Date: 9/12/2016 10:8
0

Remington Summit Combo Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By James from USA on 2009-04-26 21:27:01

Things I liked: Nice looking gun with good bluing and nicely finished stock. Mine came with a Center Point 3x9x40 adjustable objective airgun scope, and it is accurate. I purchased this gun from Pyramid in December 2008. Velocity is advertised at 1000fps with PBA non-lead ammo. I use the heavier RWS 9.3 grain supermag wadcutters and H&N Match 8.09 grain wadcutters, attaining velocities of around 900fps; quite respectable for heavy pellets.

Things I would have changed: At first, cocking was a little rough, and the recoil fore and aft was heavy, associated with a little 'twang' as the spring unloaded. The heavy two-stage trigger and the heavy recoil prevented me from achieving any real accuracy before the trigger job and tune-up.

What others should know: I installed the GRT III after-market trigger produced by Bob Werner, aka. 'CharlieDaTuna', and I had the gun tuned by Gene Curtis of Airgun Toys in South Carolina. Both actions turned this little Remington into a real shooter! At forty feet the gun will produce 10 shot groups consistantly at 3/8" diameter or less. Whether you buy this gun, a Gamo, or an RWS, they all require a little tweaking and tuning before they become real 'shooters'. Rifles advertised at 1000 fps need ammo in the 7.5 to 9.5 grain weight category. Ammo weights lighter than 7.0 or heavier than 10.0 can damage pistons and seals. The Remington Summit is a good shooter for both targets and small game, and it looks like some of its Big-Brother Remingtons. This gun is a lot fun! Jim

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By charles from USA on 2007-09-21 19:05:04

Things I liked: the gun has a great finish i like the trigger scope and mounts are very goog

Things I would have changed: i dont know if the spring is made in china or not i think it is because the gun is that said i bought mine a while back almost a year ago and first thing out the box it shot great open sight i was nailing everything i aimed at put the scope on and it was great but then accurary started to go like one day i took the gun to my shooting range and could not hit anything this was on my 2nd can of pellets at this point i must say that i owned a gamo shadow and it was not accurate at all out of the box i shot 1000 pellets through it gave it to my soninlaws brother a while past and the came out to shoot targets his bother had the gamo i said to him can you hit anything with it and his reply was ohyea we all started shooting and to my amazement he was knocking over targets first pull of the trigger i asked if i could try and when i did shoot it i hit the kill zone and droped the target this said i was not giving up on this gun so i shot the gun and let other,s shoot it and nobody could get it to shoot accurately i put 2000 pellets through it i dont know how much the 3 people i let have the gun put through it but one day i and my son in law and his brother went out back to shoot airguns they had just got their rm 600s i brought out the remington to shoot and while helping them with the new guns i was doing my best to sight in the summit and about 20 pellets into it i started droping the gamo steel targets i was happy i was thinking the gun was coming around but somewhere between 20pellets and the sun going down the spring broke so the gun got shiped to crosman and i have it back and i have been shooting it once in a while and have hit some targets but i have not put it to the test yet waiting for cooler weather here in fla if it turns out to be just as bad as before i will hang it on the wall as a dust collector because it is to late to get my money back

What others should know: sweet looks don,t make a gun shoot

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gerri from USA on 2012-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I am an honest reviewer and I really do like the hard wood stock, the nice cumpfy rubber butt plate and the overall sheer weight of this thing. For when i got it, i was like WOAH! It weighs in at nearly 10 lbs (pounds) I also do like the accuracy potential in this puppy, because i can get 10 shots in a rough quarter-inch grouping AT 10 yards as RECOMENDED ON THE BOX IT COMES IN.

    Things I would have changed: I personally would change the trigger big time, but ya know what? Crosman doesnt sell triggers that fit this gun so your screwed. Each and everytime I go shooting I always have massive flyers and weird endings when pulling in on the trigger so I constantly have to play with the trigger to get it the way I feel I can get it before the seer slips and fires. Crosman makes peices of crap triggers. youll know what I mean if you bench shoot like me. (rested, mounted, either word words for benched shooting.)

    What others should know: I have the .22 caliber version of his rifle and it kiss rear end! (probably explains the weight) But this gun prefers H&N feild target trophy, IF you have the .22 version. but hey it sill caould work just as well as it does in the .177 caliber version too. please have fun while shooting but be SAFE! -Samuel

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mario from USA on 2012-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I really liked the the scope and the it hits very hard.it's my first .22 I even like the weight of the gun, after about 225 pellets through it. i think i fell in love with it again. great rifle for adults and adult kids.I baught this to deal with the skunks and possom in the neiborhood and it hasnt let me down yet. I use the primier ultra magnums pellets the work awesom for me. 25-30 yrds. I rairly have to put a secound shot into a critter good shot placement and their down.

    Things I would have changed: Barrel droop after I shimed the scope it was dead nut every shot!

    What others should know: The trigger isnt the best but easily adjested but the barrel droop is an unexpected issue i was able to shim my remmington summitto compensat for it i do plan to get adjestable mounts.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matthew H. from USA on 2011-11-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very good accuracy and reliability. I love the wood stock. It has almost no vibration because of the stock.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: if you are looking for just an al around hunting weapon this is your gun. I would not sugest it for people into just target shooting.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2011-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The way it looks and feels. This a very nice Pellet Rifle, i own the 22cal and shoots good! not Great,but good! Accuracy is better than most 22cal Breakbarreles

    Things I would have changed: Im a Velocity person, i wish it had about 100 FPS more, im not saying it doesnt shoot hard, it does do better than most 22cal Breakbarels.

    What others should know: Centerpoint Scope is very nice i think. It is a perfect Scope for Air Rifles. It shoots some Pellets good some not so good. I found that sticking with 14.5 Grain Crossmans work the best and keeps the velocity good. One day hope to find a Airgun Smith to do some work on this Rifle to make it an even better shooter than what it is.I would like to get a Nitro Piston or Gas Ram, That would be very Nice for this Rifle. Whether u buy the 177cal or 22cal you will be Satisfied that u own this Rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By sniper123 from USA on 2011-09-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the best air rifle i have ever ond or shot. The first day or to i had it sited in i dropt a magpie from 30 feet with cabelas ultra magnem hunting pellets. the gamo rockets also shoot great in this gun. The scope was also a great feature to add to this gun. the scope has a great site picture and power.

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

    What others should know: I am 12 and can load the gun with ease. but my 12 year old cousin could not load the gun. so if you intend for small chrildrin to use this gun you might want to look into somthing else. Also some pellets like the gamoe tomahawks shoot exstreamly inconsistant. so make shure to find the best pellets for the gun the two best pellets i have fond are the cabelas ultra magnem pellets and the gamo rockets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hawk Eye from USA on 2011-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Love how solid it feels, VERY VERY powerful...Has a nice good quality wood, love the scope..One of the best Air guns...

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING!! This gun is amazing...

    What others should know: Thanks to Pyramydair.com for the great quality air gun and quick shipment & also Thank You for the well organized shipment box, everything was well covered to prevent it from damages during the shipment.. Thanks Again for the GREAT SERVICE! Will shop more for all my airguns needs..

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Memo from USA on 2011-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The finish is awesome. Not too heavy either. Scope is a good match for this rifle. Still in the breaking in stage, so far about 400 rounds through it, but it still stacks pellets on the bench rest. Can't wait for it to break in completely.

    Things I would have changed: trigger could be lighter but not anything a GRT3 won't fix. A place for mounting a sling would be nice.

    What others should know: Out of the box I did lok-tite all the hardware, even the muzzle brake bolts. I also did experience some dieseling for the first 20 shots. It did not like lighter pellets at first (7.9gr) or lower. works better with heavier rounds (8gr and up). So far it has taken 2 squirrels and three rabbits one shot kills using crow magnums from 20 to 30 yards. Very satisfied with this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2010-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: i have had my summit for 3 years and have not had 1 problem. this is a great gun to shoot anything from cans to fisher cats(ive taken 3 with my summit at 20 to 45yrds).i still use the scope it came with and like how its easily adjustable for windage and elevation.

    Things I would have changed: i wouldve liked a lighter gun

    What others should know: gamo pellets seem to work the best and for hunting you should use hallowpoints

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronnie from USA on 2010-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Finish on the stock, Finish on the bluing job, Scope an one piece mount. And the lady named Ariel at Pyramyd that helped me with getting my order all worked out. Shes a doll...

    Things I would have changed: Add a cap on the butt plate (bottom of the pistol grip part of the stock) for decoration.

