Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Ruger Air Hawk Combo reviews - page 8

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By paul from USA on 2012-06-08 20:59:25

    Things I liked:I like a lot of things about this rifle. When it came I thought, that's a lot of rifle for the money! It has a nice weight to it, maybe more than you'd want to carry all day in the field, but to me the heft is an advantage. It feels very solid and I think the mass helps accuracy. The trigger is fine. This rifle is manufactured under license in China, but it seems very well made! and I have had zero problems with it. No leaking seals, no loose screws, zero problems. I like the wood stock a lot. Cocking effort is manageable. I have no complaints! It is also deadly accurate. I'm picking off crows at 50-80 feet using Beeman Crow Magnums. I haven't even mounted the scope, just using the nice open sights. I do miss some shots, but I believe when I miss, my marksmanship is probably more to blame than the rifle. It's a great way to train yourself to be a more accurate shooter. Kill power with the crow magnums is excellent. If you hit them in the wing or tail you may just get a squawk and knock off a couple feathers, but anywhere else and they crash & burn. You do not need .22 for these critters. The muzzle velocity with the .177 pellets is impressive. This is a real weapon. I've had the rifle for over a year, and have fired 500 rounds through it. Highly recommended!
    Things I would have changed:Don't want to sound like some company shill, but I honestly cannot think of what I would change. Great rifle for the money.
    0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Blue from USA on 2010-01-08 00:47:06

    Things I liked:DO NOT BUY THIS AIR RIFLE...COMPLETE CHINESE CRAP. I DON'T EVER SPEND TIME REVIEWING ANYTHING, BUT THIS IS WORTH THE WARNING. ALL THE SCREWS CAME LOOSE, ON BARREL, AND ON SCOPE AND ON STOCK. AFTER, LOCTITE BLUE ON ALL, STILL ALL CAME LOOSE BECAUSE OF HEAVY RECOIL. CANNOT ZERO SCOPE FOR LONG. TRIGGER IS NOT REALLY ADJUSTABLE, IF YOU TURN TOO FAR, TRIGGER CEASES TO FUNCTION, FEELS LIKE A BROKEN CAP GUN TRIGGER. TONS OF CREEP IN TRIGGER ONCE THE SLACK IT TAKEN IN, THROWS OFF ACCURACY. Let's not forget the significant barrel droop. Also, you will have to refinish the wood, comes with a very dull, dry finish, needs tung oil or wax. Very heavy gun.
    Things I would have changed:MAKE A BETTER GUN
    What others should know:SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY AN R-9 USED. RUGER FAILED. The gun looked great when I bought it, functioned well for a time and then completely fell apart on me.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2014-08-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked: Great gun! I was nervous buying this gun because I have been using my Crosman 3100 for about 20yrs. I am very pleased with everything including the wood, trigger, and power. once sited in, I had no problem taking down small pest. first 2 shots at pets gave me two kills! I would recommend this gun to anyone!
      Things I would have changed:I would recommend to the mfg to but a guard around the front site, but no problems so far.
      What others should know:I shot 8 styles of pellets, the best are the Beeman's silver stings and 2nd is the Crosman destroyers.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is deadly accurate, I've shot over 5,000 roundsIn the year I've had mine. I've killed many pests with it as well.
      Things I would have changed:For one there are a lot of miner things you have to do to get this gun working right. Toss the scope don't bother with it or the rings it comes with. Next clean the gun well making sure no oil gets in the compression tool just the rifle.it will sound like a 22 at first but gets quiet. Next you can mount a new scope or keep the iron sites. I suggest a hammers 3-9x40.AO scope with 1 peace air gun mount its about $59 and a great buy. Zero it in or use the iron sites. I was able to get a size grouping at first30 yards open sights and have killed birds at 50+ yards one shot. With a scope I can put pellet in the same hole at 50 yards and punch out the #'s on a target. Go to Archer air guns.com for a great info review
      What others should know:Get your self some lock tight glue and secure all the threads on this gun and mount it puts out a good kick that can loosen it all and cause problems. Second for a cheat ups upgrade go to Archer air guns and buy there air gun tune kit for the airhawk.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Hector from USA on 2014-05-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice wood stock,steel finsh,field strip tuned before shooting 25yrd 1/16in groups @ 10 5 rounds.mounted utg 4x32 1pc mount.dispatch squries birds @ 20 meters fast shipping arrived on the 10th,trigger better then my gamo very smooth and crisp.chrony@ 1001 ftps high 970ftps low average 990
      Things I would have changed:Didn't even bother with the combo scope.mounted better optics.nothing.
