Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Sam Yang Recluse 500cc Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By DARRELL from USA on 2012-02-24 21:27:57

    Things I liked:Love the poweer an this gun shoot the 72gr pellet accuary at 40yards an the 95gr
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:this gun is worth the money if you get it you love it
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By james from USA on 2013-03-05 09:07:03

    Things I liked:Lot's of power....
    Things I would have changed:Improve quality. It is certainly not made by Sig Sauer or Heckler & Koch. Bolt was loose right out of the box, had to use epoxy to tighten it up. Butt of gun became loose after about three weeks of owning it... Shouldn't have to do these things after paying alot of money for this gun.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Roger from USA on 2014-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This one is fine. It is accurate and hard hitting. I cast 85 grain lead bullets that would normally go in a 380 auto and it shoots them well which saves money over buying pellets. It shoots them at 810 fps on low power and 850 fps on high power. It is most accurate at 2500 psi down to 2000 psi. At full pressure the accuracy seems to suffer some. My neighbor saw this and he insist I give him the website so he could get one too.
      Things I would have changed:It is too easy to pull to full power when you are trying to use low power.
      What others should know:Do not lay this gun on its side when charging it! The internal seal can then fail to seat and you will have one **** of a time getting it to hold pressure until it reseats. Either stand it up on end or lay it upright in a shooting position to charge it. Now that you know that, you can avoid my frustration and keep on shooting. I have this same gun in 50 cal. The 35 is better. It shoots more shots between charges and the bullets are more accessible.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terry from USA on 2013-07-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the power and the accuracy. Good for 1 inch groups of 5 shots at 50 yards with good bullets that fit the barrel. .357 to .358 fit my barrel great. Number of shots per charge. 10 good shots on high power, close to 20 on low power.
      Things I would have changed:Cocking lever comes loose. Parts of the trigger mechanism are not hardened. Trigger pull is too hard.
      What others should know:Gun is very accurate with good fitting bullets. I am getting a bunch from Mr Hollowpoint in tin so I can use them here in California in Condor country. Send your gun to Saddle Mountain Gunsmith and get the trigger work done. If you are shooting under 50 yards, the heavyer ammo may deliver more power. I like the lighter ammo for a flatter trajectory at longer ranges. For hunting, I will be using 87 grain tin bullets which are the same size as 124 grain lead. Tin is 2/3 the weight of lead but tin is too hard to mushroom.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By VINCENT from USA on 2013-03-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the power
      Things I would have changed:the cheap pot metal casting cocking bolt to cock the rifle
      What others should know:you will need a carben fiber tank about 120 cub/ft. or a steelhigh pressure 120 cub/ft tank that fills at least 3500 psi.if you get a 80cub/ft allumanim 3000psi you will only get 1 to 3 full fills.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By larry from USA on 2013-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nicely balanced gun, extremely hard hitting.
      Things I would have changed:Smoother cocking action
      What others should know:This gun hits like a sledgehammer out past 50yards. Definately care should be used when shooting.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By james from USA on 2013-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lot's of power....
      Things I would have changed:Improve quality. It is certainly not made by Sig Sauer or Heckler & Koch. Bolt was loose right out of the box, had to use epoxy to tighten it up. Butt of gun became loose after about three weeks of owning it... Shouldn't have to do these things after paying alot of money for this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Edward from USA on 2012-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power of this gun is out of this world. more powerful than my 22LF.I like the price of this gun, performance compared to other expensive ones. I like the look, the wood and it just amazing
      Things I would have changed:It would be good to have it a little more quiet and have a maqazine instead of just a single shot. The Benjamin Rogue is quiet, may be they can use the same technology
      What others should know:This is the go to gun for hunting medium game. 60lbs game is downed with no problem
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2012-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ft.Lbs.
      Things I would have changed:Better Trigger
      What others should know:Careful and consistent seating of the bullet in the chamber aids accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2012-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:its a nice looking air rifle an accuary with the 145gr an the 95gr just get it today an get it zero in at 40 yards
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this is a good gun to have after the other recluse i had they was leak air thisone seen to be ok its worth the money is powerful an accuary
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2012-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:An exceptionally fun and excellent air gun. It is also as serious as almost any firearms - capable of taking any game or varment I hunt. Capable of distance shooting on a par with most any firearm. No recoil worth mentioning. A great sound - sort of like a 38 special if I had to put a sound level on it, but it has a really cool sound of it's own which I really like. Metal finish is very good but a little fragile. Wood is good looking and well done. Checkering is very good and does help with gripping gun firmly. The iron sight is exceptional and easy to sight in and use - a really great sight - unlike almost all air guns and many firearms sights. Seems to hold sighting in well. The low pressure setting is good for just about anything and consurves air. High pressure setting is good at 100 yards plus and will take down almost any North American animal or varment. By attaching a U.T.G.11 mm. to Weaver adapter it will accept full size or compact scopes. Does very nicely with a 3X-12X Leapers scope - full size or compact. Capable of extreme accuracy, excellent penetration, and knock down power with Air Venturi hollow points. Receiver of Recluse is excelently etched Recluse with webb and well done stamping. Overall it is a very pretty air gun. It is a big gun and looks like it shoots. It is a heavy gun weighing around 8 pounds. With all the gear I put on mine it runs about ten and a half pounds - about like a good target rifle similarly equipted will run.
