Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Ruger Air Hawk Combo reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By paul from USA on 2012-06-08 20:59:25

    Things I liked:I like a lot of things about this rifle. When it came I thought, that's a lot of rifle for the money! It has a nice weight to it, maybe more than you'd want to carry all day in the field, but to me the heft is an advantage. It feels very solid and I think the mass helps accuracy. The trigger is fine. This rifle is manufactured under license in China, but it seems very well made! and I have had zero problems with it. No leaking seals, no loose screws, zero problems. I like the wood stock a lot. Cocking effort is manageable. I have no complaints! It is also deadly accurate. I'm picking off crows at 50-80 feet using Beeman Crow Magnums. I haven't even mounted the scope, just using the nice open sights. I do miss some shots, but I believe when I miss, my marksmanship is probably more to blame than the rifle. It's a great way to train yourself to be a more accurate shooter. Kill power with the crow magnums is excellent. If you hit them in the wing or tail you may just get a squawk and knock off a couple feathers, but anywhere else and they crash & burn. You do not need .22 for these critters. The muzzle velocity with the .177 pellets is impressive. This is a real weapon. I've had the rifle for over a year, and have fired 500 rounds through it. Highly recommended!
    Things I would have changed:Don't want to sound like some company shill, but I honestly cannot think of what I would change. Great rifle for the money.
    0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Blue from USA on 2010-01-08 00:47:06

    Things I liked:DO NOT BUY THIS AIR RIFLE...COMPLETE CHINESE CRAP. I DON'T EVER SPEND TIME REVIEWING ANYTHING, BUT THIS IS WORTH THE WARNING. ALL THE SCREWS CAME LOOSE, ON BARREL, AND ON SCOPE AND ON STOCK. AFTER, LOCTITE BLUE ON ALL, STILL ALL CAME LOOSE BECAUSE OF HEAVY RECOIL. CANNOT ZERO SCOPE FOR LONG. TRIGGER IS NOT REALLY ADJUSTABLE, IF YOU TURN TOO FAR, TRIGGER CEASES TO FUNCTION, FEELS LIKE A BROKEN CAP GUN TRIGGER. TONS OF CREEP IN TRIGGER ONCE THE SLACK IT TAKEN IN, THROWS OFF ACCURACY. Let's not forget the significant barrel droop. Also, you will have to refinish the wood, comes with a very dull, dry finish, needs tung oil or wax. Very heavy gun.
    Things I would have changed:MAKE A BETTER GUN
    What others should know:SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY AN R-9 USED. RUGER FAILED. The gun looked great when I bought it, functioned well for a time and then completely fell apart on me.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Willie from USA on 2012-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought a refurb and I could not tell it was used previously. The price was crazy low and, well its a Ruger (even though it was made in China) Im fairly certain it was refurbed in the US. Kudo's to Pyramyd Air for finding these and making them available at the price they asked. It's fast becoming my favorite air rifle. Accuracy is dead on.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:If you are a serious air gunner, don't underestimate the value in this rifle. It is versatile in that it will accept any dovetail attachment and it's capable of 100 yard accuracy with nothing other than a good scope and some heavy pellets. Bypass the lightweight pellets for this rifle. It really likes the heavy weight pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mitchell from USA on 2012-11-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice rifle. Good bluing. Good weight. Fiber optic sights good quality. Accurate. Shot a nickle size group at 13 yards with Crosman destroyer pellets on my second target, little over a quarter size at 15 yards. It has a really good hunting quality trigger, breaks clean.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:The rifle isn't broken it yet, but should be a good hunting rifle for cottontail rabbits.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2012-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun was packed well and both the wood and steel finishes were very nice. Just received the gun a few days ago and just got it sighted in with the scope mounted. At 30 yards I was hitting a 5 shot group of around 1.5". Seems to pack a pretty good punch as well and I assume it will only get better as it gets broken in a bit more. Pyramyd Air had it delivered to my door within just a couple days and the price was great!
