IZH 61 multi shot air rifle reviews - page 2

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Walter from USA on 2012-11-08 11:10:49

Things I liked: Great 10 meter target rifle. This rifle has won many Gold Medals in the International Junior League. Wether young or old you will like this rifle. It is made to punch targets in same hole, not shoot game. However it is plenty enough for some such uses. Grooved for scope mount or use standard sights. extra clip and cleaning rod. Be careful not to double feed, as they are dificult to clear, you have to knock em out with the cleaning rod from the muzzle so be careful not to bugger the rifling. All IZH guns have hammer forged barrels as opposed to cut rifling, companies generally cannot afford the massive equipment to hammer forge, probably why these shoot so good. Just cheap ole Crosman wadcutters will follow each other, try some others too if you want one ragged hole. Pleasant to use, easy cock, not loud at all. Nice for basement in winter for everyone to share. Their Match pistol is a Olympic Medal winner too.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Justin webber from USA on 2015-07-14 12:19:07

Things I liked: I love the side lever action with magazine. The pull is light and it makes the gun very pleasant to shoot. the adjustable stock is very nice as well. the trigger pull is very light and has a clean break.

Things I would have changed: I thought that the globe sights were awful. I couldn't even adjust the rear sight enough to get a shot that wasn't a little below the sight. I think there may be a flaw with this Particular gun . I have worked with the gun throughout the last year trying to make it more accurate; using various lines and styles of pellets, mounting a nice scope, and cleaning regularly. I shot this from a rest and the very best groups i could get with a 5 shot magazine at 10 yards was with RWS supermags field line wad-cutters (9.3g), and these were slightly larger than an inch! I can shoot better groups standing with my sons Daisy Buck with open sights. Seriously.

What others should know: I don't recommend this gun for first time springer shooters because it seems to be very sensitive to hold and to have any real success with it you will have to upgrade the sights. It was my first "springer" apart from Daisy BB guns, and because i was unfamiliar with the gun i allowed myself to think that I just needed to work on my hold and position with it. after a couple thousand rounds i know better now and the gun was just a dud. If you're not 100% satisfied with it out of the box, save yourself the trouble and send it back. I gave one star overall because if you don't have accuracy, I have a cool looking prop.

Sort by:
  • Previous 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tony from USA on 2013-09-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is a lot of fun and very accurate for the price. Airgunning should be about fun and this rifle delivers.

    Things I would have changed: It seems to be very picky about pellets

    What others should know: This is my third spring piston airgun and the first one I was able to shoot accurately and obtain good groups from day one. It is not as hold sensitive as the other two guns I owned (a chinese sidelever and a gamo recon), but it seems much more sensitive to pellet choice. The rifle is easy to hold and the adjustable stock is very useful. The stock does not adjust to a series of steps but can be adjusted exactly as needed. The "space age" looking forearm also allows a great deal of adjustment in your hold. The pistol grip is a bit short, however you don't grip this rifle tight and the design of the grip allows me to repeat my hold from shot to shot. The magazine and feeding system have worked perfectly to date. My favorite rifle is the Daisy 953. Because the magazine sticks out of the rifle the pellets can fall out as you cock the rifle. The magazine of this rifle is completely contained within the receiver and the pellets cannot fall out once they are loaded into the rifle. The receiver dovetail is very short and demands a small scope and care in how it is mounted. I'm using a Leapers 4X Bug Buster scope on medium rings. Once I got the scope properly mounted and the stock adjusted, I've had no problems with the stability of the scope. This is an excellent value for the money. At 30 feet I can keep 10 shots within a 3/4 inch circle consistently. If I bear down and work, I can keep them within a 1/2 inch circle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By robert from USA on 2013-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this rifle, the accuracy is unbelievable, it is so much fun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: I love everything about this gun except the 5 shot clip, the pellets fall out very easily but that being said this really is an awesome gun for the price.

    What others should know: Buy this gun, you definitely won't regret it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2013-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This product is alot of fun to shoot. I use it inside my house to practice. Pretty accurate and easy to handle, load, and charge. I may add better sights but I am on target now.

    Things I would have changed: Needs a safety due to hair trigger.

    What others should know: Hair trigger. First pull was fairly firm, but the next was really light. Keep your finger away from the trigger until you have sighted.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By neil from USA on 2013-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Rugged, light, wonderful trigger, repeater, just an all around short range plinker and a rifle that has a very high f.f.t.d. (fun for the dollar) level. I'm no fan of so called "tactical" or military styled firearms or gear. Such stuff is pure marketing b.s. designed to get men to act like little boys and spend their money impulsively and foolishly. But the IZH 61 design is well done and functional. It not only looks ok...it handles even better.

    Things I would have changed: More precise rear sight. Without adding any optics, the front globe sight is nice, but gets in the way if you add, say, a dot sight. It comes off easily enough, but taking it off detracts from the aesthetics of the rifle.

