Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    IZH 61 multi shot air rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Walter from USA on 2012-11-08 11:10:49

    Things I liked:Great 10 meter target rifle. This rifle has won many Gold Medals in the International Junior League. Wether young or old you will like this rifle. It is made to punch targets in same hole, not shoot game. However it is plenty enough for some such uses. Grooved for scope mount or use standard sights. extra clip and cleaning rod. Be careful not to double feed, as they are dificult to clear, you have to knock em out with the cleaning rod from the muzzle so be careful not to bugger the rifling. All IZH guns have hammer forged barrels as opposed to cut rifling, companies generally cannot afford the massive equipment to hammer forge, probably why these shoot so good. Just cheap ole Crosman wadcutters will follow each other, try some others too if you want one ragged hole. Pleasant to use, easy cock, not loud at all. Nice for basement in winter for everyone to share. Their Match pistol is a Olympic Medal winner too.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:1

    By Gerald from USA on 2010-03-02 12:43:59

    Things I liked:Easy to cock, decent trigger, magazine loading
    Things I would have changed:I have 2 purcased around december 09 and they are both horribly inaccurate. I cannot reliably hit 8.5 x 11" target at 10 meters. The "groups" are about 1ft if I am lucky. I can throw a pellet more accurately. I have tried open sites and 2 new bugbuster scopes, and an old japanese Tasco. I have tried 6 types of pellets, and none work. It is not me, I can shoot my Hw35 better without sights. I suspect the pellets are being deformed by the loading mechanism as some forums indicate (google it).
    What others should know:Be sure to send it back in 30 days if it is anaccurate. The barrels were horribly dirty, and rifling is not as good looking as my other rifles, and pistols. It may be the dirt. I shot about 20 cleaning pellets, and the are still comming out more dirty that my 35 year old hw35 that wasn't cleaned for 20 years.. I thought that since two were showing the same inaccuracy, it may have been pellets, breakin or lack of lubrication. Unfortunately, by the time weather permitted a good test, my 30 days were up. I will be sending both in for warranty work.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Derek from USA on 2013-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The repeating mechanism is nifty and works well. The trigger is better than expected. It's a great value, especially if you catch it on sale. "Fun" describes it well!
      Things I would have changed:Not much. Accept its limitations due to its price point and enjoy it. Assembly quality control could be improved (nothing is in line - mine needed a severe windage adjustment to hit target). The factory iron sights are mediocre. It seems to be over lubricated from the factory.
      What others should know:It's a pretty small gun. The buttstock can be adjusted further than you think - just remove it and relocate the nut which should be obvious. The factory says that they use a lot of preservative, and that the bore should be cleaned before use. Heed this recommendation; out of the box, my bore was unbelievably filthy!! After one cleaning, I was getting 1" 5-shot groups at 25-feet. After a second more extensive bore cleaning, I got down to half-inch 5-shot groups at 25-feet. I suspect further improvement will occur with use and additional cleanings. Heavier pellets seem to fit the clips better. Yes - the pellets can fall out of the clips, but this isn't a big deal as it is easily preventable. It's a great grab and go rifle for plinking cans at 25 to 33 feet. Most of the time, these guns come with a spare mainspring - I didn't get one.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Luke from USA on 2013-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is fun to shoot! If you buy this, you will have a hard time putting it down. It might look kinda funny but it is surprisingly comfortable and the buttstock will adjust for taller/larger people.
      Things I would have changed:The scope rail. I believe it is designed for an aperture peep sight. There is not enough room for the scope to be mounted comfortably, however if you buy one of the pre-packaged deals from Pyramyd, a sufficient adapter is included for scope mounting. The magazine release could be better.
      What others should know:Some pellets have a tendency to fall out of the clip. Since I am an avid airgunner I have quite a collection of different pellets and I found that Beeman coated hollowpoints work very well and do not fall out as easily as some others. Also you can seat the pellets in the clip with a toothpick or small dowel.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By James from USA on 2013-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight, accuracy, styling, ease of use. I love the IZH 61 being a semi-automatic springer, so I don't have to mess around with CO2. That's a major plus and keeps long-term costs down to a minimum.
      Things I would have changed:Not a ding-dong thing...well, not quite true. It would be nice if the magazine held pellets more securely.
      What others should know:Overall, I LOVE this gun! Accuracy isn't match grade, but I have no trouble knocking out bulls from 25 feet in my indoor range. While some reviewers have complained about the "low" velocity at which the gun slings lead, I find it great for keeping my eye keen when I can't go outside, making the IZH 61 a nearly-perfect winter shooter. The adjustable stock is a nice touch, it's easy to cock, easy to maintain - what's not to love, especially when the gun is so inexpensive? Okay, yes, the magazine holds pellets pretty loosely, but I just lay my spares out next to me and feed them carefully. Problem solved.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-11-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:nice 5 shot repeater. Excellent trigger. Very accurate IF held correctly. Easy to cock. I had one and gave it to my nephew so ordered a second one. Best if used with stock open sights.