      What others should know:Great buy for$ tune it and shoots like rws panther for 1/4 the cost clean it loc-tite before shooting,put 400 rds thru it still a little deisling put very accurit.lube main spring clean barrel with otis love this gun!!! Jsb 13.43 gr awesome goes right thru varmits boooyaa!!! With a THUD SOUND!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2014-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:More of an update than a review. I've had this gun for a while now and haven't really put it to use until this year. So far it has taken 2 squirrels in 2 days. One managed to drop after running 8 feet the one today dropped where he was. Now I got a good dinner tonight.
      Things I would have changed:I have to put a new tru-glo fiber in the front sight but it still works well without it.
      What others should know:If you need a good squirrel gun this is a pretty good one. It has the power to do the job humanely.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Edwin from USA on 2014-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:stock and the price
      Things I would have changed:the scope
      What others should know:fun little gun, added a different scope and using it for short range. Decent accuracy but it does have its limits @ 100 yards was getting 2-3 in groups with certain pellets, back down to 25 yds with better accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Clay from USA on 2014-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun has a nice look to it and shoulders pretty well. It is easy to load and the automatic safety is a nice touch. The only thing I found hard to do was fing a pellet that it liked. Sighting was also a pain. I found it likes hallow points and i settled on the gamo red fire pellets. I can hit a penny at about 10 meters.
      Things I would have changed:Bundle with a nicer scope. I couldn't get good groups with it so I mounted a Simmons 3-9x32 scope and got the penny sized groups at 10 meters.
      What others should know:This gun likes hallow points and make sure to tighten the screws for they are very loose.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By brenda from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very nice looking gun, and very accurate
      Things I would have changed:heavy gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By airgunanimal from USA on 2013-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Really powerful shooting gun. Very accurate after 50 shots. I have shot 1500 pellets in it so far and I am shooting dime size groups at 20 yards. This gun shot best with JBS 10.34 grain pellets. I ordered some even heavier pellets to try because as I went up in weight the groups got tighter and, that was the heaviest I have. Like I said its a powerful gun and needs heavy weighted pellets to control the speed for better groups. The stock is excellent, it is plain but well made and the extra weight helps with the recoil.I was going to buy a RWS but the price is 3x as much. I guess I would be very disappointed if the RWS's weren't three times better. They might be better but 3x better? Also I think they are made by the same company. It looks to me like the Ruger Air Hawk is a RWS 34.
      Things I would have changed:Scope really stinks
      What others should know:Three things to mention; the stock did not let me easily line up the iron sites. I had to really push my cheek into the stock for proper line of site, the screws are loose so before you do anything take the stock off and tighten all the screws and clean off excess grease and oil. Plan on using 10 grain or better pellets. If you use lighter pellets and get large groups don't blame the gun. You should have a large section of pellets in weight and brand to find the best pellets for your gun. I am sure many people have sent guns back because they tried one type pellet and it did not work well. It costs you money to ship these guns back, better to spend that money on some extra tins of pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John P from USA on 2013-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well, I have to say that the stock is MUCH finer than the illustration might suggest. Pretty piece of birch, I think, with a lot of figure in it. I kinda disagree with other writers who have complained about the included Ruger (TM)-branded scope. IMHO the scope is quite adequate for the plinking I've been doing and capable of giving me 1" groups at 50' out of the box. I expect that to improve as the gun breaks in, beds and settles down. The machining that I can see without removing the stock appears good, the trigger first stage is long, second stage short and heavy but not unduly so. I really like the solid rubber butt pad, which gives a good firm grip on floor or foot for cocking, and which snugs well to shoulder for the shot.
      Things I would have changed:For the money, there really isn't much to be changed. Better scope mounts (I've ordered Leapers) would be nice, as would checkering on the fore-stock and grip area but again, those'd just add to the price. As I've said, I think that the scope is adequate. Time will tell whether it will hold up, and I think the replacement mounts will help. Out-of-the box the barrel seal or o-ring sits below the face of the breech and I've ordered replacement seals and shims to take care of that. Again, I think that sufficient quality control to screen out this problem would have added to the price.
      What others should know:You will want to check your breech-receiver seal for depth. Mine sat low out of the box. The scope mounts really are (as so many have noted) rather crude. It's possible that they are adequate but I just don't like their looks and am going with the Leapers mounts. This is a fairly heavy gun - helpful with the massive air rifle recoil and rebound - not something comfortable for hauling around in the woods of a morning. Wish there were fittings for a sling. Have to look into that.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Chuck G. from USA on 2013-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I own several Air Guns for various purposes but I was looking for a cheap springer to keep in the garage for the occasional rabbit that decides to munch my garden. The Air Hawk definitely fit this requirement. It was not very expensive. It also was very accurate and had a really nice trigger. In the past I’ve used very inexpensive multi-pump guns like the Crosman 2100 and the Daisy 880, but at this price it was a much better gun for my purpose. One cock on the break barrel was much less noise than 8-10 pumps of a Crosman 2100! I wanted this to be a gun without a scope and it did an admirable job with the iron sights. I can pick off 12 oz cans at 25 yards with ease. I like the safety. It is automatic but you can turn it off and turn It back on without having to re-cock the gun. This works better (in my opinion) than the RWS safety design.
      Things I would have changed:The scope mounts are grooves cut into the barrel. I would have preferred a real mount like the RWS guns have. Everything else seems reasonable for a $100 gun. While I am not in the market for a .22 caliber gun, it would be nice to have this as an option for the Air Hawk.
      What others should know:This gun can give you quarter size groups at 25 yards with the open sights. . I usually take empty soda cans and fill them with water to use for plinking. This gun will blow out the back of the cans and leave rips about 4 inches long. I typically use Crosman Wadcutters, Pointed Hunter, and Destroyer pellets in this gun. They are very inexpensive and perform extremely well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By PA Old Man from USA on 2013-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood stock, open sights, power, accuracy
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see this gun offered without the scope.
      What others should know:As others have pointed out the included 4 x 32 scope isn't the greatest. I had to return the first Air Hawk Pyrmayd Air shipped me due to issues with the included scope. Both rifles shot very well with open sights, .75" or better at 10m. I ordered a UTG 3-9x32AO Bug Buster and mounted it on the second rifle with UTG 1" Max Strength Low Quick-Detach Rings on a UTG 11mm dovetail to Weaver/Picatinny scope rail. Chrony test: Crosman SSP (4.00 gr) Average Velocity 1463 fps wouldn't group, H&N Field Target Trophy Green (5.56 gr) Average Velocity 1182 fps, .86" group @ 25 yds, H&N Field Target Trophy (8.64 gr) Average Velocity 929 fps, .91" @ 25 yds, Crosman Premier (7.90 gr) Average Velocity 989 fps, .61" @ 25 yds. Cocking was very stiff when new but is easing up with use. Trigger out of the box is very nice going to leave it for now since I still have less then 500 pellets through the gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Terry from USA on 2013-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My first springer ... At first there was a learning curve. Open sights grouping was awful. Scope helped. The. I tried JSB Diablo Heavy pellets did a tear down, clean, deburr and lube and it shot like a different gun. Hitting 1.5" square blocks at 46 yards and 32oz Gatorade bottles at 100 yards. I may try open sights again to see how it does.
      Things I would have changed:I didn't mind but it is rough out of the box. With some tinkering it will shoot very well. Just needs some TLC. If you are mechanically inclined do the tear down and it will perform very very well for you.
