Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Ruger Explorer reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2010-08-24 18:18:51

    Things I liked:Dead on... accuracy right out of the BOX at 65 ft. Got 490 fps on chrony with a 7.9 lead pellet didnt check the alloy pellet. Built as good as my Beeman. Composite stock was military Grade in my opinion and I was in the army. great for first shooters due to the small size ,trigger to stock, very good for a child under 12.grandson doesnt need to tuck the stock under his arm to aim like with the others,
    Things I would have changed:Nothing this is the only sturdy built youth rifle and I have 3, gamo ,crosman , and this one.Of course this is ONLY my opinion.......
    What others should know:Very nice rifle built to last. barrel was clean when I got it has great fiber optic sights Not for Adults too short.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By RJ from USA on 2011-08-13 15:21:23

    Things I liked:Good size and weight for youth.
    Things I would have changed:Poor build materials and trigger action.
    What others should know:The build quality of the one I received was horrendous. I'm 6'2" 200lbs and I had a hard time breaking the barrel, no way the kids could break it apart. Thought it would get better over time but after putting 50 or 60 rounds through it the plastic housing containing the bearing that locks the barrel in place broke apart. As others have said, the trigger is just not good. I also couldn't get much accuracy out of it. I had to crank the windage almost all the way over to get it anywhere near center of the target. I'm no veteran air gunner, but I do know my way around firearms, and growing up on a farm shooting tons of BBs I'm familiar with how these things work. I probably just got a defective example, but I was really disappointed in this gun. I thought it would be perfect for the kids to learn on. As it is, I just can't give it more than one star across the board due to the poor quality.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jennifer from USA on 2013-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:easy to cock very light and portable
      Things I would have changed:very hard to keep the gun sighted in
      What others should know:good for beginners
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jodi from USA on 2013-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well built, easy to cock, looks cool, nice fiber sights, seems pretty accurate
      Things I would have changed:I gave it 4 stars in accuracy but don't let that deter you. For the money it's a great value.
      What others should know:Looking down the barrel is awkward. I'm a small frame woman and I find it not as comfortable as some other rifles.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wills from USA on 2013-04-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks great,feels great and shoots great.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at all.
      What others should know:It's quieter than most - good for the suburbs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wills from USA on 2013-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate out of the box, quiet, inexpensive and light weight.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This is a great backyard rifle that won't rile the neighbors.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2013-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's a nice light almost well made gun.
      Things I would have changed:Normally I don't complain about a trigger, but this one is definitely the worst one I have ever dealt with. it's definitely rough feeling and a very hard let off as well as more creep in it than you find in an alley behind an x-rated movie theater.
      What others should know:Not too bad for a youth gun but I have seen better.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Derek from USA on 2012-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The price. The very light weight. The brightness of the fiber optic sights. The rubber butt pad to keep it from slipping if you lean it against a wall. The ease of cocking and loading. The excellent stock offers a good cheek weld with the supplied sights. It was also very easy to disassemble and lube and tune without a spring compressor. If you have experience doing trigger jobs, this is a very easy trigger group to work over. It is VERY quiet. Decent accuracy and very smooth firing cycle. An almost ideal rifle for a smaller shooter who is on a budget.
      Things I would have changed:It has a very heavy and long trigger pull. Sights are somewhat fragile. Accuracy is only decent, not stellar, but what do you expect at this price.
      What others should know:I bought this rifle because I wanted something very lightweight and compact to plink with in my back yard. I have many high-end air rifles that are better shooters, but they are also A)Expensive B)Loud, and C) Too long and heavy for my girlfriend to shoot. This little rifle is a blast to handle because it is so light and easy to cock. the factory trigger pull is way too long and is probably around 6-8 lbs. With a basic trigger lube/tune I was able to get the pull to ~2 lbs. and eliminate most of the sear creep. The advertised velocity is not exaggerated. The only things holding this rifle back are the trigger and the somewhat limited accuracy. I am getting groups of around 2 inches at 20 yards using the open sights from a sitting position. I can outshoot this rifle for sure. Crosman premier 7.9's and crosman wadcutters have been the most consistent so far, but maybe I will find a pellet that the rifle likes better, or maybe the rifle will settle down after a few hundred more pellets. In its price range, this is a good buy. I am not aware of any other rifles in its class that have good triggers or are more accurate. For double the money, one can have a daisy 953 or an IZH-60/61, which will both be much more accurate but not as easy for smaller shooters to handle. The rifle is capable of hits on tin-cans out to about 25 yards every time, so it's really only a trigger-job away from being a very sweet backyard or basement plinker.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wolverine-gulo-gulo from USA on 2012-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Ruger name. This is a present for my Nephew. Excellent design for the Youth but did fit snugly in my hands. Different, rugged and accurate. I wish this was available when all I had was a Daisy 96.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, I bought it for the unique design.
      What others should know:Best looking rifle for Today's Youth.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By adam from USA on 2012-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:as a 6 ft 150lb adult with big hands, it felt smallish but comfortable in my hands over all ,right out of the box i really enjoyed it.
      Things I would have changed:i agree, the trigger is a little odd at first,but after over 1k rounds i dont notice it as much
      What others should know:great choice as a kids beginner, not too bad for an adult. mine is a great shooter "right out of the box" i would definately buy another one.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Hellhound from USA on 2011-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good accuracy, Low enough velocity to use indoors with a pellet trap.
      Things I would have changed:The stock, it is too high to line up the open sights. Offer the same gun with a wood sporter stock with correct ergonomics for the open sights. The gun was returned since I planned to shoot the gun on an indoor range and cannot use a scope I also didn't want to take a band saw to the stock to make it fit.
      What others should know:This would be a great gun if the stock was ergonomically correct for the open sights. It would work fine with a scope. ...2 stars for the poor stock design.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mitchrx7 from USA on 2011-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price, sights,cocking effort,non beartrap barrel.
      Things I would have changed:Safety location. Trigger length/feel. I also removed material at the bottom of the grip to add comfort for my pinky finger. (hey, it's a youth model)
      What others should know: I bought this for fun....it is! I'll start by saying the price is right. The gun is accurate. The sights are easily adjusted and the fiber optics makes targeting easy and fun. The trigger is LONG... but you get used to the almost two stage feel of it. The safety is awkward to use, but they made the gun ambi so... (I'm a lefty((not politics))). The most fun I've had is rapid fire shooting. Being that this gun has a non beartrap cocking, (once cocked the barrel hangs loose) one can use your index finger of the holding hand to hold the barrel open while inserting the pellet and then just flip the nose of the gun while removing the safety and bring the gun up to fire. When done smoothly the rate of fire is fast and FUN! The best I did was to shoot ten cans in one minute!!! TEN!!!! Try THAT with ANY other breakbarrel. Mitchrx7
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2011-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Outstanding youth pellet rifle for kids just learning. The barrel is super easy to break, it's nice and short and the fiber optic sights are very bright. We have found this to be very accurate once the sights are adjusted. The ergonomics are wonderful for kids but adults can shoot it comfortably too.
      Things I would have changed:They should have put a L and R on the sight adjustment knobs instead of numbering.
      What others should know:The review on this rifle that says a "6'2" 200lb man can't break the barrel" on this is ridiculous. My skinny little 7 year old daughter can do it with little effort.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By stealdynamix from USA on 2011-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the stock and the like nitron piston
      Things I would have changed:the trigger hate the shape of the trigger
      What others should know:its amazing
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By RJ from USA on 2011-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good size and weight for youth.
      Things I would have changed:Poor build materials and trigger action.
      What others should know:The build quality of the one I received was horrendous. I'm 6'2" 200lbs and I had a hard time breaking the barrel, no way the kids could break it apart. Thought it would get better over time but after putting 50 or 60 rounds through it the plastic housing containing the bearing that locks the barrel in place broke apart. As others have said, the trigger is just not good. I also couldn't get much accuracy out of it. I had to crank the windage almost all the way over to get it anywhere near center of the target. I'm no veteran air gunner, but I do know my way around firearms, and growing up on a farm shooting tons of BBs I'm familiar with how these things work. I probably just got a defective example, but I was really disappointed in this gun. I thought it would be perfect for the kids to learn on. As it is, I just can't give it more than one star across the board due to the poor quality.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2011-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, easy cocking, love the fiber optic sights, very easy to put a red dot on it and have fun.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is absolutely horrible. it's not heavy, but it is gritty, long and hard to predict (which obviously affect accuracy). Perhaps with more shooting it will smooth out.
      What others should know:It's definitely a good value for the cost and a very nice rifle. I would have paid more to get a decent trigger (if anyone knows of a good replacement trigger, let me know).
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2011-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great product for the youth or beingner shooter. High quility at a reasonable price. Easy sight system to lern on.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!!!!!!!!
      What others should know:Great sights for teaching someone to shoot.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Todd from USA on 2010-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The fit and finish is good and the gun shoots well right out of the box and my 9 year old Daughter can cock and shot it with little problems. The fiber optic style iron sights are easy to pick up and acquire the target. My daughter can shoot 2 inch groups at about 15 yards and I about 1inch groups. With a better trigger these would shrink I am sure
      Things I would have changed:The trigger on this gun is next to terrible it not only has a long hard pull it is also inconstant and rough. Anyone finding support or a fix for this should post to help others. When a 9 year old girl complains about the trigger something is wrong.
      What others should know:I purchased it because my Daughter has been shooting my adult air rifles from a rest as she cannot hold them up. She is much more accurate with my rifles because of the trigger. Overall this is a nice rifle for the youngsters and if I find a way to tweak the trigger it will be very nice.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Patricia from USA on 2010-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Bought this for my grandson, he loves it. It fits him just right. Is accurate and easy to hold.He really likes the cool look of it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By john from USA on 2010-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the reflex sights are sick, i only used them for about a week because i got a scope.. the scope was easy to put on, i've been using the scope for a month now, and its dialed in so you can really see how good the gun is, its dead accurate most of the time.. i shoot from about 35 yards.
      Things I would have changed:the trigger sucks, thats the only flaw i have found with this gun, its not too loud, has a little pop but what gun doesnt
      What others should know:its a great gun for 70 bucks, deffinitly reccommended to anyone
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By The Shootist from USA on 2010-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish are great.I like the stock sights are good.Shooting from a bench the rifle seems fairly accurate,it would shoot a lot better with a descent trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger,Trigger,Trigger. This rifle has the worst trigger I have ever used.Of all the airguns and firearms I have shot (and I do shoot a lot)this trigger is the worst. It is so heavy I thought the safety was still on.My son uses two fingers to shoot it.If the heavy weight of the trigger was not bad enough it also has a lot of rough creep/take up.All in all a rifle is only as good as its trigger.Some might say that's what you get with a cheaper rifle but my sons Red Ryder costs less than half of the ruger explorer and has a trigger that's twice as good.
      What others should know:If I knew that ruger was going to fix the trigger issue or that maybe I just got a bad one I would strongly recommend this rifle.But you just cant shoot this rifle accurately (especially young shooters)with a trigger this bad.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bear from USA on 2010-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is great for something this cheap and small. I also love the fact it only takes 16.5 pounds of force to cock it!!! I got it for my little sister and I've actually put down my Beeman just so I can shoot it with her. It'll hit paint balls consistantly from 10 yards without a sand bag rest!!!
      Things I would have changed:I don't really care for the trigger.... It has way to much pull for my taste....
      What others should know:If your looking to get your younger brothers and sisters into shooting.... This is the best way to go!!! I've had a lot of air guns in my time, but none were this much fun for the money!!!
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top