      Things I would have changed:Hard to say right now what I would change since the gun is new to me, but one thing that did stand out to me is that the scope that came with my Winchester 1028ws is a much nicer scope then what came with my new Ruger and both the Ruger and the Winchester are close in price so its not really like comparing apples to oranges. My Winchester also has the finer checkered detailing on the stalk which gives it a bit nicer cosmetic look, but I still think the Ruger was a great buy at this price point and it appears to be made really well. Other then maybe a bit better scope that is on par with my other rifle in this price range...not really anything else I would change that I can think of. Hoping to get many years of enjoyment out of this rifle.
      What others should know:Lotta fun for little money! Go put one in your Pyramyd Air shopping cart right now!I think you will be glad you did.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Aldeberon from USA on 2012-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent well balanced rifle. I personally bought this rifle through a local merchant and paid over $140 for it and it is worth any penny. Ruger rifles of this quality can go for as much as $200 range and up. This none CO2 based Ruger can hunt small game at good distance and being break barrel you do not have to be dependant on any extra power source. So if your a deep or distant hunter. This rifle can keep you well fed on rabits and the like.
      Things I would have changed:Rifle is excellent all around, but based on its weight. It should come with some type of basic rifle sling and mounts for younger, older and those who are not used to carrying a stock, and Ruger quality rifled barrel. I pesonally love the weight, helps steading the target sights and balancing out the trigger pull.Which is right on for serious target and small game one shot kills.
      What others should know:This is not a toy so treat it as any full fire arm. Do not break the barrel if a pellet is loaded at any time. If you even think there has been a miss fire check barrel. This goes without saying that you should allways check the barrel after every shot to make sure its clear for the next breaking. Happy hunting...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By corwyn from USA on 2012-10-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a wonderful air rifle. It shoots very smooth and is very accurate. Best is shoot with 10.0 grain and 4.0 grain pellets. For the money you will be very satisfied with this air gun. It is approved on my opinion.
      Things I would have changed:scope
      What others should know:one of the best air rifles for the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By yodacat from USA on 2012-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:its a amasing gun i love its power, feal and accuracy ive killed ten squierils and 26 woodpeckers very nice gun
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:get a can of rem oil to keep the metal from rusting have to shoot a few pellets out to sight in
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Clayton from USA on 2012-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I could not believe the power that this air gun had. I would give this air gun 5 stars. I’m sure that you could find more expensive air guns, but for the price, this air gun is excellent.
      Things I would have changed:I don't know if I would change anything.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2012-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I loved the stock when it came out of the box. It wasn't super glossy like the other guns. It could be a little lighter though, but that's my preference.
      Things I would have changed:The scope. After approximately 50 shots, the lens in the front scope literately "Fell out".
      What others should know:Be prepared to have another scope on the side if you get this rifle. Other than the scope, this is an except rifle for the money. I highly recommend it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By paul from USA on 2012-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like a lot of things about this rifle. When it came I thought, that's a lot of rifle for the money! It has a nice weight to it, maybe more than you'd want to carry all day in the field, but to me the heft is an advantage. It feels very solid and I think the mass helps accuracy. The trigger is fine. This rifle is manufactured under license in China, but it seems very well made! and I have had zero problems with it. No leaking seals, no loose screws, zero problems. I like the wood stock a lot. Cocking effort is manageable. I have no complaints! It is also deadly accurate. I'm picking off crows at 50-80 feet using Beeman Crow Magnums. I haven't even mounted the scope, just using the nice open sights. I do miss some shots, but I believe when I miss, my marksmanship is probably more to blame than the rifle. It's a great way to train yourself to be a more accurate shooter. Kill power with the crow magnums is excellent. If you hit them in the wing or tail you may just get a squawk and knock off a couple feathers, but anywhere else and they crash & burn. You do not need .22 for these critters. The muzzle velocity with the .177 pellets is impressive. This is a real weapon. I've had the rifle for over a year, and have fired 500 rounds through it. Highly recommended!
