Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Smith & Wesson M&P R8 CO2 BB Revolver reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-08-06 12:18:39

    Things I liked:It has some nice weight to it. It's also every bit a true revolver since the entire clip does in fact advance as you shoot. It also fires double and single action. I was hoping for a metal frame but can't complain since it's the only bb revolver i know about on the market. Wnt accuracy at a distance, it has a place under the barrel for a laser.
    Things I would have changed:The loafing directions are a bit in conflict. To put the gun on safe you pull the safety to the rear. To load you push the safety forward past fire. The direcions state to put the gun on safe then load. This physically can't be done. If you put it on safe you can't load it.
    What others should know:The m&p stands for military and police, but I can't see a military or police force that would use a revolver over a 9mm semi-auto. This seems more like a home defense type of gun since it does require frequent reloads.
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By lentil from USA on 2012-03-23 07:30:32

    Things I liked:Not much
    Things I would have changed:All plastic internals resulting in heavy, rough and gritty movement from cylinder, hammer and trigger. Single action pull is 10-11 lbs; about the same in double action. Feels nothing like a real revolver in either heft or action.
    What others should know:The Crossman 357W is far superior to the MP R8 (both in feel and function) and is almost half the price.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By GILMORE from USA on 2011-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:exact replica of the real .38
      Things I would have changed:designed to use pellets also
      What others should know:something you will want to shoot all day-great for indoor range
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It loks like the real deal. Works like the real deal... or so I am told. It also has a relatively good weight.
      Things I would have changed:Out of all.my guns, and I have many, this has the heaviest trigger pull of the bunch so I have a rough time dealing with accuracy downrange. I suspect a laser on the under barrel rail would help. I was also hoping it would have a metal frame but expected a plastic gun which turned out to be what it was. I also noted a what could be a safety issue. The directions say to put gun on safe before loading. This is physically impossible to do. The safety is also the drum release. To put it on safe you move it backwards. The drum release needs to be pushed forward past fire. So, the gun is no longer on safe and could fire in theory.
      What others should know:A fun gun but not the most safe gun. Also the only one of it's kind since the entire ammo drum advances, not just a disk at the back. Also only revolver zi know about that fires bb s. This is a big plus in states where a pellet firing pistol is forbidden in direct violation of the second ammendment.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Matthew from USA on 2011-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very similar to a Dan Wesson 8" bb gun I have. Love the look and it's just as fun to shoot! Easier to load and I got 160 shots on my first couple of co2's then the other pistol. Will have to continue testing it to see if that holds up. Comfortable to hold.
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy is not as good as I'd like but then it's a bb gun and not a pellet gun so with that in mind, it's perfect for can shooting, just don't expect markmanship results. Again this may change after some break in time and if so, I'll update this post. Not very much metal on the gun but I'm appreciating the lack of rusting possibilities compared to my other pistols that I'm always worried about the barrels rusting if not properly stored. Trigger pull is pretty strong. I'd say it's about the same pull as my 1377, maybe a bit harder. The rear sight for vertical adjustment doesn't hold well. I had to stick a piece of paper under the sight to keep it up since I had to raise it so much to get the shots on the paper at about 13 feet. It doesn't seem to have a way to keep the sight locked while adjusting. Upward movement is stopped but the downward movement is floating so if you tap the sight it'll go down and not return to the full upward position. Hope that makes sense.
      What others should know:To my surprise, the bb's holder actually ejects out like if it had real shells. So that was cool to see and it does help you practice the ejecting of shells and reloading. Though I don't know if there are spare "clips" but it would be nice to have a handful available.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lewis[Tom] from USA on 2011-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am well pleased with this gun,works great shoots good and is accurate.I have many co2 guns,this one is one of my favorites.
      Things I would have changed:nothing,I do hope they make the clips that you can get extra of.
      What others should know:something I'm looking for in this line,is way they can't make a single action western style gun like these. i'm a fast draw nut,i have the crossmen and daisys that were made years ago,this smith is good,make SAA this way. thanks.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2011-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i LIKE THE LOOK AND FEEL SEEMS TO BE MADE VERY WELL HAS GOOD WEIGHT LOADING BBs IS A SNAP AND I LIKE THE FACT THE GRIPS STAY ON THE GUN WHEN CHANGEING THE cO2 ACCURACY WAS VERY GOOD AT 20 FEET YOR NOT GONNS SHOOT GREAT GROUPS BUT I HIT A SODA CAN EVERY TIME AT 20 FEET THE CYLINDER POPS OUT LIKE THE REAL GUN DOUBLE AND SINGLE ACTION IS GREAT AND TRIGGER PULL IS GOOD THE REAR SIGHT ADJUSTS FOR WINDAGE POWER IN VERY GOOD I ONLY HAD IT A FEW DAYS SO DID NOT GET A SHOT COUNT BUT SEEMS I WAS SHOOTING FOR A GOOD WILE BEFORE THE BBs STARTED TO DROP
      Things I would have changed:NOT A THING MAYBE MAKE THE REAR SIGHT FULLY ADJUSTABLE HOT JUST WINDAGE BUT I CAN DEAL WITH IT.
      What others should know:VERY GOOD GUN FOR THE MONEY SO GO OUT AND GET ONE
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By russell from USA on 2011-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I dont own the real S&W r8 but this gun has got the feel and looks of the real deal that i see advertised.I love owning a wheel gun that i can use for practice shooting.Good sights. The grip is not over sized feels good in my small hands
      Things I would have changed:a spare bb clip would would be helpful
      What others should know:good service I recieved my order 3 days after placing my order This product is at best made up of polymor plastic material. also the trigger pull is stiff but manageable GO GET ONE!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Bruce from USA on 2011-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good weight and feel. Well constructed.
      Things I would have changed:This would make a far better pellet gun as steel BBs have little penetration and ricochet in all directions given the low fps from a weak seal (use cardboard for a backstop). Pellets would have a higher fps due to a tight seal thus penetrate better and not ricochet as they'd flatten on impact. The trigger is so heavy that rounds go left or right depending on which hand you favor. The pull needs a LOT of lightening. Oddly enough the double-action is smoother
      What others should know:At 7-10 feet with paper targets on cardboad using double action it's good for skill sharpening.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent heft and good value in its category.
      Things I would have changed:The looks are impressive - but of course, in this range of prices, it's an all-plastic affair, so although it's >, to a degree, it is. It will not happen, but one can still dream of how magnificent a metal version would have been.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By g man from USA on 2011-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the power is good it shoot well accuracy is prety good
      Things I would have changed:is abut 90% plastic makeking it look moor like a toy.
      What others should know:not bad for the price it up to you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It has some nice weight to it. It's also every bit a true revolver since the entire clip does in fact advance as you shoot. It also fires double and single action. I was hoping for a metal frame but can't complain since it's the only bb revolver i know about on the market. Wnt accuracy at a distance, it has a place under the barrel for a laser.
      Things I would have changed:The loafing directions are a bit in conflict. To put the gun on safe you pull the safety to the rear. To load you push the safety forward past fire. The direcions state to put the gun on safe then load. This physically can't be done. If you put it on safe you can't load it.
      What others should know:The m&p stands for military and police, but I can't see a military or police force that would use a revolver over a 9mm semi-auto. This seems more like a home defense type of gun since it does require frequent reloads.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By TIM from USA on 2011-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks and the concept. At a short distance this is a really cool looking pistol I had high hopes until I opened the package and used the gun. I do have to say even with the cheap build the trigger was decent on this gun but the poor build quality makes me wonder how long it would last.
      Things I would have changed:The overall build quality is not up to par with other Umarex licensed pistols. There is very little metal on this gun it is a lot lighter than it looks. Mine came with the rear sight almost unattached from the gun and the sight adjustment screw was all buggered up from the factory. This gun really worries me is this the direction the Umarex pistols are heading if so it's not a good one. I did not expect the quality of some of my other higher end Umarex guns but I have other low cost Umarex pistols that are much much nicer for example Colt Defender, Beretta Elite II, Makorov, H&K USP these all cost less and are much better made than the S&W. Also come on Umarex it's and 8 shot bb revolver and you can only give me 1 clip that could not cost more than a quarter to make. Accuracy of this gun was average at best for a bb pistol none of them are that great other than my Beretta Elite II but this S&W ranks down toward the bottom.
      What others should know:I had this gun pre-ordered for over 2 months and was really had high hopes. Those hopes quickly faded when I started to play with the gun and see how cheaply it is made. If this is the next wave of Umarex pistols I am going to get on the hunt for some older models on the Pre-Owned market. I was really surprised that S&W would license this product it kinda shows me that even the better companies will sell out for a price. I do want to thank Pyramyd for there customer service and return policy. I did learn a lesson wait for some reviews and don't be the test pilot your subject to crash and burn. Tim A.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By g man from USA on 2011-08-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i jost gat my today it shot very well an it prety powerfull
      Things I would have changed:it abot 90% plastic moor matel needit
      What others should know:is not a bad gun for $69
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rick from USA on 2011-08-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Double and single action. Swing out cylinder. Accuracy: I had to make a couple of adjustments on the elevation but once done I kept a two inch group at 30 feet.
      Things I would have changed:An all steel construction would've been great, but I didn't buy this so much as a replica as to just have a revolver type handgun to go with my collection. You can buy heavier steel guns, but it'll cost you a lot more.
      What others should know:I went through the police academy in the fall of 1980, became certified and went to work for a small PD in Michigan. My first duty weapon was a Smith and Wesson model 15-2 - .38 revolver. This gun brings back memories of that weapon. It's just a lot of fun to shoot.
    • « Previous 12
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top