Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Remington Summit Combo Air Rifle reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By James from USA on 2009-04-26 21:27:01

    Things I liked:Nice looking gun with good bluing and nicely finished stock. Mine came with a Center Point 3x9x40 adjustable objective airgun scope, and it is accurate. I purchased this gun from Pyramid in December 2008. Velocity is advertised at 1000fps with PBA non-lead ammo. I use the heavier RWS 9.3 grain supermag wadcutters and H&N Match 8.09 grain wadcutters, attaining velocities of around 900fps; quite respectable for heavy pellets.
    Things I would have changed:At first, cocking was a little rough, and the recoil fore and aft was heavy, associated with a little 'twang' as the spring unloaded. The heavy two-stage trigger and the heavy recoil prevented me from achieving any real accuracy before the trigger job and tune-up.
    What others should know:I installed the GRT III after-market trigger produced by Bob Werner, aka. 'CharlieDaTuna', and I had the gun tuned by Gene Curtis of Airgun Toys in South Carolina. Both actions turned this little Remington into a real shooter! At forty feet the gun will produce 10 shot groups consistantly at 3/8" diameter or less. Whether you buy this gun, a Gamo, or an RWS, they all require a little tweaking and tuning before they become real 'shooters'. Rifles advertised at 1000 fps need ammo in the 7.5 to 9.5 grain weight category. Ammo weights lighter than 7.0 or heavier than 10.0 can damage pistons and seals. The Remington Summit is a good shooter for both targets and small game, and it looks like some of its Big-Brother Remingtons. This gun is a lot fun! Jim
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By charles from USA on 2007-09-21 19:05:04

    Things I liked:the gun has a great finish i like the trigger scope and mounts are very goog
    Things I would have changed:i dont know if the spring is made in china or not i think it is because the gun is that said i bought mine a while back almost a year ago and first thing out the box it shot great open sight i was nailing everything i aimed at put the scope on and it was great but then accurary started to go like one day i took the gun to my shooting range and could not hit anything this was on my 2nd can of pellets at this point i must say that i owned a gamo shadow and it was not accurate at all out of the box i shot 1000 pellets through it gave it to my soninlaws brother a while past and the came out to shoot targets his bother had the gamo i said to him can you hit anything with it and his reply was ohyea we all started shooting and to my amazement he was knocking over targets first pull of the trigger i asked if i could try and when i did shoot it i hit the kill zone and droped the target this said i was not giving up on this gun so i shot the gun and let other,s shoot it and nobody could get it to shoot accurately i put 2000 pellets through it i dont know how much the 3 people i let have the gun put through it but one day i and my son in law and his brother went out back to shoot airguns they had just got their rm 600s i brought out the remington to shoot and while helping them with the new guns i was doing my best to sight in the summit and about 20 pellets into it i started droping the gamo steel targets i was happy i was thinking the gun was coming around but somewhere between 20pellets and the sun going down the spring broke so the gun got shiped to crosman and i have it back and i have been shooting it once in a while and have hit some targets but i have not put it to the test yet waiting for cooler weather here in fla if it turns out to be just as bad as before i will hang it on the wall as a dust collector because it is to late to get my money back
    What others should know:sweet looks don,t make a gun shoot
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By snakeman from USA on 2008-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy!!!! The gun at 20 yards will group under a dime size. The stock is gorgeous and the price isn't too hefty. The trigger at first is horrible but after adjusting the screw, I was able to have what I consider a target grade. The gun overall resembles a remington model 700 BDL which is like home to me. As of right now I own 10 airguns and my top two are this one and a BAM B30-1 .22 caliber. The centerpoint scope can't be beat.
      Things I would have changed:Put 3 set screws in the muzzle brake and apply the zero locking feature to the scope.
