Ruger Blackhawk Combo reviews - page 2

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By primo from USA on 2012-04-06 14:43:31

Things I liked:I have had this rifle for well over a year, it's the best inexpensive rifle I own. I have four Diana's and I can tell you the Blackhawk is an exact copy of the Diana 34, that is , I repeat a copy . The RWS Diana has the excellent materials and workmanship ,the Blackhawk is the poor mans version. Nothing to fret for with a little TLC you can make this skateboard run like Jag. I took mine apart and gave a tune an lube. The spring came bone dry from the factory, China, touché . Now after the tune the gun shoot very consistent 900 plus fps and just about 14 fp. Good enough to knock down pigeons, rodents and small prey. The spring this rifle brings is of excellent quality withstood 2 to 3 thousand shots dry as a bone,it didn't even make much noise. The piston looks just as good as the RWS, maybe 30 years from now you won't know the difference?
Things I would have changed:I've been thinking about taking the trigger apart,its second stage is only adjustable ,the first stage is stiff. Maybe fine sanding the trigger catch will do the trick, if not I can live with it ,you can't expect a Diana 34 for $99 bucks. Speaking of which mine has a Leapers 4x32scope , about $30 bucks more, I can hit coke cans at 50 yard no problem except for wind condition.
What others should know:The Blackhawk is a good buy,it looks super with the Leapers I mentioned, fools most of my buddies. Who knows maybe with price reduction on this I'm inclined to buy another tune it and make a couple of bucks on the side to feed my airgun hobby. All said the purchase of this rifle via Pyramyd is a no brainer,if you dont have the almost $300 for the RWS 34... hell with it drive Chevy and soup it up.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By james from USA on 2013-03-13 21:22:29

Things I liked:looks and feels ok needs weight see my post dated 2011-12-17 18:24:53 dont buy gun fell apart. this is no way near to being a rws 34 ...maybe the black color is what people are saying is the same.
Things I would have changed:poor quality .poor materials metal /plastic horrible groups. umarex is the company who imports rifle their repair dept did not fix problems.did replace a defective scope with upgrade.
What others should know:gun shot horrible.scope broke. screws were the wrong size. front sight hole was off so pellet would hit at exit. recoil pad screws went thru there holes. took gun apart after warranty found spring broke 3 places and front seal was torn.i had called pry air when in warranty and they would not take gun back because they said it was a scope problem ..umarex gave me a price 35+ bucks for parts shame on umerex and p.air for selling junk .
Sort by:
  • « Previous 123 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2012-12-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well built, not too loud for city shooting
    What others should know:After 100 or more shots finally dialed in to be very accuratr, maybe 1 inch circle at 20 paces hit every time. Nice.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ringo from USA on 2012-12-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I was impressed with the accuracy and power of this rifle, the scope isn't as bad as you would think, it is clear and it holds windage and elivation adjustments well and once sighted in you can get very good groups. I had bought a new scope for my remington vantage NP so I put that scope on the ruger because it's a better scope, 3-9x32 where the ruger's is a 4x32, the 3-9x32 made a big difference in the groups I was gettingwith the 4x32 went from 3/4" to around 1/4" to 3/8". It is easy to cock at 30 pounds and wont tire you out when doing a fairly long shooting session. I had a lot of people watching while I was sighting the first time and they couldn't believe that a pellet gun like this could shoot as well as a firearm. The trigger pull is good and adjustable, The bluing is what I would consider normal and the fit to the stock is really good, The sights are interesting I'm not use to fiber optic sights but they are efficient and are dead on. I like the automatic safty but that can lead to bad habits with other guns that have manual safties as you could forget to engage it. All in all the ruger blackhawk is worth the 100 bucks and is worth checking out I'm glad I added it to my collection.
    Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
    What others should know:The ruger blackhawk would be a good choice for a starter gun for someone thats just getting into the sport of airgunning or hunting, I would recommend cleaning the inside of the barrel before shooting it as with all guns period to get all the gunk out because it will destroy accuracy and thats where a lot of people complain that these types of airguns are inaccurate, A little cleaning can go a long way. I would recommend using a UTG droop compensator with low scope rings so that you don't have to adjust the elevation so high that it wont hold zero, I put one on my ruger and my remington vantage NP and they are a lot better than when I started with them. It is a little heavy I think around 8 pounds which lends to some people shaking from fatigue to a steadier aim if your in fairly good shape, Heavier guns seem to be more accurate as the weight keeps them from moving way off target when they are fired but can be a pain when out in the field all day. As with all springers give it a good cleaning and go through the break in period and all will be good.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jacob from USA on 2012-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power and accuracy!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing!
    What others should know:RWS superdomes shoot gret out of this rifle..
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Don from USA on 2012-11-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice gun. I think this I think it will make a great Christmas present.easy to break down. Powerful enough. You don't need air like my Marauder does.lol
    Things I would have changed:I would upgrade the scope some.
    What others should know:Nothing really
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By primo from USA on 2012-04-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.8333301544189456 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have had this rifle for well over a year, it's the best inexpensive rifle I own. I have four Diana's and I can tell you the Blackhawk is an exact copy of the Diana 34, that is , I repeat a copy . The RWS Diana has the excellent materials and workmanship ,the Blackhawk is the poor mans version. Nothing to fret for with a little TLC you can make this skateboard run like Jag. I took mine apart and gave a tune an lube. The spring came bone dry from the factory, China, touché . Now after the tune the gun shoot very consistent 900 plus fps and just about 14 fp. Good enough to knock down pigeons, rodents and small prey. The spring this rifle brings is of excellent quality withstood 2 to 3 thousand shots dry as a bone,it didn't even make much noise. The piston looks just as good as the RWS, maybe 30 years from now you won't know the difference?
    Things I would have changed:I've been thinking about taking the trigger apart,its second stage is only adjustable ,the first stage is stiff. Maybe fine sanding the trigger catch will do the trick, if not I can live with it ,you can't expect a Diana 34 for $99 bucks. Speaking of which mine has a Leapers 4x32scope , about $30 bucks more, I can hit coke cans at 50 yard no problem except for wind condition.
    What others should know:The Blackhawk is a good buy,it looks super with the Leapers I mentioned, fools most of my buddies. Who knows maybe with price reduction on this I'm inclined to buy another tune it and make a couple of bucks on the side to feed my airgun hobby. All said the purchase of this rifle via Pyramyd is a no brainer,if you dont have the almost $300 for the RWS 34... hell with it drive Chevy and soup it up.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By raymondmusser from USA on 2012-01-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:smooth action hard hitting pellet feels good in hands like the open sights
    Things I would have changed:tighten up play in triger
    What others should know:every review is right about scope it's junk mine would not focus at all thru it away but love the rifle itself
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By csksqrd from USA on 2012-01-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very powerful, accurate, easy to sight in. No complaints at all about this pellet gun. Also received excellent service from Pyramyd Air. Got delivered a day earlier than expected. Very happy with my experience buying from Pyramyd.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By james from USA on 2011-12-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:looks and feels ok.
    Things I would have changed:poor accuracy...dissapointed in the way it shoots
    What others should know:better scope. goes in and out of focus..can not sight gun in ..have used several different pellets all shoot as much as 3 inch groups at 10 to 20 yards with many fliers ...everybody rates the scope bad but the gun is lousey also
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Roddy from USA on 2011-08-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks cool, very durable and shoots well.
    Things I would have changed:Put a better scope on it or no scope at all.
    What others should know:If you plan to use a scope on this gun i would recommend buying another scope when you order.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By DEFCON01 from USA on 2011-07-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Durable, solid black is really cool and the power of this rifle is EXCELLENT for the price.
    Things I would have changed:They should have mounted the scope from the factory (novices might have a problem- my son had issues keeping it railed as he tightened it down. Also sling swivel mounts would have been a real plus (not included).
    What others should know: This is a weapon in every sense of the word. Accuracy, speed and power of the pellets are as strong as a 22. Adult supervision is necessary if bought for a youth. Also, since this is a, "barrel cocker," sling mounts are VERY difficult to find and mount, so gunsmith maybe needed......have fun!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lance from USA on 2011-07-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:power, accuracy
    Things I would have changed:scope kinda sucks ... put a mil-dot dusk / dawn scope on it .... and a barrel mount bi-pod ..... 1 mean killa at 50 yards !!!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By bob from USA on 2011-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:very accurate for a gun out of the box,and a good bang for the buck
    Things I would have changed:maybe a better ring set and scope ( scope is good for plinking and light target shooting ) it is ok for what it is
    What others should know:great gun for a cheap price
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2011-04-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very powerful. Very accurate.
    Things I would have changed:The scope doesn't mount correctly. When you shoot it a few times the clamp that mounts it on will pop off.
    What others should know:you could fix this problem by putting a little bit of lock tight in the screws that hold the clamp onto the rifle. Overall, you should probably spend the few extra bucks for the Ruger Airhawk.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By DJ No Lo from USA on 2011-03-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The recoil is not bad for the power this badboy releases. The scope is good considering it comes with it.
    Things I would have changed:I would make it a little quieter.
    What others should know:Careful what your backstop is because it is extremely powerful.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2011-02-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great Gun for the price. Very powerful almost went for the mag but who needs it this thing shots hot lead. I saw some reviews saying its loud but I found that not to be true as its about avarage for sound.
    Things I would have changed:It is a bit heavy and kicksback a bit even with all that weight.
    What others should know:I grew up with air pistols and still have an old daisy powerline but this is my first Adult Air Rifle and let me tell you it is for Adults with how powerful it is.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By robert from USA on 2010-11-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:great $100.00 gun.....very happy with purchase...but..
    Things I would have changed:please put a piece of metal for the scope to fit correctly!!!!!!!!!!!!!! like any reasonably price gun it's a good one...open site work great!! but the dove tail grooves for the scope to fit are useless...the scope is good but sits in the box....
    What others should know:just the scope connection!! rifle kicks a little (which is good) very happy, will recommend.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bryan from USA on 2010-10-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Blackhawk has a great feel and have a blast with 'er...
    Things I would have changed:The scope took some time to zero, not sure about it entirely, but has been ok so far.
    What others should know:This gun is a super value, and really drills my targets! :)
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Kenneth from USA on 2010-09-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I like the weight of the air gun and its handling ability.
    Things I would have changed:I would definately change the sights. As they are, they are really pretty, but the rear sight is too flimsy and it CANNOT be adjusted high enough to hit a target even at 25 feet. At this distance it hits 4 inches low with the rear sight at its maximum height setting. Also with the scope mounted, it hits the bullseye at 25 feet, but the scope is adjusted to almost maximun height. Shooting at a distance of 40 yards and hitting a target would be impossible.
    What others should know:The heavy spring and piston, going forward when fired, causes the gun to torque over causing it to hit a little high and to the right. This I'm sure is inherent in all such airguns and can be conpensated for. All airgunners and buyers of Pyramyd Air products should be made aware of a rediculus policy (of Pyramid Air) that only one gift certificate can be used per purchase. Gift certificates are the same as money and should be used as such for purchases. I recently encounted a problem trying to use three gift certificates given to me by family members, for my birthday, to buy the gun I bought. After much debate I did get my gun, but because of this policy, Pyramyd Air lost my future business.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By ccdavem from USA on 2010-07-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Best Bang for my Buck!
    Things I would have changed:The scope cut wrong for the scope added a Weaver Mount
    What others should know:This was a fun gun to upgrade. Re-stocked with Exotic Hardwoods with thumb hole and cheek piece. Bored out a Beeman ported Muzzel Brake for it. Not a toy anymore. Added a Laser for those fast shots at Rats from the hip on the rear mount (on Barrel). Laser does not block any view from scope mounted on front. Muzzel Brake turned this gun very acurate.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By pman from USA on 2010-06-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Look, finish, style and Power!
    Things I would have changed:magazine of some sort lol
    What others should know:its big and requires some strength to cock.
  • « Previous 123 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top