Date: 25/9/2016 5:26
0

Ruger Yukon Air Rifle Combo, Gas-Piston reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Ray from USA on 2013-09-27 07:42:41

Things I liked: A bold design and a real beauty right out of the box. Love the finish and the checkering is a nice touch as well. The included weaver mount is fantastic! Has a nice smooth and light trigger pull that breaks clean, is fairly quiet and I was able to hold a dime size group at 25 yards shooting RWS Superdome lead pellets. The weight of this gun feels right on par to me and is not too heavy or not too light. A real winner as far as I can see thus far.

Things I would have changed: I did not mount the stock scope on mine. I mounted a leapers scope on it...so I my review is based upon the gun itself and does not include the stock scope as I have no direct experience with it. I am not saying the stock scope needs changed out, but I did on mine just because I thought the leapers scope I bought would be a bit of an upgrade to what was included with the rifle.

What others should know: At the time of this review they were still under $200 at Pyramyd Air. A real bargain at this price point as far as I am concerned. Get yours ordered TODAY!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By william from USA on 2014-01-07 21:52:09

Things I liked: The looks of the rifle are nice. Attractive and it fires quietly.

Things I would have changed: I would advise against purchasing this gun. From what I understand this air model and all air models of Ruger are now made in China and you can tell by the workmanship. When you take this gun out of the wood stock for cleaning you will first want to be careful NOT to allow the rifle to tilt one way or the other because ALL OF THE PINS AND THE MECHANISM THAT HOLD THE TRIGGER IN THE HOUSING will slide and fall out. They are free floating and good luck to you on figuring how to put that humpty back together again. We spent hours to no avail. Also, the pins and trigger housing are simply compressed into the inside of the wood stock when it is assembled. That is the only thing holding this trigger unit together. Compressed into the wood. No milling the notches, no metal receptical to align and snugly hold the pins that extend on both sides of the trigger housing. What happens when you get a little wear and tear on it? What happens when you drop it in the snow or mud and need to clean it? I assure you it won't go back together the same way it came apart if you can even get the trigger mechanism to go back together.

What others should know: Yes there is something else air gunners should know. Be very weary about sinking $200 bucks into this model. It doesn't appear to me like it is crafted for durability or even the gun enthusiast to be able to clean, operate and take care of this rifle. If there was a way to post pictures and explain what I'm talking about I would. Luckily, Pyramid is a stand up company and have agreed to return my purchase as I contacted them within the 30 day window. I'll keep my money with Pyramid and go for the Benjy Trail.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Still Plinking from USA on 2016-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It puts the pellets where I point it and it hits hard. It is solidly built built, looks good and feels right. The more I shoot it the more I like it. At first I wasn't sure as I was comparing it to my 45 year old Blue Streak and a 1 year old 392. Both excellent air rifles but I was intrigued by the concept of a gas piston and I wanted a hard hitting single break for quicker reloads. The gas piston is definitely more friendly than springers I've owned and one spring pistol I still own. Now that I am used to it I am not at all disappointed! This .22 hits harder than the 5mm or .22 pumper and if I quietly miss a pest, it it obliviously waits for me to reload. I can take out chipmunks and consistently make head-shots on squirrels at 30 yards. Country living is nice but the garden needs protection. I can't use nonlethal traps because it is illegal to drop the varmints off somewhere else and I don't want to jail and feed them for the rest of their natural lives.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if it were available without the scope for less money. Let's face it, it is not a 100 yard gun so a scope is definitely optional. I deducted a star for value because I had to buy a scope I didn't need or want, though I may attach it to something else. It seems to be nice scope despite some of the review comments I've seen. I tried it then replaced it with a red dot so, for now, I can't speak to its durability.

    What others should know: The first one I received must have had a misaligned rail as I could not sight/adjust the scope or a red dot far enough left to get the aim point on the impact point even though the iron sight was right on.. Thank you PyramydAir for quickly replacing it! This thing came with a lot of gunk (protective oil) all over it an in the barrel. I cleaned it thoroughly and tightened all the screws before putting a single pellet through it. It still dieseled for the first few shots and then quieted right down. At first I wasn't sure about the accuracy, especially compared to my pumpers. It is definitely different to shoot. The recoil is different from steel spring guns I've owned and the pumpers have essentially no recoil. After about 50 pellets I was consistently hitting 1 1/2 inch groups at 30 yards and putting pellets on top of each other at 15. Since then it just kept getting better. Break in for sure, but I suspect it was more of the gun training me than it getting better.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2016-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The feel of the gun you actually feel like you or holding a Ruger 22 rifle. This is hard to believe but I took it out of the box mounted the scope and hit a 3" target in the red at 30 yards with no scope adjustment. The scope is very nice really smooth to operate.

    Things I would have changed: butt stock adjustment

    What others should know: I don't believe you can go wrong with this rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By RifledDNA from USA on 2015-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very nice stock, easy to cock, able to decock, perfect power without being unmanageable. Quiet. Light and maneuverable for a strong .22 its the same weight as crosman np wood stock 177. I love this gun and rugers in general have always blown their pricepoint way out of the water on a bunch ive had.

    Things I would have changed: The moderator/grip end piece is a little bulky looking but it works great to quiet it so its all good. The butt is angled for standing shooting, leaning forward on a bench puts the top point in your shoulder a little. Should have square through bolts in the mounts but they havent moved so, again, its all good. You'll want upgrade scope gear anywho, but open sights are very functional so could be sold without scope stuff - the usual

    What others should know: Mine is the .22 with metal spring from WM dubbed the "impact", metal spring tend to shoot a little hotter then gaspistons but need more break in time. I got the superpoint marketed for this gun and wasnt going to get them and as much as I wanted the jsbs to be the most accurate, surprise, the gun loves them. They are long pellets and actual theoretically perfect for spin blah blah. They are pointed but so soft they expand the most compared to even baracuda hunter extremes. Want a magnum .22 springer without the problems of a magnum .22 springer? Here it is.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By richard .m from USA on 2015-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this is a very nice rifle for the money in .22 cal . mine shoots 65 to 75 yards rite out of the box with groupings about 3 1/2 to 4 inch circle still zeroing it in .....

    Things I would have changed: it real needs a sling

    What others should know: the scope that comes with it is pretty good ....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Craig from USA on 2015-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It works well for target practice and pest control. I use ~21 grain pellets and they group .25" at 25 yards. The velocity is low so the noise level is reduced. It is really not meant for long range. Great for backyard shooting and very quiet.

    Things I would have changed: It is heavy compared to other air rifles but unless you are 10 yards old it is not going to matter. The scope it comes with is bad. I got a 4x32 UTG and it works great. The trigger is ok for the price of the gun. It is adjustable.

    What others should know: For my first gas piston air gun it is more than enough. Have fun shooting! Remember heavy pellets do work well in this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2015-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle looks good and feels good in hand. The supplied open sights are pretty easy to use. The Supplied scope is nice and clear. I would not mind having it on another air rifle. Cocking effort is moderate. The built-in suppressor works pretty good. The rifle is not noisy :)

    Things I would have changed: The safety was a problem for me in that I'm 6' and over 200# with big hands and my fingers are just big enough to push the safety back on after pulling the fist stage and lifting my finger away. The safety works backwards from the Benji/Crossman type and the lever is thicker.

    What others should know: The gun diesels a lot. There is a fair amount of oil/grease here and there that will have to be cleaned away. It took maybe 50 pellets to stop dieseling... My gun shot about 6" high at 30 yards when the scope was mounted and I had to shim the front scope mount with aluminum foil to get into the adjustment range. Once working, groups were about an 1 1/2" at 30 yards with Discovery 14 gr pellets (22 cal).

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RB from USA on 2014-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: A beautiful rifle for the money. The gas piston very smooth and not as sensitive as the spring piston.comfortable to cock, easier than air magnum, slightly harder than air hawk.

    Things I would have changed: Either better scope or no scope.

    What others should know: For the money, a really nice, accurate,easy shooting air rifle. We have a .177 air hawk and bought and returned an air magnum. The 177 is a wonderful rifle the air magnum just more airpower than we needed.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2014-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Stock, picatinny mount scope was ok. style and ruger name.

    Things I would have changed: Quality needs to be checked for loose screws. only likes one kind of pellet. even after tightening screws

    What others should know: Told it needed 500 pellets through it to break it in. I have a nitro venom (Crosman)in 22 and it shot well right out of the box. Also crosman liked any pellet I fed it Ruger Only liked H&N 22grain pellets. everything else shoot low, Way low.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2014-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle looks super, has some nice details. Good sights and a fair scope. Trigger very good. Often put 5 shots in same hole at 15 meters. Action locks tight. Pellets seem to hit good and hard.

    Things I would have changed: No change needed, but should be built in the U.S.A.

    What others should know: This air rifle fits right in with the Ruger rifles I own. However, it is pretty stiff to cock, and would be no good for kids.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Waldron from USA on 2014-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Purchased for target shooting in basement. Range is 45 feet muzzle to target. I like everything except the scope. No parallax adjustment so took it off and went with a Hawke 4x12. I purchased the test pack of pellets and found that the Diablo Exact RS grouped the best. Super domes were all over (but are perfect for my Octane!) Once I found the pellets it liked, it is putting groups down that can be covered with a nickel. Rail system is a great feature.

    Things I would have changed: Scope. Not worth the time without parallax adjustment.

    What others should know: Weaver/picatinny rail is great for versatility in optics. Easy to switch between scope, red dot or just Iron sights. Gas piston seems to be much smoother than the springers. I purchased an Octane after this rifle and like the Octane more. The Octane is longer and heavier but has a MUCH better scope. Either is an excellent choice of rifle. Get the sample pack of pellets and find out what your rifle likes before you buy in bulk.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Craig from USA on 2014-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels solid, nitro piston is tight. It will take squirrel like a champ. Use a heavy pellet 21 grain. The velocity is sub sonic very nice.

    Things I would have changed: Safety location. Not an in town air gun. If you are looking for quiet. Some PCP's would be better.

    What others should know: Really anything past 30 yards the gun becomes less accurate.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By william from USA on 2014-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The looks of the rifle are nice. Attractive and it fires quietly.

    Things I would have changed: I would advise against purchasing this gun. From what I understand this air model and all air models of Ruger are now made in China and you can tell by the workmanship. When you take this gun out of the wood stock for cleaning you will first want to be careful NOT to allow the rifle to tilt one way or the other because ALL OF THE PINS AND THE MECHANISM THAT HOLD THE TRIGGER IN THE HOUSING will slide and fall out. They are free floating and good luck to you on figuring how to put that humpty back together again. We spent hours to no avail. Also, the pins and trigger housing are simply compressed into the inside of the wood stock when it is assembled. That is the only thing holding this trigger unit together. Compressed into the wood. No milling the notches, no metal receptical to align and snugly hold the pins that extend on both sides of the trigger housing. What happens when you get a little wear and tear on it? What happens when you drop it in the snow or mud and need to clean it? I assure you it won't go back together the same way it came apart if you can even get the trigger mechanism to go back together.

    What others should know: Yes there is something else air gunners should know. Be very weary about sinking $200 bucks into this model. It doesn't appear to me like it is crafted for durability or even the gun enthusiast to be able to clean, operate and take care of this rifle. If there was a way to post pictures and explain what I'm talking about I would. Luckily, Pyramid is a stand up company and have agreed to return my purchase as I contacted them within the 30 day window. I'll keep my money with Pyramid and go for the Benjy Trail.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By donald from USA on 2014-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have only had it for a few days but like the way it works. I cant think of anything I would want to change

    Things I would have changed: nothing

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2013-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: all in all I like it all

    Things I would have changed: the scope

    What others should know: this is one of the best guns for the value if your looking for a good 20-25 yard gun this is it I can put 5 shoots with in a 1inch grouping, I did 4 days of research to end up with this gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joey from USA on 2013-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nice build! scope is cheap and the sights work much better.

    Things I would have changed: i bought this b/c it was a ruger and wanted something made in america. It was sad to see the "made in china" sticker on the rifle. would like a better scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gustavo from USA on 2013-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Only takes a few minutes to install the sight and adjust it. The he rifle works pretty well. Reasonable power.

    Things I would have changed: Optic sight is too exposed. The red dot breaks when the rifle fall. I can’t find a replacement for it.

    What others should know: I happy with my purchase it works pretty well. I recommend it for pest control.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2013-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The silencer and scope.

    Things I would have changed: The Trigger and Safety. The quality during assembly. Make the Stock a darker color.

    What others should know: Only half of the stock screws had Blue thread locker on them. Even though the barrel pivot bolt was tight, when cocked you could wiggle the barrel. The safety is backwards and too lose. I would constantly bump it back on trying to adjust my grip. The trigger breaks so far back that I am pulling on the trigger guard when trying to shoot. Even though it's the same trigger as the Octane, it acts completely different. That's poor quality control.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Fernando from USA on 2013-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Attractive stock, good power, easy cocking and decent accuracy: groups of five shots were 1/2" at 12 yards, 3/4" at 20 yd. and 2 " at 30 yd. using Crosman destroyer pellets. I like the open sights, which are easy to adjust and they work very well.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger second stage is a bit hard. It is possible to reduce the length of the first stage (see below), but not the pull of the second stage. The scope is OK, not great. It is focused at 30 plus yd. but you can change the focusing distance by placing a thing rubber ring on the rotating front lens.

    What others should know: The trigger first stage length adjusting screw is a small hex screw at the trigger itself. This is a great rifle for the price, quite silent, powerful and accurate. Quite happy with it and the help from Pyramid Air.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dick from USA on 2013-10-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's quiet. It looks and feels like a quality product. I like the safety release and trigger. I'm still trying to site it in with the fiber optics sites and get it broken in before I switch to better pellets and the scope. At 15 yards the groups are so tight that it is tearing up the backdrops for my target.

    Things I would have changed: I shot a skunk at night and wished it had more that one shot at a time capability. It's hard to reload/cock in the dark with a mad varmit nearby.

    What others should know: Since this is not a long-range rifle it seems like the scope may not be necessary. It's pretty accurate with the fiber optic sights.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joel from USA on 2013-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Seems like the gun is well built and accurate. I didn't shoot more than a 100 pellets through it before my neighbor wanted to buy it. The scope is the weakest element of this package and would definately been replaced had I kept it.

    Things I would have changed: Scope. Definately. I prefer synthetic stocks to the wood and would have preferred that over the wood. Also, I prefer the safety setup on my RWS over this gun.

    What others should know: Easy cocking

  • 12 Next
Navigation