Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Makarov Ultra Blowback CO2 Pistol reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By JAMES from USA on 2014-02-07 00:53:51

    Things I liked: Ijust received the Makarov Ultra from Pyramydair today, 2/6/2014. The gun has a good finish, very accurate representation of the firearm, and....IT FIELD STRIPS! Unlike my 1911 Tanfoglio and Colt Government, it does not have gaudy writing on its sides. There are Warnings on one side but they are engraved and the finish makes them unnoticeable. The clip and CO2 are fitted into the magazine that loads into the butt of the grip. Grip covers are made of a brown plastic and fit well. The finish is a matte-black . I can't say much more until I can try it out.
    Things I would have changed: Absolutely, nothing.
    What others should know: Now, All I need is an ACCURATE replica of the P-08 Parabellum German Luger with full working parts, in either, pellet or BB style, to round out my collection. I hope Umarex makes one soon!
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-02-20 11:07:11

    Things I liked:Nice heft, realistic look, overall more solid feel in the hand than the non-blowback Umarex version. Strips like real pistol.
    Things I would have changed:WORST. TRIGGER. EVER. Long, creepy, gritty, jerky and UNPREDICTABLE (!) first stage followed by HEAVY, also unpredictable, creepy second stage. This is the single worst trigger I have ever, ever encountered. The pull is always awful, but it changes from one shot to the next. Sometimes there is grittiness in the first stage, sometimes not. Sometimes in the first stage there are stops and starts, other times not. The second stage is like pulling a school bus in neutral with your finger. No, I did not get the impression that my pistol was defective. It was consistently like this for two whole magazines and everything else (CO2 installation, blowback, shot consistency, safety, etc.) functioned properly. Velocity seemed (did not chrony) normal, accuracy was almost acceptable, but good accuracy is impossible with this trigger.
    What others should know:Do not, I repeat, do NOT buy this gun, unless you plan to use it as a prop only, perhaps at a Halloween party or in your friend's student project for a film making class. I returned mine after the first day. (Good return service from Pyramyd Air, BTW.)
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gerald R from USA on 2014-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Have a ton of fun with it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2014-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit & finish. Ammo & Co2 in same drop out mag. Discrete warning on slide. Field strips. High FPS.Blow back. locking slide. Real single action. Shots per Co2 capsule.Accuracy.Fixed grip.Open ejection port.
      Things I would have changed:Half plastic mag.Placement of mag release.Lighter trigger pull. Piercing Knob.Make it flush with the floor plate of the mag as on the Tanfoglio Witness 1911.
      What others should know:There will be a lot of comparisons between this and the Non blow back(NBB)version.In my opinion the Ultra is the better of the two.Better finish for one.Not that cheap glossy black as on the NBB. Single action.It must be cocked for the first shot and the lightning fast recoil of the slide will cock the hammer for the rest.Ammo& Co2 in the same drop out mag so there's a fixed grip unlike the NBB's. Mag is easier to load too but to lock the follower down is a little tricky but at least the BB's wont fly out of the mag if it slips as is sometimes the case with the NBB. Only two complaints worth mentioning with this otherwise excellent gun. 1)The mag is half plastic.The upper valve end is metal but the lower Co2 /ammo holder is plastic and I can see it breaking if dropped on a hard surface.2)the placement of the mag release is just behind the Co2 knob making mag removal an awkward two handed job.60 shots per Co2 makes the Ultra an economical & accurate addition to any collection. Buy it!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Darrell from USA on 2014-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Full magazine, easy to load. Snappy blow back. Accuracy very good. Take down easy. Was able to get about 6 to 7 magazines per CO2. Comfortable feel to the pistol.
      Things I would have changed: When using the slide release , the slide could sound a bit more harder. Feels a little week, but O.K. Pistol could have a little more weight to it, Like it's younger Makarov brother. The hammer hits a little light.
      What others should know: I like the Ultra Makarov. For the price I'll keep mine. Still a good little pistol, all in all. I would buy one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Jim K. from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The heft and feel of the pistol and the realistic blowback action. Very satisfied with my first BB pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Wish it were more accurate, but it's a BB pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Vincent from Canada on 2014-04-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Verry nice looking, nice finish, thick metal slide,probably the strongest recoil of any airguns available theses days,nice trigger pull, you don't notice the loading of the bb's, my friend chrony it at 423fps, verry powerfull, it blast metal soup can both side at 17 feet.
      Things I would have changed:hiding the co2 screw
      What others should know:this gun can be field strip for greasing and cleaning. be carefull when removing the slide to don't loose the plastic washer in front of the recoil spring.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight and "feel" of this pistol is very close to the actual pistol. It is the most accurate pistol that I own. I would highly recommend it. James Bond should have carried this pistol rather than the Beretta (bad bad choice) or even the Walther PP/PPK.
      Things I would have changed:? Wooden or metal grips?
      What others should know:BUY THIS PISTOL!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Carl from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that it is blowback.I already had the Makarov that is not blowback and I really love shooting it.I was hoping that someone would come up with the blowback version.
      Things I would have changed:It is a little loud but that's alright,it's not too loud.
      What others should know:I am very happy that I bought this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Allen from USA on 2014-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ok first off... I love the Makarov... this is a GREAT replica of one, Nice construction, Great look (even the "copper" tones on the safety, and barrel look nice. Field strips like the real thing! Ive been waiting for a blowback version of the NB Umarex. So when i saw this i scooped it right up. Fits in my Genuine Russian Leather holster too!
      Things I would have changed:Its part of a new series of umarex pistols (the 84fs, and P38 are the other 2 in this series. they are built, and look amazing... but... THE TRIGGERS ARE HORRIBLE!!!! very gritty, very very stiff! the action on this series also only cycles half way open. Its a decent kick, but not a full travel slide. lastly... the magazine charging handle is exposed (this can be cut and slotted for a flathead screwdriver if youre mechanically inclined).
      What others should know:Overall im pleased with this gun as a part of my collection. Im hoping the trigger breaks in as more shots are fired, but im doubtfull... Id really like to get the P38, but after hearing the action is the same... im very leery....
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2014-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Blowback Realism. being able to take/tear down the gun. Quite accurate for having a short barrel. Sure you will get some flyers, but majority group very well. The more I shoot it the more accurate it becomes.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Like it the way it is.
      What others should know:Trigger not bad. Work some pellgun oil into all moving parts and on seals that aren't visible until you take it down.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By misfitsailor from USA on 2014-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks and feels great. Accuracy is decent for the barrel length. All-in-one magazine adds to realism. Magazine is easy to load.
      Things I would have changed:Barrel is not recessed, spoiling the replica appearance somewhat. Safety works, but is very stiff. If you pull the hammer back slightly, the safety is easier to engage.
      What others should know:With the safety on, the gun will not fire but you can still pull the trigger, which releases a BB that rolls out of the barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Larry from USA on 2014-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Umarex does it again! Very nice copy of the actual firearm. Very well constructed and built. Like the idea of being made out of metal and having the blowback feature. Has the feel and heft of the actual firearm. The co2 and bb's load easily into the magazine. Got around six to seven reloads of bb's in the magazine before co2 started tapering off keeping blowback action from working. The blowback action is very crisp and very solid with a nice kick to it. The slide release holds the slide open on last shot wich is great. Like the idea of the ejection port being open and the idea of being able to field strip it. Adds more realism to it. Safety is very easy to operate. Sights are easy to sight in for how small that they are. Not the most accurate but that will come with a little practice. All in all its a great pistol to invest your money in.
      Things I would have changed:Make the trigger pull release the hammer sooner rather than later in the pulling of the trigger. Make it a double action/single action instead of single action only.
      What others should know:Buy a extra magazine and co2, as it will use a lot of co2 due to blowback feature You'll spend more time shooting and less time reloading.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-02-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice heft, realistic look, overall more solid feel in the hand than the non-blowback Umarex version. Strips like real pistol.
      Things I would have changed:WORST. TRIGGER. EVER. Long, creepy, gritty, jerky and UNPREDICTABLE (!) first stage followed by HEAVY, also unpredictable, creepy second stage. This is the single worst trigger I have ever, ever encountered. The pull is always awful, but it changes from one shot to the next. Sometimes there is grittiness in the first stage, sometimes not. Sometimes in the first stage there are stops and starts, other times not. The second stage is like pulling a school bus in neutral with your finger. No, I did not get the impression that my pistol was defective. It was consistently like this for two whole magazines and everything else (CO2 installation, blowback, shot consistency, safety, etc.) functioned properly. Velocity seemed (did not chrony) normal, accuracy was almost acceptable, but good accuracy is impossible with this trigger.
      What others should know:Do not, I repeat, do NOT buy this gun, unless you plan to use it as a prop only, perhaps at a Halloween party or in your friend's student project for a film making class. I returned mine after the first day. (Good return service from Pyramyd Air, BTW.)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JAMES from USA on 2014-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Ijust received the Makarov Ultra from Pyramydair today, 2/6/2014. The gun has a good finish, very accurate representation of the firearm, and....IT FIELD STRIPS! Unlike my 1911 Tanfoglio and Colt Government, it does not have gaudy writing on its sides. There are Warnings on one side but they are engraved and the finish makes them unnoticeable. The clip and CO2 are fitted into the magazine that loads into the butt of the grip. Grip covers are made of a brown plastic and fit well. The finish is a matte-black . I can't say much more until I can try it out.
      Things I would have changed: Absolutely, nothing.
      What others should know: Now, All I need is an ACCURATE replica of the P-08 Parabellum German Luger with full working parts, in either, pellet or BB style, to round out my collection. I hope Umarex makes one soon!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top