      Things I would have changed:Receiver area for optics mounting is too short and made of plastic, so optics will not stay put. Recoil is enough to move optics mounts. Wish there was a "out of ammo warning" Gun shot NOT be dry-fired, but you must count shots to be sure that you don't accidentally dry fire it.
      What others should know:Last on I got had a front sight that was canted to the right. I called for a replacement. Customer service sent the shipping label and I dropped it at Fed Ex. Expecting my replacement anyday now. Great Customer Service
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall a very nice air gun. Very accurate despite open sights.
      Things I would have changed:Considering the accuracy present, I should have spent a few more bucks and gotten the Target version with the micrometer adjustable rear sight and the extra front sight inserts. Cheaper to do that than retrofit later.
      What others should know:The little plasic "pellet holder slides" are absurdly expensive for what you get!!!!! Very neat but severely overpriced.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By John from USA on 2013-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fun to shoot, easy to load and cock. It's quiet. Styling is cool, not likely to be mistaken for a firearm. Mine does the advertised 490fps w/7.0grain pellets.
      Things I would have changed:It has no safety. The trigger has a lot of creep, and the break is not crisp, at all. But it is predictable.
      What others should know:I painted the post white so I can see it against dark targets.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2013-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this gun for my 8 year old daughter and so glad I did. The gun is small, lightweight and easy to shoot. I bought the $197 package deal and it has everything she needs, even safety glasses. A tremendous value for this kind of quality and accuracy. Once I mounted the scope and sighted it in, she was hitting a 1" group at 20+ yards. I'm one proud Dad!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This is really a fun and accurate gun for backyard shooting. With the adjustable stock, I'm enjoying it as much as she is, maybe even more. I'm fairly new at air guns, this only being my second air gun purchase and it sure won't be my last due to the great selection, service, reviews and fast shipping from the good folks at Pyramyd Air. Both my daughter and I really enjoy Paul Capello's Airgun Reporter reviews. You guys have it all, keep up the great work and thanks.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Ernest from USA on 2013-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, light and easy to handle.
      Things I would have changed:Better factory sights for up to 25 yard targets.
      What others should know:Installed diopter sight but it shook loose. Finally tightened the sight lock -on until it stayed in place, but by doing so the too soft rail material distorted. How is the rear sight mounted on the more expensive target rifle?
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Tony from USA on 2013-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is a lot of fun and very accurate for the price. Airgunning should be about fun and this rifle delivers.
      Things I would have changed:It seems to be very picky about pellets
      What others should know:This is my third spring piston airgun and the first one I was able to shoot accurately and obtain good groups from day one. It is not as hold sensitive as the other two guns I owned (a chinese sidelever and a gamo recon), but it seems much more sensitive to pellet choice. The rifle is easy to hold and the adjustable stock is very useful. The stock does not adjust to a series of steps but can be adjusted exactly as needed. The "space age" looking forearm also allows a great deal of adjustment in your hold. The pistol grip is a bit short, however you don't grip this rifle tight and the design of the grip allows me to repeat my hold from shot to shot. The magazine and feeding system have worked perfectly to date. My favorite rifle is the Daisy 953. Because the magazine sticks out of the rifle the pellets can fall out as you cock the rifle. The magazine of this rifle is completely contained within the receiver and the pellets cannot fall out once they are loaded into the rifle. The receiver dovetail is very short and demands a small scope and care in how it is mounted. I'm using a Leapers 4X Bug Buster scope on medium rings. Once I got the scope properly mounted and the stock adjusted, I've had no problems with the stability of the scope. This is an excellent value for the money. At 30 feet I can keep 10 shots within a 3/4 inch circle consistently. If I bear down and work, I can keep them within a 1/2 inch circle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2013-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this rifle, the accuracy is unbelievable, it is so much fun to shoot
      Things I would have changed:I love everything about this gun except the 5 shot clip, the pellets fall out very easily but that being said this really is an awesome gun for the price.
      What others should know:Buy this gun, you definitely won't regret it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This product is alot of fun to shoot. I use it inside my house to practice. Pretty accurate and easy to handle, load, and charge. I may add better sights but I am on target now.
      Things I would have changed:Needs a safety due to hair trigger.
      What others should know:Hair trigger. First pull was fairly firm, but the next was really light. Keep your finger away from the trigger until you have sighted.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By neil from USA on 2013-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Rugged, light, wonderful trigger, repeater, just an all around short range plinker and a rifle that has a very high f.f.t.d. (fun for the dollar) level. I'm no fan of so called "tactical" or military styled firearms or gear. Such stuff is pure marketing b.s. designed to get men to act like little boys and spend their money impulsively and foolishly. But the IZH 61 design is well done and functional. It not only looks ok...it handles even better.
      Things I would have changed:More precise rear sight. Without adding any optics, the front globe sight is nice, but gets in the way if you add, say, a dot sight. It comes off easily enough, but taking it off detracts from the aesthetics of the rifle.
      What others should know:Addictive little rifle. I love that its a repeater. I don't know why more spring, gas spring or co2 rifles are repeaters. Since I don't fancy getting involved in the HPA craze, repeating rifles non HPA rifles are hard to come by. This one is exceptional. Not perfect, but has all the stuff to become a classic.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Mark from USA on 2013-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very light and handy but it certainly didn't shoot as well as I had expected from reading the reviews. Trigger is very good considering the price. I may have had a lemon as the front sight had been broken during shipping. PA was great about taking it back though.