      What others should know:Try gamo rocket pellets. They seem to be the most accurate through this gun. Right behind them is the gamo tomahawk pellets. Good luck and happy shooting.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By harryyabbats from USA on 2008-01-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock is beautiful and gives the gun an overall look, weight and feel of a real firearm. The scope is impressive and the optics are very good. I can hit a foam coffee cup at 150' but I don't know if I could hit a chipmunk . I am keeping it, the folks at Pyramyd were great and had the best price.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger adjustment diagram in the book would lead the uninitiated into thinking the trigger guard screw is the trigger adjustment. It is not, the adjustment requires a precision screwdriver to turn a screw stud just in front of the rear trigger guard screw. The plastic cap on the rearend of the barrel was badly scuffed right out of the factory sealed box, making the gun from that vantage point look cheesey. There were also two tiny scratches in the bluing at the end of the barrel. I am not a big fan of the break barrel mechanism since wear will only degrade the accurracy. I wish the gun were made here not China; I know it can be done, look at H&R 1871, real guns for under $200.
      What others should know:Unlike a firearm, alot happens in an airgun between the time you pull the trigger and the pellet leaves the barrel. I found I was only accurate when the butt was planted on my shoulder as the minor recoil I believe through off my supported but not shoulder-braced shots. To adjust your scope, first shoot at a large peice of white paper with a black dot in the middle; It will be alot easier to see your hits and don't be suprised if the scope is way off.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By tazman from USA on 2008-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:nice gun. It looks good and shots well. From a rest can put each shot in the same hole. I say for the money the accuracy is fine.
      Things I would have changed:The safety don't like it in the trigger guard.
      What others should know:I think this gun has gotten a bad rap. Or I got a good one. The way you hold it makes a big difference on its accuracy. You have to hold it very lose.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By charles from USA on 2007-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the gun has a great finish i like the trigger scope and mounts are very goog
      Things I would have changed:i dont know if the spring is made in china or not i think it is because the gun is that said i bought mine a while back almost a year ago and first thing out the box it shot great open sight i was nailing everything i aimed at put the scope on and it was great but then accurary started to go like one day i took the gun to my shooting range and could not hit anything this was on my 2nd can of pellets at this point i must say that i owned a gamo shadow and it was not accurate at all out of the box i shot 1000 pellets through it gave it to my soninlaws brother a while past and the came out to shoot targets his bother had the gamo i said to him can you hit anything with it and his reply was ohyea we all started shooting and to my amazement he was knocking over targets first pull of the trigger i asked if i could try and when i did shoot it i hit the kill zone and droped the target this said i was not giving up on this gun so i shot the gun and let other,s shoot it and nobody could get it to shoot accurately i put 2000 pellets through it i dont know how much the 3 people i let have the gun put through it but one day i and my son in law and his brother went out back to shoot airguns they had just got their rm 600s i brought out the remington to shoot and while helping them with the new guns i was doing my best to sight in the summit and about 20 pellets into it i started droping the gamo steel targets i was happy i was thinking the gun was coming around but somewhere between 20pellets and the sun going down the spring broke so the gun got shiped to crosman and i have it back and i have been shooting it once in a while and have hit some targets but i have not put it to the test yet waiting for cooler weather here in fla if it turns out to be just as bad as before i will hang it on the wall as a dust collector because it is to late to get my money back
      What others should know:sweet looks don,t make a gun shoot
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Henry from USA on 2007-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The look and feel is like a deer rifle. A very nice looking rifle. My son shots a lot better then I do. about a 2 inch spread at 100 ft. I think it is accurate, but I think it takes a little getting used to.
      Things I would have changed:You advertise manufactured in USA, but the rifle says made in China, very tricky, False advertisement? The wording - MADE, Manufactured? Maybe they can explain?
      What others should know:If you can get a bi-pod for this rifle it would help in accuracy. I dont know of one that will fit it?
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By spdracer from USA on 2007-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Adjustable trigger, stock finish
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy very poor
      What others should know:Tried 8 different styles and weights of pellets, two different scopes and iron sights and gun still will not shoot consistant groups from the bench rest. Some groupings over 6 inches across.
    • « Previous 12
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top