Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    IZH Drozd MP-661K Blackbird reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By darrin from USA on 2010-07-06 14:21:52

    Things I liked:Cool gun! Fun by the truckload! Super powerfull. Will make your'e eyes bug out the 1st time you shoot it!
    Things I would have changed:Price. Super expensive when you begin to add in Co2 & inevitable upgrades. If you don't go with Bulk Air, I hope you have deep pockets! As this guns goes through C02 QUICK! 88 gram is better than 3 12 gram. But still goes fast.
    What others should know:Be prepared to share! I have yet to show this gun to anyone that didn't want to shoot it. As far as online support/information? Forget about it. Entering key words will only get you advertisements for purchasing the gun. You have to get in there & tinker as you begin to have problems. Which you will.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Paul from USA on 2014-07-18 09:41:00

    Things I liked:I can't rely review this gun because it stopped working after about ten shots. I had to return it for repair or replacement. When I get one back that works, I will review it.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gunracer250 from USA on 2009-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this gun!!!! It shoots very fast, very far, and is very accurate!
      Things I would have changed:Dont waste your time with the 3 co2 holders it has, unscrew it for the bulk co2!
      What others should know:For people who have this gun listen to this: Since i wanted this gun to have more co2, i unscrewed the bulk co2 adapter and rethreaded it at my shop so instead of it holding 1 88 gram co2 tank it can now hold a 20oz co2 tank like a paintball gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Noel from USA on 2009-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun has power and shooting speed. Best gun I ever have. Very easy to use and easy to reload. The accuracy it has a good one but with this gun you dont need it. It says it holds about 400 bbs but it really holds more than 900
      Things I would have changed:A bigger tank
      What others should know:You will not regret spending money for this gun it worth it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2009-05-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:More rounds, more Co2 , nice rail for mounting extras.
      Things I would have changed:allow it to shoot lead balls. They will not feed in my mag.
      What others should know:As stated above I have not had any luck with lead balls. Also I've had some issues with all three Co2 tanks puncturing together. I've only got two to puncture with any regularity. I'm still working on it though it seems an easy fix. This gun takes all the fun of the original and amps it by 10!!! With BBs the mag feeds flawlessly. More shooting much less reloading. If you only get one of these fine russian pistols. Make this the one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Nathan from USA on 2009-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:A recent reviewer: "cooljonas100" is wrong. The large capacity magazine works fine. That large capacity is best part about the Blackbird. You can shoot, shoot, and shoot some more, without having to reload! (Remember, at the 6-shot burst setting, the 30 rounds in the original Drozd magazine are gone in only 5 trigger pulls! Or 3 seconds at 600RPM)
      Things I would have changed:Fit and finish could be better. The overall quality control over at IZH appears to be a little hit-or-miss... Sometimes parts do not fit well and may need adjusting. Other times, the magazine, for example, may indeed be defective and prone to jams. But, just because your gun does't work perfectly, don't think that none of them work well. Send your gun back under warranty and get it replaced or repaired. Even if the gun is out of warranty, most things can be fixed with a little effort and ingenuity. (This thing is generally built out of extremely solid parts, they are just not always put together carefully enough.)
      What others should know:Zinc coated premium BBs seem to work best. Longer barrels and other custom modifications are available. Bulk CO2 and HPA adapter kits are available. Special mod-chips now provide switchable true full-auto (instead of 6 round bursts) and 600-900-1200RPM (instead of stock 300-450-600RPM). With HPA (and especially with true full-auto) it is easily possible to shoot 20,000 BBs or more in a single weekend!
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By cooljonas100@yahoo.c from USA on 2009-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun shoots very well and is a lot of fun with a normal magazine.
      Things I would have changed:My Drozd does not work with the 400 round hopper magazine that came with it. I though that the whole gun was junk until I tried a friends normal sized magazine.
      What others should know:400 round hopper sounds cool, but it doesn't feed right. Get the normal magazine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By cos_dragon from USA on 2009-02-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I haven't had the opportunity to fire this gun very much dure to the weather, but as soon as it gets nicer out I plan on doing so... A LOT! By far this is one of my favorite purchases from Pyramid. Thank you Stacy for sending those O-rings for the adaptor. I put up a few videos on YouTube for this gun. Still learning windows movie maker but they serve my purposes for now.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't even bother with the red tip barrel shroud. I took mine off the 1st day & put the mock suppressor on it. It may have cost a little extra but it's well worth it for astethics alone.
      What others should know:I'm not really sure where people are coming up with 200 or 400 round capacities with this gun but I'd day I easily get over 800 of the copperheads in there with one clip fill. Simply awsome firepower for a bb gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Robert from USA on 2009-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I went through a series of upgrades with my Blackbird, 18" barrel, and bulk air, Medical batteries. Finally I settled on standard batteries (keep them fresh or you loose performance) and a quick release bulk air connect. This works best as jams sometimes require disconnecting the co2 source. Mine stopped feeding entirely. I found no help or support on-line. Finally a ddressed dismantling the magazine hopper. Like must Russian built products it is very simple and reliable. I found a misformed BB was the cause of my problem. Simpley unscrew the 3 srews on the hopper and remove the jam-plate (no need to dissassemble hopper) spread the two halves apart slightly untill the abnormal BB falls out. You can see if it is working by turning the gun on and and looking down the hopper while it is empty and you can see the spring action turning inside. Works great again. Bulk co2 is the way to go, airsource is too expensive, as you will want to rock and roll with this lil' baby. I usually shoot 400+ rounds every time I use it.