      Things I would have changed:Don't want to sound like some company shill, but I honestly cannot think of what I would change. Great rifle for the money.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2012-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall weight of the gun. While it is likely a bit too heavy for younger shooters, I found it to be the perfect weight for my taste. It is solidly built and has the heft of a quality gun. I like how easily one can adjust the rear sight and that, once it is properly sighted in, it is deadly accurate. The sights are fiber optic and light very well, making the iron sights extremely accurate and often better than the included scope. I purchased this gun at a local store which usually charges about twice what PyramydAir does but was having a sale and it was the same, so I bought it and saved on shipping (both cost and time). Unless you can find a similar deal locally, buy this here, and buy it now. It is worth the money. This gun is incredibly fun to shoot, but is more than a simple plinking gun. It has the accuracy to be a reliable hunting gun as well, meaning that this is well suited for a full range of intended activities. Also, this gun has a hefty recoil, ,so the scope stop on it is very much appreciated. However, it seems that the Air Hawk Elite with the thumbhole stock doesn't have the scope stop, so that is something to consider if deciding between the two.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is plastic, which makes it feel slightly cheap. The rest of the gun is metal and the stock is solid wood, but that plastic trigger assembly is annoying. It is a pretty smooth trigger and the fact that it is adjustable is great, but as it is one of the main things with which one interacts on the gun, it makes it feel a little cheaper than it actually is. Sort of like if you had a computer with ridiculously high-powered internals, but the screen was low-resolution and the peripherals were outdated. Even though you have a very solid, reliable, and overall high-quality built-to-last gun, the fact that with each shot you are feeling that plastic trigger sort of lessens the experience. Also, of course, the included scope could be better. But, since the better the scope the higher the cost, I am fine with the one as it is. I found it to be reasonably accurate, and for the money it is about right. It is essentially free since the gun alone is worth what you are paying for the combo. But to really explore the fullest of this gun's capabilities, one really must get a better scope. The difference is dramatic.
      What others should know:The recoil on this gun is powerful, and while the screws come with factory-applied Loctite, you have to apply your own blue Loctite or the screws will work their way out, which apart from ruining your accuracy is generally annoying. And if one of the screws were to fall out altogether while you were outside and could not be retrieved, then you'd have to go out and replace it. Also related to the recoil, one ought to invest in a better scope mount--one of the lockdown 1-piece variety--as the included rings are pretty sub-par for this gun's power. I would almost suggest getting the non-combo version and buying your own scope and mount, as you will be anyways, but since the included scope is pretty serviceable for any amateur or casual shooter, the combo is still the best deal for the money. This gun is a bit loud for back yards, though if you explain to the neighbors beforehand, they may be okay with it. Often it is the shock of hearing it and not knowing what it is that turns them off to it. But tell them beforehand, explain that it is an airgun and you are exercising proper precautions, and it shouldn't be an issue. If you are young or a newbie and are only planning on plinking and target shooting, then this gun might be a bit much for you. I would suggest the Crosman 1077. For the price of this combo, you can get the 1077 and 80 CO2 powerlets and have a gun that is much better suited to your needs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By GBBlastem from USA on 2012-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great gun. I have had it for 2 years and it still works.
      Things I would have changed:A little less weight,but its still awesome.
      What others should know:Get this gun at all costs!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By hunter from USA on 2012-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:this gun is a great deal. it shoots hard, decently accurate, and is durable. i first got this gun about two monthes ago, and i love it. first of all the power is great, iv knocked down squirrels from 30 yards through the chest and went completley through (entrence and exit wounds)it shatters beer bottles at 30 yards. the next thing is the accuracy, at first i didnt think it was that accurate because i was shooting gamo magnum pellets, but then i changed to crosman premiere hp's and wow what a differenc it made, i went from getting 3 inch groups at 30 yards to about 1 and a half inch groups at 30 yards just by changing the pellet. the last is its adjustable trigger, this trigger is great! not like those crappy crosman or gamo triggers. you can adjust it to how long of a draw that you like. Great rifle for the money, i would definintly recomend it, dont think you could get as good of a rifle for the price
      Things I would have changed:the scope and its rings suck, if you plan on getting this gun also plan on buying new rings and a new scope, a leapers 3-9x40 is great on this rifle
      What others should know:dont expect great accuracy until you have brokin it in (100-300 shots) and always use the artillary hold, if you dont your accuracy will go out the window and will be all over the place
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2011-11-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Well made with a nice stock.
