Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    IZH 61 multi shot air rifle reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Walter from USA on 2012-11-08 11:10:49

    Things I liked:Great 10 meter target rifle. This rifle has won many Gold Medals in the International Junior League. Wether young or old you will like this rifle. It is made to punch targets in same hole, not shoot game. However it is plenty enough for some such uses. Grooved for scope mount or use standard sights. extra clip and cleaning rod. Be careful not to double feed, as they are dificult to clear, you have to knock em out with the cleaning rod from the muzzle so be careful not to bugger the rifling. All IZH guns have hammer forged barrels as opposed to cut rifling, companies generally cannot afford the massive equipment to hammer forge, probably why these shoot so good. Just cheap ole Crosman wadcutters will follow each other, try some others too if you want one ragged hole. Pleasant to use, easy cock, not loud at all. Nice for basement in winter for everyone to share. Their Match pistol is a Olympic Medal winner too.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2010-03-02 12:43:59

    Things I liked:Easy to cock, decent trigger, magazine loading
    Things I would have changed:I have 2 purcased around december 09 and they are both horribly inaccurate. I cannot reliably hit 8.5 x 11" target at 10 meters. The "groups" are about 1ft if I am lucky. I can throw a pellet more accurately. I have tried open sites and 2 new bugbuster scopes, and an old japanese Tasco. I have tried 6 types of pellets, and none work. It is not me, I can shoot my Hw35 better without sights. I suspect the pellets are being deformed by the loading mechanism as some forums indicate (google it).
    What others should know:Be sure to send it back in 30 days if it is anaccurate. The barrels were horribly dirty, and rifling is not as good looking as my other rifles, and pistols. It may be the dirt. I shot about 20 cleaning pellets, and the are still comming out more dirty that my 35 year old hw35 that wasn't cleaned for 20 years.. I thought that since two were showing the same inaccuracy, it may have been pellets, breakin or lack of lubrication. Unfortunately, by the time weather permitted a good test, my 30 days were up. I will be sending both in for warranty work.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 ... 67 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Leland from USA on 2013-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks good.. Fun to shoot.. Easy to cock... 5 shot repeater... Very accurate... Great gun at a great price. How do they get it all the way from Russia to my front door for that I will never know! I bought two... one for my 7 year old son and one for me!
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Be careful when cocking the gun. you don't need to be in a hurry. I count the holes in the magazine and when I see three it is ready to reload.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By eric from USA on 2013-06-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smooth shooting, side lever, adjustability from 8 yr old to 43 year old.
      Things I would have changed:Add a safety
      What others should know:This is a great gun. It's easy and fun to shoot. I purchased the air Venturi rear apertures sight. Is works well, but does need to be adjusted all the way down on my particular gun. Out of the 5 air guns we were shooting this past weekend it was the favorite for plinking and target shooting. You need to take extra caution due to the lack of a safety. Basically we leave the gun uncocked until ready to fire. Just be careful with younger kids.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING!. Except the scope mount,more on that below. This rifle is a pure joy to shoot,little effort required to cock,unbelieveable accuracy. The automatic magazine advance system is nothing short of genius,it works flawlessly,every time,this is what Crosman should have done with the M4-177,I have one of those also. The build quality is superb,it is put togeather like a fine watch and is a natural pointer,meaning that it fits my shooting style. This is a wonderful rifle,you will not be disapointed with this purchase. Just keep in mind that this is a target rifle,NOT a hunting rifle,if you are loking for a rifle to hunt with,I suggest you take a look at the Beeman Trail nitro,I own one,and it is a power monster,espically in .22cal. This is a keeper for me!.
      Things I would have changed:The scope rail is far too short,and it is very flexable,so the optics move around.
      What others should know:My solution for the short/flexable scope rail was to use a pair of Crosman barrel clamp mounts I had laying around for my Crosman 2240's.This works GREAT!. I removed the rear sight from the 61 for clearance. I have uploaded a photo of this.The clamp mounts fit as if they were designed for this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chooch440 from USA on 2013-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this rifle mainly because of the reviews and I was not dissappointed! This is a great rifle for the money. I got extra clips and can sit and just plink away 5 shots at a time. I found the rifle to be very accurate at 33 feet. It is so easy to cock that I can shoot for over an hour with virtually no fatigue. My 9 year old Grandgirl loves this rifle because with the stock in the shortest position it fits her perfectly and she can cock it by herself albeit with a little difficulty.
      Things I would have changed:This rifle needs no changes in my opinion.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2013-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Because of my interest in the IZH-61, the rifle was purchased for me by my wife as a gift. I am impressed with the sturdy quality of this rifle being in the inexpensive price range. The extendable stock and pistol grip and modest weight are good features that give the rifle a carbine feel. After a good look-over right out of the box, reading the operating instructions, and swabbing out the barrel I eagerly loaded and fired 10 wad-cutters in succession into my pellet trap with no malfunctions. The side lever cocking ease of the IZH-61 should work well for youth, adult and the elderly (like me!). Having only fully wood stocked rifles in the past, I am pleasantly surprised at the overall feel of the IZH-61. It's going to be my "number one" shooter.
      Things I would have changed:The five shot plastic loaders that come with the gun and the available accessory loaders could be at least six shot without being too obtrusive. Most pellets fit loosely and have a tendency to fall out of the little magazines; however, I solved this problem by using a pellet sealer to flare the pellet skirts after they were inserted in the magazine. The IZH-61 has no provision for a sling. I like my rifles to be slung so that I can walk down range hands free with the rifle.
      What others should know:The rail for accessory sights almost seems like an after-thought. A BKL Dovetail to Weaver accessory rail was needed to mount a red dot sight or scope.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gabriel from USA on 2013-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Purchased mostly for my 8 year old daughter to use. It is easy to cock, accurate, and fairly light. Very good quality materials and includes a cleaning rod.
      Things I would have changed:Needs a longer rail for wider selection of scopes/sights. Needs an easier way to tell when you are on your last shot.
      What others should know:This is an accurate and very quiet rifle(i.e.backyard friendly). Love the fact that it is multi- shot capable.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2013-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Exellent accuracy. Smooth action. Five pellet magazine. Moderate velocity is perfect for indoor shooting. Won't destroy your pellet traps. Price seems commensurate with quality. This gun is interesting. It's different from anything else I own.
      Things I would have changed:Add a safety. Modify the magazine to hold pellts more secure.
      What others should know:Keep track of your five shots so you don't accidentally dry fire the gun. Cocking the gun when empty will not advance the magazine any further, but the gun will still fire.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2013-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good target rifle. Moderate velocity is desirable for indoor shooting. Won't destroy my pellet traps. Spring air gives consistent power, and five pellet magazines let me shoot without having to load every pellet before taking a shot.
      Things I would have changed:You can't carry extra loaded magazines around with you because the pellets tend to fall out. But once the magazine is loaded into the rifle, they will stay put till you shoot them. A safety would be nice, but not cocking the gun untill you are ready to shoot works just as good.
      What others should know:Be carefull when you shoot so as not to dry fire an empty gun. Watching the magazine click out one hole everytime you cock it will alert you. When the third hole appears "as you are cocking the gun", you're on your last round. Or, you can just count.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By bob from USA on 2013-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:multishot
      Things I would have changed:cheap, flimsy cocking lever design of magazine so pellets could be loaded and stored withoutfalling out
      What others should know:hard to get cheek along stock to use built in sight
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By anthony from USA on 2013-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Five shot repeater, side lever for prone position shooting, looked nice.
      Things I would have changed:Better quality control on Baikal's part. When I received the rifle I immediately put the straight front post on. After loosening the plastic nut that holds the globe on I discovered the muzzle of the barrel was kind of "smashed" on one side. This is nothing that could of happened during shipping because the plastic "nut" was not busted, this had to happen at the factory. Set it up and shot it anyway, and off the sticks at 10 meters could not get good groups (my 853 groups very well of off the sticks).
      What others should know:Sent it back after about two hours of trying to get it to group. I know other people really like this rifle but I just had a bad one I guess. Pyramyd was real good about a refund about this issue so I'll be buying whatever I need in the future from them. Bottom line: If you want something that's easy on the pocketbook and really accurate take a look at the Avanti rifles from Daisy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2013-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very fun to shoot. Easy to cock. Compact and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:An easier and larger clip would be nice. Maybe a round 10 or 12 shot clip. A more powerful version would be really nice
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gregory from USA on 2013-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Like almost everyone who has reviewed this rifle, I was very pleased with the accuracy right out of the box. Very light cocking effort and nice positive clicks on the elevation adjustment. Seems perfect for its intended purpose: 10m target shooting and short range plinking.
      Things I would have changed:It would have been great to have windage adjustment on the sight. Even a thrust screw would be nice. Having to loosen the two little phillips screws to push the site sideways is a bit tedious. I plan to add an Air Venturi rear sight as soon as Pyramyd has them back in stock. Otherwise excellent gun.
      What others should know:We experienced a lot of dieseling for the first 40-50 shots. Didn't seem to have much effect on accuracy. Swab the bore! Ours was filthy. Just passed half a dozen swabs through until they came out clean and now the barrel looks clear and shiny.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dead eye Vic from USA on 2013-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Easy handling, fun to shoot, accurate, well built, repeater. This gun is a good value and I have a consistent 400 fps showing with RWS Basics.I get about 5 to 10 fps less with Crosman Premiers. Overall a good little gun.