    What others should know: Addictive little rifle. I love that its a repeater. I don't know why more spring, gas spring or co2 rifles are repeaters. Since I don't fancy getting involved in the HPA craze, repeating rifles non HPA rifles are hard to come by. This one is exceptional. Not perfect, but has all the stuff to become a classic.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mark from USA on 2013-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very light and handy but it certainly didn't shoot as well as I had expected from reading the reviews. Trigger is very good considering the price. I may have had a lemon as the front sight had been broken during shipping. PA was great about taking it back though.

    Things I would have changed: Crank the cylinder up to produce 900 fps and retain this design, should be a winner.

    What others should know: Good kids gun but underwhelming for an adult shooter and definately not a good choice for hunting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By richard from USA on 2013-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything. Arrived 1 day early. I bought this for my 6 year old granddaughter for Christmas. It isn't going to wait that long. Cleaned the barrel. It was definitely dirty. I sighted it in at 10 ft.the windage adjustment is like they say in the reviews but at that range with a little care it came right in. After that I shot soda cans at 10 m with no problem. Great little gun. Pellets touching at 10 ft.

    Things I would have changed: As of now nothing.

    What others should know: This is a great beginner gun. Yes the pellets are loose but you should be pointing a gun down to load it. As for no safety Teaching youngsters that the trigger should not be touched until on target is a good thing. My granddaughter is going to love it. And it is such fun that her mother will probably shoot along. I recommend this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jack from USA on 2013-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love that its easy to cock, very accurate, easy to load.

    Things I would have changed: Wish it had a better trigger and more adjustment on the stock about 3" to short for me extended all the way, Grandson fits him perfect. needs different front sight inserts.

    What others should know: This is a great gun and very accurate, cant be beat for the money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leland from USA on 2013-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks good.. Fun to shoot.. Easy to cock... 5 shot repeater... Very accurate... Great gun at a great price. How do they get it all the way from Russia to my front door for that I will never know! I bought two... one for my 7 year old son and one for me!

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Be careful when cocking the gun. you don't need to be in a hurry. I count the holes in the magazine and when I see three it is ready to reload.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2013-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Smooth shooting, side lever, adjustability from 8 yr old to 43 year old.

    Things I would have changed: Add a safety

    What others should know: This is a great gun. It's easy and fun to shoot. I purchased the air Venturi rear apertures sight. Is works well, but does need to be adjusted all the way down on my particular gun. Out of the 5 air guns we were shooting this past weekend it was the favorite for plinking and target shooting. You need to take extra caution due to the lack of a safety. Basically we leave the gun uncocked until ready to fire. Just be careful with younger kids.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2013-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: EVERYTHING!. Except the scope mount,more on that below. This rifle is a pure joy to shoot,little effort required to cock,unbelieveable accuracy. The automatic magazine advance system is nothing short of genius,it works flawlessly,every time,this is what Crosman should have done with the M4-177,I have one of those also. The build quality is superb,it is put togeather like a fine watch and is a natural pointer,meaning that it fits my shooting style. This is a wonderful rifle,you will not be disapointed with this purchase. Just keep in mind that this is a target rifle,NOT a hunting rifle,if you are loking for a rifle to hunt with,I suggest you take a look at the Beeman Trail nitro,I own one,and it is a power monster,espically in .22cal. This is a keeper for me!.

    Things I would have changed: The scope rail is far too short,and it is very flexable,so the optics move around.

    What others should know: My solution for the short/flexable scope rail was to use a pair of Crosman barrel clamp mounts I had laying around for my Crosman 2240's.This works GREAT!. I removed the rear sight from the 61 for clearance. I have uploaded a photo of this.The clamp mounts fit as if they were designed for this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chooch440 from USA on 2013-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased this rifle mainly because of the reviews and I was not dissappointed! This is a great rifle for the money. I got extra clips and can sit and just plink away 5 shots at a time. I found the rifle to be very accurate at 33 feet. It is so easy to cock that I can shoot for over an hour with virtually no fatigue. My 9 year old Grandgirl loves this rifle because with the stock in the shortest position it fits her perfectly and she can cock it by herself albeit with a little difficulty.

    Things I would have changed: This rifle needs no changes in my opinion.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2013-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Because of my interest in the IZH-61, the rifle was purchased for me by my wife as a gift. I am impressed with the sturdy quality of this rifle being in the inexpensive price range. The extendable stock and pistol grip and modest weight are good features that give the rifle a carbine feel. After a good look-over right out of the box, reading the operating instructions, and swabbing out the barrel I eagerly loaded and fired 10 wad-cutters in succession into my pellet trap with no malfunctions. The side lever cocking ease of the IZH-61 should work well for youth, adult and the elderly (like me!). Having only fully wood stocked rifles in the past, I am pleasantly surprised at the overall feel of the IZH-61. It's going to be my "number one" shooter.

