Date: 27/7/2016 4:45
0

Makarov Ultra Blowback CO2 Pistol reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Carl from USA on 2014-04-07 19:41:13

Things I liked: I like that it is blowback.I already had the Makarov that is not blowback and I really love shooting it.I was hoping that someone would come up with the blowback version.

Things I would have changed: It is a little loud but that's alright,it's not too loud.

What others should know: I am very happy that I bought this gun.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Michael from USA on 2014-02-20 11:07:11

Things I liked: Nice heft, realistic look, overall more solid feel in the hand than the non-blowback Umarex version. Strips like real pistol.

Things I would have changed: WORST. TRIGGER. EVER. Long, creepy, gritty, jerky and UNPREDICTABLE (!) first stage followed by HEAVY, also unpredictable, creepy second stage. This is the single worst trigger I have ever, ever encountered. The pull is always awful, but it changes from one shot to the next. Sometimes there is grittiness in the first stage, sometimes not. Sometimes in the first stage there are stops and starts, other times not. The second stage is like pulling a school bus in neutral with your finger. No, I did not get the impression that my pistol was defective. It was consistently like this for two whole magazines and everything else (CO2 installation, blowback, shot consistency, safety, etc.) functioned properly. Velocity seemed (did not chrony) normal, accuracy was almost acceptable, but good accuracy is impossible with this trigger.

What others should know: Do not, I repeat, do NOT buy this gun, unless you plan to use it as a prop only, perhaps at a Halloween party or in your friend's student project for a film making class. I returned mine after the first day. (Good return service from Pyramyd Air, BTW.)

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ed from USA on 2016-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Makarov Ultra looks and feels like the real deal, the weight and attention to detail is impressive. The first handful of rounds have an impressive kick, although this gun isn't really a shooter. A nice look at piece to add to the collection, for sure, well worth the money(tho you can certainly shoot it if you want!). I had an excellent customer service experience during my purchase/shipping of this gun, and I will continue to buy from Pyramyd based on the standards of their service and quality of their products. (Thanks guys!)

    Things I would have changed: The plastic grip should be available in something more substantial, tho from a distance its not super noticeable. It is a very nice gun.

    What others should know: This gun (all just in my experience) is slightly problematic as a steady shooter as it may jam or double up, and its not very consistent as far as power and accuracy go, but if you want to have a nice replica piece to put in your display, this is one you shouldn't pass up. Not to be misunderstood, this gun does provide a fun shooting experience overall, but its not a super powerful or extremely accurate gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joseph. c from USA on 2015-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A very nice gun the power is good for it's size the blow back is what makes this great the co2 is o.k you will 2 to 3 magazines because once you start shooting it's hard to stop . A must buy don't get it anywhere else but pyramyd air because their customer service is 2nd to none .

    What others should know: I know there's to types go with the blow back

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By joseph. c from USA on 2015-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: wow what a nice gun . #1 the co2 is very good 80-90 shots per. 1 co2 it was a little cool that day I shot it was about 58 deg. the blow back is good loading the mag is a little hard need two hands nice power you lose a little power because othe blow back but that's o.k

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

    What others should know: not a thing got to buy one

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a very nice compact but detailed version of the Russian Makarov. It appears to be a very similar to the Walther PPKS movement, which I'm sure the Russians copied. It is easy to shoot and it gets a lot of shots per CO2. Blow back also works well. Good for plinking at short distances.

    Things I would have changed: A little closer tolerances on the top section. Trigger pull too tight due to design of feed mechanism. Of course the CO2 tightening knob should be recessed more as everyone seems to indicate. Accuracy is so so due to shorter smooth bore barrel. Barrel too short to recess for better look. Maybe a hard rubber grip instead of plastic.

    What others should know: I use clear Mylar tape to remove excess play on the slide to barrel fit. Other then that, it is a nice compact BB pistol to fill out any collection. It was a must have on my collection.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm a retired NYS gunsmith with twenty years experience. This is one of fourteen assorted replica firearms I've purchased from Pyramyd Air and like all the others the quality, the price, the realism, and the attention to detail is exceptional.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This replica is the next best thing to the original firearm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2014-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the best of the replicas for accuracy of design. Should pave the way for an improved Walther PPK, or PP. Mine has a better trigger than my Beretta 84 , that I really like . Really impressive blowback

    Things I would have changed: Grips loosen up easily. Would hide the co2 tightener better, maybe a wrench type.

    What others should know: If you don't have one ,you should

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shingkuo from USA on 2014-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid kick. Realistic blow back.

    Things I would have changed: The gas turning knob could be better concealing than see able as is.

    What others should know: The trigger pull is bit hard and frictional.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Henry from USA on 2014-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The blowback, the metal construction, The feel, The ease of loading, the locked open slide with the last shot

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is long a bit rough. Takes some getting used to.

    What others should know: The long trigger pull is great because it slows down your shooting which helps with CO2 temperature, which increases the number of shots.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anette from USA on 2014-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: IT looks very well fabrikated. Accuracy is quite well and I like the recoil.

    Things I would have changed: Triggerpull is awful hard, should be a lot lighter.

    What others should know: Nothing, I can really recomend this nice little pistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By nonewjerseymike from USA on 2014-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Realism,blow back,very accurate for a non rifled bbl. and a whole lot of fun.

    Things I would have changed: Bottom co2 charger made of plastic and may snap

    What others should know: Alitle hard to load,but if you use the bb loader without attachments you can load faster than by hand.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gerald R from USA on 2014-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Have a ton of fun with it

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2014-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit & finish. Ammo & Co2 in same drop out mag. Discrete warning on slide. Field strips. High FPS.Blow back. locking slide. Real single action. Shots per Co2 capsule.Accuracy.Fixed grip.Open ejection port.

    Things I would have changed: Half plastic mag.Placement of mag release.Lighter trigger pull. Piercing Knob.Make it flush with the floor plate of the mag as on the Tanfoglio Witness 1911.

    What others should know: There will be a lot of comparisons between this and the Non blow back(NBB)version.In my opinion the Ultra is the better of the two.Better finish for one.Not that cheap glossy black as on the NBB. Single action.It must be cocked for the first shot and the lightning fast recoil of the slide will cock the hammer for the rest.Ammo& Co2 in the same drop out mag so there's a fixed grip unlike the NBB's. Mag is easier to load too but to lock the follower down is a little tricky but at least the BB's wont fly out of the mag if it slips as is sometimes the case with the NBB. Only two complaints worth mentioning with this otherwise excellent gun. 1)The mag is half plastic.The upper valve end is metal but the lower Co2 /ammo holder is plastic and I can see it breaking if dropped on a hard surface.2)the placement of the mag release is just behind the Co2 knob making mag removal an awkward two handed job.60 shots per Co2 makes the Ultra an economical & accurate addition to any collection. Buy it!

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Darrell from USA on 2014-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Full magazine, easy to load. Snappy blow back. Accuracy very good. Take down easy. Was able to get about 6 to 7 magazines per CO2. Comfortable feel to the pistol.

    Things I would have changed: When using the slide release , the slide could sound a bit more harder. Feels a little week, but O.K. Pistol could have a little more weight to it, Like it's younger Makarov brother. The hammer hits a little light.

    What others should know: I like the Ultra Makarov. For the price I'll keep mine. Still a good little pistol, all in all. I would buy one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jim K. from USA on 2014-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The heft and feel of the pistol and the realistic blowback action. Very satisfied with my first BB pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Wish it were more accurate, but it's a BB pistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vincent from Canada on 2014-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Verry nice looking, nice finish, thick metal slide,probably the strongest recoil of any airguns available theses days,nice trigger pull, you don't notice the loading of the bb's, my friend chrony it at 423fps, verry powerfull, it blast metal soup can both side at 17 feet.

    Things I would have changed: hiding the co2 screw

    What others should know: this gun can be field strip for greasing and cleaning. be carefull when removing the slide to don't loose the plastic washer in front of the recoil spring.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight and "feel" of this pistol is very close to the actual pistol. It is the most accurate pistol that I own. I would highly recommend it. James Bond should have carried this pistol rather than the Beretta (bad bad choice) or even the Walther PP/PPK.

    Things I would have changed: ? Wooden or metal grips?

    What others should know: BUY THIS PISTOL!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carl from USA on 2014-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like that it is blowback.I already had the Makarov that is not blowback and I really love shooting it.I was hoping that someone would come up with the blowback version.

    Things I would have changed: It is a little loud but that's alright,it's not too loud.

    What others should know: I am very happy that I bought this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Allen from USA on 2014-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ok first off... I love the Makarov... this is a GREAT replica of one, Nice construction, Great look (even the "copper" tones on the safety, and barrel look nice. Field strips like the real thing! Ive been waiting for a blowback version of the NB Umarex. So when i saw this i scooped it right up. Fits in my Genuine Russian Leather holster too!

    Things I would have changed: Its part of a new series of umarex pistols (the 84fs, and P38 are the other 2 in this series. they are built, and look amazing... but... THE TRIGGERS ARE HORRIBLE!!!! very gritty, very very stiff! the action on this series also only cycles half way open. Its a decent kick, but not a full travel slide. lastly... the magazine charging handle is exposed (this can be cut and slotted for a flathead screwdriver if youre mechanically inclined).

    What others should know: Overall im pleased with this gun as a part of my collection. Im hoping the trigger breaks in as more shots are fired, but im doubtfull... Id really like to get the P38, but after hearing the action is the same... im very leery....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2014-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Blowback Realism. being able to take/tear down the gun. Quite accurate for having a short barrel. Sure you will get some flyers, but majority group very well. The more I shoot it the more accurate it becomes.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Like it the way it is.

    What others should know: Trigger not bad. Work some pellgun oil into all moving parts and on seals that aren't visible until you take it down.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By misfitsailor from USA on 2014-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks and feels great. Accuracy is decent for the barrel length. All-in-one magazine adds to realism. Magazine is easy to load.

    Things I would have changed: Barrel is not recessed, spoiling the replica appearance somewhat. Safety works, but is very stiff. If you pull the hammer back slightly, the safety is easier to engage.

    What others should know: With the safety on, the gun will not fire but you can still pull the trigger, which releases a BB that rolls out of the barrel.

  • 12 Next
Navigation