Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Ruger Air Hawk Combo reviews - page 6

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By paul from USA on 2012-06-08 20:59:25

    Things I liked:I like a lot of things about this rifle. When it came I thought, that's a lot of rifle for the money! It has a nice weight to it, maybe more than you'd want to carry all day in the field, but to me the heft is an advantage. It feels very solid and I think the mass helps accuracy. The trigger is fine. This rifle is manufactured under license in China, but it seems very well made! and I have had zero problems with it. No leaking seals, no loose screws, zero problems. I like the wood stock a lot. Cocking effort is manageable. I have no complaints! It is also deadly accurate. I'm picking off crows at 50-80 feet using Beeman Crow Magnums. I haven't even mounted the scope, just using the nice open sights. I do miss some shots, but I believe when I miss, my marksmanship is probably more to blame than the rifle. It's a great way to train yourself to be a more accurate shooter. Kill power with the crow magnums is excellent. If you hit them in the wing or tail you may just get a squawk and knock off a couple feathers, but anywhere else and they crash & burn. You do not need .22 for these critters. The muzzle velocity with the .177 pellets is impressive. This is a real weapon. I've had the rifle for over a year, and have fired 500 rounds through it. Highly recommended!
    Things I would have changed:Don't want to sound like some company shill, but I honestly cannot think of what I would change. Great rifle for the money.
    0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Blue from USA on 2010-01-08 00:47:06