    What others should know: I cleaned the barrel right out of the box first an ckd all screws for tightness. This gun only took 4 shots to get the scope dialed in at 15 yards. This gun shoots better than any other pellet gun I have owned an continues to do so. I mainly shoot crosman round nose in it, but have shot some crosman hollow points with just as good of accuracy at the 15 yard mark. At 150 feet I can hold a half dollar size pattern with this gun. I am 60 years old an not as steady as I once was. Some people claim I can thread the needle on a running sewing machine....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By analoghaze from USA on 2009-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Super accurate. It will hit the target. Great for squirrl. Fun to shoot. Mine has a solid scope mount. I have put 1,000 rounds through this gun and it is more than I hoped for. I target shoot and hunt squirrl with it and it really packs a punch. Drops squirrl dead at a great range. Daisy flat pellets fit loose, but Gamos are perfect. Use good pellets with this gun and it is dead accurate. Louder than you would expect for an air gun. Solid comstruction and beatuiful looking.

    Things I would have changed: nothing. I am quite satisified with it.

    What others should know: Great gun for the money. All around good shooter. Accurate and deadly for small game. Nice finish. Solid construction

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Alfred from USA on 2009-04-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Rifle looks good, feels good, even smells good. Reasonably accurate and very powerful. I've killed a few rabbits and dozens of squirrels out to 40 yards with it. Really like the scope, works great with the rifle. I really like the mil-dot reticle and the open knob adjustment, they really come in handy when hunting. Like the adjustable objective. For the price its a straight steel.

    Things I would have changed: I think it should be available with a black synthetic stock, otherwise its perfect.

    What others should know: If you buy it you can't loose. Its well worth the money. Don't shoot light pellets, especially Gamo's PBA pellets, they fly all over the place. 8 grains or better is what I use. It might have a few loose screws when you pull it out the box, so be sure and tighten them down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2009-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice looking gun with good bluing and nicely finished stock. Mine came with a Center Point 3x9x40 adjustable objective airgun scope, and it is accurate. I purchased this gun from Pyramid in December 2008. Velocity is advertised at 1000fps with PBA non-lead ammo. I use the heavier RWS 9.3 grain supermag wadcutters and H&N Match 8.09 grain wadcutters, attaining velocities of around 900fps; quite respectable for heavy pellets.

    Things I would have changed: At first, cocking was a little rough, and the recoil fore and aft was heavy, associated with a little 'twang' as the spring unloaded. The heavy two-stage trigger and the heavy recoil prevented me from achieving any real accuracy before the trigger job and tune-up.

    What others should know: I installed the GRT III after-market trigger produced by Bob Werner, aka. 'CharlieDaTuna', and I had the gun tuned by Gene Curtis of Airgun Toys in South Carolina. Both actions turned this little Remington into a real shooter! At forty feet the gun will produce 10 shot groups consistantly at 3/8" diameter or less. Whether you buy this gun, a Gamo, or an RWS, they all require a little tweaking and tuning before they become real 'shooters'. Rifles advertised at 1000 fps need ammo in the 7.5 to 9.5 grain weight category. Ammo weights lighter than 7.0 or heavier than 10.0 can damage pistons and seals. The Remington Summit is a good shooter for both targets and small game, and it looks like some of its Big-Brother Remingtons. This gun is a lot fun! Jim

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mikey from USA on 2009-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First the gun looks really nice and has some awesome power. the gun is comfortable to hold and is a good length for a tall guy like me. and once sighted and you get used to the gun it is very accurate

    Things I would have changed: I wouldnt change anything the looks of it are great and it performs very well so far i have no problems with it

    What others should know: The first couple shots are very loud and after 3 or 4 shots it will settle down

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2008-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: PART 2 OF 2 WOW!!! This is a very impressive gun. I have the Beeman C1 .22 and a Beeman R9 Double Gold .20. This remington .177 is a really good addition to my collection. I know have put 800 rounds through it, and what a power house this gun has become. It started to gain more power after 550 rounds. At first there was a lot of dieseling, but that dissipated after about 375 rounds. The gun feels balanced and I really like the bright scope. The scope was easy to set up after a small set back.(see Part 1 of 2) This is a solid gun. GREAT JOB TO PYRAMYD AIR FOR THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE, AND PACKAGING OF MY SHIPMENT.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing yet...... I will report if I find anything.

    What others should know: I'm using the .177 Gamo Pro Magnums pointed, for the break in of the rifle. The price is right and most important... the fit is perfect.....Good job Gamo on these. You get 750 pellets so you can tell where you are on the break in period.(I save the tins) DO NOT USE the Gamo Tomahawk pointed. I have two tin of 750 left, because they don't fit! Really bad consistency with these pellets. I also really like the RWS pellets Superpoint Extra and super H-point. They are very, very consistent in this gun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2008-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Part 1 of 2. It just arrived, (so I can't give a high OVERALL RATING yet) and we put one hundred and thirty rounds through it so far. Good looks, really good feel and very well balanced. Cocking is very smooth and positive. I will wait for 1,500-2000 rounds before saying any thing else. The scope stop screw was a different size than the hole in the gun, so I couldn't really tighten the stop screw into the gun. The first 5-7 shots were wicked loud, but it settled down.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing yet..........

    What others should know: Once we started to dial the scope in we were hitting 1/2 diameter groups at 10 yards. We need to still dial it in tighter, for more distance. TO BE CONTINUED.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Corpy from USA on 2008-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: One Word, WOW! Ive had this for a few days now and i cant put the thing down. Very fun to shoot, clean and refined action, Great finish, quality scope

    Things I would have changed: Doesnt seem VERY durable, but durable none the less, Stock is a bad wood for using an airgun (Its Pine i think). Trigger guard is a little loose. Very long breakin period (but well worth it)

    What others should know: After the 700+ shot breaking period youll be amazed at how accurate this thing is at close range. I shot the chain off the bird house in my back yard. Long range is another story. Can pierce 2 sheets of half inch plyboard. Favors Gamo, Rockets, Raptors, and Magnums (anything between 5 and 8 grains) Great for pest control and plinking alike.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stuart from USA on 2008-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Brilliant !! Love it!!!! Fit and Finish first class at a very reasonable price. Scope is great, just compliments the Rifle appearance and Shootability!! Power is really outstanding, need a sturdy backboard for target use up to approx 50yds. blows thru 1/2" thick plywood

    Things I would have changed: NADA!!

    What others should know: Snug up the two set screws on thr muzzle brake. Seems to like Cro magnum pellets the best, great groups at all ranges and good kill factor, unless you're a squirel!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By yareelohim from USA on 2008-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is gorgeous!!! I absolutely love the looks of this gun and the feel is great! If you want a gun that fits well, feels great and looks amazing, then the Remington Summit will do just that. The AO scope is really nice and adds to the appearance. The break barrel is really easy to cock. This is a smooth gun.

    Things I would have changed: The accuracy, it could be more accurate for sure!

    What others should know: When I first started shooting the Summit the thing was way off. From 50ft, I would get about 1/4" ctc groups of 3 then I the 4th shot would be way off, about 4" every time. I read that you need to put about 1000 - 1500 shots through the barrel before it's really accurate then clean it. I am up to 1000 shots now and it is getting so much more accurate. I am starting to kill squirrels about 35yards out with head shots. I only take head shots that way I don't hit a leg and injure it but kill it on a impact. I am hoping this gun gets more accurate as more pellets go through it, so far it has. I will update this when I hit 2000 pellets the through the barrel. Oh yeah, I also found the scope to have a great deal of parallax. To be more accurate I mounted the scope close to the tip of the barrel. I find my target in the scope with a full range of view then I back my head away till the range of view in the scope closes to the 2nd mill dots. I found this to take away all parallax and greatlyi mprove accuracy .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2008-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and finish is superb. I have to admit, I was surprised for the money it cost.

    Things I would have changed: For the money____________nothing.

    What others should know: I own Theobens, AirArms and Hw's, and this gun impressed me. Easy cocking, accurate, typical Remington smooth high gloss finish. If you want to add a gun to your collection, you can't beat this gun. And, I might mention, if you ever have a probelem (I had a scope problem), the good folks at Pyramid will fix it fast. They are great to work with and really care about thier customers satisfaction.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By rabbitsfearme from USA on 2008-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It feels like a regular firearm and makes it great practice for my big rifles. The scope was easy to mount, not so easy to sight in. Great power, it drops possums at 25 yards. Accuracy is good once the scope is in, I get stray pellets from a "cold" shoot, but once you put 2 or three through it, it gets back on.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is kind of sloppy through the first stage and then not as bad through the second stage. Pretty hefty pull for an airgun, I thought.

    What others should know: Pretty darn good gun for under $200. It's my first upper end air rifle so I'm pleased with it. Now I'm hooked and hankering to try out others.

  • 12 Next
Navigation