      Things I would have changed:Put a cushion on the tip of the lever release, as it begins to hurt the tip of my finger when I do a lot of shooting. Put a Fiber Optic front site on it, it is diifficult to see it when shooting at dark objects. The Hood makes it difficult to see. .
      What others should know:Make sure you aim the gun down when loading the clips, as the pellets tend to fall out otherwise. Buy a lot of clips and pellets and enjoy this.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is very comfortable and light weight. Easy to cock. Seems well built. Fairly accurate with open sights. A lot of fun to plink with and remove small rodents. 5 shots without having to reload is wonderful.
      Things I would have changed:Better sights. Longer and metal sight rail. Optics slide off because of recoil and not enough rail to secure optics. Too bad cannot carry extra loaded magazines because pellets fall out. Maybe a simple loaded magazine sleeve should be included. Magazine needs a color change or mark to warn shooter that mag is empty- never shoot an empty chamber.
      What others should know:Not powerful enough for large varmints. Keep shots within 20 yards and ok for gopher/rat size animals. A great buy for the money. A lot of backyard fun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Leandro from USA on 2012-11-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Size and weight. Great looks and machine work. Easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:MORE POWER please!! Wish there was .22. If you are not careful loading the clips, the pellets fall right out and needs to be redesigned so it holds pellets a bit better.
      What others should know:Dont need scope to 10/15meter... it´s fun airgun. Get lots of pellets and extra clips!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Walter from USA on 2012-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great 10 meter target rifle. This rifle has won many Gold Medals in the International Junior League. Wether young or old you will like this rifle. It is made to punch targets in same hole, not shoot game. However it is plenty enough for some such uses. Grooved for scope mount or use standard sights. extra clip and cleaning rod. Be careful not to double feed, as they are dificult to clear, you have to knock em out with the cleaning rod from the muzzle so be careful not to bugger the rifling. All IZH guns have hammer forged barrels as opposed to cut rifling, companies generally cannot afford the massive equipment to hammer forge, probably why these shoot so good. Just cheap ole Crosman wadcutters will follow each other, try some others too if you want one ragged hole. Pleasant to use, easy cock, not loud at all. Nice for basement in winter for everyone to share. Their Match pistol is a Olympic Medal winner too.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Len from USA on 2012-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a compact stout rifle...The design is great..Its a work of art...I havnt fired it to many times but i can tell its well built..The Russans do good work on there guns...Has an adjustable stock and i got the model that has a removable clip instead of the single shot..Just get it and you will like it
      Things I would have changed:More power and 22 cal would be great...I would like to see this design spitting out 22 cal pellets at 1000 FPS...The side cocking lever has a plastic section on the end,feels kinda cheep.Be carefull with it...
      What others should know:This is a great add on to my collection and dont regret buying it..As i said,could use a little more power and maby someday they will come out with a 22 cal version but overall this is a great pellet rifle..I love it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Leandro from USA on 2012-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ótimo peso, bem balanceada. Gostosa de recarregar tanto pelo ponto de vista da força exercida, como do som metálico de "arma". Visualmente tem um conceito tático bem interessante e o preço é imbatível!
      Things I would have changed:Só com o pente: trocaria de plástico por um de metal, colocaria mais 2 para totalizar 7 tiros, que tivesse uma trava para não disparar vazio, colocaria 2 cavidades dentro da estrutura para colocar extras já recarregados. Fora isso, um pouco mais de precisão, que tivesse mais força eeeee calibre .22!!!! mas aí é outra história...rs
      What others should know:O pente: na hora de colocar ele com os chumbinhos tem que ter um angulo inclinado para baixo, tipo 90graus, sob pena de eles saírem do buraco.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hal from USA on 2012-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy... It is spot on. Although I did remove the sights. I added a red dot sight I purchased previously at Pyramyd.
      Things I would have changed:Put a safety on it. My version did not come with one. Although this is NOT a major issue.
      What others should know:For the price an excellent value.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pahlevan from USA on 2012-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Surprised at the small size of the product. However, nice things can come in small packages. I really like this nice little plinker. easy to set up and adjust, it took 5 shots to dial it in on the iron sights. I then added a little Beeman 4X spoke i had sitting around and it even got better. Perfect for backyard plinking, quiet enough not to bother anyone and really nice to shoot for extended periods.
      Things I would have changed:Would be great if the speed was around 600 rather than the 450 or so that it has but again, not a hunter and as a plinker i can not fault it.
      What others should know:Buy one, you would be glad that you did. experiment with the pellet until you find one it likes and go have a blast
    • « Previous 123 ... 67 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top