      Things I would have changed:Crank the cylinder up to produce 900 fps and retain this design, should be a winner.
      What others should know:Good kids gun but underwhelming for an adult shooter and definately not a good choice for hunting.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By richard from USA on 2013-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Arrived 1 day early. I bought this for my 6 year old granddaughter for Christmas. It isn't going to wait that long. Cleaned the barrel. It was definitely dirty. I sighted it in at 10 ft.the windage adjustment is like they say in the reviews but at that range with a little care it came right in. After that I shot soda cans at 10 m with no problem. Great little gun. Pellets touching at 10 ft.
      Things I would have changed:As of now nothing.
      What others should know:This is a great beginner gun. Yes the pellets are loose but you should be pointing a gun down to load it. As for no safety Teaching youngsters that the trigger should not be touched until on target is a good thing. My granddaughter is going to love it. And it is such fun that her mother will probably shoot along. I recommend this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jack from USA on 2013-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love that its easy to cock, very accurate, easy to load.
      Things I would have changed:Wish it had a better trigger and more adjustment on the stock about 3" to short for me extended all the way, Grandson fits him perfect. needs different front sight inserts.
      What others should know:This is a great gun and very accurate, cant be beat for the money.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Leland from USA on 2013-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks good.. Fun to shoot.. Easy to cock... 5 shot repeater... Very accurate... Great gun at a great price. How do they get it all the way from Russia to my front door for that I will never know! I bought two... one for my 7 year old son and one for me!
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Be careful when cocking the gun. you don't need to be in a hurry. I count the holes in the magazine and when I see three it is ready to reload.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By eric from USA on 2013-06-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smooth shooting, side lever, adjustability from 8 yr old to 43 year old.
      Things I would have changed:Add a safety
      What others should know:This is a great gun. It's easy and fun to shoot. I purchased the air Venturi rear apertures sight. Is works well, but does need to be adjusted all the way down on my particular gun. Out of the 5 air guns we were shooting this past weekend it was the favorite for plinking and target shooting. You need to take extra caution due to the lack of a safety. Basically we leave the gun uncocked until ready to fire. Just be careful with younger kids.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING!. Except the scope mount,more on that below. This rifle is a pure joy to shoot,little effort required to cock,unbelieveable accuracy. The automatic magazine advance system is nothing short of genius,it works flawlessly,every time,this is what Crosman should have done with the M4-177,I have one of those also. The build quality is superb,it is put togeather like a fine watch and is a natural pointer,meaning that it fits my shooting style. This is a wonderful rifle,you will not be disapointed with this purchase. Just keep in mind that this is a target rifle,NOT a hunting rifle,if you are loking for a rifle to hunt with,I suggest you take a look at the Beeman Trail nitro,I own one,and it is a power monster,espically in .22cal. This is a keeper for me!.
      Things I would have changed:The scope rail is far too short,and it is very flexable,so the optics move around.
      What others should know:My solution for the short/flexable scope rail was to use a pair of Crosman barrel clamp mounts I had laying around for my Crosman 2240's.This works GREAT!. I removed the rear sight from the 61 for clearance. I have uploaded a photo of this.The clamp mounts fit as if they were designed for this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Chooch440 from USA on 2013-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this rifle mainly because of the reviews and I was not dissappointed! This is a great rifle for the money. I got extra clips and can sit and just plink away 5 shots at a time. I found the rifle to be very accurate at 33 feet. It is so easy to cock that I can shoot for over an hour with virtually no fatigue. My 9 year old Grandgirl loves this rifle because with the stock in the shortest position it fits her perfectly and she can cock it by herself albeit with a little difficulty.
      Things I would have changed:This rifle needs no changes in my opinion.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2013-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Because of my interest in the IZH-61, the rifle was purchased for me by my wife as a gift. I am impressed with the sturdy quality of this rifle being in the inexpensive price range. The extendable stock and pistol grip and modest weight are good features that give the rifle a carbine feel. After a good look-over right out of the box, reading the operating instructions, and swabbing out the barrel I eagerly loaded and fired 10 wad-cutters in succession into my pellet trap with no malfunctions. The side lever cocking ease of the IZH-61 should work well for youth, adult and the elderly (like me!). Having only fully wood stocked rifles in the past, I am pleasantly surprised at the overall feel of the IZH-61. It's going to be my "number one" shooter.
      Things I would have changed:The five shot plastic loaders that come with the gun and the available accessory loaders could be at least six shot without being too obtrusive. Most pellets fit loosely and have a tendency to fall out of the little magazines; however, I solved this problem by using a pellet sealer to flare the pellet skirts after they were inserted in the magazine. The IZH-61 has no provision for a sling. I like my rifles to be slung so that I can walk down range hands free with the rifle.
      What others should know:The rail for accessory sights almost seems like an after-thought. A BKL Dovetail to Weaver accessory rail was needed to mount a red dot sight or scope.
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold