Date: 1/10/2016 4:37
0

Sam Yang Big Bore 44 909 Light Hunter 500cc Tank reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By marvin from USA on 2009-07-25 13:28:57

Things I liked: The 44 has a .454 chamber not the .457 which I perfer . It has good fit and finish for a rifle in this price range . As well as power and accuracy .

Things I would have changed: I bought the combo with the leapers 6 x 32 scope . The scope is not long enought to get proper eye relief with a comfortable hold . It is also low makeing it hard to load the rifle . But I could see this in the picture and have other scopes to use .

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Merlin from USA on 2016-03-25 23:19:43

Things I liked: Must have gotten a lemon,mine was junk even after getting nthe 10 for 10 deal,DO NOT BUY THIS RIFLE ,will be disappointed

Things I would have changed: It's junk,the whole thing

What others should know: Do not buy this rifle

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vegas052 from USA on 2016-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate and powerful,it's very high quality metal everything looks great the wood stock it's precious very well balanced it's not real heavy very impressed with the quality of this rifle first SamYang brand i own and i'm very happy,I didn't find anything bad i use medium threadlock when i install the bolt just to make sure it's not gonna lose and work perfect, as Rick eutsler said in his video review the trigger feels heavy when the rifle is in high power i recently order a muzzle brake to quite this monster and enjoyed more in my patio.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing the rifle it's great

    What others should know: I understand the ammo for this rifle it's pretty costly and sometimes you can just order from pyramyd air fortunately Amazon is now offering the ammunition for this rifle you get many options and the best of that it's that you get free 1 day shipping or 2 now you don't have to pay the highly shipping cost if you want something powerful and accurate but very very loud this rifle it's a great option for you.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Merlin from USA on 2016-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Must have gotten a lemon,mine was junk even after getting nthe 10 for 10 deal,DO NOT BUY THIS RIFLE ,will be disappointed

    Things I would have changed: It's junk,the whole thing

    What others should know: Do not buy this rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2016-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the first pre-charged pneumatic air rifle I have owned and am impressed with the fit and finish as well as the performance. As others have stated the bluing is perfection. The aesthetics are all there with the functionality and looks taken into account. The hammer is simple to put together with a bit of Locktite on the screw for extra holding power. The gun looks like it would be heavy but in reality is a very pleasant surprise to point and shoot and has the feel of an over under shotgun. Once I got mine sighted in I found the 200 grain hollow points to be hitting very accurately in the same area after 5 shots with open sights. I have no scope on mine so groupings sizes I cannot comment on other than to say it hits where I aim it right on with the open sights. It sounds like a 22 magnum rifle. I expected it to be louder considering the lead it throws. The air Arms pump I use to fill it takes 135 strokes to reach 3000 PSI after 6 shots with the 200 grain bullets.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this point

    What others should know: This is a nice addition to an air gunners arsenal with its big bore and simple operation. I put 200 grain hollow points into a frozen Birch tree to where the backside of the bullet was over an inch into the tree at 50 yards. It is accurate and easy to shoot with minimal noise for the power it puts out. I would not hesitate to recommend this air gun to anyone wanting a big bore with power to take big game like deer.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2015-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The bluing and metal work is second to none. Beautiful deep blue. The metal surface is as smooth as it gets. The stock is very well done, fit and finish. The balance of this rifle is perfect and does not feel as heavy as it is.

    Things I would have changed: I thought this gun was going to feel like a shotgun in hand. It does not. It feels like a carbine over and under shotgun. I think this could be offered in a longer barrel version and get the velocity near the Texan.

    What others should know: I have this model and the Texan. The Texan is much faster and the trigger is far nicer. This gun however is perfect out of the box with open sights. I cast my own pellets for this rifle and the Texan. (same size) The cost is 2 or 3 pennies per shot. I am working with several experimental loads. I will post results of these loads on my Texan review.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By christopher from USA on 2015-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The style, it looks like a high end over/under shotgun. Almost as powerful as a 45ACP handgun. The simplicity. no batteries or electronics, just charge, load, aim and fire. cheap to shoot.A good and inexpensive way to stay sharp with your "fire arm" rifles when you can't get to the range. They are both fundamentally the same thing.

    Things I would have changed: The sights are gigantic, the front blade completely blots out a target at 30 yards. Peep sights or ghost ring sights would be a vast improvement, or at least make the buckhorn sights the same size as you would find on a powder burner. I ended up putting a scope on it.I got mine a few years ago so mine has the two elks dueling engraved on the side, not sure what sam yang was thinking when they changed it to the dude with the lightning bolt, the elks are much cooler.

    What others should know: It is loud. no surprise. unfortunately i live in a state where suppressors are not legal under any circumstances. I am sure my neighbors would appreciate it if i could use one. .454 roundball is what this {mine does} rifle likes best.I can get decent groupings at 60 yards shooting unsupported. In my opinion, that really is the maximum distance i would take a shot at any live target. the conical pellets seem to be not as accurate. get yourself a leapers bug buster compact scope and you won't be sorry. You can use standard scope mounts.As others have said, this is a serious weapon, and if you plan on using it in your backyard exercise extreme caution and safety while doing so.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything! Makes you feel like Dirty Harry! It's LOUD AS HELL for an air gun & I actually like how loud it is. I've owned many airguns although this is my first larger than 25 cal air gun & what a night & day difference it is. Definatly not a toy & very comparable to a fire arm of the same caliber, maybe even better for several reasons. All that power with no recoil! Makes it much more accurate than a fire arm of the same caliber. Also affordable to own & shoot! What more could someone want?

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely nothing! Love it!

    What others should know: It's a lot lighter than it looks in the pictures. Also, it's very loud but still not as loud as a fire arm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2014-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I received this rifle and was very pleased with the way it looked the wood is beautiful, very pleased

    Things I would have changed: Had a little issue with my probe sealing off but replaced the o rings and everything is good now

    What others should know: THIS IS NOT A TOY When you touch this off it rings authority very powerful rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2014-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Sam Yang 44 909 Light Hunter is one awesome big bore rifle. Stunning finish and well built. I like everything about this gun. Added a Leupold 3-9X44 scope and zeroed it in. Excellent power and much more accurate than what I expected from a big bore. At 45 yards I'm putting the Air Venturi .45 cal 143 gr round ball through one ragged hole with 10 shots. Now that's impressive for a big bore. I have found the 143 gr round ball to be the most accurate in this gun. I get 10 good shots on high power from 200 bar to 150 bar. Would probably get more shots on low power if one so desired.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: As others have stated you will need a good back stop. This gun is also loud so be prepared. I use a Hill hand pump with this gun and no problem. From 150 to 200 bar around 50-100 pumps and your set. This is a excellent big bore gun and well worth the coin. The guys at Pyramyd Air are great to deal with. Highly recommended.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2013-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This thing is a monster. I don't have a FPS meter, but I have an airgun shooting range in my basement. At 20 yards this penetrated 3 boards, (1/2 inch plywood, and 2 1-inch pine boards and came to a stop against a steel plate fastened to the foundation wall of my basement. That is in comparison to my Hatsan .25 pistol which lodges domed pellets midway through the plywood, and my Gamo Bone Collector, which with a hypervelocity pointed pellet does the same except blows the back of the plywood out. After sighting in the scope, everything is stacked on a dime.

    Things I would have changed: It is loud, but what can you do? Wear ear protection for sure.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jody from USA on 2013-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This air gun is nice. It's my third PCP from pyramyd air and now my favorite. I was skeptical of it before I bought it but the reviews looked good. I wanted something for hunting and fun and this gun delivers. Its devastating for a airgun and can pretty much take down most medium game in my part of the country with proper shot placement and with the accuracy of this airgun it can be done. I wanted it for hunting areas that are close quarters and I don't want the bullet to travel to far unlike a rifle or shotgun slug and this gun fits that criteria. I hunt where airguns are legal for deer and hogs.

    Things I would have changed: This gun is loud. Its not a gun you shoot out in the back yard in the suburbs even with proper back stop. Despite it being legal for me to do so it can fray the neighbors nerves. The trigger pull is kind of long but one can get used to it. Finding a proper scope and mounts can be a pain but again, doable and well worth it. Its a bit heavy but what do you expect from a bigbore airgun. The price for big bores are expensive. I wish they would come down so more people could know the fun of air guns like these. All my friends go ape over it until I tell them the price.

    What others should know: I got a refurb from pyramyd air and I lucked up I guess because mine is a tack driver so my opinion of there refurb team is that they know what there doing. I would recommend a scuba set up since this gun can go threw some air pretty quick. Over all I am impressed by the quality and accuracy of the .45 909s Sam Yang. The Koreans know how to make a impressive air rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By annette from USA on 2013-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Biult very well.great detial and what a master craft. it is better than the picture. and when it is in your hands you wont be sorry. Ilove this gun

    Things I would have changed: added sling mounts. would be nice

    What others should know: if you never shot a big bore your missing out.I HAVE MINE. sighted in at 70 yards with 176 grn pellet. and it will shoot right through a 2x10 pine board.BIG GAME.look out. theres a new gun on the block

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2012-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful rifle. This is no kids toy.. belongs in the gun safe with all your finest rifles. Accuract enough to hunt squirrls with the power to cleanly take down a deer.. and anything in between! all those high dollar springers in my air gun collection may never see the light of day again. And P.A. customer service is outstanding (as well as tec support)Minor problem with my charging probe and a new one in my mail box the next day! Other companies should take note.. that is how you keep your customers.

    Things I would have changed: You will want to shoot this beauty a LOT so ammo can get a bit pricy. looking into casting my own.. if you dont want to go that route then by all means take advantage of P.A.s buy 3 get one free on ammo.

    What others should know: .45 cal round balls made for black powder shoot great(power and accuracy) out of mine. and Please choose the kind of backstop you would for a regular firearm. a treated 2x6 wont even slow this puppy down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2012-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish. Just got my 909 in yesterday. Took it out to the desert and put a few rounds through her. With a 200 grain hollow point, I was easily able to consistently punch holes into an abandoned steel tank at 100 yards. At that distance my group was about the size of a coffee cup saucer. I love this gun.

    Things I would have changed: I would like the rear sight to be easily removable.

    What others should know: NOT A TOY!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CHRISTI from USA on 2012-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, Price, Caliber, Accuracy, Size and Weight.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight should be removable so that you can mount a wider variety of scopes, and the cocking lever could've been shorter and rubber coated, or offer different styles of cocking levers. Send an accessories booklet that contain all the add-on's this rifle can accept, scope mouts, bi-pods, muzzle breaks, etc... Also I would make this with an adjustable trigger cause the trigger pull on this rifle is not the best, but because of the large caliber and power, I understand.

    What others should know: Treat this baby like a firearm, the power is serious. Make sure you have a very good back stop that can withstand the .45 caliber slugs, sand bags with 2x4 behind it should do the job, just make sure and check your back stop to make sure its holding up to the abuse of repeated strikes. This gun is very loud on high power and your neighbors will think that you are shooting a firearm. I suggest shoot on low power around neighbors, and high power at the range or in areas that you won't disturb anyone. To fill the rifle I use a hand pump and it takes about 25 min to fill from 1000 psi to 3000 psi, approx 220 pumps, 50 pumps at a time takes about 1 min with 5 min rest in between. You better be in shape, im 42 and next year im going to invest in a shoe-box compressor. Anyone who is planning on purchasing one of these should get either a shoe-box compressor or a scuba or carbon fiber HP tank. On low power at 20 yards the .457 round ball will go thru 3 one gallon plastic water containers filled with water, very impressive. The round ball is very accurate and you get 100 rds in a box, these are good for target practice. The 156 gr semi wad cutter slugs are accurate, but the 180 gr hollow points doesn't expand at all. The 200 gr round nose hits hard and have plenty of knock down power. Purchase one of these and you will not be disappointed,the big holes it makes will take your breath away, my other air weapons are jealous because of my 909.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Donald from USA on 2012-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.264 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A very good gun

    Things I would have changed: Cost WAAAAAY to much I can buy a high end rifle for what i paid for this one.

    What others should know: This is a LOUD gun to shoot. Pyramid says they do not have a compensator for it but it has threads on the end of the barell for one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2011-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and Finish are very good, power is right on with ad. i fill with a hand pump only so i refill after 5 shots. average shot string velocity with .457 round ball is 698,707,709,714,715fps. with about 100 shots through the barrel. Accuracy is fantastic and very consistent shot to shot. Literally 1 ragged hole at 50 yards and 1.5in x 1.5in groups at 100yards. It takes 100 to 110 strokes with the Benjamin hand pump to bring it back to approx. 3000psi after those 5 shots. i'm 55 years old, in decent health and have no problem charging it with the hand pump. All-n-all very pleased with the rifle and Pyramyd's customer service!

    Things I would have changed: The only negative is the trigger...the pull is quite long and heavy however i have gotten used to it and it is not a problem after you have shot it for a while.

    What others should know: tried about 3 different scope and mount setups and settled on the BKL 1 pc offset 3 inch mount and the Leapers 3x9x32AO Bugbuster compact scope. This allows for good eye relief and leaves the loading port unobstructed by the rifle scope. If you are going to fill with a foster quik connect fitting you will need to purchase the Quick-Disconnect Male Fitting + O-Ring part# [PY-A-2841].

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Drew from USA on 2011-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Wow! I owned this gun for years before I was ever able to shoot a day away with it. The reasons...far too many to go into. At any rate TODAY everything came together and I was able to make a day of shooting it. As everyone has already mentioned it possesses incredible power. I was able to sight it in at about 60yrds. Unlike most,I use 230 grain bullets as opposed to the lighter ones and the round balls. Beyond 60yrds the bullet still retained enough power to embed itself completely into a tree. Great gun. Its earned all the hype....FINALLY!

    Things I would have changed: Im not a picky person at all,but a true bolt-action would have been much more convenient. Oh,and the prices of the hand-pumps&scuba tanks....ridiculous. Was able to get a tank here for $180-exact same kind,exact same color. Tsk,Tsk,P.A.

    What others should know: Judging from the reviews,most owners of this gun seem pretty well versed in it. Seeing as how this is actually my first day of concentrated usage,Im doing more listening than suggesting. ;)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Holly from USA on 2011-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The power is amazingi slaughter day came for russian boars and this thing dropped these 400 pound hogs like flies ..did some research on the 909 before i purchased read about people saying it lacks power thats a silly comment! This thing is perfect for hunting up to hundred yard or more if you are good . Best air gun of my collection,i have others that i paid twice the price and they are no longer fun to shoot after firing this cannon... Thanks Pyramyd Air

    Things I would have changed: an extra screw on bolt but a little tethlon tape will keep screw tight ...could use a spring under ramp sight to keep tension on ramp screw

    What others should know: you will need a good back stop this is not your every day pellet gun ..They say not to shoot hornady round 45 cal 143 grain round balls out of the 909... I have been shooting the round balls and they work perfect and much cheeper this gun is like shooting a muzzle loader without the cloud of black powder smoke cloud.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2010-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a great air rifle. I have had it for a couple of weeks and have been doing lots of target shooting. I have not hunted any game with it yet. Got it in May, most hunting seasons are closed now, but trying to land a hog hunt.

    Things I would have changed: I have found that the bolt, which is installed with a philips screw, gets loose with lots of use. I will use some lock tite on the screw, whick should solve the problem. It does use lots of air. I have 4 high pressure steel 120 cubic inch scuba tanks. I fire 10 rounds between refills(145gr round balls) to keep pressure up. These tanks allow me to have lots of fun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bob from USA on 2010-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: We all want something no one else has...and this is it! It has power, looks and performance unlike any other air rifle I've seen (in my VERY limited experience). I took it to a muzzleloading rifle match right after I got it and the boys were very interested. I might earn a few commissions, eh? I shot a 3" group off a rest at 50 yards when it was still brand new using .457 pure lead round balls I cast myself with a Lee mould. I then knocked over 3 steel woodchuck targets at 50 yards offhand. Comes with a very tall front sight which meant that I had to raise the rear sight about 1/4" to get close to being on target. This means that once I get a load that shoots best, I can easily file the front sight down and get it dead on at 25, 50 or whatever. Wood to metal fit is outstanding and the workmanship is top drawer.

    Things I would have changed: Rifle was advertised as having an adjustable trigger, which I sure can't find if it does. I asked for more information about the rifle when I bought it, but there has been no response. The product manual is very basic and doesn't say anything about disassembly. It looks like Pyramid Air photocopied their copy and included it with the gun, it wasn't a real manual. This is not a cheap gun, even on sale. The manufacturer should not be cutting corners like that. I still need more information about the rifling, both depth and rate of twist so I can tailor my projectiles for best accuracy. The stock is slightly loose against the receiver and so far I haven't been able to figure out how to tighten it. If they used a through bolt, the recoil pad is glued in place, so trying to tighten the stock might mean damaging the pad. Looks like a warranty trip if I can't figure it out.

    What others should know: Wear your ear protection! This beast is as loud as a 22.

  • 12 Next
Navigation