      Things I would have changed:Make it in stainless. Make a longer wooden forearm. Put sling hardware on it.
      What others should know:It is a relatively new inovation in guns and may have an issue or two which don't go well. However Pyramid service center will help you with it, and it is well worth any detail which needs attention. My valve was stuck in open position, but service department took care of it and I have had no problems since. Break in is a bit stiff, but if you like shooting yours as much as I do mine it will not take too long. Short tactical spring bipod will help out gun control a lot with bench rest or prone positions which are about all I shoot from - unless I get surprized. Without any extra gear on it will handle about like a Browning double. Side lever makes this a very safe gun because you don't need to cock it until you actually need it. I use it for about everything. It is a hard gun to put down or put in the closit for long.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:WOW!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. The Sam Yang Company, truly has this correct from head to toe. Why use a Scope. Way too much fun, without one!
      What others should know:Figure out your fill options. Ruth, at Pyramydair is always there to help me with my questions and order support. Great job!
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2012-03-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I did a review on this gun an it was good around but now this gun just want do i had to sent the first one back cause the rear sight was broke an when i get the other one back it leak air an the other one start shoot good but then it just would not shoot accuary so i sent it back an get a 22cal maruder i might try the recluse again later cause they just came out but it a good looking gun the 45cal an 50cal i get they shoot good i did kill a deer with them
      Things I would have changed:i would change nothing about the i might just get a bad one
      What others should know:They are good gun i have all the sumatra air rifle so i will try another later they are worth the money
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2012-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Love the poweer an this gun shoot the 72gr pellet accuary at 40yards an the 95gr
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this gun is worth the money if you get it you love it
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2012-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I love the gun but when i get the gun the sight was broke but every thing eal was good from the wood to the blue on the barrel. i might sent it back for a nother one cause 569.00 i want every thing right
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:This gun shoot accuary with the 72gr pellet i get some 95gr havin try them but the accuary is go at 30 to 40 yards
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By primo from USA on 2011-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:If this is the 9mm i cant imagine the power of the .45 & .50 these guns are cannons meant for big game. dont shoot them in your back yard or you will promply hear sirens. the reclyse is beautiful the steel and wood work inpecable. a very good buy for hunting larger animals than say rabbits which will be disintegrated if you shoot them with the recluse.
      Things I would have changed:noting- maybe the cocking bolt for a better grip.
      What others should know:you get the BANG for your bucks with this one- not bad idea to have a air hog 4500 psi as source.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ken from USA on 2011-11-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the fit and finish are excellent, cg balance right at the bipod mount.
      Things I would have changed:pistol grip would be nice, add a muzzle break as this gun does have a kick!
      What others should know:this gun will shoot .5 cal. powerbelts but they are 3-4x the cost of lead.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By badredbird from USA on 2011-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:gun feels nice well balanced , it is a nice looking gun, shoots pretty accurately if you use right ammo,
      Things I would have changed:make sights easily removed so a scope can mounted easier, make a muzzlebrake available as gun is loud
      What others should know:this gun likes the heavier pellets better than light ones, you can also shoot regular lead cast bullets , i shoot a 38 cal .358 diameter 148 grain wadcutter, the gun loves them, they do fit snug ,do not attempt to shoot any jacketed ammo from this gun, , a scuba tank is almost mandatory unless your into major physical fitness ,the gun is a beast and eats lots of air .overall i would recommend this gun
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Larry B from USA on 2011-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is very well balanced, has a really nice feel. The machine work is great, with no rough edges for cleaning patches to snag on. The wood work is some of the finest. Checkering is clean and tasteful.
      Things I would have changed:On my rifle the rear sight has to be adjusted quite far to the left for a center line shot at 100 feet using the 70 gr round nose pellets. Also the same results using the H&N round ball pellets.
      What others should know:I shot about 35 rounds through this gun at full power with a full charge of air, and this gun does not like light pellets. I recharged to 200 bar, and shot ten pellets, five round balls, and five hollow base pellets, at reduced power, and the gun loves this. So I would recommend using a heavier pellet. I'm going to try 100 gr hollow base pellets next. I was ready to return this gun for a refund, and the way Pyramyd Air responded gets my hat off to them. Just simply put, they are a wonderful company to deal with. I believe this gun was worth the wait.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top