      Things I would have changed:Scope and trigger. This particular scope is not all that great. Trigger is not much for adjustable but this is not out of the norm for this price of gun.
      What others should know:Gun is solid and well made. The accuracy seems above average.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Brain from USA on 2011-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:fairly nice wood
      What others should know:Functional, accurate, reasonably priced
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Justin from USA on 2011-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It was powerful while it lasted
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really just a weaver mount instead of dovetail because dovetail is finnaky
      What others should know:The barrel of mine locked up After about 400 shots so I had to return it idk if I got a Leamon but I don't think this is a normal problem
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING WITH THE RIGHT PELLET
      Things I would have changed:goose egg
      What others should know:Ive never had any luck grouping with pointed pellets and yes Ive tried RWS and H&N mostly in .22 but I tried everything with the Air Hawk, RWS, H&N, CPHP, crosman ultra magnum, Beeman hollowpoints, beeman wadcutters, RWS lead Ball,hobbies and even the field pellets then Daisy pointed ,daisy wadcutters, and many more to include JSB exact which got the best groups at 1" I wanted to get rid of the gun but shes a beauty Finally I ordered some Beeman pointed .177 for a pistol that liked them and decided to try a few with no intention of adjusting my sights from the JSB s It was stacking 10 round groups at 22 yrds but to the left so hey, I readjusted my rear sights to center em and WOW It can pick off a pop can tab at 50 feet open sights 9 outta 10 times with a pellet thats under $5.00 for 500.Were talkin Daisy prices here. By the way the Daisy bbs will change your mind on BB accuracy.Long review I know but I like to save someone some grief. This took months to figure out.Ive seen a few people that were having the same problem with the Air hawk I think its the power and recoil but this 8 plus gr Tamed the beast down and she is POWERFUL.B.B.Pelletier AKA TOM GAYLORD said and I quote from his review"I had to keeep reminding myself this was a chinese gun" Being a RWS DIANA CLONE,The wood finish and bluing is impecable on this gun..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2011-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, quality, accuracy,and gets consistant 925 fps on the chrony with H&H FT .177 8.64 gr with clover leafs on the target at 25 yrds .Can hit a pebble at 25 yrds and, yes I do it.
      Things I would have changed:N O T H I N G
      What others should know:People have reported this gun shoots all over the place and it does with cheap pellets the above statement was with the H$N pellets. I too had problems with other pellets.Since I have other guns for plinking I dont mind the higher price pellets.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Roddy from USA on 2011-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks cool,durable,and shoots well.
      Things I would have changed:Put on a different scope or no scope at all.
      What others should know:If you buy this gun,plan on buying a new scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great air rifle for the cost. Accurate. Easy to use.
      Things I would have changed:Not much
      What others should know:Go to any auto parts store and purchase a tube of Lock Tite blue. It will keep your fasteners from loosening from vibration of shooting. Screws can be removed with a screw driver. Lock Tite will be sheared upon removal of screws.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ok I broke out the chrony heres the results. 1343 fps first shot sounded like a 22 for about 6 shots still in the 1200 1300 range after about 30 + shots settled down to 930 FPS range and stayed there this was with beeman HP 7.2 gr shoots straight but high even after rear site was bottomed out with these pellets. May have to consider a different brand for this gun
      What others should know:Above was at 25 yrds may be dead on at longer ranges havent tried yet
    • « Previous 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top