      What others should know:It is all about the right pellet and outstanding trigger control. For mine the JSB Heavy Diablo 10.34 grain pellets provides the opportunity for 100 yard shots with the stock scope. Planning on upgrading the scope now because mine doesn't want to hold zero very well. Something else to tinker with.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hayden from USA on 2013-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything! the stock finish is beautiful, the bluing evenbetter. great open sights. VERY little recoil for a high power springer. Artillery hold isnt really needed for excellent groups. Trigger is the best you can get on a 120 dollar airgun. good safety mechanism.gotta love 3/4in groups at 30 yards! Crazy power. this gun will out shhot my gamo hunter sport anyday.
      Things I would have changed:scope. its garbage. youre better off just shooting with open sights. I bought a leapers 4X32 scope for it and the accuracy is great. im going to upgrade to a 3-9X32 because this gun deserves it.
      What others should know:gun is a little heavy, which is great for bench shooting and makes it less hold sensitive, but can be a little annoying when taking offhand shots and to carry it around. a bipod could be a solution. utg makes one that attaches to; the barrel that would be perfect. get a new scope. :)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2013-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I can't say enough about this Ruger air rifle. Ruger name is/has been a great name in fire arms and this is no let down. Right up there with their standards. Talk about a hard hitting straight shooter, this is it. Better than most of the much higher priced rifles I have in my stock of air guns. And a scope included as well.
      Things I would have changed:For the money I would not expect any changes.
      What others should know:One super little gun. You won't be sorry picking up this one.. You can tell I'm super pleased with mine..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By luiscomputech from USA on 2013-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good quality and a good price . All wood and metal construction . Kick back is strong and the rifle is heavy . I bought mine refurbished for 70 bucks + shipping here at Pyramydair.com . Works fine . Scope is not that bad . You do have to locktite screws and secure correctly plus find it's range . The ability to use the scope or fixed sights is a plus . Accuracy is good . Hitting targets at 60 feet easy . As long as your hold is good you will get much better accuracy . Mine is terrible free standing and better on a bench and I've only shot free standing .
      Things I would have changed:Refurbished unit needs a breech seal badly . Mine came very thin and slightly worn out so it leaks . Did the paper test and failed . Had a few nicks on the stock but nothing very noticeable only up close . For the price I'm not complaining though . Can always refinish the stock to my liking and get the breach seal upgrade kit and all problems solved . Still a good buy even at regular price .
      What others should know:I'm using JSB match exact domes 8.4 grain . Anything too light , lets say under 8 grain will give you fliers . Try using pellets over 8 grain with this rifle . I bet even a 10 grain will yield great results . This rifle likes heavy pellets it seems .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2013-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power of this gun is very nice, considering the price i am very surprised that it is only 115 dollars. The open sights are very accurate with the right pellet.(RWS superdome) work great for me.
      Things I would have changed:I would get a better scope if your into get very consistent shots.
      What others should know:if your looking for a gun to buy for a good price buy this. Its got the power and durability of any other air rifle you could buy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great rifle/scope package. Factory settings sighting in required no adjustments out of the box. Very accurate and hitting power is impressive, a lot fewer squirrels at the bird feeder
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Marco from USA on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like everything about this gun. The weight, the look, the accuracy, everything is great. This is my first break-barrel rifle and I am very impressed. The accuracy becomes dead on after some adjustments of the open sights.
      Things I would have changed:Obviously the included scope is not the best. I did take it off after using it because I prefer open sights. Other than that, the gun is near perfect.
      What others should know:It is completely made of wood and metal. The cocking effort isn't bad at all, most young shooters can probably manage. It is also EXTREMELY loud for the first 5 shots.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Marco from USA on 2013-01-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the fact that it's made of metal and wood. It's relatively easy to break the barrel and I like the fiber optic open sights. Trigger pull is really easy too.
      Things I would have changed:The included scope and mount are not the best.
      What others should know:The first 5-10 shots are going to be EXTREMELY loud. The gun is also pretty heavy, a solid 9 pounds. Overall great gun and great purchase. It's my first breakbarrel, and I'm having a lot of fun with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-01-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels very solid and after taking it apart and tightening a few screws, feels very safe and enduring.
      Things I would have changed:The scope mounts loosened quickly, but it's a scope and couldn't be happier
      What others should know:Great buy for the money. Once you get it worn in a little, it's a fun one to shoot.
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top