Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Ruger Air Hawk Combo reviews - page 5

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By paul from USA on 2012-06-08 20:59:25

    Things I liked:I like a lot of things about this rifle. When it came I thought, that's a lot of rifle for the money! It has a nice weight to it, maybe more than you'd want to carry all day in the field, but to me the heft is an advantage. It feels very solid and I think the mass helps accuracy. The trigger is fine. This rifle is manufactured under license in China, but it seems very well made! and I have had zero problems with it. No leaking seals, no loose screws, zero problems. I like the wood stock a lot. Cocking effort is manageable. I have no complaints! It is also deadly accurate. I'm picking off crows at 50-80 feet using Beeman Crow Magnums. I haven't even mounted the scope, just using the nice open sights. I do miss some shots, but I believe when I miss, my marksmanship is probably more to blame than the rifle. It's a great way to train yourself to be a more accurate shooter. Kill power with the crow magnums is excellent. If you hit them in the wing or tail you may just get a squawk and knock off a couple feathers, but anywhere else and they crash & burn. You do not need .22 for these critters. The muzzle velocity with the .177 pellets is impressive. This is a real weapon. I've had the rifle for over a year, and have fired 500 rounds through it. Highly recommended!
    Things I would have changed:Don't want to sound like some company shill, but I honestly cannot think of what I would change. Great rifle for the money.
    0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Blue from USA on 2010-01-08 00:47:06

    Things I liked:DO NOT BUY THIS AIR RIFLE...COMPLETE CHINESE CRAP. I DON'T EVER SPEND TIME REVIEWING ANYTHING, BUT THIS IS WORTH THE WARNING. ALL THE SCREWS CAME LOOSE, ON BARREL, AND ON SCOPE AND ON STOCK. AFTER, LOCTITE BLUE ON ALL, STILL ALL CAME LOOSE BECAUSE OF HEAVY RECOIL. CANNOT ZERO SCOPE FOR LONG. TRIGGER IS NOT REALLY ADJUSTABLE, IF YOU TURN TOO FAR, TRIGGER CEASES TO FUNCTION, FEELS LIKE A BROKEN CAP GUN TRIGGER. TONS OF CREEP IN TRIGGER ONCE THE SLACK IT TAKEN IN, THROWS OFF ACCURACY. Let's not forget the significant barrel droop. Also, you will have to refinish the wood, comes with a very dull, dry finish, needs tung oil or wax. Very heavy gun.
    Things I would have changed:MAKE A BETTER GUN
    What others should know:SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY AN R-9 USED. RUGER FAILED. The gun looked great when I bought it, functioned well for a time and then completely fell apart on me.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 456 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very nice sturdy looking gun,like the wood stock.
      Things I would have changed:I was very displeased with open sight adjustment,gun shoots to the left,adjust as far as possible and still shoots to the left,scope adjustment was very slow but have gun shooting very good.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the automatic safty is pretty cool and the power is good enough to take small game
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:it is good for the price you will love this gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill JR from USA on 2009-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent Rifle for the money, very accurate with open sites. Open Sites were right on during target practice. I didn't mount the scope yet, scope looks to be well made. Very powerful, use the Raptor gold pellets. I like the big open sites, wood stock is very nice. This is my first break barrel and I can't believe this air rifle is this powerful
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Be very careful this is not a toy. this gun seems to be almost as powerful as a 22 short. Raptor Gold pellet went thru a tin can and then 3/4 of the way into a 2x4 board. WOW!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2009-09-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A solid rifle with excellent bluing and a decent hardwood stock. Very powerful, consistent shooting and simple to operate. I got the scope sighted to 1/2" groups or less @ 25 yards after 5 shots.
      Things I would have changed:For the price, nothing. This rifle is really alot of fun to shoot.
      What others should know:IMO, the best .177 springer for the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Lisa from USA on 2009-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the scope is good and the rifle is a good value I like it.
      Things I would have changed:nothing.
      What others should know:takes some time to get the sights right on.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kendawg758 from USA on 2009-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great stock and smooth cocking took awhile to sight in but when i did itd dead on with pellets weights of 7.6 to 10.2 overall good gun bought mine for 75.00 including shipping refurbished and you can't tell the diffrence
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:pba ammo i can't tell where they go use ammo with some weight to them
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2009-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great feel when shooting it handles alot simular to my 30/30 great power kicks lick a .22, looks like a deer rifle from the side,
      Things I would have changed:not real happy with the so called fiber optic inserts, Mine look like faded Revel plastic model peices, I would like some info on how or where i can replace the sights on it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Green Bud from USA on 2009-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots straight
      Things I would have changed:scope is subpar. am using the iron sites.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Boomer_Mikey from USA on 2009-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome power and fierce recoil... great value for the money. The trigger out of the box was fine and after adjusting it for single stage use is surprisingly light and, very good. Accuracy can be very good if you exercise the discipline to use the artillery hold consistently.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is very cheap but has worked fine. The scope mounts that come with this package can't handle the recoil. Get a one piece mount for this rifle.
      What others should know:The Deluxe package is a better value as you'll probably replace the scope and the thumb-hole stock is much better. A 4X scope doesn't do justice for the power this Chinese made rifle produces. Put loctite on the for-end mounting screws; they come loose every 5-10 shots otherwise.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By frank from USA on 2009-06-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:price,accuracy,power..you cant go wrong with the ruger airhawk. @55yrds i can hit a 2.5" tin stuffed with cardbord 3 out of 5 times. and pop a hole on the back side. with crosman premier h/pionts!!!.
      Things I would have changed:rear sights not mabe very well, I would like to see a .22 cal verison @ 1000 f.p.s.
      What others should know:ive tried many of the expensive brands of pellets. but found that the crsoman premier h/points shoot with the best accuracy so far.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2009-05-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Trigger, LOP, cocking resistance, accuracy, stock, nice little 4X scope, I like having the Ruger brand on the rifle and the scope. This shoots as well as my Hammerli and shoots rings around my Winchester. It's a tremendous value.
      Things I would have changed:Fiber optic rod on rear sight flew out on the very first shot...I wish they were more substantial.
      What others should know:This is a real shooter! Dime sized groups at 30 yards within 30 shots. I love the trigger and the fit of the stock. It DOES NOT like pellets that are loose in the breech when you load..like the Gamo Pro Magnums...4 inch groups with fliers! I'm having good luck with Beeman Silver Bears and H&N Match wadcutters. Predator Polymags group real well to.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2009-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:very accurate even at long range. also has quite a kick for an air rifle, compareable to a .22 cal
      Things I would have changed:bit heavy to lug around all day on a hunt. I'd swap out the hardwood stock for a lightweight synthetic one
      What others should know:very powerful gun. works to feasome efficiency with pba ammo. a big plus when after groundhogs, but needs a shooter's stick or a bipod to be accurate due to weight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By dominic from USA on 2009-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks Awesome. Easy to load, not too much pressure required, safety is easy to turn off without changing hand position. Iron sights were perfectly adjusted out of the box - put a 5 pellet grouping in a 1 inch bullseye at 25yds straight out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:A sling would be nice.
      What others should know:You'll have to zero your scope, if you don't know how there a vid on youtube.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mitchell from USA on 2009-04-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great gun, highly accurate, and well made for your money. I loved the scope that's included. It's real simple to use if your a beginner, and it wont fail on you if your way out in the forest, I will just say to bring a lot of pellets cause u will want to keep shooting it non-stop.
      Things I would have changed:The rear fiber-optic sights seem a little flimsy and the safety doesn't click really, you just pull it back and hope is on safety, I'm not saying it defective, I just don't think it's the best safety for this powerful of a gun.
      What others should know:First couple of rounds will have a lot of recoil, it will kick real hard. But just keep shooting it and eventually the recoil will get better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2009-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Was a little surprise when I open the box. The wood stock was very nice and the bluing was excellent. I felt it was a little on the heavy side but this is what you get when you purchase an adult air rifle. Cocking the rifle was not a problem for me at all. The hi vise sights is a nice change from my old air rifle. The scope which is not the best you can buy, but is acceptable for this price range. I shoot open sights anyway so was not a big deal from me. I was surprise how loud it was doing my shoot section in my back yard. Its not as quit as I would like. It sounded like an 22cal rifle going off at first but it has gotten a little quieter after a few hundred round. I might invest in an Gamo Whisper down the road so my neighbors want get upset. All in all a very nice rifle. It is solid as a rock.
      Things I would have changed:A few people has said that the trigger is rough and heavy, put some rounds though it and it will lighten up.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By creekside from USA on 2009-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice solid feel, good overall quality for gun in this price range. Scope is bright and clear. Out of the box scope hit paper at 15 yards and dialed into 1 inch group within 25 shots. Adjustable trigger pull (very nice touch). Solid action--worthy of the Ruger name.
      Things I would have changed:larger caliber if available (22 would be perfect), swivels for strap would have been nice too.
      What others should know:good size gun.and has some weight (8lbs?) . Stock is full lenth (adult size) and has rubber heel pad. Gun has decent "kick" too, Pellet will hit hard (embed in wood) at over 200 feet -- strong gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By z from USA on 2009-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the wood stocks, blued barrel, and the scope. The wood stocks are durable and with stand alot. The blued barrel is always smooth. The scope is big and is great for hunting of target shooting. The cocking effort is pretty easy for a gun that shoots 1000fps.
      Things I would have changed:On this gun the mounts for the scope could be a little better. They losen up after alot of use.
      What others should know:In this gun try the crossmen hollow points, crossmen pointed, crossmen wadcutter, and the gamo master point.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2009-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Barrel has nice blueing and the wood stock has a nicely colored stain. The rifle comes with a nice looking metal scope with clear optics. Accuracy was pretty good. Rubber butt pad. And of course the price!
      Things I would have changed:Add a protective globe for the front sights. Change the 2 screw scope mounts, their cheap and they couldnt hold the scope in place. Lots of barrel droop but fortunately the included scope was able to compensate without running out of clicks. Barrel dieseling even after 250 rounds which tells me theres lots of oil and gunk in the barrel. No factory scope stop included and I ordered end of Feb '09 with a serial # in the 18000s. Based on other reviews it should have included one. Very loud with lots of twang and recoil when firing . Trigger pull is almost non-existant with lots of slack and no tension before it fires.
      What others should know:For a $115 rifle its very impressive considering what you get. If you do decide to purchase this rifle I would definately order 4 screw scope mounts and a scope stop because the scope was moving all over the place every few shots. Seems to be cloned after the Diana 34 Panther except the dovetail is actually cut into the curved metal frame so it may not be able to take the UTG droop compensator mount which fits on a flat dovetail rail like that found on the Diana 34's. Unfortunately I had to send this back because the barrel would occassionally break open on its own when I would set up for my shots. Probably got a dud but Pyramyd was there to help me send it back for replacement. I decided to get the Diana 34 Panther instead and I feel its worth the extra money for a better made gun. Also, Ruger is releasing the BlackHawk which looks like a direct clone of the Diana 34 Panther with a synthetic stock and Pyramyd should have that stocked in a few days. If your on a budget then the Ruger is an excellent choice but your going to need to tune it yourself to get the most out it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Johnny from USA on 2009-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The look ,accuracy and most of all the price.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing needs to be done with this gun
      What others should know:This gun was in line at 35 yards with less than 20 rounds.I can cover the holes with a quarter at 25 yards.For the price you can't beat this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2009-01-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Metal and wood were top notch when I opened this surprise gift from the wife on Christmas. Can't tell the Mrs. thank you enough because this rifle exceeded my expectations for a 100 dollar rifle !! Have chrony and averaging 910 fps. with 8.2 RWS Meisterkugeln pellets. 985 fps. with 7.0 gr. Hobby's. Ruger emblems on both the barrel and the scope and the scope is very clear for package 4X32 deal. Put this side by side to RWS 34 Panther and there are a lot of similarities so you can tell some major quality is there even for a Chinese made gun.
      Things I would have changed:The front sight should have been protected by a globe but I had the same problem with my panther. You can order a protective metal globe for the sight from Umarex for about 7 bucks and snaps right on. Looks very cool and helps protect the sight.
      What others should know:My rifle is the newer version with a factory scope stop and it really helps to stop all scope creep. somebody at the Mfg. must have heard enough complaints and glad to see that they listened to their customers. This is my first .177 rifle since my Panther is .22 and now I can't put it down and stop shooting this gorgeous rifle.
    • « Previous 12 ... 456 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top