      Things I would have changed:Longer barrel, and a paint ball type bulk-air attatchment with quick release.
      What others should know:Medical batteries did not perform well, and a mod board might be cool but I like the 6 round burst feature the way it is. Keep pulling the trigger and you have continuous full-automatic fire.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By JA from USA on 2009-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Talk about a fun unit, this spits BBs out with the best of them. Too much FUN!!! Full Auto highest power is where it's at, you can go though a volume of BBs in no time, BUY extra or reclaim if you can. Large CO2 handles multiple full loads. You can write you name in your target, its that much fun.
      Things I would have changed:Unit works perfect and design is sleek, Obviously more power faster shooting speed goes without saying for any air powered gun. But no real changes are needed to enjoy the gun as it is delivered, great out of the box.
      What others should know:Large capacity CO2 bottles like paintball will require some way to carry as an accesorie verses a bolt on.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Ed from USA on 2009-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not much. I does have good feel. Sounds good when discharging this weapon.
      Things I would have changed:Almost everything. More fireing time. More accuracy
      What others should know:Get a good supply of cartridges
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By G from USA on 2009-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun has very solid construction and is a beauty right out of the box. It has excellent weight and feel. Shooting the gun is extremely a blast!! The hopper is the big draw to this gun due to how fast you can shoot through a mere 100 rounds and this gives you over 400 to play with.
      Things I would have changed:The stock is cheap which is not a big deal and the front fake suppressor is poor, so I would suggest just taking it off:) Get a bulk air adapter to use a paintball tank cause the little co2's just don't cut it.
      What others should know:This gun is HIGHLY modifiable. Out of the box it is great but if you're able and willing, you can get aftermarket barrels, stocks, sights, and bulk air (use a paintball tank), and make this one of the most tactically desirable guns in the world! Totally worth the $$
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Marc from USA on 2008-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is the best machine gun i ever shot ,nice feel ,great accuracy over all great price, u will not be dissapointed .....
      Things I would have changed:make the front silincer real not plastic , get a good scope and have fun !!
      What others should know:stell bb`s or nice just be careful not to over do it because of jammin didn`t jam jet but the zinc bbs handle good
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By btburn from USA on 2008-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great gun,lots of fun. Spend a little more thank the original drozd and shoot forever before reloading.
      Things I would have changed:include a bulk co2 adapter. this thing goes through co2 cartridges very fast especially if you are using 3 small ones. the 88 gram adapter helps but at $5.00 a cartridge a bulk adapter would make a day of shooting less expensive. The fake suppressor is kind of light and cheesy, looks good but has no purpose.
      What others should know:go to: http://bb.bbboy.net/straferbbmachinegunownersgroup Tips and tricks, aftermarket parts and stuff.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Robert from USA on 2008-11-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The best feature of the BB is the large magazine capacity. The biggest disappointment of the Drozd was the 30 round magazine/CO2 source. I like the Picattiny rail on top if the gun for attaching sights, etc. I think the butt stoc is much improved even though I remove mine on occasion to use a folding stock. The ability to use both Airsource and CO2 cartridges is a plus.
      Things I would have changed:Each gun should come wth one of Jim C's adaptors so that HPA can be used. The Picattiny rail should have been made from aluminum instead of plastic. The standard sights suck. The sight picture is indistinct and they are not easy to adjust; I will probably end up cutting them off and using add on sights on the rail. When the gun is held at a down angle BB's will sometimes roll out the barrel; one owner on the MP661K..com forum drilled out a small space at the top oif the magzine and attached a tiny magnet to keep the top BB in place! The fauz suppressor is a piece of crap! The first thing I did was remove it. If I was in charge at Baikal I would change the firing pattern from 1-3-6 shot burst o 1-3-full auto.
      What others should know:If you have the Drozd the BB is essentially the same gun. You will enjoy the large magazine capacity. Over all I am happy with the gun and will be making improvements as I go.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GREG from USA on 2008-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:JUST RECEIVED MINE TODAY. TALK ABOUT A FUN GUN. IT WAS AN EYE OPENER WHEN I SHOWED IT TO A FRIEND OF MINE THAT IS ON THE SWAT TEAM.
      What others should know:KEEP 2 USED CO2 CARTRIDGES IN THE HOLDER AND USE THE Air Venturi IZH Drozd Bulk-Fill Adapter AVAILABLE ON THIS WEB SITE SO YOU CAN USE THE 20 OZ TANK AND SHOOT ALL DAY
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2008-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great FunGun,Nothing out there comes close.I have been using Copperhead BBs with an occasional feeding problem,but it does have a pull out on the bottom of magazine in case of a jam.
      Things I would have changed:The barrel is the same length as original,shroud is fake.I would like an adapter for bulk air.
      What others should know:It has 2 screw in couplers,1 for the crosman 88Gram and 1 for 3 stardard Co2s.The magazine could definitely fit much more than 200 but it would probably cause jamming or breakage.Not gonna try it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By stinger95 from USA on 2008-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This thing is the most fun i've ever had shooting airguns! Seems to be built very well. I've gone through 500 beeman lead balls so far without a single problem. No jamming at all. Can't wait to shoot it again!
      What others should know:The owners manual states that it is a 200 round magazine, but there is alot more room left with 200 in there. 400 is probably real close. Buy lots of ammo and co2 if you order it because you will not want to put this thing down! If I could only own one airgun, this would be the one!
    • « Previous 12
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top