    Things I would have changed: The five shot plastic loaders that come with the gun and the available accessory loaders could be at least six shot without being too obtrusive. Most pellets fit loosely and have a tendency to fall out of the little magazines; however, I solved this problem by using a pellet sealer to flare the pellet skirts after they were inserted in the magazine. The IZH-61 has no provision for a sling. I like my rifles to be slung so that I can walk down range hands free with the rifle.

    What others should know: The rail for accessory sights almost seems like an after-thought. A BKL Dovetail to Weaver accessory rail was needed to mount a red dot sight or scope.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By gabriel from USA on 2013-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Purchased mostly for my 8 year old daughter to use. It is easy to cock, accurate, and fairly light. Very good quality materials and includes a cleaning rod.

    Things I would have changed: Needs a longer rail for wider selection of scopes/sights. Needs an easier way to tell when you are on your last shot.

    What others should know: This is an accurate and very quiet rifle(i.e.backyard friendly). Love the fact that it is multi- shot capable.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2013-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Exellent accuracy. Smooth action. Five pellet magazine. Moderate velocity is perfect for indoor shooting. Won't destroy your pellet traps. Price seems commensurate with quality. This gun is interesting. It's different from anything else I own.

    Things I would have changed: Add a safety. Modify the magazine to hold pellts more secure.

    What others should know: Keep track of your five shots so you don't accidentally dry fire the gun. Cocking the gun when empty will not advance the magazine any further, but the gun will still fire.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2013-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good target rifle. Moderate velocity is desirable for indoor shooting. Won't destroy my pellet traps. Spring air gives consistent power, and five pellet magazines let me shoot without having to load every pellet before taking a shot.

    Things I would have changed: You can't carry extra loaded magazines around with you because the pellets tend to fall out. But once the magazine is loaded into the rifle, they will stay put till you shoot them. A safety would be nice, but not cocking the gun untill you are ready to shoot works just as good.

    What others should know: Be carefull when you shoot so as not to dry fire an empty gun. Watching the magazine click out one hole everytime you cock it will alert you. When the third hole appears "as you are cocking the gun", you're on your last round. Or, you can just count.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By bob from USA on 2013-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: multishot

    Things I would have changed: cheap, flimsy cocking lever design of magazine so pellets could be loaded and stored withoutfalling out

    What others should know: hard to get cheek along stock to use built in sight

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By anthony from USA on 2013-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Five shot repeater, side lever for prone position shooting, looked nice.

    Things I would have changed: Better quality control on Baikal's part. When I received the rifle I immediately put the straight front post on. After loosening the plastic nut that holds the globe on I discovered the muzzle of the barrel was kind of "smashed" on one side. This is nothing that could of happened during shipping because the plastic "nut" was not busted, this had to happen at the factory. Set it up and shot it anyway, and off the sticks at 10 meters could not get good groups (my 853 groups very well of off the sticks).

    What others should know: Sent it back after about two hours of trying to get it to group. I know other people really like this rifle but I just had a bad one I guess. Pyramyd was real good about a refund about this issue so I'll be buying whatever I need in the future from them. Bottom line: If you want something that's easy on the pocketbook and really accurate take a look at the Avanti rifles from Daisy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2013-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very fun to shoot. Easy to cock. Compact and accurate.

    Things I would have changed: An easier and larger clip would be nice. Maybe a round 10 or 12 shot clip. A more powerful version would be really nice

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregory from USA on 2013-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like almost everyone who has reviewed this rifle, I was very pleased with the accuracy right out of the box. Very light cocking effort and nice positive clicks on the elevation adjustment. Seems perfect for its intended purpose: 10m target shooting and short range plinking.

    Things I would have changed: It would have been great to have windage adjustment on the sight. Even a thrust screw would be nice. Having to loosen the two little phillips screws to push the site sideways is a bit tedious. I plan to add an Air Venturi rear sight as soon as Pyramyd has them back in stock. Otherwise excellent gun.

    What others should know: We experienced a lot of dieseling for the first 40-50 shots. Didn't seem to have much effect on accuracy. Swab the bore! Ours was filthy. Just passed half a dozen swabs through until they came out clean and now the barrel looks clear and shiny.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dead eye Vic from USA on 2013-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy handling, fun to shoot, accurate, well built, repeater. This gun is a good value and I have a consistent 400 fps showing with RWS Basics.I get about 5 to 10 fps less with Crosman Premiers. Overall a good little gun.

    Things I would have changed: Put a cushion on the tip of the lever release, as it begins to hurt the tip of my finger when I do a lot of shooting. Put a Fiber Optic front site on it, it is diifficult to see it when shooting at dark objects. The Hood makes it difficult to see. .

    What others should know: Make sure you aim the gun down when loading the clips, as the pellets tend to fall out otherwise. Buy a lot of clips and pellets and enjoy this.

  • Previous 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation