Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Ruger Yukon Air Rifle Combo, Gas Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By donald from USA on 2014-01-05 09:22:13

    Things I liked:I have only had it for a few days but like the way it works. I cant think of anything I would want to change
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:3

    By william from USA on 2014-01-07 21:52:09

    Things I liked:The looks of the rifle are nice. Attractive and it fires quietly.
    Things I would have changed:I would advise against purchasing this gun. From what I understand this air model and all air models of Ruger are now made in China and you can tell by the workmanship. When you take this gun out of the wood stock for cleaning you will first want to be careful NOT to allow the rifle to tilt one way or the other because ALL OF THE PINS AND THE MECHANISM THAT HOLD THE TRIGGER IN THE HOUSING will slide and fall out. They are free floating and good luck to you on figuring how to put that humpty back together again. We spent hours to no avail. Also, the pins and trigger housing are simply compressed into the inside of the wood stock when it is assembled. That is the only thing holding this trigger unit together. Compressed into the wood. No milling the notches, no metal receptical to align and snugly hold the pins that extend on both sides of the trigger housing. What happens when you get a little wear and tear on it? What happens when you drop it in the snow or mud and need to clean it? I assure you it won't go back together the same way it came apart if you can even get the trigger mechanism to go back together.
    What others should know:Yes there is something else air gunners should know. Be very weary about sinking $200 bucks into this model. It doesn't appear to me like it is crafted for durability or even the gun enthusiast to be able to clean, operate and take care of this rifle. If there was a way to post pictures and explain what I'm talking about I would. Luckily, Pyramid is a stand up company and have agreed to return my purchase as I contacted them within the 30 day window. I'll keep my money with Pyramid and go for the Benjy Trail.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Waldron from USA on 2014-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Purchased for target shooting in basement. Range is 45 feet muzzle to target. I like everything except the scope. No parallax adjustment so took it off and went with a Hawke 4x12. I purchased the test pack of pellets and found that the Diablo Exact RS grouped the best. Super domes were all over (but are perfect for my Octane!) Once I found the pellets it liked, it is putting groups down that can be covered with a nickel. Rail system is a great feature.
      Things I would have changed:Scope. Not worth the time without parallax adjustment.
      What others should know:Weaver/picatinny rail is great for versatility in optics. Easy to switch between scope, red dot or just Iron sights. Gas piston seems to be much smoother than the springers. I purchased an Octane after this rifle and like the Octane more. The Octane is longer and heavier but has a MUCH better scope. Either is an excellent choice of rifle. Get the sample pack of pellets and find out what your rifle likes before you buy in bulk.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Craig from USA on 2014-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels solid, nitro piston is tight. It will take squirrel like a champ. Use a heavy pellet 21 grain. The velocity is sub sonic very nice.
      Things I would have changed:Safety location. Not an in town air gun. If you are looking for quiet. Some PCP's would be better.
      What others should know:Really anything past 30 yards the gun becomes less accurate.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By william from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks of the rifle are nice. Attractive and it fires quietly.
      Things I would have changed:I would advise against purchasing this gun. From what I understand this air model and all air models of Ruger are now made in China and you can tell by the workmanship. When you take this gun out of the wood stock for cleaning you will first want to be careful NOT to allow the rifle to tilt one way or the other because ALL OF THE PINS AND THE MECHANISM THAT HOLD THE TRIGGER IN THE HOUSING will slide and fall out. They are free floating and good luck to you on figuring how to put that humpty back together again. We spent hours to no avail. Also, the pins and trigger housing are simply compressed into the inside of the wood stock when it is assembled. That is the only thing holding this trigger unit together. Compressed into the wood. No milling the notches, no metal receptical to align and snugly hold the pins that extend on both sides of the trigger housing. What happens when you get a little wear and tear on it? What happens when you drop it in the snow or mud and need to clean it? I assure you it won't go back together the same way it came apart if you can even get the trigger mechanism to go back together.
      What others should know:Yes there is something else air gunners should know. Be very weary about sinking $200 bucks into this model. It doesn't appear to me like it is crafted for durability or even the gun enthusiast to be able to clean, operate and take care of this rifle. If there was a way to post pictures and explain what I'm talking about I would. Luckily, Pyramid is a stand up company and have agreed to return my purchase as I contacted them within the 30 day window. I'll keep my money with Pyramid and go for the Benjy Trail.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By donald from USA on 2014-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      32 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have only had it for a few days but like the way it works. I cant think of anything I would want to change
      Things I would have changed:nothing
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By David from USA on 2013-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:all in all I like it all
      Things I would have changed:the scope
      What others should know:this is one of the best guns for the value if your looking for a good 20-25 yard gun this is it I can put 5 shoots with in a 1inch grouping, I did 4 days of research to end up with this gun
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By joey from USA on 2013-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:nice build! scope is cheap and the sights work much better.
      Things I would have changed:i bought this b/c it was a ruger and wanted something made in america. It was sad to see the "made in china" sticker on the rifle. would like a better scope.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Gustavo from USA on 2013-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      32 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Only takes a few minutes to install the sight and adjust it. The he rifle works pretty well. Reasonable power.
      Things I would have changed:Optic sight is too exposed. The red dot breaks when the rifle fall. I can’t find a replacement for it.
      What others should know:I happy with my purchase it works pretty well. I recommend it for pest control.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2013-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      22 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The silencer and scope.
      Things I would have changed:The Trigger and Safety. The quality during assembly. Make the Stock a darker color.
      What others should know:Only half of the stock screws had Blue thread locker on them. Even though the barrel pivot bolt was tight, when cocked you could wiggle the barrel. The safety is backwards and too lose. I would constantly bump it back on trying to adjust my grip. The trigger breaks so far back that I am pulling on the trigger guard when trying to shoot. Even though it's the same trigger as the Octane, it acts completely different. That's poor quality control.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Fernando from USA on 2013-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Attractive stock, good power, easy cocking and decent accuracy: groups of five shots were 1/2" at 12 yards, 3/4" at 20 yd. and 2 " at 30 yd. using Crosman destroyer pellets. I like the open sights, which are easy to adjust and they work very well.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger second stage is a bit hard. It is possible to reduce the length of the first stage (see below), but not the pull of the second stage. The scope is OK, not great. It is focused at 30 plus yd. but you can change the focusing distance by placing a thing rubber ring on the rotating front lens.
      What others should know:The trigger first stage length adjusting screw is a small hex screw at the trigger itself. This is a great rifle for the price, quite silent, powerful and accurate. Quite happy with it and the help from Pyramid Air.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Dick from USA on 2013-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's quiet. It looks and feels like a quality product. I like the safety release and trigger. I'm still trying to site it in with the fiber optics sites and get it broken in before I switch to better pellets and the scope. At 15 yards the groups are so tight that it is tearing up the backdrops for my target.
      Things I would have changed:I shot a skunk at night and wished it had more that one shot at a time capability. It's hard to reload/cock in the dark with a mad varmit nearby.
      What others should know:Since this is not a long-range rifle it seems like the scope may not be necessary. It's pretty accurate with the fiber optic sights.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Joel from USA on 2013-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems like the gun is well built and accurate. I didn't shoot more than a 100 pellets through it before my neighbor wanted to buy it. The scope is the weakest element of this package and would definately been replaced had I kept it.
      Things I would have changed:Scope. Definately. I prefer synthetic stocks to the wood and would have preferred that over the wood. Also, I prefer the safety setup on my RWS over this gun.
      What others should know:Easy cocking
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By MaineShooter from USA on 2013-10-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:I really like the finish of the stock on this rifle, doesn't look cheesy like some of the walmart variety air rifles. Like the rail mount system on this rifle as well so i don't have to worry about scope rings coming out of alignment due to insecure mounting. It's very powerful in 22. cal, tested it on an apple for soft targets and a steel lid for a hard target. It halved the crad apple i shot at, and just about punched all the way through the steel target that my 177. cal pellets could not do with the same pellet type. I found the crossman premier hollow points to work very well in both accuracy and penetration, they're also pretty cheap too as an added bonus. The trigger worked well for me, but i'm not usually fussy about my trigger work especially when i'm used to old triggers on my WW2 rifles. Also this rifle is pretty quiet thanks to the built on silencer.
      Things I would have changed:The scope perhaps; had a rather difficult time trying to sight it in. Seemed like i'd have it pretty close to being right on the mark, make a very slight adjustment and it would throw me off a bit. Not completely junk, just wasn't for me. Then again i'm really at home with iron sights and i found them to work just fine on this rifle without any problems. Not really sure how to adjust the trigger on this although it states in the manual that it is adjustable. Like i said, doesn't bother me.
      What others should know:Finding out that it's still burning excess oil in the barrel after 40-50 shots in this rifle. Could just be on my end with the cleaning swab having some oil residue left on it, or from me oiling the O ring on the barrel before use. Not really a problem in any way, just something I thought i would point out if anyone experiences this with their rifle. Haven't had this rifle for any lengthy period of time, but it seems like a really nice gun for the money.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2013-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:A bold design and a real beauty right out of the box. Love the finish and the checkering is a nice touch as well. The included weaver mount is fantastic! Has a nice smooth and light trigger pull that breaks clean, is fairly quiet and I was able to hold a dime size group at 25 yards shooting RWS Superdome lead pellets. The weight of this gun feels right on par to me and is not too heavy or not too light. A real winner as far as I can see thus far.
      Things I would have changed:I did not mount the stock scope on mine. I mounted a leapers scope on it...so I my review is based upon the gun itself and does not include the stock scope as I have no direct experience with it. I am not saying the stock scope needs changed out, but I did on mine just because I thought the leapers scope I bought would be a bit of an upgrade to what was included with the rifle.
      What others should know:At the time of this review they were still under $200 at Pyramyd Air. A real bargain at this price point as far as I am concerned. Get yours ordered TODAY!!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By James from USA on 2013-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice workmanship on the stock and the rifle overall. Good accuracy and trigger is quite acceptable.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is junk in my opinion. Has no AO and is blurry at closer ranges. I put another scope on it. Just could not adjust the supplied scope to give a clear sight picture.
      What others should know:Don't try pushing a felt cleaning pellet through the bore with a cleaning rod as it will get stuck in the baffles of the silencer at the end of the barrel. CLEANING PELLETS MUST BE FIRED THROUGH THE BORE IN ORDER NOT TO BECOME TRAPPED IN THE BAFFLES.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By R from USA on 2013-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am new to spring air rifles but a long time center/rimfire rifle shooter. I accidently got the gun in .177 instead of .22 but kept it because I really like the flat trajectory at long range. Gun looks real good and balances well offhand. Cocking effort and gun weight are no problem for an adult male at least, probably not good for anyone small. Gun is quiet enough that I can shoot without any neighbor issues. Silencer works it as is quieter than the crosman multipump guns. I don't have a chrono, but I have the .177 cal and I know it goes supersonic with alloy pellets. Good power with 8.4 Superdomes. Accuracy is solid and likely limited by my poor springer shooting ability. I can put superdomes in a 5 shot 2 inch group at 50 yards. I have hit balloons (latex is biodegrable FYI) floating out on the lake out to over 160 yards with alot of hold over. Trigger is not bad. You can adjust it to the point where there is no creep at all and it will break consistently even if it takes a little bit of force. I have bought rifle scopes for my centerfire rifles that were worse than the scope that comes with the combo. It is clear and the weaver mounts lock it down well. Hasn't budged in 1000 shots. You can adjust the parallax by unscrewing the lock ring on the front of the scop.
      Things I would have changed:I would have gone with actual iron sights instead of the fiber optics. I broke the front filament by hitting it on something but I replaced it for cheap.
      What others should know:The gun dieseled the first 5 or so shots. Be careful when adjusting the trigger as you can set it to fire when you bring the barrel back up after cocking. I was very careful with my muzzle direction and could feather the screw perfectly to get the trigger real smooth. The gun cocking and firing smoothed out after about 500 rounds or so. I cleaned the barrel as it had grease from shipping. I didn't know you were not supposed to dry fire air rifles and did so several times when I first got the gun and no harm came to it. .177 superdomes put holes into one of those green coleman propane tanks. Superdomes are the best for me but I have yet to try a pellet heavier than 8.4 grain. I think .177 heavies would be good in this gun as it hits hard. I do want to buy a GRT or another upgraded trigger down the road if they make one that fits this gun. Are there any triggers that fit the Ruger airhawk? I think this is gun is a nitro piston air hawk elite with a weaver mount and decent scope.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Frankly, I have never been too fond of spring powered air rifles. However, being intrigued by the idea of gas piston power plants, and being an owner of several Ruger firearms, I finally decided to purchase the Ruger Yukon in .22 to satisfy my curiosity... And, even though I discovered Ruger doesn't directly manufacture this air rifle, I am still glad I did. This rather oddly shaped, yet attractive break barrel rifle is a bit heavy to comfortably field all day, but I discovered I can consistently achieve nickel-sized groups with RWS Powerpoint pellets at sixty feet off a sandbag rest with it. And, although it quietly packs a punch, it doesn't require superhuman strength to cock the action. Although I use the so-called artillery hold when shooting offhand with it, I do so only to more comfortably support the weight, not because it improves consistent accuracy for me.
      Things I would have changed:Although it is surprisingly durable, I think a hood for the front sight would help protect the fiber optic insert from impact damage.
      What others should know:To prevent clogging the baffles in the integral suppressor, only mops and slot tips with carefully secured patches should be used to clean the bore. I did have to shim the rear sight to achieve the desired degree of elevation. But the 3-9x scope supplied with it works fine for me, especially at longer ranges. Also, my particular rifle did not come equipped with a trigger take-up adjustment screw. Due to an accompanying leaflet warning against over adjusting this screw, I can only surmise this feature was deliberately omitted for safety and liability concerns on later production rifles.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very impressed with the quality when I took it out of the box ,and even more impressed when I shot it. Shoots hard. Liked the RWS suoerdome pellets. Best of all its made in the USA. Excellent bang for the buck.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I rated this rifle a 3. I think the rifle is a 4 and the trigger and scope are a 1 or lower. Please read the whole review because it is actually a good rifle. This rifle is quite accurate out of the box (I had the .22 model). Feel and balance are very good. The length of pull and shape of the stock make for comfortable quick shots. It is quiet and powerful. The cocking is very smooth with good feel and no barrel wobble at all. The quality of the gun itself was surprising for this price. I even put 15 pellets through the same hole about .35 inches center to center from 20 yards at a bench (open sights). I should mention that I tried 8 types of pellets and the best for me were the 16g Coppa Spitzugle. The Baracuda Hunter Extreme 19g were a close second. The Beeman 22g Kodiak Copper were also good but grouped very low. They were only 3g heavier than thehunter extreme but hit about 4 inches plus low.
      Things I would have changed:Guess what? The scope is junk. Really, I am so surprised. It did not even hold together long enough to site in. After 10 or 12 shots the reticle fell out. Before that it was clear. Why they put crap scopes on an air gun I will never know. Just sell it with no scope please. The trigger on this gun is the worst I have ever experienced. I really mean it. It is not adjustable, regardless of what the description, box , and owners manual say. If you look where it says to adjust it there is a hole leading to a blank plastic arm, no screw or place where a screw might have fallen out. I do not like false advertising. The creep on this trigger started out not so bad. After about 100 shots it was already real bad, felt like an inch. That is when I tried to adjust it to find out I could not. I just dealt with it for a while as the rifle was accurate. The creep got worse and worse until the rifle would not shoot. Trigger pull increased by about 250 shots to about 25 pounds, no joke. Eventually, the trigger snapped off without firing the rifle. Really? It was made of some really sad metal and plastic. Well, that is about all I can say about that.
      What others should know:OK, listen up Ruger/Umarex. Here is what to do. You actually have a nice rifle with crap accessories on it. First, take the scoped you have and throw them in a dumpster. Never let anyone see your name attached to such crap again. Leave the scope mounts on the rifle, but market as scope ready. You already have open sites that work. That way if someone wants a scope they can get one that works. Including a scope that is garbage is a bad plan. All you end up accomplishing is convincing customers your product is poorly made. In my assessment it is well made, but the scope does not help. Yes, I know everyone else does it, but guess what, it is no secret to airgunners by now. Next, throw out all of these triggers. Fire whoever designed them. Take the money you save on not including a scope and install a nice trigger. Raise the price by $10 if you have to. These triggers are junk (did I already mention that?). I would rather pay extra for a nice gun than one that could have been nice. OK, to anyone interested in this rifle. If you go into it knowing not to bother with the scope, and willing to replace the trigger (I think Charlie the Tuna has one that fits this style) you will have a very nice affordable rifle. I would even say it might be one of the nicest, and surely the best value then. I should have done this, but I was so pissed about the trigger I returned it. Funny how if the trigger was even useable I would have kept it and replaced the trigger eventually anyway.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: The fiber optic sights were easy to sight in 25yd.Still working with the scope. Trigger is one the best I used, very smooth, clean brake. This gun is very quite with 8.4 Diablo.
      Things I would have changed: Better scope.
      What others should know: From the box the barrel was very dirty so clean it before shooting and zeroing.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Cecil from USA on 2013-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Re: .22 w/3X9 included scope - Very very quiet muzzle report, smooth action, adjustable trigger which could be adjusted to crisp though heavy break (long 2 stage), light weight, good velocity (700-750 fps w/15gr 600 w/21gr lead), easy smooth quiet cocking, nice finish, pretty sharp optics (scope), good open sight picture, good solid scope rings, weaver base installed.
      Things I would have changed:Alloy pellet velocity grossly overstated which is typical for most airguns - actual with 15gr alloy = 725fps - RWS Hyper Velocity only 800, scope reticule came loose after 200 shots so at least this sample poor quality, had to return entire gun for defective scope, manufacturer does not publish phone number for customer service - email only - should be better customer service from Umarex, rifle does not like many pellets - tried 8 liked 2, flimsy plastic "iron" sights - rear would break easily front a little harder, muzzle suppressor and sight are one plastic piece and front sight would break off easily though suppressor feels solid as you use it to cock gun - I still prefer metal sights.
      What others should know:Tried many pellets and only found 2 out of 8 which were capable of <1/2" group at 10 yards after break-in, much quieter muzzle report than one would think, but bullet impact can be loud, handles light and quickly. Overall a good value for a nice handling gun. It's not a Feinwerkbau but it doesn't cost $500 either.
    Over
    ammo packs sold