle brake deflected shots until``````` I shot it enough to wear a groove in it. Mine seems to prefer heavier pellets.. That may be due to. The muzzle brake problem. I suggest a one piece rail mount for the scope. Mine has a CP 4x16. Had to shim it to account for barrel drop. The scope has held up well. Also own the 125th .25 same action as the sniper. That one shot well out of the box.. Had to shim the after market scope on that one also. Half my kids are lefties so I have to consider them. All in all I am very pleased with all my air rifles. Some for hunting some for target.. I am thinking about making a wooden/laminate stock on the sniper. Same basic design. Just made for me.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mr. Snipes from USA on 2014-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, accuracy, looks. I don't understand when people say magnum power spring piston rifles are inaccurate and some of these people are long time avid air gunners and should know that when you use these rifles you have to use heavy pellets like jsb heavys, baracudas, etc. and go and write and do YouTube reviews on these guns using light weight ammo expecting good results and give people the wrong idea of these guns. I have the sniper in .22 caliber and get one inch groups at 50 yards using 18 grain jsb heavys. Don't bother wasting your time using even a 14 grain say Crossman premiere although they are great pellets for other guns. My gun shoots around 980 fps with 14 grain Crossman premieres but if you bring it down in the 800s with something heavy it likes it can be very accurate and puts out lots of power. That's just my two pellets worth and what I found.

    Things I would have changed: Shorten the length, it's a little too long; and make it with a wood stock.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scott from USA on 2013-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Shot about 200 rounds so far. Smoothing out .Its very accurate IF you control your trigger pull . Its not too hold sensitive like other springers. Very adjustable to your liking . But lets face it , we want it for the raw power you cant find in any other spring piston rifle.Power to dispatch safely . Quiet for this kind of power.

    Things I would have changed: Scope is ok if you turn the bell out 20 turns but still you should get a leapers for it. The stock is adjustable but it could use some refinement. The cheek piece came off the posts .The collars cracked tightening down the post. I fixed all of it and added foam to all open cavities. Tear it down and clean all the cosmoline off it. add blue lock tight to all screws. lube all joints .

    What others should know: Its not a refined gun and its made in turkey so I expected the poor quality control.Mine came out of the box with a striped screw.Its power plant is built soild though . Good welds and good design. I bought it for the power and got a powerful and accurate gun. I would buy it again. Cant wait to tune it and possibly refine "The Beast" . yes JSB is the pellet of choice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2013-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Right out of the box this .25 Caliber Springer is a beef stick . It has a smooth comfortable finish, good steel, it is solid, and it is powerful. I have not mounted the scope as I like open sights and this gun is shooting a very tight group with JSB Diablo Kings .25 Cal. pellets. I also use the artillery hold with this rifle and it works well at several ranges from 10 yards out to my maximum to date of 50 yards. I have many years of military marksmanship and grew hunting, I love this Rifle.

    Things I would have changed: We all know a free scope is just that but Leapers makes a very nice UTG 3 X 12 X 44 with an etched glass reticle SCP3-UGM312AOIEW for those who wish to upgrade their optics for less than $200.00. Use the bipod that came with the rifle as a paper weight to hold down your targets and if you need a bipod there are several goods ones for well under $30.00 out there. Personally I don't think it would be to your advantage to use one but they look impressive.

    What others should know: I did not find this rifle any harder to cock than several Gamo or Crossman rifles I have used but it is a heavy weapon and it is advertised to be. It has recoil but nothing I would conceder unreasonable. The recoil pad provided works quite well and can adjusted utilizing the three additional pads provided but for my fit they were not needed. I looked at several brands and have shot many of them, if you want a well made heavy weapon this rifle is for you, it is in no way a toy and with the youngsters adult supervision is a must (as it should be with any gun) because this is one powerful air rifle capable of inflecting real damage.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2013-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ok do this rifle is a very nice looking and feeling rifle its heavy though. I like the way it feels and it definatly packs a punch. But I have yet to find a pellet that works to get any type of good grouping past 10yrds. I even contacted pyramid air for there reconmindation and that pellet sukced as well! I have just bought 4 more types of pellets to try and see what kind of results I can get. I watched and read all kinds of reviews on this rifle before I bought it but am kinda disappointed that I am having such a hard time finding a good pellet to shoot through this rifle. I am not a beginner shooter either I used to shoot competition for the U.S. Army and I am a retired combat soldier so I know how to shoot! if anyone out there can let me know what type of pellet is working for then in the . 22 I would love to know so I can quit spending money on ammo that does not shoot well in it. Guess the plus side is I will have plenty to work with for the next air gun I buy! lol!

    Things I would have changed: loose the bipod and ad a better scope and maybe in clued what is the best ammo to shoot through this rifle!

    What others should know: nice gun pain in the butt trying to find the right pellet to shoot through it for accuracy!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2013-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've had this gun for a little over a month and put about 1200 pellets through it. I never expected to get as much power as I have through this gun. I bought a .22 Gamo SS Whisper for $215 and this gun at $260 blows it out of the water. This gun is super accurate with the .22 cal H&N Field Target Trophy pellets. I've averaged around 920fps with +/- 6 fps with the chrony. With the aid of Chairgun, headshots from 10 - 50 yards are effortless with this rifle. This rifle, surprisingly, is very quiet for a springer. The look and finish of this rifle is top notch.

    Things I would have changed: Hatsan should just get rid of the bipod, sling, and scope and drop the price 40-50 dollars. The bipod is made of plastic and seems to be for show. The sling is okay but I would feel better with a thicker, rugged one. The scope works well but it doesn't begin to unlock the potential of this rifle.

    What others should know: The rifle is really long. It can kinda be a pain to maneuver through brush. The recoil feels like a .22lr to me. This is definitely not a child's toy. It takes about 50-100 rounds to make the cocking easier. If you're new to airguns like me, get Chairgun. It will save a lot of time and guesswork when it comes to configuring your rifle to your needs.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By IronMan from USA on 2013-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Powerful, accurate an quiet (.177)! As other have stated the 125 Sniper is very powerful and WILL go through a half inch thick piece of plywood at 103yds. Great for neighborhoods with acreage (1-2 acres or even half an acre. Build quality is outstanding!

    Things I would have changed: Bi-pod does it's job great for me! If you plan to use one a lot I would buy a different one. I am weak natured and I was only able to shoot for forty-five minutes due to weight without the scope.

    What others should know: I am weak natured and it is a workout to cock this several times in a row. If you put it on the ground and face it away from and hold it with your legs it makes it easier to cock; also place the muzzle break on your thigh and push down, it will make it far easier to open if you are weak natured. The Glo Sites are great, with the stock setting I was able to hit my target 103yds away!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Elmer from USA on 2013-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The power from this rifle is incredible and the heft of this thing helps with the equally incredible recoil. The adjustable cheek rest is a nice touch too. If you can master the artillery hold you can get decent groups from this thing. I have this in a .22 cal with a spring power plant.

    Things I would have changed: I wish Hatsan would use a stronger metal for the screws on the adjustable cheek rest. As I've had to tighten the screws down many times due to the recoil, I've noticed that the screws' heads will warp with every adjustment. Also, be prepared to adjust the scope after so many shots as well, it's loosened up on me many times affecting the accuracy. I'll tighten the scope and the shots get tighter - my shots become erratic and I'll notice my scope has loosened.

    What others should know: As you've heard before the bipod is mainly for displaying the rifle and not for functional shooting. And as much fun I've had shooting this rifle, had I known that Hatsan will eventually be releasing this model with their Vortex gas piston on Pyramyd Air I would have waited to purchase the rifle at that time. It's like buying a new Apple iPhone when you hear news that they're releasing their newest 'better' model not too long after.

  • 12 Next
Navigation