Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Ruger Air Hawk Elite Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Richard from USA on 2011-01-10 15:02:48

    Things I liked:I bought this rifel just before Christmas and it is my first break barrel air rifle. First...get rid of the stoack rings and get the aacushot rings. 2nd, pull each screw out and use blue locktite and let it cure overnight before you shoot. Next, use ONLY 8 or more grain pellets if you want top notch accuracy. I have tried 7 different peelet to date and so far the 8.4 grain GAMO Hunter have given me the best groups with this type of pellet. I have also used the GAMO Red Fire pellets and I can drill the center of a target at 30 yards with no problem. The BEEMAN Kodiak's are my next choice to get. After looking at differnt specs on pellets, these i believe will be the best in this gun. It likes the heavier pellets. You might lose some velocity, but you will see greater downrange energy. Right now the pellest I am using are blowing right through 1/2" plywood at 20 yards and I have taken a Rabbit and a squirrel so far.
    Things I would have changed:The scope rings. Add some kind of sling mount. There is a really great sling mount on the Benjamin Trail NP (my next air rifle). This is what they should do on this rifle because this is a HEAVY gun. Carry this in the woods for a while and you will be wishing for a sling right away!!
    What others should know:Once you get the scope rings and the ammo figured out, plan on shooting this rifle for at least 200 shots before you get tight consistent groups. I would just start out with a less expensive pellet until you get through the "break in" period. After about 200 rounds switch to the GAMO Hunters in 8.4 grains and round nose and then go to the Beeman Kodiak's or the Beeman Kodiak Match. I am also going to try the Beeman Field Target Specials that are a little over 8 grains too. I know that these will be great for hunting too.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:2

    By Darrell from USA on 2012-12-18 07:44:11

    Things I liked:I like the stock
    Things I would have changed:The scope or the gun is useless the scope doesn't stay on the gun. The scope or the rings are bad quality it is almost impossible to sight in. I put the scope on another gun had same problem. It is also not a very accurate gun wished I would have never bought it.
    What others should know:Unless ruger makes changes on this gun I would not tell anybody to purchase this gun. I bought this for my daughter for 4h shooting sports. Big mistake.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Cecil from USA on 2014-02-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really loved the looks of the stock and the thumb hole in it made it really comfortable. The rifle seemed to settle down after only a few shots and it was surprisingly accurate up to 25 yards
      Things I would have changed:I didn't care for the scope mounts and it would be nice to have open sights for those not interested in having a scope because of the problems sometimes with spring guns.
      What others should know:The rifle is a little on the heavy side and is almost too pretty to have for an every day shooter.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Darrell from USA on 2012-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the stock
      Things I would have changed:The scope or the gun is useless the scope doesn't stay on the gun. The scope or the rings are bad quality it is almost impossible to sight in. I put the scope on another gun had same problem. It is also not a very accurate gun wished I would have never bought it.
      What others should know:Unless ruger makes changes on this gun I would not tell anybody to purchase this gun. I bought this for my daughter for 4h shooting sports. Big mistake.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Bruce from USA on 2012-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love the thumb hole. Makes the trigger pull smoother and easier. For small varmits and plinking it is great.
      Things I would have changed:None
      What others should know:Muzzle break works great to quiet the report
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Trigger; First stage is smooth and light. Second stage is not too heavy and very crisp. Its the best trigger I've had on any of my springers (unmodified, that is). I've only shot about 200 pellets but it si shooting very accurate. .25 inch groups at 10 yards are not too hard to do with this rifle. The 3-9x40AO scope is pretty good. It has a clear sight picture, is easy to adjust and has a simple duplex reticle. It is a much better scope than some of the other companies include with their rifles.
      Things I would have changed:The dovetail is very short, about 4 inches. A normal length dovetail would have been better. My little Ruger Explorer youth rifle has a full inch longer dovetail on it.
      What others should know:It is very heavy. Mine weighed in at 9 lbs. 13 oz. with the scope mounted. For me that means mostly bench rested shooting. I'm pretty sure it's getting close to the rated FPS. I don't have a chrony but the pellets are slamming harder into my steel pellet trap than any of my Crosman rifles do.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:1 1.0

        By Val from USA on 2011-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      43 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price - but as a wise man once said - the sweetness of a low price is forgotten after the bitterness of low quality remains. I'm sure there are "good" air rifles in this price range, but this ain't it. I was attracted by the "Ruger" name as I am a Ruger Firearms owner and their quality and workmanship is always excellent. This piece of garbage air rifle is made in China under license from Ruger and frankly, it not only has none of th etypical Ruger quality, it gives them a black eye. On the good side (once you pass on accuracy and lack of QC) is that this gun appears to be solidly-built and once tuned by a competent technician, *may* be a decent rifle. The wood and finish on the stock is nice (until you let it get services - see below) and the bluing isn't bad.
      Things I would have changed:The Ruger name. It's misleading - making you *think* you're gonna get an air rifle that measures up to Ruger standards. The Quality Control - before it leaves the factory, they must not test it AT ALL. Mine had a barrel that didn't "lock up" properly, making it IMPOSSIBLE to fire a three-shot group under 18" - even from a bench rest. The scope also couldn't even be brought into alignment with the bore - possibly because of the defective barrel and possibly because it was just a bad scope and/or rings. The scope runs out of adjustment before you're on-target. The "service" from Umarex - the importer for this air rifle. Yes, there is a one-year warranty - but YOU mush pay shipping BOTH WAYS (about $50 total PLUS whatever you have to "spend" to build or buy a proper shipping box. Umarex does typical "warranty work" - replacing things that may not need to be replaced so they can kick back the expense to the manufacturer, and ignoring or sweeping the easy-to-fix problems under the rug in order to "sell" the expensive, money-making warranty fixes. When returning the rifle, they packed it poorly - resulting in the gun shifting around inside the box, scratching the stock up. What was a new but defective gun became a "used" gun thanks to the meatheads at Umarex. The automatic safety is a pain. Safeties have a place and that place is under the total control of the shooter. Having an "automatic" one is like having somebody who doesn't talk to you playing with the gun.
      What others should know:Aside from carrying products imported and "supported" by Umarex, Pyramid Air is NOT to blame for this fiasco of an air rifle. They were as helpful as their policies allow when directing me to Umarex and further disappointment. Their price was good and the shipping was OK. Telephone support was fast and accurate. Umarex has forever earned a bad name with me. I will NEVER buy another air rifle that Umarex has anything to do with. They've screwed me over, lied to me, charged me to have a "new" under-warranty gun repaired, didn't solve the problem (the gun STILL has problems - probably the scope/pairing) and they damaged the gun in the process. This gun is disappointing all around. The thrill of a new toy, the let-down that it doesn't work as it should, the cost and trouble of sending it back, the cost of GETTING it back to you, the LIES from Umarex, the fact that is STILL has problems. Pass on this rifle. Save yourself a LOT of disappointment and running around. Spend a few buck more on a quality air rifle - or - at least one thet Umarex has nothing to do with. Finally - I was prompted to write this review because of an e-mail from Pyramid Air asking "Think Dealers Lie? Owners don't!" and saying that you can rely on the review on their web site. I see a disclaimer that basically says my review will never see the light of day if I say something "wrong" - If that is the case, I HOPE Pyramid Air will take this opportunity to contact me to make me change my opinion!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this rifel just before Christmas and it is my first break barrel air rifle. First...get rid of the stoack rings and get the aacushot rings. 2nd, pull each screw out and use blue locktite and let it cure overnight before you shoot. Next, use ONLY 8 or more grain pellets if you want top notch accuracy. I have tried 7 different peelet to date and so far the 8.4 grain GAMO Hunter have given me the best groups with this type of pellet. I have also used the GAMO Red Fire pellets and I can drill the center of a target at 30 yards with no problem. The BEEMAN Kodiak's are my next choice to get. After looking at differnt specs on pellets, these i believe will be the best in this gun. It likes the heavier pellets. You might lose some velocity, but you will see greater downrange energy. Right now the pellest I am using are blowing right through 1/2" plywood at 20 yards and I have taken a Rabbit and a squirrel so far.
      Things I would have changed:The scope rings. Add some kind of sling mount. There is a really great sling mount on the Benjamin Trail NP (my next air rifle). This is what they should do on this rifle because this is a HEAVY gun. Carry this in the woods for a while and you will be wishing for a sling right away!!
      What others should know:Once you get the scope rings and the ammo figured out, plan on shooting this rifle for at least 200 shots before you get tight consistent groups. I would just start out with a less expensive pellet until you get through the "break in" period. After about 200 rounds switch to the GAMO Hunters in 8.4 grains and round nose and then go to the Beeman Kodiak's or the Beeman Kodiak Match. I am also going to try the Beeman Field Target Specials that are a little over 8 grains too. I know that these will be great for hunting too.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Curtis from USA on 2010-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The gun once dialed in is extremely accurate and has great weight! Easy to shoot and amazing overall feel.
      Things I would have changed:This gun is amazing but has a louder pop when fired than other break barrels I have used. It is a little loud to shoot in a backyard depending where you live.
      What others should know:If you are contemplating buying a breakbarrel rifle, there is no choice but this gun. Hands down it beats out all my other rifles including my Gamo guns for consistant accuracy and quality!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Scott from USA on 2010-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:After reading a ton of reviews and spending countless hours on YouTube, I settled on this rifle. The key selling features to me were the quality of the included scope and the thumbhole stock. The stock finish is nothing special, but may spruce up with some wood polish. The accuracy seems to be getting better and better as the gun breaks in. I didn't waste my time with the stock scope rings, but went with two-piece Accurings for $10. This totally eliminated the need to shim the scope and I was able to get the scope sighted within minutes. I also went through and tightened all the screws before firing. After putting 50 pellets through it, however, I found everything had loosened up. I removed all the screws and used blue loctite on the threads and so far haven't had any issues with the screws coming loose. Cocking effort and recoil are what I would expect with a 1000 ftp springer.
      Things I would have changed:There are three things I'd change to make this go from good to great. (1) Replace the scope rings with something that can handle the recoil from this rifle and keep the scope in place. The stock rings are junk and went straight to the trash can. (2) Add the ability to change the trigger pull weight. You can adjust the trigger pull, and the stock pull weight is not bad. However, I'd like to drop the pull weight by about a pound. (3) Add some way to use a sling. This rifle is heavy and carrying it on a hunt will get old fast. Sling mounts would be a great option for those who want to use this to pluck off some small game.
      What others should know:I'm still experimenting on pellets that this rifle will like. It definitely does best with pellets over 8 grains. Anything lighter and I tend to see some flyers and/or funny holes in paper targets that I attribute to pellet instability.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Erik from USA on 2010-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Ruger Elite is an all around awesome air rifle. It is heavy and so are my Winchester, Ruger, Remington and Springfield M1Garand deer rifles. It is a well made air rifle and is very comfortable to shoot. After cocking the breakbar the safety automatically engages. That is a nice feature. Overall a very accurate rifle.
      Things I would have changed:There is no scope stop. Ruger should have added one. To overcome the lack of a scope stop, simply use the blue breakable locktite and apply it to the hex head screws. Tighten both evenly and your scope will not budge.
      What others should know:My rifle shot 5" low even after the elevation knob was maxed out. I placed a shim inside the rear scope mount. The shim raised the scope enough to counteract the issue.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Aaron C. from USA on 2009-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the fit and finish of the rifle. Very nice scope. Very accurate up to 60 yards. Very very powerful. Quite enough to shoot in your yard. A bit heavy, but I can deal. Very little cocking effort for a 1000fps springer.
      Things I would have changed:Although mine came with a scope stop it needs better mounts. Mine will slip from time to time. Also I would like to see the ball bearing in the back of the breach be a little strong, when setting my rifle on a bipod the barrel with automatically break.
      What others should know:Keep your eye at the 3" suggested distance from the scope. My friend put his eye less than an inch away and he got scope bit bad enough to go get stitches. DO NOT diesel your pellets in this gun!!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Pius from USA on 2009-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the thumb hole grip. I thought the scope that came with the gun is of good quality.
      Things I would have changed:I am a little hesitant about a gun that weights in at 10 lbs. I will have trouble trying to shot free standing.
      What others should know:When I got my gun, I just had shoulder surgery and had a terrible time trying to cock the rifle. I finally got the gun loaded and stood at my back door and shot a pop can in the back yard. I was under my patio cover and when I shot, it scared me so much, It sounded just like I shot a 30-06. I was waiting for the police to show up. I waited until a friend came to the house and we took our guns to the range to shoot. I shot mine across the hood of my truck and hit the bulls eye dead center. bull eyes, only once and from then on in the black. this was after I did a short cut bore site job. beautiful gun, I really do like it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By perril from USA on 2009-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The 3x9 scope adjusts smoothly. Out ofthe box, shot 2" groups with RWS Professional grade .53 grain pellets. After cleaning the barrel with Break Free and firing another 50 pellets through, I have achieved 5 shot groups under .83 inches at 25 yards Shooting off of my shoulder leaning and propping arms on a table. I think I can tighten that up a little more when I go to the range and use sandbags and a bench.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is set to 3.8 lbs and is wonderful, however the trigger creap is about 3.8" before you feel the set trigger "valley" before the seer breaks. The muzzle brake seems to move alittle bit when you crack the barrel to load and close the action. The safety is hard to re-engage once it is placed in fire mode. The provided finger grip grooves, however, my fat fingers cannot get above and below the safety to pull it back out.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By navyseal from USA on 2009-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish were good. Wood nicely stained without filler. Metal nicely blued. I had Pyramyd do the 10 for 10 test and she did well on the chrono. Once sighted, it is extremely accurate. and grouping at 15 yards was dime sized. A good value for the price I think. Scope did not move after tightening it down.
      Things I would have changed:Scope would not adjust down enough but I just learned to accommodate the site difference in the scope and adjusted my aim point to offset the lack of adjustment.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Jonathan from USA on 2008-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks. that's about it
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is not really adjustable except for take-up. Fit and finish; the stock on mine apparently was damaged at the factory and filled in with wood filler on the bottom and front of the pistol grip. There is no recoil stop, and boy does this rifle need one. About every thirty shots or so, the cocking lever will bind and not allow you to cock the gun. The scope failed after 200 shots or so.
      What others should know:Spend a little more money and purchase a different gun. It's a shame when a company (like Ruger) sells its name to put on an item that they don't control the quality control of turns out to be a piece of crap. I like Rugers, I own a bunch or Rugers that are made by Ruger. Don't buy this gun.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Jack from USA on 2008-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The fit and finish on this rifle is excellent and the thumb-hole stock and AO scope are great up-grades which is why I chose the Elite package.
      Things I would have changed:The adjustment knobs on the scope are too small for my fingers. They would have been better off using a simple screwdriver slot instead. The scope ring/mounts are a joke. Nothing more than stilts. On a 1000fps rifle? It only took about 60 shots to send this scope flying right off the gun. And I had it cranked down TIGHT! I'll probably put this scope on one of my $10 Chinese clunkers and use a CenterPoint scope instead. This gun also requires a scope stop and an elevation adjustable scope mount.
      What others should know:Yes, the pretend silencer shot loose too. Also, due to the barrel "sag" inherent in most break-barrel guns, a scope mount that is elevation adjustable is a must have. Especially for distances of 15 yards or less. It didn't take much to run out of elevation adjustment with this scope and still not be on target at 15 yards. A scope stop would also be a must have with this gun unless you have a preferred mount that you KNOW will securely hold on these dovetail rails. I will check with Umarex and Ruger to see if installing my own stop will void my warranty or if they want to do it for me. All in all, a nice gun for the money, but it will take a couple hundred more break-in rounds before I can see if it will challenge my Anschutz for accuracy. And all this is on hold until I get a stop installed and find a better mount. $180 just sitting around doing nothing until who knows when? Looks like I'll be spending more money on this gun just to get it right.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the thumb hole grip, wanted something a bit different then my center fire rifles. Very well made for this price level. I rarely make on line purchases like this without having the product physically in my hands. I was pleasantly surprised as soon as I pulled it from the box. Cocking is smooth and gun has a good solid feel to it. Mounting of the scope was a breeze and so was sighting it in...very accurate using the basic Crosman Pointed, Premium Grade pellets. I've sighted it in for my intended target distance which is about 40 yards.
      Things I would have changed:the weight...lol its heavier then my 30-06! lol... Trigger pull is taking a bit to get used to, can't really feel when it wants to release. Muzzle brake screws came loose....no big deal...nothing that alittle Loctite didn't fix. Right now, I have no complaints.
      What others should know:Not to take anything away from other brands, maybe I got a hold of lemons, but I bought and returned a Crosman Storm XT and a Beeman. Couldn't get the Storms scope to settle down, there was no chance of getting any type of grouping and my friend couldn't either. After about 15 shots from the Beeman, I cocked it, heard and felt it click and stay lock down, reached for a pellet and suddenly the barrel swung up like a switchblade knife!!! Right back to the store with that unit. So far, this licensed Ruger is a keeper, I'm very happy with it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like the overall looks of the rifle. The stock is very nice considering the price. Bluing is great almost as good as other Ruger guns. I was really surprised by the accuracy. I haven't fired it passed 50 meters but at that range I can keep it within 1.5" and I'm a para in a wheelchair. I do have the advantage of several years of shooting having been raised in the country with a .22 of my own from the age of 12. There's a lot of lead that I left in the woods there not to mention at the town dump where I went rodent hunting!
      Things I would have changed:The trigger. Even though it is adjustable it's just too hard to "feel" the letoff. It takes a bit of disipline to hold on target until it goes off. The phony silencer only acts as a counter balance. A couple of gas slots would have made things better. Make sure to keep an eye out on it too, it loosens up after 3 or 4 shots. The scope could have an inch more relief, I have to stick my neck up closer to the lens than I would like. It's not a gun for folks under 18 and women because of the power it takes to cock it.
      What others should know:A very nice gun for the price. You can do worse for more money that's for sure. Definately a keeper !
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2008-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:thumb hole stock, scope, trigger as well as the overall look of the rifle, accuracy has been very good, 3/4" groups and I am an average marksman at best. The best thing about this purchase was dealing with Pyramyd
      Things I would have changed:add a scope stop, perhaps a longer scope rail, previously mentioned wood conditioning as mentioned in the other reviews.
      What others should know:the muzzle break on my gun was loose make sure you check that it is tight. for under $200 I would be very surprised if you could find a better scope/rifle combo. if you don't buy this particular gun make sure you buy from Pyramyd totally first class retailer
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:With the scope mounted this gun weighs in at almost 10lbs. It is built like a tank. This is my first springer and it is excellent quality. The great part is when you put this gun up to your shoulder the weight disappears. Extrememly well balanced. I really like the thumb hole stock and nice butt pad. Nice, first class scope included......from what I have been reading most come with a cheap quality scope. I figured with the Ruger Umarex name it had to be a qualty product. Nice checkering on the forearm which gives this gun "class".
      Things I would have changed:Scope adjustment tabs are hard to grip. Too short. I put my order in early and Pyramyd kept moving the receipt date back for a few weeks...but it was worth waiting for.
      What others should know:When I opened the box I was not satisfied with the stock finish. It was dull and looked like it was wiped with a stain and looked dull and dried out. A little Old English Polish and the stock came alive. It revealed a nice graining in the wood. This was my first order from Pymaryd and the people I talked with were "First Class" and very knowledgeable. Can't go wrong with this gun or the company that sells it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:1) The stock is very comfortable. 2) This rifle looks very sharp 3) Nice weight (for an adult rifle)
      Things I would have changed:Honestly I do not see any major flaw in this rifle. It is a really well-built gun!
      What others should know:1) like what Anthony said before, some sort of protective coating for the all wood stock would be nice. 2) One other thing...the scope is very sophisticated...meaning it has all of the current gadgets (like AO). This was one of the big selling points that this rifle possesses! I really like how the complete package is very high quality! 3) This is my first air gun and I absolutely love it! Shooting out of the box was very accurate! I haven't found ant pellets that give me that small spread, but so far the Beeman Silver Arrow seem to work well.
    • 12 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold