Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Ruger Air Hawk Combo reviews - page 4

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By paul from USA on 2012-06-08 20:59:25

    Things I liked:I like a lot of things about this rifle. When it came I thought, that's a lot of rifle for the money! It has a nice weight to it, maybe more than you'd want to carry all day in the field, but to me the heft is an advantage. It feels very solid and I think the mass helps accuracy. The trigger is fine. This rifle is manufactured under license in China, but it seems very well made! and I have had zero problems with it. No leaking seals, no loose screws, zero problems. I like the wood stock a lot. Cocking effort is manageable. I have no complaints! It is also deadly accurate. I'm picking off crows at 50-80 feet using Beeman Crow Magnums. I haven't even mounted the scope, just using the nice open sights. I do miss some shots, but I believe when I miss, my marksmanship is probably more to blame than the rifle. It's a great way to train yourself to be a more accurate shooter. Kill power with the crow magnums is excellent. If you hit them in the wing or tail you may just get a squawk and knock off a couple feathers, but anywhere else and they crash & burn. You do not need .22 for these critters. The muzzle velocity with the .177 pellets is impressive. This is a real weapon. I've had the rifle for over a year, and have fired 500 rounds through it. Highly recommended!
    Things I would have changed:Don't want to sound like some company shill, but I honestly cannot think of what I would change. Great rifle for the money.
    0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Blue from USA on 2010-01-08 00:47:06

    Things I liked:DO NOT BUY THIS AIR RIFLE...COMPLETE CHINESE CRAP. I DON'T EVER SPEND TIME REVIEWING ANYTHING, BUT THIS IS WORTH THE WARNING. ALL THE SCREWS CAME LOOSE, ON BARREL, AND ON SCOPE AND ON STOCK. AFTER, LOCTITE BLUE ON ALL, STILL ALL CAME LOOSE BECAUSE OF HEAVY RECOIL. CANNOT ZERO SCOPE FOR LONG. TRIGGER IS NOT REALLY ADJUSTABLE, IF YOU TURN TOO FAR, TRIGGER CEASES TO FUNCTION, FEELS LIKE A BROKEN CAP GUN TRIGGER. TONS OF CREEP IN TRIGGER ONCE THE SLACK IT TAKEN IN, THROWS OFF ACCURACY. Let's not forget the significant barrel droop. Also, you will have to refinish the wood, comes with a very dull, dry finish, needs tung oil or wax. Very heavy gun.
    Things I would have changed:MAKE A BETTER GUN
    What others should know:SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY AN R-9 USED. RUGER FAILED. The gun looked great when I bought it, functioned well for a time and then completely fell apart on me.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Keith from USA on 2010-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price and Build Quality
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Great starter gun accurate once broken in, very basic but workable scope, lots of fun... The gun seems to like the RWS Meisterkugeln pellets alot...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's a great gun for dealing with muskrat and ground hog which will wreck your property if not gotten rid of. It's a heavy gun so if you are tracking game for any distance, you might want a Gamo gun buddy sling on it. I Like the Gamo raptor pellets with this gun because they are not made of lead and they hit harder at a longer range. The gun is very accurate and the fiber optic sights are a real good thing when lining up the shot at closer range. The scope is nice if you are ambushing an alert ground hog.
      Things I would have changed:Actually, I wouldn't change anything. It's a well thought out gun that is quite accurate for the uses I have for it.
      What others should know:It's a heavy gun and a bit rough to carry on a long tracking expedition. But when you need it, you'll be glad it's there. Better to have a gun and not need it than to need it and not have it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joshua from USA on 2010-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is probaly the second best gun ive ever had the first is the gamo hunter sport. This gun cronographed an average of 1189 fps with pba gold pellets and 996 fps with lead pelllets. Its all wood great gun.
      Things I would have changed:The price is kinda high.
      What others should know:This gun is a deal buy it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Coyote from USA on 2010-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great air rifle. 177cal it is fast. Acqurate. good plinker. very Happy with it.
      Things I would have changed:scope mounts. & scope
      What others should know:Just have fun & be safe
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Toby G from USA on 2010-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lots of punch. Accurate once you find the pellet it likes. I have always shot center fire and rim fire and didn't realize what you had to go through to tune in on what a springer wanted. Once I learned hoe to hold it and what pellet is liked, is pretty darn good rifle. Haven't got it to one holers but can put 10 shots in the 10 ring at 10m on a good day. Not bad for the money! I have pistols and rifles that cost over 1$ a shot and I enjoy shooting the Ruger along with my Crosman 2300KT just as much and I don't have to drive to the range and deal with all the idiots!
      Things I would have changed:Would be nice to have ahigher priced version with a really good trigger
      What others should know:The scope and mounts aren't worth messing with. Spend the money and by a good scope and a quality scope. I spent as much on the scope and mounts as I did on the rifle. Made all the difference in the world. I removed the plastic open sights. Really a good rifle for the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun has a solid feel and the iron sites are very easy to use. I found the accuracy was good once we changed to a higher grade of pellet. We changed the trigger tension and followed several of the suggestions in the other detailed reviews. Thanks guys for the guidance.
      Things I would have changed:The scope could have been a little better, but my son has no complaints.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark A from USA on 2010-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This it my first purchase of a pellet rifle, my previous purchases have been pistols. The rifle was easy to use and with some practice I was hitting targets at 30 yards using the iron sights. Mounted and aligned the scope for 30 yards aging hitting targets at 30 yards. The quality of the rifle is outstanding.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This is a powerful air gun that will cause injuries to people and pets. The gun appears to have the power of a 22 caliber rifle, use with care.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Patrick from USA on 2010-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light trigger (good), Accurate, Plenty of Power with Lead Pellets
      Things I would have changed:11mm Scope rails - Not enough bite (not deep enough) for scope mounts, rear mount dislocated after first 25 rounds and I was very carefull mounting Blue locktite used at factory did not hold. (Ordered a one piece scope rail mount on-line, will try later) Factory blue locktite didn't hold, had to go over all hardware and re-tighten an locktite. Heavy, hard to hold steady.
      What others should know:Shot 150 rounds of crosman hunting lead pointed pellets witout any new problems.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By charles from USA on 2010-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is just a screamin' deal. More fun for your money than you're likely to find anywhere. All that said, learning to shoot it (fairly) well has been a learning curve, coming from a purely firearms background. Part of that is that is simply the spring-powered air rifle dance. See the "artillery hold" tutorial on this site. Part of it, for me, is learning open sights. Have always shot peep iron sights. I fashioned a hood for the front sight which may have helped. At the price, have been pretty bold with modifications, cont'd below.
      Things I would have changed:First off, reading that screws tend to come loose, I checked frequently. After the second tightening of the cocking pivot pin screws, I locktite-blued them. No further issue. The rear sight was, honestly, too low. To get on the target at 15' required almost completely unscrewing (raising) the elevation adjustment. Solution: a couple thin washers under the sight. Oh. Probably just me, but I have cranked in a lot of right windage. I read somewhere that taking the first stage out of the 2 stage trigger helped. Agreed. It's a simple Philips screw adjustment to shorten up the first stage. If you don't it seems you can pull for a long time, and be fairly uncertain as to when it will release. The scope was a bit of a challenge. I think that windage was adjusted full left when I got it. The adjustment increments are probably .5' or less, which at 25 yards means a lot of clicks. Haven't shot a lot with the scope. Doubt it would focus at 15', and would probably entail, again, maximum elevation adjustment to compensate for parallax.
      What others should know:Saw a review that cited very good accuracy, .25" at 25 yards. I'm not that good, but am encouraged that someone who knows what they're doing can get that sort of result. Gives me something to aim for... ;-)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Ruger Air Hawk is my first pellet rifle. I have shot many large caliber rifles for many years. I love to shoot. The rifle is just fine. All metal parts have nice dark blueing. The wood stock has a nice finish. Fixed sights are good. Have trouble with the scope rings. I am replacing them with a one piece ring set. The accuracy will get better with heavy pellets. Lighter pellets have fliers with the power of this weapon. I am 70 and my sight is not the greatest, but with this rifle I do fine. I don't think you could go wrong with the purchase of The Ruger Air Hawk
      Things I would have changed:One piece rings
      What others should know:Clean rifle before you shoot it. Thghten all screws. Lock-tite all scope screws. If you don't the scope will shoot loose. Leave the scope stop in place. I over tighten the base screws, and damaged them. Did not hurt the rifle groves. Got hold of the company, and they sent me a new set free. The scope is 1/4 inch adjustments. At 25 yards it takes 8 to 10 clicks to move it a inch
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By maurice from USA on 2010-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great gun !! fell in love with it .started putting small game on the table right away it has almost paid for itself in rabbits already!! showed it to a nieghbor who ordered one the next day he loves his too.
      Things I would have changed:not much anything that could be changed would add to the price which is one of the selling factors to this gun.this is a great gun for the price. all other guns that do what this one does cost much more.
      What others should know:yes the recoil of this gun and the impack on the scope. like someone else said to make sure all screws is tight and use lock-tight.i had some trouble sighting it in because screws would work loose! it shoots better with the higher grade pellets.used rws worked real good. crossman not as well. my neighbor tried to remove the scope stop, but after the scope jumped off the gun from recoil he replaced it when he replaced the scope lol. keep screws tight and enjoy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2010-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The wood and metal are excellent and don't know how they sell this package deal with a scope for so cheap. This is actually my 2nd Air Hawk because I sold my first one when I got into pre-charged pneumatics. Had a lot of regret and just bought another one to shoot in the basement over winter time.This one looks better than last and I am very happy with the stock and finsih.
      Things I would have changed:Just add a scope that had adjustable objective. I left the 4X32 Ruger scope in the box and got a nice Center Point 4X16X40 AO scope. Makes a huge difference in accuracy with a better scope and can keep dime sized groups easily at 15 yards. ( Max distance in basement) Will try longer ranges when weather gets warmer out.
      What others should know:This is one of the best bargains out there and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anybody.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By anthony from USA on 2010-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the power of this gun,the craftsmanship,and overall a verry good gun
      Things I would have changed:its a little heavy about 8-9 pounds(for an air rifle)
      What others should know:just be shure u experiment with oter pelets the one i use isthe crosman pointed premium grade lead pellets and on a calm day i shoot the little light bulb holders off the cord from about 65-75 feet(not with the scope provided)
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Blue from USA on 2010-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:DO NOT BUY THIS AIR RIFLE...COMPLETE CHINESE CRAP. I DON'T EVER SPEND TIME REVIEWING ANYTHING, BUT THIS IS WORTH THE WARNING. ALL THE SCREWS CAME LOOSE, ON BARREL, AND ON SCOPE AND ON STOCK. AFTER, LOCTITE BLUE ON ALL, STILL ALL CAME LOOSE BECAUSE OF HEAVY RECOIL. CANNOT ZERO SCOPE FOR LONG. TRIGGER IS NOT REALLY ADJUSTABLE, IF YOU TURN TOO FAR, TRIGGER CEASES TO FUNCTION, FEELS LIKE A BROKEN CAP GUN TRIGGER. TONS OF CREEP IN TRIGGER ONCE THE SLACK IT TAKEN IN, THROWS OFF ACCURACY. Let's not forget the significant barrel droop. Also, you will have to refinish the wood, comes with a very dull, dry finish, needs tung oil or wax. Very heavy gun.
      Things I would have changed:MAKE A BETTER GUN
      What others should know:SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY AN R-9 USED. RUGER FAILED. The gun looked great when I bought it, functioned well for a time and then completely fell apart on me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By drgold2000 from USA on 2010-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.04 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look and feel of my 30-06! Nice -- Impressed with the feel and look for sure!
      Things I would have changed:Scope is a little difficult to zero in. We found the open sights a little more accurate but not as cool looking!
      What others should know:1. Clean bore and all parts upon arrival 2. Tighten screws and apply Locktite is a good idea – scope, bolts & screws once setup 3. First few shots very loud and a lot of recoil, then less with break in at 100-500 shots 4. Powerful, hollow points flatten out into a big piece of lead while Sheridan .20 Cal (5 mm) in phonebook whole due to being pointed 5. Hard to get scope zeroed in but took about 80 clicks to move it 3 inches up, not 1 click for ¼ inch at 100 yds as stated in directions 6. Umarex USA imports this gun from China and the almost identical Diana RWS 34 from Germany with a lifetime warranty versus the one year on this one 7. Best pellet is the Crosman Premier Hollow points and they are cheap 8. Impressed for our first Springer and great price when we have had nothing but pump up Sheridans from the 1970s and 80s which are the most accurate air gun we have used.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2009-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is awesome. I use the iron sights and it was basicly dead on out of the box. Just a little adjustment to the elevation. I can't really give good detail on the scope cause i learned how to shoot using just iron sights a long time ago. The stock is perfect for me.
      Things I would have changed:The one thing i would change with this gun is to add some mounts for a strap but that is a minor complaint.
      What others should know:If your a veteran looking for a good gun that does not drain the wallet or if your a beginner just starting, this is the gun for you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING!!! this thing is awsome the scope is good .
      Things I would have changed:the but pad to be softer other than that its great
      What others should know:when i centerd this thing in and from 30 yards i hit a glf ball holde ting in the middle and im only 13 so any one could do it, great gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Matt from USA on 2009-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The craftsmanship of this this gun is quite amazing and I truly love it. The metal trigger and hardwood stock are great quality.
      Things I would have changed:It tends to shoot a tiny bit to the left and the accuracy of it is a little shy of what I call great.
      What others should know:Once you sight everything it's a great rifle. Just get it; for the price, you'll love it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By drgold2000 from USA on 2009-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful and looks like my 30.06 deer rifle
      Things I would have changed:Scope instructions are terrible to follow
      What others should know:1. Clean bore and all parts upon arrival and check screws for tightness 2. Tighten screws and apply Locktite is a good idea – scope, bolts & screws once setup 3. First few shots very loud and a lot of recoil, then less with break in at 100-500 shots 4. Powerful, hollow points flatten out into a big piece of lead while Sheridan .20 Cal (5 mm) in phonebook whole due to being pointed 5. Hard to get scope zeroed in but took about 80 turns (clicks) to move it 3 inches up 6. Impressed for our first Springer and great price when we have had nothing but pump up Sheridans from the 1970s and 80s 7. Umarex USA imports this gun from China and the almost identical Diana RWS 34 from Germany with a lifetime warranty versus the one year on this one 8. Best pellet is the Crosman Premier Hollowpoints and they are cheap
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By fdelapena from USA on 2009-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is accurate, I was able to shoot some action figures as targets with precision. Easy to cock, easy to load. Durable hardwood.
      Things I would have changed:Make this gun a little more quiet, add more padding to the butt stock.
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top