    Things I liked:DO NOT BUY THIS AIR RIFLE...COMPLETE CHINESE CRAP. I DON'T EVER SPEND TIME REVIEWING ANYTHING, BUT THIS IS WORTH THE WARNING. ALL THE SCREWS CAME LOOSE, ON BARREL, AND ON SCOPE AND ON STOCK. AFTER, LOCTITE BLUE ON ALL, STILL ALL CAME LOOSE BECAUSE OF HEAVY RECOIL. CANNOT ZERO SCOPE FOR LONG. TRIGGER IS NOT REALLY ADJUSTABLE, IF YOU TURN TOO FAR, TRIGGER CEASES TO FUNCTION, FEELS LIKE A BROKEN CAP GUN TRIGGER. TONS OF CREEP IN TRIGGER ONCE THE SLACK IT TAKEN IN, THROWS OFF ACCURACY. Let's not forget the significant barrel droop. Also, you will have to refinish the wood, comes with a very dull, dry finish, needs tung oil or wax. Very heavy gun.
    Things I would have changed:MAKE A BETTER GUN
    What others should know:SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY AN R-9 USED. RUGER FAILED. The gun looked great when I bought it, functioned well for a time and then completely fell apart on me.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 456
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2008-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It hits 1" knots on pine trees at 36 yards with open sights. Muzzle velocity : 7.9 g at 925 ft per sec. Raptors at 1180 ft per sec. with report. Nice bluing. Fit and feel good. Shoots well.
      Things I would have changed:Needs : Scope stop front sight protection
      What others should know:Has pivot point pin instead of adjustable screw. Excellent value for the money. Shoots smooth and accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By An from USA on 2008-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Power and Accuracy I like the micro-adjustable front sights havent used the scope but it looks promising exelent wood on the one i got. Nice blueing on the and receiver and barrel
      Things I would have changed:None.
      What others should know:Can be very loud will sometimes sound like a 22 cal. rifle make sure you get a nice pellet trap it will dent some like the crosman 850 pellet trap. Im going to by a Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap to prevent denting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Ruger Air Hawk is the most consistant air rifle I have ever shot! It was fairly easy to zero in and when you do, it won't miss a single shot! I shot a small bird from 30 yards on my first day with it! I'm definately going to use this gun until it falls apart!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Have patience with the scope when zeroing the rifle in. It takes a while, but eventually, the scope will work with you and it will work as good as any other.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tim from USA on 2008-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:1. Price and accuracy. 2. This is an attractive rifle.
      Things I would have changed:1. Scope stop needed. 2. Improve manufacturer quality control. ( See comments below)
      What others should know:Mine was shipped with badly marred stock around the pistol grip area. Looks to have been damaged before it reached Pyramyd. If you purchase one, better ask to have the box opened and checked to insure you receive an undamaged one. A better scope, scope stop and ACCUSHOT rings has improved overall performance and accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2008-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a good gun for the money!
      Things I would have changed:The scope was defective on arrival! A sling mount would be nice!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:An excellent rifle for the price. Quality of the wood stock, metal work, and scope is very good accuracy is good.Very good weapon for the money
      Things I would have changed:Plastic trigger and safety,this parts should be made of steel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rowdyjoe from USA on 2008-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Looks like something worthy of the Ruger name. Fit and finish are excellent on the exterior. I haven't disassemled it yet so, can't say anything about interior parts, etc. The trigger has a fairly crisp release and the take-up/slack is adjustable however the pressure is not. The scope appears to hold well even without a scope stop. I've had it about 2 days and have shot perhaps 150 rds through it. It groups very well with Crossman Premium Hollowpoints at 52 ft. (approx. 17 yds). The 4X scope is nice and clear and is holding zero so far. I like the allen head screws for the mounts and rings. It has good weight for shooitng from the standing position ... weighs about 8 lbs. Recoil is moderate.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe add a scope stop but, it doesn't seem to need one ... yet. We'll see.
      What others should know:Excellent value for the money. I paid $130 for it at a sporting goods store and it wasn't "On-sale". Clean the bore before you shoot it. Mine was really nasty.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Hazmatt from USA on 2008-07-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price. Aesthetics. Well made. I looked at others but you can't beat this price AND it comes with scope. Great value. I ordered the rifle plus several cans of pellets and a target and it was still less expensive than my 2nd choice. I can't see how some of the competition justifies significantly higher prices.
      Things I would have changed:It's a bit heavy. Protect sights with a shroud or make them iron. Trigger could be metal also, but then weight is increased.
      What others should know:Shot low left but I was able to zero. Accurate for my needs. I have only put about 100 various pellets through it and have not yet used the scope. Pyramid Air had the best rifle prices but pellets are cheaper in stores.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am pleased with my purchase. This rifle has proven to be accurate and gets the job done on the various criiters that have been invading my home and garden. This is all done with quiet needed for my neighborhood.
      Things I would have changed:I had a bit of trouble with the mounting of the scope, but got through it after a couple of tries.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andy from USA on 2008-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The real wood. Light recoil . great sights and perfect scope. adjustable trigger is easy to adjust. not loud.
      Things I would have changed:maybe make a .22 caliber model
      What others should know:If you are looking for a hunting rifle stop looking. This is the best bang you will grt for your buck.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ronyo from USA on 2008-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid, good workmanship, nice sights both "iron" and Scope. The scope is clear and bright and has crosshairs that are thick on the outside and thin in the center for pin-pointing small targets.
      Things I would have changed:The Trigger! I'm not a fussy guy. I'm perfectly happy with the triggers on my military rifles, Marlin lever actions and my various autos and revolvers, but the AirHawks' trigger has a huge amount of take-up and then you can't feel at what point it's going to release. I started to get used to it after about fifty shots by pressing very slowly and carefully all the while holding my breath and trying to keep the sights on target. It IS adjustable, however, and I suspect that the pull weight needs to be heavier so you can pull the trigger back to the point of final let-off and then apply sufficient pressure to get it to release in a predictable manner.
      What others should know:The rifle appears to have great accuracy potential but that potential can't be completely utilized until the shooter is able to get the trigger adjusted and then learns how to master it's idiosyncrasies. Keep in mind that this is a good quality scoped 1000 fps rifle selling for under 150 bucks with a solid warrantee so it's hard to fault the less-than perfect trigger but it would nice if a better trigger were offered as an upgrade or an extra cost option.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By spot from USA on 2008-05-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent all the way around. great value, accurate, and well made. I was going to buy the more expensive RWS rifle and decided to give this one a try as i was tempted by the price. Very happy with this rifle. I bought two new Crossman Classic 2100s and they were junk. I returned them both and bought the Air Hawk. I fired 5 rounds to sight it in (iron sights), and have fired three shots since at varmits around my house....3 kills (longest shot was 30 yards). I don't think there is a better rifle on the market at this price point. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:it is quiet, which is a plus when you have grumpy neighbors.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Shootist from USA on 2008-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood stock , Power , Light trigger pull .( Be careful)
      Things I would have changed:Don't care for plastic rear sight .has a lot of play in it . Could not get consistant group . Needs better rear sight . Put the scope on it . It shot fine then
      What others should know:Clean it good before you sight it in has a lot of grease in the barrel / get the 177 & 22 cleaning kit from Wal Mart does does the trick / I cut Q tips in half they work good as swabs / Check the screws / Mine works fine with Crosman pointed & Copper Head Hyper volicity / Be patient sighting in / make sure scope is secured tight / Trigger will take some gettting used to it is light pull 2 stage / This will burry pellets into the hard wood pallet slabs no problem Will have to see how it holds up . Now it is sighted in / Time to rock and roll If you decided to go open sight look for a lyman type seems to be a better set up (Enjoy ) cheap fun . Shootist
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Josh from USA on 2008-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this rifle, its the new great gun that dosent cost much at all. I got it home and sighted it in which took 15min and went in the back yard to find a squirrll sitting their so i shot it one shot kill dead
      Things I would have changed:The ruger should have a more advanced stock but overall its good gun The scope u might want to upgrade if ur looking for greater distance new scope (55-100 dollars)
      What others should know:I reccomend this gun to any one even my 6 year old shoots back their with it to
    • « Previous 12 ... 456
    Back to Top